Exhibit 99.1

Annual Report

Our Clinical Pipeline Most advanced development stage AUNCHED Program  Indication PHASE 1 PHASE 2 PHASE 3 L Tafasitamab (MOR208)1 L-MIND / Relapsed or refractory (r/r) 2 diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) B-MIND / r/r DLBCL firstMIND / First-line DLBCL frontMIND / First-line DLBCL Trial initiation expected H1 2021 inMIND / r/r follicular lymphoma /  marginal zone lymphoma Felzartamab (MOR202) M-PLACE / Anti-PLA2R-positive membranous nephropathy New-PLACE / Anti-PLA2R-positive Current status membranous nephropathy Expected study 1 Global Collaboration and License Agreement with Incyte Corporation; co-commercialization in the U.S.; Incyte has exclusive commercialization rights outside the U.S. 2 Not conducted, as not necessary. Clinical Programs Developed by Partners (Selection) Most advanced Most advanced development stage development stage AUNCHED AUNCHED Program/Partner Program/Partner Indication PHASE 1 PHASE 2 PHASE 3 L Indication PHASE 1 PHASE 2 PHASE 3 L Tremfya® (guselkumab) / Janssen/J&J NOV-8 (CMK389) / Novartis Psoriasis Pulmonary sarcoidosis 1 Felzartamab (MOR202) / I-Mab NOV-9 (LKA651) / Novartis Multiple myeloma Diabetic eye diseases Otilimab (MOR103/GSK3196165) / GlaxoSmithKline Setrusumab (BPS804) / Mereo/Novartis/Ultragenyx Rheumatoid arthritis Brittle bone syndrome Severe pulmonary COVID-19 related disease Utomilumab (PF-05082566) / Pfizer Gantenerumab / Roche Solid tumors Alzheimer’s disease Xentuzumab (BI-836845) / BI Anetumab ravtansine (BAY94-9343) / Bayer Solid tumors Solid tumors NOV-14 (CSJ117) / Novartis Ianalumab (VAY736) / Novartis Asthma Inflammation 2 MOR210 / I-Mab MAA868 / Anthos Therapeutics r/r advanced solid tumors Atrial fibrillation 1 Sublicensed to I-Mab for development in China, Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan. 2 Sublicensed to I-Mab for development in China, Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwan and South Korea. Pipeline products are under clinical investigation and there is no guarantee any investigational product will be approved by © MorphoSys, March 2021 regulatory authorities.

Key Figures (IFRS) MorphoSys Group (in million , if not stated otherwise) 12/31/20 12/31/19 12/31/18 12/31/17 12/31/16 12/31/15 12/31/14 12/31/13 12/31/12 12/31/11 Results1 Revenues 327.7 71.8 76.4 66.8 49.7 106.2 64.0 78.0 51.9 82.1 Cost of Sales 9.2 12.1 1.8 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 R&D Expenses 141.4 108.4 106.4 113.3 94.0 78.7 56.0 49.2 37.7 55.9 Selling Expenses2 107.7 22.7 6.4 4.8 2.4 0 0 0 0 0 G&A Expenses 51.4 36.7 21.9 15.7 13.4 15.1 14.1 18.8 12.1 14.9 Personnel Expenses (Excluding Stock-Based Compensation) 122.9 57.1 39.2 37.1 33.7 32.4 26.7 27.4 24.1 27.7 Capital Expenditure 49.2 3.7 2.5 13.1 2.9 8.8 20.5 5.6 1.8 2.9 Depreciation of Tangible Assets 2.5 2.0 1.8 2.0 1.8 1.5 1.4 1.5 1.7 1.7 Amortization of Intangible Assets 2.2 1.5 1.9 2.1 2.0 1.9 2.7 3.3 3.5 3.8 EBIT 27.4 (107.9) (59.1) (67.6) (59.9) 17.2 (5.9) 9.9 2.5 9.8 Net Profit/(Loss) 97.9 (103.0) (56.2) (69.8) (60.4) 14.9 (3.0) 13.3 1.9 8.2 Net Profit/(Loss) from Discontinued Operations – – – – – – – 6.0 (0.4) 0.0 Balance Sheet Total Assets 1,659.5 496.4 538.8 415.4 463.6 400.1 426.5 447.7 224.3 228.4 Cash and Financial Assets 1,244.0 357.4 454.7 312.2 359.5 298.4 352.8 390.7 135.7 134.4 Intangible Assets 71.0 44.8 47.4 67.8 67.9 79.6 46.0 35.1 35.0 66.0 Total Liabilities 1,038.2 101.7 50.4 56.7 48.1 37.3 77.7 95.5 22.3 31.3 Stockholders’ Equity 621.3 394.7 488.4 359.0 415.5 362.7 348.8 352.1 202.0 197.1 Equity Ratio (in %) 37% 80% 91% 86% 90% 91% 82% 79% 90% 86 % MorphoSys Share Number of Shares Issued 32,890,046 31,957,958 31,839,572 29,420,785 29,159,770 26,537,682 26,456,834 26,220,882 23,358,228 23,112,167 Group Earnings/(Loss) per Share, Basic and Diluted (in €) – (3.26) (1.79) (2.41) (2.28) 0.57 (0.12) 0.54 0.08 0.36 Earnings per Share, Basic (in €) 3.01 – – – – – – – – –Earnings per Share, Diluted (in €) 2.97 – – – – – – – – –Dividend (in €) – – – – – – – – – –Share Price (in €) 93.82 126.80 88.95 76.58 48.75 57.65 76.63 55.85 29.30 17.53 Personnel Data Total Group Employees (Number3) 615 426 329 326 345 365 329 299 421 446 1 Due to the agreement between Bio-Rad and MorphoSys, signed in December 2012, to acquire substantially all of the AbD Serotec segment, for the years 2013, 2012 and 2011, revenues, income and expenses in connection with the transaction are shown in the line item “Net Profit/(Loss) from Discontinued Operations.” All other line items consist of amounts from continuing operations. 2 In 2018, selling expenses were presented for the first time. In order to provide comparative information for the previous year, the figures for 2017 and 2016 have been adjusted accordingly. 3 2010 to 2012 including employees from the discontinued operations of AbD Serotec.

See our latest reports online You can also find our Group’s current annual and non-financial reports in both English and German online. Simply go to our website. We look forward to your visit. 20 AnnualReport 20 Non-FinancialReport 20 20 Annual Report Non-Financial Report https://reports.morphosys.com/2020 https://csr.morphosys.com/2020

The Company Group Management Report Financial Statements

Contents Magazine 03 What we stand for 12 Road to Monjuvi The Company 28 Letter to the Shareholders 36 Report of the Supervisory Board 42 Supervisory Board of MorphoSys AG 45 MorphoSys on the Capital Market 49 Non-Financial Group Report Group Management Report 53 Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group 70 Macroeconomic and Sector-Specific Conditions 71 Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations 88 Outlook and Forecast 92 Risk and Opportunity Report 102 Subsequent Events 103 Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance Financial Statements 136 Consolidated Statement of Profit or Loss (IFRS) 137 Consolidated Statement of Comprehensive Income (IFRS) 138 Consolidated Balance Sheet (IFRS) 140 Consolidated Statement of Changes in Stockholders’ Equity (IFRS) 142 Consolidated Statement of Cash Flows (IFRS) 144 Notes Additional information 207 Responsibility Statement 208 Independent Auditor’s Report 216 Glossary 218 List of Figures and Tables Annual Report https://reports.morphosys.com/2020

forstandwe What The Company Group Management Report Financial Statements

We are curious, fast and brave. We are scientific experts who want to improve the lives of patients. We rely on our outstanding scientific know-how, our leading antibody technology and novel therapeutic approaches to discover, develop and deliver transformative therapies for people who are impacted by cancer and autoimmune diseases.

Ground breaking—The Company Group Management Report Financial Statements

Trustful We are a reliable partner committed to the highest quality in everything we do. We provide top-quality products and services and are dedicated to excellence and safety in all processes of our value chain. We are fully aware that we bear a great responsibility.

The Company Group Management Report Financial Statements

We firmly believe that advanced antibody-based therapies are a key to treating cancer and autoimmune diseases. We love science, but even more so, we love helping patients who are impacted by these diseases. Every day we come to work driven to make a difference.

Dedicated The Company Group Management Report Financial Statements

The patient in mind

The Company Group Management Report Financial Statements Being able to help patients, give them hope and provide them with the best treatment available is our strongest motivation. Therefore, everything we do, every product, process, contact and service, needs to be of the highest quality to meet patients’ needs.

Magazine Road to Monjuvi 12 The Road to Monjuvi

Road to Monjuvi Magazine Company Report Statements 13 Management The Financial Group Monjuvi’s accelerated U.S. FDA approval marked the transformation of MorphoSys from a research organization to a fully integrated biopharmaceu- tical company. Up close, it resembles something like a Y, and its two upper “arms” can do one thing above all else: form a very specific and lasting bond. The antibody. A very particular antibody called tafasitamab (MOR208) is the focus of the next few pages. We invite you to join the MorphoSys team on an accelerated journey spanning ten years. It begins in 2010 with an idea, and thanks to a tremendous amount of dedication, passion, strategic vision, and perseverance – even in the face of unexpected obstacles such as the COVID-19 pandemic – it finally reaches its destination in July 2020 with the accelerated U.S. FDA approval of the drug Monjuvi® (tafasita-mab-cxix), which brings a new treatment option to patients in need. In the U.S., where Monjuvi is currently approved, this drug can er thousands of patients battling with diï¬ use large B cell lymphoma (DLBCL) the hope for better treatment. Discover, optimize and produce novel antibodies for use as reagents, diagnostics and therapeutics was the idea that led to MorphoSys’ foundation almost 30 years ago. Now with Monjuvi, MorphoSys has brought its first proprietary medicine to patients after ten years of successful development and, as a fully integrated biopharmaceutical company, is now playing a leading role in a key area of medicine. But let’s start from the beginning.

Magazine Road to Monjuvi 14 In 2010, MorphoSys already had one proprietary compound in clinical development and numerous others in early preclinical stages. But the ambitious biotech company wanted to go beyond this. “We wanted to expand our pipeline even further and develop medicines for patients in need, and were actively looking for a compound with convincing preclinical or first clinical data,” explains Barbara Krebs-Pohl, Ph.D., Senior Vice President and Global Head of Business Development & Licensing and Alliance Management. Krebs-Pohl and her team scanned databases, evaluated recently published studies with candidates, approached their contacts, and partic- Tafasitamab is a humanized and Fc-modified ipated in congresses and conferences. Then, at monoclonal antibody directed against the target a U.S. biotech conference, the U.S. company antigen CD19, which is selectively present on Xencor introduced Krebs-Pohl and her team to the surface of B cells, a type of white blood cell. the antibody tafasitamab. “It won us over right CD19 enhances B cell receptor signaling, which from the start,” says Krebs-Pohl, for several in turn exerts an important influence on B cell reasons. survival and growth. CD19 was not very well understood at the time – unlike the similar receptor, CD20 – so there was little competition. In addition, the receptor is present in many B cell tumor types and some autoimmune diseases. Most importantly, Xencor had optimized the so-called Fc-part of the antibody, which led to improved eradication of tumor cells in preclinical studies. As Krebs-Pohl recalls, “All this and the available data gave us hope that tafasitamab, as a therapeutic targeting this molecule, could become ‘best-in-class’.” On June 28, 2010, a deal was announced. And both parties were satisfied. Tafasitamab – also called MOR208 – became part of MorphoSys’ pipeline. How it started

Road to Monjuvi Magazine 15 The Company Group Management Report Financial Statements “Tafasitamab offered us just the right balance of risk and reward: it Barbara Krebs-Pohl, Ph.D., was still early in the de- Senior Vice President and Global Head of Business Development & velopment stage and Licensing and Alliance Management no clinical data existed yet, but the preclinical data was promising and we were hopeful that it could potentially change the lives of patients.”

Magazine Road to Monjuvi 16 “Patients with relapsed and refractory DLBCL often face a poor prognosis and are in need of new treatment options. We believe tafasitamab has the potential to transform the standard of care and are proud to be driving innovation in this space.” Malte Peters, M.D. Chief Research and Development Officer Clinical Development

Road to Monjuvi Magazine Company Report Statements 17 Management The Financial Group The focus of preclinical research soon turned to non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma (NHL). And when MorphoSys received the latest interim results from one of the first clinical studies with tafa-sitamab, the message was clear: “We have a drug.” Some of the patients, as many as 30%, had responded – and that was with tafasitamab as monotherapy. In preclinical studies, we had already shown that the combination of the immunomodulator lenalidomide and tafasitamab showed promis- out to physicians in various countries and they ing eï¬ƒcacy which led to the decision to assess reviewed hundreds of patient charts to identify this combination in a clinical study. patients treated with lenalidomide alone who also had comparable characteristics to those in The developers then set up a phase 2 clinical L-MIND”. trial in DLBCL, called L-MIND, to investigate the eï¬ƒcacy of the tafasitamab-lenalidomide Step-by-step, patient-by-patient, things pro-combination. It quickly became clear that it gressed. And then, at the very end of 2019, on had the potential to be a promising combination. December 30, the application for approval, to-In 2017, based on the first interim results, the gether with the necessary data, was submitted FDA granted breakthrough therapy designation, to the FDA. which is an important milestone for accelerated approval. While the team was focused on responding to the FDA’s inquiries along the way, the work “This was enormously motivating for us,” says continued to get ready for the launch. On Janu-Mark Winderlich, Ph.D., Vice President and Head ary 13, 2020, MorphoSys and Incyte entered of Biostatistics & Data Management. However, into a collaboration and license agreement to there was one challenge: The L-MIND study, further develop tafasitamab and make it avail-which was designed to be an exploratory study, able to patients worldwide. Incyte is an attrac-was a single-arm study. To avoid losing any tive partner due not only to its experience with time, we pioneered a new approach in discussion developing and commercializing hematology with the FDA: To compare the data of the L-MIND products, but also its vision, goals and scientific combination study with data obtained with culture, which aligned with those of MorphoSys. lenalidomide treatment alone, we generated a The two companies are jointly responsible for synthetic control arm from real-world data. the commercialization of Monjuvi which is the brand name within the U.S., whereas Incyte Collecting enough data from a prospectively has the commercialization rights outside the designed retrospective study to assess the ef- U.S. This marked another step in preparing for fectiveness of lenalidomide monotherapy com- the potential approval, which was granted by pared to the tafasitamab-lenalidomide combi- the FDA at the end of July 2020, one month ahead nation proved to be an exciting task: “We reached of the Prescription Drug User Fee Act (PDUFA) date. Monjuvi has since been available in the U.S. as the first and, to date, only second-line therapy in combination with lenalidomide for adult patients with relapsed or refractory DLBCL not otherwise specified, including DLBCL arising from low grade lymphoma, and who are not eligible for autologous stem cell transplant (ASCT).

Magazine Road to Monjuvi 18 Prior to the approval of Monjuvi, several objectives had to be met. The first was to understand the patient journey and educate healthcare professionals on the scientific rationale of targeting the CD19 antigen in DLBCL with a mono-clonal antibody. Secondly, the team had to be comprehensively trained on the DLBCL clinical management and the Monjuvi profile. “Our goal all along was to ensure that this treatment regimen was getting to the right patients who could benefit from it,” says David Trexler, President of MorphoSys US Inc. When the U.S. FDA granted the accelerated approval of Monjuvi, the MorphoSys’ field team was certified within days and began reaching By 2019, MorphoSys had the critical element out to physicians to introduce the new treatment it needed to launch into the DLBCL space – option within the first week knowing that every tafasitamab – a compound that could potentially day counts for patients with this aggressive fill a significant unmet need. And thousands form of blood cancer. On July 31, 2020, MorphoSys of patients relapsing with DLBCL were waiting and Incyte announced that the U.S. FDA had for eï¬ ective treatment options. That was when approved Monjuvi. Monjuvi was shipped to MorphoSys made the decision to open MorphoSys specialty distributors in the U.S. on August 5, US Inc. in Boston in preparation for the launch the first customer order was received on August of the new blood cancer therapy. The goal for 7, and the first patient was dosed on August the team was clear. “We needed to get prepared 13, less than two weeks after approval. to educate healthcare professionals about the new treatment option so the first patients could benefit from the treatment in a timely manner,” says Nuwan Kurukulasuriya, Ph.D., Senior Vice President and Global Head of Medical Aï¬ airs. MorphoSys US Inc. grew from a team of one in 2019 to a commercial and medical organization of 150 in 2020, sparking the transformation of MorphoSys into a fully integrated biopharma company. Launch

Road to Monjuvi Magazine 19 The Company Group Management Report Financial Statements “It was inspiring to see our team come together Roland Wandeler, Ph.D. Chief Operating Officer from different functions and geographies, guided by a singular shared mission to bring Monjuvi – an important new cancer therapy – to healthcare providers and patients in urgent need across the U.S.”

Magazine Road to Monjuvi 20 “We were able to build a robust supply chain for Monjuvi in record time, thanks to a high sense of urgency, courage and collaboration of our colleagues and partners,” says Daniel Palmacci, Senior Vice President and Global Head of Technical Operations. This success was made possible by the team in Technical Operations. “Back in 2010, in parallel with the preclinical research on tafasitamab, we started the technical devel- Ann Merchant, opment of a manufacturing process, which over Vice President and the years was engineered towards a highly Head of Global Supply Chain sophisticated, robust and large-scale process, reliably delivering Monjuvi today,” says Ralf Ostendorp, Ph.D., Senior Vice President and Head of CMC (Chemistry, Manufacture and Control). An eï¬ƒcient commercial supply chain also had to be built from the ground up prior to Monjuvi’s approval. Ann Merchant, Vice Prior to approval, many trial runs and coordi-President and Head of Global Supply Chain, nation processes were required. To this day, took charge of that process. “In the beginning, Merchant and the Technical Operations broader we just had the two ends. On one end was the team function as a coordination point for all unlabeled product and on the other, the patients supply topics to ensure that all processes mesh in need of this medicine,” Merchant explains. neatly together and that the quantity and timing of supply are right. “We conferred once a Slowly, the supply network took shape: The week with everyone involved for several months, antibodies are produced and bottled in Germany and then daily as the launch date neared. This and then shipped to a central distribution center required a lot of patience and stamina, but we in the United States. Specialty distributors were all dedicated to delivering our very best. obtain Monjuvi from this warehouse and they, It was clear to us that we were at the start of in turn, sell it to the clinics that have submitted something special.” orders. When the time finally came, spirits were high. The U.S. FDA granted accelerated approval on a Friday afternoon, and the supply chain was set in motion over the weekend. Three business days later, the first vials were shipped to specialty distributors. And now? With the supply chain in place and everything up and running, time to relax? Merchant smiles. “Every supply chain can be optimized in terms of speed, cost and reliability. That’s what we’re focusing on now.” And for any approvals received by MorphoSys down the line, Merchant already knows which partners she will be approaching. Supply Chain

Road to Monjuvi Magazine 21 The Company Group Management Report Financial Statements “We were able to build a robust supply chain for Monjuvi in record time thanks to a high sense of urgency, courage and collaboration of our colleagues and partners.” Daniel Palmacci, Senior Vice President and Global Head of Technical Operations

Magazine Road to Monjuvi 22 “We are building bridges with other DLBCL stakeholders every day. This helps not only the company, but also patients Christopher Mancill, Senior Vice President and and physicians in a Head Global & U.S. Value, Access & Policy very tangible way.” Christopher Mancill, Senior Vice President and Head Global & U.S. Value, Access & Policy, and Jill Robinson, Senior Director Public Policy & Advocacy, are also focused on understanding the views of external stakeholders. They want and needs. These include research groups, to know: What do DLBCL patients struggle with patient organizations, foundations and political in particular? How might those with inadequate stakeholders. MorphoSys, as the developer and insurance coverage be helped? What are the supplier of a potentially life-prolonging therapy special challenges that the treating physicians for DLBCL, also belongs to this universe – at are faced with daily? least since Monjuvi’s approval. As with all diseases, there are various groups Since 2019, Christopher Mancill and Jill Robin-and organizations that support people impacted son have been working on sustainably anchor-by blood cancer, each with individual interests ing MorphoSys within this universe. They organize meetings with stakeholders, build networks and get connected. “We are constantly building bridges,” says Mancill. Interactions

Road to Monjuvi Magazine 23 “All of this is about a mutual exchange and, at the same time, a beneficial relationship. It’s about supporting each other and achieving something together,” says Robinson. MorphoSys provides targeted support where needed. During the current COVID-19 pandemic, for example, many patients are finding it diï¬ƒcult to get on a decision tree. “These are just two of the safely to the clinic for treatment. MorphoSys many examples where we have listened and is stepping in and providing financial assistance are working to make a difference,” says Mancill. through a partner organization to facilitate low-risk transportation for eligible patients. For some time now, Mancill and Robinson have Treating physicians also still need support been inviting patients to speak to MorphoSys when it comes to making the best treatment personnel. “After these visits, I often get thank-decisions for their patients. Here MorphoSys you e-mails from colleagues I did not know lends its support to an organization designing previously,” says Robinson. “When patients tell independent practical daily guidelines based their stories, we can see for ourselves how much they rely on us and hear about the potential of Monjuvi. We are often literally their last hope. It’s very moving. It is also an enormous motivational boost for my colleagues and me to see that what we do saves lives.” “Sometimes it makes all the difference when a patient is provided with safe transport to the clinic. That’s when I know I can literally make a difference with my work.” Jill Robinson, Senior Director Public Policy & Advocacy

Magazine Road to Monjuvi 24 Patients are at the center of everything we do. They are the motivation driving the entire MorphoSys team to rise above themselves and ensure that our first proprietary drug, Monjuvi, is the success it is today. There is a great unmet medical need for patients with r/r DLBCL: in the U.S., where Monjuvi is currently approved, potentially 10,000 patients a year with relapsed or refractory DLBCL not otherwise specified, or previously considered almost out of treatment options, may have new hope. At the invitation of Jill Robinson and Christopher Mancill, some patients have the Jean-Paul Kress, M.D. opportunity to come to MorphoSys, sit down, and share their own personal story and the Chief Executive Officer hope they have related to Monjuvi. “With the approval, a successful marathon stretching over ten years has reached a peak. We are more energized than ever by this milestone and full of optimism for the next level on our journey, developing tafasitamab as a potential backbone therapy of choice for B cell malignancies,” says Jean-Paul Kress, M.D., Chief Executive Oï¬ƒcer. Buoyed by the success in the U.S., MorphoSys and Incyte are now working on making tafasit-amab available to DLBCL patients worldwide. Applications for approvals have already been filed in the EU, Switzerland and Canada, with other countries to follow. Based on the recently confirmed data on Mon-juvi’s efficacy, tolerability and side effects, additional clinical studies are underway for further and earlier applications in the treatment of blood cancer. A milestone on the road to Monjuvi has been reached. And with the achievement of this milestone, many new opportunities are within reach. Patient

Road to Monjuvi Magazine 25 The Company Financial Statements “With the approval Group Management Report of Monjuvi, MorphoSys has brought its first proprietary medicine to market and has become a fully integrated biopharmaceutical company. In light of its comprehensive development program, this is just the beginning of a promising future for Monjuvi, and for MorphoSys.” Jean-Paul Kress, M.D., Chief Executive Officer

The Company Contents 26 01 The Company

Company Report Statements Management The Financial Group 28 Letter to the Shareholders 36 Report of the Supervisory Board 42 Supervisory Board of MorphoSys AG 45 MorphoSys on the Capital Market Non-Financial Report https://csr.morphosys.com/2020

The Company Letter to the Shareholders 28 Jean-Paul Kress, M.D. Chief Executive Officer

Letter to the Shareholders The Company Report Statements 29 Management Financial Group Dear Ladies and Gentlemen, Dear Shareholders, As we reflect upon 2020, it was an unprecedented year with the global pandemic that impacted all of our lives and continues to challenge our everyday normalcy. Despite the many challenges we faced, 2020 was a year of significant achievements for MorphoSys. We delivered one of our most successful years as a company and brought new hope to patients. A transformative accomplishment was the accelerated U.S. approval and successful launch of Monjuvi for the treatment of an aggressive form of blood cancer where there remains a large unmet need. The Monjuvi launch accomplished a major goal of transforming the company into an integrated, commercial-stage biopharmaceutical company. Bringing our first therapy to the market At the start of the year as we moved closer to potential FDA approval for Monjuvi, we found a global partner with whom we could align our efforts. We were excited to announce a global collaboration and licensing agreement with Incyte in Janu-ary 2020. This is a collaborative partnership where the two companies share a vision for tafasitamab as a potential pipeline in a product and backbone therapy in non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL). The agreement comprised an upfront payment of US$ 750 million plus an equity investment by Incyte of US$ 150 million; up to US$ 1.1 billion in potential development, regulatory and commercial milestones; plus, royalties on ex-U.S. sales. We are co-commercializing Monjuvi in the U.S. in coordination with Incyte leveraging our newly-formed commercial team and Incyte’s established footprint. During 2020, we continued to successfully build our U.S. commercial organization. Roland Wandeler, Ph.D., joined the Management Board as our Chief Operating Officer in May 2020 and is leading both our global commercial team and our U.S. operations. He brings with him a wealth of experience and proven track record from his prior international roles at Amgen. His commercial and operational leadership will be key as we continue to execute on the Monjuvi launch and our future commercial endeavors.

The Company Letter to the Shareholders 30 The accelerated U.S. FDA approval for Monjuvi on July 31 was a significant milestone. We are proud of this success and hope to build upon it as we execute on the Monjuvi launch and also work to bring other therapies to the market. The launch of Monjuvi was the culmination of a tremendous amount of effort across the organization and in tandem with our partner Incyte. We executed the launch in an expeditious fashion by being prepared well in advance thanks to the expertise of our development, regulatory, legal, medical affairs, market access, commercial colleagues, and beyond. Monjuvi is the first and only FDA-approved second-line therapy for adult patients with relapsed or refractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL). DLBCL is the most common type of non-Hodgkin lymphoma in adults worldwide. It is an aggressive disease with about one in three patients not responding to initial therapy or relapsing thereafter. We believe Monjuvi has the potential to transform the standard of care in DLBCL, given its approved indication, combinability and accessibility. Since the approval, our team has been laser-focused on bringing Monjuvi to patients who have limited treatment options. We are encouraged by the initial uptake of Monjuvi despite the challenges we have faced launching a therapy during the COVID-19 pandemic. We have been able to adapt and overcome many hurdles, for example by utilizing digital technologies to engage healthcare providers and drive individual and peer-to-peer interaction. In May 2020, the Marketing Authorization Application (MAA) for tafasitamab plus lenalidomide for the EU was validated, and a potential approval decision is anticipated in the second half of 2021. In January 2021, the health authorities in Switzerland and Canada accepted our New Drug Submissions for tafasitamab. We believe tafasitamab has the potential to transform the standard of care and could hold significant promise not just as a potential backbone in DLBCL, but also as a combination partner of choice in other hematological malignancies. We are developing tafasitamab as a potential first line treatment in DLBCL and are actively pursuing combination options with existing and novel modalities. Our plan is to continue to pursue a broad development plan for tafasitamab to truly advance and provide cancer patient care.

Letter to the Shareholders The Company Report Statements 31 Management Financial Group Malte Peters, M.D. Chief Research and Development Officer Expanding our pipeline We are committed to expanding our pipeline through our internal research as well as through external opportunities. Beyond tafasitamab, we have a growing internal development pipeline. We are currently studying felzartamab, formerly called MOR202, in a phase 1/2 proof-of-concept trial, called M-PLACE. The trial is exploring felzartamab in anti-PLA2R-positive membranous nephropathy, an autoimmune disease affecting the kidneys. Patients with this disease could develop end stage renal disease – and ultimately require dialysis or kidney transplant. With a lack of effective treatment options, 30-40 % of patients typically progress to end stage renal disease within 5-15 years. In late 2020, the safety run-in phase of the M-PLACE study was completed, and the full enrollment phase opened. As part of our business development activities, Incyte and MorphoSys signed a clinical collaboration with Xencor in November 2020. Xencor will be exploring tafasitimab in combination with lenalidomide along with their bispecific CD20xCD3 candidate, plamotamab, focused on relapsed or refractory DLBCL, first-line DLBCL, and relapsed or refractory follicular lymphoma (FL).

The Company Letter to the Shareholders 32 Rejuvenated research platform MorphoSys has its foundation in cutting edge antibody technologies and discovery. With innovation a top priority, we continue to rejuvenate and look for complimentary technologies. A perfect example is our recent agreement signed in November 2020 with Cherry BioLabs for the use of their Hemibody technology in the context of our CyCAT® (Cytotoxic Cell Activation at Tumor) Dual Targeting Concept to discover and advance novel treatment options for patients with hema-tological as well as solid cancers. Another exciting new technology is our innovative and proprietary OkapY™ bispecific antibody platform. Designed to be simple and modular in its use, this versatile format could enable several distinct classes of bispecifics with unique modes of action. With our strong internal R&D capabilities and business development acumen, I am excited about the prospects for our pipeline over the long-term. Roland Wandeler, Ph.D. Chief Operating Officer

Letter to the Shareholders The Company Report Statements 33 Management Financial Growing revenue from our pharmaceutical license agreements In addition to our own pipeline, we also saw progress with several licensed Group programs which create value through royalties and milestone payments, such as Janssen’s Tremfya®. Tremfya is the first approved product generated from our discovery engine and is already a blockbuster. Janssen has the development and commercialization rights, and MorphoSys receives royalties from the sales. We are pleased by Janssen’s commitment to expand the indications for this drug beyond its first approval in plaque psoriasis. In 2020, Tremfya was approved in both the U.S. and the EU for the treatment of adult patients with active psoriatic arthritis. Janssen also presented promising interim data during 2020 from an ongoing study in Crohn’s disease. Highlighting a few other partnerships, GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) started a clinical trial to evaluate the efficacy and safety of otilimab in patients with severe pulmonary COVID-19-related disease – in addition to ongoing pivotal clinical trials with otilimab for rheumatoid arthritis. It is our hope that an antibody generated with MorphoSys’ technology could help patients deal with this devastating virus. We are pleased that our licensing partner GSK shared in February the preliminary results of the OSCAR study using otilimab for the treatment of severe pulmonary COVID-19 related disease and is expanding the study in order to further explore otilimab as a potential treatment option for older adults suffering from severe forms of COVID-19. The dosing of the first patient in the expanded study triggered milestone payments of 16 million to MorphoSys. Roche is conducting pivotal trials for gantenerumab for Alzheimer’s disease with a readout expected in 2022. Our partner, I-Mab, is responsible for developing and commercializing felzartamab (MOR202) for China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and Macao. In April 2020, their ongoing phase 3 trial in patients with relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (MM) was expanded into mainland China. We were also pleased to see several programs from our long-standing agreement with Novartis enter the clinic, triggering milestone payments to MorphoSys. Corporate developments In early 2021, Sung Lee joined MorphoSys as our new Chief Financial Officer (CFO) and member of the Management Board. Sung brings more than 20 years of finance leadership experience in biopharmaceutical and technology businesses. I am convinced that his transformative mindset will be instrumental in executing our ambitious growth strategy and the accelerated development of our pipeline for the benefit of patients. Sung Lee replaces Jens Holstein, who stepped down as CFO at the end of 2020. On behalf of the Management Board and the MorphoSys team, I want to express my sincere appreciation for his significant contributions over the last decade and wish him all the best for the next chapter that lies ahead. As a growing, commercial organization with an increasing global footprint, we place significant importance on being a responsible corporate citizen. With this in mind, we will be publishing our first Non-Financial Group Report that covers

The Company Letter to the Shareholders 34 Sung Lee Chief Financial Officer relevant Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) topics for MorphoSys. ESG is ingrained in the DNA of MorphoSys, but this inaugural report will be our opportunity to articulate our important efforts in this regard. We look forward to building upon this update over the years to both showcase our progress and also to highlight the areas where we are making a meaningful impact. This is certainly an endeavor that is a priority for the leadership team and entire company. With the new year unfolding we would be remiss not to reflect upon the impact of COVID-19 and recognize how all of our employees have tackled things head-on and problem-solved to responsibly ensure business continuity and patient access. Very early on, the global leadership team worked to put a risk mitigation plan in place to proactively try to address the impact of this virus. The safety and well-being of our employees, healthcare workers and patients remains of top importance. Launching our first drug during a pandemic has posed significant challenges on all fronts, and I am very proud of how our team rose to the occasion and still managed to exceed our internal expectations.

Letter to the Shareholders The Company Report Statements 35 Management Financial Wrapping up an incredible year We are proud of our European roots and looking forward to further building out our U.S. organization. We continue to expand in the U.S., where more recently Group we have opened a second clinical development hub at our Boston location to accelerate our global drug development capabilities. We remain highly focused on the successful commercialization of Monjuvi and advancing a comprehensive development program for tafasitamab. We believe tafasitamab is uniquely suited as a combination partner or a backbone of choice, given its safety profile. At the same time, we are growing our long-term pipeline both organically through our innovative discovery work and externally as we evaluate business development opportunities. We will continue to leverage our strong balance sheet in a disciplined and focused manner to maximize shareholder value. On behalf of the Management Board, I would like to express our heartfelt thanks to all of MorphoSys’ employees for their ongoing efforts and commitment to our company’s success, and to their flexibility as we adapted to the changing health situation throughout 2020. Everyone’s dedication is truly appreciated and a testament to the values embedded in the fabric of the company. I would also like to thank you, our shareholders, for your continued support and for your belief in the company. We look forward to engaging with you in 2021 and beyond. We are extremely gratified to be able to bring a new treatment option to patients, who are at the core of all we do. We will continue to work hard to deliver truly transformative therapies to improve the lives of people suffering from cancer and autoimmune diseases. We look forward to sharing our progress and achievements with you in the year ahead. Sincerely, Jean-Paul Kress, M.D. Chief Executive Officer

The Company Report of the Supervisory Board 36 Report of the Supervisory Board Cooperation of the Management Outside of the meetings of the Supervisory Board plenum Board and Supervisory Board and the Committees, the chairman of the Supervisory Board regularly exchanged information and ideas with the Management Board and especially the Chief Executive Oï¬ƒcer, During the 2020 financial year, the Supervisory Board com- Dr. Jean-Paul Kress. The Supervisory Board chairman was prehensively performed the duties assigned to it by law, the always kept promptly informed of the current business situa-Articles of Association, Rules of Procedure and the recom- tion and any significant business transactions. The Chairs of mendations of the German Corporate Governance Code (here- the Committees have also had regular contact with the Man-inafter referred to as the “Code”) with one justified exception agement Board members in their respective areas of responsi-as regards the Code in its version dated February 7, 2017 bility and individual Management Board members on demand. (hereinafter referred to as the “Code 2017”) and with two jus-tified exceptions as regards the Code in its version dated De-cember 16, 2019 (hereinafter referred to as the “Code 2020”). Supervisory Board Meetings in the We regularly advised and continually oversaw the Manage- 2020 Financial Year and Key Items ment Board in its management of the Company and dealt extensively with the operational and strategic development of of Discussion the Group. The Management Board fulfilled its duty to inform and furnish us with periodic written and verbal reports con- A total of 10 Supervisory Board meetings were held in the taining timely and detailed information on all business trans- 2020 financial year, whereby the majority of those meetings actions and events of significant relevance to the Company. were held by video call due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The The Management Board prepared these reports in collabora- Supervisory Board regularly held closed sessions without tion with the respective departments. In our Committee meet- participation of the Management Board as part of their Superings and plenary sessions, we had the opportunity to discuss visory Board meetings. All Supervisory Board members were the Management Board’s reports and the proposed resolu- present at all Supervisory Board meetings. A detailed overtions in full. The Management Board answered our questions view of the participation of all Supervisory Board members in on strategic topics affecting the Company with a great level of the respective Supervisory Board and Committee meetings detail and submitted the relevant documents in a timely man- can be found in the “Statement on Corporate Governance,” ner. Any deviations from the business plan were thoroughly which is available on the Company’s website under the head-explained to us and we were directly involved at an early ing “Media & Investors > Corporate Governance > Statement stage in all decisions relevant to the Company. on Corporate Governance,” and in the Annual Report on pages 108 to 109. In urgent cases occurring outside of meet-An appropriate resolution was passed when the Supervisory ings, the Supervisory Board passed resolutions by written Board’s approval for individual actions was required by law, procedure. the Articles of Association or the Rules of Procedure. The Supervisory Board members approved all actions by the Man- In addition to the above, a one-day strategy meeting took place agement Board requiring Supervisory Board approval based in November 2020 that primarily addressed on the documentation provided in advance by the Management • the Company’s corporate strategy & financial outlook; Board. When necessary, the Supervisory Board received the • the product strategy for Monjuvi and felzartamab; support of the relevant Committees and, together with the • filling the pipeline for sustainable growth; and Management Board, discussed any projects requiring deci- • building a compelling global operating model of the Company. sion. All matters requiring approval were submitted for review by the Management Board to the Supervisory Board on a timely basis.

Report of the Supervisory Board The Company Report Statements 37 Management Financial During the 2020 financial year, the Supervisory Board paid We also passed a resolution in the Supervisory Board plenum particular attention to the following topics and passed resolu- on the remuneration of Dr. Jean-Paul Kress, Jens Holstein and tions on these topics after a thorough review and discussion: Dr. Malte Peters, taking external benchmarking into consid- Group • conclusion of the Global Collaboration and License Agree- eration. As set out above, we evaluated the achievement of the ment with Incyte Corporation for Monjuvi, including a reso- 2019 corporate targets that were agreed with the Manage-lution for a capital increase from authorized capital to imple- ment Board and discussed and defined the corporate targets ment the purchase of 3,629,764 American Depositary Shares for 2021. We commissioned an independent remuneration by Incyte as part of the Global Collaboration and License consultant to confirm the appropriateness of the Management Agreement; Board’s compensation and its comparison to the remunera- • evaluation of the Company’s achievement of the 2019 finan- tion of various levels of employees. We discussed and agreed cial year corporate targets and minor adjustments to the on the key performance indicators for the long-term incentive corporate targets defined by the Supervisory Board at the plans for the Management Board, the Senior Management end of 2019 for the 2020 financial year; Group and other employees in key positions. Furthermore, we • terms and conditions of the long-term incentive plan 2020 approved the financial statements for the 2019 financial year, and of the stock option plan 2020 as well as the number of acknowledged the half-year results for 2020 and discussed performance shares and stock options to be granted to the the first and third quarter reports as well as dealt with the individual Management Board members under these plans; Statement on Corporate Governance and the Corporate Gover• agenda and proposed resolutions for the 2020 Annual nance Report. General Meeting, particularly the nominations of Wendy Johnson, Dr. George Golumbeski and Michael Brosnan as Further, we dealt with the development of a new remunera-Supervisory Board candidates for re-election at the 2020 tion system for the members of the Management Board, Annual General Meeting; which is in line with the new provisions of the German Stock • confirmation of Dr. Marc Cluzel as chair and re-election of Corporation Act (AktG) and the Code and which shall be Dr. George Golumbeski as deputy chair of the Supervisory submitted for approval to the Annual General Meeting 2021 Board and establishment and staffing of the Committees in as well as with the appointment of the new Chief Financial the Board’s constituent meeting following the 2020 Annual Officer, Sung Lee, and the conclusion of a corresponding man-General Meeting; agement board contract. • appointment of the new Chief Operating Oï¬ƒcer, Dr. Roland Wandeler, and conclusion of a corresponding management Our regular discussions in the Supervisory Board’s plenary board contract; meetings were focused on MorphoSys’ long term develop- • revision of the rules of procedure of the Supervisory Board ment strategy, revenue and earnings development and the as well as of the Management Board, including schedules of regular financial reports, the communication to the investor responsibilities; community, the progress of the two business segments Part- • sale of Morphosys’ shares of Lanthio Pharma B.V. to Lanthio nered Discovery and Proprietary Development, the results Participatie B.V., a newly established entity founded by the and progress of the clinical programs for the development of former Managing Director of Lanthio Pharma B.V. proprietary drugs, interactions with regulatory authorities and • conclusion of a release agreement with the former Chief the development of new technologies. Further focal points of Financial Oï¬ƒcer, Jens Holstein, in the course of his step- discussion were the FDA approval for Monjuvi, the readiness ping down as of December 31, 2020; of US organization to launch Monjuvi and the review of the • award of the audit contract to the auditor for the 2020 finan- US launch status of Monjuvi following the approval. Further-cial year and selection of the auditor to be proposed to the more, we discussed the financial outlook for the 2022/2023 Annual General Meeting 2021 for the audit of the 2021 finan- financial years and MorphoSys’ associated future potential cial year; financing needs. In addition, we carried out an evaluation on • issuance of convertible bonds due 2025 in an aggregate how eï¬ ective the Supervisory Board and its committees ful-principal amount of EUR 325 million; fill their tasks, which was performed via a questionnaire • conclusion of a commercial supply agreement for tafasitamab that included a joint self-evaluation of the Supervisory Board, with Lonza Sales AG; its Committees and also the Management Board. Further- • budget for the 2021 financial year. more, we kept ourselves regularly informed with respect to

The Company Report of the Supervisory Board 38 the Company’s asset management policy, risk management, for the election of the independent auditor for the 2020 finan-internal audit results and the internal control and compliance cial year. Based on the Auditors Reform Act and the require-management system as well as the further development and ments for the external and internal rotation of the auditor, the adaptation to new processes and transactions of the system of Audit Committee carried out in 2020 a public tender for the Internal Control over Financial Reporting (ICoFR) to ensure 2021 annual audit and half-year review. As a result, the Audit continuous SOX compliance by end of 2020. Committee made a recommendation to the Supervisory Board with respect to the Supervisory Board’s proposal at the Annual General Meeting for the election of the independent auditor Conflicts of Interest within the for the 2021 financial year. In addition, the Audit Committee Supervisory Board dealt with the annual update of a list of permitted and pre- approved non-audit services of the auditor. The Committee also discussed the risk management system, the compliance No conflicts of interest arose within the Supervisory Board in management system and the results of the internal audit con-the 2020 financial year. ducted in the 2020 financial year, as well as specific accounting issues under International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) relevant to the Company. In addition, the Committee Activities and Meetings of regularly discussed the Company’s asset management policy Supervisory Board Committees and the investment recommendations made by the Management Board. The Committee also discussed in depth the 2021 budget and the financial outlook for the 2022/2023 financial To ensure that its duties are performed eï¬ƒciently, the Super- years. Furthermore, the Committee monitored the further visory Board has established three permanent committees – development and adaptation to new processes and transactions the Audit Committee, the Remuneration and Nomination of the system of Internal Control over Financial Reporting Committee and the Science and Technology Committee – to (ICoFR) to ensure continuous SOX compliance by end of 2020. prepare the issues that fall within the Supervisory Board’s respective areas of responsibility for the Supervisory Board To increase efficiency, there is a joint Remuneration and Nom-plenum. In each Supervisory Board meeting, the chairs of the ination Committee, which deliberates on matters relating to Committees report to the Supervisory Board on the Commit- remuneration and nomination. The Committee met on seven tees’ work. The minutes of the Committee meetings are made occasions in the 2020 financial year, whereby all these meet-available to all Supervisory Board members. The composition ings were held by video call due to the Covid-19 pandemic. All of these committees can be found in the “Statement on Cor- Committee members participated at all Committee meetings. porate Governance,” which is available on the Company’s In its function as a remuneration committee, the Committee website under the heading “Media & Investors > Corporate mainly dealt with the Management Board’s remuneration Governance > Statement on Corporate Governance,” and in system and level of compensation. In particular, the Commit-the Annual Report on pages 105 to 110. tee dealt with the implementation of a new remuneration system for the members of the Management Board. Further, The Audit Committee met on five occasions in the 2020 finan- the Committee also commissioned an independent remunera-cial year, whereby the majority of those meetings were held tion expert with the task of preparing a Management Board by video call due to the Covid-19 pandemic. All Committee remuneration report to verify the appropriateness of the members were present at all Audit Committee meetings. The Management Board’s remuneration. Based on this report, the Committee dealt mainly with accounting issues, quarterly Committee prepared a recommendation on the Management reports, annual financial statements and consolidated finan- Board’s compensation and submitted this to the Supervisory cial statements. The Committee discussed these topics with Board for approval. The Committee also dealt with the ratio the Management Board and recommended the approval of the of compensation between the Management Board and the financial statements to the Supervisory Board. The auditor Senior Management Group and the staï¬ overall and had this took part in four Audit Committee meetings and informed its ratio reviewed by the commissioned remuneration expert. members of the audit results. The Audit Committee made a This expert confirmed the appropriateness of these “vertical” recommendation to the Supervisory Board with respect to the compensation ratios. In addition, the Committee gave care-Supervisory Board’s proposal at the Annual General Meeting ful consideration to the corporate targets as a basis for the

Report of the Supervisory Board The Company Report Statements 39 Management Financial Management Board’s short-term variable remuneration and Corporate Governance oï¬ ered appropriate recommendations to the Supervisory Board for resolution. The Committee discussed the key per- The Supervisory Board devoted its attention to the further Group formance indicators of the long-term incentive plans for the development of MorphoSys’ corporate governance, taking into Management Board, Senior Management Group and other consideration the Code 2017 and the Code 2020. The Corpo-employees in key positions. In its function as the Nomination rate Governance Statement according to Section 289f HGB Committee, the Committee recommended the appointment of (German Commercial Code), including the detailed Corporate Dr. Roland Wandeler as the new Chief Operating Oï¬ƒcer and Governance Report, and the Group Statement on Corporate prepared the corresponding management board contract. In Governance according to Section 315d HGB, can be found on addition, this Committee prepared the release agreement the Company’s website under the heading “Media & Investors with the Chief Financial Officer, Jens Holstein. Further, the > Corporate Governance > Corporate Governance Report” and Nomination Committee recommended the nominations of in the Annual Report on pages 103 to 133. Wendy Johnson, Dr. George Golumbeski and Michael Brosnan as Supervisory Board candidates for re-election at the 2020 We also discussed with the Management Board the Compa-Annual General Meeting. In addition, this Committee dealt ny’s compliance with the Code’s recommendations and in one with succession planning within the Company, in particular justified case approved an exception to the recommendations as regards the succession of the departed Management of the Code 2017 and in two justified cases approved an ex-Board member Jens Holstein. In this context, the Committee ception to the recommendations of the Code 2020. Based on recommended the appointment and prepared the respective this consultation, the Management Board and the Supervi-management board contract of Sung Lee as the new Chief sory Board submitted the annual Declaration of Conformity Financial Oï¬ƒcer, who has been appointed as member of the on November 29, 2020. The current version of the Declaration Management Board by the Supervisory Board. of Conformity can be found in this Annual Report and is permanently available on the Company’s website under the The Science and Technology Committee was held on six heading “Media & Investors > Corporate Governance > Decla-occasions during the 2020 financial year, whereby due to the ration of Conformity.” Covid-19 pandemic the majority of those were virtual meetings. All Committee members participated in all Committee meetings. The Committee dealt mainly with the Company’s Changes in the Composition research activities as well as overall strategy to expand the of the Management Board and proprietary drug pipeline, the development of novel technologies, the Company’s drug development plans and future Supervisory Board development strategy, progress in the clinical trials as well as required budget resources. One major focus was the develop- The Chief Scientific Oï¬ƒcer of the Company, Dr. Markus ment of Monjuvi up to approval and successful launch in US, Enzelberger, resigned as member of the Management Board as well as the expansion into other indications and lines of and CSO in November 2019 with eï¬ ect as of February 29, therapy, in combination with established or novel anti-cancer 2020. By decision of the Supervisory Board of March 30, agents. The Committee also addressed the further develop- 2020, Dr. Roland Wandeler was appointed as Chief Operating ment of felzartamab in autoimmune diseases. Additionally, at Oï¬ƒcer for a term of oï¬ƒce of three years from May 5, 2020 one occasion a combined Science and Technology Committee until April 30, 2023. In the course of these changes in the and Deal Committee Meeting was held, and the activities and composition of the Management Board, Dr. Malte Peters as-execution to complement the company portfolio with innova- sumed the role of Chief Research and Development Oï¬ƒcer, tive technologies, potential new research programs, develop- eï¬ ective March 1, 2020, and the Supervisory Board newly ment collaborations as well as in-licensing and merger and adopted the Schedule of Responsibilities for the Management acquisition opportunities were reviewed. Board. Further, the Chief Financial Oï¬ƒcer Jens Holstein resigned in September 2020 with eï¬ ect as of December 31, 2020. No further changes in the composition of the Management Board took place during the 2020 financial year.

