NEWS RELEASE

Augusta Closes $37.5 Million Sumitomo/Harbinger Financing

VANCOUVER, BC, June 19, 2007 - Augusta Resource Corporation (TSX/AMEX: AZC; FWB: A5R) (“Augusta” or the “Company”) reports it has closed the non-brokered private placement (the “Placement”) of 10,719,827 common shares at C$3.50 per share for total gross proceeds of C$37,519,394 announced on June14, 2007. The Placement was subscribed for by Sumitomo Corporation and Sumitomo Corporation of America (“Sumitomo”) as to 7,600,000 common shares and two funds managed by US private investment firm Harbinger Capital Partners (“Harbinger”) as to 3,119,827 common shares resulting in Sumitomo holding 8.7% interest in Augusta and Harbinger holding 19.9% (from 18.6%) in Augusta.

Proceeds from the Placement will be used towards the advancement of the Rosemont Property and for general working capital purposes.

ABOUT AUGUSTA RESOURCE CORPORATION - Augusta is a mineral exploration and development company responsibly advancing the Rosemont copper project in Southern Arizona. The Company’s Rosemont property is located in Pima County, approximately 50 kilometers southeast of Tucson, Arizona, and contains a potentially world class open-pit copper/molybdenum/silver (“Cu/Mo/Ag”) deposit. Augusta has a solid asset base, proven management team, and is committed to becoming a mid-tier copper producer within five years. The company is traded on the American Stock Exchange and the Toronto Stock Exchange under the symbol AZC, and on the Frankfurt Stock Exchange under the symbol A5R.

For additional information please visit www.augustaresource.com or contact:

Gil Clausen, President and CEO	Marlo Hamer-Jackson, Investor Relations Manager
Phone: 303-300-0136	Phone: 604-687-1717
Fax: 303-300-0135	Fax: 604-687-1715
gclausen@augustaresource.com	mhamer-jackson@augustaresource.com

ON BEHALF OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

“Gil Clausen”
______________________
Gil Clausen
President and CEO

CAUTIONARY STATEMENT REGARDING FORWARD LOOKING INFORMATION
Certain of the statements made and information contained herein and in the documents incorporated by reference may contain forward-looking statements or information within the meaning of the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and forward looking statements or information within the meaning of the Securities Act (Ontario). Forward- looking statements or information include statements regarding the expectations and beliefs of management. Forward looking statements or information include, but are not limited to, statements or information with respect to known or unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors which may cause the actual results, performance or achievements of the Company, or industry results, to be materially different from any future results, performance or achievements expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements or information. Forward-looking statements or information are subject to a variety of risks and uncertainties which could cause

Suite 400 - 837 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, BC, V6C 3N6
Telephone: 604 687 1717 Facsimile: 604 687 1715 E-mail: info@augustaresource.com

actual events or results to differ from those reflected in the forward-looking statements or information, including, without limitation, risks and uncertainties relating to the Company’s plans at its Rosemont Property and other mineral properties, the interpretation of drill results and the estimation of mineral resources and reserves, the geology, grade and continuity of mineral deposits, the possibility that future exploration, development or mining results will not be consistent with the Company’s expectations, metal recoveries, accidents, equipment breakdowns, title matters, labor disputes or other unanticipated difficulties with or interruptions in production and operations, the potential for delays in exploration or development activities or the completion of feasibility studies, the inherent uncertainty of production and cost estimates and the potential for unexpected costs and expenses, commodity price fluctuations, currency fluctuations, failure to obtain adequate financing on a timely basis, the effect of hedging activities, including margin limits and margin calls, regulatory restrictions, including environmental regulatory restrictions and liability, the speculative nature of mineral exploration, dilution, competition, loss of key employees, and other risks and uncertainties, including those described under “Risk Factors Relating to the Company’s Business” in the Company’s Annual Information Form dated March 1, 2007. Should one or more of these risks and uncertainties materialize, or should underlying assumptions prove incorrect, actual results may vary materially from those described in forward-looking statements. Accordingly, readers are advised not to place undue reliance on forward-looking statements or information. We do not expect to update forward-looking statements or information continually as conditions change, and you are referred to the full discussion of the Company’s business contained in the Company’s reports filed with the securities regulatory authorities in Canada and the United States.

Suite 400 - 837 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, BC, V6C 3N6
Telephone: 604 687 1717 Facsimile: 604 687 1715 E-mail: info@augustaresource.com