Legacy Reserves LP
Wachovia Equity Conference

June 27, 2007

Forward-Looking Statements
Statements made by representatives of Legacy Reserves LP (the “Partnership”) during
the course of this presentation that are not historical facts are forward-looking
statements. These statements are based on certain assumptions made by the
Partnership based on management’s experience and perception of historical trends,
current conditions, anticipated future developments and other factors believed to be
appropriate. Such statements are subject to a number of assumptions, risks and
uncertainties, many of which are beyond the control of the Partnership, which may cause
actual results to differ materially from those implied or expressed by the forward-looking
statements. These include risks relating to financial performance and results, availability
of sufficient cash flow to pay distributions and execute our business plan, prices and
demand for oil and natural gas, our ability to replace reserves and efficiently exploit our
current reserves, our ability to make acquisitions on economically acceptable terms, and
other important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from those
projected as described in the Partnership’s registration statements filed with the
Securities and Exchange Commission.  The Partnership undertakes no obligation to
publicly update any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information
or future events.

Legacy Reserves LP
Legacy Overview

Other
Related
Entities
Dale Brown &
Jack McGraw
form
Partnership
Cary &
Dale Brown
form
Moriah
Formation Transaction
Through
Private Placement
1981
1991
2005
March
2006
January
2007
IPO
Brothers
Production
Company
Brothers
Moriah
Brothers
MBN
Moriah
Legacy
Kyle McGraw
&
Cary Brown
Assume
Management
Legacy History

S. Wil VanLoh, Jr.
Managing Partner
Quantum Energy Partners
William D. Sullivan
Former EVP
Anadarko Petroleum
G. Larry Lawrence
Former Controller
Pure Resources
Kyle D. Vann
Former CEO
Entergy - Koch, LP
Name
Title
Years of Experience
Permian / Total Oil & Gas
Independent Board Members
Legacy Management Team

Cody, WY
Asset Overview

(1)

Taken from reserve reports prepared by LaRoche Petroleum Consultants, Ltd. as of 12/31/06 for Legacy Reserves LP plus proved reserves from 2007 acquisitions from internal
reserve reports: Binger (4.1 MMBoe), TSF/Ameristate (1.4 MMBoe), and Slaughter/Rocker A (1.0 MMBoe).
(2)

1st quarter 2007 production (3,655 Boepd) plus the estimated current production from 2007 acquisitions: Binger (734 Boe/d), TSF/Ameristate (284 Boe/d), and Slaughter/Rocker A
(215 Boe/d).
Asset Overview
•

25.3 MMBoe of proved reserves (1)
•

Reserves-to-production ratio of
over 14 years
•

Diversified across over 2,100
wells
•

70% operated
•

4,888 net Boe per day (2)
•

70% oil

(1)

Source: http://www.utpb.edu
Map Source: Midland Map Company.
Stable Platform
Why the Permian Basin?
•

Over 24 BBbls produced since 1921
•

Represents 20% of lower 48 states
and 68% of Texas oil production (1)
•

Multiple producing formations
•

Established infrastructure and ample
take-away capacity
•

Long-lived reserves
•

Predictable, shallow decline rates
•

Fragmented ownership

Top 5
Operators
1,700+
Operators
0.3%
(1)  Ownership based on production.  Permian Basin includes Texas Railroad Commission Districts 7C, 8, 8A and Lea and Eddy County, New Mexico.
Permian Basin data as of July 31, 2005; Legacy production data as of September 30, 2006.
63.6%
36.1%
Permian Basin Ownership Profile (1)
Consolidation Opportunities in the Permian Basin
•

Fragmented ownership provides
numerous acquisition opportunities
•

Acquisition niche - large PDP
component
•

Connected in Permian Basin deal
network

Note: Per John S. Herold, Inc’s 2007 Global Upstream M&A Review (from publicly available data).  Mid-Continent includes the Permian Basin, excludes corporate transactions.
Multi-Billion Dollar Acquisition Market
Active Acquisition Market

Aggregate cost of $227
million at an average
cost of $7.75 per Boe
13.1
20.1
29.3
7.0
13.1
7.0
13.1
9.2
Acquired Reserves (1999 - 2007)
Acquisition Track Record

5 negotiated transactions averaging:
•

  $12.22 per Boe of proved reserves
•

  84% PDP, 14.3 year R/P
•

  $63,579 per Boepd
•

  4.7 times 2006 cash flow
2007 Acquisition Summary

Legacy Reserves LP
Financial Summary

GP Interest
<0.1%
New Unitholders
29%
144A & Reg D
Unitholders
17%
Sellers of Assets to
Legacy
3%
Founding Investors,
Directors and Management
51%
Ticker:

