Exhibit 99.1

Yadkin Valley Financial Corporation Announces Suspension of
Quarterly Dividend

Elkin, NC — September 21, 2009 — Yadkin Valley Financial Corporation (NASDAQ: YAVY), the holding company for Yadkin Valley Bank and Trust Company, announced that its Board of Directors voted to suspend payment of the Company’s quarterly cash dividend. The Board will continue to evaluate the payment of a quarterly cash dividend on a quarterly basis.

“The suspension of our quarterly dividend, while disappointing, is a necessary step in preserving our capital during this prolonged period of economic uncertainty across our markets. By temporarily suspending our dividend, we estimate that we will save approximately $3.9 million in capital annually, or $968,000 per quarter,” said Bill Long, President and Chief Executive Officer.

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About Yadkin Valley Financial Corporation

Yadkin Valley Financial Corporation is the holding company for Yadkin Valley Bank and Trust Company, a full service community bank providing services in 42 branches throughout its four regions in North Carolina, and one region that operates in both North and South Carolina.  The Yadkin Valley Bank region serves Ashe, Forsyth, Surry, Wilkes, and Yadkin Counties.  The Piedmont Bank region serves Iredell and Mecklenburg Counties. The High Country Bank region serves Avery and Watauga Counties. The Cardinal State Bank region serves Durham, Orange, and Granville Counties. The American Community Bank region serves Mecklenburg and Union Counties in North Carolina, and Cherokee and York Counties in South Carolina.  The Bank provides mortgage lending services through its subsidiary, Sidus Financial, LLC, headquartered in Greenville, North Carolina and operates a loan production office in Wilmington, NC. Securities brokerage services are provided by Main Street Investment Services, Inc., a Bank subsidiary with four offices located in the branch network. Yadkin Valley Financial Corporation website is www.yadkinvalleybank.com.  Yadkin Valley shares are traded on NASDAQ under the symbol YAVY.

Certain statements in this press release contain “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995, such as statements concerning our future growth, plans, objectives, expectations, performance, events and the like, as well as any other statements that are not historical facts and are thus prospective. Such forward-looking statements are subject to risks, uncertainties, and other factors, including, but not limited to: the businesses of Yadkin Valley and American Community may not be integrated successfully or such integration may take longer to accomplish than expected; disruption from the merger may make it more difficult to maintain relationships with clients, associates, or suppliers; continued disruption in worldwide and U.S. economic conditions; changes in the interest rate environment which may reduce the net interest margin; a continued downturn in the economy or real estate market; greater than expected noninterest expenses or excessive loan losses as a result of changes in market conditions and the adverse impact on the value of the underlying collateral and other factors which could cause actual results to differ materially from future results expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. For a more detailed description of factors that could cause or contribute to such differences, please see Yadkin Valley’s and American Community’s filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Although we believe that the assumptions underlying the forward-looking statements are reasonable, any of the assumptions could prove to be inaccurate. These projections and statements are based on management’s estimates and assumptions with respect to future events and financial performance and are believed to be reasonable though they are inherently uncertain and difficult to predict. Therefore, we can give no assurance that the results contemplated in the forward-looking statements will be realized. The inclusion of this forward-looking information should not be construed as a representation by either company or any person that the future events, plans, or expectations contemplated by either company will be achieved. Yadkin Valley does not intend to and assumes no responsibility for updating or

revising any forward-looking statement contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

For additional information contact:

William A. Long

President and CEO

(336) 526-6312

Jan H. Hollar

CFO

(704) 768-1161

Megan R. Malanga

Nvestcom

(954) 781-4393

megan.malanga@nvestcom.com