The Company Report of the Supervisory Board 40 The following changes in the composition of the Supervisory The audit reports and documents relating to the consolidated Board took place during the 2020 financial year: The deputy financial statements and the annual financial statements chair of the Supervisory Board, Mr. Frank Morich, resigned were provided on a timely basis to all Supervisory Board as member of the Supervisory Board with eï¬€ect as of April 11, members for review. The audit report, the consolidated finan-2020. Hereinafter, the Company decided to reduce the compo- cial statements, the Group Management Report of the sition of the Supervisory Board to six members. Further, MorphoSys Group and the audit report, the annual financial Wendy Johnson, Dr. George Golumbeski and Michael Brosnan statements and the Management Report of MorphoSys AG were re-elected as members of the Supervisory Board by the were discussed in detail at the Audit Committee meeting on 2020 Annual General Meeting, following the expiry of their March 10, 2021, and the meeting of the Supervisory Board on terms of oï¬ƒce. The Company has established a handbook to March 11, 2021. The auditor attended all meetings concern-support the onboarding of new Supervisory Board members ing the consolidated and annual financial statements, the by outlining principal rights and duties of Supervisory Board half-year report and quarterly interim statements and remembers as well as relevant legal documents, such as Rules ported on the key results of his audit and review, respectively. of Procedure of the Supervisory Board and its Committees. The auditor also explained the scope and focus of the audit and review and was available to the Audit Committee and the Supervisory Board to answer questions and provide further Audit of the Annual Financial information. Statements and Consolidated FinancialStatements The Audit Committee discussed the audit results in detail and recommended to the Supervisory Board that it approves the consolidated and annual financial statements prepared by For the 2020 financial year, the Company commissioned Price- the Management Board. The Supervisory Board also took waterhouseCoopers GmbH Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft, note of the audit results and, in turn, reviewed the consoli-Munich (“PwC”) as its auditor. The audit contract was awarded dated and annual financial statements and Management Re-by the Supervisory Board in accordance with the resolution of ports in accordance with the statutory provisions. Following the Annual General Meeting on May 27, 2020. The Supervisory its own examination, the Supervisory Board also determined Board obtained a declaration of independence from the audi- that it sees no cause for objection. The consolidated and annual tor in advance. financial statements as well as the Group Management Report and the Management Report as prepared by the Management The consolidated financial statements and the annual finan- Board and audited by the auditor, were subsequently approved cial statements of MorphoSys AG, as well as the Group Man- by the Supervisory Board. Thus, the annual financial state-agement Report and the Management Report for the 2020 ments were adopted. financial year, were properly audited by PwC and issued with an unqualified audit opinion. The key topics of the audit The Company has prepared a separate non-financial group for the consolidated and annual financial statements for the report in accordance with Section 315b (3) of the German 2020 financial year were management override of controls and Commercial Code (HGB) for the fiscal year 2020. The Super-fraud in revenue recognition, revenue accounting for complex visory Board has commissioned PwC to perform a separate out-licensing and collaboration arrangements, revenue recog- limited assurance engagement of this report. All members of nition of the sale of Monjuvi, the initial and subsequent rec- the Supervisory Board received the separate non-financial ognition valuation of the financial liability from collaboration, group report and the Independent Practitioner’s Assurance the valuation of the deferred tax asset, the accounting and Report in a timely manner. The assurance results and the measurement of the financial liability for the convertible assurance report of PwC were discussed at the Supervisory bond, accounting for accruals for outstanding invoices for Board’s plenary meeting on March 11, 2021. PwC’s auditor external laboratory funding and external services, valuation participated in this discussion and presented the assurance of financial assets, as well as the assessment of the design results. The Supervisory Board took note of the results of the and eï¬€ectiveness of internal controls in accordance with assurance engagement with approval. SOX404. In addition, the auditor confirmed that the Management Board had established an appropriate reporting and monitoring system that is suitable in its design and administration for the early detection of developments that could threaten the Company’s existence.

Report of the Supervisory Board The Company Report Statements 41 Management Financial Recognition for Dedicated Service On behalf of the entire Supervisory Board, I would like to Group thank the members of the Management Board and the employees of MorphoSys for their achievements, their dedicated service and the inspirational work environment witnessed during this past financial year. Through their efforts, MorphoSys’ portfolio has continued to mature and expand, and important milestones have been achieved. The Supervisory Board would also like to thank the departed Management Board member Jens Holstein for his excellent contribution and commitment. The Supervisory Board further thanks Supervisory Board member Frank Morich for his commitment and cooperation. Planegg, March 11, 2021 Marc Cluzel, M.D., Ph.D. Chairman of the Supervisory Board

The Company Supervisory Board of MorphoSys AG 42 Supervisory Board of MorphoSys AG Marc Cluzel, M.D., Ph.D. Chairman, Montpellier, France Member of the Supervisory Board of: Griffon Pharmaceuticals Inc., Canada (Member of the Board of Directors) Moleac Pte. Ltd., Singapore (Member of the Board of Directors) George Golumbeski, Ph.D. Deputy Chairman, Far Hills, NJ, USA Member of the Supervisory Board of: Carrick Therapeutics Ltd., Dublin, Ireland (Chairman of the Board of Directors) Sage Therapeutics, Cambridge, MA, USA (Member of the Board of Directors) Shattuck Labs, Inc., Austin, TX, USA (Member of the Board of Directors) Krisja Vermeylen Board Member, Herentals, Belgium Member of the Supervisory Board of: Diaverum AB, Lund, Sweden (Member of the Board of Directors) The CVs of our Supervisory Board Members can be found on the Company’s website under the heading “Company > Management > Supervisory Board.”

Supervisory Board of MorphoSys AG The Company Report Statements 43 Management Financial Group Michael Brosnan Board Member, Westford, MA, USA No other Supervisory Board Memberships Sharon Curran Board Member, Dublin, Ireland Member of the Supervisory Board of: CAT Capital Topco Limited, Saint Peter Port, Guernsey (Member of the Board of Directors) CAT Capital Bidco Limited, Dublin, Ireland (Member of the Board of Directors) Circassia Pharmaceuticals plc., Oxford, United Kingdom (Member of the Board of Directors) Wendy Johnson Board Member, San Diego, CA, USA Member of the Supervisory Board of: Exagen, Inc., Vista, CA, USA (Member of the Board of Directors)

The Company Sustainability at MorphoSys 44 Sustainability at MorphoSys We are aware of our responsibility to current and future generations and believe that sustainable action is a prerequisite for long-term business success. Read more on this topic in our Group’s 2020 Non-Financial Report. 20 Non-FinancialReport 20 You can find our 2020 Non-Financial Report online at: https://csr.morphosys.com/2020

MorphoSys on the Capital Market The Company Report Statements 45 Management Financial MorphoSys on the Group Capital Market Stock Market Environment and Liquidity and Index Membership Morphosys Share Performance The average daily trading volume of the MorphoSys share across all regulated trading platforms increased significantly The 2020 trading year was characterized by historically un- to € 33.5 million in 2020 (previous year: € 25.6 million), cor-usual high volatility. Following the outbreak of the COVID 19 responding to a year-on-year increase of more than 30%. For pandemic, numerous stock indices around the world fell, the TecDAX and MDAX selection indices, trading volumes often to multi-year lows, but turned around and recovered as were up year-on-year by 28 % and 47%, respectively. In the the year progressed. At the end of 2020, many were even TecDAX, MorphoSys ranked 11th in terms of trading volume trading close to their multi-year or even all-time highs. The at year-end 2020 (unchanged from the previous year) and DAX index closed the year with a year-on-year gain of just 13th in terms of market capitalization* (previous year: 9th). under 4%, the TecDAX rose by almost 7%, and the MDAX in- In the MDAX, MorphoSys ranked 64th in terms of market creased by just below 9%. The NASDAQ Biotechnology Index capitalization (previous year: 55th) and 54th in terms of trad-closed the year almost 26 % higher than at the beginning of ing volume (2019: 57th). The rankings refer to the TecDAX30 the year as companies in the biotechnology sector were able and MDAX60 companies, respectively. MorphoSys is also a to decouple themselves from the general stock market trend – component of the NASDAQ Composite Index through its ADS as the importance of the biotechnology industry was rein- program and is included in various other indices, such as the forced by the pandemic. NASDAQ Health Care Index, the Loncar Cancer Immunother-apy Index and the S-Network Medical Breakthrough Index. MorphoSys AG shares have been trading on the Frankfurt *see glossary – page 216 Stock Exchange since 1999. In 2018, MorphoSys issued Ameri-can Depositary Shares (ADSs*) on the U.S. NASDAQ exchange In addition to the trading on the regulated platforms, an based on MorphoSys’ common stock. The Company’s ticker average of approximately 217,000 of MorphoSys’ shares with symbol is “MOR” on both exchanges. a value of approximately € 22.4 million were traded daily on alternative trading venues (“dark pools”) in 2020 (2019: MorphoSys’ shares opened the 2020 trading year in Xetra 196,000 shares; € 19.1 million). This figure corresponds to a trading at € 129.60. The share performance was highly vola- year-on-year increase in trading outside of the regulated tile, particularly in the first quarter of 2020. Following the markets of approximately 18%. The MorphoSys ADSs reached announcement of the collaboration and licensing agreement a volume of US$ 3 million per trading day in the reporting with Incyte, the share price on Xetra increased temporarily year (previous year: US$ 1.7 million), for an increase of ap-and almost reached the all-time high of € 148.13 recorded in proximately 73%. 2000. In the wake of the COVID 19 pandemic, the share price saw intraday declines as low as € 65.25, but was able to recover. MorphoSys’ shares started to stabilize in May, climb- Capital Structure ing to above € 100.00 and ended the trading year on Xetra at € 93.82. The Company’s common stock increased to 32,890,046 shares ›› see figure 01 – Performance of the MorphoSys Share in 2020 (page 47) or € 32,890,046 in the reporting year due to the purchase of ›› see figure 02 – Performance of the MorphoSys Share 2016 – 2020 ADSs and shares by Incyte, created from a capital increase, (page 47) as well as the exercise of convertible bonds granted to the Management Board and certain Company employees in 2013. A detailed description of the capital increase and convertible bond program can be found in Notes 4 and 8.2.

The Company MorphoSys on the Capital Market 46 Table 01   Key Data for the MorphoSys Share (December 31) 2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 Total stockholders’ equity (in million €) 629.2 394.7 488.4 358.7 415.5 Number of shares issued (number) 32,890,046 31,957,958 31,839,572 29,420,785 29,159,770 Market capitalization (in million €) 3,086 4,052 2,832 2,253 1,422 Closing price in € (Xetra) 93.82 126.80 88.95 76.58 48.75 Average daily trading volume (in million €) 33.5 25.6 22.5 15.6 9.7 Average daily trading volume (in % of common stock) 0.98 0.81 0.77 0.83 0.78 Various voting rights notifications were made pursuant to digital environment. During the reporting year, MorphoSys Section 33 (1) of the German Securities Trading Act (WpHG) was still able to participate in 25 international investor con-during the reporting year. The notifications were published ferences, starting with the J.P. Morgan Healthcare Confer-on the MorphoSys website under Media and Investors – Stock ence in San Francisco in early 2020, where it announced its Information – Recent Voting Rights Notifications. collaboration with Incyte and the joint development and commercialization plans for tafasitamab*. As the year progressed, At the end of the reporting year, the free float in MorphoSys AG the majority of the conferences were held virtually, instead of shares, as per the definition of Deutsche Börse, was 99.60%. in person as in prior years. During the 2020 reporting year, MorphoSys held conference Dividend Policy calls to accompany the publication of annual, half-year and quarterly reports. All of these calls could be followed on the We have not distributed dividends since our inception, and Internet. On these calls, the Management Board reported on we do not expect to set or distribute any cash dividends in the Company’s business developments and answered partici-the foreseeable future. It is our intention to invest any future pants’ questions. profits in the growth and development of our business. Unless otherwise required by law, the future determination of any The main topics of the analyst and investor meetings included cash dividends will be at the sole discretion of the Manage- the collaboration with Incyte, the build-up of U.S. operations, ment Board and Supervisory Board and will depend on our the progress of the regulatory filing, approval and market net assets, financial position, results of operations, capital launch of tafasitamab*, as well as the progress of the clinical requirements and other factors that the Management Board development of tafasitamab and felzartamab (MOR202). Later and Supervisory Board deem relevant. in the year, the departure of the previous Chief Financial Oï¬ƒcer (CFO), Jens Holstein, and the convertible bond issue were also topics of discussion. Investor Relations Activities On September 29, 2020, MorphoSys and Incyte co-hosted a In the 2020 reporting year and with the emergence of the conference call and webcast addressing the global commer-COVID 19 pandemic, our exchange with shareholders, inves- cial opportunities for tafasitamab and the unmet medical tors and analysts has been taking place digitally to a much needs in non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. Senior executives from greater extent than before. This is particularly true in the MorphoSys and Incyte were joined by Dr. Gilles Salles, the case of investor conferences, whose added value in the past principal investigator for the L-MIND* study, lead author of has been the personal dialog with a broad spectrum of market the data presentation at ICML 2019 and EHA 2020, as well as participants and the related networking. While the pandemic the lead author of the publication in Lancet Oncology 2020. has demonstrated that increased digitization can save travel These virtual events generated significant interest from the time and costs, it has also shown that established processes analysts following MorphoSys. and interaction need to adapt even more to the transformed *see glossary – page 216

MorphoSys on the Capital Market The Company Report Statements 47 Management Financial Figure 01   Performance of the MorphoSys Share in 2020 (January 1, 2020 = 100%) Group TecDAXMorphoSys NasdaqMorphoSys XetraMDAXNasdaq Biotech 140 130 120 110 100 90 80 70 60 50 JAN FEB MAR APR MAY JUN JUL AUG SEP OCT DEC NOV Figure 02   Performance of the MorphoSys Share 2016–2020 (January 1, 2016 = 100%) TecDAXMorphoSysNasdaq Biotech 250 200 150 100 50 0 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020

The Company MorphoSys on the Capital Market 48 At the end of 2020, a total of 20 analysts (previous year: 16) were monitoring and evaluating the performance of MorphoSys shares. This was an encouraging increase of 25 % compared to the prior year. At the end of 2020, these analysts had the following recommendations: Table 02   Analyst Recommendations (December 31, 2020) Buy/Overweight/Market Outperform Hold/Neutral Reduce/Underperform 15 5 0 Buy/Overweight/Market Outperform = buy/positive; Hold/Neutral = neutral; Reduce/Underperform = sell/negative. More detailed information on MorphoSys shares, key finan-cial figures, its pipeline and strategic direction, as well as the current Group developments, can be found on the Company’s website under Media and Investors.

Non-Financial Group Report The Company Report Statements 49 Management Financial Non-Financial Group Report Group MorphoSys is aware of its responsibility to current and future generations and believes that sustainable action is a prerequisite for long-term business success. A detailed explanation of our view of sustainable corporate governance and the specific measures we have taken during the reporting year can be found in the “Separate Non-Financial Group Report,” available on our website https://csr.morphosys. com/2020.

Group Management Report Contents 50 02 Group Management Report 53 Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group 70 Macroeconomic and Sector-Specific Conditions 71 Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations 88 Outlook and Forecast 92 Risk and Opportunity Report 102 Subsequent Events 103 Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance

Group Management Report Financial Statements

Group Management Report Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group 52 The year 2020 was a very successful one for MorphoSys. Our goal is to discover, develop and commercialize outstanding, innovative therapies for critically ill patients. The focus of our entrepreneurial activities is on cancer and autoimmune diseases. We received accelerated approval in July 2020 from the U.S. FDA for Monjuvi® (tafasitamab-cxix)* in combination with lenalidomide for the treatment of adult patients with relapsed or refractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) not otherwise speci-fied, including DLBCL arising from low grade lymphoma, and who are not eligible for autologous stem cell transplant (ASCT). This indication is approved under accelerated approval based on overall response rate. Continued approval for this indication may be contingent upon verification and description of clinical benefit in a confirmatory trial(s). Monjuvi is the first and, so far, the only drug approved for second-line therapy for adult patients with relapsed or refractory DLBCL in the U.S. In January 2020, we announced a global collaboration and license agreement with Incyte for the development and commercialization of tafasitamab. Together with Incyte, we are co-promoting Monjuvi in the United States. Incyte holds exclusive rights for development and commercialization outside the U.S. In 2020, we also successfully set up our U.S. organization, which was established to support the launch and ongoing commercialization of Monjuvi. In addition, in 2020, the marketing authorization application (MAA) for tafasitamab was validated in Europe. Preliminary data from the ongoing firstMIND study evaluating tafasitamab as a first-line treatment for DLBCL was also presented in December 2020. In November 2020, together with Incyte, we announced a clinical collaboration agreement with Xencor to evaluate the combination of tafasitamab, lenalidomide and plamotamab – a tumor-targeted bispecific antibody from Xencor – in multiple diseases as part of a broad development plan for tafasitamab. Our product candidate felzartamab (MOR202) is in a phase 1/2 M-PLACE (proof-of-concept) trial in anti-PLA2R-positive membranous nephropathy, an autoimmune disease of the kidneys. In November 2020, the safety run-in phase of this study was completed and the recruitment phase was opened. In April 2020, our partner I-Mab expanded its ongoing phase 3 trial in patients with relapsed or refractory multiple myeloma to mainland China. In September 2020, we announced the U.S. FDA approval of the IND (Investigational New Drug) application together with I-Mab for our product candidate MOR210 for the treatment of patients with advanced solid tumors. As part of our plans to expand our long-term pipeline, we announced a licensing agreement in Novem-ber 2020 with Cherry Biolabs for the use of their Hemibody technology. We are applying the Hemibody technology as part of our CyCAT® dual-targeting approach to explore and advance novel Hemibody-based treatment options for patients with hematological and solid cancers. Our partner Janssen continued to work on the extension of the previous approval for plaque psoriasis of Tremfya® (guselkumab), the first approved and marketed therapeutic antibody based on MorphoSys’ proprietary technology. Tremfya was approved in 2020 in both the U.S. and the EU for the treatment of adult patients with active psoriatic arthritis. Janssen also presented promising interim results from an ongoing study in patients with Crohn’s disease in 2020. Several programs from our long-standing agreement with Novartis entered clinical development in 2020 and resulted in milestone payments to MorphoSys. In 2020, we achieved our goal of becoming a fully integrated biopharmaceutical company with the launch of our first proprietary product. Major advances in other areas are helping to build our long-term success. *see glossary – page 216

Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group Group Management Report Statements 53 Financial Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group Organizational Structure and Targets and Strategy BusinessModel MorphoSys AG’s mission is to discover, develop and commercialize innovative therapies for patients suffering from serious The MorphoSys Group, consisting of MorphoSys AG and its diseases. MorphoSys is a fully integrated commercial biopharma-subsidiary, discovers, develops and commercializes innovative ceutical company. Its activities focus on hematology-oncology therapies for patients suï¬€ering from cancer and autoimmune and autoimmune diseases. The Company aims to balance both diseases. the short- and long-term potential for growth. Part of the business model is a comprehensive partnering strategy. The pipe-The registered office of MorphoSys AG is located in Planegg, line is strategically expanded through targeted in-licensing near Munich, Germany. MorphoSys AG’s wholly owned U.S. and co-development. In the majority of cases, development subsidiary, MorphoSys US Inc., was founded in Boston, Massa- programs are carried out jointly with partner companies. The chusetts, USA, to advance the commercialization of tafasitamab. revenues MorphoSys generates, or intends to generate, from The Planegg site houses the central corporate functions such as these partnerships are to be used to expand the Company’s pro-accounting, controlling, human resources, legal, patent, pur- prietary portfolio. chasing, corporate communications and investor relations, as well as the two segments Proprietary Development and Part- MorphoSys possesses extensive knowledge of antibody, protein nered Discovery. and peptide technologies and has developed over 100 therapeutic product candidates from the basic principles to clinical Further information on the Group’s structure can be found in phase 3, together with its partners. Three programs are in the Note 2.2.1. most advanced phase 3; two products (Monjuvi and Tremfya) have already received regulatory approvals and have been launched. Legal Structure of the MorphoSys Group: A total of 28 programs are currently in clinical development. Group Management and Supervision The parent company of the MorphoSys Group is MorphoSys AG, Currently, the business activities are reported in two segments, a German stock corporation listed in the Prime Standard seg- the Proprietary Development and Partnered Discovery of anti-ment of the Frankfurt Stock Exchange and on the NASDAQ body candidates. The Proprietary Development segment com-Global Market. In accordance with the German Stock Corpora- prises the development of therapeutic agents based on propri-tion Act, the Company has a dual management structure with etary technology platforms and on product candidates in-licensed the Management Board as the governing body with its four from other companies or co-developed with partners. A deci-members (after the departure of Jens Holstein eï¬€ective Novem- sion is made on a case-by-case basis during the clinical phase ber 13, 2020, the Management Board consists of three mem- to determine whether, and at what point, a partnership will be bers. Following the end of the reporting period, Sung Lee has sought for further development and commercialization. Drug been appointed as Chief Financial Oï¬ƒcer (CFO) and member of candidates can be either fully out-licensed, co-developed with a the Management Board, effective February 2, 2021) appointed partner, or developed in-house. and overseen by the Supervisory Board. The Supervisory Board of MorphoSys AG is elected by the Annual General Meeting and currently consists of six members. Detailed information concerning the Group’s management and control and its corporate governance principles can be found in the Corporate Governance Report.

Group Management Report Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group 54 MorphoSys also develops antibody candidates on behalf of Financial Performance Indicators other companies in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology in- The development of the financial performance indicators in the dustries (Partnered Discovery). The resulting contractual pay- reporting year is described in detail in the chapter “Analysis of ments may include technology and research license fees, suc- Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations”. The cess-based milestone payments, and royalties* on product sales. key financial indicators used to measure the Company’s operat-Revenues generated from these partnerships support MorphoSys’ ing performance are revenues, research and development ex-long-term business model and help fund proprietary develop- penses, and earnings before interest and taxes (EBIT – defined ment activities. as earnings before finance income, finance expenses, income from reversals of impairment/expenses from impairment losses In the future, the development of antibody candidates on behalf on financial assets, and income taxes). of other companies will no longer be a focus of business activities. In the first quarter of 2021, MorphoSys will no longer use MorphoSys’ business performance is additionally influenced by the Propiretary Development and Partnered Discover segments factors such as liquidity (presented in the following balance as part of its regular internal reporting. The previous segment sheet items: “cash and cash equivalents,” “financial assets at reporting will therefore be reported for the last time on Decem- fair value, with changes recognized in profit or loss” and “other ber 31, 2020 for external purposes. financial assets at amortized cost”), operating expenses and segment results. These indicators are also routinely analyzed The development of drug candidates is based almost exclusively and evaluated. on MorphoSys’ innovative technologies. These include our established antibody and technology platforms HuCAL®*, Ylanthia®* In future periods, key figures like revenues, operating ex-and Slonomics®*, as well as the bispecific technologies OkapY™* penses as well as research and development expenses will be and CyCAT. Under the agreement signed with Cherry Biolabs, used as financial performance indicators. A reporting of operat-MorphoSys receives exclusive access to the Hemibody technol- ing segments will be omitted in the future. ogy*, a novel multispecific antibody technology for the recruitment of eï¬€ector cells (T cell engager), for several target* mole- The budget for the respective financial year is approved by the cules. We continue to leverage our resources and know-how so Management Board and Supervisory Board. Subsequent to the that we can extend and expand these technologies. We intend approval of the budget, a forecast is made three times within to complement our portfolio through both internal research and the year, to assess if the Company is on track to achieve its development as well as in-licensing and acquisitions. financial goals and progress towards financial guidance. The forecast informs decision making and enables management to take actions to achieve its goals. Group Management and PerformanceIndicators MorphoSys uses financial indicators to steer the Group. These indicators help to monitor the success of strategic decisions and give the Group the opportunity to take quick corrective action when necessary. The Company’s management also follows and evaluates selected early indicators so that it can thoroughly assess a project’s progress and act promptly should a problem occur. Material non-financial aspects are taken into account in a “Separate Non-Financial Group Report.”* * This information is not part of the management report that is subject to audit.

Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group Group Management Report Statements 55 Financial Table 03   Development of Key Financial Performance Indicators1 in million € 2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 MorphoSys Group Revenues 327.7 71.8 76.4 66.8 49.7 Operating Expenses (309.7) (179.9) (136.5) (133.8) (109.8) EBIT2 27.4 (107.9) (59.1) (67.6) (59.9) Liquidity3 1,244.0 357.4 454.7 312.2 359.5 Proprietary Development Segment Revenues 278.6 34.3 53.6 17.6 0.6 Segment EBIT 22.9 (109.1) (53.3) (81.3) (77.6) Partnered Discovery Segment Revenues 49.1 37.5 22.8 49.2 49.1 Segment EBIT 37.4 26.8 13.3 30.2 31.0 1 Differences may occur due to rounding. 2 Contains unallocated expenses (see also Item 3.3 of the Notes): 2020: € 32.9 million; 2019: € 25.7 million; 2018: € 19.2 million 3 Liquidity presented in the following balance sheet items: as of December 31, 2020. 2019, 2018 “cash and cash equivalents,” “financial assets at fair value, with changes recognized in profit or loss” as well as “other financial assets at amortized cost”; as of December 31, 2017 and 2016 “cash and cash equivalents,” “available-for-sale financial assets and bonds” as well as “financial assets classified as loans and receivables.” Non-Financial Aspects The FDA* approval and U.S. marketing launch of Monjuvi in access to our medicines became a key factor in the year under collaboration with Incyte has seen MorphoSys complete its review. We make considerable investments in developing poten-transformation from technology provider to fully integrated tial medicines for patients in need, and do so without guarantee biopharmaceutical company. The core task of our Company, of clinical and commercial success, as many products in re-however, remains the same: to develop eï¬€ective and safer drugs search and development phases fail to achieve market authori-for the well-being of patients with serious illnesses. In addition zation. Sustainable revenues from approved and commercially to financial performance indicators, selected non-financial as- viable products facilitate future investments in our research pects are also taken into account in order to ensure long-term and development eï¬€orts. At MorphoSys, our philosophy is to economic success. responsibly price our medicines by balancing the value of the *see glossary – page 216 outcomes and innovation they bring to patients and the health-care system. MorphoSys is dedicated to supporting patients Innovation in research and development remains a key aspect throughout their treatment journeys, and we are working to-for MorphoSys. Our research and development strategy focuses gether to help remove access barriers for patients with limited on high unmet medical need indications, where patients’ lives or no insurance coverage. As part of this commitment, MorphoSys depend on novel treatment options. We aim to improve the lives provides patient support programs oï¬€ering financial assistance, of these patients by focusing on therapeutic areas that best fit ongoing education and other resources to eligible patients who our expertise and at the same time allow us to make best use of are prescribed MorphoSys medicines. our resources. Detailed information on the sustainability strategy and key The approval and U.S. marketing launch of Monjuvi have en- areas of activity of MorphoSys can be found in the “Separate abled us to reach patients directly, and for this reason securing Non-Financial Group Report.”* * This information is not part of the management report that is subject to audit.

Group Management Report Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group 56 Leading Indicators experience, MorphoSys’ market access team engaged with the MorphoSys follows a variety of leading indicators to monitor the relevant stakeholders. The medical affairs team continuously macroeconomic environment, the industry and the Company engaged with key opinion leaders using virtual platforms, sup-itself. At the Company level, economic data is gathered on the porting scientific exchanges and sponsoring continuing medi-progress of the segments’ individual programs. MorphoSys uses cal education (CME) programs. They also participated in virtual general market data and external financial reports to acquire symposia, lectures and clinical trial* engagements. At the end information on leading macroeconomic indicators such as in- of 2020, MorphoSys US Inc. had 136 people employed as part of, dustry transactions, changes in the legal environment and the or to support, its commercial structure. availability of research funds and reviews these data carefully. On July 31, 2020, Monjuvi in combination with lenalidomide was Market analyses that assess the medical need for innovative approved by the FDA for the treatment of adult patients with therapies for serious diseases, with a focus on cancer and auto- relapsed or refractory diï¬€use large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL*) immune diseases, but also generally in relation to new technol- not otherwise specified, including DLBCL arising from low ogies in the market, serve as early indicators of business devel- grade lymphoma, and who are not eligible for autologous stem opment. By continuously monitoring the market, MorphoSys can cell transplant (ASCT*). This is the first FDA approval of a second- quickly respond to trends and requirements and initiate its own line treatment for adult patients with relapsed or refractory activities or partnerships. DLBCL in the U.S. The safety and tolerability profile supports a paradigm shift towards treating patients to progression, poten-For active collaborations, a joint steering committee meets tially allowing for long-term disease control. Monjuvi is acces-regularly (usually two to four times per year) to update and sible to patients in both community care and academic settings monitor the programs’ progress. These ongoing reviews give as an oï¬€-the-shelf product administered by a standard intrave-the Company a chance to intervene at an early stage if there are nous infusion that is easy to administer and does not require any negative developments and provide it with information hospitalization or heavy monitoring. about expected interim goals and related milestone payments well in advance. Partners in non-active collaborations regularly Following approval, Monjuvi was shipped within days and the provide (once per year) MorphoSys with written reports so that first patient was treated in less than two weeks. The sales and the Company can follow the progress of therapeutic programs. medical teams of MorphoSys and Incyte continue to use a combination of virtual forms of communication and in-person interactions to be able to adapt to challenges related to the COVID 19 Commercialization pandemic in the U.S. In July 2018, MorphoSys established a subsidiary in the United Upon approval, MorphoSys and Incyte launched My Mission States – MorphoSys US Inc. – in preparation for the potential Support, a robust patient support program offering financial marketing approval of tafasitamab. The subsidiary’s registered assistance, ongoing education and other resources to eligible office is located in Boston, Massachusetts, USA. In the course of patients who are prescribed Monjuvi in the U.S. The program the reporting year, MorphoSys hired a Chief Operating Officer was launched to support patients throughout their treatment to lead global commercial operations and oversee the Compa- journeys and to help lower patient access barriers. ny’s U.S. operations and completed the staffing of its sales organization well ahead of an anticipated launch. In August 2020, Monjuvi was included in the latest National Comprehensive Cancer Network® Clinical Practice Guidelines During the first half of 2020, MorphoSys continued to ramp up (NCCN Guidelines®) in Oncology for B-cell Lymphomas. Specifi-its activities to prepare for an anticipated accelerated approval cally, the NCCN Guidelines in the United States were updated and U.S. launch of tafasitamab. Approaches were successfully to include Monjuvi in combination with lenalidomide with a adapted to the special circumstances encountered with the Category 2A designation as an option for the treatment of adult COVID 19 pandemic, which included a variety of virtual tools patients with relapsed or refractory DLBCL not otherwise speci-to onboard team members and to initiate, maintain and grow fied, including DLBCL arising from low grade lymphoma who connections with key stakeholders. The sales organization was are ineligible for ASCT. Inclusion in these guidelines increases fully staï¬€ed with oncology sales representatives who know awareness of a product within the oncology community and the hematology-oncology market and the key experts very well. also drives certain formulary decisions. MorphoSys conducted comprehensive market research to better understand customer needs and develop product diï¬€erentiation. With a deep understanding of the landscape based on previous

Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group Group Management Report Statements 57 Financial Research and Development In addition to the programs listed above, several proprietary programs are in the early stages of research and development. 2020 Business Performance These include MOR210/TJ210, an antibody that was out-licensed As a fully integrated biopharmaceutical company, MorphoSys to I-Mab in November 2018 for China and certain other coun-made solid progress in the 2020 financial year in advancing tries in Asia. On September 17, 2020, the FDA approved the product candidates at various stages of development. IND* application for MOR210/TJ210 for the treatment of patients with relapsed or refractory advanced solid tumors, and on The key measures of value for MorphoSys’ research and devel- January 25, 2021, we announced with I-Mab that the first pa-opment activities include: tient was dosed in the U.S. • Project launches and the advancement of individual development programs Tafasitamab • Clinical and preclinical research results Overview • Regulatory guidance of healthcare authorities for the approval Tafasitamab (MOR208, formerly Xmab5574) is a humanized of individual therapeutic programs monoclonal antibody directed against the CD19* antigen*. CD19 • Collaborations and partnerships with other companies to is selectively expressed on the surface of B-cells*, which belong expand our technology base and expand our drug pipeline, as to a group of white blood cells. CD19 enhances B-cell receptor well as to commercialize our therapeutic programs signaling, which is an important factor in B-cell survival and • Strong patent protection to secure MorphoSys’ market position growth, making CD19 a potential target structure for the treatment of B-cell malignancies. Proprietary Development As of December 31, 2020, there were eleven proprietary devel- Clinical development of tafasitamab is currently focused on opment programs, four of which were either fully out-licensed B-cell non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma (NHL*) and diï¬€use large B-cell or out-licensed in specific regions only. A total of three of these lymphoma (DLBCL) in particular. programs were in clinical development, one was in preclinical development and six were in the drug discovery phase. The Lymphomas collectively represent approximately 5 % of all clinical development of MOR106 is currently stopped. Monjuvi cancers diagnosed in the United States. The group of NHL dis-is already available on the market. eases are the most prevalent of all lymphoproliferative diseases. According to the National Cancer Institute, an estimated 77,240 Our activities in the Proprietary Development segment are cur- new cases occurred in the United States in 2020 (“Cancer Stat rently focused on the following clinical candidates: Facts 2020: Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma”). DLBCL is the most • Tafasitamab – an antibody for the treatment of B-cell malig- frequent type of NHL in adults and accounts for approximately nancies and the most advanced program in the Proprietary one-third of all NHL cases globally. The current first-line treat-Development segment. On July 31, 2020, Monjuvi in combina- ment of B-cell lymphomas, including DLBCL, most commonly tion with lenalidomide received FDA accelerated approval for consists of a combination chemotherapy regimen plus the antithe treatment of adult patients with relapsed or refractory dif- body rituximab, also referred to commonly as R-CHOP* (R, rituxi-fuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) not otherwise specified, mab; CHOP, cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine and including DLBCL arising from low-grade lymphoma, and who prednisone). Yet, despite the therapeutic success of frontline are not eligible for autologous stem cell transplantation (ASCT). R-CHOP in DLBCL, up to 40 % of patients either do not respond • Felzartamab* (MOR202) – MorphoSys currently evaluates the to the treatment (are refractory) or relapse after initial treat-therapeutic potential in autoimmune diseases. In November ment with fast disease progression. 2017 MorphoSys entered into a regional license agreement *see glossary – page 216 with I-Mab for the development in China, Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan I-Mab is currently pursuing development in The market research and consulting firm GlobalData expects multiple myeloma. the therapeutic market for non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma (NHL) to • Otilimab*, the antibody for which GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) is reach approximately US$ 9 billion in 2024 (report “B-cell NHL: currently conducting clinical trials for the treatment of rheu- Opportunity Analysis 2017–2027”). matoid arthritis*. The program originated as a proprietary MorphoSys program and was fully out-licensed to GSK in 2013.

Group Management Report Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group 58 Operational development are not eligible for autologous stem cell transplant (ASCT). The Tafasitamab is being developed pursuant to a collaboration and validation of the MAA by the European Medicines Agency license agreement entered into with Xencor, Inc. (Xencor) in (EMA*) confirmed that the formal review process could begin. June 2010. Under this agreement, Xencor grants MorphoSys an exclusive worldwide license to tafasitamab for all indications. Clinical development The focus of tafasitamab’s clinical development is on NHL. In On January 13, 2020, MorphoSys and Incyte announced the DLBCL, MorphoSys intends to position tafasitamab as a back-signing of a collaboration and license agreement for the global bone treatment for all patients suï¬€ering from DLBCL, irrespec-further development and commercialization of MorphoSys’ pro- tive of the line of treatment or a possible combination treat-prietary anti-CD19 antibody tafasitamab. Under the terms of ment. Both the L-MIND and B-MIND* studies are focused on the agreement, MorphoSys and Incyte will develop tafasitamab those patients with r/r DLBCL who are not candidates for high-broadly in relapsed or refractory (r/r*) DLBCL and first-line dose chemotherapy (HDC*) and ASCT. For this group of patients, DLBCL, as well as in additional indications beyond DLBCL, such the treatment options prior to the approval of tafasitamab in the as follicular lymphoma (r/r FL*), marginal zone lymphoma (r/r U.S. were limited and not suï¬ƒciently eï¬€ective. The firstMIND* MZL*) and chronic lymphocytic leukemia (r/r CLL*). Incyte is re- study includes patients with newly diagnosed DLBCL and is sponsible for initiating a phase 1b combination study of its PI3K expected to pave the way for frontMIND*, a pivotal phase 3 study delta inhibitor parsaclisib with tafasitamab in r/r B-cell dis- in first-line patients that will begin in 2021. ease, as well as for a pivotal phase 3 study in r/r FL. MorphoSys continues to be responsible for its ongoing clinical trials of In May 2020, MorphoSys and Incyte announced follow-up re-tafasitamab in non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma (NHL) as well as in CLL, sults from the ongoing phase 2 L-MIND study investigating the r/r DLBCL and the first-line treatment of patients with DLBCL. combination of tafasitamab and lenalidomide for the treatment MorphoSys and Incyte share responsibility for initiating addi- of patients with r/r DLBCL. The data, based on a November 30, tional global clinical trials, and Incyte intends to pursue devel- 2019 cut-oï¬€ date, confirmed previously reported primary analy-opment in other territories such as Japan and China. sis data. In this long-term analysis of the L-MIND data, 80 pa-tients were included in the eï¬ƒcacy analysis. After a minimum MorphoSys submitted a Biologics License Application (BLA*) to follow-up period of two years, the results were consistent with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in late Decem- the primary analysis and confirmed the duration of response ber 2019 for tafasitamab in combination with lenalidomide in (DoR*) and overall survival (OS*). An assessment by an indepen-the treatment of r/r DLBCL. In early March 2020, MorphoSys dent review committee (IRC) at data cut-oï¬€ showed an objective announced that the FDA had formally accepted the application response rate (ORR*) of 58.8 % and a complete response (CR) rate and had granted tafasitamab priority review. The FDA set a Pre- of 41.3%. Median duration of response (mDOR) was 34.6 months, scription Drug User Fee Act (PDUFA*) goal date of August 30, with median overall survival* (mOS) of 31.6 months and median 2020. progression-free survival (mPFS) of 16.2 months. The safety profile was consistent with that observed in the primary analy-On July 31, 2020, the FDA approved Monjuvi in combination sis. The full results were presented at the 25th European Hema-with lenalidomide in the U.S. for the treatment of adult patients tology Association (EHA) Annual Congress held virtually in with relapsed or refractory diï¬€use large B-cell lymphoma June 2020. (DLBCL) not otherwise specified, including DLBCL arising from low-grade lymphoma, and who are not eligible for autologous The eï¬ƒcacy of the tafasitamab-lenalidomide combination ther-stem cell transplantation (ASCT). This was the first FDA ap- apy from the L-MIND study was compared to the eï¬ƒcacy results proval of a second-line therapy for adult patients with relapsed of lenalidomide monotherapy based on real-world data of patients or refractory DLBCL in the United States. Monjuvi was approved (RE-MIND*, retrospective observational study). To carry out by the FDA under an accelerated approval process one month this comparison, RE-MIND collected the eï¬ƒcacy data from 490 prior to the PDUFA date. This indication is approved under ac- r/r DLBCL patients who met L-MIND’s key qualification criteria celerated approval based on overall response rate. Continued and had received lenalidomide monotherapy in the U.S. or the approval for this indication may be contingent upon verification EU. To match these with patients from the L-MIND trial, the and description of clinical benefit in a confirmatory trial(s). qualifying characteristics for matched patients in both trials MorphoSys and Incyte are co-commercializing Monjuvi in the were specified in detail in advance. As a result, 76 eligible REUnited States. MIND patients were identified and matched 1:1 to 76 of 80 L-MIND patients based on important baseline characteristics. On May 20, 2020, MorphoSys and Incyte announced the vali- Objective response rates (ORR) were validated based on this dation of the European Marketing Authorization Application subset of 76 patients for RE-MIND and L-MIND, respectively. (MAA*) for tafasitamab in combination with lenalidomide for the treatment of adult patients with relapsed or refractory dif- Results comparing L-MIND to RE-MIND were presented at the fuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) not otherwise specified, American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) Annual Meeting, including DLBCL arising from low grade lymphoma, and who held as a virtual conference in May 2020. The primary endpoint

Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group Group Management Report Statements 59 Financial of RE-MIND was met, demonstrating a statistically significant rience long median duration of response (mDoR) of 34.6 months superior best ORR of the tafasitamab-lenalidomide combination and median overall survival (mOS) of 31.6 months. The data compared to lenalidomide monotherapy. The ORR was 67.1 % for also showed that treatment with tafasitamab plus lenalidomide the tafasitamab-lenalidomide combination compared to 34.2 % taken for 12 cycles, followed by monotherapy with tafasitamab for lenalidomide monotherapy. Superiority was consistently until disease progression, caused no unexpected adverse eï¬€ects. observed across all secondary endpoints, including complete response (CR*) rate (39.5 % for tafasitamab-lenalidomide combi- The phase 2/3 study, B-MIND, initiated in September 2016, is nation versus 11.8 % for lenalidomide monotherapy) and in evaluating the safety and eï¬ƒcacy of administering tafasitamab pre-specified statistical sensitivity analyses. There was also a in combination with the chemotherapeutic agent bendamustine significant diï¬€erence observed in median overall survival in comparison to administering the anticancer drug rituximab (mOS), which had not yet been reached in the tafasitamab-lena- plus bendamustine in patients with r/r DLBCL who are not can-lidomide combination as compared to 9.3 months in the lenalid- didates for HDC or ASCT. The study has been in the phase 3 part omide monotherapy (hazard ratio 0.47) . since mid 2017. MorphoSys expects top-line results from the study to be available in 2022. Based on the data from the primary analysis of both studies and the results of the tafasitamab monotherapy study in NHL, In addition to the aforementioned clinical development in r/r MorphoSys submitted a Biologics License Application (BLA) to DLBCL, MorphoSys initiated a randomized phase 1b clinical the FDA for tafasitamab in combination with lenalidomide for trial in first-line therapy in patients with DLBCL (firstMIND) at the treatment of r/r DLBCL in late December 2019. In March the end of 2019. The study completed enrollment earlier than 2020, MorphoSys announced that the BLA had been accepted anticipated and is evaluating the safety (primary endpoint) and for submission by the FDA and granted priority review. The preliminary eï¬ƒcacy of tafasitamab or tafasitamab plus lenalid-goal date for PDUFA was August 30, 2020. On July 31, 2020, the omide in combination with R-CHOP (the current standard of FDA approved Monjuvi in combination with lenalidomide in the care) in patients with newly diagnosed DLBCL. This study is U.S. for the treatment of adult patients suï¬€ering from relapsed or expected to pave the way to frontMIND, a pivotal phase 3 trial refractory diï¬€use large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) not otherwise of tafasitamab in first-line DLBCL that is expected to begin in specified, including DLBCL arising from low-grade lymphoma, 2021 and enroll up to 880 patients. Preliminary data from the who are not candidates for ASCT (see section “Operational Devel- firstMIND study were presented at the December 2020 ASH opment” above). The approval was based primarily on data from meeting and indicated that tafasitamab plus lenalidomide in the MorphoSys-sponsored phase 2 L-MIND study (primary combination with R-CHOP had an expected safety profile and analysis cut-oï¬€ date: November 30, 2018). Clinical data in the that adding tafasitamab plus lenalidomide to R-CHOP did not FDA prescribing information showed an ORR of 55% (primary impair the dosing of R-CHOP. An interim evaluation regarding endpoint) and a CR of 37%. The mDOR was 21.7 months (key response was performed in 45 patients after three cycles. In secondary endpoint). both study arms combined, 41 of 45 patients (91.1%) had an objective response according to the Lugano 2014 classification. In May 2020, MorphoSys and Incyte announced the validation MorphoSys and Incyte plan to initiate the phase 3 frontMIND of the European Marketing Authorization Application (MAA) for study evaluating tafasitamab plus lenalidomide in combination tafasitamab in combination with lenalidomide for the treatment with R-CHOP versus R-CHOP as first-line treatment for patients of adult patients with relapsed or refractory diï¬€use large B-cell with newly diagnosed DLBCL. lymphoma (DLBCL) not otherwise specified, including DLBCL arising from low grade lymphoma, and who are not eligible for In addition to these combination studies in DLBCL, MorphoSys autologous stem cell transplant (ASCT). The validation of the has been investigating tafasitamab in a phase 2 combination MAA by the European Medicines Agency (EMA) confirmed that study in the indications CLL or small B-cell lymphoma (SLL*) the formal assessment process could begin. As in the U.S., the since December 2016. The COSMOS* study is evaluating specifi-marketing authorization application submitted by MorphoSys cally the safety of tafasitamab in combination with the antican-was based on data from the L-MIND study and supported by cer drugs idelalisib (cohort A) and venetoclax (cohort B). The RE-MIND as described above. If approved, Incyte will receive the study enrolled patients who either did not respond to or did not marketing authorization as well as exclusive marketing rights tolerate prior therapy with a Bruton tyrosine kinase inhibitor*. for tafasitamab in Europe. Data from the primary analysis of both cohorts were presented at the ASH conference in Orlando in December 2019. In December 2020, long-term data analyses of the L-MIND study were presented at the 62nd American Society of Hematology Incyte is responsible for initiating a combination study of its Annual Meeting & Exposition (ASH). It was shown that treat- PI3K delta inhibitor parsaclisib with tafasitamab in relapsed or ment with tafasitamab in combination with lenalidomide had refractory B-cell malignancies, as well as initiating a pivotal resulted in long-lasting remissions after a follow-up of at least phase 3 study (inMIND*) in patients with relapsed or refractory two years. At the time of analysis, patients continued to expe- follicular lymphoma (r/r FL) as well as in patients with relapsed *see glossary – page 216

Group Management Report Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group 60 or refractory marginal zone lymphoma (r/r MZL). The global Ongoing clinical studies randomized study, which is expected to begin in 2021 and en- In October 2019, we initiated a phase 1/2 trial for the treatment roll approximately 600 patients, will compare the safety and of anti-PLA2R-positive membranous nephropathy*, an autoim-eï¬ƒcacy of tafasitamab in combination with rituximab and lena- mune disease aï¬€ecting the kidneys. This proof-of-concept trial lidomide to the safety and eï¬ƒcacy of rituximab in combination called M-PLACE* is an open-label, multi-center study and will with lenalidomide. primarily evaluate the safety and tolerability of felzartamab (MOR202). Secondary endpoints are the eï¬€ect of felzartamab In November 2020, MorphoSys and Incyte announced a clinical (MOR202) on serum antibodies against PLA2R and the evalua-collaboration agreement with Xencor to investigate the combina- tion of the immunogenicity and pharmacokinetics of felzartamab tion of tafasitamab, lenalidomide and plamotamab – a tumor- (MOR202); an exploratory goal is to determine clinical eï¬ƒcacy. targeted bispecific antibody from Xencor with both a CD20*- Due to the COVID 19 pandemic, MorphoSys had temporarily binding domain and a cytotoxic T-cell (CD3*) binding domain – paused the screening and enrollment of patients for the M-PLACE in patients with relapsed or refractory diï¬€use large B-cell trial in the spring of 2020. MorphoSys has since resumed patient lymphoma (DLBCL), first-line DLBCL and relapsed or refractory enrollment, and the first patient was dosed in the U.S. in late follicular lymphoma (FL). Under the agreement, the companies July 2020. In November 2020, the safety run-in phase of the plan to initiate a phase 1/2 trial evaluating the combination of study ended and the further enrollment phase was opened. In tafasitamab, plamotamab and lenalidomide in patients with re- February 2021, MorphoSys achieved the milestone First Patient lapsed or refractory DLBCL. The companies also plan to evaluate Treated in the Phase 2 New-PLACE* study, which in coherence this combination in relapsed or refractory FL and first-line DL- with M-PLACE is designed to identify the optimal felzartamab BCL patients in multiple phase 1b trials. MorphoSys and Incyte (MOR202) dosing schedule for the treatment of patients with will provide tafasitamab for the studies, which will be sponsored anti-PLA2R-positive membranous nephropathy. and funded by Xencor and are planned to be conducted in North America, Europe and Asia-Pacific. In April 2020, MorphoSys and I-Mab announced that the first patient had received treatment in a phase 3 clinical trial in Felzartamab (MOR202) mainland China to evaluate felzartamab (MOR202/TJ202) in Overview combination with lenalidomide plus dexamethasone in patients Felzartamab (MOR202) is a recombinant human monoclonal with relapsed or refractory (r/r) MM*. This study (NCT03952091) HuCAL-IgG1-antibody directed against a unique epitope of the is a randomized, open-label, parallel-controlled, multi-center target molecule CD38*. CD38 is a surface antigen broadly ex- study to evaluate the eï¬ƒcacy and safety of the combination of pressed on malignant myeloma cells as well as on antibody pro- felzartamab (MOR202/TJ202), lenalidomide and dexamethasone ducing plasmablasts and plasma cells, the latter playing an versus the combination of lenalidomide and dexamethasone in important role in the pathogenesis of antibody-mediated auto- patients with r/r MM who received at least one prior line of immune diseases. treatment. The multi-center study had been previously initiated in April 2019 at sites in Taiwan, and has oï¬ƒcially started in Recently, data from a MorphoSys sponsored, phase 1/2a study mainland China as part of a coordinated eï¬€ort to accelerate the investigating felzartamab (MOR202) in relapsed or refractory study. I-Mab is also evaluating felzartamab (MOR202/TJ202) as multiple myeloma patients were published (Raab et al., 2020). In a third-line therapy in patients with r/r MM in a phase 2 trial this study, felzartamab (MOR202) induced a distinct reduction of that started in March 2019. Both studies are considered pivotal M-protein, an abnormal IgG fragment (paraproteine) secreted by in this region. multiple myeloma cells known to have deleterious effects on kidney and immune system functioning. Felzartamab’s (MOR202) Regional agreement with I-Mab Biopharma ability to deplete plasma cells was indirectly demonstrated by a MorphoSys has an exclusive regional licensing agreement for reduction of Tetanus Toxoid vaccination titers no later than 2 felzartamab (MOR202) with I-Mab Biopharma (I-Mab). Under the weeks after treatment start. terms of the agreement signed in November 2017, I-Mab has the exclusive rights to develop and commercialize felzartamab Preclinical and clinical results suggest that felzartamab (MOR202) in China, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macao. Upon sign(MOR202) could have therapeutic activity in autoantibody ing the agreement, MorphoSys received an immediate upfront caused autoimmune diseases, such as but not limited to mem- payment of US$ 20 million. We are also entitled to receive addi-branous nephropathy. tional success-based clinical and commercial milestone payments from I-Mab of up to US$ 100 million, as well as tiered double-digit royalties on net sales of felzartamab (MOR202) in the agreed regions.

Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group Group Management Report Statements 61 Financial Otilimab fields of immuno-oncology and autoimmune diseases. Tumor Overview cells generate high levels of C5a, which is believed to contribute Otilimab (formerly MOR103/GSK3196165) is a fully human to an immuno-suppressive and, consequently, tumor growth-pro-HuCAL-IgG1-antibody directed against granulocyte-macro- moting microenvironment by recruiting and activating myeloid phage colony-stimulating factor (GM-CSF*). Due to its diverse suppressor cells (MDSCs). MOR210 is engineered to neutralize functions in the immune system, GM-CSF can be considered a the immuno-suppressive function of MDSCs by blocking the target for a broad spectrum of anti-inflammatory therapies interaction between C5a and its receptor and enabling the im-such as those in rheumatoid arthritis (RA). RA is a chronic mune system to fight the tumor. inflammatory disease that aï¬€ects the synovial membrane of the joints and is accompanied by painful swelling that can lead Regional agreement with I-Mab Biopharma to bone destruction and joint deformity. In November 2018, we announced that we had entered into an exclusive strategic collaboration and regional licensing agree-MorphoSys discovered otilimab and advanced the antibody into ment with I-Mab. Under the agreement, I-Mab has exclusive clinical development before fully out-licensing the program to rights to develop and commercialize MOR210/TJ210 in China, GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) in 2013. GSK is now independently de- Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwan and South Korea, while MorphoSys veloping the antibody for the treatment of RA and bears all retains rights in the rest of the world. The agreement deepens costs incurred. MorphoSys participates in the potential devel- our existing partnership with I-Mab and builds on the existing opment and commercialization success of the program through collaboration to develop felzartamab (MOR202). milestone payments totaling up to € 423 million and tiered, double-digit royalties on net sales. In 2013, MorphoSys received Under the agreement, I-Mab will exercise exclusive rights to a payment of € 22.5 million. develop and commercialize MOR210/TJ210 in the territories covered by the agreement. With our support, I-Mab will conduct The total market for RA drugs is growing steadily. According to and fund all worldwide development activities for MOR210/ the market research and consulting firm Decision Resources, the TJ210, including clinical trials in China and the U.S., up to proof-market for RA drugs will reach € 26.9 billion (US$ 33.1 billion) of-concept in oncology. in 2020 in G7 countries (report entitled “Market Forecast Assumptions Rheumatoid Arthritis 2019–2029”). MorphoSys be- In September 2020, the FDA approved the IND application for lieves that otilimab has the potential to become the first anti- MOR210/TJ210 for the treatment of patients with relapsed or GM-CSF antibody to receive marketing approval for the refractory advanced solid tumors. The first patient has been treatment of RA. dosed in a phase 1 clinical study evaluating the safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of MOR210/ Ongoing clinical studies TJ210 in the United States in January 2021. In mid 2019, GSK announced the initiation of a phase 3 program in RA called ContRAst, which resulted in a milestone payment Partnered Discovery of € 22.0 million to MorphoSys. This phase 3 program includes At the end of 2020, one Partnered Discovery program had re-three pivotal studies as well as a long-term extension study, ceived approval, 25 programs were in clinical development, 26 and is evaluating the antibody in patients with moderate to se- Partnered Discovery product candidates were in preclinical de-vere RA. In addition, GSK has initiated in 2020 a clinical trial velopment and 54 were in the drug discovery phase. Below, we (OSCAR) to evaluate the eï¬ƒcacy and safety of otilimab in patients present our most advanced programs and a recently expanded with severe pulmonary disease associated with COVID 19. GSK strategic partnership. reported in preliminary results of the OSCAR study in February 2021. Given these data suggest an important clinical benefit in Tremfya – a HuCAL antibody targeting IL 23 developed and a pre-defined sub-group of high-risk patients and the urgent commercialized by our partner Janssen in plaque psoriasis* public health need, GSK has amended the OSCAR study to ex- and other indications. Tremfya has been approved in the United pand this cohort to confirm these potentially significant find- States, Canada, the European Union, Japan and a number of ings. The dosing of the first patient in the expanded study trig- other countries. gered milestone payments of € 16 million to MorphoSys. Gantenerumab – a HuCAL antibody targeting amyloid beta* in MOR210 phase 3 clinical development for the treatment of Alzheimer’s Overview disease by our partner Roche. MOR210 is a human antibody directed against C5aR*, derived *see glossary – page 216 from our HuCAL library. C5aR, the receptor of complement factor C5a*, is being investigated as a potential new drug target in the

Group Management Report Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group 62 Other programs – in addition to the two programs described, In October 2020, Janssen presented interim data from the GAL-we have a large number of programs in various stages of re- AXI 1 study at the United European Gastroenterology Week search and development stemming from our partnerships with virtual congress, which demonstrated results at week 12 in major pharmaceutical companies. adult patients with moderately to severely active Crohn’s disease* (CD) treated with Tremfya. Tremfya produced significant LEO Pharma – we have a strategic partnership with LEO improvements compared to placebo across all key clinical and Pharma for the research and development of therapeutic anti- endoscopic outcome measures, with a safety profile consistent bodies for the treatment of skin diseases. with approved indications. Tremfya® (Guselkumab) In addition to the indications for which approval has already Overview been granted (psoriasis, psoriatic arthritis and palmoplantar Tremfya is a human HuCAL antibody targeting the p19 subunit pustulosis), Tremfya is currently being evaluated in clinical tri-of IL 23 that is being developed and commercialized by Janssen. als in a number of other indications: Crohn’s disease (phase 2/3 It is the first commercial product based on our proprietary tech- and phase 3 studies), ulcerative colitis* (phase 2 and phase 2b/3 nology. It is approved for the treatment of patients with moder- studies), pityriasis rubra pilaris and hidradenitis suppurativa ate to severe psoriasis (plaque psoriasis) in the United States, (both phase 2 studies), and familial adenomatous polyposis Canada, the European Union, Japan, China and a number of (phase 1b study). other countries. In Japan, it is also approved for the treatment of patients with various forms of psoriasis, psoriatic arthritis and MorphoSys receives royalties on net sales of Tremfya and is also palmoplantar pustulosis. entitled to milestone payments on selected future development activities. In July 2020, Janssen announced FDA approval of Tremfya for the treatment of adults with active psoriatic arthritis. In Decem- Gantenerumab ber 2020, Janssen reported approval by the European Commis- Overview sion for the use of Tremfya in the treatment of adult patients Gantenerumab is a HuCAL antibody targeting amyloid beta and with active psoriatic arthritis who have had an inadequate re- is being developed by our partner Roche as a potential treat-sponse or have not tolerated prior disease-modifying antirheu- ment for Alzheimer’s disease. Amyloid beta refers to a group of matic drug (DMARD) therapy. peptides that play an important role in Alzheimer’s disease as they are the main component of the amyloid plaques found in Psoriasis is a chronic, autoimmune inflammatory disorder of the the brain of Alzheimer’s patients. Gantenerumab binds to the skin characterized by abnormal itching and physically painful N-terminus and a section in the middle of the amyloid beta pep-skin areas. It is estimated that around 125 million people world- tide. The antibody appears to prevent the formation of amyloid wide are affected by psoriasis, a quarter of who suffer from a plaques and amyloid oligomers and could also lead to their moderate to severe form of the disease. The market research elimination by recruiting microglial cells. According to the and consulting company Decision Resources estimates the market research and consulting company Decision Resources, market for psoriasis drugs, which was worth approximately the value of the global market for the treatment of Alzheimer’s € 19 billion (approximately US$ 23 billion) in 2020, will rise to disease is expected to reach approximately US$ 17.5 billion in approximately € 23 billion (approximately US$ 28 billion) in 2029 (report entitled “Market Forecast Assumption Alzheimer’s 2029 (in G7 countries) (report “Market Forecast Assumptions Disease 2019–2029”). Psoriasis 2019–2029”). According to figures from the Alzheimer’s Association, more Psoriatic arthritis is an inflammatory arthritis characterized than 5 million people in the United States live with Alzheimer’s by painful, swollen, stiff and tender joints and is associated with disease, and this number is expected to triple by 2050. Alzhei-psoriasis. According to market research and consulting firm De- mer’s is the sixth-leading cause of death in the United States cision Resources (report entitled “Market Forecast Assumptions (https://www.alz.org/alzheimers-dementia/facts-figures). Psoriatic Arthritis 2019–2029”), this market is expected to reach approximately € 6.9 billion (approximately US$ 8.5 billion) in 2021 and approximately € 8 billion (approximately US$ 10 bil-lion) in 2029 (in G7 countries).

Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group Group Management Report Statements 63 Financial Ongoing clinical studies Our core technologies form the basis for the Company’s success. In June 2018, we announced that our partner Roche initiated a All our technologies are protected by numerous patent families. new phase 3 development program for patients with Alzheimer’s For our Ylanthia antibody library*, patents have been granted in disease. The program consists of two phase 3 trials – GRADU- all major territories, including Europe, the U.S. and Asian mar-ATE 1 and GRADUATE 2 – which are expected to enroll more kets. For other technologies, such as the dual targeting-based than 2,000 patients in up to 350 study centers in more than 30 CyCAT concept, patents have been in-licensed to ensure free-countries worldwide. The two multi-center, randomized, double- dom of action. blinded, placebo-controlled studies are investigating the eï¬ƒcacy *see glossary – page 216 and safety of gantenerumab in patients with early (prodromal to mild) Alzheimer’s disease. The primary endpoint for both Our development programs are also protected by numerous pat-studies is the assessment of the signs and symptoms of demen- ent families. Next to our patents protecting the drug candidates tia, measured as the clinical dementia rating-sum of boxes themselves, we have filed additional patent applications that (CDR-SOB) score. Both studies have an estimated primary com- cover other aspects of the programs. The relevant patents for pletion date in 2022. Patients receive a significantly higher our development candidates otilimab (out-licensed to GSK) and dose of gantenerumab than in Roche’s previous trials as a sub- felzartamab (MOR202), which has been out-licensed to I-Mab cutaneous injection. for China, Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan, do not expire before 2026 (this date does not take into account possible additional Other Programs protection of up to five years through supplementary protection Other partnered discovery programs continued to make prog- certificates and lifetime extensions). The tafasitamab program is ress in 2020, including the advancing clinical development of also protected by numerous patents with core patents to expire four programs from MorphoSys’ long-standing collaboration on schedule in 2029 (U.S.) and 2027 (Europe). These expirations with Novartis. In June and November 2020, the 15th and 16th do not include the added protection of up to five years that is antibodies, respectively, from the collaboration with Novartis possible through supplementary protection certificates or life-entered clinical development, triggering two separate milestone time extensions. An application to extend the term in the U.S. payments to MorphoSys. According to information on www. has been filed. Patents for the tafasitamab program are being clinicaltrials.gov, in September 2020, Novartis initiated a phase pursued in close coordination with our partner Incyte. All of 2 clinical trial for NOV 14 (CSJ117) in 625 patients suï¬€ering our development programs have also been granted regulatory from severe uncontrolled asthma and for NOV 8 (CMK389) in exclusivity. 66 patients with chronic pulmonary sarcoidosis. The programs developed jointly with or for partner companies Patents are also fully protected by patents. Our patent department works Our proprietary technologies and drug candidates derived closely with the corresponding partners. The patents for these therefrom are our most valuable assets. It is therefore crucial to drug development programs have a lifetime that far exceeds the our success that these assets are appropriately protected term of the underlying technology patents. We are also monitor-through, for example, patents and patent filings. This is the ing our competitors’ activities so that we can take any steps only way we can ensure that these assets are exclusively uti- necessary if required. lized. It is also the reason our Intellectual Property (IP) department seeks out the best strategy to protect our products and During the 2020 financial year, we further consolidated the technologies. The rights of third parties are also actively moni- patent protection of our development programs and growing tored and respected. technology portfolio, which are the core value drivers of our Company. We currently have more than 70 diï¬€erent proprietary patent families worldwide, in addition to the numerous patent families we pursue with our partners.

Group Management Report Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group 64 Other Business Activities Technologies Drug Development MorphoSys has developed a number of technologies that provide MorphoSys has a broad development pipeline and develops direct access to human antibodies for the treatment of diseases. drugs using its own research and development (R&D) and in MorphoSys has historically used these technologies for pro- collaboration with pharmaceutical and biotechnology partners grams in both its Proprietary Development and Partnered Dis- and academic institutions. covery segments, and is now primarily focused on expanding its own pipeline with these and other technologies. MorphoSys’ Our core business is the development of new therapies for pa-most important technologies include HuCAL, a collection of sev- tients suffering from serious diseases. The first therapeutic eral billion fully human antibodies, and a system for their opti- agent Tremfya, based on MorphoSys’ proprietary technology mization. Another important platform is Ylanthia: a large anti- and developed by our licensee Janssen, received marketing au-body library representing the next generation of antibody thorization in 2017 for the treatment of psoriasis. Tremfya is technologies. Ylanthia is based on an innovative concept for currently approved in 76 countries for the treatment of adults generating highly specific and fully human antibodies. With with moderate to severe plaque psoriasis who are eligible for Ylanthia, MorphoSys has set a new standard in therapeutic an- systemic therapy or phototherapy. It is also approved in Brazil, tibody development and will continue to preferentially use this Canada, Ecuador, Japan, Taiwan and the U.S. for the treatment technology to identify antibody candidates for its proprietary of adult patients with active psoriatic arthritis (PsA*). Figure 03 pipeline. With Slonomics, MorphoSys has a patent-protected, shows the revenue development of the MorphoSys Group bro-fully automated gene synthesis and modification technology to ken down into the two business segments Proprietary Develop-generate highly diverse gene libraries in a controlled process, ment and Partnered Discovery. These segments are presented for example to improve antibody properties. in more detail in the chapter “Targets and Strategy” above. ›› see figure 03 – Revenues of the Morphosys Group by Segment (page 65) Another pioneering technology recently developed by MorphoSys *see glossary – page 216 is the OkapY bispecific antibody technology. MorphoSys’ OkapY technology is a new proprietary “2+1” bispecific antibody for- We have become a fully integrated biopharmaceutical company mat that has excellent physicochemical properties that contrib- developing and commercializing proprietary medicines. Our ute significantly to the ease of development and large-scale programs in the Proprietary Development segment have been production of such molecules. MorphoSys’ innovative effector crucial in achieving this. Our activities focus on cancer treat-T-cell recruiting bispecific antibody platform is based on OkapY ments, but we also conduct selected programs in inflammatory technology. In these molecules, a novel CD3 binder identified diseases. from the Ylanthia library is combined with the OkapY format, ensuring optimal effector T-cell recruitment and activation, The ability of monoclonal antibodies to bind to specific antigens allowing maximum tumor cell killing. on tumors or activate the immune system against cancer to unleash a therapeutic effect in patients has led to their dominant In November 2020, MorphoSys and Cherry Biolabs, a spin-off of role in targeted cancer therapies. According to the report “2019 the University Hospital of Würzburg, Germany, announced the Global Oncology Trends” published by the IQVIA Institute, signing of a licensing agreement granting MorphoSys the rights spending to treat cancer patients in 2018 reached almost to apply Cherry Biolabs’ innovative, multispecific Hemibody € 122 billion (almost US$ 150 billion). The global market for technology to six exclusive targets. Combined with MorphoSys’ oncology therapies is predicted to reach nearly € 195 billion expertise in antibody technologies, the Hemibody technology (nearly US$ 240 billion) by the end of 2023. Chronic inflamma-offers the potential to generate novel T-cell engaging medicines tory and autoimmune diseases affect millions of patients world-with higher precision and better safety profiles for the treatment wide and impose an enormous social and economic burden. of cancer patients. We intend to further develop Hemibody technology in the context of our CyCAT dual-targeting platform to advance novel Hemibody-based treatment options for patients with hematological and solid cancers.

Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group Group Management Report Statements 65 Financial Figure 03   Revenues of the MorphoSys Group by Segment (in million )1 1 Diff erences due to rounding.Partnered Discovery Proprietary Development Total 49.7 66.8 76.4 71.8 327.7 278.6 53.6 49.1 49.2 49.1 37.5 34.3 22.8 17.6 0.6 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 MorphoSys’ most advanced Proprietary Development programs Regulatory approval processes in the U.S., Europe and elsewhere are described in the Research and Development section. are lengthy, time-consuming and largely unpredictable. Approval-related laws, regulations and policies and the type and amount Our clinical-stage Partnered Discovery programs are devel- of information necessary to gain approval may change during oped entirely under the control of our partners. These programs the course of a product candidate’s clinical development and include not only those in our core area of oncology but also in may vary among jurisdictions. indications where we have not established proprietary expertise. The most advanced Partnered Discovery programs are outlined MorphoSys recognizes the impact of the global COVID 19 pan-in the Research and Development section. demic on healthcare systems and society worldwide, as well as the resulting potential impact on preclinical and clinical pro-Influential Factors grams, specifically clinical trials. In spring 2020, MorphoSys Good public medical care is a political goal in many countries. activated its existing business continuity plans to minimize The need for new forms of therapy is growing as a result of demo- any disruptions to ongoing operations caused by the COVID 19 graphic change. Certain cost containment measures in Europe pandemic and to take the necessary actions to protect its employ-and the U.S. risk limiting access to innovation for patients and ees. In addition, MorphoSys is continuously monitoring the sit-could slow the industry’s investment in the development of new uation as a whole as well as each clinical program individually therapies. and decides on the necessary course of action to ensure the

Group Management Report Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group 66 safety of patients, personnel and other stakeholders, as well as unpredictable consequences of the pandemic, the Company on the correct collection of data. The Company is making ad- cannot rule out delays in clinical trials. During the 2020 finan-justments where necessary to comply with regulatory, institu- cial year, MorphoSys was able to successfully manage the chal-tional and governmental requirements and guidelines related lenges presented by COVID 19 to the Group as a whole. to COVID 19. The top priority is to guarantee the safety of all clinical program participants and ensure that the studies in Eï¬€ective April 11, 2020, Supervisory Board member Frank which they participate are conducted correctly and in accor- Morich, M.D., resigned from his position on the Supervisory dance with the study protocol. Despite the rapid changes in Board of MorphoSys AG at his own request. He joined the Super-conditions worldwide and the potential impact they may have visory Board in May 2015. A new Supervisory Board member on clinical trials, MorphoSys continues to work diligently to was not appointed to succeed Morich, M.D.; instead, the decision maintain its drug development plans. Preparations for the com- was made to reduce the Supervisory Board by one member. mercialization of Monjuvi had incorporated the use of digital channels. In addition, the sales and medical teams are using a On April 21, 2020, MorphoSys announced the appointment combination of virtual and face-to-face communication to mar- of Roland Wandeler, Ph.D. to the Management Board of ket Monjuvi, which enables them to take the right response to MorphoSys AG, eï¬€ective May 5, 2020. As the new Chief Operat-the uncertainty caused by the COVID 19 pandemic in the U.S. ing Officer, he is responsible for global sales and commercial activities and the Company’s operations in the United States. Corporate Developments On May 27, 2020, MorphoSys held its Annual General Meeting for the 2019 financial year. This was the first Annual General On March 4, 2020, MorphoSys announced that the Company’s Meeting held by the Company where shareholders and proxies Management Board had resolved, with the Supervisory Board’s were not physically present. The participation rate amounted to consent, to increase the common stock of MorphoSys AG by 60.28 % of the share capital, and all proposals on the agenda issuing 907,441 new ordinary shares from Authorized Capital were approved. The Annual General Meeting resolved to reduce 2017-I, excluding the subscription rights of existing sharehold- the Supervisory Board to six members, adjust the Supervisory ers, to facilitate the purchase of 3,629,764 American Depositary Board’s remuneration and amend the Articles of Association Shares by Incyte. Each ADS represents one-quarter of one with respect to conducting and participating in the meeting MorphoSys ordinary share. The new ordinary shares underly- due to the COVID 19 pandemic. Resolutions were also passed to ing the ADSs represent 2.84 % of the registered common stock of cancel Authorized Capital 2017-I and create a new Authorized MorphoSys prior to the implementation of the capital increase. Capital 2020-I. A resolution was also passed granting subscription rights to members of the Management Board, the manage-On April 6, 2020, MorphoSys published a statement on the ment of domestic and foreign aï¬ƒliated companies, and selected impact of the COVID 19 pandemic, which has represented an employees of MorphoSys AG (2020 Stock Option Plan). unprecedented challenge for the Company. The top priority for MorphoSys in all decisions has been the well-being of employees On September 30, 2020, Jens Holstein, Chief Financial Oï¬ƒcer and patients. Business continuity plans were put in place to (CFO), announced his intention to resign as CFO and member counter the eï¬€ects of COVID 19. These plans include a number of the Company’s Management Board in order to pursue new of actions to protect employees, including a work-from-home challenges. He left MorphoSys effective December 31, 2020. On policy, flexible work schedules, restrictions on in-person meet- January 6, 2021, following the end of the reporting period, ings and business travel. In order to protect patients, the collab- MorphoSys announced the appointment of Sung Lee as Chief oration with clinics and investigators was intensified to ensure Financial Officer (CFO) and member of the Management Board, the supply of urgently needed medicines without running avoid- eï¬€ective February 2, 2021. able risks of infection. Patient enrollment and screening for the M-PLACE study (felzartamab (MOR202)), was temporarily suspended. For studies with a potentially significant benefit in life-threatening indications, enrollment continued. Due to the

Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group Group Management Report Statements 67 Financial Figure 04   Total Headcount of the MorphoSys Group (December 31) (Number) Total Employees 615 426 345 326 329 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 Employees by Segment 423 249 133 116 61 59 Proprietary Development Partnered Discovery Unallocated 2019 2020 Employees by Function 351 300 142 122 86 40Administration R & D Sales 2019 2020

Group Management Report Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group 68 On October 13, 2020, MorphoSys successfully placed convertible Group Headcount Development bonds in the amount of € 325 million, with a coupon of 0.625 % p.a., maturing on October 16, 2025. The bonds were issued with On December 31, 2020, the MorphoSys Group had 615 employ-the exclusion of shareholders’ subscription rights. Under certain ees (December 31, 2019: 426), 189 of whom hold Ph.D. degrees circumstances, the convertible bonds may be redeemed by the (December 31, 2019: 152). The MorphoSys Group employed an Company on or after November 6, 2023. The proceeds of the of- average of 564 people in 2020 (2019: 374). fering are to be used for general corporate purposes, including proprietary development programs, in-licensing and/or M&A Of the current 615 employees, 351 worked in research and deactivities. velopment, 122 in general and administrative positions, and 142 in sales and marketing. All of these employees are based at On October 27, 2020, MorphoSys increased its financial guid- our locations in Germany and the United States. We do not have ance for the 2020 financial year, following its latest preliminary collective wage agreements with our employees, and there were assessment of MorphoSys’ financial performance. Based on the no employee strikes during the reporting year. preliminary unaudited consolidated results for the first nine months of 2020, MorphoSys increased its expectation for Group At the end of the reporting year, our workforce comprised em-revenues to € 317 to 327 million (previously: € 280 to 290 mil- ployees representing 39 different nationalities (2019: 40). lion) and EBIT to € 10 to 20 million (previously: € 15 to +5 mil- ›› see figure 04 – Total Headcount of the MorphoSys Group (page 67) lion). R&D expenses were expected to remain unchanged at ›› see figure 05 – Employees by Gender (page 69) € 130 million to € 140 million. The updated guidance took into account higher revenues from partnerships and collaborations To compete successfully for the best employees, MorphoSys as well as royalties from sales of Tremfya, which were expected conducts an annual comparison of the Company’s compensa-to be at the upper end of the forecast. The update also took into tion with that paid by other companies in the biotech industry consideration the revenue from product sales of Monjuvi follow- and similar sectors and makes adjustments when necessary. ing its approval and subsequent launch in the U.S. The remuneration system at MorphoSys consists of fixed compensation and a variable annual bonus that is linked to the achievement of corporate goals. Individual goals promote both the employees’ personal development and the achievement of higher-level corporate goals. A “spot bonus” (given “on the spot”) is also promptly awarded to employees for outstanding accomplishments. We continued to use this instrument frequently during the reporting year.

Fundamentals of the MorphoSys Group Group Management Report Statements 69 Financial Figure 05   Employees by Gender (December 31) Total Employees (in %) 58 42 58 42 2019 2020 Executives (number) Trainees (number) 50 46 6 5 6 34 33 4 2019 2020 2019 2020

Group Management Report Macroeconomic and Sector-Specific Conditions 70 Macroeconomic and Sector-Specific Conditions Changes in the Business Environment The majority of our business transactions are conducted in euros In January 2021, the International Monetary Fund (IMF) fore- and U.S. dollars. As we conduct our commercial and roll-out cast that the global economy would contract by 3.5 % for 2020 activities in the U.S., a strengthening of the U.S. dollar against (report “World Economic Outlook January 2021”) with a devas- the euro, all other things remaining equal, would have a positating pandemic hitting countries around the world for most of tive impact on our operating result. Conversely, if the euro in-the year. This projected contraction, however, is 0.9 percentage creased versus the US dollar, our royalties from sales of point higher than projected in the previous forecast in October Tremfya and revenues from sales of Monjuvi — both of which 2020, reflecting stronger-than-expected impact in the second are translated from U.S. dollars to euros — would decrease. We half of 2020. The pandemic has had particularly adverse effects manage this risk through various mechanisms, such as option economically more vulnerable people. This has been seen, for mizing our U.S. dollar assets against our U.S. dollar liabilities example, in the U.S. and Europe but also in emerging markets and maintaining a relatively small amount of U.S. dollars in our and developing economies. bank accounts. The IMF’s growth forecast for the advanced economies in 2020 Development of the Antibody Sector was –4.9% (2019: 1.6%), and the forecast for the emerging and In 2020, a total of 12 new antibodies were approved, including developing economies was –2.4% (2019: +3.6%). The IMF’s fore- our first proprietary product Monjuvi, by either the FDA in the cast for growth in the euro area in 2020 was –7.2% (2019: U.S. or the EMA in the EU. According to the article “Antibodies +1.3%), compared to –5.4 % for Germany (2019: +0.6%); –3.4 % to Watch in 2021,” published in the mAbs Journal in November for the U.S. (2019: +2.2%); 2.3 % for China (2019: 6.0%), –3.6 % for 2020, 88 new antibodies are currently in late-stage clinical Russia (2019: +1.3%) and –4.5 % for Brazil (2019: +1.4%). development compared to 79 antibodies in the previous year. Of the 88 antibodies, 44 were developed for the treatment of cancer. When managing its business activities, MorphoSys takes a number of potential macroeconomic risks and opportunities We view the successful development and commercialization of into consideration. Our business activities remained unaï¬€ected the antibody segment as a positive signal and a confirmation by the volatility in any one country. of our strategy to focus our development activities on this class of drugs. Still, we cannot predict the clinical or market success of Currency Development individual drug candidates. The EUR/USD exchange rate increased significantly year-on-year, and was quoted between US$ 1.20 and 1.23 at the end of 2020. The economic situation remains tense. The ongoing unresolved trade conflicts between the U.S. and China and the U.S. and the EU, as well as the economic losses triggered by tougher COVID 19 restrictions, are creating uncertainty, as are the remaining negotiations for the UK’s withdrawal from the Euro-pean Union.

Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations Group Management Report Statements 71 Financial Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations This report on the net assets, financial position and results of On a regional basis, revenues from biotechnology and pharma-operations should be read in conjunction with the annual con- ceutical companies in the U.S. and Canada increased by more solidated financial statements and the notes thereto, which also than 100%, or € 286.8 million, from € 32.3 million in 2019 to form part of this annual report. In addition to historical financial € 319.1 million in the reporting year. This development was information, the following report contains forward-looking driven primarily by revenue from the collaboration and license statements that reflect our plans, estimates and opinions. Our agreement with Incyte. Revenues with customers in Europe and actual results may diï¬€er materially from these forward-looking Asia declined by 78%, or € 30.7 million, to € 8.6 million in 2020 statements. Factors that could cause or contribute to these dif- (2019: € 39.5 million). This decline resulted from the recognition ferences or cause our actual results or the timing of selected of a milestone payment from GSK of € 22.0 million in 2019. events to differ materially from those anticipated in these forward-looking statements include those set forth under “Risk In 2020, a total of 93 % of the revenues generated were attrib-Factors,” “Special Note Regarding Forward-Looking Statements” utable to activities with partners Incyte, Janssen and I-Mab and elsewhere in this report. Biopharma. In 2019, 89 % of the revenues generated were at-tributable to activities with partners Janssen, GSK and I-Mab Our consolidated financial statements comply with both the Biopharma. IFRSs* published by the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) and those adopted by the EU. The consolidated Revenues in the 2019 reporting year declined by 6%, or financial statements also take into account the supplementary € 4.6 million, to € 71.8 million (2018: € 76.4 million). Revenues provisions under commercial law, which must be applied in were generated primarily from royalties received from Janssen accordance with Section 315e (1) of the German Commercial in the amount of € 31.8 million based on net sales of Tremfya Code (Handelsgesetzbuch – HGB). (2018: € 15.4 million). A milestone payment from GSK in the *see glossary – page 216 amount of € 22.0 million also contributed to sales and was triggered by the dosing of the first patient upon the initiation of a phase 3 clinical development program. Revenues in 2018 Results Of Operations resulted mainly from the receipt of a payment of € 47.5 million, which was fully recognized in 2018 following the signing of an Revenues exclusive worldwide license agreement with Novartis Pharma Revenues in the reporting year increased by more than 100 % or AG for the development and commercialization of MOR106. € 255.9 million to € 327.7 million (2019: € 71.8 million). This increase resulted first and foremost from revenues of € 255.8 mil- On a regional basis, revenues from biotechnology and pharma-lion stemming from the collaboration and license agreement ceutical companies in the U.S. and Canada increased by 67%, or with Incyte. Revenues from royalties on net sales of Tremfya € 12.9 million, from € 19.4 million in 2018 to € 32.3 million in amounted to € 42.5 million (2019: € 31.8 million). Revenues the 2019 financial year. This development was driven primarily from Monjuvi product sales totaled € 18.5 million, which were by success-based payments received mainly from Janssen. Rev-recognized for the first time after receiving marketing authori- enues with customers in Europe and Asia declined by 31%, or zation in August 2020. Revenues in the 2019 financial year € 17.6 million, to € 39.5 million in 2019 (2018: € 57.1 million), were primarily attributable to royalties of € 31.8 million from mainly due to the fact that 2018 had contained a Novartis pay-Janssen on the net sales of Tremfya and a milestone payment of ment for MOR106. The absence of such a payment in the 2019 € 22.0 million from GSK triggered by the dosing of the first reporting year was partly compensated for by a milestone pay-patient upon the initiation of a phase 3 clinical development ment from GSK in the amount of € 22.0 million. program.

Group Management Report Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations 72 Figure 06   Revenues by Region (December 31) (in %) Europe and Asia North America 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 10 13 97 25 45 90 87 75 55 3 Figure 07   Revenues Proprietary Development and Partnered Discovery (December 31) (in million )1 1 Diff erences due to rounding. Segment Partnered Discovery –funded research and licensing fees Segment Partnered Discovery –success-based payments Segment Proprietary Development Total 49.7 66.8 76.4 71.8 327.7 278.6 53.6 46.4 43.6 41.9 34.3 33.2 19.3 17.6 7.3 5.6 3.5 4.3 0.6 2.6 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020

Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations Group Management Report Statements 73 Financial A total of 89 % of the revenues generated in 2019 were attribut- this development. Research and development expenses inable to activities with our partners Janssen, GSK and I-Mab Bio- creased by 30%, or € 33.0 million, to € 141.4 million in the re-pharma. In 2018, 95 % of the revenues generated were attribut- porting year (2019: € 108.4 million). In 2020, selling expenses able to activities with our partners Novartis, I-Mab Biopharma amounted to € 107.7 million compared with € 22.7 million in and Janssen. 2019. The main items responsible for this increase were higher ›› see figure 06 – Revenues by Region (page 72) expenses for personnel and external services. General and administrative expenses increased by 40%, or € 14.7 million, Proprietary Development from € 36.7 million in 2019 to € 51.4 million in 2020, which was In 2020, revenues in the Proprietary Development segment in- also largely due to increased personnel expenses and expenses creased by € 244.3 million to € 278.6 million (2019: € 34.3 mil- for external services. Cost of sales decreased from € 12.1 mil-lion). This increase was mainly due to revenues from the collab- lion in 2019 to € 9.2 million in 2020. oration and license agreement with Incyte in the amount of € 255.8 million as well as revenues from Monjuvi product sales Operating expenses in the Proprietary Development segment in the amount of € 18.5 million. increased by 85 % or € 121.7 million in the reporting year and amounted to € 265.2 million (2019: € 143.5 million). The main In 2019, revenues in the Proprietary Development segment de- reason for this increase was higher selling expenses due to the creased by € 19.3 million to € 34.3 million (2018: € 53.6 mil- establishment of the U.S. sales organization. lion). This decline was a result of the revenues recognized in 2018 from a payment MorphoSys received under the MOR106 Operating expenses in the Partnered Discovery segment in agreement concluded with Novartis in 2018. The absence of the 2020 financial year increased by 9%, or € 1.0 million, to such a payment in 2019 was partially offset by € 29.1 million € 11.7 million (2019: € 10.7 million). This increase was mainly higher success-based payments. a result of higher general and administrative expenses. At € 1.4 million in the reporting year, general and administrative Partnered Discovery expenses in the Partnered Discovery segment were more than The Partnered Discovery segment recorded an increase in 100%, or € 0.8 million, higher than the figure of € 0.6 million revenues of € 11.6 million to a total of € 49.1 million in 2020 reported in the prior year. (2019: € 37.5 million). This increase included primarily performance-based payments of € 46.4 million in 2020 and € 33.2 mil- In 2019, operating expenses increased by 32%, or € 43.4 mil-lion in the previous year. The performance-based payments were lion, from € 136.5 million in 2018 to € 179.9 million. An in-mainly related to royalties from Janssen for net sales with crease in cost of sales, research and development expenses, Tremfya of € 42.5 million in 2020 and of € 31.8 million in 2019. selling expenses and general and administrative expenses The Partnered Discovery segment also included revenues of contributed to this development. Cost of sales increased from € 2.6 million in the reporting year and € 4.3 million in 2019 € 1.8 million in 2018 to € 12.1 million in 2019, primarily due to from funded research and licensing fees. an impairment of € 8.7 million to a net realizable value of zero on inventory of tafasitamab that was manufactured prior to reg-The Partnered Discovery segment recorded an increase in rev- ulatory approval, but is available for subsequent commercial-enues of € 14.7 million to a total of € 37.5 million in 2019 (2018: ization. Research and development expenses increased by 2%, € 22.8 million). These revenues included success-based pay- or € 2.0 million, to € 108.4 million in 2019 (2018: € 106.4 mil-ments, primarily from Janssen, of € 33.2 million in 2019 and lion). In 2019, selling expenses amounted to € 22.7 million com-€ 19.3 million in the previous year. The success-based pay- pared to € 6.4 million in 2018, mainly due to higher personnel ments primarily included royalties on net sales of Tremfya in the expenses and expenses for external services. General and amount of € 31.8 million in 2019 and € 15.4 million in 2018. The administrative expenses increased by 68%, or € 14.8 million, Partnered Discovery segment also included revenues in the from € 21.9 million in 2018 to € 36.7 million in 2019, also pri-amount of € 4.3 million from funded research and licensing marily as a result of higher personnel expenses and expenses fees in 2019 and € 3.5 million in 2018. for external services. ›› see figure 07 – Revenues Proprietary Development and Partnered Discovery(page 72) Operating expenses in the Proprietary Development segment increased by 34%, or € 36.5 million, in 2019 and totaled € 143.5 million (2018: € 107.0 million). The main factors that led Operating Expenses to this increase were higher selling expenses and higher general and administrative expenses as a result of establishing the sales In 2020, operating expenses increased by 72%, or € 129.8 mil- organization in the U.S. lion, to € 309.7 million compared to € 179.9 million in 2019. An increase in research and development expenses, selling expenses and general and administrative expenses contributed to

Group Management Report Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations 74 Figure 08   Selected R&D Expenses (December 31) (in million ) External Laboratory Funding Other – (includes expenses Personnel for intangible assets, Consumablestechnical infrastructure and external services) Total 94.0 113.3 106.4 108.4 141.4 71.3 61.1 60.7 47.9 44.3 35.5 30.9 31.4 30.1 28.5 25.1 25.3 22.3 21.1 14.7 2.3 2.6 2.3 2.9 3.2 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 Operating expenses in the Partnered Discovery segment in Expenses for intangible assets amounted to € 20.2 million in 2019 increased by 13 % or € 1.2 million to € 10.7 million (2018: 2020 (2019: € 5.6 million). In the reporting year, these were in-€ 9.5 million), mainly due to higher research and development fluenced by impairment losses of € 11.7 million in connection expenses. Research and development expenses in the Part- with an impairment of the MOR107 in-process research and nered Discovery segment increased by 14%, or € 1.2 million, to development program. Depreciation, amortization and other ex-€ 9.7 million in 2019 (2018: € 8.5 million). penses for infrastructure increased from € 5.9 million in 2019 ›› see figure 08 – Selected R&D Expenses (page 72) to € 8.7 million in 2020, mainly due to higher expenses for insurance. Other expenses decreased from € 3.1 million in 2019 Research and Development Expenses to € 2.5 million in 2020. Expenses for consumables increased Research and development expenses increased by 30%, or from € 2.9 million in the previous year to € 3.2 million in 2020. € 33.0 million, to € 141.4 million in 2020 (2019: € 108.4 mil-lion), specifically as a result of higher expenses for external In 2019, research and development expenses increased by 2%, laboratory services. Expenses for external laboratory services or € 2.0 million, to € 108.4 million (2018: € 106.4 million). This and legal and scientific consulting services increased from increase was mainly the result of higher expenses for external € 60.7 million in the previous year to € 71.3 million in the report- laboratory services and personnel, which were partially offset ing year, mainly due to higher expenses for external laboratory by lower expenses for intangible assets. Expenses for external services in connection with the development of tafasitamab. laboratory services, together with legal and scientific consulting Personnel expenses were also higher, rising from € 30.1 million services, increased from € 47.9 million in 2018 to € 60.7 million in the previous year to € 35.5 million in the reporting year. in 2019. The increase was primarily due to higher expenses for external laboratory services in connection with the development of tafasitamab. Personnel expenses rose from € 25.3 million in 2018 to € 30.1 million in 2019, mainly due to an increase in the expenses related to the development of tafasitamab (totaling € 5.5 million).

Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations Group Management Report Statements 75 Financial Expenses for intangible assets amounted to € 5.6 million in 2019 General and administrative expenses increased by 68%, or (2018: € 22.8 million). In 2019, these were mainly influenced by € 14.8 million, in 2019 and amounted to € 36.7 million (2018: impairment losses of € 1.3 million related to an impairment of € 21.9 million). The main sources of this increase were higher the in-process R&D program MOR107. Depreciation and other personnel expenses and expenses for external services. Person-expenses related to infrastructure increased from € 5.4 million nel expenses rose from € 15.0 million in 2018 to € 23.4 million in 2018 to € 5.9 million in 2019, mainly due to higher insurance in 2019, largely due to higher expenses for share-based compen-expenses. Other expenses increased from € 2.8 million in 2018 sation programs and salaries. Expenses for external services to € 3.1 million. Expenses for consumable supplies rose from rose from € 4.5 million in 2018 to € 9.2 million in 2019, especially € 2.3 million in 2018 to € 2.9 million in 2019. in connection with the preparation of the commercialization of tafasitamab. Other expenses rose from € 1.0 million in 2018 to Selling Expenses € 1.9 million in 2019, mainly due to higher travel expenses. Selling expenses increased by more than 100%, or € 85.0 mil-lion, to € 107.7 million in 2020 (2019: € 22.7 million). This was mainly due to higher expenses for external services and person- Other Income nel expenses. The expenses for external services increased by € 36.4 million to € 50.6 million in 2020 due to the commercial- Other income increased by more than 100%, or € 13.8 million, ization of Monjuvi (2019: € 14.2 million). Driven by the market- to € 14.6 million in the reporting year (2019: € 0.8 million) and ing activities for Monjuvi personnel expenses increased to mainly resulted from exchange rate gains from operating activ-€ 53.0 million (2019: € 7.0 million). ities of € 13.7 million (2019: € 0.2 million). In 2020, one-off gains from the disposal of the Lanthio companies amounted to In 2019, selling expenses increased by more than 100 % or € 0.4 million. € 16.3 million to € 22.7 million (2018: € 6.4 million). This increase primarily resulted from higher expenses for external Other income decreased by 50%, or € 0.8 million, to € 0.8 million services and personnel expenses. The expenses for external in 2019 (2018: € 1.6 million) and mainly included currency services increased by € 11.2 million to € 14.2 million in 2019 gains of € 0.2 million (2018: € 0.7 million), research grants of due to rising activities for the preparation of the commercial- € 0.1 million (2018: € 0.2 million) and miscellaneous income of ization of tafasitamab (2018: € 3.0 million). Personnel expenses € 0.5 million (2018: € 0.4 million). The year 2018 included one-increased to € 7.0 million (2018: € 2.5 million) due to intensified time gains from the capitalization of previously unrecognized marketing activities for tafasitamab. intangible assets in the amount of € 0.4 million (resulting from the contribution in kind in connection with the investment in General and Administrative Expenses adivo GmbH). General and administrative expenses increased by 40%, or € 14.7 million, in 2020 and amounted to € 51.4 million (2019: € 36.7 million). The main reason for this increase were higher Other Expenses personnel expenses and expenses for external services. Personnel expenses increased from € 23.4 million in the previous year In the 2020 reporting year, other expenses increased by more to € 32.4 million in the reporting year. Higher expenses for than 100%, or € 4.6 million, rising from € 0.6 million in 2019 to salaries were primarily responsible for this increase. Expenses € 5.2 million in 2020. This increase was mainly the result of for external services increased from € 9.2 million in the previ- currency losses of € 4.6 million (2019: € 0.4 million) and other ous year to € 13.1 million in the reporting year, which was par- expenses of € 0.6 million (2019: € 0.2 million). ticularly related to the commercialization of Monjuvi. Other expenses decreased from € 1.9 million in 2019 to € 1.3 million In 2019, other expenses decreased by 14%, or € 0.1 million, from in 2020, mainly due to lower travel expenses. € 0.7 million in 2018 to € 0.6 million mainly due to currency losses of € 0.4 million (2018: € 0.5 million) and other expenses of € 0.2 million (2018: € 0.2 million).

