EXHIBIT 99.1

130 Adelaide St. W., Suite 1901, Toronto, ON M5H 3P5 Tel: (416) 364-4938 Fax: (416) 364-5162 ir@avalonraremetals.com www.avalonraremetals.com

NEWS RELEASE

September 12, 2013	No. 13-09

Avalon Files Final Base Shelf Prospectus and US
Registration Statement

Toronto, ON -- Avalon Rare Metals Inc. (TSX and NYSE MKT: AVL) (“Avalon” or the “Company”) is pleased to announce that, further to the Company’s news release dated August 22, 2013, it has now filed a final base shelf prospectus (the "Prospectus") with the securities commissions in each of the provinces and territories of Canada, except Quebec, and a registration statement with the United States Securities and Exchange Commission which has become effective.

Under the Prospectus, the Company may issue shares or warrants, or any combination of such securities as units, in amounts, at prices and on terms to be determined based on market conditions at the time of sale and set forth in an accompanying prospectus supplement, for an aggregate offering amount of up to USD $500,000,000 during the 25 month period that the final short form base shelf prospectus remains effective.

This press release shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy nor shall there be any sale of these securities in any state in which such offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under the securities laws of any such state.

About Avalon Rare Metals Inc.
Avalon Rare Metals Inc. is a mineral development company focused on rare metal deposits in Canada. Its flagship project, the 100%-owned Nechalacho Deposit, Thor Lake, NWT is exceptional in its large size and enrichment in the scarce 'heavy' rare earth elements, key to enabling advances in clean technology and other growing high-tech applications. With a positive feasibility study and environmental assessment completed, Nechalacho remains the most advanced potential large new source of heavy rare earths in the world outside of China, currently the source of most of the world’s supply. Avalon is well funded, has no debt and its work programs are progressing. Social responsibility and environmental stewardship are corporate cornerstones.

To find out more about Avalon Rare Metals Inc., please visit our website at www.avalonraremetals.com. For questions and feedback, please e-mail the Company at ir@avalonraremetals.com, or phone Don Bubar, President & CEO at 416-364-4938. Shares Outstanding: 103,796,986. Cash resources: approximately $9 million.

This news release contains “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and applicable Canadian securities legislation. Forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to, statements with respect to the filing of a prospectus supplement of the Company.  Generally, these forward-looking statements can be identified by the use of forward-looking terminology such as “scheduled”, “anticipates”, “continues”, “expects”  or “does not expect”, “is expected”, “scheduled”, “targeted”, “planned” or “believes”, or variations of such words and phrases or state that certain actions, events or results “may”, “could”, “would”, “might” or “will be” or “will not be” taken, reached or result, “will occur” or “be achieved”. Forward-looking statements are subject to known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors that may cause the actual results, level of activity, performance or achievements of Avalon to be materially different from those expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements are based on assumptions management believes to be reasonable at the time such statements are made. Although Avalon has attempted to identify important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from those contained in forward-looking statements, there may be other factors that cause results not to be as anticipated, estimated or intended. Factors that may cause actual results to differ materially from expected results described in forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to Avalon’s ability to have the registration statement declared effective by securities regulators, and market demand for Avalon’s securities, as well as those risk factors set

out in the Company’s current Annual Information Form, Management’s Discussion and Analysis and other disclosure documents available under the Company’s profile at www.SEDAR.com. There can be no assurance that such statements will prove to be accurate, as actual results and future events could differ materially from those anticipated in such statements. Such forward-looking statements have been provided for the purpose of assisting investors in understanding the Company’s plans and objectives and may not be appropriate for other purposes. Accordingly, readers should not place undue reliance on forward-looking statements. Avalon does not undertake to update any forward-looking statements that are contained herein, except in accordance with applicable securities laws.