LGCY
Exchange:

NASDAQ
Unit Price (6/14/07):

$26.96 per unit
Quarterly Distribution:

$0.41 per unit
Yield:

6.1%
Market Capitalization:

$703 million
Note:  Ownership as of 4/20/07
Ownership

Summary Balance Sheet
Legacy Balance Sheet

Note: Adjusted EBITDA for the quarter ended 9-30-06 unfavorably impacted by $4.0 million swap termination payment for 2007-2008 oil swaps.
Financial and Operating Data - Latest Twelve Months
Summary Financial Information

(1) All hedges are floating for fixed price swaps. Swap volumes and prices starting April 1, 2007 through December 31, 2012.   Waha-NYMEX basis swaps in
place on Henry Hub gas swaps.  Natural gas and oil prices shown are for NYMEX futures, except for certain gas volumes hedged on ANR-Oklahoma and
Waha which trades at a discount to NYMEX Henry Hub.  Natural gas liquids swaps are not shown.
1,042
1,885
1,736
1,514
437
809
774
715
400
509
Oil (1)
Natural Gas (1)
Over 70% of forecasted production hedged for 2007 and over 60% hedged through 2010.
274
Commodity Price Hedging Summary

Legacy’s Performance
Since the IPO, Legacy’s unit price has increased by 42%.

Note:  Legacy Reserves data as of 6/13/07.  Other MLP Market data from Wachovia Capital Markets Equity Research Department as of 6/8/2007.
Large Cap Pipeline / Midstream MLPs Index:  Market Cap > $1.4 B. Includes Buckeye, Boardwalk, Enbridge, Energy Transfer, Enterprise, Kinder Morgan, Magellan, Oneok, Plains, TEPPCO, NuStar.
Coal MLPs Index:  Alliance, Natural Resource Partners.
Small Cap Pipeline / Midstream MLPs Index:  Market Cap < $1.4 B. Includes Atlas, Copano, Crosstex, DCP, Genesis, Hiland, Holly, MarkWest, Martin, Regency, Sunoco, TC, Transmontaigne, Williams.
Public MLP General Partner Index:  General Partners of Alliance, Atlas, Buckeye, Crosstex, Energy Transfer, Enterprise, Hiland, Inergy, Magellan, NuStar.
6.1%
3.4%
5.2%
5.3%
5.8%
5.4%
5.3%
5.4%
5.8%
6.6%
Distribution Yield

Significant Advantages of MLP without IDR
•

Lower cost of capital than traditional MLP structure
–

Unit distribution growth not burdened by IDRs to the GP
–

Cost of equity equals market yield
•

Simple and fair alignment of interests among all investors
–

Investors share equally in all cash flows
–

With significant ownership, management is strongly motivated to increase
distributions
•

Facilitates accretive acquisitions
–

Acquisitions are more accretive at a given price
–

Ability to use units as acquisition currency

Legacy Summary
•

Only MLP focused on the oil-weighted Permian Basin
•

Experienced management team with significant equity ownership
•

Tax advantaged yield
•

Significant organic and external growth opportunities
•

Long-lived, diversified multi-pay properties
•

Demonstrated reserve replacement capability
•

Long-term hedges in place
•

Low level of debt
•

MLP structure with no IDRs

Adjusted EBITDA Reconciliation
This presentation, the financial tables and other supplemental information, including the
reconciliations of certain non-generally accepted accounting principles ("non-GAAP")
measures to their nearest comparable generally accepted accounting principles ("GAAP")
measures, may be used periodically by management when discussing Legacy's financial
results with investors and analysts and they are also available on Legacy's website under
the Investor Relations tab.  Adjusted EBITDA is defined in our revolving credit facility as
net income (loss) plus interest expense; depletion, depreciation, amortization and
accretion; impairment of long-lived assets; (gain) loss on sale of partnership investment;
(gain) loss on sale of assets; equity in (income) loss of partnerships; non-cash
compensation expense and unrealized (gain) loss on oil and natural gas swaps.
Adjusted EBITDA is presented as management believes it provides additional information
and metrics relative to the performance of Legacy's business, such as the cash
distributions we expect to pay to our unitholders, as well as our ability to meet our debt
covenant compliance tests. Management believes that these financial measures indicate
to investors whether or not cash flow is being generated at a level that can sustain or
support an increase in our quarterly distribution rates. Adjusted EBITDA may not be
comparable to a similarly titled measure of other publicly traded limited partnerships or
limited liability companies because all companies may not calculate Adjusted EBITDA in
the same manner.

                  Note: Adjusted EBITDA is a non-GAAP financial measure.
Reconciliation of Net Income to Adjusted EBITDA
Adjusted EBITDA Reconciliation