Group Management Report Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations 76 EBIT expenses from the compounding of non-current lease liabilities were also recognized in the reporting year. EBIT, defined as earnings before finance income, finance expenses, income from impairment reversals/impairment losses Finance expenses increased by more than 100%, or € 1.5 mil-on financial assets and income taxes, amounted to € 27.4 million lion, to € 2.3 million in 2019 (2018: € 0.8 million) and primarily in 2020, compared to € 107.9 million in 2019 and € 59.1 million consisted of losses from changes in the fair value of financial in 2018. assets recognized in profit or loss in the amount of € 0.3 million (2018: € 0.1 million), interest expenses from financial assets and liabilities at amortized cost in the amount of € 0.8 million Finance Income (2018: € 0.2 million), as well as losses from derivatives of € 0.1 million (2018: € 0.4 million). In 2019, with the application Finance income increased by more than 100%, or € 89.2 million, of the new IFRS* 16 standard on leases, interest expenses of to € 92.0 million in the reporting year (2019: € 2.8 million) and € 0.9 million from the compounding of non-current lease liabil-resulted from items amounting to € 82.0 million (2019: € 0 mil- ities were recognized for the first time. lion) in connection with the measurement of financial assets and *see glossary – page 216 financial liabilities from collaborations. These items included effects from currency translation and fair value measurement (see section 4 entitled “Collaboration and license agreement with Income Tax Expenses Incyte” contained in the Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements). Also included is finance income from the invest- The Group recorded total income tax benefits of € 75.4 million ment of cash and cash equivalents and foreign currency trans- in 2020 (2019: income tax benefits of € 3.5 million), which con-lation gains from investing of funds amounting to € 9.3 million sisted of current tax expenses of € 67.1 million (2019: € 0) and (2019: € 1.3 million). Income of € 0.7 million (2019: € 1.5 million) deferred tax expenses from temporary differences of € 10.6 mil-from financial derivatives was also recognized. lion. These were more than offset by deferred tax benefits from temporary differences of € 153.1 million. The effective income Finance income rose by more than 100%, or € 2.4 million, to tax rate equaled –335.2 % in the reporting year (2019: 3.3%). € 2.8 million in 2019 (2018: € 0.4 million), and mainly included The difference compared to the expected tax rate of 26.7% (which gains from derivatives in the amount of € 1.5 million (2018: would have resulted in an income tax expense of € 6.0 million € 0.3 million), gains from changes in the fair value of financial versus income tax benefits in 2019 of € 28.4 million) is primarily assets recognized in profit or loss in the amount of € 1.1 million due to the effect from utilization of loss carryforwards for which (2018: € 0.1 million) and interest income of € 0.2 million (2018: no deferred tax assets were recognized in prior year and the € 0.1 million) from investments in term deposits with fixed or recognition of deferred tax assets on prior year temporary dif-variable interest rates. ferences, both amounting to € 73.0 million (2019: € 0.0 million). In addition, the equity premium of the capital increase by Incyte is a permanent difference amounting to € 14.2 million. Finance Expenses In 2019, income tax benefits amounted to € 3.5 million (2018: Finance expenses increased by more than 100%, or € 93.9 mil- € 4.3 million). The difference to the expected tax rate of 26.7 % lion, to € 96.2 million in the reporting year (2019: € 2.3 million). (which would have resulted in income tax benefits of € 28.4 mil-This increase was mainly due to the effects of financial assets lion (2018: € 16.1 million) is mainly due to the fact that deferred and financial liabilities from collaborations of € 45.4 million tax assets on tax losses in 2019 in the amount of € 27.0 million (2019: € 0 million) and specifically from the difference in the (2018: € 14.5 million) were not recognized. planning assumptions versus the actual results. The application of the effective interest method and foreign currency valuation (see Note 4 “Collaboration and license agreement with Incyte” Consolidated Net Profit/ contained in the Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements) Loss for the Period also contributed to the increase. Furthermore, this line item included finance expenses from the investment of cash and cash equivalents and foreign currency translation losses from In 2020, consolidated net profit amounted to € 97.9 million (2019: financing activities of € 42,2 million (2019: € 1.0 million). consolidated net loss of € 103.0 million; 2018: consolidated net Losses of € 5.0 million (2019: € 0.1 million) from financial deriv- loss of € 56.2 million). atives as well as of € 1.2 million (2019: € 0.9 million) in interest

Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations Group Management Report Statements 77 Financial Table 04   Multi-Year Overview – Statement of Profit or Loss1 in million € 2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 Revenues 327.7 71.8 76.4 66.8 49.7 Cost of Sales (9.2) (12.1) (1.8) 0.0 0.0 Research and Development Expenses2 (141.4) (108.4) (106.4) (113.3) (94.0) Selling Expenses2 (107.7) (22.7) (6.4) (4.8) (2.4) General and Administrative Expenses2 (51.4) (36.7) (21.9) (15.7) (13.4) Other Income/Expenses 9.4 0.2 1.0 (0.6 0.2 EBIT 27.4 (107.9) (59.1) (67.6) (59.9) Finance Income/Expenses (4.2) 0.5 (0.3) (1.2) 0.1 Income from Reversals of Impairment Losses/ (Impairment Losses) on Financial Assets (0.7) 0.9 (1.0) 0.0 0.0 Income Tax Benefit/(Expenses) 75.4 3.5 4.3 (1.0) (0.5) Consolidated Net Profit/(Loss) 97.9 (103.0) (56.2) () (60.4) Earnings per Share, Basic and Diluted (in €)3 – (3.26) (1.79) (2.41) (2.28) Earnings per Share, Basic (in €) 3.01 – – – –Earnings per Share, Diluted (in €) 2.97 – – – –Shares Used in Computing Earnings per Share (in units), Basic and Diluted3 – 31,611,155 31,338,948 28,947,566 26,443,415 Shares Used in Computing Earnings per Share, Basic 32,525,644 – – – –Shares Used in Computing Earnings per Share, Diluted 33,167,852 – – – –Dividends Declared per Share (in € and $) – – – – – 1 Differences due to rounding. 2 In 2018, selling expenses were presented for the first time. In order to provide comparative information for the previous year, the figures for 2017 and 2016 have been adjusted accordingly. 3 Basic and diluted earnings per share are the same in each of the years ended December 31, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, because the assumed exercise of outstanding stock options and convertible bonds would be anti-dilutive due to our consolidated net loss in the respective period. Liquidity and Capital Resources Sources of Funding We have funded our operations primarily through ordinary On December 31, 2020, cash and cash equivalents amounted to share issues and cash proceeds from ongoing business opera- € 109.8 million, financial assets at fair value with changes rec-tions, including upfront fees, milestone payments, license fees, ognized in profit or loss amounted to € 287.9 million and other royalties, and service fees from strategic partners and govern- current and non-current financial assets at amortized cost ment grants. amounted to € 846.3 million. On December 31, 2019, cash and cash equivalents amounted to € 44.3 million, financial assets at Liquidity is defined as the sum of the balance sheet items “cash fair value with changes recognized in profit or loss amounted to and cash equivalents,“ “financial assets at fair value with € 20.5 million and other current and non-current financial assets changes recognized in profit or loss“ and“ other financial assets at amortized cost amounted to € 292.7 million. at amortized cost.“

Group Management Report Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations 78 Cash in excess of immediate working capital requirements is For the implementation of our various projects, including pro-invested in accordance with our investment policy, primarily prietary development programs, in-licensing and also possible with a view to liquidity and capital preservation. Investments M&A transactions, additional capital requirements may also are primarily made in money market funds, corporate bonds arise in the short term. If we cannot generate revenues quickly and term deposits with fixed or variable interest. enough to cover pipeline developments, we may finance future cash needs through public or private equity or bond oï¬€erings, On October 16, 2020, we placed unsubordinated, unsecured including convertible bonds. Additional capital may not be convertible bonds maturing on October 16, 2025 for a nominal available at reasonable terms, if at all. If we are unable to raise amount of € 325.0 million, divided into 3,250 bonds with a par additional capital in sufficient amounts or on terms acceptable value of € 100,000 each. The convertible bonds were issued at to us, we may have to significantly delay, scale back or discon-100 % of their nominal amount and carry a semi-annual coupon tinue the development or commercialization of one or more of of 0.625 % per year. We raised gross proceeds of € 325.0 million our product candidates. If we raise additional capital through from the issuance of the convertible bonds; issue costs for this the issuance of debt or equity instruments, it could result in transaction equaled € 5.1 million. dilution to our existing shareholders, increased fixed payment obligations, or the securities may have rights senior to those of We are not subject to any operating covenants or capital our ordinary shares or the ADSs. If we incur indebtedness, we requirements. could become subject to covenants that would restrict our operations and potentially impair our competitiveness, such as lim-Uses of Funds itations on our ability to assume additional debt, limitations on Our primary use of cash is to fund research and development our ability to acquire, sell or license intellectual property rights costs related to the development of our product candidates and to and other operating restrictions that could adversely impact commercialize Monjuvi. Our primary future funding require- our ability to conduct our business. ments include the development and commercialization of our proprietary clinical pipeline (primarily tafasitamab and felz-artamab (MOR202)) and the advancement of our earlier-stage, Cash Flows wholly owned or co-developed product candidates. Net Cash Provided by/(used in) Operating We believe that we have suï¬ƒcient cash and cash equivalents Activities and other financial assets (including cash invested in various In the reporting year, net cash provided by operating activities financial assets as described above) to cover expected operating amounted to € 35.3 million and was mainly attributable to the expenses for at least the next 12 months. consolidated net profit of € 97.9 million and changes in operating assets and liabilities, including income taxes paid, totaling We have based this estimate on assumptions that may prove to € 12.5 million. This was offset by non-cash income totaling be wrong, and we could use our capital resources sooner than € 75.1 million. The consolidated net profit of € 97.9 million re-we currently expect. Additionally, the process of investigating sulted mainly from revenues from the collaboration and license product candidates in clinical trials and commercializing a agreement with Incyte, which was largely offset by expenses product are costly. Both the timing and progress of develop- incurred to finance MorphoSys’s ongoing operations, specifi-ment trials as well as the success of commercialization cannot cally cost of sales, research and development expenses, selling be predicted with certainty. expenses, and general and administrative expenses. Non-cash income included income tax benefits in the amount of € 75.4 mil-Since our product candidates are in various stages of develop- lion, income from the reversal of impairment of inventory in the ment and the outcome of our activities is uncertain, we cannot amount of € 13.3 million related to the receipt of regulatory ap-estimate the amounts required to successfully complete the proval for Monjuvi, income from the realization of contract lia-development and commercialization of our product candidates. bilities in the amount of € 12.5 million and the net change in financial assets / liabilities from collaborations in the amount of € 36.6 million. These were offset by scheduled and unscheduled

Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations Group Management Report Statements 79 Financial depreciation and amortization of tangible and intangible assets liabilities. The contract liability incurred during the year was and rights of use amounting to € 24.8 million, net losses from largely related to prepayments received from contract partners. financial assets at fair value, with changes recognized in profit The decrease in accounts receivable was due to a comparatively or loss, amounting to € 13.4 million, net losses from other finan- lower level of receivables outstanding at year-end 2019. The in-cial assets at amortized cost amounting to € 8.4 million, net crease in prepaid expenses and other assets stemmed mainly losses from derivative financial instruments amounting to from higher prepayments and higher receivables due from tax € 4.3 million and expenses for share-based incentive programs authorities from input tax surplus. amounting to € 9.0 million. Changes in operating assets and liabilities in 2020 mainly included an increase in accounts re- In 2018, the net cash used in operating activities amounted to ceivable of € 69.6 million and in inventories, prepaid expenses € 32.8 million, primarily driven by the consolidated net loss of and other assets of € 8.5 million. Accounts payable and accrued € 56.2 million, which was partially offset by non-cash expenses liabilities increased by € 77.5 million. Contract liabilities in- of € 27.9 million, and changes in operating assets and liabilities creased by € 13.4 million in the reporting year. The year-on- and taxes paid of € 4.5 million. The consolidated net loss of year increase in accounts receivable was mainly due to lower € 56.2 million was largely due to expenses we incurred to fund outstanding receivables at the end of the year. The increase in our ongoing operations, particularly research and development inventories, prepaid expenses and other assets was due in par- expenses, selling expenses and general and administrative ex-ticular to the recognition of inventories as a result of the market- penses. The main contributors to non-cash charges were im-ing authorization for Monjuvi in the U.S. The increase in external pairment on intangibles assets in the amount of € 24.0 million, laboratory services outstanding at year-end, in particular related expenses for share-based payment of € 5.6 million and depreci-to tafasitamab, was the main reason for the higher trade pay- ation and amortization of tangible and intangible assets of ables and accrued liabilities. Contract liabilities incurred in the € 3.8 million, offset by an income tax benefit of € 4.3 million. reporting year largely related to advance payments received Changes in operating assets and liabilities for 2018 consisted from contractors. primarily of an increase in accounts receivable by € 6.6 million and a decrease in other liabilities by € 2.7 million, offset by In the previous year, net cash used in operating activities contract liabilities in the amount of € 2.4 million incurred in amounted to € 81.1 million, primarily driven by the consoli- 2018 as well as an increase in accounts payable and accruals by dated net loss of € 103.0 million, which was partially offset by € 1.9 million. The increase in accounts receivable was due to a non-cash expenses of € 4.2 million, and changes in operating comparatively higher level of receivables outstanding at the end assets and liabilities and taxes paid of € 17.8 million. The con- of 2018. The decrease in other liabilities stemmed mainly from solidated net loss of € 103.0 million was largely due to expenses the payment of tax liabilities and the repayment of a govern-we incurred to fund our ongoing operations, particularly the cost mental cost subsidy. The contract liability incurred in 2018 was of sales, research and development expenses, selling expenses, largely related to annual license fees. The increase in external and general and administrative expenses. The main contributors laboratory services outstanding at year-end 2018 was the pri-to non-cash charges were expenses for share-based payment of mary driver of the higher trade payables and accrued liabilities. € 6.7 million and depreciation and amortization of tangible and intangible assets and of right-of-use assets of € 6.2 million, off-set by the recognition of contract liabilities of € 5.3 million and income tax benefits of € 3.5 million. Changes in operating assets and liabilities for 2019 consisted primarily of an increase in accounts payable and accruals by € 13.2 million, contract liabilities in the amount of € 6.1 million incurred during 2019, as well as a decrease in accounts receivable by € 2.7 million. This was offset by an increase in prepaid expenses and other assets by € 4.4 million. The increase in external laboratory services outstanding at the end of 2019, primarily related to tafasitamab, was the primary driver of the higher trade payables and accrued

Group Management Report Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations 80 Net Cash Provided by/(used in) Investing Net Cash Provided by/(used in) Financing Activities Activities In 2020, net cash used in investing activities amounted to Net cash provided by financing activities amounted to € 879.6 million, primarily driven by payments to acquire secu- € 907.2 million in 2020 and consisted primarily of proceeds in rities amounting to € 1,745.7 million, of which € 1,249.7 million the amount of € 80.6 million from the issuance of shares, as were classified as measured at amortized cost and € 496.0 mil- well as proceeds of € 510.2 million from financing collaborations, lion as financial assets at fair value through profit or loss. These both in connection with the collaboration and license agree-were offset by proceeds from the sale of securities amounting ment with Incyte. Further proceeds came from the issuance of to € 900.8 million, of which € 686.6 million were measured at convertible bonds in the amount of € 319.9 million, which were amortized cost and € 214.2 million were classified as financial offset by lease payments of € 2.8 million and interest payments assets at fair value through profit or loss. The cash outflow from of € 1.4 million. investing activities was mainly due to a shift in the composition of our investment portfolio, as securities matured and were sold In 2019, net cash provided by financing activities was € 0.4 mil-and new, comparable securities were acquired. In addition, lion and mainly related to proceeds from the exercise of convert-€ 44.9 million was used for the acquisition of intangible assets ible bonds by related parties in the amount of € 3.7 million offset in 2020. by lease and interest payments in the amount of € 3.4 million. In 2019, net cash provided by investing activities was € 79.5 mil- In 2018, net cash provided by financing activities was € 179.5 mil-lion, primarily driven by proceeds from the sale of financial lion and mainly related to the gross proceeds from our initial assets in the amount of € 371.9 million, of which € 318.7 million public offering on the NASDAQ of € 193.6 million offset by the were classified at amortized cost, partially offset by the purchase related issuance costs of € 15.0 million. of financial assets in the amount of € 274.8 million, of which € 246.5 million were classified at amortized cost. Cash provided by investing activities primarily related to shifts in the compo- Investments sition in our investment portfolio as financial assets matured and were sold and new, similar financial assets were purchased. In 2020, MorphoSys invested € 4.3 million in property, plant and Additionally, in 2019, € 15.0 million were used to purchase a mi- equipment (2019: € 3.1 million), mainly laboratory equipment nority interest of 13.4 % in Vivoryon Therapeutics AG. (i.e. machinery) and tenant fixtures. Depreciation of property, plant and equipment in 2020 increased to € 2.5 million (2019: In 2018, the net cash used in investing activities amounted to € 2.0 million). € 177.8 million and resulted primarily from the purchase of financial assets in the amount of € 451.3 million. Of this MorphoSys invested € 44.9 million in intangible assets in the amount, € 336.8 million were classified at amortized cost and reporting year (2019: € 0.6 million). Of this amount, € 32.5 mil-partially offset by proceeds from the sale of financial assets in lion was spent on in-process R&D programs and € 12.0 million the amount of € 276.4 million, of which € 150.0 million were on licenses. Amortization of intangible assets amounted to classified at amortized cost. Cash used in investing activities € 2.2 million in 2020 (2019: € 1.5 million). In 2020, impairment primarily related to the investment of the proceeds from our losses of € 14.0 million were recognized on in-process R&D pro-initial public offering on the NASDAQ as well as a shift in the grams and patents and licenses, thereof € 11.7 million for the composition in our investment portfolio as financial assets MOR107 program. In 2019, impairment losses of € 1.6 million matured and were sold and new, similar financial assets were were recognized on in-process R&D programs and patents. purchased.

Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations Group Management Report Statements 81 Financial Table 05   Multi-Year Overview – Financial Situation1 in million € 2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 Net Cash Provided by/Used in Operating Activities2 35.3 (81.1) (32.8) (38.4) (46.6) Net Cash Provided by/Used in Investing Activities2 (879.6) 79.5 (177.8) 32.9 (80.8) Net Cash Provided by/Used in Financing Activities 907.2 0.4 179.5 8.2 110.4 Cash and Cash Equivalents (as of 31 December) 109.8 44.3 45.5 76.6 73.9 Financial Assets at Fair Value through Profit or Loss3 287.9 20.5 44.6 0.0 0.0 Other Financial Assets at Amortized Cost, Current Portion3 649.7 207.7 268.9 0.0 0.0 Other Financial Assets at Amortized Cost, Net of Current Portion3 196.6 84.9 95.7 0.0 0.0 Available-for-sale Financial Assets3 0.0 0.0 0.0 86.5 63.4 Bonds, Available-for-sale3 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 6.5 Financial Assets Categorized as Loans and Receivables, Current Portion3 0.0 0.0 0.0 149.1 136.1 Financial Assets Categorized as Loans and Receivables, Net of Current Portion3 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 79.5 1 Differences due to rounding. 2 In 2020 cash inflows and outflows for derivative financial instruments were reclassified from operating activities to investing activities due to incorrect classification. The figures for 2019 and 2018 were adjusted accordingly. 3 Since 2018, due to the first-time adoption of IFRS 9 Financial Instruments, the items representing liquidity are presented in different balance sheet items than in prior years. Net Assets Assets At € 1,659.5 million, total assets as of December 31, 2020 were Non-current assets increased by € 260,0 million to € 452.7 mil- € 1,163.1 million higher compared to December 31, 2019 lion (December 31, 2019: € 192.7 million), mainly due to the in-(€ 496.4 million). Current assets increased by € 903.1 million to crease of € 111.7 million in the line item “Other financial assets € 1,206.8 million. This change was mainly due to the increase in at amortized cost, net of current portion“ due to the long-term financial assets and cash and cash equivalents from the invest- investment of financial resources from the collaboration and ment of the cash received under the collaboration and license license agreement with Incyte and financial resources received agreement with Incyte and the issuance of the convertible from the convertible bond issue. In addition, “deferred tax as-bond. In addition, as a result of the collaboration and license sets“ in the amount of € 132.8 million were recognized, largely agreement with Incyte, the line item “financial assets from as a result of the differing tax treatment of the collaboration collaborations“ was recorded for the first time in 2020, amount- and license agreement with Incyte. Licenses also increased by ing to € 42.9 million as of December 31, 2020 (see Note 4 “Col- € 9.5 million to € 11.8 million, mainly resulting from the acqui-laboration and license agreement with Incyte“ contained in the sition of a license in the amount of € 12.0 million. This was par-Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements). Inventories tially offset by an impairment of € 2.0 million on a license. The increased by € 9.7 million, consisting mainly of inventories of increase in non-current assets was partially offset by a decrease Monjuvi for sale in the U.S. of € 13.7 million in the line item “Shares at fair value through other comprehensive income“ due to the sale of the minority As of December 31, 2020, a total of € 287.9 million (Decem- interest in Vivoryon Therapeutics AG. ber 31, 2019: € 20.5 million) was invested in various money market funds and reported under the item “financial assets at fair value, with changes recognized in profit or loss.” The item “other financial assets at amortized cost” include financial instruments totaling € 649.7 million (December 31, 2019: € 207.7 million) and consist primarily of term deposits with fixed or variable interest rates.

Group Management Report Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations 82 Liabilities oration and license agreement with Incyte, as well as from a Current liabilities increased from € 61.6 million in the prior liability from the convertible bond issued in October 2020. year to € 200.5 million as of December 31, 2020, mainly as a result of a € 65.6 million increase in the item “tax liabilities” The number of shares issued totaled 32,890,046 as of Decem-and a € 71.5 million increase in the line item “accounts payable ber 31, 2020, of which 32,758,632 shares were outstanding (De-and accruals”. cember 31, 2019: 31,957,958 shares issued and 31,732,158 shares outstanding). Common stock was higher as a result of Non-current liabilities (December 31, 2020: € 837.7 million; De- the purchase of 3,692,754 ADSs, or 907,441 shares, by Incyte, cember 31, 2019: € 40.2 million) increased primarily as a result as well as the exercise of 24,647 convertible bonds from em-of the first-time recognition of the line item “financial liabilities ployees for a total of € 932,088. from collaborations” in the amount of € 516.4 million as of De-cember 31, 2020 under the collaboration and license agreement On December 31, 2020, the Company held 131,414 treasury with Incyte, as well as a deferred tax liability of € 5.1 million shares with a value of € 4,868,744 — a decrease of € 3,488,506 resulting from this agreement. The carrying amount of the con- compared to December 31, 2019 (225,800 shares, € 8,357,250). vertible bond issued in October 2020 was € 272.8 million as of The reason for this decrease was the transfer of 91,037 treasury December 31, 2020. shares amounting to € 3,364,727 to the Management Board and selected employees of the Company (beneficiaries) from the Stockholders’ Equity 2016 Long-Term Incentive Plan (LTI Plan). The vesting period As of December 31, 2020, Group equity totaled € 621.3 million for this LTI Plan expired on April 1, 2020 and offered beneficia-compared to € 394.7 million on December 31, 2019. The Compa- ries a six-month period until October 20, 2020 to receive a total ny’s equity ratio as of December 31, 2020 amounted to 37 % of 91,037 shares. In addition, 3,349 treasury shares for an compared to 80 % on December 31, 2019. This decrease in the amount of € 123,779 from the 2019 Long-Term Incentive Plan equity ratio resulted mainly from the first-time recognition of a were transferred to certain employees of MorphoSys US Inc. financial liability from collaborations in 2020 under the collab- Table 06   Multi-Year Overview – Balance Sheet Structure1 in million € 12/31/2020 12/31/2019 12/31/2018 12/31/2017 12/31/2016 Assets Current Assets 1.206.8 303.7 388.9 340.7 308.1 Non-current Assets 452.7 192.7 149.9 74.7 155.5 Total 1.659.5 496.4 538.8 415.4 463.6 Equity and Liabilities Current Liabilities 200.5 61.6 45.9 47.7 38.3 Non-current Liabilities 837.7 40.2 4.5 9.0 9.8 Stockholders’ Equity2 621.3 394.7 488.4 358.7 415.5 Total 1.659.5 496.4 538.8 415.4 463.6 1 Differences due to rounding. 2 Includes common stock as of December 31, 2020: 32,890,046 €; December 31, 2019: € 31,957,958; December 31, 2018: € 31,839,572; December 31, 2017: € 29,420,785; December 31, 2016: € 29,159,770.

Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations Group Management Report Statements 83 Financial Contractual Obligations The following table summarizes our contractual obligations as of December 31, 2020: Table 07   Contractual Obligations (December 31, 2020) Payments due by period Less than 1 to 3 to More than (in € thousands) Total 1 year 3 years 5 years 5 years Leases 53,088 4,150 8,013 8,012 32,913 Other 10,310 7,450 2,860 0 0 Lease Obligations Off-Balance-Sheet Arrangements We enter into long-term leases for facilities, company cars and We do not currently have any oï¬€-balance-sheet arrangements equipment. The majority of these leasing contracts can be re- and did not have such arrangements in the years 2020 or 2019. newed on a yearly or quarterly basis, and some agreements may be terminated prematurely. Comparison of Actual Business Other Commitments Results versus Forecasts Other commitments may become due for future payments for outsourced studies. As of December 31, 2020, we expected to incur approximately € 193.3 million of expenses for outsourced MorphoSys demonstrated solid financial performance during studies, of which approximately € 111.7 million will be paid in the 2020 reporting year. A detailed comparison of the Company’s the next 12 months. Additionally, if certain milestones are forecasts versus the actual results can be found in Table 08. achieved in the Proprietary Development segment, for example, by filing an application for an investigational new drug, or IND, for specific target molecules, this may trigger milestone payments to licensors of up to an aggregate of US$ 249.0 million related to regulatory events or the achievement of sales targets. The next milestone payment amounting to US$ 12.5 million could presumably occur in the next 12 months. No accrual has been recorded in our consolidated balance sheet for this amount.

Group Management Report Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations 84 Table 08   Comparison of Actual Business Results versus Forecasts 2020 Targets 2020 Results Financial Group revenues between € 317 million and € 327 million (initial Group revenues of € 327.7 million,thereof royalties from Tremfya targets forecast of € 280–290 million; revised on October 27, 2020 of € 42.5 million following an updated assessment of the financial performance indicators), thereof royalties from Tremfya between € 37 million and € 42 million Research and development expenses of € 130–140 million Research and development expenses of € 141.4 million Selling expenses in the high double-digit million range Selling expenses of € 107.7 million General and administrative expenses: General and administrative expenses of € 51.4 million Significant increase (2019: € 36.7 million) EBIT in the range of € 10 million to € 20 million (initial forecast: EBIT of € 27.4 million € –15 million to € 5 million; revised on October 27, 2020 following EBIT exceeds forecast due to lower expenses in connection with an updated assessment of the financial performance indicators) the Monjuvi launch which had been expected to be higher on an interim basis Partnered Discovery segment: Partnered Discovery segment: Positive operating result/EBIT (2019: € 26.8 million) EBIT in the amount of € 37.4 million Significant increase in liquidity (2019: € 357.4 million) Liquidity in the amount of € 1,244.0 million Proprietary Tafasitamab Tafasitamab Development • Market launch of tafasitamab in combination with lenalido- • FDA approval in July of Monjuvi in combination with lenalido-mide for r/r DLBCL in the U.S. planned for mid 2020 (given U.S. mide for the treatment of adult patients with relapsed or re-FDA approval), together with our partner Incyte under the fractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) not otherwise collaboration and license agreement signed in January 2020 specified, including DLBCL arising from low-grade lymphoma, and who are not eligible for autologous stem cell transplant (ASCT) • Incyte’s support in the submission of a marketing authorization • Validation of marketing authorization application (MAA) by application for tafasitamab in combination with lenalidomide EMA for tafasitamab in combination with lenalidomide for the for r/r DLBCL to the European EMA by mid 2020; Incyte has treatment of adult patients with relapsed or refractory diffuse exclusive commercialization rights outside of the U.S. large B-cell lymphoma in May • Continued expansion of the commercial structures and strate- • Necessary commercial infrastructures put in place and key gic presence in the U.S. to ensure the readiness for the market- positions filled in Boston, as well as preparations of the joint ing of tafasitamab by mid 2020 following regulatory approval, MorphoSys and Incyte team for early regulatory approval complemented by the commercial expertise and infrastructure successful of Incyte • Continuation of the phase 1b study with tafasitamab initiated • Recruitment for firstMIND completed ahead of schedule in December 2019 in first-line DLBCL (firstMIND) • Continuation of the pivotal phase 3 study evaluating tafasitamab • Continuation of B-MIND study: recruitment in order to in combination with bendamustine in comparison to rituximab increase number of patients to 450 was progressing well and bendamustine in r/r DLBCL (B-MIND trial) and the increase in number of patients to 450 patients • Continuation of the phase 2 COSMOS study of tafasitamab • Continuation of COSMOS study: treatment and follow up of in CLL/SLL in combination with idelalisib or venetoclax patients ongoing • Expansion of tafasitamab’s clinical development beyond • Preparations to expand clinical development of tafasitamab DLBCL under the collaboration and licensing agreement beyond DLBCL in additional indications, such as relapsed or signed with Incyte in January 2020. This will include other refractory follicular lymphoma (r/r FL) and marginal zone indications as well as various investigator-initiated studies lymphoma (r/r MZL) further advanced to enable study initia-already scheduled tion in 2021; several investigator-initiated studies initiated or in planning; collaboration agreement reached with Xencor to study tafasitamab in combination with lenalidomide and plamotamab Felzartamab (MOR202) Felzartamab (MOR202) • Continuation of clinical development of felzartamab • Continuation of M-PLACE study in membranous nephropathy (MOR202) in autoimmune kidney disease and, potentially, in after the interruption due to COVID 19; first patient dosed in other autoimmune indications the U.S. in late July 2020

Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations Group Management Report Statements 85 Financial 2020 Targets 2020 Results Proprietary Otilimab/GSK Otilimab/GSK Development • Continuation of clinical development in rheumatoid arthritis • Continued execution of phase 3 clinical program in rheumatoid by partner GSK arthritis by GSK • Initiation of OSCAR clinical trial in Q2 to evaluate safety and efficacy of otilimab in patients suffering from severe pulmonary COVID 19-associated disease MOR106 MOR106 • Review of the further strategy for MOR106 together with • Termination of development and commercialization agree-Galapagos and Novartis ment by Novartis; completion of ongoing activities related to terminated studies jointly with Galapagos and Novartis MOR107 MOR107 • Continuation of preclinical evaluation of MOR107 with focus • Event-related impairment test of lanthipeptide MOR107 (LP 2 3) on oncology indications (MOR107 is a lanthipeptide being at the end of the second quarter; full impairment and discon-developed by Lanthio Pharma B.V.) tinuation of the program • MorphoSys decided in November 2020 to sell its shares in Lan- thio Pharma B.V. to Lanthio Participatie B.V., a newly formed company established by the current Managing Director of Lanthio Pharma B.V. Continuation and/or initiation of development programs in the • MOR210: FDA approval of IND application for MOR210/TJ210 for field of antibody identification and preclinical development the treatment of patients with relapsed or refractory advanced solid tumors in September • Vivoryon’s QPCTL* inhibitors: based on the comprehensive analysis of data from preclinical validation studies, MorphoSys decided in April not to exercise the exclusive license option granted for Vivoryon’s small molecule QPCTL* inhibitors in the field of oncology • Continuation of programs in early-stage drug discovery Partnered Progress in development programs with partners Guselkumab (Tremfya; Partner: Janssen): Discovery • FDA approval in July for the treatment of adult patients suffering from active psoriatic arthritis (PsA) • A positive CHMP recommendation in October for the treatment of active psoriatic arthritis (PsA) in the European Union (EU) • European Commission’s approval received in December for the treatment of adult patients with active psoriatic arthritis (PsA) Partner Novartis: • 15th antibody from the collaboration started clinical develop- ment in June • Start of phase 2 clinical trial in September for NOV 14 (CSJ117) in patients with severe uncontrolled asthma and NOV 8 (CMK389) clinical trial in patients with chronic pulmonary sarcoidosis • Start of clinical development in November of a further antibody under the collaboration *see glossary – page 216

Group Management Report Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations 86 The Management Board’s General Assessment of Business Performance The 2020 financial year was a special one for MorphoSys and its In November 2020, we entered into a clinical collaboration agree-employees. MorphoSys emerged from this eventful and dynamic ment with Incyte and Xencor to evaluate the combination of tafa-financial year even stronger, despite all the limitations. While sitamab, plamotamab and lenalidomide in patients with relapsed the pandemic constituted a major challenge to the Company or refractory diï¬€use large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL), first-line and its operations, as well as to the employees and their private DLBCL and relapsed or refractory follicular lymphoma (FL). lives, we were able to successfully overcome these together. In the 2020 financial year, revenues grew to € 327.7 million In our operating business, we paved the way to decisively ad- and EBIT to € 27.4 million. Revenues consisted primarily of vance our transformation. In January 2020, for example, we € 255.8 million in revenues from the collaboration and license successfully concluded negotiations with the U.S. company agreement with Incyte. In addition, revenues of Tremfya in-Incyte on a far-reaching collaboration and license agreement creased in 2020, resulting in higher royalty payments com-and signed a partnership with Incyte for the further develop- pared to the previous year. The year-on-year increase in EBIT ment of the proprietary CD19 antibody tafasitamab. The collab- resulted from higher revenues offset by expenses for the devel-oration with Incyte on the commercialization side is of strategic opment and commercialization of tafasitamab. Cash provided importance. by operating activities amounted to € 35.3 million, mainly as a result of the consolidated net profit. Our cash and cash equiva-This transaction was also an important step for the rapid, joint lents of € 1,244.0 million are a confirmation of the strength of preparation for the co-commercialization of tafasitamab in the the Company’s financial resources. U.S. In July 2020, the FDA granted accelerated approval for Monjuvi in combination with lenalidomide in the treatment of In addition, significant progress was made in the other clinical adults with relapsed or refractory diï¬€use large B-cell lymphoma development programs during the financial year: (DLBCL) who are ineligible for autologous stem cell transplantation. Monjuvi has been the first and, so far, only FDA approval Research and development continued on the CD38 antibody fel-of a second-line therapy for adult patients. zartamab (MOR202), which is a proprietary development based on our HuCAL antibody technology. Felzartamab (MOR202) could We are very proud of this approval and of the speed of Monjuvi’s be used against autoimmune diseases, among other indications. roll-out in the market. Monjuvi was immediately launched in First data from the phase 1/2 M-PLACE (proof-of-concept) study the U.S. for treating this type of blood cancer and supplied to in membranous nephropathy (aMN*) are expected in H1 2021. specialized distributors. In the first week following approval, the *see glossary – page 216 first order was shipped and, in the second week, the first patient was treated. Monjuvi product sales totaled US$ 22 million since In April 2020, the first patient in mainland China was dosed with launch in mid-August 2020. felzartamab (MOR202/TJ202) in an ongoing phase 3 clinical trial conducted by our partner I-Mab. This trial is evaluating As the year progressed, we achieved further milestones with the human CD38 antibody felzartamab (MOR202/TJ202) in tafasitamab: In May 2020, the marketing authorization applica- combination with lenalidomide in patients with relapsed or tion for tafasitamab in combination with lenalidomide for the refractory multiple myeloma. treatment of adult patients with relapsed or refractory diï¬€use large B-cell lymphoma was validated by the EMA, allowing the assessment process to formally begin. Several clinical trials were continued to establish tafasitamab as a standard therapy for DLBCL and develop it for other indications.

Analysis of Net Assets, Financial Position and Results of Operations Group Management Report Statements 87 Financial In July 2020, the FDA approved Tremfya for the treatment of At the end of 2020, two products deriving from MorphoSys’ pipe-adult patients with active psoriatic arthritis (PsA), followed by line were on the market, 28 compounds were in clinical devel-a corresponding approval from the European Commission in opment. The pipeline comprised a total of 116 drug candidates. December 2020. Tremfya was developed by Janssen using MorphoSys’ antibody technology HuCAL and approved in 2017 for the treatment of psoriasis. MorphoSys receives royalties for its contribution to the development of Tremfya. In September 2020, we and our partner I-Mab announced the approval of the Investigational New Drug (IND) application for the MOR210/TJ210 antibody by the FDA. The phase 1 clinical trial investigating safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics started dosing the first patient in January 2021. MorphoSys placed convertible bonds in the amount of € 325 mil-lion with institutional investors in October. The proceeds will be used for general corporate purposes, including proprietary development programs, in-licensing and/or M&A transactions. An exclusive license agreement was signed in November 2020 with Cherry Biolabs (based in Germany) to use Hemibody technology for up to six targets. Hemibody technology is expected to enable us to develop novel drugs for eï¬€ector T-cell recruitment with higher precision and an improved tolerability profile in cancer patients as part of the CyCAT platform. For almost the entire 2020 financial year, MorphoSys dealt with a novel and unpredictable situation: the COVID 19 pandemic. Maneuvering this situation required prudent planning, which was continuously adapted to sometimes rapidly changing conditions. MorphoSys’ top priority is the well-being and safety of its employees, partners in healthcare and patients. Thanks to the measures and eï¬€orts implemented, the impact of the pandemic on our employees and operations became manageable. The Company was able to avoid drastic restrictions in clinical trials, for example, with regard to patient recruitment and monitoring. Enrollment in all ongoing tafasitamab studies continued as planned, as did the enrollment for the M-PLACE study with fel-zartamab (MOR202), after an interruption. Sales and medical team members used a combination of digital and face-to-face communication to perform their duties without severe limitations. In-house research was also only slightly aï¬€ected by COVID 19. MorphoSys was able to prove that it can manage a decidedly demanding and large program very well, even under the challenging conditions of the 2020 financial year.

Group Management Report Outlook and Forecast 88 Outlook and Forecast MorphoSys’ business model focuses on the development of in- • Investment in proprietary technology development as well as novative drug candidates using proprietary technologies such complementing and combining it with new technologies with as the HuCAL or the Ylanthia antibody library. The Company the goal of maintaining or expanding MorphoSys’ leading develops drug candidates both in-house and in collaboration position in the field of therapeutic antibodies and related with partners. The aim is to offer better treatment options to se- technologies riously ill patients. The Company’s own development activities • Exploration of new strategic collaborations aimed at gaining are mainly focused on compounds for the treatment of cancer access to innovative targets and compounds and autoimmune diseases, which are to be brought to market • Continued careful monitoring of COVID-19 pandemic and, and commercialized. if necessary, adjustment through appropriate measures necessary General Statement on Expected The expected developments or development progress of the Development pipeline are presented in detail below under “Future research and development”. MorphoSys has defined three strategic value drivers: • Revenues from the commercialization of proprietary products, Strategic Outlook such as Monjuvi • Milestone payments and royalties from the commercialization MorphoSys invests a significant portion of its financial resources and clinical development of products and product candidates in its own research and development and in its own commercial-by partners, e.g. the royalty payments from sales of Tremfya, ization structures. The focus of the Company’s entrepreneurial which is developed and commercialized by partner Janssen activities is on cancer and autoimmune diseases. The strategy • Further development of proprietary products and the use of is increasingly geared towards developing projects in-house in-licensed technology platforms to generate new pipeline into the late phases of clinical research and, if necessary, taking candidates and fully exploit the broad potential them through to commercialization. The Management Board believes that this is the best way to increase the value of the The combination of the three pillars is central to MorphoSys’ Company in the long term. transformation into a fully integrated biopharmaceutical company, which is expected to continuously contribute to attractive The strategic goal of the Management Board is to put the Group’s value creation for its shareholders. revenues on a broad basis. Revenues from own research successes, goal-oriented partnerships, and leveraging the full The Management Board expects the following developments potential of the Company’s own antibody libraries should conin 2021: tribute to this. The aim of linking the three pillars – commer- • Expansion of Monjuvi revenues in the U.S. for the full financial cialization, partnerships and technology platforms – is to achieve year, with commercialization driven by its own capabilities the broadest possible pipeline of internal and external active and strategic presence and supported by the expertise and substances or product candidates. structures of partner Incyte • Further clinical development of proprietary product candidates The first of these three pillars is the generation of direct reve-tafasitamab and felzartamab (MOR202) nues from the commercialization of internally developed prod- • Further expansion of the proprietary pipeline through own ucts. Of central importance for MorphoSys is the value creation development activities as well as potential in-licensing, cor- from tafasitamab. Following the approval and launch of Monjuvi porate acquisitions or development collaborations in the U.S. in 2020, approval procedures are also underway for • Investment of funds from successful clinical developments of Europe and other regions such as Switzerland and Canada. our partners as well as their product sales into the develop- There, tafasitamab would be marketed by Incyte and MorphoSys ment of our own programs is entitled to royalties.

Outlook and Forecast Group Management Report Statements 89 Financial The Management Board is convinced that tafasitamab could oï¬€er MorphoSys AG has implemented a business continuity plan to tremendous future potential, for example as a first-line therapy largely prevent the collapse of critical business processes and in DLBCL as well as in other indications. Tafasitamab is antici- ensure their resumption in the case of a natural disaster, public pated to become a key component in the treatment of DLBCL and health emergency such as the novel coronavirus, or other serious in other therapies. MorphoSys and Incyte have also identified events. However, depending on the severity of the situation, it significant unmet medical need and commercial opportunities may be difficult or, in some cases, impossible to avoid an inter-for tafasitamab in non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma outside DLBCL. ruption in our business for a significant period of time. Our With felzartamab (MOR202), MorphoSys has another propri- contingency plans for disaster recovery and business continu-etary development candidate in autoimmune diseases. ity may prove inadequate in the event of a serious disaster or similar event, and we may incur substantial costs that could Successful partnerships are a second driver of value generation have a material adverse eï¬€ect on our business. in that milestone payments and royalties (in the event of market approval) provide a continuous revenue stream. One example is Tremfya, which was developed by our partner Janssen to market Expected Development of the approval. Partnered programs such as otilimab with GSK, felz- Life Sciences Sector artamab (MOR202) in multiple myeloma with I-Mab or gan-tenerumab with Roche are the next candidates that could reach market maturity. In early December 2020, at the end of an unprecedented year, BioCentury (“2021 Predictions: a BioCentury survey” Decem-As a third pillar, the technology platforms and antibody libraries ber 18, 2020) surveyed a group of 18 biopharma C-suite execu-will continue to deliver their added value as they have in the tives, pharma R&D heads and investors based in the U.S., Eu-past. These are anticipated to further expand the research pipe- rope and China. Two findings stood out: an overwhelming lines and open up future growth opportunities for MorphoSys. confidence that mRNA technology would take oï¬€, and a strong Examples include the established proprietary platforms HuCAL, expectation for more consolidation among the mega-cap bio-Ylanthia and Slonomics, as well as the innovative technologies pharmaceutical companies. If the Group’s predictions hold true, OkapY and CyCAT. the IPO boom in 2020 could continue in 2021, and some new targets and technologies could show clinical proof of concept. To be successful in all three business areas, continuous investments in the Company’s further development is not only At the end of 2020, an editorial was published by BioCentury sensible, but essential. (“Innovations forged in the COVID crucible will reshape medicine,” December 31, 2020), which reviewed the paradigm shifts brought about by the 2020 COVID 19 pandemic, noting that an Expected Economic Development entire decade’s worth of changes had been compressed into a ten-month period. In order to realize the full potential of these In its January 2021 report, the International Monetary Fund advances, however, the author cautioned that smart government (IMF) projected global economic growth of 5.5 % in 2021, com- strategies, including government investment and regulation, pared to a forecast of –3.5 % for the year 2020. This forecast is will be necessary. Investments in healthcare will need to in-made with exceptional uncertainty: While recent vaccine ap- crease as well as the competence of government institutions provals have raised hopes of a turnaround in the pandemic later and the trust placed in them. The article also noted that bio-this year, renewed waves and new variants of the virus are of pharmaceutical companies, regulators, academic researchers, concern. On the positive side, in addition to the vaccines, there funders and payers as a whole must be willing to change the is an expectation of additional policy support in a few large way they work in order to incorporate some of the collaborative economies. Growth in advanced economies is anticipated to ways of working demonstrated in the pandemic into their rou-reach 4.3 % in 2021, compared to the forecast of –4.9 % for 2020. tine operations. The IMF expects growth in the euro area to 4.2 % in 2021 compared to –7.2 % forecast for 2020. Growth in Germany is anticipated to rise to 3.5 % in 2021 (2020: –5.4%), and the IMF projection for U.S. economic growth in 2021 is 5.1% (2020: –3.4%). The IMF’s 2021 growth forecast for the emerging and developing countries is 6.3% (2020: –2.4%), and growth in China in the coming year is projected at 8.1% (2020: 2.3%). Russia’s economy is anticipated to grow 3.0% (2020: –3.6%). Brazil is expected to experience positive growth, projected at 3.6 % for 2021 (2020: –4.5%).

Group Management Report Outlook and Forecast 90 The high level of innovation in the biotechnology sector is re- The following events and development activities are planned in flected in the number of new FDA product approvals in 2020. the year 2021: Despite the challenges posed by the COVID 19 crisis, 53 new • Continue the phase 1b trial of tafasitamab in previously uncompounds were approved in comparison to 48 in 2019, and a treated DLBCL (firstMIND) record of 59 in 2018. This figure does not include approvals • Initiate a pivotal phase 3 trial of tafasitamab in previously from the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER). untreated DLBCL (frontMIND) The European Medicines Agency (EMA) recommended the ap- • Initiate a pivotal phase 3 trial (inMIND) of tafasitamab in proval of 39 new active ingredients in 2020, up from 30 in the patients with indolent lymphoma (r/r FL/MZL) prior year. • Investigate tafasitamab, plamotamab and lenalidomide in patients with relapsed or refractory diï¬€use large B-cell lym-According to the report by PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) enti- phoma (DLBCL), first-line DLBCL and relapsed or refractory tled “Pharma & Life Sciences Deals Insights: 2021 Outlook”, follicular lymphoma (r/r FL) jointly with Incyte and Xencor there is optimism that 2021 will see a return to normalcy in the • Continue the L-MIND study of tafasitamab and evaluate the pharmaceutical and healthcare sector. Deal activity in 2021 is long-term efficacy and safety data projected to reach between US$ 250 – 275 billion for the year. • Continue the pivotal phase 3 trial (B-MIND) of tafasitamab in The total value of deals in 2020 was US$ 184.2 billion, 48.6 % combination with bendamustine for r/r DLBCL lower in comparison to the prior year. In 2021, innovation and • Continue the phase 2 COSMOS study with tafasitamab in the necessary economies of scale are the factors expected to CLL/SLL in combination with idelalisib and venetoclax drive activity as a result of the headwinds from the pandemic • Support Incyte in its initiated regulatory submissions to the as well as uncertainty surrounding the regulatory and tax en- EMA, Swissmedic and Health Canada for tafasitamab in com-vironment and drug pricing policies. Deal activity is expected bination with lenalidomide for r/r DLBCL across all subsectors and transaction sizes, with large pharma • Also support Incyte in submitting marketing authorization companies looking to continue to grow through M&A as compa- applications in other markets nies look to make long-term investments in key therapeutic • Generate data from the phase 1/2 M-PLACE (proof-of-con-categories such as oncology and cell and gene therapy. cept) study of felzartamab (MOR202) for the treatment of anti-PLA2R-positive membranous nephropathy • Continue dose schedule finding study (New-PLACE) in mem- Future Research and Development branous nephropathy and Expected Business Performance • Support partner I-Mab in the regulatory filing (BLA) for felz-artamab (MOR202/TJ202) for multiple myeloma in China • Continue and/or initiate development programs for antibody MorphoSys’ investments in research and development will con- identification and preclinical development tinue, with the majority to be directed towards developing the Company’s proprietary drug candidates tafasitamab and felz- We also expect the following events to occur in 2021 for pro-artamab (MOR202), and new drug discovery. Most of these funds grams that are driven by partners and where we benefit in the will be used in the broad clinical development of tafasitamab in form of royalties and milestone payments if successful: the short- to medium-term, while further investments is planned • Publication of preliminary results of the OSCAR study using for target identification, related antibody development and tech- otilimab for the treatment of severe pulmonary COVID 19 nology development. related disease by partner GSK in February 2021 • As the clinical development of drug candidates progresses, Planned investments in proprietary drug candidates and tech- we expect individual product candidates in the partnered nologies are expected to continue to lead to progressive maturity pipeline to continue to mature. Whether, when and to what of product candidates in the pipeline. extent any news will be published after the primary completion of the studies is solely at the discretion of our partners

Outlook and Forecast Group Management Report Statements 91 Financial Expected Development of the At the end of the 2020 financial year, MorphoSys had cash and Financial Position and Liquidity investments of € 1,244.0 million (December 31, 2019: € 357.4 mil-lion). MorphoSys possesses sufficient liquidity to fund the development of its proprietary portfolio, execute the Monjuvi ongoing MorphoSys has transformed from a research and technology launch and be opportunistic about the in-licensing of technolo-platform focused business into a commercial biopharmaceuti- gies and compounds, as well as partnerships with promising cal company, with its first product launched in 2020. As our companies. business model has changed, we will adapt our guidance parameters and guide total revenues, operating expenses as well as research and development expenses going forward. These Dividend parameters place the right emphasis on the Company’s main drivers: Sustainable revenue growth from product sales and In the separate financial statements of MorphoSys AG, prepared royalties as well as continued investment to expand our pipe- in accordance with German Generally Accepted Accounting line and support the ongoing launch of Monjuvi. Principles (German Commercial Code), the Company is reporting an accumulated deficit, which prevents it from distributing For the 2021 financial year, the Management Board is project- a dividend for the 2020 financial year. In view of the anticipated ing Group revenues of € 150 million to € 200 million. This fore- losses in 2021, the Company expects to continue to report an cast includes the recently announced € 16 million milestone accumulated loss for the 2021 financial year. MorphoSys plans payments from GSK, but excludes other potential significant to invest further in the development of proprietary drugs and to milestones from development partners and/or licensing partner- pursue new in-licensing agreements and acquisitions to open up ships. This revenue guidance is subject to a number of uncer- new growth opportunities and increase the Company’s value. tainties including the potential for variability from the first full Based on these plans, the Company does not expect to pay a year of the Monjuvi product launch, the limited visibility that dividend in the foreseeable future. MorphoSys has on the Tremfya royalty stream as well as the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and the impact on our as well as This outlook takes into account all known factors at the time of our partner’s business operations. preparing this report and is based on the Management Board’s assumptions of events that could influence the Company in 2021 operating expenses, inclusive of Incyte’s share of Monjuvi 2021 and beyond. Future results may differ from the expecta-selling costs, are expected to be in the range of € 355 million to tions described in the section entitled “Outlook and Forecast.” € 385 million, with R&D representing 45 50 % of the total. The The most significant risks are described in the risk report. R&D expenses represent our continued investment in the development of tafasitamab, felzartamab (MOR202), early-stage devel-opment programs, and further development of our technologies. The overall guidance is subject to a number of uncertainties including, but not limited to the ongoing COVID 19 pandemic and its impact on MorphoSys’ business operations. In the years ahead, events such as the in-licensing and out-licensing of development candidates and significant milestone payments and royalties from the market maturity of HuCAL and Ylanthia antibodies could have an impact on the Company’s net assets and financial position. Such events could cause financial targets to change significantly. Similarly, failures in drug devel-opment could have negative consequences for the MorphoSys Group. Negative effects from a further pandemic similar to COVID 19 or from COVID 19 variants are also possible or cannot be excluded. Revenue growth in the near- to medium-term will depend on the Company’s ability to successfully commercialize Monjuvi.

