Exhibit 99.1

For more information:

Michael O’Neill

Chief Financial Officer

Alphatec Spine, Inc.

(760) 494-6746

investorrelations@alphatecspine.com

Westwicke Partners

Lynn C. Pieper

(415) 202-5678

lynn.pieper@westwicke.com

ALPHATEC SPINE ANNOUNCES THE ADDITION OF LESLIE H. CROSS

TO ITS BOARD OF DIRECTORS

CARLSBAD, CA, March 29, 2011 – Alphatec Holdings, Inc. (Nasdaq:ATEC), the parent company of Alphatec Spine, Inc., a medical device company that designs, develops, manufactures and markets products for the surgical treatment of spine disorders, with a focus on treating conditions related to the aging spine, announced today the addition of Leslie H. Cross to its Board of Directors. This appointment increases Alphatec Spine’s Board of Directors in size from nine directors to ten, and increases the number of independent directors from five to six.

Leslie H. Cross is currently the President, Chief Executive Officer and a Director of DJO Global, Inc. In calendar 2010, DJO Global’s net sales were $966 million, with adjusted EBITDA of $262 million. DJO Global is a manufacturer and worldwide leading distributor of electrotherapy products for pain therapy and rehabilitation, clinical devices for the treatment of patients in physical therapy clinics, knee, hip and shoulder implant products, and orthopedic rehabilitation products, including rigid knee bracing, orthopedic soft goods, cold therapy systems, vascular systems and bone growth stimulation devices. Mr. Cross has held principal executive roles at DJO Global and its predecessors since 1995. From 1990 to 1994, Mr. Cross held the position of Senior Vice President of Marketing and Business Development of the Bracing & Support Systems division of Smith & Nephew. He was a Managing Director of two different divisions of Smith & Nephew from 1982 to 1990. Mr. Cross earned a diploma in medical technology from Sydney Technical College in Sydney, Australia and studied business at the University of Cape Town in Cape Town, South Africa.

“We are very pleased that Les Cross has agreed to join Alphatec Spine’s board of directors. His experience with DJO Global will be a significant asset to our company,” said Mortimer Berkowitz III, Alphatec Spine’s Chairman of the Board of Directors. “Les’ reputation throughout his career for driving growth and profitability through fundamental operating integration and leverage will make an outstanding contribution to our board. I look forward to working with Les to create substantial shareholder value.”

About Alphatec Spine

Alphatec Spine, Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of Alphatec Holdings, Inc. (Nasdaq:ATEC). Alphatec Spine is a medical device company that designs, develops, manufactures and markets products for the surgical treatment of spine disorders, primarily focused on the aging spine. The Company’s mission is to combine world-class customer service with innovative, surgeon-driven design that will help improve the aging patient’s quality of life. The Company is poised to achieve its goal through new solutions for patients with osteoporosis, stenosis and other aging spine deformities, improved minimally invasive products and techniques and integrated biologics solutions. In addition to its U.S. operations, the Company also markets its products in over 50 international markets through its subsidiary, Scient’x S.A., via a direct salesforce in France, Italy and the United Kingdom and via independent distributors in the rest of Europe, the Middle East and Africa, South America and Latin America. In Asia and Australia, the Company markets its products through its subsidiary, Alphatec Pacific, Inc., and through Scient’x’s distributors in China, Korea and Australia.

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