Exhibit 99.1

VANDA WITHDRAWS ITS MARKETING AUTHORIZATION APPLICATION FOR FANAPTUM™ IN THE EUROPEAN UNION

WASHINGTON, March 14, 2013 /PRNewswire/ — Vanda Pharmaceuticals Inc. (Vanda) (NASDAQ: VNDA) announced today that it has withdrawn its Marketing Authorization Application (MAA) submitted to the European Medicines Agency’s Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use (CHMP) for Fanaptum™ (oral iloperidone tablets) for the treatment of adult patients with schizophrenia.

This withdrawal is based on a request by the CHMP/Rapporteur/Co-rapporteur for Vanda to submit the results from an ongoing relapse prevention, randomized iloperidone-placebo withdrawal study in patients with schizophrenia. The results of this study will not be available in the timeframe allowed in the Centralised Procedure.

Vanda intends to reassess its European regulatory strategy for Fanaptum™ once the results from the Relapse Prevention Study in Patients with Schizophrenia (REPRIEVE) become available.

About Vanda Pharmaceuticals Inc.:

Vanda Pharmaceuticals Inc. is a biopharmaceutical company focused on the development and commercialization of products for the treatment of central nervous system disorders. For more on Vanda, please visit www.vandapharma.com.

Company Contact:

Jim Kelly

Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Vanda Pharmaceuticals Inc.

(202) 734-3428

jim.kelly@vandapharma.com

CAUTIONARY NOTE REGARDING FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS

Various statements in this release are “forward-looking statements” under the securities laws. Words such as, but not limited to, “believe,” “expect,” “anticipate,” “estimate,” “intend,” “plan,” “project,” “target,” “goal,” “likely,” “will,” “would,” and “could,” or the negative of these terms and similar expressions or words, identify forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements are based upon current expectations that involve risks, changes in circumstances, assumptions and uncertainties. Important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from those reflected in the

company’s forward-looking statements include, among others: the inability to reach agreement with the FDA regarding Vanda’s regulatory approval strategy or proposed path to approval for tasimelteon for the treatment of Non-24-Hour Disorder; Vanda’s failure to obtain regulatory approval for tasimelteon for the treatment of Non-24-Hour Disorder or to comply with ongoing regulatory requirements; Vanda’s failure to obtain regulatory approval for Fanaptum™ for the treatment of schizophrenia in the European Union; and other factors that are described in the “Risk Factors” and “Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations” sections of Vanda’s annual report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2012 which is on file with the SEC and available on the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov. In addition to the risks described above and in Vanda’s annual report on Form 10-K and quarterly reports on Form 10-Q, other unknown or unpredictable factors also could affect Vanda’s results. There can be no assurance that the actual results or developments anticipated by Vanda will be realized or, even if substantially realized, that they will have the expected consequences to, or effects on, Vanda. Therefore, no assurance can be given that the outcomes stated in such forward-looking statements and estimates will be achieved.

All written and verbal forward-looking statements attributable to Vanda or any person acting on its behalf are expressly qualified in their entirety by the cautionary statements contained or referred to herein. Vanda cautions investors not to rely too heavily on the forward-looking statements Vanda makes or that are made on its behalf. The information in this release is provided only as of the date of this release, and Vanda undertakes no obligation, and specifically declines any obligation, to update or revise publicly any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.