Group Management Report Risk and Opportunity Report 92 Risk and Opportunity Report We operate in an industry characterized by constant change and assessment periods of 12 months and three years to include the innovation. The challenges and opportunities in the healthcare risk related to our proprietary development that has a longer sector are influenced by a wide variety of factors. Global demo- duration. Additionally, there is a long-term strategic risk as-graphic changes, medical advances, and the desire to improve sessment that spans more than three years (qualitative assess-the quality of life provide excellent growth opportunities for ment). An overview of the current risk assessment can be found the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries; however, in Tables 09* and 10*. companies must also grapple with growing regulatory require- *cross-reference to page 100 and page 101 ments in drug development and cost pressure on the healthcare systems. Risk managers enter their risks into an IT platform that makes monitoring, analyzing and documenting risks much easier. The We make a great eï¬€ort to systematically identify new opportu- risk management system distinguishes risk owners from risk nities and leverage our business success to generate a lasting managers. For risks in relation to clinical development, the risk increase in enterprise value. Entrepreneurial success, however, owner is the responsible business team head for the respective is not achievable without conscious risk-taking. Through our clinical program. For non-clinical risks, the risk owner is the worldwide operations, we are confronted with a number of risks responsible department head. Employees from the respective that could aï¬€ect our business performance. Our risk manage- area of the risk owners are designated as risk managers if the ment system identifies these risks and evaluates them and takes risks included in the risk management system fall within their suitable action to avert risk and reach our corporate objectives. A area of responsibility. Risk owners and risk managers are re-periodic strategy review ensures that there is a balance between quired to update their risks and assessments at half-yearly risk and opportunity. We assume risk only when it involves an intervals. This process is coordinated and led by the Group opportunity to increase the Company’s value. Controlling & Risk Management Department, which is also responsible for monitoring the evaluation process and summarizing the key information. The information is presented Risk Management System regularly to the Management Board, who presents the results to the Supervisory Board twice a year. The entire evaluation The risk management system is an essential element of our process is based on standardized evaluation forms. Risk man-corporate governance and ensures adherence to good corpo- agement and monitoring activities are carried out by the relevant rate governance principles and compliance with regulatory managers. The changes in the risk profile resulting from these requirements. activities are recorded at regular intervals. It is also possible to report important risks on an ad hoc basis should they occur We have a comprehensive system in place to identify, assess, outside of the regular intervals. The risk and opportunity man-communicate and deal with risk. Our risk management system agement system combines a bottom-up approach for recognizing identifies risks as early as possible and details the actions we both short- and medium-term risks with a top-down approach can take to limit operating losses and avoid risks that could that systematically identifies long-term global risks and oppor-jeopardize our Company. All actions to minimize risk are as- tunities. As part of the top-down approach, workshops are held signed to risk oï¬ƒcers, who are also members of our Senior twice per year with selected members of the Senior Manage-Management Group. ment Group. These workshops assess and discuss the long-term risks and opportunities, including those exceeding a period of All of our material risks in the various business segments are three years, in diï¬€erent areas of the Company. The evaluation assessed using a systematic risk process that is carried out process is solely qualitative. The risks are listed in Table 10*. twice a year. Risks are evaluated by comparing their financial *cross-reference to page 101 impact with their probability of occurrence and without initiating a risk mitigation process. This method is applied over

Risk and Opportunity Report Group Management Report Statements 93 Financial Principles of Risk and Opportunity Risks According to the Risk Management ManagementSystem We continually encounter both risks and opportunities that Risk Categories could have a potential material impact on our net assets and fi- Within the scope of our risk assessment, we assign risks to six nancial position, as well as a direct eï¬€ect on intangible assets, categories, which are described below. The assessment of the such as our image in the sector or our brand name. relevance of the risks is not distinguished according to cate-gories but according to impact and probability of occurrence. We define risk as an internal or external event that has a direct Consequently, Table 09*, which lists our greatest risks, does impact. In handling risk, we include an assessment of the poten- not necessarily include risks from all six categories. tial financial impact on our goals. There is a direct relationship *cross-reference to page 100 between opportunity and risk. Seizing opportunities has a positive influence on our goals, whereas the emergence of risk has Financial Risk a negative influence. Our financial risk management seeks to limit financial risk and reconciles this risk with the requirements of our business. Responsibilities under the Risk and Financial risk can arise in connection with licensing agree-Opportunity Management System ments, for example when the out-licensing or commercialization of products does not materialize, is delayed, or is realized at terms and conditions other than initially expected. Risk also Our Management Board is responsible for the risk and opportu- arises when revenues do not reach their projected level or when nity management system and ensures that all risks and opportu- costs are higher than planned due to higher resource require-nities are evaluated, monitored and presented in their entirety. ments. Detailed project preparations, such as those made through in-depth exchanges with internal and external partners The Group Controlling & Risk Management Department coordi- and consultants, ensure the optimal starting point early in the nates the risk management process and reports regularly to the process and are important for minimizing risk. The financial Management Board. The Supervisory Board has appointed the risk relating to tafasitamab was minimized at the beginning of Audit Committee to monitor the effectiveness of our risk man- 2020 through the partnership with Incyte and in mid 2020 agement system. The Audit Committee periodically reports its with tafasitamab’s approval in the United States by the U.S. findings to the entire Supervisory Board, which is also directly FDA. Nevertheless, there continues to be a risk that tafasitam-informed by the Management Board twice a year. ab’s approval in other countries may not be granted, may be ›› see figure 09 – Risk and Opportunity Management System delayed, or may require further studies. There is also a risk that at MorphoSys (page 94) the FDA could revoke its approval in certain circumstances, that revenues and royalties may be delayed or lower than expected, and that investments in further clinical studies may not Accounting-Related Internal achieve the desired success (such as further approvals in other Control System patient segments or indications) and that long-term product supply commitments to our contract manufacturers may have to be made before the success of tafasitamab can be more accu-To ensure accurate bookkeeping and accounting and maintain rately predicted. With regard to felzartamab (MOR202), we con-reliable financial reporting in the consolidated financial state- tinue to bear the full financial risk related to the development ments and group management report, we use internal controls and subsequent commercialization outside China, Hong Kong, through our financial reporting, which we have expanded Macao and Taiwan (partnered with I-Mab). The commitments to pursuant to the SOX* regulations (Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, manufacturers for this product are also progressively increas-Section 404), in addition to Group-wide reporting guidelines ing. Whether a further partnership will be pursued alongside and other measures, such as employee training and ongoing I-Mab for felzartamab (MOR202) will be decided at a later date professional education. This essential component of Group ac- after carefully weighing the risks and opportunities of doing so. counting consists of preventative, monitoring and detection For partnered programs, such as MOR210, there are some cases measures intended to ensure adequate security and control in in which we retain some risk related to clinical development. accounting and operating functions. Detailed information about For programs, such as those that are in-licensed or purchased, the internal control system for financial reporting can be found there is a risk that the benefits may not materialize as antici-in the Corporate Governance Report. pated after costs have been incurred. Detailed analyses of the *see glossary – page 216 programs under consideration are conducted together with our

Group Management Report Risk and Opportunity Report 94 Figure 09   Risk and Opportunity Management System at MorphoSys Corporate Governance Management Supervisory Board / Board Executive Committee Risk and Internal Compliance Internal Opportunity Control Management Audit Management System Discussion Defi ne Forum Objectives Technology Business Scouting Development Assess Risk Innovation Capital Implement Measures Monitor System

Risk and Opportunity Report Group Management Report Statements 95 Financial internal consultants and, if necessary, external consultants, The termination of a clinical trial prior to receiving marketing which ensures that we have made a thorough assessment, authorization from the authorities or before out-licensing to which minimizes risk. partners – which does not necessarily imply the failure of an entire program – can occur when the trial does not produce the Continuing economic difficulties in Europe indicate that poten- expected results, shows unexpected adverse side effects or the tial bank insolvencies still pose a financial risk. This is the rea- data were compiled incorrectly. Clinical trial design and drafts of son we continue to invest only in those funds and bank instru- development plans are always completed with the utmost care. ments that are deemed safe – to the extent this is possible and This gives the trials the best opportunity to show relevant data foreseeable – and that have a high rating and/or are secured by in clinical testing and persuade regulatory agencies and possible a strong partner. We limit our dependence on individual finan- partners of the potential of the drug candidate. External experts cial institutions by diversifying and/or investing in lower-risk also contribute to our existing internal know-how. Special steer-money market funds. However, a strategy that eliminates all risk ing committees and panels are formed to monitor the progress of potential bank insolvency would be too costly and impractical. of clinical programs. German government bonds, for example, are a very secure form of investment but currently trade with negative interest rates. Any changes with respect to clinical trials, such as the trial’s A further risk is the receipt of adequate interest on financial design or the ability to recruit patients quickly, as well as any investments, particularly in light of today’s negative key inter- emerging alternative therapies, may lead to a delay in develop-est rates. It is currently very difficult for us to invest within the ment and, as a result, have a negative impact on the trial’s eco-scope of our company policies and still avoid negative interest nomic feasibility and economic potential. rates. We invest, when possible, in instruments that yield positive interest rates. There is no guarantee, however, that secure Our business may be adversely affected by the ongoing COVID 19 positive interest-bearing investments will always be available. pandemic. As a result of the pandemic, we are experiencing disruptions in our operations and business, and those of third In the Partnered Discovery segment, there is a financial risk parties upon whom we rely. For instance, we are experiencing associated with royalties on Tremfya product sales. Revenues disruptions in the conduct of our clinical trials, manufacturing generated by our partner Janssen from the drug approved in and commercialization eï¬€orts. We expect to continue experienc-2017 are diï¬ƒcult to predict and may lead to deviations from the ing these disruptions in our operations for an unknown period budgeted revenue. of time, as the trajectory of the COVID 19 pandemic remains uncertain. The measure taken to cope with the COVID 19 pan-We plan to continue to invest a significant portion of our funds demic are presented in the business activities described in in the development of our product candidates. This includes chapter “Infuencial factors”; we do not see any increased risk identifying target molecules and drug candidates, conducting due to the pandemic. preclinical and clinical studies, producing clinical material, supporting partners and co-developing programs. Our current There is also a risk associated with proprietary programs should financial resources and projected revenues are expected to be a partnership fail or be delayed. suï¬ƒcient to meet our current and short-term capital needs. This does not guarantee, however, that suï¬ƒcient funds will be For tafasitamab, the partnership with Incyte represents both available over the long term at all times. an opportunity as well as a possible risk due to the complexity inherent in co-development, manufacturing and commercial-Operational Risk ization. This risk is minimized by managing the alliance in a Operational risk includes risks related to the exploration, devel- targeted manner and relying on joint steering committees. The opment and commercialization of proprietary drug candidates. risk related to the manufacturing process is minimized by counteracting possible material surpluses through contractually agreed flexibility with suppliers. Furthermore, the long shelf life of tafasitamab oï¬€ers additional options for responding to changing market requirements.

Group Management Report Risk and Opportunity Report 96 Programs in the drug discovery phase pose a risk, as they may Risks due to product shortages or vulnerabilities within the be delayed or terminated for various scientific reasons due to the procurement of materials are reduced by integrating additional exploratory nature of early-stage research. Great care is taken suppliers as an additional or back-up source. An additional flex-to ensure constant scientific monitoring and optimal project ibility of the product allocation between the diï¬€erent distribu-management to ensure the quality and timing of the programs tion channels enables the avoidance of short-term product and support the renewal of our pipeline. shortages. Strategic Risk External Risk Access to suï¬ƒcient financing options also represents a strategic We face external risk in areas such as intellectual property. The risk for the Company. Following our decision to develop a large patent protection of our proprietary technologies and compounds portion of our proprietary portfolio internally, our key focus is is especially important. To minimize risks in this area, we now on financing research and development and organizing monitor new patents and patent applications and analyze the the commercial activities of MorphoSys Inc. for the marketing corresponding results. We also develop strategies to ensure of Monjuvi in the U.S. Risks in this context may arise as a result that the patents and patent applications of third parties do not of our cost estimates, current losses, future revenues, capital restrict our own activities. We strive to maintain as much flex-requirements and/or our ability to raise additional financing. ibility as possible for our proprietary technology platforms and We have established an extensive budgeting process to miti- products. Risks in this context arise from the possibility of pat-gate such risks. We also have various departments and external ents or patent applications from third parties not being recog-consultants working to ensure the smooth execution of capital nized or being assessed incorrectly. External risk can also market transactions, if necessary. The potential lack of ability emerge through the enforcement of our intellectual property to successfully commercialize Monjuvi in the U.S., to success- rights vis-à-vis third parties. The accompanying processes may fully develop felzartamab (MOR202) in autoimmune diseases, be associated with high costs and require considerable re-to advance further drug candidates from our in-house research sources. There is also a risk that third parties may file counter-department into clinical development, to further develop our claims. External risks may also arise as a result of changes in therapeutic technology platform, to identify, in-license or acquire the legal framework. This risk is minimized through continued and successfully develop new products, and to enter into fur- training of the relevant staï¬€ and discussions with external ex-ther partnerships, if any, constitutes a certain strategic risk. perts. It is also conceivable that competitors may challenge our patents or infringe on our patents or patent families, which in A further strategic risk is the danger that a development pro- turn could cause us to take legal action against our competitors. gram introduced into a partnership may fail. Partnerships can Such procedures are costly and represent a significant financial be terminated prematurely, forcing us to search for new devel- risk, particularly when they take place in the U.S. opment partners or bear the substantial cost of further development alone. This may result in a delay or even the termination As a fully integrated biopharmaceutical company with numer-of the development of individual candidates and could lead to ous partnerships and internal research and development for additional costs or a potential long-term loss of revenue due to developing drug candidates, we are subject to a number of delayed market entry. regulatory and legal risks. These risks include those related to patents, potential liability claims from existing partnerships, There is also a strategic risk that preliminary data from clinical environmental protection and competition, tax and antitrust trials could lead to a trial’s termination or a change in the trial’s laws. The Regulatory Affairs department is also affected by this design. In addition, regulatory authorities may decide not to risk in terms of the feedback it receives from regulators on study accept our proposed clinical development strategy or our appli- design or by price controls or restrictions on patient access. cation based on the data. Authorities could also refuse to grant Future legal proceedings are conceivable and cannot be antici-us marketing authorization or, in certain circumstances, revoke pated. Therefore, we cannot rule out that we may incur ex-marketing authorization already granted. penses for legal or regulatory judgments or settlements that are not or cannot be partially or fully covered by insurance and may have a significant impact on our business and results. There is significant cost containment pressure in European and U.S. markets, and payers have implemented measures that can lead to restrictions on access and lower the prices paid for our products. We expect these eï¬€orts to grow and expand over time.

Risk and Opportunity Report Group Management Report Statements 97 Financial In the area of Proprietary Development for tafasitamab, we face Gxp-Relevant Risk an intense competitive environment with currently used thera- GxP-relevant risk can arise, for example, from several business pies as well as not yet approved therapeutic alternatives in clin- units when quality standards are not met. To counter this risk ical research, which we are addressing through an effective we are committed to ensuring that our business operations sales and growth strategy. meet the highest quality standards, as set out in the “Separate Non-Financial Group Report.”* Lastly, MorphoSys AG has implemented a business continuity plan to prevent the collapse of critical business processes to the Specific risk can arise, for example, when the internal quality greatest extent possible and to enable the resumption of critical management system does not meet the legal requirements or business processes in the event of a natural disaster or public when there is no internal system for detecting quality problems. health emergency, such as the novel coronavirus, or other seri- If the internal controls are not able to detect violations of Good ous events. However, depending on the severity of the situation, Manufacturing Practice (GMP*), Good Clinical Practice (GCP*), it may be diï¬ƒcult or, in certain cases, impossible for us to con- Good Laboratory Practice (GLP*), Good Distribution Practice tinue our business for an extended period of time. Our contin- (GDP*) or Good Pharmacovigilance Practice (GVP*), then this gency plans for disaster recovery and business continuity may also would represent a compliance risk. To minimize risk, the prove inadequate in the event of a serious disaster or similar internal quality management system is also regularly audited event, and we may incur substantial costs that could have a by external experts and subjected to recurring audits by an material adverse eï¬€ect on our business. internal, independent quality assurance department. *see glossary – page 216 Organizational Risk Organizational risks arise, for example, when further building Compliance Risk up the marketing structure and incurring the related costs A compliance risk is that the Company fails to fully understand through our fully owned subsidiary in the U.S., MorphoSys US the operational challenges and, as a result, does not establish Inc. Based on the development and strong growth of MorphoSys a compliance management program (CMP) in accordance with US Inc., a joint interdisciplinary and global U.S. launch team regulatory requirements and industry standards. To address has been formed in order to accompany the market launch of this risk, we have implemented a risk-based compliance man-tafasitamab in the U.S. agement program that adheres to all of the latest trends and applicable requirements, including the Code of Conduct, Global And finally, organizational risk can also arise from missing or Anti-Bribery Policy, Global Policy on Interactions with Health-delayed information within the organization on patent issues. care Professionals, Healthcare Organizations, Patients and Patient Organizations, Global Policy on Fair Market Value, Compliance Global Policy on Transparency and Disclosure of Transfers of In addition to the risk assessment process at Group level, addi- Value to Healthcare Professionals, Healthcare Organizations, tional risk assessments are carried out in areas of significance Patients and Patient Organizations and corresponding U.S and for MorphoSys Group. In the area of quality management, German policies. GxP*-relevant risks are identified and monitored. In the Health-care Compliance area, the focus is on anti-bribery and anti-cor- Moreover, Global and U.S. Compliance Committees are meeting ruption as well as on key regulations accompanying commer- on a quarterly basis and make informed decisions on further cialization activities in the United States, such as Anti-Kickback CMP development. Set of trainings targeted at specific groups of Statute, False Claim Act, Open Payments Act, Food Drug and employees as well as covering all associates are being provided Cosmetic Act and others. on a regular basis. For instance, there is a field force guide developed to help the sales team translate the policies into their everyday work. Robust onboarding trainings are being provided to newcomers in both, Germany and U.S. * This information is not part of the management report that is subject to audit.

Group Management Report Risk and Opportunity Report 98 A yearly Compliance Risk Assessment is being conducted gath- Opportunity Management System ering feedback from more than 60 leaders, to rank the risks The opportunity management system is an important compo-and mitigate them. Our monitoring activities feed our training nent of our corporate management and is used to identify op-and communication priorities. In the 2020 reporting year, we portunities as early as possible and generate added value for implemented an anti-bribery due diligence process for relevant the Company. third parties for the first time, piloting it at MorphoSys AG and expanding to MorphoSys U.S. Inc. All of the above would not be Opportunity management is based on the following pillars: possible without a clear “tone from the top”: our Executive Com- • a routine discussion forum involving the Executive Committee mittee members highlight the importance of compliance at var- and selected senior managers; ious occasions, including during Compliance Week, a very en- • our business development and licensing activities; gaging event, that we held in 2020 for the first time. • preclinical and clinical “search and evaluation” groups consisting of scientists and business development representatives The Management Board’s Evaluation of the driving our pipeline complementation strategy; and Group’s Overall Risk Situation • an internal suggestion scheme and accompanying incentive Our Management Board considers our overall risk as manage- system for new scientific ideas. able and trusts in the effectiveness of the risk management system to keep up with changes in the environment and the needs Committees discuss specific opportunities and decide what ac-of the ongoing business. It is the Management Board’s view that tion should be taken to exploit these opportunities. The meetings the Group’s continued existence is not jeopardized. This assess- and their outcomes are recorded in detail, and any subsequent ment applies to the Group as a whole, as well as to each Group action is reviewed and monitored. Our business development company. The Board’s conclusion is based on the following con- team and our scientists participate in numerous conferences, siderations: identifying different opportunities that can open up new possi- • The Group’s exceptionally high liquidity base bilities and contribute to our growth. The opportunities identi- • The Management Board’s conviction that the Group is well- fied are presented in committees convened for this purpose and positioned to cope with any adverse events* that may occur assessed in an evaluation process. Using an established opportu- • The Group’s comprehensive portfolio of preclinical and clinical nity evaluation process ensures a qualitative and reproducible programs in partnerships with a number of large pharmaceu- assessment of opportunities. tical companies and a strong base of technologies to expand its proprietary portfolio Our key opportunities are described in Table 11* (qualitative *see glossary – page 216 evaluation). *cross-reference to page 101 Despite these factors, it is impossible to influence, control or rule out risk in its entirety. General Statement on Opportunities Increased life expectancy in industrialized countries and rising incomes and living standards in emerging countries are Opportunities expected to drive the demand for more innovative treatment options and advanced technologies. Scientific and medical The most sophisticated antibody discovery and protein engi- progress has led to a better understanding of the biological neering technologies, excellent know-how and a broad portfolio process of disease and paves the way for new therapeutic ap-of validated clinical programs have made us one of the world’s proaches. Innovative therapies, such as fully human antibodies, most important biotechnology companies in the field of thera- have reached market maturity in recent years and have led to peutic antibodies. Monoclonal antibodies are one of today’s most the development of commercially successful medical products. successful and best-selling therapies in cancer and in the treat- Therapeutic compounds based on proteins – also referred to as ment of immune diseases. Similar growth potential is predicted “biologics” – are less subject to generic competition than chem-for bi- and multispecific antibodies as well as for antibody con- ically produced molecules because the production of biological jugates. Due to the synergies between our established antibody compounds is far more complex. The sharp rise in both the de-identification technologies (HuCAL, Ylanthia, Slonomics) and the mand for antibodies and the interest in this class of drug candi-combination with our innovative bi- and multispecific antibody dates can be seen by the acquisitions and significant licensing approaches and formats (OkapY and CyCAT platforms), we see a agreements made over the past two to three years. tremendous opportunity to bring highly innovative and diï¬€er-entiated therapies into MorphoSys’ clinical portfolio and further expand our market position, particularly in this area.

Risk and Opportunity Report Group Management Report Statements 99 Financial Market Opportunities already been granted, Tremfya is currently being tested in We believe that our technologies oï¬€er a decisive advantage in clinical trials in a number of other indications: Crohn’s disease the development and optimization of bi- and multispecific anti- (phase 2/3 and phase 3 studies), ulcerative colitis (phase 2 and body candidates, which can lead to higher success rates and phase 2b/3 studies), pityriasis rubra pilaris and hidradenitis shorter development times in the drug discovery process. suppurativa (both phase 2 studies), and familial adenomatous Based on this and thanks to our long-standing expertise in polyposis (phase 1b study). technology and product development, as well as in the clinical development and commercialization of diï¬€erentiated therapeutic Technology Development antibodies, we foresee significant growth opportunities in the We continue to invest in new and existing technologies to main-years ahead. tain our technological leadership. An example of this is our licensing agreement with Cherry Biolabs, which grants us the Therapeutic Antibodies – right to use the innovative, multispecific Hemibody technology ProprietaryDevelopment within the scope of our CyCAT dual targeting platform. It is reasonable to assume that the pharmaceutical industry will continue and even increase the level of in-licensing of new drugs These types of technological advances could help us to increase to refill its pipelines and replace key products and blockbusters not only the speed but also the success rate of our partnered that have lost patent protection. Our most advanced compounds and proprietary drug development programs. New technology tafasitamab, felzartamab (MOR202) and otilimab, place us in a modules could also open up new disease areas where antibody- good position to capitalize on the needs of pharmaceutical com- based treatments are currently underrepresented by allowing panies, as demonstrated by our partnerships with GSK (otilimab) the generation of antibodies against novel classes of targets as and I-Mab (felzartamab (MOR202) and MOR210). well as approaches that enable completely novel mechanisms of action. We are enhancing our proprietary portfolio on an ongoing basis and will continue to expand our proprietary portfolio by adding Technology development is carried out by a team of scientists clinical trials with our key drug candidates, for example, by who focus on further developing our technologies. In addition investigating new disease areas. We intend to augment our to our internal technology development activities, we draw on portfolio with additional programs and, in doing so, take advan- external resources to further boost our technology. tage of existing and future opportunities for co-development or partnerships. We will also continue to seek new opportunities Acquisition Opportunities to in-license interesting drug candidates. We have demonstrated our ability in the past to acquire compounds, technologies and companies in order to accelerate our Therapeutic Antibodies – growth. Promising candidates are screened systematically and Partnered Discovery evaluated by various professional panels from a variety of per-By developing drugs with a number of partners, we have been spectives, including scientific-clinical, commercial, financial able to spread the inherent risks of drug development over a and regulatory perspectives. Candidates are also evaluated in broader spectrum. With over 100 individual therapeutic anti- terms of their strategic synergy. If an active ingredient, tech-bodies currently in partnered development programs, the op- nology or company meets the internal selection criteria, it is portunities for us to participating financially in the commer- submitted for evaluation to the Executive Committee, com-cialization of drugs are increasingly higher. As the first drug prising the Management Board and selected senior managers, generated on the basis of MorphoSys’ proprietary antibody at regular intervals. The evaluations are stored in databases so technology, Tremfya received marketing approval from the U.S. that the information can be managed consistently and made Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in 2017 for the treatment instantly available. of psoriasis. Tremfya is currently approved in 76 countries for the treatment of adults with moderate to severe plaque psoriasis who are eligible for systemic therapy or phototherapy, and in Brazil, Canada, Ecuador, Japan, Taiwan, the U.S. and the EU for the treatment of adult patients with active psoriatic arthritis. In Japan, Tremfya is also approved for the treatment of pustular psoriasis and erythrodermic psoriasis, as well as palmoplantar pustulosis. In addition to the indications for which approval has

Group Management Report Risk and Opportunity Report 100 Financial Opportunities Exchange rate and interest rate developments can positively or negatively aï¬€ect our financial results. Interest rate and financial market developments are continuously monitored to promptly identify and take advantage of opportunities. Table 09   Summary of MorphoSys’ Key Short- and Medium-Term Risks Risk category 1-year assessment Proprietary Development segment Research-related risk Strategic •• Moderate Patent-related risk External • Low Cross-segment Foreign currency risk Financial •• Moderate Risk related to strategic partnerships and revenue streams Financial •• Moderate Personnel-related risk Organizational •• Moderate Compliance-related risk Compliance • Low Financial-market-related risk Financial • Low Risk category 3-year assessment Proprietary Development segment Risks associated with commercial targets and supply sources External, operational •• Moderate Risks related to regulatory, compliance and approval processes Strategic, compliance •• Moderate Research-related risk Strategic • Low Cross-segment Risk of elevated development costs Financial •••• High Risks related to strategic partnerships and revenue streams Financial •• Moderate Compliance-related risk Compliance • Low Legend • Low risk: low probability of occurrence, low impact (Score* 0 to 25) •• Moderate risk: medium probability of occurrence, moderate impact (Score* 26 to 50) ••• Medium risk: medium probability of occurrence, moderate to strong impact (Score* 51 to 75) •••• High risk: high probability of occurrence, very strong impact (Score* 76 to 100) * Score: probability of occurrence x impact

Risk and Opportunity Report Group Management Report Statements 101 Financial Table 10   Summary of MorphoSys’ Key Long-Term Risks1 Segment Risk Proprietary Development Inability to maximize the potential of Monjuvi Proprietary Development Failure of proprietary felzartamab (MOR202) clinical development Partnered Discovery Inability to expand pipeline with major in-licensing or M&A Cross-segment Inability to be strategically positioned as perceived by the market Proprietary Development Failure of discovery projects 1 Long-term risks are weighted equally. Table 11   Summary of MorphoSys’ Key Opportunities1 Segment Opportunity Proprietary Development Maximize our commercial product development Potential new clinical development of our proprietary programs Proprietary Development (tafasitamab as frontline treatment in DLBCL, felzartamab (MOR202) in autoimmune diseases) Partnered Discovery Successful in-licensing and/or acquisition Proprietary Development Leverage research organization to expand pipeline Partnered Discovery Further milestones and potential royalties from partnered programs 1 Long-term risks are weighted equally.

Group Management Report Subsequent Events 102 Subsequent Events A detailed description of the subsequent events can be found in the Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements (Note 9.5) .

Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance Group Management Report Statements 103 Financial Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance The Statement on Corporate Governance and the Group State- The amount of compensation of the Management Board ment on Corporate Governance, as well as the Report on Corpo- members does not provide for a cap, neither overall nor for rate Governance, are available on our website under Media and individual compensation components (see item 4.2.3 para. 2 Investors – Corporate Governance. sentence 6 of the GCGC 2017). Against the background of already existing means of the Supervisory Board to cap variable compensation components of the Management Board Statement on Corporate Gover- members as well as the annual allocation of such variable nance pursuant to Section 289f components, the Supervisory Board considers an additional cap relating to the overall and individual compensation com- HGB and Group Statement on ponents as unnecessary. Corporate Governance pursuant to Section 315d HGB for the 2020 2. Further, MorphoSys AG has complied – with the exceptions described below – with the recommendations of the “Govern-Financial Year ment Commission on the German Corporate Governance Code” in the Code version dated December 16, 2019 (“GCGC In the Statement on Corporate Governance under Section 289f 2020”) from the date of the announcement of the GCGC 2020 of the German Commercial Code (HGB) and the Group State- in the German Federal Gazette on March 20, 2020: ment on Corporate Governance pursuant to Section 315d, the • MorphoSys AG does not comply with the recommendation Management Board and the Supervisory Board present infor- C.4 of the GCGC 2020, according to which a Supervisory mation on the most essential components of our corporate gov- Board member, who is not a member of any Management ernance. The components include the annual Declaration of Board of a listed company, shall not accept more than five Conformity pursuant to Section 161 of the German Stock Corpo- Supervisory Board mandates at non-group listed companies ration Act (AktG), the relevant information on corporate gover- or comparable functions (in a listed or non-listed company), nance practices and other aspects of corporate governance that with an appointment as chair of the Supervisory Board include, above all, a description of the working practices of the being counted twice. The member of the Supervisory Board Management Board and Supervisory Board. George Golumbeski, Ph.D., currently holds in aggregate seven comparable functions in pharmaceutical and bio-Declaration of Conformity of the Manage- technological companies in Ireland and the United States of ment Board and Supervisory Board of America. Golumbeski’s positions have at no time in the MorphoSys AG with regard to the German past aï¬€ected the fulfilment of his duties as a member of the Corporate Governance Code (“Code”) Supervisory Board of MorphoSys AG. MorphoSys AG con-The Management Board and the Supervisory Board of tinuously ensures that Dr. Golumbeski’s positions will not MorphoSys AG declare pursuant to Section 161 of the German distract his focus on MorphoSys AG’s business and that Mr. Stock Corporation Act: Golumbeski has sufficient time to perform his duties as a 1. From November 29, 2019, the date of its most recent Decla- member of the Supervisory Board of MorphoSys AG with ration of Conformity, MorphoSys AG has complied – with the due regularity and care. exception described below – with the recommendations of • MorphoSys AG does not comply with the recommendation the “Government Commission on the German Corporate C.5 of the GCGC 2020, according to which members of the Governance Code” in the Code version dated February 7, Management Board of a listed company shall not accept the 2017 (“GCGC 2017”): chairmanship of a Supervisory Board in a non-group listed company. The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of MorphoSys AG, Jean-Paul Kress, M.D., holds a position as chairman of the

Group Management Report Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance 104 Board of Directors of a French biopharmaceutical company, Relevant Information on Corporate which he had already accepted prior to his appointment as GovernancePractices a member of the Management Board of MorphoSys AG and We ensure compliance with the laws and rules of conduct which has at no time in the past aï¬€ected the fulfilment of through the Group-wide enforcement of the Code of Conduct, his duties as CEO of MorphoSys AG. MorphoSys AG contin- the Compliance Management Handbook and other internal uously ensures that Kress’, M.D., position as chairman of guidelines. the Board of Directors of such company will not distract his focus on MorphoSys AG’s business and that Kress, M.D., has Our Code of Conduct sets out the fundamental principles and suï¬ƒcient time to perform his duties as CEO of MorphoSys AG key policies and practices for business behavior. The Code is a with due regularity and care. valuable tool for our employees and executives, particularly in • Section G.I. of the GCGC 2020 contains new recommenda- business, legal and ethical situations of conflict. The Code of tions with regard to the remuneration of the members of the Conduct reinforces our transparent and sound management Management Board. In accordance with the rationale of the principles and fosters the trust placed in us by the public, GCGC 2020 and the transitional provisions of the German business partners, employees and the financial markets. Com-Stock Corporation Act regarding the amendments under the pliance with the Code of Conduct is carefully monitored. The Act Implementing the Second Shareholder Rights Directive Group-wide implementation of the Code is overseen by the (ARUG II), with which the new recommendations of the Global Compliance Committee. The Code of Conduct itself is GCGC 2020 are interlinked, the new recommendations of routinely reviewed and updated, provided to all new employees the GCGC 2020 have not been taken into account in current and can be downloaded in German or English from our website Management Board service agreements. The Management under the section Media and Investors – Corporate Governance. Board and the Supervisory Board of MorphoSys AG will propose to the Annual General Meeting 2021 a remunera- The Compliance Handbook describes our compliance manage-tion system for the members of the Management Board of ment program (CMP) and is intended to ensure compliance MorphoSys AG, which complies with the new recommenda- with all legal regulations and prescribe high ethical standards tions of the GCGC 2020, and which will apply to all service that apply to both the management and all employees. The agreements with members of the Management Board of Management Board has overall responsibility for the CMP and MorphoSys AG to be concluded or extended after the An- is required to report regularly to the Audit Committee and the nual General Meeting 2021. Supervisory Board. In carrying out its compliance responsibility, the Management Board has assigned the relevant tasks to 3. MorphoSys AG will continue to comply – with the exceptions various functions at MorphoSys. described above under item 2 – with the recommendations of the GCGC 2020. The Global Compliance Committee consists of three members of the Management Board (Chief Executive Oï¬ƒcer, Chief Re-Planegg, this November 29, 2020 search and Development Oï¬ƒcer and Chief Operating Oï¬ƒcer) and senior representatives from various departments. The Global MorphoSys AG Compliance Committee, which meets quarterly, supports the Head of Global Compliance in implementing and monitoring the CMP. The Global Compliance Committee is specifically responsible for the identification and discussion of all compli-For the For the ance-relevant issues and thus makes it possible for the Head of Management Board: Supervisory Board: Global Compliance and the other members of the Global Compliance Committee to periodically verify our compliance status Dr. Jean-Paul Kress Dr. Marc Cluzel and, if necessary, update the CMP. Chief Executive Oï¬ƒcer Chairman of the Supervisory Board

Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance Group Management Report Statements 105 Financial The Head of Global Compliance monitors our existing CMP and • Malte Peters, M.D., Chief Research and Development Oï¬ƒcer, updates it in accordance with the decisions of the Management responsible for Research, Preclinical Development, Clinical Board and Global Compliance Committee. Compliance colleagues Development, Clinical Operations, Biostatistics & Data Man-are the first point of contact for all employees regarding all agement, Drug Safety & Pharmacovigilance, Regulatory Af-compliance matters. fairs, Medical Aï¬€airs, and Global Program Teams. • Roland Wandeler, Ph.D., Chief Operating Oï¬ƒcer (as of May 5, In 2020, MorphoSys completed the implementation phase of the 2020), responsible globally for U.S. operations, Strategic Mar-compliance management program at its wholly owned U.S. sub- keting & Market Access, and Forecasts & Insights. sidiary MorphoSys US Inc. State-of-the-art governance was fully implemented, which includes a U.S. compliance committee, as Supervisory Board well as the corresponding policies and processes. In accordance with the Articles of Association, our Supervisory Board consisted of seven members until the 2020 Annual Gen-For more information on our compliance management program, eral Meeting, which was held on May 27, 2020. Following the please see the Report on Corporate Governance. resignation of Supervisory Board member Frank Morich, M.D., from his position as a member of the Company’s Supervisory Composition of the Management Board and Board eï¬€ective April 11, 2020, a resolution was passed at the Supervisory Board 2020 Annual General Meeting to reduce the number of Super-Management Board visory Board members to six. As a result, the MorphoSys Su-The Management Board of MorphoSys AG consists of a Chief pervisory Board now consists of six members, who supervise Executive Oï¬ƒcer and three further members. Jens Holstein re- and advise the Management Board. Also at the 2020 Annual signed eï¬€ective November 13, 2020. By resolution of the Super- General Meeting, Ms. Wendy Johnson, George Golumbeski, visory Board on January 18, 2021, Sung Lee was appointed Ph.D., and Mr. Michael Brosnan were re-elected as members of member of the Management Board and Chief Financial Oï¬ƒcer, the Supervisory Board. eï¬€ective February 2, 2021. The schedule of responsibilities currently defines the various areas of responsibility as follows: The current Supervisory Board consists of professionally qual- • Jean-Paul Kress, M.D., Chief Executive Officer, responsible for ified members who represent our shareholders. The Chair of the the areas of Strategy & Planning, Business Development & Supervisory Board, Marc Cluzel, M.D., Ph.D., coordinates the Alliance Management, Human Resources, Legal, Compliance Board’s activities, chairs the Supervisory Board meetings and & Intellectual Property, Corporate Communications, Techni- represents the interests of the Supervisory Board externally. cal Operations, Information Technology & Facilities, Quality All Supervisory Board members are independent as per the Assurance & Internal Audit, as well as for coordinating the definition in the German Corporate Governance Code (“Code”) individual areas of responsibility for each Management Board and NASDAQ Listing Rules and have many years of experience member and representing the Management Board vis-à-vis in the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industries. The Chair the Supervisory Board and the public. of the Supervisory Board is not a former member of our Man- • Jens Holstein, Chief Financial Oï¬ƒcer (until November 13, agement Board. The detailed composition of the Supervisory 2020), responsible for the areas of Accounting & Taxes, Global Board, including its members and committees, is listed in the Controlling & Internal Controls, Corporate Development & tables below. M&A, Information Technology, Facilities, Central Purchasing & Logistics, Investor Relations, Environmental Social Governance (ESG), and Lanthio Pharma. • Sung Lee, Chief Financial Oï¬ƒcer (as of February 2, 2021), responsible for Accounting & Taxes, Global Controlling & Internal Controls, Corporate Development & M&A, Central Purchasing & Logistics, Investor Relations, and Environmental Social Governance (ESG). • Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D., Chief Scientific Oï¬ƒcer (until Feb-ruary 29, 2020), responsible for Development Partnerships & Technology Development, Protein Chemistry, Alliance Management, Intellectual Property, and Lanthio Pharma.

Group Management Report Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance 106 Table 12   Composition of the Supervisory Board until Termination of the 2020 Annual General Meeting Initial Remuneration Science and Appoint- End of Audit and Nomination Technology Name Position ment Term Committee Committee Committee Marc Cluzel, M.D., Ph.D. Chairman 2012 2021 Frank Morich, M.D. Deputy Chairman 2015 2020 Krisja Vermeylen Member 2017 2021 Michael Brosnan Member 2018 2020 George Golumbeski, Ph.D. Member 2018 2020 Wendy Johnson Member 2015 2020 Sharon Curran Member 2019 2021 Independent financial expert Chairperson Member Table 13   Composition of the Supervisory Board since Termination of the 2020 Annual General Meeting Initial Remuneration Science and Appoint- End of Audit and Nomination Technology Name Position ment Term Committee Committee Committee Marc Cluzel, M.D., Ph.D. Chairman 2012 2021 George Golumbeski, Ph.D. Deputy Chairman 2018 2023 Krisja Vermeylen Member 2017 2021 Michael Brosnan Member 2018 2023 Wendy Johnson Member 2015 2022 Sharon Curran Member 2019 2021 Independent financial expert Chairperson Member

Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance Group Management Report Statements 107 Financial Working Practices of the Management Board, dinary meeting of the entire Management Board. Management Supervisory Board and Executive Committee Board resolutions can also be passed outside of meetings by an To ensure good corporate governance, a guiding principle of the agreement made orally, by telephone or in writing (also by cooperation between our Management Board and our Supervi- e-mail). A written protocol is completed for each meeting of the sory Board is the open, comprehensive and regular communi- full Management Board and submitted for approval to the full cation of information. The dual board system prescribed by the Management Board, as well as for the signature of the Chief German Stock Corporation Act clearly diï¬€erentiates between the Executive Oï¬ƒcer, at the following meeting. Company’s management and its supervision. The responsibility of both Boards is clearly stipulated by the legislator and the The Management Board promptly and comprehensively informs Boards’ bylaws and Articles of Association. The boards work the Supervisory Board in writing and at Supervisory Board closely together to make decisions and take actions for the Com- meetings about planning, business development, the Group’s pany’s benefit. Their stated objective is to sustainably increase position, risk management and other compliance issues. Ex-the Company’s value. traordinary meetings of the Supervisory Board are also called for material events. The Management Board involves the Super-Management Board members have their own separate areas of visory Board in the strategy, planning and all fundamental responsibility, as defined in the schedule of responsibilities, Company issues. The Management Board’s bylaws specify that and regularly report to the other Management Board members. material business transactions require the approval of the Su-Cooperation among Management Board members is governed pervisory Board. Detailed information on the cooperation of the by the bylaws. The Supervisory Board approves both the sched- Management Board and Supervisory Board and important items ule of responsibilities and the bylaws. of discussion during the 2020 financial year can be found in the Report of the Supervisory Board. In the 2020 financial year, the Company established the Executive Committee. Under the leadership of the Chief Executive The Supervisory Board holds a minimum of two meetings during Officer, the Executive Committee is responsible for the develop- each calendar half-year. The Supervisory Board has supplement of the strategy, the operational management of the Com- mented the Articles of Association with rules of procedure that pany and the achievement of its targets and results. The Exec- apply to its duties. In accordance with these rules, the Chairper-utive Committee prepares the decisions for the Management son of the Supervisory Board coordinates the activities of the Board’s resolutions and adopts resolutions jointly with the Supervisory Board, chairs the Supervisory Board meetings and Management Board, provided this is not the sole responsibility represents the interests of the Supervisory Board externally. of the Management Board by law or by resolution of the Super- The Supervisory Board typically passes its resolutions in meet-visory Board. The Executive Committee consists of the members ings, but resolutions may also be passed outside of meetings in of the Management Board and senior executives from the Com- writing (also by e-mail), by telephone or video conference. pany’s core areas such as Business Development & Licensing and Alliance Management, Technical Operations, Information The Supervisory Board has a quorum when at least two-thirds Technology & Facilities, Human Resources, Legal, and Compli- of its members participate in the vote. Resolutions of the Superance & Intellectual Property. In addition to the members of the visory Board are generally passed with a simple majority. In the Management Board, the current members of the Executive Com- event of a tied vote, the Chairperson of the Supervisory Board’s mittee are Barbara Krebs-Pohl, Ph.D. (Senior VP, Head of Global vote decides. BD&L and Alliance Management), Daniel Palmacci (Senior VP, Global Head of Technical Operations), Maria Castresana (Senior Protocols are completed for Supervisory Board meetings, and VP, Global Head of Human Resources) and Charlotte Lohmann resolutions passed outside of meetings are also documented. A (Senior VP, General Counsel, Legal, Compliance & IP). copy of the Supervisory Board’s protocol is made available to all Supervisory Board members. In accordance with the recom-Executive Committee meetings are generally held at least once mendation in D.13 of the Code, the Supervisory Board assesses every two weeks and when necessary in the interest of the at regular intervals, how eï¬€ective the Supervisory Board in its Company. Management Board meetings are generally held at entirety and its committees perform their tasks. The members least once per month or when necessary in the interest of the of the Management Board also take part in this review. The Company. During these meetings, resolutions are passed con- most recent review was carried out by the Supervisory Board in cerning dealings and transactions that, under the bylaws, re- December 2020 and was based on a questionnaire completed quire the approval of the entire Management Board. At least by the members of both the Supervisory and Management half of the Management Board’s members must be present to Boards. The results were then discussed and evaluated at a sub-pass a resolution. Management Board resolutions are passed by sequent Supervisory Board meeting. a simple majority and, in the event of a tied vote, the Chief Executive Officer’s vote decides. For material events, each Management Board or Supervisory Board member can call an extraor-

Group Management Report Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance 108 Composition and Working Practices of the Management Board and Supervisory Board Committees The Management Board has not formed any committees. The Supervisory Board has three permanent committees: the Audit Committee, the Remuneration and Nomination Committee, and the Science and Technology Committee. The members of the three committees formed by the Supervisory Board are professionally qualified. Table 14   Participation of Supervisory Board Members Supervisory Board Meetings Video Video Video Video Video Video Video Video By By con- con- con- con- con- con- con- con-phone phone On-site ference ference ference ference ference ference ference ference 01/10/ 01/20/ 03/11/ 05/26/ 05/27/ 08/04/ 09/24/ 10/07/ 10/13/ 11/09/ 11/10/ Name 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 Marc Cluzel, M.D., Ph.D. Frank Morich, M.D.* – – – – – – – –Wendy Johnson Krisja Vermeylen George Golumbeski, Ph.D. Michael Brosnan Sharon Curran Meetings of the Audit Committee Video Video Video Video On-site conference conference conference conference Name 03/10/2020 05/04/2020 08/04/2020 10/01/2020 11/06/2020 Krisja Vermeylen Michael Brosnan Sharon Curran

Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance Group Management Report Statements 109 Financial Meetings of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee Video Video Video Video By phone By phone By phone conference conference conference conference Name 01/10/2020 02/11/2020 03/04/2020 05/18/2020 09/10/2020 10/28/2020 12/10/2020 Marc Cluzel, M.D., Ph.D. Krisja Vermeylen Frank Morich, M.D.* – – – –Wendy Johnson – – – Meetings of the Science and Technology Committee Video Video Video Video Video Video On-site conference conference conference conference conference conference Name 03/10/2020 05/25/2020 08/03/2020 08/31/2020 09/24/2020 10/21/2020 11/06/2020 Wendy Johnson Frank Morich, M.D.* – – – – – –George Golumbeski, Ph.D. * Resigned as of April 11, 2020. attended in person participated by phone participation via video Audit Committee Remuneration and Nomination Committee The main task of the Audit Committee is to support the Super- The Remuneration and Nomination Committee is responsible visory Board in fulfilling its supervisory duties with respect to for the preparation and the annual review of the Management the accuracy of the annual and consolidated financial state- Board’s remuneration system prior to its final approval. When ments, the activities of the auditor and internal control functions, necessary, the Committee searches for suitable candidates to such as risk management, compliance and internal auditing. appoint to the Management Board and Supervisory Board and The Audit Committee submits a recommendation to the Super- submits appointment proposals to the Supervisory Board. The visory Board for the election at the Annual General Meeting of Committee also prepares the service agreements with Manage-an independent auditor. The members of the Audit Committee ment Board members. The members of the Remuneration and are Michael Brosnan (Chair), Sharon Curran and Krisja Ver- Nomination Committee until the resignation of Frank Morich, meylen. Currently, Michael Brosnan meets the prerequisite of M.D., with eï¬€ect from April 11, 2020 were Krisja Vermeylen an independent financial expert. (Chair), Marc Cluzel, M.D., Ph.D. and Frank Morich, M.D. By resolution of the Supervisory Board on April 14, 2020, Wendy Johnson was appointed as member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee. Following this appointment, the Remuneration and Nomination Committee has consisted of Krisja Vermeylen (Chair), Marc Cluzel, M.D., Ph.D. and Wendy Johnson.

Group Management Report Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance 110 Science and Technology Committee Report on Corporate Governance The Science and Technology Committee advises the Supervisory Board on matters concerning proprietary drug and technology At MorphoSys, responsible, sustainable and value-oriented cor-development and prepares the relevant Supervisory Board res- porate governance is a high priority. Good corporate governance olutions. The members of the Science and Technology Commit- is an essential aspect of our corporate management and forms tee until the resignation of Frank Morich, M.D., with effect from the framework for the Group’s management and supervision, April 11, 2020, were George Golumbeski, Ph.D. (Chair), Frank which includes the Group’s organization, commercial principles Morich, M.D. and Wendy Johnson. Following the resignation, and tools for its guidance and control. the Science and Technology Committee has consisted of George Golumbeski, Ph.D. (Chair) and Wendy Johnson. The Code provides a standard for the transparent monitoring and management of companies that strongly emphasizes share-Ad Hoc Deal Committee holder interests. The German Federal Ministry of Justice origi-In addition to the three existing committees, an Ad Hoc Deal nally published the Code in 2002. On December 16, 2019, the Committee was set up in October 2019 to act as an additional Government Commission on the German Corporate Gover-body for the tafasitamab partnership talks, advise on agree- nance Code adopted a new version of the Code, which entered ment terms, ensure an efficient negotiation process, and facili- into force upon its publication in the German Federal Gazette tate the Supervisory Board’s involvement. The Ad Hoc Deal on March 20, 2020. The Code contains recommendations and Committee was initially dissolved in January 2020 upon the suggestions with regard to the management and supervision of signing of the global collaboration and licensing agreement German companies listed on a stock exchange. It is based on with Incyte for tafasitamab. The members of the Ad Hoc Deal domestic and internationally recognized standards for good Committee were George Golumbeski, Ph.D. and Wendy John- and responsible corporate governance. The Code aims to make son. The Ad Hoc Deal Committee, which continues to consist of the German system of corporate governance transparent for George Golumbeski, Ph.D. and Wendy Johnson, will continually investors. It contains recommendations and suggestions on be convened if required to evaluate potential in-licensing, corporate governance with regard to shareholders and the An-merger and acquisition opportunities for the intended comple- nual General Meeting, the Management Board and Supervisory mentation of the Company’s portfolio. Board, transparency, accounting and valuation principles, and auditing. Pursuant to C.14 of the Code, the curriculum vitae of the members of the Supervisory Board are published on our website There is no obligation to comply with the recommendations and under Company – Management – Supervisory Board. suggestions of the Code. The German Stock Corporation Act only requires the management boards and supervisory boards of listed German companies to publish a declaration each year, (i) either confirming that the company has complied with the recommendations of the Code or (ii) listing the recommendations with which the company has not complied and the reasons for the deviation from the recommendations of the Code. In addition, a listed company must also state in its annual declaration whether it intends to comply with the recommendations or must list the recommendations with which it does not intend to comply with in the future. These declarations must be published permanently on the company’s website. If the company changes its position on certain recommendations between two annual declarations, it must disclose this fact and state the reasons for the deviation from the recommendations. If suggestions from the Code are not complied with, this does not have to be disclosed.

Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance Group Management Report Statements 111 Financial Many of the corporate governance principles contained in the Competency Profile, Diversity Concept and Code have been practiced at MorphoSys for many years. Our Composition Targets corporate governance principles are detailed in the Statement The Company’s Supervisory Board has updated its competency on Corporate Governance under Sections 289f and 315d HGB. profile and composition targets based on the new Code recom-The statement also contains the annual Declaration of Confor- mendations and has prepared a diversity concept in accordance mity, relevant information on corporate governance practices with Section 289f (2) no. 6 of the German Commercial Code. Ac-and a description of the Management Board and Supervisory cording to this concept, the Supervisory Board of MorphoSys AG Board’s working practices. Additional information can be found shall be composed in such a way that the Supervisory Board in in this Report on Corporate Governance. its entirety possesses the knowledge, skills and professional experience necessary to perform its duties properly and ensure Communication with the Capital Markets that it appropriately supervises and advises the MorphoSys AG A key principle of corporate communication at MorphoSys is to Management Board while taking diversity into account. When simultaneously and fully inform institutional investors, private electing Supervisory Board members, the candidates who are shareholders, financial analysts, employees and all other stake- proposed to the Annual General Meeting fulfill the overall com-holders of the Company’s situation through regular, transpar- petence profile based on their professional competence, experient and timely communication. Shareholders have immediate ence, integrity, commitment, independence and character. Pro-access to the information provided to financial analysts and posals to the Annual General Meeting also take the objectives similar recipients. The Company is firmly committed to follow- for the composition of the Supervisory Board into consideration. ing a fair information policy. Competency Profile Regular meetings with analysts and investors in the context of The members of the Supervisory Board as a whole shall have roadshows and individual meetings play a central role in inves- the professional competence and experience to fulfill the tasks of tor relations at MorphoSys. Conference calls accompany the pub- the Supervisory Board of MorphoSys AG as an internationally lications of quarterly results and give analysts and investors an active biopharmaceutical company. immediate opportunity to ask questions about the Company’s development. Presentations from conferences and similar events The Supervisory Board considers the following skills and ex-are made available to those interested on the MorphoSys website, pertise to be crucial for the composition of the Supervisory Board as are visual and audio recordings of other important events. of MorphoSys AG: • Members should have a general knowledge of the industry in The Company’s website www.morphosys.com serves as a cen- which the Company operates in order to make sufficient and tral platform for current information on the Company and its substantive contributions at Supervisory Board meetings development. Financial reports, analyst meetings and confer- • At least one member must have experience in drug developence presentations, as well as press releases and ad hoc state- ment ments, are also available. The important regularly scheduled • At least one member must have experience in commercial-publications and events (annual reports, interim reports, an- ization nual general meetings and press and analyst conferences) are • At least one member must have expertise in the fields of published in the Company’s financial calendar well in advance. accounting or auditing (Section 100 (5) AktG) • At least one member must have experience with personnel In setting up the sales organization and marketing of Monjuvi issues concerning Management Board matters in the U.S., MorphoSys is aiming to accommodate the specific information needs and habits of U.S. users. With its website morphosys-us.com, MorphoSys is endeavoring to establish itself with physicians and patients in the U.S. as an important player in the hematology-oncology market.

