Kayne Anderson Energy Development Company Schedules Earnings Release for Its Third Quarter Ended August 31, 2007

HOUSTON, TX -- 10/08/2007 -- (NYSE: KED) Kayne Anderson Energy Development Company (the "Company") today announced that it will report its earnings results for the third quarter ended August 31, 2007 on Thursday, October 11, 2007 after the close of the financial markets.

The Company will host a conference call at 10:00 a.m., Eastern time, on Friday, October 12, 2007 to discuss its results. All interested parties are welcome to participate. You can access the conference call by dialing (866) 831-6272 approximately 5-10 minutes prior to the call. International callers should dial (617) 213-8859. All callers should reference "Passcode 85863401." For the convenience of the Company's stockholders, an archived replay of the call will be available in the Investor Relations section of the Company's website (http://www.kaynebdc.com).

The Company is a non-diversified, closed-end investment company that elected to be treated as a business development company under the Investment Company Act of 1940. The Company's investment objective is to generate both current income and capital appreciation primarily through equity and debt investments. The Company will seek to achieve this objective by investing at least 80% of its net assets together with the proceeds of any borrowings (its "total assets") in securities of companies that derive the majority of their revenue from activities in the energy industry, including: (a) Midstream Energy Companies, which are businesses that operate assets used to gather, transport, process, treat, terminal and store natural gas, natural gas liquids, propane, crude oil or refined petroleum products; (b) Upstream Energy Companies, which are businesses engaged in the exploration, extraction and production of natural resources, including natural gas, natural gas liquids and crude oil, from onshore and offshore geological reservoirs; and (c) Other Energy Companies, which are businesses engaged in owning, leasing, managing, producing, processing and sale of coal and coal reserves; the marine transportation of crude oil, refined petroleum products, liquefied natural gas, as well as other energy-related natural resources using tank vessels and bulk carriers; and refining, marketing and distributing refined energy products, such as motor gasoline and propane to retail customers and industrial end-users.

CAUTIONARY NOTE REGARDING FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS: This press release contains "forward-looking statements" as defined under the U.S. federal securities laws. Generally, the words "believe," "expect," "intend," "estimate," "anticipate," "project," "will" and similar expressions identify forward-looking statements, which generally are not historical in nature. Forward-looking statements are subject to certain risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to materially differ from the Company's historical experience and its present expectations or projections indicated in any forward-looking statement. These risks include, but are not limited to, changes in economic and political conditions; regulatory and legal changes; energy industry risk; commodity pricing risk; leverage risk; valuation risk; non-diversification risk; interest rate risk; tax risk; and other risks discussed in the Company's filings with the SEC. You should not place undue reliance on forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date they are made. The Company undertakes no obligation to publicly update or revise any forward-looking statements made herein. There is no assurance that the Company's investment objectives will be attained.

Contacts:

KA Fund Advisors, LLC
David Shladovsky
1800 Avenue of the Stars, 2nd Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90067
(800) 231-7414

Kayne Anderson Energy Development Company
www.kaynebdc.com
(888) 533-1232