Exhibit 99.1

Yadkin Valley Financial Corporation Receives $36 Million Preferred
Stock Investment Under Treasury Capital Purchase Program

Elkin, NC – January 20, 2008 – Yadkin Valley Financial Corporation (NASDAQ: YAVY), the holding company for Yadkin Valley Bank and Trust Company, announced that it completed the sale and issuance of $36 million in capital as a participant in the Treasury’s Capital Purchase Program. The Company issued 36,000 shares of senior preferred shares with a related warrant to purchase 385,990 shares of the Company’s common stock to the Treasury at an exercise price of $13.99 per share.

Bill Long, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Company, commented, “We are pleased to have been approved for participation in the Treasury’s Capital Purchase Program. We believe investment will improve our already strong capital position, and will better position us to take advantage of the unique opportunities that have arisen following the market disruption that continues across our footprint. Furthermore, this capital was obtained at a cost that was significantly lower and less dilutive than what was available in the public or private capital markets.”

The preferred stock is non-voting and will pay a dividend of 5% annually for the first five years and 9% annually thereafter if the shares are not redeemed. The Treasury has agreed not to exercise voting power with respect to any shares of common stock that may be issued upon exercise of the warrant.

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About Yadkin Valley Financial Corporation

Yadkin Valley Financial Corporation is the holding company for Yadkin Valley Bank and Trust Company, a full service community bank providing services in 29 branches throughout its four regions in North Carolina. The Yadkin Valley Bank region serves Ashe, Forsyth, Surry, Wilkes, and Yadkin Counties, and operates a loan production office in Wilmington, NC. The Piedmont Bank region serves Iredell and Mecklenburg Counties. The High Country Bank region serves Avery and Watauga Counties. The Cardinal State Bank region serves Durham, Orange, and Granville Counties. The Bank provides mortgage lending services through its subsidiary, Sidus Financial, LLC, headquartered in Greenville, North Carolina. Securities brokerage services are provided by Main Street Investment Services, Inc., a Bank subsidiary with four offices located in the branch network.

Certain statements in this press release contain “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995, such as statements concerning our future growth, plans, objectives, expectations, performance, events and the like, as well as any other statements, including those regarding the proposed merger, that are not historical facts and are thus prospective. Such forward-looking statements are subject to risks, uncertainties, and other factors, including, but not limited to: the businesses of Yadkin Valley and American Community may not be integrated successfully or such integration may take longer to accomplish than expected; disruption from the merger may make it more difficult to maintain relationships with clients, associates, or suppliers; the required governmental approvals of the merger may not be obtained on the proposed terms and schedule; shareholders may not approve the merger; continued disruption in worldwide and U.S. economic conditions; changes in

the interest rate environment which may reduce the net interest margin; a continued downturn in the economy or real estate market; greater than expected noninterest expenses or excessive loan losses as a result of changes in market conditions and the adverse impact on the value of the underlying collateral and other factors which could cause actual results to differ materially from future results expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. For a more detailed description of factors that could cause or contribute to such differences, please see Yadkin Valley’s and American Community’s filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Although we believe that the assumptions underlying the forward-looking statements are reasonable, any of the assumptions could prove to be inaccurate. These projections and statements are based on management’s estimates and assumptions with respect to future events and financial performance and are believed to be reasonable though they are inherently uncertain and difficult to predict. Therefore, we can give no assurance that the results contemplated in the forward-looking statements will be realized. The inclusion of this forward-looking information should not be construed as a representation by either company or any person that the future events, plans, or expectations contemplated by either company will be achieved. Yadkin Valley and American Community do not intend to and assume no responsibility for updating or revising any forward-looking statement contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise

For additional information contact:
William A. Long
President and CEO

Edwin E. Laws
CFO
(336) 526-6312

Megan R. Malanga
Nvestcom Investor Relations
(954) 781-4393
megan.malanga@nvestcom.com