Group Management Report Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance 112 Diversity Concept for the Supervisory Board of Board member is not generally viewed as independent if the Morphosys AG Board member, or a close member of his or her family: The Supervisory Board will endeavor to ensure an appropriate • was a member of the Management Board of MorphoSys AG in level of diversity with respect to age, gender, internationality the two years preceding appointment to the Supervisory and professional background, as well as regarding professional Board of MorphoSys AG; competence, experience and personality, in order to achieve a • has or has had a material business relationship (directly or diverse composition of the Supervisory Board and enable it, in indirectly) with MorphoSys AG or a Group company of its entirety, to base its decisions on different cultural and pro- MorphoSys AG in the year preceding appointment; fessional perspectives and a broad range of experience. • is a close family member of a Management Board member; or • has been a member of the Supervisory Board for more than The Supervisory Board specifically considers the following 12 years. criteria: • At least two members of the Supervisory Board shall have ex- Significant and lasting conflicts of interest should be avoided, tensive international experience or an international background particularly those resulting from functions carried out for ma- • At least one member of the Supervisory Board shall be under jor competitors. It must be taken into account, however, that the age of 60 at the time of the member’s appointment certain conflicts of interest cannot generally be ruled out. Pos- • At least two members of the Supervisory Board shall have sible conflicts of interest must be disclosed to the Chairperson different professional backgrounds and experience of the Supervisory Board and eliminated by taking the appropriate measures. This could lead to the termination of the Su-With respect to women’s representation on the Supervisory pervisory Board mandate of the member concerned if the con-Board, the Supervisory Board has set targets as well as dead- flict of interest is not merely temporary. lines for their achievement in accordance with Section 111 (5) AktG, to which reference is made. Availability All members of the Supervisory Board must ensure that they Other Targets in the Composition of the have suï¬ƒcient time available to properly perform their Super-SupervisoryBoard visory Board duties at MorphoSys AG. Therefore, as a rule, it Age Limit should be ensured that: At the time of their appointment by the Annual General Meeting, • the Supervisory Board member is able to personally attend at Supervisory Board members should not be more than 70 years least four ordinary Supervisory Board meetings per year, for of age. The Supervisory Board may, however, decide to make an which a reasonable amount of preparation time is required in exception in specific cases. each case; in the event of exceptional circumstances to be determined by the Supervisory Board Chairperson, the partic-Duration of Appointment ipation of one or more Supervisory Board members in ordinary The uninterrupted length of the term of office of a Supervisory Supervisory Board meetings by other means (such as video Board member shall generally not exceed 12 years. However, conference) shall also be sufficient; the Supervisory Board may resolve an exception to this rule in • the Supervisory Board member is able to attend extraordinary certain cases. meetings of the Supervisory Board, if necessary, to deal with specific issues; Independence • the Supervisory Board member is able to attend the Annual The Supervisory Board of MorphoSys AG considers the mini- General Meeting; mum of four independent members to be appropriate in view of • the Supervisory Board member has suï¬ƒcient time to review the shareholder structure. According to the Code, a Supervisory the annual and consolidated financial statements; and Board member is considered to be independent of MorphoSys AG, • the Supervisory Board member allocates additional time to its Management Board and any controlling shareholders when prepare for and attend committee meetings, in accordance he or she has no personal or business relationship with the with his or her membership in one or more of the Supervisory Company, the Management Board or a controlling shareholder. Board’s current three permanent committees. The Supervisory Board’s assessment of the independence of Supervisory Board members is based on the recommendations of the Code, among other factors. Consequently, a Supervisory

Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance Group Management Report Statements 113 Financial Current Composition of the Supervisory Board Diversity Concept for the Management Board The Supervisory Board of MorphoSys AG is composed in accor- of MorphoSys AG dance with the above objectives. It is composed of an appropriate Pursuant to Section 289f (2) No. 6 of the German Commercial number of independent members with an international back- Code, the Supervisory Board has determined the following di-ground. As the Supervisory Board as a whole currently has six versity concept for the composition of the Management Board of members, of which three are women, an appropriate level of MorphoSys AG. female participation has been achieved. The aim of the diversity concept for the Management Board is to Target for Women’s Participation use the aspect of diversity in a targeted manner for the further In the Supervisory Board success of the Company. The Supervisory Board believes that The Supervisory Board of MorphoSys AG consists of six mem- diversity in the sense of diï¬€erent perspectives, competencies bers, three of whom are women, representing a proportion of and backgrounds of experience is an important prerequisite for 50%. The Supervisory Board of MorphoSys AG has set the target competitiveness and sustainable corporate success. for the proportion of women on the Supervisory Board at 33.33%, meaning at least two out of six members shall be women. This Together with the Management Board, the Supervisory Board target figure shall apply until June 30, 2025. ensures long-term succession planning for the Management Board. In the search for candidates for the position of a member In the Management Board of the Management Board of MorphoSys AG, the decisive selec-The Management Board of MorphoSys AG consists of four mem- tion criteria include professional qualifications for the position bers, all of whom are men. As a result, the current proportion of to be taken over, leadership qualities, past performance, and women on the Company’s Management Board is 0%. The Super- acquired skills and knowledge of the business of MorphoSys AG. visory Board has set the target for the proportion of women on the Company’s Management Board at 0%. This target figure In determining the composition of the Management Board, the shall apply until June 30, 2023. Supervisory Board also particularly takes the following aspects into account: In the First and Second Management Level below the • The members of the Management Board shall, in their entirety, Management Board possess the knowledge, skills and professional experience 1. Target for the first management level below the Management required to perform their duties. Board • Where possible, the members of the Management Board should have diï¬€erent levels of educational and professional In 2020, the Management Board confirmed its resolution for a experience. target of 30 % of women in the first management level below the • The members of the Management Board shall, in their entirety, Management Board as of July 2017 and intends to maintain a be familiar with the market environment, the individual busi-minimum percentage of 30 % women in the first management ness areas and the market segment in which MorphoSys AG level below the Management Board until June 30, 2025. As of operates. the date of the resolution on the target, the first management • The members of the Management Board shall, in their en-level below the Management Board of MorphoSys AG (depart- tirety, have relevant experience in the management of listed ment heads reporting directly to the Management Board) con- companies. sisted of 21 members, of which 9 are women, corresponding to • The members of the Management Board shall have a balanced a proportion of women of 42.86%. age structure. • With regard to the proportion of women on the Management 2. Target for the second management level below the Manage- Board, the Supervisory Board has set targets, as well as dead-ment Board lines for their achievement, in accordance with Section 111 In 2020, the Management Board confirmed its resolution for a (5) AktG, to which reference is made. target of 30 % women in the second management level below the Management Board as of July 2017 and intends to maintain a The above criteria were taken into account in the appointment minimum percentage of 30 % women in the second management of the Management Board members. level below the Management Board until June 30, 2025. As of the date of the resolution on the target, the second management level below the Management Board of MorphoSys AG (department heads reporting directly to the first management level below the Management Board) consisted of 53 members, 22 of whom are women, corresponding to a proportion of women of 41.51%.

Group Management Report Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance 114 Other Targets in the Composition of the All remuneration packages are reviewed annually for their Management Board scope and appropriateness by the Remuneration and Nomina-Age Limit tion Committee and compared to the results of an annual Man-At the time of their appointment, Management Board members agement Board remuneration analysis. The amount of remuner-should not be more than 67 years of age. The Supervisory Board ation paid to Management Board members highly depends on may, however, decide to make an exception in specific cases. their individual areas of responsibility, the Company’s economic The age limit of 67 is currently complied with. situation and success and its business prospects versus its competition. All decisions concerning adjustments to remuneration packages are made by the entire Supervisory Board. The total Remuneration Report remuneration package and the Management Board’s index-linked pension scheme were comprehensively reviewed in 2020 and The Remuneration Report presents the principles, structure and adjusted by the Supervisory Board. amount of Management Board and Supervisory Board remuneration. The report complies with the legal provisions and gives Overview consideration to the recommendations of the Code. The benefits granted to the members of the Management Board in the 2020 financial year (taking into account the departure of Management Board Remuneration Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D. as Chief Scientific Officer effective The Management Board’s remuneration system provides an February 29, 2020, and Jens Holstein as Chief Financial Oï¬ƒcer incentive for performance-oriented and sustainable corporate eï¬€ective November 13, 2020, as well as the new appointment management. The aggregate remuneration of Management to the Management Board of Roland Wandeler, Ph.D., eï¬€ective Board members consists of diï¬€erent components, including May 5, 2020) totaled € 11,532,252 (2019: € 11,308,876). Of this fixed components, an annual performance-based cash bonus total remuneration granted for 2020, € 8,007,458 related to cash (Short-Term Incentive – STI), a variable remuneration compo- remuneration and € 3,524,794, or 31%, related to personnel ex-nent with long-term incentives (Long-Term Incentive – LTI) and penses from share-based variable remuneration with long-term other remuneration components. The variable remuneration incentive (performance share units and stock options). component with long-term incentives consists of stock options, performance share units and performance shares issued under The total amount of benefits paid to the Management Board in stock option plans, a performance share unit program and the 2020 financial year was € 10,894,756 (2019: € 14,128,615). performance share plans (as defined below) in 2020 and prior Next to cash remuneration of € 6,994,435 (2019: € 4,104,582) years. In prior years, members of the Management Board were paid in the financial year, the total amount consisted mainly of also granted convertible bonds under a convertible bond pro- the value relevant under German tax law of € 3,900,321 (2019: gram in 2013. In addition to the components mentioned, Man- € 1,941,794) of the transfer of treasury shares from a perfor-agement Board members also receive fringe benefits in the mance-based share plan (as defined below). No convertible bonds form of non-cash benefits, mainly comprised of the use of a were exercised by the Management Board in 2020, therefore company car and the payment of insurance premiums. the 2020 total did not include any cash inflows from the exercise of convertible bonds (2019: €8,082,239).

Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance Group Management Report Statements 115 Financial As of April 1, 2020, 13,677 treasury shares from the 2016 Performance Share Plan for the Management Board vested as a result of the expiration of the vesting period for this LTI program. The beneficiaries had the option to call these shares within a six-month period ending October 20, 2020. All transactions by members of the Management Board in connection with the trading of MorphoSys shares were reported as required by law and published in the Report on Corporate Governance and on the Company’s website. The following tables are based on the model tables of the Code in its previous version of February 7, 2017, and present, in detail, the remuneration granted and paid to the individual members of the Management Board in financial years 2020 and 2019.

Group Management Report Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance 116 Table 15   Compensation of the Management Board in 2020 and 2019 Benefits Granted to the Management Board Jean-Paul Kress, M.D. Chief Executive Officer 2020 2020 (Mini- (Maxi-in € 2019 2020 mum) mum) Fixed Compensation 233,333 723,333 723,333 723,333 Fringe Benefits1 93,551 216,281 216,281 216,281 Total Fixed Compensation 326,884 939,614 939,614 939,614 One-Year Variable Compensation2 196,000 995,307 0 1,157,333 One-Time Bonus3 1,000,000 0 0 0 Multi-Year Variable Compensation: 2019 Long-Term Incentive Program4 (Vesting Period 4 Years) 0 0 0 0 2019 Stock Option Plan4 (Vesting Period 4 Years) 2,000,013 0 0 0 2020 Stock Option Plan4 (Vesting Period 4 Years) 0 951,600 0 1,903,200 2020 Performance Share Unit Program4 (Vesting Period 4 Years) 477,695 0 955,390 Total Variable Compensation 3,196,013 2,424,602 0 4,015,923 Service Cost 44,965 120,311 120,311 120,311 Total Compensation 3,567,862 3,484,527 1,059,925 5,075,848 Jens Holstein5 Chief Financial Officer Resignation: November 13, 2020 2020 2020 (Mini- (Maxi-In € 2019 2020 mum) mum) Fixed Compensation 418,324 408,947 408,947 408,947 Fringe Benefits1 44,090 2,485,734 2,485,734 2,485,734 Total Fixed Compensation 462,414 2,894,681 2,894,681 2,894,681 One-Year Variable Compensation2 351,392 519,783 0 659,345 One-Time Bonus3 500,000 0 0 0 Multi-Year Variable Compensation: 2019 Long-Term Incentive Program4 (Vesting Period 4 Years) 220,645 0 0 0 2019 Stock Option Plan4 (Vesting Period 4 Years) 220,634 0 0 0 2020 Stock Option Plan4 (Vesting Period 4 Years) 0 439,338 0 878,676 2020 Performance Share Unit Program4 (Vesting Period 4 Years) 0 220,503 0 441,006 Total Variable Compensation 1,292,671 1,179,624 0 1,979,027 Service Cost 114,224 107,038 107,038 107,038 Total Compensation 1,869,309 4,181,343 3,001,719 4,980,746 1 In 2020, fringe benefits for Jens Holstein, Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D., and, in 2019, for Simon Moroney, Ph.D., include benefits granted in connection with their termination of employment in the amount of € 2,443,409, € 144,234 and € 1,086,602 respectively. In 2020, the fringe benefits also include the signing bonus granted to Roland Wandeler, Ph.D., in the amount of USD 500,000 (about € 457.652) . 2 The one-year bonus awarded for fiscal 2020 represents the bonus accrual for fiscal 2020, which was paid in February 2021. The bonus granted for the 2019 financial year was paid out in February 2020. 3 The one-time bonus award granted in 2019 was paid in February 2020 in the form of a cash payment. 4 Share-based payment plans that are issued annually. The fair value was determined in accordance with the regulations of IFRS 2 “Share-based Payment”.

Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance Group Management Report Statements 117 Financial Malte Peters, M.D. Roland Wandeler, Ph.D. Chief Research and Chief Operating Officer Development Officer Appointment: May 5, 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 (Mini- (Maxi- (Mini- (Maxi- 2019 2020 mum) mum) 2019 2020 mum) mum) 413,712 480,544 480,544 480,544 – 312,993 312,993 312,993 32,892 31,453 31,453 31,453 – 487,025 487,025 487,025 446,604 511,997 511,997 511,997 – 800,018 800,018 800,018 347,518 578,575 0 672,761 – 384,681 0 571,671 500,000 0 0 0 – 0 0 0 220,645 0 0 0 – 0 0 0 220,634 0 0 0 – 0 0 0 0 439,338 0 878,676 – 0 0 0 0 220,503 0 441,006 – 775,817 0 1,551,634 1,288,797 1,238,416 0 1,992,443 – 1,160,498 0 2,123,305 77,787 85,027 85,027 85,027 – 2,776 2,776 2,776 1,813,188 1,835,440 597,024 2,589,467 – 1,963,292 802,794 2,926,099 Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D. 5 Simon Moroney, Ph.D. 5 Chief Scientific Officer Chief Executive Officer Resignation: February 29, 2020 Resignation: August 31, 2019 Total 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 (Mini- (Maxi- (Mini- (Maxi- (Mini- (Maxi- 2019 2020 mum) mum) 2019 2020 mum) mum) 2019 2020 mum) mum) 334,152 56,784 56,784 56,784 372,154 – – – 1,771,675 1,982,601 1,982,601 1,982,601 135,848 4,964 4,964 4,964 1,114,906 – – – 1,421,287 3,225,457 3,225,457 3,225,457 470,000 61,748 61,748 61,748 1,487,060 – – – 3,192,962 5,208,058 5,208,058 5,208,058 280,688 0 0 0 328,859 – – – 1,504,457 2,478,346 0 3,061,110 200,000 0 0 0 0 – – – 2,200,000 0 0 0 – – – 0 0 0 0 220,645 0 0 0 336,791 – – – 998,726 0 0 0 220,634 0 0 0 336,772 – – – 2,998,687 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 – – – 0 1,830,276 0 3,660,552 0 0 0 0 0 – – – 0 1,694,518 0 3,389,036 921,967 0 0 0 1,002,422 – – – 7,701,870 6,003,140 0 10,110,698 69,805 5,902 5,902 5,902 107,263 – – – 414,044 321,054 321,054 321,054 1,461,772 67,650 67,650 67,650 2,596,745 – – – 11,308,876 11,532,252 5,529,112 15,639,810 5 Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D., and Jens Holstein left the Company effective February 29, 2020, and December 31, 2020 respectively. The amounts shown for Jens Holstein were determined as of November 13, 2020, as the date of resignation of his mandate as a member of the Management Board. Simon Moroney stepped down as a member of the Management Board and Chairman of the Management Board with effect from the end of 31 August 2019. The Supervisory Board has resolved that, due to the many years of service to the company, the long-term share-based remuneration components granted (stock options and performance shares) should not only vest pro rata temporis, but – subject to the fulfillment of all other plan conditions – in full.

Group Management Report Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance 118 PAYMENTS DURING THE FINANCIAL YEAR Malte Peters, M.D. Roland Wandeler, Ph.D. Jean-Paul Kress, M.D. Chief Research and Chief Operating Officer Chief Executive Officer Development Officer Appointment: May 5, 2020 in € 2019 2020 2019 2020 2019 2020 Fixed Compensation 233,333 723,333 413,712 480,544 – 312,993 Fringe Benefits1 93,551 216,281 32,892 31,453 – 399,474 Total Fixed Compensation 326,884 939,614 446,604 511,997 – 712,467 One-Year Variable Compensation 0 196,000 334,152 347,518 – 7,838 One-Time Bonus in Shares2 0 1,000,000 500,000 – 0 Multi-Year Variable Compensation: – 2013 Convertible Bonds Program3 (Vesting Period 4 Years) 0 0 0 0 – 0 2015 Long-Term Incentive Program3 (Vesting Period 4 Years) 0 0 0 0 – 0 2016 Long-Term Incentive Program3 (Vesting Period 4 Years) 0 0 0 0 – 0 Other4 0 0 0 0 – 0 Total Variable Compensation 0 1,196,000 334,152 847,518 – 7,838 Service Cost 44,965 120,311 77,787 85,027 – 2,776 Total Compensation 371,849 2,255,925 858,543 1,444,542 – 723,081 1 In 2020, the fringe benefits for Jens Holstein, Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D., and, in 2019, for Simon Moroney, Ph.D., include benefits granted on the occasion of termination of employment in the amount of € 128,409, € 105,144 and € 379,295 respectively. In 2020, the first installment of the signing bonus for Roland Wandeler, Ph.D., was paid in the amount of USD 400,000 (about € 366.100) . This is included in the fringe benefits. The second installment will be paid in May 2021. 2 The one-year variable remuneration here shows the bonus paid out in the respective financial year for the previous financial year. 3 The time and value of the inflow are deemed to be the relevant time and value under German tax law. This table therefore shows the monetary benefit from the difference between the conversion price and the stock market price at the time of exercise of convertible bonds or from the share price at the time of transfer of treasury shares from a performance share plan in the respective financial year. 4 There were no remuneration reclaims against the Management Board in either 2020 or 2019. Fixed Remuneration and Fringe Benefits The non-performance-related remuneration of the Management relocation expenses in connection with the conclusion of his Board comprises fixed remuneration and additional fringe employment contract. In addition, he receives an ongoing ex-benefits, which mainly include the use of company cars as well pense allowance for tax advice. The Chief Financial Oï¬ƒcer Jens as subsidies or reimbursement of costs for health, social and Holstein received an expense allowance for dual residences as occupational disability insurance. The Chief Executive Oï¬ƒcer, well as for tax advice. In addition, Jens Holstein receives a Jean-Paul Kress, M.D., receives an ongoing expense allowance severance payment of €2,300,000, which will be paid out in for tax advice and dual residences. The new Chief Operating Of- 2021. Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D., received a severance pay-ficer, Roland Wandeler, Ph.D., (joined on May 5, 2020), received ment amounting to 50 % of his fixed remuneration and bonus for a signing bonus of $500,000, payable in two installments (2020: the previous financial year until the regular expiry of his ser-$400,000 and 2021: $100,000), as well as reimbursement of vice contract.

Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance Group Management Report Statements 119 Financial Jens Holstein5 Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D.,5,6 Simon Moroney, Ph.D.,5,6 Chief Financial Officer Chief Scientific Officer Chief Executive Officer Resignation: Resignation: Resignation: November 13, 2020 February 29, 2020 August 31, 2019 Total 2019 2020 2019 2020 2019 2020 2019 2020 418,324 408,947 334,152 56,784 372,154 0 1,771,675 1,982,601 44,090 170,734 31,365 110,107 319,701 379,295 521,599 1,307,344 462,414 579,681 365,517 166,891 691,855 379,295 2,293,274 3,289,945 337,877 351,392 269,892 288,688 455,343 0 1,397,264 1,183,436 500,000 200,000 0 2,200,000 0 0 2,016,750 0 0 0 6,065,489 0 8,082,239 0 724,223 0 182,047 0 1,035,524 0 1,941,794 0 0 1,408,731 0 281,450 0 2,210,140 0 3,900,321 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3,078,850 2,260,123 451,939 762,138 7,556,356 2,210,140 11,421,297 7,283,757 114,224 107,038 69,805 5,902 107,263 0 414,044 321,054 3,655,488 2,946,842 887,261 934,931 8,355,474 2,589,435 14,128,615 10,894,756 5 Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D., and Jens Holstein left the Company effective February 29, 2020, and December 31, 2020, respectively. The amounts shown for Jens Holstein were determined as of November 13, 2020, as the date of resignation of his mandate as a member of the Management Board. Simon Moroney, Ph.D., stepped down as a member of the Management Board and Chairman of the Management Board with effect from the end of August 31, 2019. The Supervisory Board has resolved that, due to the many years of service to the company, the long-term share-based remuneration components granted (stock options and performance shares) should not only vest pro rata temporis, but –subject to the fulfillment of all other plan conditions – in full. 6 In 2020, the inflows for Simon Moroney, Ph.D., and Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D., include inflows from the transfer of treasury shares from a performance share plan following his resignation from the Management Board. The 2019 figures for Dr. Simon Moroney include inflows from the exercise of convertible bonds and the transfer of treasury shares from a performance share plan following his retirement from the position of Chief Executive Officer. These were granted in prior years as part of the Management Board service. Pension Expenses The Company also made payments to members of the Manage- Roland Wandeler, Ph.D., who resides in the U.S., participates in ment Board, with the exception of Roland Wandeler, Ph.D., in an the MorphoSys US Inc.’s retirement plan, managed through amount equal to the maximum of 10 % of the member’s fixed Fidelity Investments. He receives a quarterly company contri-annual salary and, in some cases, plus any payable taxes, which bution into his retirement account aligned to the practices for is intended to be used for the members’ individual retirement US participants. Furthermore, Roland Wandeler, Ph.D., receives plans. Additionally, all Management Board members, with the a deferred compensation payment into a plan managed by exception of Roland Wandeler, Ph.D., participate in a pension Principal in the US, in the amount of the difference between the plan in the form of a provident fund, which was introduced in Company’s contributions to Allianz Pensions-Management e.V. cooperation with Allianz Pensions-Management e.V. The pension and the contributions paid into the U.S. retirement plan for obligations of the provident fund are met by Allianz Pensions- Roland Wandeler, Ph.D. Management e.V. and not considered a pension commitment.

Group Management Report Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance 120 Performance-Based Remuneration Board received a certain number of stock options, entitling the (Short-Term Incentive – Sti) Management Board members to subscribe to up to two MorphoSys As performance-based remuneration, each member of the shares each. For further details, please refer to Note [8.1] in the Management Board receives an annual bonus payment, which Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements. can amount to up to 80 % of the gross base salary for the Chief Executive Oï¬ƒcer and up to 70 % of the gross base salary for all In accordance with the resolution of the Annual General Meet-other Management Board members when the targets are fully ing on June 2, 2016 (Agenda Item 9), the stock option plan’s achieved. These bonus payments are dependent upon the performance targets include the absolute price performance achievement of corporate targets set by the Supervisory Board of MorphoSys shares and the relative price performance of at the beginning of each financial year. Typically, the targets MorphoSys shares compared to a benchmark index. The bench-are based on, among other things, business performance and mark index consists of equal parts of the NASDAQ Biotechnology the progress of the partnered and proprietary pipelines. At Index and the TecDAX. Each performance target has a 50 % the beginning of the year, the Supervisory Board assesses the weighting in the achievement of the overall target. degree of achievement of the Company’s targets for the previous year and determines the bonus accordingly. The bonus is To determine the degree of target achievement for each perfor-subject to a cap of 160 % of the gross base salary for the CEO and mance target, the four-year vesting period (until the first stock 140 % of the gross base salary for all other Management Board options can be exercised) is subdivided into four equal periods members. If targets are not achieved, the performance-based of one year each. An arithmetic mean is calculated based on the remuneration can be reduced to zero. The bonus for the 2020 degree of target achievement in each of the four years. This, in financial year will be paid in February 2021. turn, determines the final percentage of target achievement for each performance target. The final percentages of target achieve-In February 2020, the members of the Management Board (at ment for each of the two performance targets are then added that time, Jean-Paul Kress, M.D., Jens Holstein, Malte Peters, together and divided by two; the result being the overall level of M.D., and Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D.) also received a special target achievement. bonus. Jean-Paul Kress, M.D., received a special bonus of € 1,000,000.00, Jens Holstein and Malte Peters, M.D., received For the performance target of absolute price performance, a a special bonus of € 500,000.00 each, and Markus Enzelberger, comparison is made between the average stock price of Ph.D. received a special bonus of € 200,000.00. MorphoSys shares for the preceding 30 trading days before the beginning and end of each year in the four-year period. If the Long-Term Incentive Remuneration MorphoSys share price increases, the degree of target achieve-(Long-Term Incentive – Lti) ment can reach up to 200 % calculated on a straight-line basis for In 2011, MorphoSys introduced a long-term incentive program that particular year. Any further positive share price develop-(“Performance Share Plan”) for the Management Board and ment of MorphoSys shares will not lead to any further increase members of the Senior Management Group. This Performance in the performance target (cap). Share Plan is based on the allocation of performance shares and linked to the achievement of certain predefined performance For the performance target of relative price performance, the targets over a four-year period. The award of the performance development of MorphoSys’ share price measured by the average shares is carried out by the transfer of Company treasury of the closing prices for the preceding 30 trading days before shares. the beginning and end of each year in the four-year period is compared with the development of the benchmark index, mea-The Supervisory Board decides each year on the number of sured by the average of the closing prices of the respective performance shares to be granted to the Management Board. benchmark index during the last 30 trading days before the The most recent decision granting the Management Board (at beginning and end of each year in the four-year period. Within that time, consisting of Simon Moroney, Ph.D., Jens Holstein, the benchmark index, the NASDAQ Biotech Index and the Tec-Malte Peters, M.D., and Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D.) shares under DAX are each weighted at 50%. The percentage price develop-the Performance Share Plan was in the 2019 reporting year. In ments of each index for the respective annual period are added 2020, no further shares were granted under the Performance and divided by two. If MorphoSys shares outperform the bench-Share Plan. mark index, the degree of target achievement calculated on a straight-line basis for the relevant period can reach up to 200%. In 2017, based on a resolution of the Annual General Meeting Any further positive share price development of MorphoSys on June 2, 2016 (TOP 9), MorphoSys introduced a stock option shares versus the benchmark index will not lead to any further plan as another instrument to provide long-term incentive re- increase in the performance target (cap). muneration. As of April 1, 2020, the Management Board (at that time, consisting of Jean-Paul Kress, M.D., Jens Holstein and Malte Peters, M.D.) were granted a total of 47,913 stock options. Within the scope of this plan, each member of the Management

Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance Group Management Report Statements 121 Financial Stock options can only be exercised when the four-year (mini- To determine the degree of target achievement for each perfor-mum) vesting period prescribed by law has expired, and the mance target, the four-year vesting period (until the first per-specified minimum value for the degree of target achievement of formance share units can be exercised) is subdivided into four a performance target has been exceeded. The ultimate number equal periods of one year each. An arithmetic mean is calculated of exercisable stock options is calculated by multiplying the based on the degree of target achievement in each of the four number of initially granted stock options (“grants”) by the total years. This, in turn, determines the final percentage of target level of target achievement and rounding up to the nearest achievement for each performance target. The final percentage whole number. The resulting ultimate number of stock options of target achievement for each of the two performance targets is limited to 200 % of the initially granted number of stock op- are then added together and divided by two; the result being tions. The stock options are settled in the form of Company the overall level of target achievement. shares, with each stock option entitling the holder to one share for the final number of stock options. For the performance target of absolute price performance, a comparison is made between the average stock price of MorphoSys When the stock options are exercised, the exercise price must be shares for the preceding 30 trading days before the beginning paid for each underlying share. The exercise price corresponds and end of each year in the four-year period. If the MorphoSys to the average closing auction price of MorphoSys shares in the share price increases, the degree of target achievement can 30 trading days prior to the day on which the stock options reach up to 200 % calculated on a straight-line basis for that were issued. particular year. Any further positive share price development of MorphoSys shares does not lead to any further increase in The terms of the stock option plan provide further details on the the performance target (cap). granting and settlement of stock options, the issue of Company shares from Conditional Capital 2016-III and the administration For the performance target of relative price performance, the of the stock option plan. For more information, please refer to development of MorphoSys’ share price measured by the aver-the corresponding resolution of the Annual General Meeting on age of the closing prices for the preceding 30 trading days be-June 2, 2016 (Agenda Item 9). fore the beginning and end of each year in the four-year period is compared with the development of the benchmark index, The Annual General Meeting of May 27, 2020 also created a new measured by the average of the closing prices of the respective Conditional Capital 2020-I under Agenda Item 11 and renewed benchmark index during the last 30 trading days before the the authorization to issue stock options on the basis of a stock beginning and end of each year in the four-year period. Within option plan with essentially the same conditions that served as the benchmark index, the NASDAQ Biotech Index and the Tec-the basis for the resolution of the Annual General Meeting of DAX are each weighted at 50 % so that the percentage price devel-June 2, 2016. Under this authorization, amongst others, up to opments of each index for the respective annual period are added 657,307 stock options may be granted to members of the Com- and divided by two. If MorphoSys shares outperform the bench-pany’s Management Board. MorphoSys did not make use of this mark index, the degree of target achievement calculated on a authorization in 2020. straight-line basis for the relevant period can reach up to 200%. Any further positive share price development of MorphoSys In 2020, MorphoSys also introduced a performance share unit shares versus the benchmark index does not lead to any further program (“Performance Share Unit Program”) as an additional increase in the performance target (cap). instrument of long-term incentive remuneration. As of April 1, 2020, the Management Board (at that time, consisting of Jean- Performance share units are only exercisable when the four-Paul Kress, M.D., Jens Holstein and Malte Peters, M.D.) was year vesting period has expired, and the respective minimum granted a total of 12,320 Performance Share Units. The new target achievement level for a performance target has been ex-Management Board member, Roland Wandeler, Ph.D., who ceeded. The final number of exercisable performance share joined the Board on May 5, 2020, was granted as one-time units is determined by multiplying the number of originally sign-on package performance share units worth $ 1,000,000 granted performance share units (“grant”) by the total target (approx. € 0.9 million) on June 1, 2020, for a total of 8,361 per- achievement level and rounding up to the next whole number. formance share units. For further details, please refer to Note Each performance share unit entitles the beneficiaries to a cash [8.3.6] in the Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements. payment claim against the Company in the amount of the average closing price of the MorphoSys share during the last 30 The performance targets for the Performance Share Unit Pro- trading days prior to the expiration of the vesting period. The gram are the absolute performance of the MorphoSys share beneficiaries’ payment claim is limited to a total of 250 % of the price and the relative performance of the MorphoSys share original amount granted. price compared to a benchmark index; the benchmark index consists of the NASDAQ Biotechnology Index and the TecDAX in equal parts. Each performance target has a weighting of 50 % for the overall target achievement level.

Group Management Report Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance 122 The plan conditions contain further details for the granting and the Management Board may terminate their service contracts settlement of performance share units and for the implementa- for cause and demand payment of the fixed salary and annual tion of the Performance Share Unit Program. bonus still outstanding up to the end of the service contract, but at least 200 % of the annual gross fixed salary and annual bonus. Miscellaneous Furthermore, in such a case, all stock options, performance No loans or similar benefits were granted during the reporting share units and performance shares granted vest immediately year to any member of the Management Board. The members and may be exercised after the statutory vesting periods or of the Management Board also did not receive any benefits blackout periods have expired. The following cases are consid-from third parties during the reporting year that were either ered to be changes of control: (i) MorphoSys transfers all or promised or granted based on their position as members of the substantially all of its corporate assets to a non-aï¬ƒliated com-Management Board. pany, (ii) MorphoSys merges with a non-aï¬ƒliated company, (iii) MorphoSys AG as a controlled company becomes a party to an Payments upon Termination of Management agreement pursuant to Section 291 of the German Stock Corpo-Contracts/Change Of Control ration Act (AktG) or MorphoSys is integrated in accordance In the event of the premature termination of a Management with Section 319 of the German Stock Corporation Act (AktG), Board member’s service contract, payments rendered by the or (iv) a shareholder or third party directly or indirectly holds Company to the member of the Management Board, including 30 % or more of the voting rights of MorphoSys, or at least 30 % fringe benefits, shall not exceed the value of two years’ com- of the voting rights are attributed to the shareholder or third pensation (severance cap), and shall not compensate more than party. the remaining term of the service contract. If the service contract is terminated for good cause for which the Management Non-compete clauses have also been agreed with the members of Board member is responsible, the member will not be entitled the Management Board for the period following their departure. to any payments. The severance cap should be calculated on the In return, MorphoSys AG is required to make compensation basis of the total remuneration for the previous full financial payments for six months after termination of the service con-year and, if applicable, as well as on the expected total remu- tract. The compensation payment amounts to 100 % of the fixed neration for the current financial year. salary for the duration of the non-compete clause. If the service contract of a member of the Management Board The following overview summarizes the various components of ends by death, his or her spouse or life partner is entitled to the Executive Board compensation on an individualized basis for fixed monthly salary for the month of death and the following each Executive Board member: 12 months. In the event of a change of control, the members of Table 16   Components of Executive Board Compensation in 2020 and 2019 Performance-unrelated Performance-related Long-term incentive remuneration remuneration compensation Total 2019 2020 2019 2020 2019 2020 2019 2020 Jean-Paul Kress, M.D. 371,849 1,059,925 1,196,000 995,307 2,000,013 1,429,295 3,567,862 3,484,527 Malte Peters, M.D. 524,391 597,024 847,518 578,575 441,279 659,841 1,813,188 1,835,440 Roland Wandeler, Ph.D. 0 802,794 0 384,681 0 775,817 0 1,963,292 Jens Holstein1 576,638 3,001,719 851,392 519,783 441,279 659,841 1,869,309 4,181,343 Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D.1 539,805 67,650 480,688 0 441,279 0 1,461,772 67,650 Simon Moroney, Ph.D.1 1,594,323 0 328,859 0 673,563 0 2,596,745 0 Total Compensation 3,607,006 5,529,112 3,704,457 2,478,346 3,997,413 3,524,794 11,308,876 11,532,252 1 Jens Holstein will receive a severance payment of € 2,300,000, which will be paid in 2021, as well as an expense allowance for tax advice. Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D. received a severance payment amounting to 50 % of his fixed remuneration and his bonus payment for the previous financial year until the regular expiry of his service contract. Due to their long years of commitment to the Company, the Supervisory Board decided that for both, the long-term incentive plans would not forfeit on a pro-rate basis despite their termination of the employment before the end of the respective four-year vesting periods. Because of this modification of terms and conditions, the respective personnel expense from share-based compensation for the outstanding vesting periods was allocated to the remaining period of performance. For Jens Holstein, € 487,327 were recognized earlier than anticipated in 2020, whereas for Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D. € 122,683 were booked earlier in the years 2019 and 2020. In 2020, performance-unrelated compensation includes benefits of € 128,409 for Jens Holstein and € 105,144 for Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D., and in 2019, benefits of € 379,295 for Simon Moroney, Ph.D., which were granted on the occasion of termination of employment.

Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance Group Management Report Statements 123 Financial Change in the Composition of the Management for each Supervisory Board meeting they attend. For Committee Board work, the Chair of the Audit Committee receives € 18,000.00, In the 2020 reporting year, the following changes occurred in the chairs of all other committees each receive € 12,000.00, and the composition of the Management Board: Markus Enzelberg- the remaining Committee members each receive € 6,000.00. er’s, Ph.D., resignation as Chief Scientific Officer and member of Committee members also receive € 1,200.00 for each Committee the Management Board announced in November 2019, became meeting attended. If (i) a Supervisory Board member domiciled eï¬€ective as of February 29, 2020. By resolution of the Supervi- outside Europe attends a Supervisory Board and/or Committee sory Board on March 30, 2020, Roland Wandeler, Ph.D., was meeting, in person in Europe or (ii) a Supervisory Board member appointed as a new member of the Management Board for a domiciled inside Europe attends a Supervisory Board and/or term of three years from May 5, 2020 to April 30, 2023. Jens Committee meeting in person in the U.S., the Supervisory Holstein left as Chief Financial Officer and member of the Man- Board member shall be paid a lump-sum expense allowance of agement Board with effect of as of December 31, 2020. € 2,000.00 (plus any value-added tax) for the additional travel time involved in addition to the attendance fees and reimburse- Vote on the Remuneration System for the ment of expenses. Management Board (“Say On Pay”) The current remuneration system for the members of the Man- Supervisory Board members are also reimbursed for travel ex-agement Board is unchanged from the remuneration system penses and value-added taxes (VAT) on their remuneration. approved by the Annual General Meeting on May 19, 2011, with a majority of over 91%. In addition, the members of the Supervisory Board are included in a Directors and Officers liability insurance (D&O Insurance) On January 1, 2020, the Act for the Implementation of the Sec- maintained by the Company at an appropriate level in the inter-ond Shareholders’ Rights Directive (ARUG II) came into force. ests of the Company. The premiums are paid by the Company. According to the new regulations, the shareholders must resolve An appropriate deductible has been agreed for the D&O Insur-on a remuneration system for the Management Board to be sub- ance of the members of the Supervisory Board. mitted by the Supervisory Board for the first time prior to the end of the first Annual General Meeting in 2021. MorphoSys has In the 2020 financial year, Supervisory Board members received therefore deliberately refrained from submitting a Management a total of € 634,752 (2019: € 633,597), excluding the reimburse-Board remuneration system to be put up for vote at its Annual ment of travel expenses. This amount consists of fixed remuner-General Meeting in 2020. The Supervisory Board has drafted a ation and attendance fees for participating in Supervisory Board remuneration system for the Management Board and will pres- and committee meetings. ent it to the Annual General Meeting 2021 for resolution. We did not grant any loans to Supervisory Board members. Supervisory Board Remuneration The remuneration of the members of the Supervisory Board is governed by our Articles of Association and a corresponding resolution of the Annual General Meeting on Supervisory Board remuneration. At the 2020 Annual General Meeting, a resolution was passed to increase the annual remuneration of the Chairperson of the Audit Committee and to grant a lump-sum expense allowance per meeting for Supervisory Board members who are domiciled within Europe and physically attend a Supervisory Board and/or Committee meetings in the U.S. In the 2020 financial year, Supervisory Board members received fixed remuneration in addition to attendance fees and expense allowances for attending Supervisory Board and Committee meetings. Supervisory Board members each receive annual remuneration in the form of a lump-sum payment for their membership on the Supervisory Board (€ 98,210.00 for the Chairperson, € 58,926.00 for the Deputy Chairperson and € 39,284.00 for the other members of the Supervisory Board). The Chairperson receives € 4,000.00 for each Supervisory Board meeting he chairs; the other members receive € 2,000.00

Group Management Report Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance 124 The table below presents the Supervisory Board’s remuneration in more detail. Table 17   Compensation of the Supervisory Board in 2020 and 2019 Fixed Compensation Attendance Fees1 Total Compensation in € 2020 2019 2020 2019 2020 2019 Marc Cluzel, M.D., Ph.D. 104,210 104,210 56,400 44,400 160,610 148,610 Michael Brosnan 57,284 51,284 28,400 34,000 85,684 85,284 Sharon Curran 45,284 27,791 30,000 11,600 75,284 39,391 George Golumbeski, Ph.D., 65,345 51,284 30,800 31,600 96,145 82,884 Wendy Johnson 49,579 47,618 39,200 35,600 88,779 83,218 Krisja Vermeylen 57,284 57,284 38,400 32,400 95,684 89,684 Frank Morich, M.D.2 19,766 70,926 12,800 33,600 32,566 104,526 Total 398,752 410,397 236,000 223,200 634,752 633,597 1 The lump-sum expense allowance includes expense allowance for attendance at Supervisory Board and committee meetings. 2 Frank Morich, M.D., resigned as a member of the Supervisory Board with effect from April 11, 2020. Shareholdings of Management Board and Supervisory Board Members The members of the Management Board and the Supervisory Board hold less than 1 % of the shares issued by the Company. All shares, performance shares, performance share units, stock options and convertible bonds held by each member of the Management Board and the Supervisory Board are listed below.

Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance Group Management Report Statements 125 Financial Table 18   Directors’ Holdings Shares 01/01/2020 Additions Sales 12/31/2020 Management Board Jean-Paul Kress, M.D. 0 0 0 0 Malte Peters, M.D. 3,313 0 0 3,313 Roland Wandeler, Ph.D.1 – 0 0 0 Jens Holstein2 19,517 13,677 9,000 –Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D.3 1,676 0 0 – Total 24,506 13,677 9,000 3,313 Supervisory Board Marc Cluzel, M.D., Ph.D. 750 0 0 750 Michael Brosnan 0 0 0 0 Sharon Curran 0 0 0 0 George Golumbeski, Ph.D. 0 0 0 0 Wendy Johnson 500 0 0 500 Krisja Vermeylen 350 0 0 350 Frank Morich, M.D.4 1,000 0 0 – Total 2,600 0 0 1,600 Stock Options 01/01/2020 Additions Forfeitures Exercises 12/31/2020 Management Board Jean-Paul Kress, M.D. 57,078 24,911 0 0 81,989 Malte Peters, M.D. 21,609 11,501 0 0 33,110 Roland Wandeler, Ph.D.1 – 0 0 0 0 Jens Holstein2 21,609 11,501 0 0 –Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D.3 18,678 0 0 0 – Total 118,974 47,913 0 0 115,099 Performance Shares Adjustment due to performance 01/01/2020 Additions criteria5 Forfeitures Allocations6 12/31/2020 Management Board Jean-Paul Kress, M.D.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 Malte Peters, M.D. 7,197 0 1,850 0 0 9,047 Roland Wandeler, Ph.D. – 0 0 0 0 0 Jens Holstein2 12,693 0 10,031 0 13,677 –Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D.3 7,259 0 0 0 0 – Total 27,149 0 11,881 0 13,677 9,047 1 Roland Wandeler, Ph.D., became a member of the Management Board of MorphoSys AG 4 Frank Morich, M.D., resigned as a member of the Supervisory Board with effect from April with effect as of May 5, 2020. 11, 2020. Changes in the number of shares after his departure from the Management 2 Jens Holstein resigned as a member of the Management Board with effect from the end Board are not presented. of November 13, 2020. Changes in the number of shares after his departure from the 5 Adjustment based on defined performance criteria. For performance criteria that have Management Board are not presented. not yet been met, a target achievement of 100% is assumed. 3 Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D., resigned as a member of the Management Board with effect 6 Allocations are made as soon as the transfer of performance shares within the six-month from the end of February 29, 2020. Changes in the number of shares after his departure exercise period after the end of the four-year waiting period has expired. from the Management Board are not presented.

Group Management Report Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance 126 The members of our Supervisory Board do not hold stock op- in accordance with the requirements set forth in the relevant tions, performance share units, convertible bonds or perfor- legal provisions (Article 19 [1a] of the Market Abuse Regulation mance shares. (MAR)). Managers’ Transactions During the reporting year, MorphoSys received notifications The members of the Management Board and the Supervisory pursuant to Article 19 (1a) MAR, which are shown in the table Board of MorphoSys AG, as well as persons closely associated below. with them, are required to disclose trading in MorphoSys shares Table 19   Managers Transactions 2020 Party Subject to the Notification Date of Aggregated Aggregated Place of Require- Transaction ment Function in 2019 Type of Transaction Share Price Volume Transaction Disposal of shares (performance shares) from the expiring long-term incentive (LTI) program 2016 as part of his remuner-Chief ation as member of the Management Financial Board; Mr. Holstein received a total of Jens Holstein Officer 05/10/2020 13,677 shares under this program 99.04 € 445.676,26 € Xetra Disposal of shares (performance shares) from the expiring long-term incentive (LTI) program 2016 as part of his remuner-Chief ation as member of the Management Financial Board; Mr. Holstein received a total of Jens Holstein Officer 02/10/2020 13,677 shares under this program 97.99 € 440.952,04 € Xetra Allocation of 13,677 shares as part his re-Chief muneration as member of the Manage-Financial ment Board (Long-Term Incentive Pro- Not Not Outside a Jens Holstein Officer 21/04/2020 gram 2016) (issuer’s own shares) numerable numerable trading venue Acceptance of 24,911 stock options to subscribe for up to two shares each within Chief the compensation as a Management Jean-Paul Executive Board Member (Stock Option Program Not Not Outside a Kress, M.D. Officer 21/04/2020 2020) numerable numerable trading venue Acceptance of 11,501 stock options to subscribe for up to two shares each within Chief the compensation as a Management Financial Board Member (Stock Option Program Not Not Outside a Jens Holstein Officer 21/04/2020 2020) numerable numerable trading venue Acceptance of 11,501 stock options to Chief subscribe for up to two shares each within Research & the compensation as a Management Malte Peters, Development Board Member (Stock Option Program Not Not Outside a M.D. Officer 21/04/2020 2020) numerable numerable trading venue

Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance Group Management Report Statements 127 Financial Avoiding Conflicts of Interest We also had our technical security controls reviewed for vulner-The members of the Management Board and the Supervisory abilities by external security experts and our employees were Board are obligated to refrain from actions that could lead to trained to gain an awareness of their shared responsibility and conflicts of interest with their responsibilities at MorphoSys AG. essential contribution to IT security in our Company. Such transactions or secondary activities of the Management Board must be disclosed to the Supervisory Board without delay Information on the Internal Control and Risk and require the Supervisory Board’s approval. The Supervisory Management System with Regard to the Ac-Board in turn must inform the Annual General Meeting of any counting Process under Section 289 (4) and conflicts of interest that arise and disclose how they were dealt Section 315 (4) HGB with. No conflict of interest arose in the Supervisory Board in In the 2020 financial year, we completed a routine update of the the 2020 financial year. documentation for our existing internal control and risk management system, which helps us maintain adequate internal Share Repurchases control over financial reporting and ensures the availability of By resolution of the Annual General Meeting on May 23, 2014, key controls to report financial figures as precisely and accu-MorphoSys was authorized, in accordance with Section 71 (1) rately as possible. We also expanded this system based on the no. 8 of the German Stock Corporation Act (AktG), to repur- SOX regulations (Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, Section 404). chase treasury shares in an amount of up to 10 % of the existing COSO (Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway share capital up to and including April 30, 2019. Following the Commission) defines the corresponding COSO framework (“In-authorization’s expiry, no new authorization was proposed to the ternal Control – Integrated Framework”). We use this frame-2020 Annual General Meeting; therefore, no such authorization work, which is the most commonly used framework for the incurrently exists. ternal control over financial reporting. Information Technology System constraints make it impossible to give absolute assur-The strategic alignment of our IT infrastructure and processes ance that internal controls will always prevent or completely coupled with our fundamental business continuity measures detect all misrepresentations made in the context of financial made it possible to transition to remote working due to COVID 19 reporting. Internal controls can only provide reasonable assur-without any problems or restrictions to our business activities. ance that financial reporting is reliable and verify that the fi-nancial statements were prepared in accordance with the appli-Our commercial supply chain for Monjuvi was implemented in cable IFRS standards endorsed by the European Union (EU) for the first half of 2019 using SAP Business ByDesign and other external purposes. systems. The development of our sales platform was completed in a short amount of time and with great success to coincide The consolidated financial statements are subjected to numerous with the market launch of Monjuvi. We also launched and suc- preparation, review and control processes so that they can be cessfully completed various digital projects to introduce not reported promptly to the market and to shareholders. To accom-only new business processes but also digitize existing business plish this, our executives have a coordinated plan for which all processes even more. Various components of the digital work- internal and external resources are made available. We also use place were also optimized to further enhance remote working a strict principle of double-checking to ensure the accuracy of capabilities going forward and ensure they remain an integral the key financial ratios reported and the underlying execution part of our modern working environment. of all accounting processes. Numerous rules and guidelines are also followed to ensure the strict separation of the planning, With the shift to remote working, IT security and compliance posting and execution of financial transactions. This functional became even more important areas of information technology separation of processes is ensured by all of our operating IT in the reporting year. For this reason and in an eï¬€ort to opti- systems we use through an appropriate assignment of rights. mize our cyber defense measures, we consolidated several of External service providers regularly review the implementation our platforms within the area of IT security. of and compliance with these guidelines and the eï¬ƒciency of the accounting processes. Our internal Computer Emergency Response Team (CERT) has not detected any serious security incidents during the reporting year.

