Exhibit 99.1
Contact:
Deborah S. Lorenz
Senior Director
Investor Relations and Corporate Communications
Molecular Insight Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
(617) 871-6667
dlorenz@molecularinsight.com
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Molecular Insight Pharmaceuticals Announces Resignation of Director
Cambridge, MA, January 5, 2009 – Molecular Insight Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (NASDAQ: MIPI) announced today that David S. Barlow has resigned from the Board of Directors, effective December 30, 2008, citing disagreements with the Board. The Company has filed a copy of Mr. Barlow’s resignation with the Securities Exchange Commission today as an exhibit to a current report on Form 8-K
About Molecular Insight Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Molecular Insight Pharmaceuticals (NASDAQ: MIPI) is a Cambridge, Massachusetts-based biopharmaceutical company specializing in the emerging field of molecular medicine, applying innovations in the identification and targeting of disease at the molecular level to improve healthcare for patients with life-threatening diseases. The Company is focused on discovering, developing, and commercializing innovative molecular imaging radiopharmaceuticals and targeted molecular radiotherapeutics with initial applications in the areas of cardiology and oncology. Molecular Insight’s lead molecular imaging radiopharmaceutical product candidate, Zemiva™, is being developed for the diagnosis of cardiac ischemia, or insufficient blood flow to the heart. The Company’s imaging candidate, Trofex™, is in development for the detection of metastatic prostate cancer. Molecular Insight’s lead molecular radiotherapeutic product candidates, Azedra™ and Onalta™, are being developed for detection and treatment of cancer. In addition, the Company has a growing pipeline of product candidates resulting from application of its proprietary platform technologies to new and existing compounds. For more information, visit www.molecularinsight.com.
Forward-Looking Statements
Statements in this release that are not strictly historical in nature constitute “forward-looking statements.” Such statements include, but are not limited to, statements about the development of AzedraTM, OnaltaTM, ZemivaTM, TrofexTM and our other product candidates. Such forward-looking statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties, and other factors that may cause the actual results of Molecular Insight to be materially different from historical results or from any results expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. These factors include, but are not limited to, risks and uncertainties related to the progress, timing, cost, and results of clinical trials and product development programs; difficulties or delays in obtaining regulatory approval for product candidates; competition from other pharmaceutical or biotechnology companies; and the additional risks discussed in filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). The Company’s SEC filings are available through the SEC’s Electronic Data Gathering Analysis and Retrieval system (EDGAR) at www.sec.gov. Press releases for Molecular Insight Pharmaceuticals, Inc. are available on our website: www.molecularinsight.com. If you would like to receive press releases via e-mail, please contact: investor@molecularinsight.com. All forward-looking statements are qualified in their entirety by this cautionary statement, and Molecular Insight undertakes no obligation to revise or update this release to reflect events or circumstances after the date hereof.
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Molecular Insight Pharmaceuticals, Inc. • 160 Second Street • Cambridge, MA 02142
Tel: 617.492.5554 • Fax: 617.492.5664 • www.molecularinsight.com