Exhibit 99.1

EMSC News- For Immediate Release

Contact:	Deborah Hileman
Vice President, Corporate Communications & Investor Relations
303-495-1210
Deborah.hileman@emsc.net

Emergency Medical Services Announces Closing of Public Stock Offering by
Existing Holders and Exercise of Underwriters’ Option

Greenwood Village, Colo. (August 12, 2009) — Emergency Medical Services Corporation (NYSE: EMS) (EMSC or the Company) today announced that it has closed its public secondary offering by certain of its equity holders of 8.0 million shares of EMSC’s class A common stock, and that the underwriters of the offering have exercised their option to purchase 1.2 million additional shares of the class A common stock from the selling stockholders at a price of $40.00 per share. EMSC did not receive any proceeds from the offering, which was paid entirely to the selling stockholders.

This press release shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy, nor shall there be any sale of these securities in any jurisdiction in which such offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under the securities law of any such jurisdiction. Copies of the prospectus supplement and accompanying base prospectus in the offering may be obtained from BofA Merrill Lynch, 4 World Financial Center, New York, NY 10080, Attn: Prospectus Department, or from Goldman, Sachs & Co., Prospectus Department, 85 Broad Street, New York, NY 10004, telephone: 1-866-471-2526, facsimile: 212-902-9316 or by emailing prospectus-ny@ny.email.gs.com and from the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov.

About Emergency Medical Services Corporation

Emergency Medical Services Corporation (EMSC) is a leading provider of emergency medical services in the United States. EMSC operates two business segments: American Medical Response, Inc. (AMR), the Company’s healthcare transportation services segment, and EmCare Holdings Inc. (EmCare), the Company’s outsourced hospital-based physician services segment. AMR is the leading provider of ambulance services in the United States. EmCare is a leading provider of outsourced emergency department and hospital-based physician services. In 2008, EMSC provided services to 11.4 million patients in nearly 2,100 communities nationwide. EMSC is headquartered in Greenwood Village, Colorado.

Forward-Looking Statements

Certain statements and information herein may be deemed to be “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the Federal Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These statements are subject to risks and uncertainties, including without limitation, general market conditions, the market for the company’s securities, the performance of the company’s business and other risks detailed from time-to-time in the company’s filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

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