Group Management Report Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance 128 Predicting future events is not the task of our internal control Compliance Management Program and risk management system. Our risk management system The “Separate Non-Financial Group Report”* sets out the basic does, however, ensure that business risks are detected and mechanisms of our compliance management program (CMP). assessed early. The risks identified are eliminated or at least The report is available on our website https://csr.morphosys. brought to an acceptable level using appropriate corrective com/2020. measures. Special attention is given to risks that could jeopardize the Company. The identification and assessment of compliance risks are an important part of the CMP and are incorporated into the pro-The Management Board ensures that risks are always dealt with gram’s overall strategic development. Our main compliance-rel-responsibly and keeps the Supervisory Board informed of all evant risk areas are evaluated using a systematic approach and existing risks and their development. Detailed information on taking into account our current business strategy and priorities. our risks and opportunities can be found in the section “Risk During the reporting year, we carried out an annual compliance and Opportunity Report.” risk assessment that included anti-bribery and other relevant risk areas. Risk mitigation measures were initiated for the ar-Accounting and External Audit eas of action identified. Within the scope of the CMP, employ-We prepare our annual financial statements in accordance with ees are given the opportunity to report suspected breaches of the provisions of the German Commercial Code (HGB) and the law within the MorphoSys Group in a protected manner through Stock Corporation Act (AktG). the MorphoSys Integrity Line reporting system. In addition to an annual compliance risk analysis, we have developed other The consolidated financial statements are prepared in accor- appropriate guidelines and have monitored compliance. In or-dance with International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) der to prevent compliance breaches, employees were routinely and in compliance with the recommendations of the Interna- trained in topics relevant for compliance. For the first time, an tional Financial Reporting Standards Interpretations Commit- e-learning on the Code of Conduct has been successfully com-tee (IFRS IC). We have applied all standards and interpretations pleted by a vast majority of the workforce. that were in force on December 31, 2020 and adopted by the EU into European law. As of December 31, 2020, there were no In November 2020, MorphoSys launched a compliance campaign standards or interpretations with an impact on our consoli- involving its entire workforce under the motto “Integrity in All dated financial statements as of December 31, 2020 and 2019 We Do.” The tone from the top was further developed with the that had entered into force but had not yet been adopted into messages from the Chief Executive Officer, the Chief Research European law. Therefore, our consolidated financial statements and Development Officer, the Chief Operating Officer and other comply with both the IFRS published by the International Ac- leaders. counting Standards Board (IASB) and the IFRS adopted by the EU. In addition, our consolidated financial statements take into Compliance-related discussions and analyses at all levels of the account the supplementary provisions of German commercial Company lead to a continuous improvement in managing and law that are to be applied in accordance with Section 315e (1) of mitigating risk at MorphoSys. the German Commercial Code (HGB). In conjunction with the EU General Data Protection Regulation For the election of our auditor, the Audit Committee of the Super- (Regulation [EU] 2016/679 – “GDPR”), which entered into force visory Board submits a nomination proposal to the Supervisory on May 25, 2018, we have implemented various procedures Board. At the 2020 Annual General Meeting, Pricewaterhouse- since 2018 to ensure compliance with the GDPR. Coopers GmbH Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft was appointed ›› see figure 10 – Compliance Management Program (CMP) (page 129) as auditor for the 2020 financial year. As proof of its independence, the auditor submitted an Independence Declaration to Internal Audit Department the Supervisory Board. The lead auditor of these consolidated Our Internal Audit department is an essential element of the financial statements was Holger Lutz, who has audited the con- Corporate Governance structure. The department assists us solidated financial statements since 2019. in accomplishing our objectives by prescribing a systematic approach to evaluating and improving the eï¬€ectiveness of our PricewaterhouseCoopers GmbH has been our auditor since the risk management, internal control and other corporate gover-2011 financial year. Information on audit-related fees and all nance processes. The accounting and consulting firms KPMG other fees provided by PricewaterhouseCoopers GmbH to us and Protiviti were appointed in 2020 as co-sourcing partners during the 2020 financial year can be found in Note 7.1. for the internal auditing process. * This information is not part of the management report that is subject to audit.

Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance Group Management Report Statements 129 Financial Figure 10   Compliance Management Program (CMP) Code of Credo Conduct Chief Executive reports to Offi c er Head of Chairperson of the reports, if Audit Committee required, to Global Compliance General Counsel, reports to Member of the Executive Committee leading the global CMP and managing the interfaces between diff erent compliance streams Compliance Risk Management Review and Transparency Approval of Key & Initiatives Disclosure Monitoring & Compliance Continuous Compliance Committees Improvement Management Program Anti-Bribery due Compliance Diligence Documents of Third Parties Trainings & Awareness Integrity Line

Group Management Report Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance 130 The Internal Audit department executes a risk-based audit plan Voting rights restrictions may also arise from the provisions of that includes the requirements and recommendations of the the German Stock Corporation Act (AktG), such as those under Management Board, as well as those of the Supervisory Board’s Section 136 AktG, or the provisions for treasury stock under Audit Committee. The Internal Audit department is also re- Section 71b AktG. sponsible for performing management testing in accordance with the requirements of the U.S. Sarbanes-Oxley Act, Section Shareholdings in Common Stock Exceeding 404 (SOX). This procedure involves independently testing the 10 % of Voting Rights appropriateness and effectiveness of internal controls in the We are not aware of nor have we been notified of any direct or business processes relevant to financial reporting. indirect interests in the Company’s common stock that exceed 10 % of the voting rights. Our Internal Audit department informs the relevant members of the Executive Committee about the outcome of each internal Shares with Special Rights Conferring Powers audit. The Head of Internal Audit reports to the Audit Commit- of Control tee of the Supervisory Board on the results of the internal au- Shares with special rights conferring powers of control do not dits and SOX management testing twice a year or immediately exist. if necessary. Control over Voting Rights with Regard to Three audits were carried out in the year 2020. Some areas for Employee Ownership of Capital action were identified resulting in the adoption of correspond- Employees who hold shares in the Company exercise their voting corrective plans of action. The internal audit plan for 2021 ing rights directly in accordance with the statutory provisions envisages three audits. and the Articles of Association, as do other shareholders. Appointment and Dismissal of Management Disclosures under Section 289a (1), Board Members and Amendments to the Section 315a (1) HGB and Explana- Articles of Association tory Report of the Management The number of Management Board members, their appointment and dismissal, and the nomination of the Chief Executive Oï¬ƒcer Board under Section 176 (1) Sen- are determined by the Supervisory Board in accordance with tence 1 AktG Section 6 of the Articles of Association and Section 84 AktG. Our Management Board currently consists of the Chief Executive Oï¬ƒcer and three other members. Management Board members Composition Of Common Stock may be appointed for a maximum term of five years. Reappoint-On December 31, 2020, the Company’s common stock amounted ments or extensions in the term of office are allowed for a max-to € 32,890,046.00 and was divided into 32,890,046 no-par- imum term of five years in each case. The Supervisory Board value bearer shares. With the exception of the 131,414 treasury may revoke the appointment of a Management Board member shares held by the Company, these bearer shares possess vot- or the nomination of a Chief Executive Officer for good cause as ing rights, whereby each share grants one vote at the Annual defined under Section 84 (3) AktG. If a required member of the General Meeting. The Company’s share capital recorded in the Management Board is absent, one will be appointed by the court commercial register as of December 31, 2020, amounted to in cases of urgency under Section 85 AktG. € 32,865,399.00 and was divided into 32,865,399 no-par-value bearer shares. This amount of share capital does not yet reflect As a rule, the Articles of Association can only be amended by a the increase in share capital or the number of shares resulting resolution of the Annual General Meeting in accordance with from the exercise of 24,647 conversion rights from convertible Section 179 (1) sentence 1 AktG. Under Section 179 (2) sentence bonds in 2020. On January 18, 2021, the Supervisory Board of 2 AktG in conjunction with Section 20 of the Articles of Associ-the Company resolved to amend the wording of the Articles of ation, our Annual General Meeting resolves amendments to the Association to reflect the higher share capital of € 32,890,046.00, Articles of Association generally through a simple majority of which was registered with the commercial register on Febru- the votes cast and a simple majority of the common stock rep-ary 4, 2021. resented. If the law stipulates a higher mandatory majority of votes or capital, this shall be applied. Amendments to the Arti-Restrictions Affecting Voting Rights and the cles of Association that only aï¬€ect their wording can be resolved Transfer of Shares by the Supervisory Board in accordance with Section 179 (1) Our Management Board is not aware of any restrictions that sentence 2 AktG in conjunction with Section 12 (3) of the Arti-may aï¬€ect voting rights or the transfer of shares, or any restric- cles of Association. tions that may emerge from agreements between shareholders.

Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance Group Management Report Statements 131 Financial Power of the Management Board to Issue bonds with conversion or warrant rights, whose authoriza-Shares tion basis exists on the effective date of these authoriza-The Management Board’s power to issue shares is granted un- tions, to the extent the bonds with conversion or warrant der Section 5 (5) through (6i) of the Company’s Articles of Asso- rights were issued with the exclusion of the subscription ciation and the statutory provisions. The Supervisory Board is rights of the shareholders (unless they service the entitle-authorized to amend the wording of the Articles of Association ments of members of the Management Board and/or emin accordance with the scope of the capital increase from condi- ployees under employee participation programs). tional or authorized capital. b) Pursuant to Section 5 (6) of the Articles of Association, the 1. Authorized Capital Management Board is authorized with the Supervisory In the case of an authorized capital increase, the Manage- Board’s consent to increase the Company’s share capital ment Board is authorized, with the Supervisory Board’s con- against contribution in cash on one or several occasions by sent, to determine the further details of the capital increase a total of up to € 3,286,539.00 by issuing up to 3,286,539 and its implementation. new no-par-value bearer shares until and including May 26, 2025 (Authorized Capital 2020-I). a) Pursuant to Section 5 (5) of the Articles of Association, the Management Board is authorized with the Supervisory Shareholders are principally entitled to subscription rights. Board’s consent to increase the Company’s share capital The shares may also be subscribed to by one or several against contribution in cash and/or contribution in kind credit institutions with the obligation to offer the shares to on one or several occasions by up to € 11,768,314.00 by shareholders for subscription. The Management Board is, issuing up to 11,768,314 new, no-par-value bearer shares however, authorized to exclude shareholder subscription until and including the date of April 30, 2023 (Authorized rights with the Supervisory Board’s consent in the follow-Capital 2018-I). ing cases: aa) to the extent such exclusion is necessary to avoid frac- When executing capital increases, shareholders are prin- tional shares; or cipally entitled to subscription rights. The shares may also bb) if the issue price of the new shares is not significantly be subscribed to by one or several credit institutions with below the market price of shares of the same class al-the obligation to offer the shares to shareholders for sub- ready listed and the total number of shares issued scription. With the Supervisory Board’s consent, the Man- against contribution in cash, excluding subscription agement Board is, however, authorized to exclude share- rights, during the term of this authorization does not holders’ subscription rights. exceed 10 % of the common stock on the date this au- aa) in the case of a capital increase against contribution thorization takes eï¬€ect or at the time it is exercised, in in cash, to the extent necessary to avoid fractional accordance with or in the respective application of shares; or Section 186 (3) sentence 4 AktG. bb) in the case of a capital increase against contribution in kind; or The total number of shares to be issued via capital increases cc) in the case of a capital increase against contribution in against contribution in cash, excluding subscription rights cash to the extent the new shares shall be placed on a and based on the authorizations mentioned above shall not foreign stock exchange in the context of a new listing. exceed 10 % of the share capital when calculated based on the authorizations’ effective date or exercise, whichever The total number of shares to be issued via a capital in- amount is lower. The aforementioned 10 % limit shall increase against contribution in cash and/or in kind, exclud- clude (i) treasury shares sold with exclusion of subscrip-ing subscription rights and based on the authorizations tion rights after the eï¬€ective date of these authorizations mentioned above, shall not exceed 20 % of the share capi- (unless they service the entitlements of members of exec-tal, when calculated based on the authorizations’ effective utive management bodies and/or employees of the Com-date or exercise, whichever amount is lower. The 20 % limit pany and its aï¬ƒliated companies under employee partici-mentioned above shall take into account (i) treasury shares pation programs), (ii) shares to be issued with the exclusion sold with the exclusion of subscription rights after the ef- of subscription rights during the eï¬€ective period of these fective date of these authorizations (unless they service authorizations from other authorized capital existing on the the entitlements of members of the Management Board eï¬€ective date of these authorizations (unless they service and/or employees under employee participation programs), the entitlements of members of executive management (ii) shares that are issued excluding subscription rights bodies and/or employees of the Company and its aï¬ƒliated during the eï¬€ective period of these authorizations from companies under employee participation programs), as other authorized capital existing on the eï¬€ective date of well as (iii) shares to be issued during the eï¬€ectiveness of these authorizations, and (iii) shares to be issued during these authorizations to service bonds with conversion or the eï¬€ective period of these authorizations to service warrant rights, whose authorization basis exists on the

Group Management Report Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance 132 effective date of these authorizations, to the extent the previous financial year, provided they were issued before bonds with conversion or warrant rights were issued with the start of the Company’s Annual General Meeting, or as the exclusion of shareholders’ subscription rights (unless of the beginning of the financial year in which they were they service the entitlements of members of executive issued. management bodies and/or employees of the Company and its aï¬ƒliated companies under employee participation On October 13, 2020, the Management Board, with the Su-programs). pervisory Board’s consent, resolved to issue convertible bonds in an amount totaling up to € 325,000,000.00, ma- c) Pursuant to Article 5 (6h) of the Articles of Association, turing in October 2025. The convertible bonds may be con-the Management Board is authorized with the consent of verted into up to approximately 2.65 million new and/or the Supervisory Board to increase the Company’s share existing shares. The issue of the convertible bonds is based capital on one or several occasions by a total of up to on Conditional Capital 2016-I. The subscription rights of € 159,197.00 by issuing up to 159,197 new no-par-value the Company’s shareholders were excluded. bearer shares against cash contributions and/or contributions in kind until and including April 30, 2024 (Autho- b) Pursuant to Section 5 (6e) of the Articles of Association, rized Capital 2019-I). The subscription rights of sharehold- the Company’s share capital is increased conditionally by ers are excluded. The Authorized Capital 2019-I serves the up to € 13,415.00 through the issue of up to 13,415 new purpose of delivering shares of the Company against the no-par-value bearer shares of the Company (Conditional contribution of payment claims resulting from Restricted Capital 2008-III). The conditional capital increase will Stock Units (RSUs) in order to fulfill RSUs that were only be executed to the extent that holders of convertible granted in accordance with the terms and conditions of bonds, which have been issued, exercise their conversion the Company’s Restricted Stock Unit Program (RSUP) ex- rights for conversion into ordinary shares of the Company. clusively to senior managers and employees (including The new shares participate in the Company’s profits from directors and officers) of MorphoSys US Inc. The issue the beginning of the financial year for which there has price of the new shares must amount to at least € 1.00 and been no resolution by the Annual General Meeting on the may be paid either by way of a cash contribution and/or appropriation of profits at the time of their issue. The Man-contribution in kind, including in particular the contribu- agement Board shall be authorized, with the consent of the tion of claims against the Company under the RSUP. The Supervisory Board, to establish additional details regard-Management Board is authorized with the consent of the ing the conditional capital increase and its execution. Supervisory Board to determine the further details of the capital increase and its implementation; this also includes c) Pursuant to Section 5 (6g) of the Articles of Association, the determining the profit entitlement of the new shares, share capital is increased conditionally by up to € 995,162.00 which, in deviation from Section 60 (2) of the German through the issue of up to 995,162 new no-par-value bearer Stock Corporation Act (AktG), may also participate in the shares of the Company (Conditional Capital 2016-III). The profit of an already completed fiscal year. conditional capital serves to meet the obligations of subscription rights that have been issued and exercised based 2. Conditional Capital on the authorization resolved by the Annual General Meet- a) Pursuant to Section 5 (6b) of the Articles of Association, ing of June 2, 2016 under Agenda Item 9 letter a). The condi-the Company’s share capital is conditionally increased by tional capital increase will only be executed to the extent up to € 5,307,536.00 through the issue of up to 5,307,536 that holders of subscription rights exercise their right to no-par-value bearer shares (Conditional Capital 2016-I). subscribe to shares of the Company. The shares will be The conditional capital increase serves solely as a means to issued at the exercise price set in each case as the issue grant new shares to the holders of conversion or warrant price in accordance with Agenda Item 9 letter a) subpara-rights, which will be issued by the company or companies graph (8) of the Annual General Meeting’s resolution dated in which the Company has a direct or indirect majority June 2, 2016; Section 9 (1) AktG remains unaï¬€ected. The interest according to the authorizing resolution of the new shares are entitled to dividends for the first time for the Annual General Meeting on June 2, 2016, under Agenda financial year for which there has been no resolution by the Item 7 letter a). The shares will be issued at the respective Annual General Meeting on the appropriation of profits at conversion or exercise price to be determined in accor- the time of the shares’ issue. The Management Board, and dance with the resolution above. The conditional capital the Supervisory Board where members of the Manage-increase will only be carried out to the extent that the hold- ment Board are concerned, is authorized to determine the ers of conversion or warrant rights exercise these rights or additional detail of the conditional capital increase and its fulfill conversion obligations under such bonds. The shares execution. will be entitled to dividends as of the beginning of the

Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance Group Management Report Statements 133 Financial d) Pursuant to Section 5 (6i) of the Articles of Association, Furthermore, in case of a termination due to a change of control, the Company’s share capital is increased conditionally by all granted stock options, performance shares and other compa-up to € 1,314,615.00 by issuing up to 1,314,615 new no-par rable direct or indirect interests in MorphoSys with compensa-value bearer shares (Conditional Capital 2020-I). The con- tion character will vest immediately and may be exercised after ditional capital serves to fulfill subscription rights that the statutory vesting periods and blackout periods have expired. were issued and exercised on the basis of the authorization resolved by the Annual General Meeting on May 27, 2020, Following a change of control, some members of the Senior under Agenda Item 11, letter a). The conditional capital in- Management Group may terminate their employment contracts crease will only be implemented to the extent that holders and demand a severance payment in the amount of one annual of subscription rights exercise their subscription rights to gross fixed salary and the full contractual bonus for the calen-subscribe to shares of the Company. The shares will be dar year in which the termination is eï¬€ected. A target achieve-issued at the exercise price determined in accordance ment rate of 100 % is applied. In such a case, all stock options with the resolution of the Annual General Meeting of May and performance shares granted will vest immediately and may 27, 2020, under Agenda Item 11, letter a) subparagraph (8) be exercised after the statutory vesting periods and blackout as the issue price; Section9 (1) AktG remains unaï¬€ected. periods have expired. The following cases are considered as a The new shares are entitled to dividends for the first time change of control: (i) MorphoSys transfers all or substantially all for the financial year for which, at the time of their issue, no of its corporate assets to a non-aï¬ƒliated company, (ii) MorphoSys resolution by the Annual General Meeting on the appro- merges with a non-aï¬ƒliated company, (iii) MorphoSys AG as a priation of the accumulated profit has yet been passed. controlled company becomes a party to an agreement pursuant The Management Board, or, insofar as members of the to Section 291 of the German Stock Corporation Act (AktG) or Management Board are aï¬€ected, the Supervisory Board MorphoSys is integrated in accordance with Section 319 of the are authorized to determine the further details of the con- German Stock Corporation Act (AktG), or (iv) a shareholder or ditional capital increase and its implementation. third party directly or indirectly holds 30 % or more of the voting rights of MorphoSys, or at least 30 % of the voting rights are Power of Management Board to Repurchase attributed to the shareholder or third party. Shares The authorization granted by the Company’s Annual General Meeting on May 23, 2014 expired on April 30, 2019. As a result, the Management Board is not currently authorized to repurchase the Company’s shares. Material Agreements Made by the Company that Fall under the Condition of a Change of Control after a Takeover Bid A change of control as a result of a takeover bid could have an impact on our convertible bond issued in October 2020, the underlying contract of which contains customary change-of-control clauses. According to these clauses, bondholders can demand early repayment of the outstanding amounts in the event of a change of control. The Company has not entered into any further material agreements that are subject to a change of control following a take-over bid. Compensation Agreements Concluded by the Company with Management Board Members and Employees in the Event of a Takeover Bid In accordance with the service contracts in force during the reporting period, the members of the Management Board may terminate their service contracts following a change of control and demand the fixed salary and annual bonus still outstanding until the end of the regular term of the service contract, but at least 200 % of the annual gross fixed salary and annual bonus.

Financial Statements Contents 134 03 Financial Statements

Statements Financial 136 Consolidated Statement of Profit or Loss (IFRS) 137 Consolidated Statement of Comprehensive Income (IFRS) 138 Consolidated Balance Sheet (IFRS) 140 Consolidated Statement of Changes in Stockholders’ Equity (IFRS) 142 Consolidated Statement of Cash Flows (IFRS) Notes 144 General Information 144 Summary of Significant Accounting Policies 167 Segment Reporting 170 Collaboration and License Agreement with Incyte 172 Notes to the Profit or Loss Statement 178 Notes to the Balance Sheet Assets 186 Notes to the Balance Sheet Equity and Liabilities 189 Remuneration System for the Management Board and Employees of the Group 203 Additional Notes

Financial Statements Consolidated Statement of Profit or Loss (IFRS) 136 Consolidated Statement of Profit or Loss (IFRS) in € Note 2020 2019 2018 Revenues 2.7.1, 5.1 327,698,465 71,755,303 76,442,505 Operating Expenses Cost of Sales 2.7.2, 5.2.1 (9,174,146) (12,085,198) (1,796,629) Research and Development 2.7.2, 5.2.2 (141,426,832) (108,431,600) (106,397,017) Selling 2.7.2, 5.2.3 (107,742,684) (22,671,481) (6,382,510) General and Administrative 2.7.2, 5.2.4 (51,403,257) (36,664,666) (21,927,731) Total Operating Expenses (309,746,919) (179,852,945) (136,503,887) Other Income 2.7.3, 5.3 14,584,829 804,739 1,644,632 Other Expenses 2.7.4, 5.3 (5,175,177) (626,678) (689,343) Earnings before Interest and Taxes (EBIT) 27,361,198 (107,919,581) (59,106,093) Finance Income 2.7.5, 5.3 92,047,221 2,799,473 417,886 Finance Expenses 2.7.5, 5.3 (96,214,409) (2,272,369) (753,588) Income from Reversals of Impairment Losses / (Impairment Losses) on Financial Assets 2.3.1 (702,000) 872,000 (1,035,000) Income Tax Benefit 2.7.6, 5.4 75,398,566 3,506,419 4,304,674 Consolidated Net Profit / (Loss) 97,890,576 (103,014,058) (56,172,121) Earnings per Share, Basic and Diluted 2.7.7, 5.5 – (3.26) (1.79) Earnings per Share, Basic 2.7.7, 5.5 3.01 – –Earnings per Share, diluted 2.7.7, 5.5 2.97 – –Shares Used in Computing Earnings per Share, Basic and Diluted 2.7.7, 5.5 – 31,611,155 31,338,948 Shares Used in Computing Earnings per Share, Basic 2.7.7, 5.5 32,525,644 – –Shares Used in Computing Earnings per Share, Diluted 2.7.7, 5.5 33,167,852 – – The Notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.

Consolidated Statement of Comprehensive Income (IFRS) Financial Statements 137 Consolidated Statement of Comprehensive Income (IFRS) in € 2020 2019 2018 Consolidated Net Profit / (Loss) 97,890,576 (103,014,058) (56,172,121) Items that will not be reclassified to Profit or Loss Change in Fair Value of Shares through Other Comprehensive Income 1,260,132 (1,160,160) (127,458) Items that may be reclassified to Profit or Loss Foreign Currency Translation Differences from Consolidation 2,247,005 75,332 (83,432) Other Comprehensive Income 3,507,137 (1,084,828) (210,890) Total Comprehensive Income 101,397,713 (104,098,886) (56,383,011) The Notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.

Financial Statements Consolidated Balance Sheet (IFRS) 138 Consolidated Balance Sheet (IFRS) in € Note 12/31/2020 12/31/2019 Assets Current Assets Cash and Cash Equivalents 2.8.1, 6.1 109,794,680 44,314,050 Financial Assets at Fair Value through Profit or Loss 2.8.1, 6.2 287,937,972 20,454,949 Other Financial Assets at Amortized Cost 2.8.1, 6.2 649,713,342 207,735,195 Accounts Receivable 2.8.2, 6.3 83,354,276 15,081,702 Financial Assets from Collaborations 2.8.3, 4 42,870,499 0 Income Tax Receivables 2.8.2, 6.6 401,826 145,817 Other Receivables 2.8.2, 6.4 2,159,475 1,613,254 Inventories, Net 2.8.4, 6.5 9,962,657 288,212 Prepaid Expenses and Other Current Assets 2.8.5, 6.6 20,621,493 14,059,627 Total Current Assets 1,206,816,220 303,692,806 Non-current Assets Property, Plant and Equipment, Net 2.8.6, 6.7 6,323,753 4,652,838 Right-of-Use Assets, Net 2.8.7, 6.8 44,417,767 43,160,253 Patents, Net 2.8.8, 6.9 1,937,856 2,981,282 Licenses, Net 2.8.8, 6.9 11,835,619 2,350,002 Licenses for Marketed Products 2.8.8, 6.9 55,485,886 0 In-process R&D Programs 2.8.8, 6.9 0 35,683,709 Software, Net 2.8.8, 6.9 115,788 107,137 Goodwill 2.8.8, 6.9 1,619,233 3,676,233 Other Financial Assets at Amortized Cost, Net of Current Portion 2.8.1, 6.2 196,587,542 84,922,176 Shares at Fair Value through Other Comprehensive Income 2.8.9, 6.10 0 14,076,836 Deferred Tax Asset 2.9.8, 5.4, 6.11 132,806,097 0 Prepaid Expenses and Other Assets, Net of Current Portion 2.8.10, 6.12 1,567,259 1,136,030 Total Non-current Assets 452,696,800 192,746,496 Total Assets 1,659,513,020 496,439,302 The Notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.

Consolidated Balance Sheet (IFRS) Financial Statements 139 in € Note 12/31/2020 12/31/2019 Liabilities and Stockholders’ Equity Current Liabilities Accounts Payable and Accruals 2.9.2, 7.1 128,554,203 57,041,902 Current Portion of Lease Liabilities 2.8.6, 6.7 3,055,608 2,515,097 Tax Liabilities 2.9.3, 7.2 65,727,675 94,732 Other Provisions 2.9.2, 7.2 0 323,000 Current Portion of Contract Liability 2.9.4, 7.3 2,543,903 1,570,801 Current Portion of Convertible Bond 2.9.6, 7.5 422,945 0 Current Portion of Financial Liabilities from Collaborations 2.9.9, 4 154,895 0 Convertible Bonds due to Related Parties 2.9.7 0 12,324 Total Current Liabilities 200,459,229 61,557,856 Non-current Liabilities Lease Liabilities, Net of Current Portion 2.8.6, 6.7 41,963,794 40,041,581 Other Provisions, Net of Current Portion 2.9.2, 7.2 1,527,756 23,166 Contract Liability, Net of Current Portion 2.9.5, 7.3 71,829 114,927 Deferred Tax Liability 2.9.8, 5.4, 7.4 5,057,465 0 Convertible Bond, Net of Current Portion 2.9.6, 7.5 272,759,970 0 Financial Liabilities from Collaborations, Net of Current Portion 2.9.9, 4 516,350,960 0 Total Non-current Liabilities 837,731,774 40,179,674 Total Liabilities 1,038,191,003 101,737,530 Stockholders’ Equity Common Stock 2.9.10, 7.6.1 32,890,046 31,957,958 Ordinary Shares Issued (32,890,046 and 31,957,958 for 2020 and 2019, respectively) Ordinary Shares Outstanding (32,758,632 and 31,732,158 for 2020 and 2019, respectively) Treasury Stock (131,414 and 225,800 shares for 2020 and 2019, respectively), at Cost 2.9.10, 7.6.4 (4,868,744) (8,357,250) Additional Paid-in Capital 2.9.10, 7.6.5 748,978,506 628,176,568 Other Comprehensive Income Reserve 2.9.10, 7.6.6 2,211,419 (1,295,718) Accumulated Deficit 2.9.10, 7.6.7 (157,889,210) (255,779,786) Total Stockholders’ Equity 621,322,017 394,701,772 Total Liabilities and Stockholders’ Equity 1,659,513,020 496,439,302 The Notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.

Financial Statements Consolidated Statement of Changes in Stockholders’ Equity (IFRS) 140 Consolidated Statement of Changes in Stockholders’ Equity (IFRS) Common Stock Shares € Balance as of January 1, 2018 29,420,785 29,420,785 Capital Increase, Net of Issuance Cost of € 15,038,362 2,386,250 2,386,250 Compensation Related to the Grant of Stock Options, Convertible Bonds and Performance Shares 0 0 Exercise of Convertible Bonds Issued to Related Parties 32,537 32,537 Transfer of Treasury Stock for Long-Term Incentive Programs 0 0 Transfer of Treasury Stock to Members of the Management Board 0 0 Reserves: Change in Fair Value of Shares through Other Comprehensive Income 0 0 Foreign Currency Translation Differences from Consolidation 0 0 Consolidated Net Loss 0 0 Total Comprehensive Income 0 0 Balance as of December 31, 2018 31,839,572 31,839,572 Balance as of January 1, 2019 31,839,572 31,839,572 Compensation Related to the Grant of Stock Options and Performance Shares 8.1, 8.3 0 0 Exercise of Convertible Bonds Issued to Related Parties 118,386 118,386 Transfer of Treasury Stock for Long-Term Incentive Programs 8.3.1 0 0 Transfer of Treasury Stock to Related Parties 0 0 Reserves: Change in Fair Value of Shares through Other Comprehensive Income 0 0 Foreign Currency Translation Differences from Consolidation 0 0 Consolidated Net Loss 0 0 Total Comprehensive Income 0 0 Balance as of December 31, 2019 31,957,958 31,957,958 Balance as of January 1, 2020 31,957,958 31,957,958 Capital Increase, Net of Issuance Cost of € 100,370 4, 7.6.1 907,441 907,441 Equity Component of the Convertible Bond 2.9.7, 7.5, 7.6.5 0 0 Compensation Related to the Grant of Stock Options and Performance Shares 8.1, 8.3 0 0 Exercise of Convertible Bonds Issued 8.2 24,647 24,647 Transfer of Treasury Stock for Long-Term Incentive Programs 7.6.4, 8.3.2 0 0 Reserves: Change in Fair Value of Shares through Other Comprehensive Income 6.10, 7.6.6 0 0 Foreign Currency Translation Differences from Consolidation 7.6.6 0 0 Consolidated Net Profit 7.6.7 0 0 Total Comprehensive Income 0 0 Balance as of December 31, 2020 32,890,046 32,890,046 The Notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.

Consolidated Statement of Changes in Stockholders’ Equity (IFRS) Financial Statements 141 Other Com- Total Treasury Stock Additional prehensive In- Accumulated Stockholders’ Equity Paid-in Capital come Reserve Deficit Shares € € € € € 319,678 (11,826,981) 438,557,856 0 (96,593,607) 359,558,053 0 0 176,189,256 0 0 178,575,506 0 0 5,584,969 0 0 5,584,969 0 0 1,004,580 0 0 1,037,117 (17,219) 636,414 (636,414) 0 0 0 (21,423) 791,794 (791,794) 0 0 0 0 0 0 (127,458) 0 (127,458) 0 0 0 (83,432) 0 (83,432) 0 0 0 0 (56,172,121) (56,172,121) 0 0 0 (210,890) (56,172,121) (56,383,011) 281,036 (10,398,773) 619,908,453 (210,890) (152,765,728) 488,372,634 281,036 (10,398,773) 619,908,453 (210,890) (152,765,728) 488,372,634 0 0 6,654,470 0 0 6,654,470 0 0 3,655,168 0 0 3,773,554 (52,328) 1,934,043 (1,934,043) 0 0 0 (2,908) 107,480 (107,480) 0 0 0 0 0 0 (1,160,160) 0 (1,160,160) 0 0 0 75,332 0 75,332 0 0 0 0 (103,014,058) (103,014,058) 0 0 0 (1,084,828) (103,014,058) (104,098,886) 225,800 (8,357,250) 628,176,568 (1,295,718)) (255,779,786) 394,701,772 225,800 (8,357,250) 628,176,568 (1,295,718 (255,779,786) 394,701,772 0 0 79,590,657 0 0 80,498,098 0 0 36,483,050 0 0 36,483,050 0 0 7,455,761 0 0 7,455,761 0 0 760,976 0 0 785,623 (94,386) 3,488,506 (3,488,506) 0 0 0 0 0 0 1,260,132 0 1,260,132 0 0 0 2,247,005 0 2,247,005 0 0 0 0 97,890,576 97,890,576 0 0 0 3,507,137 97,890,576 101,397,713 131,414 (4,868,744) 748,978,506 2,211,419 (157,889,210) 621,322,017

Financial Statements Consolidated Statement of Cash Flows (IFRS) 142 Consolidated Statement of Cash Flows (IFRS) in € Note 2020 2019 2018 Operating Activities: Consolidated Net Profit / (Loss) 97,890,576 (103,014,058) (56,172,121) Adjustments to Reconcile Consolidated Net Profit / (Loss) to Net Cash Provided by / (Used in) Operating Activities: Impairments of Assets 6.7, 6.9 16,480,272 2,317,489 24,033,479 Depreciation and Amortization of Tangible and Intangible Assets and of Right-of-Use Assets 6.7, 6.8, 6.9 8,329,559 6,245,162 3,750,259 Net (Gain) / Loss of Financial Assets at Fair Value through Profit or Loss 6.2 13,401,584 (752,257) 79,330 Net (Gain) / Loss of Financial Assets at Amortized Cost 6.2 8,378,845 705,952 0 (Income) from Reversals of Impairments / Impairments on Financial Assets 2.3.1 702,000 (872,000) 1,035,000 Net (Gain) / Loss on Derivative Financial Instruments 6.4 4,252,171 (1,261,618) 121,717 Non Cash Effective Net Change in Financial Assets / Liabilities from Collaborations 4 (36,551,618) 0 0 Non Cash Effective Change of Financial Liabilities at Amortized Cost 7.5 2,453,561 0 0 (Income) from Reversals of Impairments on Inventories 6.5 (13,270,968) 0 0 Gain from Deconsolidation of Subsidiaries 5.3 (379,173) 0 0 Net (Gain) / Loss on Sale of Property, Plant and Equipment 0 (21,408) (24,093) Non-cash Income from Recognition of previously unrecognized Intangible Assets 6.9 0 0 (350,000) Recognition of Contract Liability 7.3 (12,500,264) (5,335,977) (1,993,763) Share-based Payment 5.2.5, 8 8,955,307 6,654,470 5,584,969 Income Tax Benefit 5.4 (75,398,566) (3,506,419) (4,304,674) Changes in Operating Assets and Liabilities: Accounts Receivable 6.3 (69,619,751) 2,667,232 (6,610,625) Inventories, Prepaid Expenses and Other Assets, Tax Receivables and Other Receivables 6.4. 6.5, 6.6 (8,485,396) (4,422,409) 545,816 Accounts Payable and Accruals, Lease Liabilities, Tax Liabilities and Other Provisions 7.1, 7.2 77,505,284 13,202,429 1,890,046 Other Liabilities 0 316,288 (2,718,825) Contract Liability 7.3 13,430,268 6,069,450 2,386,009 Income Taxes Paid (303,974) (62,560) (33,837) Net Cash Provided by / (Used in) Operating Activities 35,269,717 (81,070,234) (32,781,313) The Notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.

Consolidated Statement of Cash Flows (IFRS) Financial Statements 143 in € Note 2020 2019 2018 Investing Activities: Cash Payments to Acquire Financial Assets at Fair Value through Profit or Loss (495,970,604) (28,305,339) (84,511,324) Cash Receipts from Sales of Financial Assets at Fair Value through Profit or Loss 214,209,301 53,159,814 126,388,925 Cash Payments to Acquire Other Financial Assets at Amortized Cost (1,249,729,925) (246,461,961) (366,810,000) Cash Receipts from Sales of Other Financial Assets at Amortized Cost 686,568,082 318,720,000 149,980,211 Cash Receipts from (+) / Cash Payments for (–) Derivative Financial Instruments 6.4 (3,855,905) 931,595 (488,201) Cash Payments to Acquire Property, Plant and Equipment 6.7 (4,455,323) (3,103,330) (1,820,749) Cash Receipts from Sales of Property, Plant and Equipment 0 20,469 28,444 Cash Payments to Acquire Intangible Assets 6.9 (44,881,207) (562,314) (644,575) Cash Payments for Acquisitions of Shares at Fair Value through Other Comprehensive Income 6.10 0 (15,004,996) (9,458) Cash Receipts from Sales of Shares at Fair Value through Other Comprehensive Income 6.10 14,804,287 0 0 Cash Receipts from Sales of Subsidiaries 2,477,760 0 0 Interest Received 1,210,668 90,156 136,124 Net Cash Provided by / (Used in) Investing Activities (879,622,866) 79,484,094 (177,750,603) Financing Activities: Cash Proceeds from Issuing Shares 4, 7.6.1, 7.6.5 80,598,468 0 193,613,868 Cash Payments for Costs from Issuing Shares 7.6.5 (100,370) 0 (15,038,362) Cash Proceeds in Connection with Convertible Bonds Granted to Related Parties 8.2 773,300 3,714,361 1,020,849 Cash Receipts from Financing from Collaborations 4 510,186,974 0 0 Cash Proceeds from Issuing Convertible Bonds 7.5 319,946,211 0 0 Cash Payments for Principal Elements of Lease Payments 6.5 (2,786,972) (2,349,801) 0 Interest Paid 6.8 (1,431,487) (1,011,321) (134,269) Net Cash Provided by / (Used in) Financing Activities 907,186,124 353,239 179,462,086 Effect of Exchange Rate Differences on Cash 3,397,655 87,115 (59,463) Increase / (Decrease) in Cash and Cash Equivalents 66,230,630 (1,145,786) (31,129,293) Disposal of Cash and Cash Equivalents due to Deconsolidation of Subsidiaries (750,000) 0 0 Cash and Cash Equivalents at the Beginning of the Period 44,314,050 45,459,836 76,589,129 Cash and Cash Equivalents at the End of the Period 109,794,680 44,314,050 45,459,836 The Notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.

Financial Statements Notes 144 Notes 1 General Information The consolidated financial statements as of the reporting dates of De-cember 31, 2020 and 2019, as well as the periods from January 1 through Business Activities and the Company December 31 for the years 2020, 2019 and 2018, comprise MorphoSys AG MorphoSys AG (“the Company” or “MorphoSys”) is a commercial-stage and its subsidiaries (collectively, the “MorphoSys Group” or the “Group”). biopharmaceutical company dedicated to the discovery, development MorphoSys AG prepares the consolidated financial statements for the and commercialization of therapeutic antibodies for patients suï¬€ering largest and the smallest consolidated group. from cancer and autoimmune diseases. The Company has a proprietary portfolio of compounds and a pipeline of compounds developed In preparing the consolidated financial statements in accordance with with partners from the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry. IFRS, the Management Board is required to make certain estimates and MorphoSys was founded as a German limited liability company in assumptions, which have an effect on the amounts recognized in the July 1992. In June 1998, MorphoSys became a German stock corpora- consolidated financial statements and the accompanying notes. The tion. In March 1999, the Company completed its initial public offering actual results may differ from these estimates. The estimates and un-on Germany’s “Neuer Markt”: the segment of the Deutsche Börse desig- derlying assumptions are subject to continuous review. Any changes nated, at that time, for high-growth companies. On January 15, 2003, in estimates are recognized in the period in which the changes are MorphoSys AG was admitted to the Prime Standard segment of the made and in all relevant future periods. Frankfurt Stock Exchange. On April 18, 2018, MorphoSys completed an IPO on the Nasdaq Global Market through the issue of American All figures in this report were rounded to the nearest euro, thousand Depositary Shares (ADS). MorphoSys AG’s registered office is located euros or million euros. in Planegg (district of Munich), and the registered business address is Semmelweisstrasse 7, 82152 Planegg, Germany. The MorphoSys AG There was no material impact on the business, estimates and assump-consolidated and separate financial statements can be viewed at this tions made or the recoverability of assets as a result of COVID-19. address. The Company is registered in the Commercial Register B of the District Court of Munich under the number HRB 121023. Due to the market approval of Monjuvi, the corresponding amount reported under the balance sheet item “In-process research and development programs” was reclassified to the balance sheet item “License 2 Summary of Significant Accounting fees for marketed products” in the financial year 2020. Policies In the consolidated statement of cash flows, cash inflows and outflows for derivative financial instruments were reclassified from operating activ-2.1 Basis of and Changes in Accounting Standards ities to investing activities due to incorrect classification. In order to 2.1.1 Basis of Application provide comparable information for the previous year, the prior-year These consolidated financial statements were prepared in accordance figures were adjusted accordingly. In financial year 2019, these were with the International Financial Reporting Standards (“IFRS”), taking cash receipts of € 0.9 million and in 2018 cash payments of € 0.5 million. into account the recommendations of the International Financial Reporting Standards Interpretations Committee (IFRS IC). We have applied Unless stated otherwise, the accounting policies set out below were all standards and interpretations that were in force as of December 31, applied consistently to all periods presented in these consolidated fi-2020 and adopted by the European Union (EU). As of December 31, nancial statements. 2020, there were no standards or interpretations that aï¬€ected our consolidated financial statements for the years ended December 31, 2020, 2019 and 2018 that were in eï¬€ect, but not yet endorsed into European law. As a result, our consolidated financial statements comply with both the IFRSs published by the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) and those adopted by the EU. These consolidated financial statements also take into account the supplementary provisions under commercial law, which must be applied in accordance with Section 315e (1) of the German Commercial Code (Handelsgesetzbuch – HGB). In accordance with the regulations of the United States Securities and Exchange Commission, the statement of profit or loss is presented for a comparative period of three years. This extends beyond the comparative period of two years in accordance with the requirements of IFRS as adopted by the EU.

Notes Financial Statements 145 2.1.2 Changes in Accounting Policies and Disclosures The accounting principles applied generally correspond to the policies used in the prior year. New or Revised Standards and Interpretations Adopted for the First Time in the Financial Year Mandatory Application for Adopted by Possible financial years the European Impact on Standard / Interpretation starting on Union MorphoSys IFRS 3 (A) Business Combinations 01/01/2020 yes none IFRS 9, IAS 39 and IFRS 7 (A) Interest Rate Benchmark Reform 01/01/2020 yes none IFRS 16 (A) Covid 19-Related Rent Concessions 01/01/2020 yes none IAS 1 and IAS 8 (A) Definition of Material 01/01/2020 yes yes Amendments to References to the Conceptual Framework in   IFRS Standards 01/01/2020 yes none (A) Amendments       The eï¬€ects of the amendments to IAS 1 and IAS 8 on the consolidated financial statements are not considered material and are therefore not individually explained. New or Revised Standards and Interpretations Not Yet Mandatorily Applicable The following new or revised standards that were not yet mandatory in the reporting period or have not yet been adopted by the European Union, have not been applied prematurely. The effects on the consolidated financial statements of standards marked with “yes” are considered probable and are currently being examined by the Group. Only significant effects are described in more detail. The effects on the consolidated financial statements of the extensions to IAS 1 and IAS 8 are not considered material and, therefore, not explained separately. Standards with the comment “none” are not expected to have a material impact on the consolidated financial statements. Mandatory Application for Adopted by Possible financial years the European Impact on Standard / Interpretation starting on Union MorphoSys IFRS 3 (A) Reference to the Conceptual Framework 01/01/2022 no none IFRS 4 (A) Extension of the Temporary Exemption from Applying IFRS 9 01/01/2021 no none IFRS 9, IAS 39, IFRS 7, IFRS 4 and IFRS 16 (A) Interest Rate Benchmark Reform — Phase 2 01/01/2021 yes none IFRS 17 and IFRS 17 (A) Insurance Contracts and Amendments to IFRS 17 01/01/2023 no none IAS 1 (A) Classification of Liabilities as Current or Non-current 01/01/2023 no yes IAS 1 (A) Disclosure of Accounting policies 01/01/2023 no yes IAS 8 (A) Definition of Accounting Estimates 01/01/2023 no yes IAS 16 (A) Property, Plant and Equipment — Proceeds before Intended Use 01/01/2022 no none IAS 37 (A) Amended by Onerous Contracts — Cost of Fulfilling a Contract 01/01/2022 no none Annual Improvements to International Financial Reporting   Standards, 2018 – 2020 01/01/2022 no none (A) Amendments

Financial Statements Notes 146 2.2 Consolidation Principles The assets and liabilities of the fully consolidated international entity 2.2.1 Consolidated Companies and Scope of Consolidation are recognized using Group-wide uniform accounting and valuation MorphoSys AG, as the ultimate parent company, is located in Planegg, methods. The consolidation methods applied have not changed from near Munich. MorphoSys AG has one wholly owned subsidiary, the previous year. MorphoSys US Inc. in Boston, Massachusetts, USA (collectively referred to as the “MorphoSys Group” or the “Group”). Upon consolidation, the carrying amounts of the parent company’s investments in each subsidiary are offset against the parent’s share in the Eï¬€ective November 16, 2020, the 100 % direct investment in Lanthio equity of each subsidiary. Inter-company assets and liabilities, income Pharma B.V. (Groningen, the Netherlands) and the 100 % indirect in- and expenses, and profits or losses arising from transactions between vestment via Lanthio Pharma B.V. in LanthioPep B.V. (Groningen, the Group companies are eliminated in full. The arm’s length principle was Netherlands) were sold. The two companies were no longer included in applied to all contracts and transactions between Group companies. MorphoSys AG’s scope of consolidation as of this date. 2.2.3 Principles of Foreign Currency Translation The consolidated financial statements as of December 31, 2020, were The Group’s consolidated financial statements are presented in euros, prepared by the Management Board on March 11, 2021, by resolution which is also the parent company’s functional currency. For each entity, of the Management Board, authorized for issue, and forwarded to the the Group determines the functional currency. The items included in the Supervisory Board for review and approval. The members of the Group’s financial statements of each entity are measured using that functional Management Board are Jean-Paul Kress, M.D., as Chief Executive Oï¬ƒcer currency. (Chair of the Management Board), Sung Lee as Chief Financial Oï¬ƒcer, Malte Peters, M.D., as Chief Research and Development Oï¬ƒcer and Transactions and Balances Roland Wandeler, Ph.D., as Chief Operating Officer. Transactions in foreign currencies are initially recorded by the Group’s entities at their respective functional currency spot rates at the date the Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D., stepped down as a member of the Manage- transaction first qualifies for recognition. Monetary assets and liabilities ment Board with eï¬€ect from the end of February 29, 2020. denominated in foreign currencies are translated at the functional currency spot rates of exchange at the reporting date. Diï¬€erences arising Jens Holstein stepped down as a member of the Management Board on settlement or translation of monetary items relating to operating with eï¬€ect from the end of November 13, 2020. Sung Lee assumed the business are recognized in other income or expenses. For monetary position as Chief Financial Oï¬ƒcer on February 2, 2021. items relating to investing and financing activities, diï¬€erences are recognized in finance income or finance expenses. 2.2.2 Consolidation Methods The following Group subsidiary was included in the scope of consolida- Non-monetary items that are measured in terms of historical cost in a tion, as shown in the table below. foreign currency are translated using the exchange rates at the dates of the initial transactions. Included in Purchase of Basis of Group Companies Shares / Consolidation On consolidation, the assets and liabilities of foreign operations are Company Establishment since translated into euros at the rate of exchange prevailing at the reporting date and their statements of profit or loss are translated at exchange MorphoSys US Inc., Boston, rates prevailing at the dates of the transactions. The exchange diï¬€er-Massachusetts, USA July 2018 07/02/2018 ences arising on translation for consolidation are recognized in “other comprehensive income reserve” (equity). This subsidiary is fully consolidated as it is a direct wholly owned sub- 2.3 Financial Instruments and Financial Risk sidiary. MorphoSys controls the subsidiary due to its full power over the Management investee. Additionally, MorphoSys is subject to risk exposure and has 2.3.1 Credit Risk and Liquidity Risk rights to variable returns from its involvement with the investee. Financial instruments in which the Group may have a concentration of MorphoSys also has unlimited capacity to exert power over the investee credit and liquidity risk are mainly cash and cash equivalents, finan-to influence its returns. cial assets at fair value, with changes recognized in profit or loss, other financial assets at amortized cost, derivative financial instruments The Group does not have any entities consolidated as joint ventures and receivables. The Group’s cash and cash equivalents are mainly using the equity method, nor does it exercise a controlling influence. denominated in euros and US dollars. Financial assets at fair value, with changes recognized in profit or loss and other financial assets at amortized cost are high quality assets. Cash and cash equivalents, fi-nancial assets at fair value, with changes recognized in profit or loss, and other financial assets at amortized cost are generally held at numerous reputable financial institutions in Europe and the United States. With respect to its positions, the Group continuously monitors the finan-cial institutions that are its counterparties to the financial instruments, as well as their creditworthiness, and does not anticipate any risk of non-performance.

