Exhibit 99.1

For more information:

Peter C. Wulff

Chief Financial Officer

Alphatec Spine, Inc.

(760) 494-6746

investorrelations@alphatecspine.com

Westwicke Partners

Lynn C. Pieper

(415) 202-5678

lynn.pieper@westwicke.com

ALPHATEC SPINE COMPLETES $10 MILLION PRIVATE PLACEMENT OF COMMON STOCK

CARLSBAD, Calif., June 5, 2009 – Alphatec Holdings, Inc. (Nasdaq:ATEC), the parent company of Alphatec Spine, Inc., a medical device company that designs, develops, manufactures and markets products for the surgical treatment of spine disorders, with a focus on treating conditions related to the aging spine, today announced that it has successfully completed a private placement of $10 million of shares of its common stock to one of its existing shareholders, HealthpointCapital Partners II, L.P. Pursuant to the purchase agreement governing the offering, the price per share for the common stock was $2.54, which is the higher of (i) the average closing share price for the Company’s common stock on the Nasdaq National Market for prior four most recently completed trading days prior to the date the agreement was executed, and (ii) the closing share bid price for the Company’s common stock on the Nasdaq National Market on the date that the agreement was executed. Alphatec plans to use the net proceeds of the private placement for general working capital purposes. The net proceeds to the Company pursuant to the offering are expected to be approximately $9.9 million. Thomas Weisel Partners acted as sole placement agent in connection with this transaction.

The shares of common stock sold in the offering have not yet been registered under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and may not be offered or sold in the United States absent a registration statement or exemption from registration. The closing of this private placement is expected to occur on or about June 22, 2009, subject to customary closing conditions.

“The proceeds from this private placement strengthen our overall financial position and enables us to focus on execution.” said Dirk Kuyper, the Company’s President and Chief Executive Officer. “We evaluated a number of alternatives and are pleased that HealthpointCapital’s ongoing support and confidence in the business has enabled us to complete this financing, providing Alphatec Spine with the highest amount of net cash proceeds with the least dilution to our shareholders as compared to other financing alternatives available in the the current capital market environment.”

About Alphatec Spine

Alphatec Spine, Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of Alphatec Holdings, Inc. (Nasdaq:ATEC). Alphatec Spine is a medical device company that designs, develops, manufactures and markets products for the surgical treatment of spine disorders, primarily focused on the aging spine. The Company’s mission is to combine world-class customer service with innovative, surgeon-driven

design that will help improve the aging patient’s quality of life. The Company is poised to achieve its goal through new solutions for patients with osteoporosis, stenosis and other aging spine deformities, improved minimally invasive products and techniques and integrated biologics solutions. In addition to its U.S. operations, the Company also markets its spine products in Europe. In Asia, the Company markets a broad line of spine and orthopedic products through its subsidiary, Alphatec Pacific, Inc. For more information, please visit www.alphatecspine.com.

Also visit the Aging Spine Center, www.agingspinecenter.com, a web-based information portal for healthcare providers and patients regarding aging spine disorders and their treatment. The Company is working with the National Osteoporosis Foundation as well as other clinical portals that provide peer-reviewed content, to populate the Aging Spine Center. The interactive website enables patients to review pertinent information about disorders that affect the aging spine in an easy-to-understand format that includes videos, graphics and questions that should be asked of caregivers. Medical information on the website includes published abstracts regarding the aging spine.

Forward Looking Statements

This press release may contain “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 that involve risks and uncertainty. Such statements are based on management’s current expectations and are subject to a number of risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from those described in the forward-looking statements. These forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to: Alphatec Spine’s ability to accelerate new product momentum, bring to market differentiated products and commercialize its product pipeline. Alphatec Spine cautions investors that there can be no assurance that actual results or business conditions will not differ materially from those projected or suggested in such forward-looking statements as a result of various factors, including, but not limited to, the following: Alphatec Spine’s ability to meet its 2009 revenue and earnings projections, the growth rate of the spine market related to aging and elderly patients, uncertainty of success in developing new products or products currently in Alphatec Spine’s pipeline, including the successful global launch of those products that are intended to treat disorders prevalent in aging patients, failure to achieve acceptance of Alphatec Spine’s products by the surgeon community, failure to obtain FDA clearance or approval for new products, or unexpected or prolonged delays in the process, Alphatec Spine’s ability to develop and expand its business in the United States, Asia and Europe, continuation of favorable third party payor reimbursement and acceptable collections from hospitals for procedures performed using Alphatec Spine’s products, unanticipated expenses or liabilities or other adverse events affecting cash flow or Alphatec Spine’s ability to successfully control its costs or achieve profitability, uncertainty of additional funding, Alphatec Spine’s ability to compete with other competing products and with emerging new technologies, product liability exposure, patent infringement claims and claims related to Alphatec Spine’s intellectual property. Please refer to the risks detailed from time to time in Alphatec Spine’s SEC reports, including quarterly reports on Form 10-Q, reports on Form 8-K and annual reports on Form 10-K. Alphatec Spine disclaims any intention or obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events, or otherwise, unless required by law.

# # #