Exhibit 99.1

Synergy Pharmaceuticals Reports Inducement Grants Under Nasdaq Listing Rule 5635(c)(4)

NEW YORK, February 13, 2018 —Synergy Pharmaceuticals Inc. (NASDAQ: SGYP), a biopharmaceutical company focused on the development and commercialization of novel gastrointestinal (GI) therapies, today announced that the Compensation Committee of the Board of Directors of Synergy approved the grant of inducement stock options to purchase 289,000 shares of Synergy common stock to 193 former contract sales representatives that have transitioned over to Synergy as part of its field force integration plan, with a grant date of February 7, 2018 (the “2018 Inducement Grants”).

The 2018 Inducement Grants have an exercise price per share equal to the closing price of Synergy’s common stock on February 7, 2018, the date of grant. The stock options have a 10-year term and vest in equal amounts on the anniversary of the date of grant over 3 years, subject to the new employees continued service with the company through the respective vesting dates. The stock options were granted as inducements material to the new employees entering into employment with Synergy in accordance with NASDAQ Listing Rule 5635(c)(4).

About Synergy Pharmaceuticals Inc.

Synergy is a biopharmaceutical company focused on the development and commercialization of novel gastrointestinal (GI) therapies. The company has pioneered discovery, research and development efforts on analogs of uroguanylin, a naturally occurring and endogenous human GI peptide, for the treatment of GI diseases and disorders. Synergy’s proprietary GI platform includes one commercial product TRULANCE® and a second product candidate, dolcanatide. For more information, please visit www.synergypharma.com.

Forward-Looking Statement

Certain statements in this press release are forward-looking within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995, including statements about Synergy’s anticipated public offering, anticipated use of proceeds and other statements containing the words “anticipate,” “planned,” “believe,” “forecast,” “estimated,” “expected,” and “intend,” among others. These forward-looking statements are based on Synergy’s current expectations and actual results could differ materially. There are a number of factors that could cause actual events to differ materially from those indicated by such forward-looking statements. These factors include, but are not limited to, the development, launch, introduction and commercial potential of TRULANCE; growth and opportunity, including peak sales and the potential demand for TRULANCE, as well as its potential impact on applicable markets; market size; substantial competition; our ability to continue as a going concern; our need for additional financing; uncertainties of patent protection and litigation; uncertainties of government or third party payer reimbursement; dependence upon third parties; our financial performance and results, including the risk that we are unable to manage our operating expenses or cash use for operations, or are unable to commercialize our products, within the guided ranges or otherwise as expected; and risks related to failure to obtain FDA clearances or approvals and noncompliance with FDA regulations. As with any pharmaceutical under development, there are significant risks in the development, regulatory approval

and commercialization of new products. There are no guarantees that future clinical trials discussed in this press release will be completed or successful or that any product will receive regulatory approval for any indication or prove to be commercially successful. Investors should read the risk factors set forth in Synergy’s most recent periodic reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including Synergy’s Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2016. While the list of factors presented here is considered representative, no such list should be considered to be a complete statement of all potential risks and uncertainties. Unlisted factors may present significant additional obstacles to the realization of forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements included herein are made as of the date hereof, and Synergy does not undertake any obligation to update publicly such statements to reflect subsequent events or circumstances.

Company Contact:

Gem Hopkins

VP, Investor Relations and Corporate Communications

212-584-7610

ghopkins@synergypharma.com