Notes Financial Statements 147 The changes in impairment losses for credit risks (see Note 2.4 *) recognized in the statement of profit or loss for the financial years 2020, 2019 and 2018 under the item impairment losses on financial assets were determined based on the rationale that negative values represent additions and positive values represent reversals of risk provisions. There were no impairments in the 2020 financial year. The increase in this allowance compared to January 1, 2020 was primarily the result of the increase of financial assets at amortized cost for which impairment losses are determined. *cross-reference to page 154 Simplified General Impairment Model Impairment Model Total in 000’ Stage 1 Stage 2 Stage 3 Stage 2 Stage 3 Balance as of January 1, 2019 (665) (506) 0 (90) 0 (1,261) Unused Amounts Reversed 445 427 0 90 0 962 Increase in Impairment Losses for Credit Risks recognized in Profit or Loss during the Year 0 0 0 (80) 0 (80) Change between Impairment Stages (79) 79 0 0 0 0 Amounts written off during the Year as uncollectible 0 0 0 0 0 0 Balance as of December 31, 2019 (299) 0 0 (80) 0 (379) Balance as of January 1, 2020 (299) 0 0 (80) 0 (379) Unused Amounts Reversed 299 0 0 80 0 379 Increase in Impairment Losses for Credit Risks recognized in Profit or Loss during the Year (1,001) 0 0 (424) 0 (1,425) Change between Impairment Stages 0 0 0 0 0 0 Amounts written off during the Year as uncollectible 0 0 0 0 0 0 Balance as of December 31, 2020 (1,001) 0 0 (424) 0 (1,425)

Financial Statements Notes 148 The Group recognizes impairment losses for default risks for financial assets as follows: Basis for Rec- Internal ognition of Ex- Gross Carrying Carrying Average Balance Sheet Item as of pected Credit Amount Impairment Amount Impairment December 31, 2020 Credit Rating Loss Provision (in 000’ ) (in 000’ ) (in 000’ ) Rate Expected Twelve-Month Cash and Cash Equivalents low Loss 109,797 (2) 109,795 0.0  % Expected Other Financial Assets at Twelve-Month Amortized Cost low Loss 847,300 (999) 846,301 0.1  % Lifetime Expected Accounts Receivable low Credit Losses 83,778 (424) 83,354 0.5  % Basis for Rec- Internal ognition of Ex- Gross Carrying Carrying Average Balance Sheet Item as of pected Credit Amount Impairment Amount Impairment December 31, 2019 Credit Rating Loss Provision (in 000’ ) (in 000’ ) (in 000’ ) Rate Expected Twelve-Month Cash and Cash Equivalents low Loss 44,314 0 44,314 0.0  % Expected Other Financial Assets at Twelve-Month Amortized Cost low Loss 293,958 (299) 293,659 0.1  % Lifetime Expected Accounts Receivable low Credit Losses 15,162 (80) 15,082 0.5  % The Group is also exposed to credit risk from debt instruments that are On December 31, 2018, one customer had accounted for 33 % of the measured at fair value in profit or loss. This includes the items “Finan- Group’s accounts receivable, and the top three customers in 2018 indi-cial Assets at Fair Value through Profit or Loss” and “Financial Assets vidually accounted for 65%, 25 % and 5 % of the Group’s revenue. from Collaborations”. As of December 31, 2020, the maximum credit risk corresponded to the carrying amounts of these items amounting The table below shows the accounts receivables by region as of the to 330.8 million (December 31, 2019: 20.5 million). reporting date. One of the Group’s policies requires that all customers who wish to transact business on credit undergo a credit assessment based on exter- in 12/31/2020 12/31/2019 nal ratings. Nevertheless, the Group’s revenue and accounts receivable are still subject to credit risk from customer concentration. The Group’s Europe and Asia 4,451,611 6,984,944 single most significant customer accounted for 50.1 million of ac- USA and Canada 79,326,304 8,176,758 counts receivables as of December 31, 2020 (December 31, 2019: Other 0 0 8.0 million), or 60 % of the Group’s total accounts receivable at the end Impairment (423,639) (80,000) of 2020. The Group’s top three customers individually accounted for Total 83,354,276 15,081,702 78%, 14 % and 1 % of the total revenue in 2020. As of December 31, 2019, 53 % of the Group’s accounts receivable balance On December 31, 2020 and December 31, 2019, the Group’s exposure to related to a single customer; of the total revenue in 2019, three custom- credit risk from derivative financial instruments was assessed as low. ers individually accounted for 45%, 31 % and 13%. The maximum credit risk (equal to the carrying amount) for rent deposits and other deposits on the reporting date amounted to 1.4 million (December 31, 2019: 1.0 million).

Notes Financial Statements 149 The following table shows the contractual cash flows of financial liabilities as of the reporting date. 12/31/2020 12/31/2020 12/31/2020 Less than Between One More than 12/31/2020 in ; due in One Year and Five Years Five Years Total Trade Accounts Payable 47,558,635 0 0 47,558,635 Convertible Bonds 2,031,250 333,125,000 0 335,156,250 Financial Liabilities from Collaborations 161,250 180,346,823 529,337,547 709,845,620 12/31/2019 12/31/2019 12/31/2019 Less than Between One More than 12/31/2019 in ; due in One Year and Five Years Five Years Total Trade Accounts Payable 10,655,014 0 0 10,655,014 Convertible Bonds due to Related Parties 12,324 0 0 12,324 Financial assets and financial liabilities were not netted as of Decem- In accordance with the Group’s hedging policy, highly probable cash ber 31, 2020. Currently, there is no legal right to offset amounts recog- flows and definite foreign currency receivables collectible within a nized, to settle on a net basis, or to realize an asset and settle a liability twelve-month period are tested to determine if they should be hedged. simultaneously. There were no financial instruments pledged as collat- MorphoSys had begun using foreign currency options and forwards to eral as of December 31, 2020. hedge its foreign exchange risk against US-dollar receivables in 2003. For derivatives with a positive fair value, unrealized gains are re-2.3.2 Market Risk corded in other receivables and for derivatives with a negative fair Market risk represents the risk that changes in market prices, such as value, unrealized losses are recorded in other liabilities. foreign exchange rates, interest rates or equity prices, will affect the Group’s results of operations or the value of the financial instruments As of December 31, 2020, there was no unsettled foreign exchange for-held. The Group is exposed to both currency and interest rate risks. ward agreement (December 31, 2019: one unsettled foreign exchange forward agreement; December 31, 2018: nine unsettled foreign ex-Currency Risk change forward agreements). The unrealized gross gains in prior The consolidated financial statements are prepared in euros. Both rev- years from foreign exchange forward agreements were recorded in the enues and expenses of the Group are incurred in euros and US dollars. finance result in the respective years (December 31, 2019: 0.4 mil-Throughout the year, the Group monitors the necessity to hedge for- lion; December 31, 2018: 0.1 million). eign exchange rates to minimize currency risk and addresses this risk by using derivative financial instruments.

Financial Statements Notes 150 The Group’s exposure to foreign currency risk based on the carrying amounts of the items is shown in the table below. as of December 31, 2020; in US$ Other Cash and Cash Equivalents 76,581,756 0 Financial Assets at Fair Value through Profit or Loss 115,134,211 0 Other Financial Assets at Amortized Cost 57,326,015 0 Accounts Receivable 28,455,909 0 Financial Assets from Collaborations 42,870,499 0 Restricted Cash (included in Other Assets, Net of Current Portion) 712,891 0 Accounts Payable and Accruals (51,436,436) (52,305) Financial Liabilities from Collaborations (516,505,855) 0 Total (246,861,010) (52,305) as of December 31, 2019; in US$ Other Cash and Cash Equivalents 17,913,455 0 Financial Assets at Fair Value through Profit or Loss 16,221,808 0 Other Financial Assets at Amortized Cost 41,756,008 0 Accounts Receivable 978,368 0 Restricted Cash (included in Other Assets, Net of Current Portion) 289,537 0 Accounts Payable and Accruals (4,910,130) (5,662) Gesamt 72,249,046 (5,662) Diï¬€erent foreign exchange rates and their impact on assets and liabil- Diï¬€erent interest rates and their eï¬€ect on existing investments with ities were simulated in a sensitivity analysis to determine the eï¬€ects variable interest rates and on financial assets from collaborations were on profit or loss. A 10 % increase in the euro versus the US dollar as of simulated in a sensitivity analysis in order to determine the eï¬€ect on December 31, 2020, would have reduced the consolidated net profit by profit or loss. An increase of the variable interest rate by 0.5 % would 82.9 million. A 10 % decline in the euro versus the US dollar would have increased the consolidated net profit by 1.2 million as of Decem-have increased the consolidated net profit by 96.2 million. ber 31, 2020 (December 31, 2019: reduction of consolidated net loss by 0.3 million; December 31, 2018: reduction of consolidated net loss by A 10 % increase in the euro versus the US dollar as of December 31, 0.4 million). A decrease of the variable interest rate by 0.5 % would 2019, would have increased the consolidated net loss by 6.7 million. have decreased the consolidated net profit by 1.4 million as of Decem-A 10 % decline in the euro versus the US dollar would have reduced the ber 31, 2020 (December 31, 2019: increase of consolidated net loss by consolidated net loss by 7.9 million. 0.3 million; December 31, 2018: increase consolidated net loss by 0.1 million). A 10 % increase in the euro versus the US dollar as of December 31, 2018, would have increased the consolidated net loss by 1.4 million. The Group is not subject to significant interest rate risks from the lia-A 10 % decline in the euro versus the US dollar would have reduced the bilities currently reported on the balance sheet. consolidated net loss by 1.7 million. 2.3.3 Fair Value Hierarchy and Measurement Methods Interest Rate Risk The fair value is the price that would be achieved for the sale of an asset The Group’s risk exposure to changes in interest rates mainly relates to in an arm’s length transaction between independent market partici-fixed-term deposits and corporate bonds. Changes in the general level pants or the price to be paid for the transfer of a liability (disposal or of interest rates may lead to an increase or decrease in the fair value of exit price). Measurement at fair value requires that the sale of the asset these securities. The Group’s investment focus places the safety of an or the transfer of the liability takes place on the principal market or, if no investment ahead of its return and the ability to plan future cash flows. such principal market is available, on the most advantageous market. Interest rate risks are limited because all securities can be liquidated The principal market is the market a company has access to that has within a maximum of two years and due to the partially fixed interest the highest volume and level of activity. rates during the term in order to ensure that planning is possible. In addition, changes in interest rates may aï¬€ect the fair value of financial assets from collaborations.

Notes Financial Statements 151 Fair value is measured by using the same assumptions and taking into Hierarchy Level 2 contains foreign exchange forward agreements to account the same characteristics of the asset or liability as would an hedge exchange rate fluctuations, term deposits and the convertible independent market participant. Fair value is a market-based, not an bonds. Future cash flows for these foreign exchange forward agree-entity-specific measurement. The fair value of non-financial assets is ments are determined based on forward exchange rate curves. The fair based on the best use of the asset by a market participant. For financial value of these instruments corresponds to their discounted cash flows. instruments, the use of bid prices for assets and ask prices for liabilities The fair value of the term deposits and restricted cash is determined by is permitted but not required if those prices best reflect the fair value discounting the expected cash flows at market interest rates. The fair in the respective circumstances. For simplification, mean rates are also value of the convertible bonds was determined by calculating the pres-permitted. This not only applies to financial assets but all assets and ent value of all cash flows associated with the liability using the appli-liabilities. cable reference interest rate with an adjustment to reflect MorphoSys’s credit risk premium. MorphoSys applies the following hierarchy in determining and disclosing the fair value of financial instruments: Hierarchy Level 3 financial assets comprise investments at fair value, Level 1: Quoted (unadjusted) prices in active markets for identical with changes recognized directly in equity, as well as financial assets assets or liabilities to which the Company has access. and financial liabilities from collaborations. The underlying valuations Level 2: Inputs other than quoted prices included within Level 1 are generally carried out by employees in the finance department who that are observable for assets or liabilities, either directly report directly to the Chief Financial Oï¬ƒcer. The valuation process and (i.e., as prices) or indirectly (i.e., derived from prices). results are reviewed and discussed among the persons involved on a Level 3: Inputs for asset or liability that are not based on observable regular basis. To determine the fair value of financial assets from col-market data (that is, unobservable inputs). laborations, expected cash inflows from Incyte’s planned losses resulting from the co-promotion activities of Monjuvi in the USA are dis-The carrying amounts of financial assets and liabilities, such as other counted using market interest rates of financial instruments with financial assets at amortized cost, as well as accounts receivable and comparable currencies and maturities, taking into account Incyte’s accounts payable, approximate their fair value because of their short- credit risk. In order to determine the fair value of the financial liabili-term maturities. ties from collaborations for disclosure purposes (these are accounted for at amortized cost using the effective interest method as described Hierarchy Level 1 in Note 4*), expected cash outflows from the planned profits to Incyte The fair value of financial instruments traded in active markets is resulting from the co-promotion activities of Monjuvi in the USA are based on the quoted market prices on the reporting date. A market is discounted using market interest rates of financial instruments with considered active if quoted prices are available from an exchange, comparable currencies and maturities, taking into account the credit dealer, broker, industry group, pricing service, or regulatory body that risk of MorphoSys. The cash inflows and outflows represent estimates of is easily and regularly accessible, and prices reflect current and regu- future revenues and costs from the co-promotion activities of Monjuvi larly occurring market transactions at arm’s length conditions. For in the USA and are subject to significant discretion. These estimates are assets held by the Group, the appropriate quoted market price is the based on assumptions that are jointly arrived at and approved of twice buyer’s bid price. These instruments fall under Hierarchy Level 1 (see each year by the responsible departments at MorphoSys and Incyte. Note 6.2 *). Financial assets and financial liabilities from collaborations are fur-*cross-reference to page 179 thermore subject to significant uncertainties from currency exchange rate developments. Hierarchy Levels 2 and 3 *cross-reference to page 170 The fair value of financial instruments not traded in active markets can be determined using valuation methods. In this case, fair value is Hierarchy Level 3 financial assets are presented in Notes 4* and 6.10 * estimated using the results of a valuation method that makes maxi- of the notes to the consolidated financial statements. Hierarchy Level 3 mum use of market data and relies as little as possible on entity-spe- financial liabilities are presented in Note 4*. cific inputs. If all significant inputs required for measuring fair value *cross-reference to page 170 and page 185 by using valuation methods are observable, the instrument is allocated to Hierarchy Level 2. If significant inputs are not based on observable Reclassifications between the hierarchy levels are generally taken into market data, the instrument is allocated to Hierarchy Level 3. account as of the reporting dates; however, no transfers were made between the fair value hierarchy levels in 2020 or 2019.

Financial Statements Notes 152 The table below shows the fair values of financial assets and liabilities and the carrying amounts presented in the consolidated balance sheet. Not classified into a Financial Assets Measurement at Amortized December 31, 2020; in 000’ Note Hierarchy Level Category Cost Cash and Cash Equivalents 6.1 * 0 109,795 Financial Assets at Fair Value through Profit or Loss 6.2 1 0 0 Other Financial Assets at Amortized Cost 6.2 * 0 649,713 Accounts Receivable 6.3 * 0 83,354 Financial Assets from Collaborations 4 3 0 0 Other Receivables * 0 2,159 Current Financial Assets 0 845,021 Other Financial Assets at Amortized Cost, Net of Current Portion 6.2 2 0 196,588 Prepaid Expenses and Other Assets, Net of Current Portion 6.12 thereof Non-Financial Assets n/a 183 0 thereof Restricted Cash 2 0 1,384 Non-current Financial Assets 183 197,972 Total 183 1,042,993 Accounts Payable and Accruals 7.1 * 0 0 Current Portion of Lease Liabilities 6.8 n/a (3,056) 0 Current Portion of Convertible Bond 7.5 2 0 0 Current Portion of Financial Liabilities from Collaborations 0 0 Current Financial Liabilities (3,056) 0 Lease Liabilities, Net of Current Portion 6.8 n/a (41,964) 0 Convertible Bond, Net of Current Portion 7.5 2 0 0 Financial Liabilities from Collaborations, Net of Current Portion 4 3 0 0 Non-current Financial Liabilities (41,964) 0 Total (45,020) 0 * Declaration waived in line with IFRS 7.29 (a). For these instruments the carrying amount is a reasonable approximation of fair value. ** Declaration waived in line with IFRS 7.29 (d) as disclosure is not required for lease liabilities.

Notes Financial Statements 153 Financial Assets Financial Assets at Fair Value at Fair Value (Through Other Financial Financial (Through Profit Comprehensive Liabilities at Liabilities at Total Carrying or Loss) Income) Amortized Cost Fair Value Amount Fair value 0 0 0 0 109,795 * 287,938 0 0 0 287,938 287,938 0 0 0 0 649,713 * 0 0 0 0 83,354 * 42,870 0 0 0 42,870 42,870 0 0 0 0 2,159 * 330,808 0 0 0 1,175,829 0 0 0 0 196,588 197,749 1,567 0 0 0 0 183 n/a 0 0 0 0 1,384 1,384 0 0 0 0 198,155 330,808 0 0 0 1,373,985 0 0 (128,554) 0 (128,554) * 0 0 0 0 (3,056) ** 0 0 (423) 0 (423) * 0 0 (155) 0 (155) * 0 0 (129,132) 0 (132,188) 0 0 0 0 (41,964) ** 0 0 (272,760) 0 (272,760) (334,124) 0 0 (516,351) 0 (516,351) (617,178) 0 0 (789,111) 0 (831,075) 0 0 (918,243) 0 (963,263)

Financial Statements Notes 154 Not classified into a Financial Assets Measurement at Amortized December 31, 2019; in 000’ Note Hierarchy Level Category Cost Cash and Cash Equivalents 6.1 * 0 44,314 Financial Assets at Fair Value through Profit or Loss 6.2 1 0 0 Other Financial Assets at Amortized Cost 6.2 * 0 207,735 Accounts Receivable 6.3 * 0 15,082 Other Receivables thereof Financial Assets * 0 1,217 thereof Forward Exchange Contracts used for Hedging 6.4 2 0 0 Current Financial Assets 0 268,348 Other Financial Assets at Amortized Cost, Net of Current Portion 6.2 2 0 84,922 Shares at Fair Value through Other Comprehensive Income 6.9 thereof Shares at Level 1 1 0 0 thereof Shares at Level 3 3 0 0 Prepaid Expenses and Other Assets, Net of Current Portion 6.10 thereof Non-Financial Assets n/a 147 0 thereof Restricted Cash 2 0 989 Non-current Financial Assets 147 85,911 Total 147 354,259 Accounts Payable and Accruals 7.1 * 0 0 Current Portion of Lease Liabilities 6.7 n/a (2,515) 0 Convertible Bonds—Liability Component 2 0 0 Current Financial Liabilities (2,515) 0 Lease Liabilities, Net of Current Portion 6.7 n/a (40,042) 0 Non-current Financial Liabilities (40,042) 0 Total (42,557) 0 * Declaration waived in line with IFRS 7.29 (a). For these instruments the carrying amount is a reasonable approximation of fair value. ** Declaration waived in line with IFRS 7.29 (d) as disclosure is not required for lease liabilities. 2.4 Impairment 2.4.1 Financial Instruments According to General premium on a counterparty credit default swap has increased by 100 Expected Credit Loss Model basis points since the initial recognition of the instrument (Level 2). If The Group assesses on a forward-looking basis the expected credit there is an objective indication of impairment, the interest received losses associated with its debt instruments carried at amortized cost must also be adjusted so that the interest as of this date is accrued (term deposits with fixed and variable interest rates and bonds). The based on the net carrying amount (carrying amount less risk provi-impairment method applied depends on whether there has been a sig- sions) of the financial instrument (Level 3). nificant increase in credit risk. If at the reporting date, the credit risk of a financial instrument has not increased significantly since initial Objective evidence of a financial instrument’s impairment may arise recognition, the Group measures the loss allowance for that financial from material financial difficulties of the issuer or the borrower, a breach instrument at an amount equal to twelve-month expected credit losses of contract such as a default or delay in interest or principal payments, (Level 1). Where the expected lifetime of an asset is less than twelve an increased likelihood of insolvency or other remediation process, or months, expected losses are measured at its expected lifetime. Expected from the disappearance of an active market for a financial asset due to credit losses are based on the contractual cash flows multiplied by the financial diï¬ƒculties. premium of a credit default swap according to the expected maturity of the contracting party (Level 1). In case the credit risk of a financial in- Financial instruments are derecognized when it can be reasonably ex-strument has increased significantly since initial recognition, the Group pected that they will not be recovered and there is objective evidence of measures impairment for that financial instrument at an amount equal this. This is usually assumed to be the case when financial instruments to the lifetime expected credit losses. The Group currently classifies an are more than two years overdue. Impairment of financial instruments increase in credit risk on debt instruments as significant when the is recognized under impairment losses on financial assets.

Notes Financial Statements 155 Financial Assets Financial Assets at Fair Value at Fair Value (Through Other Financial Financial (Through Profit Comprehensive Liabilities at Liabilities at Total Carrying or Loss) Income) Amortized Cost Fair Value Amount Fair value 0 0 0 0 44,314 * 20,455 0 0 0 20,455 20,455 0 0 0 0 207,735 * 0 0 0 0 15,082 * 1,613 0 0 0 0 1,217 * 396 0 0 0 396 396 20,851 0 0 0 289,199 0 0 0 0 84,922 84,922 14,077 0 13,690 0 0 13,690 13,690 0 387 0 0 387 387 1,136 0 0 0 0 147 n/a 0 0 0 0 989 989 0 14,077 0 0 100,135 20,851 14,077 0 0 389,334 0 0 (57,042) 0 (57,042) * 0 0 0 0 (2,515) ** 0 0 (12) 0 (12) (12) 0 0 (57,042) 0 (59,569) 0 0 0 0 (40,042) ** 0 0 (12) 0 (40,042) 0 0 (57,054) 0 (99,611) 2.4.2 Financial Instruments According to Simplified credit risk profiles. The impairment is determined on the basis of the Expected Credit Loss Model premium for an industry credit default swap. In the event that accounts In the case of accounts receivable, the Group applies the simplified receivable cannot be grouped together, they are measured individually. approach, which requires expected lifetime losses to be recognized from the initial recognition of the receivables (Level 2). In the event of Accounts receivable are derecognized when it can be reasonably ex-objective indications of an impairment of accounts receivable, the ex- pected that they will not be recovered. Impairment of accounts receiv-pected loss must be calculated as the diï¬€erence between the gross able is recognized under other expenses. This is usually assumed to be carrying amount and the present value of the expected cash flows dis- the case when accounts receivable are more than two years overdue. If, counted at the original eï¬€ective interest rate (Level 3). An indicator in subsequent periods, amounts are received that were previously im-that there is insuï¬ƒcient reason to expect recovery includes a situation, paired, these amounts are recognized in other income. among others, when internal or external information indicates that the Group will not fully receive the contractual amounts outstanding. All accounts receivable were aggregated to measure the expected credit losses, as they all share the same credit risk characteristics. All accounts receivable are currently due from customers with similar

Financial Statements Notes 156 2.4.3 Non-Financial Assets 2.5 Additional Information The carrying amounts of the Group’s non-financial assets and invento- 2.5.1 Key Estimates and Assumptions ries are reviewed at each reporting date for any indication of impair- Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and based on ment. The non-financial asset’s recoverable amount and the inventory’s historical experience and other factors, including the expectation of net realizable value are estimated if such indication exists. For goodwill future events that are believed to be realistic under the prevailing and intangible assets that have indefinite useful lives or are not yet circumstances. available for use, the recoverable amount is estimated at the same time each year or determined on an interim basis, if required. Impairment The Group makes estimates and assumptions concerning the future. is recognized if the carrying amount of an asset or the cash-generating The resulting accounting-related estimates will, by definition, seldom unit (CGU) exceeds its estimated recoverable amount. correspond to the actual results. The estimates and assumptions that carry a significant risk of causing material adjustments to the carrying The recoverable amount of an asset or CGU is the greater of its value-in- amounts of assets and liabilities in the next financial year are ad-use or its fair value less the cost of disposal. In assessing value-in-use, dressed below. the estimated future pre-tax cash flows are discounted to their present value using a pre-tax discount rate that reflects current market assess- Revenues ments of the time value of money and the risks specific to the asset or Revenues from product sales, license fees, milestones, royalties and CGU. For the purposes of impairment testing, assets that cannot be contracts with multiple performance obligations are subject to as-tested individually are grouped into the smallest group of assets that sumptions regarding variable consideration components, probabilities generates cash flows from ongoing use that are largely independent of of occurrence and individual selling prices within the scope of the ac-the cash flows of other assets or CGUs. A ceiling test for the operating counting and measurement principles explained in Note 2.7.1 *. Accru-segment must be carried out for goodwill impairment testing. CGUs als in connection with revenues products sales are also aï¬€ected by that have been allocated goodwill are aggregated so that the level at estimates and assumptions. which impairment testing is performed reflects the lowest level at *cross-reference to page 158 which goodwill is monitored for internal reporting purposes. Goodwill acquired in a business combination may be allocated to groups of CGUs Financial Assets that are expected to benefit from the combination’s synergies. Impairment losses on financial assets in the form of debt instruments and accounts receivable are based on assumptions about credit risk. The The Group’s corporate assets do not generate separate cash flows and Group exercises discretion in making these assumptions and in select-are utilized by more than one CGU. Corporate assets are allocated to ing the inputs to calculate the impairment based on past experience, CGUs on a reasonable and consistent basis and are tested for impairment current market conditions and forward-looking estimates at the end of as part of the impairment testing of the CGU that was allocated the each reporting period. corporate asset. Financial Assets and Liabilities from Collaborations Impairment losses are recognized in profit or loss. Goodwill impairment For details on estimates and assumptions in connection with financial cannot be reversed. For all other assets, the impairment recognized in assets and liabilities from collaborations refer to note 4. prior periods is assessed on each reporting date for any indications that the losses decreased or no longer exist. Impairment is reversed Leases when there has been a change in the estimates used to determine the In determining the lease term, all facts and circumstances are consid-recoverable amount. Impairment losses can only be reversed to the ered that create an economic incentive to exercise an extension option. extent that the asset’s carrying amount does not exceed the carrying Extension options are only included in the lease term if the lease is amount net of depreciation or amortization that would have been deter- reasonably certain to be extended. mined if an impairment had not been recognized. In-Process R&D Programs and Goodwill The Group performs an annual review to determine whether in-process R&D programs or goodwill is subject to impairment in accordance with the accounting policies discussed in Note 2.4.3 *. The recoverable amounts from in-process R&D programs and cash-generating units have been determined using value-in-use calculations and are subjected to a sensitivity analysis. These calculations require the use of estimates (see Note 6.9 *). *cross-reference to page 156 and page 183

Notes Financial Statements 157 Convertible Bond 2.5.2 Capital Management The convertible bond is to be separated in a liability and an equity The Management Board’s policy for capital management is to preserve component. The amount allocated to the equity component was calcu- a strong and sustainable capital base in order to maintain the confidence lated by using a Black-Scholes valuation model. A Monte-Carlo simu- of investors, business partners, and the capital market and to support lation was used in order to determine the liability component. It was future business development. As of December 31, 2020, the equity ratio assessed that all cash flows associated with the liability component was 37.4% (December 31, 2019: 79.5%; see also the following over-should be discounted by using a yield curve subject to default risk. All view). The equity ratio decreased mainly due to the initial recognition parameters necessary for the valuation are market observable, except of the financial liabilities from collaborations from the collaboration for the risk premium included in MorphoSys’ default risk. The risk pre- and license agreement with Incyte as well as the convertible bond. mium (assumed to be constant over the term) was calibrated in the manner that the value of the convertible bond in the model corresponds to the nominal value of the bond in the amount of 325.0 million. in 000’ 12/31/2020 12/31/2019 Income Taxes Stockholders’ Equity 621,322 394,702 Income taxes comprise taxes levied in the individual countries on tax- In % of Total Capital 37.4% 79.5  % able profit and changes in deferred taxes. The income taxes reported Total Liabilities 1,038,191 101,738 are recognized on the basis of the statutory regulations in force or en- In % of Total Capital 62.6% 20.5  % acted as of the reporting date in the amount in which they are expected Total Capital 1,659,513 496,439 to be paid or refunded. Deferred taxes are recognized for tax-deductible or temporary taxable erences between the carrying amounts of assets and liabilities in the IFRS balance sheet and the tax base, as The Management Board and employees can participate in the Group’s well as for tax effects arising from consolidation measures and tax re- performance through long-term, performance-related remuneration duction claims arising from loss carryforwards that are likely to be components. These components consist of convertible bonds issued in realized in subsequent years. Goodwill is excluded. 2013 and stock option plans (SOP) granted to the Management Board and certain employees of MorphoSys AG in 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020, The assessment of the recoverability of deferred tax assets considers in accordance with the bonus system approved by the Annual General the currently achieved total results of a legal entity as well as the ex- Meeting. In addition, MorphoSys established a Long-Term Incentive pected future taxable results, derived from the corporate planning. Plan (LTI Plan) in 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019, as well as a performance The recognition of deferred tax assets on tax loss carryforwards re- share unit program (PSU program) in 2020 for the Management Board quires management to make estimates and judgments about the amount and certain employees of MorphoSys AG. In 2019 and 2020, MorphoSys of future taxable profit available against which the tax loss carryfor- established long-term incentive programs (Long-Term Incentive Plan wards can be utilized. Deferred tax assets on loss carryforwards are – LTI Plan and Restricted Stock Unit Plan – RSU Plan) for certain em-only recognized to the extent that suï¬ƒcient taxable income is expected ployees of MorphoSys US Inc. In 2020, MorphoSys also established a in the future. long-term cash incentive plan (CLTI plan) for certain employees of MorphoSys US In c. These LTI Plans are based on the performance-re-Uncertain tax positions are analyzed on an ongoing basis and, if taxes lated issuance of shares (“performance shares” and shares still to be are sufficiently probable, risk provisions are recognized in an appro- created from authorized capital under the RSU plans), which are finally priate amount in each case. Uncertainties arise, among other things, allocated upon achievement of specific predefined performance criteria from matters that are being discussed in ongoing tax audits but have not and after the expiration of the vesting period (see Notes 8.3 * and 8.6 *). yet resulted in final findings or are under discussion due to disputed The PSU program and CLTI plan are settled in cash upon achievement legal situations or new case law. of certain predefined performance criteria and the expiration of the vesting period. As the estimates can change over time, for example, as a result of find- *cross-reference to page 192 and page 197 ings in the course of the tax audit or current case law, there will also be a corresponding eï¬€ect on the amount of the required assessment of the There are no liabilities to banks. During the financial year, the Group risk provision. The amount of the expected tax liability or tax receiv- made changes to its capital management by reflecting the financial liable reflects the amount representing the best estimate or the expected abilities from collaborations from the collaboration and license agree-value, taking into account any existing tax uncertainties. ment with Incyte as well as from the issuance of the convertible bond. For the assessment of the impairment of deferred tax assets, the plan- Following overview contains the presentation and development of net ning assumptions are influenced by key estimates and mainly include liabilities. “Other Changes” include non-cash movements, including the Company’s profit forecasts for the period up to 2039. accrued interest expense, which are presented in operating activities in the cash flow statement.

Financial Statements Notes 158 Financial Liabilities from Convertible in 000’ Lease Liabilities Collaborations Bonds Sub-Total Balance as of January 1, 2019 (40,783) 0 0 (40,783) Cash Flows 3,280 0 0 3,280 New Leases (4,122) 0 0 (4,122) Exchange differences 0 0 0 0 Other Changes (932) 0 0 (932) Balance as of December 31, 2019 (42,557) 0 0 (42,557) Balance as of January 1, 2020 (42,557) 0 0 (42,557) Cash Flows 3,918 (542,599) (319,946) (858,627) New Leases (5,286) 0 0 (5,286) Exchange differences 0 66,379 0 66,379 Changes recognized in Equity 0 0 49,217 49,217 Other Changes (1,094) (40,285) (2,454) (43,833) Balance as of December 31, 2020 (45,019) (516,506) (273,183) (834,708) 2.6 Use of Interest Rates for Measurement The most common elements of variable consideration related to product The Group uses maturity-specific and credit risk adjusted interest sales at MorphoSys are listed below and are determined according to rates to measure fair value. When calculating share-based payments, the expected value approach. MorphoSys uses the interest rate on four-year German government • Rebates and discounts agreed with government agencies, buying bonds on the date the share-based payment was granted. groups, specialty distributors and specialty pharmacies are accrued and deducted from revenues at the time the related revenues are 2.7 Accounting Policies Applied to Line Items of recognized. They are calculated based on actual discounts and re-the Statement of Profit or Loss bates granted, specific regulatory requirements, specific terms in 2.7.1 Revenues and Revenue Recognition individual agreements, product pricing and/or the anticipated sales Recognizing revenue from contracts with customers requires the fol- channel mix. Because the Company recognizes revenue upon trans-lowing five-stage approach: fer of control of the product to specialty distributors and specialty • Identification of the contract pharmacies, and not upon transfer to the end-user (patient), for cer- • Identification of performance obligations tain rebates the Company is required to estimate of the mix of prod- • Determination of the transaction price uct sales between its sales channels in determining the amount of • Allocation of the transaction price rebate that will ultimately be paid. • Revenue recognition • Discounts offered to customers are intended to encourage prompt payment and are deferred and recognized as revenue deductions at The Group’s revenues typically include revenue from product sales, li- the time the related revenues are recognized. cense fees, milestone payments, service fees, and royalties. • Accruals for product returns are recognized as revenue deductions at the time the corresponding revenues are recognized. Revenues from Product Sales Revenues from the sale of MorphoSys products are recognized at the Variable consideration is deducted from trade receivables, in case transaction price at the time the customer obtains control of the product these are directly paid to the direct customer. In case payments are to (defined as the point at which the customer receives the product). As a be made to another party, these are presented as accruals. Accruals for result, revenues are recognized based on a specific point in time. The revenue deductions are adjusted to the actual amounts when rebates transaction price represents the consideration expected by MorphoSys and discounts and cash discounts are realized. The accruals represent in exchange for the product and takes into account variable components. estimates of the related obligations, meaning that management’s judg-The variable consideration is only included in the transaction price if it ment is required in estimating the impact of these revenue deductions. is highly probable that there will not be a subsequent material adjustment to the transaction price.

Notes Financial Statements 159 Financial Assets at Financial Cash and Cash Fair Value through Assets from Equivalents Profit or Loss Collaborations Total 45,460 44,581 0 49,258 79,837 (24,854) 0 58,263 0 0 0 (4,122) 87 (24) 0 63 (81,070) 752 0 (81,250) 44,314 20,455 0 22,212 44,314 20,455 0 22,212 26,813 281,761 32,413 (517,640) 0 0 0 (5,286) 3,398 (877) (5,549) 63,350 0 0 0 49,217 35,270 (13,402) 16,007 (5,958) 109,795 287,938 42,870 (394,105) License Fees and Milestone Payments Service Fees The Group recognizes revenues from license fees for intellectual prop- Service fees for the assignment of personnel to research and develop-erty (IP) both at a point in time and over a period of time. The Group ment collaborations are recognized as revenues in the period the ser-must make an assessment as to whether such a license represents a vices were provided. If a Group company acts as an agent, revenues are right-to-use the IP (at a point in time) or a right to access the IP (over recognized on a net basis. time). Revenue for a right-to-use license is recognized by the Group when the licensee can use and benefit from the IP after the license term Royalties begins, e.g., the Group has no further obligations in the context of the Revenue recognition for royalties (income based on a percentage of out-licensing of a drug candidate or technology. A license is considered sales of a marketed product) is based on the same revenue recognition a right to access the intellectual property when the Group undertakes principles that apply to sales-based milestones, as described above. activities during the license term that significantly aï¬€ect the IP, the customer is directly exposed to any positive or negative eï¬€ects of these Agreements with Multiple Performance Obligations activities, and these activities do not result in the transfer of a good or A Group company may enter into agreements with multiple perfor-service to the customer. Revenues from the right to access the IP are mance obligations that include both licenses and services. In such recognized on a straight-line basis over the license term. cases, an assessment must be made as to whether the license is distinct from the services (or other performance obligations) provided Milestone payments for research and development are contingent upon under the same agreement. The transaction price is allocated to sepa-the occurrence of a future event and represent variable consideration. rate performance obligations based on the relative stand-alone selling The Group’s management estimates at the contract’s inception that the price of the performance obligations in the agreement. The Group com-most likely amount for milestone payments is zero. The most likely pany estimates stand-alone selling prices for goods and services not amount method of estimation is considered the most predictive for the sold separately on the basis of comparable transactions with other outcome since the outcome is binary; for example, achieving a specific customers. The residual approach is the method used to estimate a success in clinical development (or not). The Group includes milestone stand-alone selling price when the selling price for a good or service is payments in the total transaction price only to the extent that it is highly variable or uncertain. highly probable that a significant reversal of accumulated revenue will not occur when the uncertainty associated with the variable consider- Principle-Agent Relationships ation is subsequently resolved. In agreements involving two or more independent parties who con-tribute to the provision of a specific good or service to a customer, the Sales-based milestone payments included in contracts for IP licenses are Group company assesses whether it has promised to provide the spe-considered by the Group to be sales-based license fees because they cific good or service itself (the company acting as a principal) or to ar-are solely determined by the sales of an approved drug. Accordingly, range for this specific good or service to be provided by another party such milestones are recognized as revenue once the sales of such (the company acting as an agent). Depending on the result of this as-drugs occur or at a later point if the performance obligation has not sessment, the Group company recognizes revenues on a gross (princi-been fulfilled. pal) or net (agent) basis. A Group company is an agent and recognizes revenue on a net basis if its obligation is to arrange for another party to provide goods or services, i.e., the Group company does not control the

Financial Statements Notes 160 specified good or service before it is transferred to the customer. Indi- General and Administrative Expenses cators to assist a company in determining whether it does not control The line item includes personnel costs, consumable supplies, operating the good or service before it is provided to a customer and is, therefore, costs, amortization of intangible assets (software; additional information an agent, include, but are not limited to, the following criteria: can be found in Note 6.9 *), costs for external services, infrastructure • Another party is primarily responsible for fulfilling the contract. costs and depreciation. • The company does not have inventory risk. *cross-reference to page 183 • The company does not have discretion in establishing the price. Personnel Expenses from Stock Options No single indicator is determinative or weighted more heavily than other The Group spreads the compensation expenses from the estimated fair indicators. However, some indicators may provide stronger evidence values of share-based payments on the reporting date over the period in than others, depending on the individual facts and circumstances. A which the beneficiaries provide the services that triggered the grant-Group company’s control needs to be substantive; obtaining the legal ing of the share-based payments. Personnel expense is recognized in title to a good or service only momentarily before it is transferred to the respective functional area to which the beneficiary is allocated. the customer does not necessarily indicate that a Group company is a principal. Generally, an assessment as to whether a Group company is Share-based compensation is considered when the Group acquires acting as a principal or an agent in a transaction requires a consider- goods or services in exchange for shares or stock options (“settlement able degree of judgment. in equity instruments”) or other assets that represent the value of a specific number of shares or stock options (“cash settlement”). Addi-Based on the relevant facts and circumstances, the assessment of an tional information can be found in Notes 8.1 * through 8.7 *. agreement may lead to the conclusion that the counterparty is a coop- *cross-reference to page 189 and page 199 eration partner or partner rather than a customer because the contract parties share equally in the risk of co-developing a drug and in the Operating Lease Payments future profits from the marketing of the approved drug. Through December 31, 2018, payments made within the scope of operating leases were recognized in profit or loss on a straight-line basis 2.7.2 Operating Expenses over the term of the lease according to IAS 17. According to SIC 15, all Operating expenses are allocated to the functional costs on the basis of incentive agreements within the scope of operating leases are recog-cost centers or percentage allocation keys. nized as an integral part of the net consideration agreed for the use of the leased asset. The total amount of income from incentives is recog-Cost of Sales nized as a reduction in lease expenses on a straight-line basis over the The cost of sales includes the acquisition and production cost of inven- term of the lease. tories recognized as an expense, personnel expenses, inventory write-downs, reversals of inventory write-downs, operating costs, impair- The Group’s lease agreements were classified exclusively as operating ments and scheduled depreciation and other expenses for intangible leases through December 31, 2018. The Group did not engage in any assets as well as costs for external services. Cost of sales are recog- finance lease arrangements. nized as an expense as incurred. 2.7.3 Other Income Research and Development Expenses The line item “other income” consists primarily of foreign currency Research costs are expensed in the period in which they occur. Devel- gains from operating activities. opment costs are generally expensed as incurred. Development costs are recognized as an intangible asset when the criteria such as the Non-repayable grants received from government agencies to fund probability of expected future economic benefits, as well as the reli- specific research and development projects are recognized in profit or ability of cost measurement, are met. loss in the separate line item “other income” to the extent that the related expenses have already occurred. Under the terms of the grants, This line item contains personnel expenses, consumable supplies, government agencies generally have the right to audit the use of the other operating expenses, impairment charges, impairment reversals, funds granted to the Group. The government grants are generally cost amortization and other costs related to intangible assets (additional subsidies, and their recognition through profit or loss is limited to the information can be found in Note 6.9 *), costs for external services, in- corresponding costs. frastructure costs and depreciation. *cross-reference to page 183 No payments were granted in financial years 2020, 2019 or 2018 that are required to be classified as investment subsidies. Selling Expenses The line item includes personnel costs, consumable supplies, operating 2.7.4 Other Expenses costs, amortization of intangible assets (software; additional information The line item “other expenses” consists mainly of currency losses from can be found in Note 6.9 *), costs for external services, infrastructure the operating business. costs and depreciation. This item also includes all expenses for services provided by Incyte in connection with the joint US sales activities. *cross-reference to page 183

Notes Financial Statements 161 2.7.5 Finance Income and Finance Expenses Changes in deferred tax assets and liabilities are generally recognized Gains and losses on hedges of foreign exchange rate fluctuations, through profit and loss in the consolidated statement of profit or loss, changes in fair value and interest eï¬€ects from the application of the except for changes recognized directly in equity. Deferred tax assets are eï¬€ective interest method to financial assets and liabilities are recog- recognized only to the extent that it is likely that there will be future nized in finance income and finance expenses. taxable income to oï¬€set. Deferred tax assets are reduced by the amount that the related tax benefit is no longer expected to be realized. The accounting policies resulting from the collaboration and license agreement with Incyte are presented in Note 4*. 2.7.7 Earnings per Share *cross-reference to page 170 The Group reports basic and diluted earnings per share. Basic earnings per share are computed by dividing the net profit or loss attributable to 2.7.6 Income Tax Expenses/Benefits parent company shareholders by the weighted-average number of ordi-Current income taxes are calculated based on the respective local tax- nary shares outstanding for the reporting period. Diluted earnings per able income and local tax rules for the period. In addition, current in- share are calculated in the same manner with the exception that the come taxes presented for the period include adjustments for uncertain net profit or loss attributable to parent company shareholders and the tax payments or tax refunds for periods not yet finally assessed, ex- weighted-average number of ordinary shares outstanding are adjusted cluding interest expenses and penalties on the underpayment of taxes. for any dilutive eï¬€ects resulting from stock options granted to the In the event that amounts included in the tax returns are considered Management Board and employees and convertible bonds. unlikely to be accepted by the tax authorities (uncertain tax positions), a provision for income taxes is recognized. Tax refund claims from In 2019 and 2018, diluted earnings per share equaled basic earnings uncertain tax positions are recognized when it is probable that they per share. The eï¬€ect of 57,035 potentially dilutive shares in 2019 and can be realized. Current taxes reflect the expected tax liability on the 120,214 dilutive shares in 2018 resulting from stock options and con-taxable income for the year, based on the enacted or r substantially vertible bonds granted to the Management Board and certain employ-enacted tax rates, as well as adjustments to the tax liability for previ- ees of the Company has been excluded from the diluted earnings per ous years. share as it would result in a decline in the loss per share and should, therefore, not be treated as dilutive. Deferred tax assets or liabilities are calculated for temporary diï¬€er-ences between the tax bases and the financial statement carrying The 67,964 stock options and 58,811 restricted stock units still un-amounts, including diï¬€erences from consolidation, unused tax loss vested as of December 31, 2020 and the 515,433 shares from the con-carryforwards, and unused tax credits. Measurement is based on en- vertible bond are included in the calculation of potentially dilutive acted or substantively enacted tax rates and tax rules. shares as they are dilutive for the 2020 financial year. Deferred tax assets are oï¬€set against deferred tax liabilities when the 2.8 Accounting Policies Applied to Balance Sheet taxes are levied by the same taxation authority, and the entity has a Assets legally enforceable right to oï¬€set current tax assets against current 2.8.1 Liquidity tax liabilities according to their maturity. Liquidity is defined as the sum of the balance sheet positions “Cash and Cash Equivalents”, “Financial Assets at Fair Value through Profit Assessments as to the recoverability of deferred tax assets require the or Loss” and “Other Financial Assets at Amortized Cost”. use of judgment regarding assumptions related to estimated future taxable profits. This includes the amounts of taxable future profits, the Classification periods in which those profits are expected to occur, and the availability The Group classifies its financial assets (debt instruments) in the mea-of tax planning opportunities. The Group record a deferred tax asset surement categories of those subsequently measured at fair value (ei-only when it is probable that a corresponding amount of taxable profit ther through other comprehensive income or profit or loss) and those will be available against which the deductible temporary diï¬€erences measured at amortized cost. relating to the same taxation authority and the same taxable entity can be utilized. The Group defines all cash held at banks and on hand, as well as all short-term deposits with a maturity of three months or less as of the The analysis and forecasting required in this process are performed purchase date, as cash and cash equivalents. The Group invests the for individual jurisdictions by qualified local tax and financial profes- majority of its cash and cash equivalents at several major financial in-sionals. Given the potential significance surrounding the underlying stitutions including, Commerzbank, UniCredit, BayernLB, LBBW, BNP estimates and assumptions, group-wide policies and procedures have Paribas, Deutsche Bank, Sparkasse, Banque Européenne du Crédit Mu-been designed to ensure consistency and reliability around the recover- tuel, Credit Suisse, UBS and Bank of America Merrill Lynch. ability assessment process. Forecast operating results are based upon approved business plans, which are themselves subject to a well-defined Guarantees granted for rent deposits and obligations from convertible process of control. As a matter of policy, especially strong evidence sup- bonds issued to employees are recorded as restricted cash under porting the recognition of deferred tax assets is required if an entity “Other Assets” because they are not available for use in the Group’s has suffered a loss in either the current or the preceding period. operations.

Financial Statements Notes 162 Recognition and Derecognition Derivatives The Group recognizes a financial asset at the point in time when it be- The Group uses derivatives to hedge cash flows associated to foreign comes the contractual party of the financial asset. Financial assets are exchange risks. The use of derivatives is subject to a Group policy ap-derecognized when the claims to receive cash flows from the financial proved by the Management Board, which sets out a written guideline assets expire or have been transferred, and the Group has transferred on the use of derivatives. According to the Group’s hedging policy, only substantially all the risks and rewards of ownership. highly probable future cash flows and clearly identifiable receivables that can be collected within a twelve-month period are hedged. Measurement Upon initial recognition, the Group measures a financial asset at fair Derivatives are initially recognized at fair value at the time of the con-value and — when the financial asset is not subsequently measured at clusion of a derivative transaction and subsequently measured at fair fair value in profit or loss — plus transaction costs directly attributable value at the end of each reporting period. The derivatives are presented to the acquisition of that asset. Transaction costs of financial assets as other receivables or other provision, depending on their nature. measured at fair value through profit or loss are recognized as ex- Changes in the fair value of a derivative instrument that is not accounted penses in profit or loss. for as a hedging relationship are recognized directly in profit or loss in the finance result. The subsequent measurement of debt instruments depends on the Group’s business model for managing the asset and the asset’s cash MorphoSys has not applied hedge accounting in the financial years flow characteristics. The Group classifies its debt instruments in one of 2020, 2019 and 2018. the following measurement categories described below. 2.8.2 Accounts Receivable, Income Tax Receivables and Assets that are held in order to collect the contractual cash flows and Other Receivables for which these cash flows represent interest and principal payments Accounts receivable are measured at amortized cost less any impair-only are measured at amortized cost. Interest income from these finan- ment using the simplified impairment model (see Notes 2.3.1 *, 2.4.2 * cial assets is recognized in finance income using the eï¬€ective interest and 6.3 *). method. Negative interests are recognized in Finance Expense. Gains *cross-reference to page 146, page 155 and page 180 and losses upon derecognition are recognized directly in profit or loss and recorded in the finance result. Impairment losses are recognized Income tax receivables mainly include receivables due from tax au-as a separate line item in profit or loss. thorities in the context of capital gain taxes withheld to the nominal value without discount. Assets that are held to collect the contractual cash flows and to sell the financial assets and where the cash flows represent principal and in- Other non-derivative financial instruments are measured at amortized terest payments only are measured at fair value through other compre- cost using the eï¬€ective interest method. hensive income. Changes in the carrying amounts are recognized in other comprehensive income, with the exception of impairment losses, 2.8.3 Financial Assets from Collaborations income from impairment reversals, interest income and foreign cur- The accounting policies applied to financial assets from collaborations rency gains and losses, which are recognized in profit or loss. Upon the are presented in Notes 2.3.3 * and 4*. derecognition of the financial asset, the cumulative gain or loss previ- *cross-reference to page 150 and page 170 ously recognized in other comprehensive income is reclassified from equity to profit or loss and is recorded in the finance result. Interest 2.8.4 Inventories income from these financial assets is reported in finance income using Inventories are measured at the lower value of production or acquisi-the eï¬€ective interest method. Foreign exchange gains and losses are tion cost and net realizable value under the first-in, first-out method. shown under other income/expenses, and impairment losses are in- Acquisition costs comprise all purchase costs, including those incurred cluded in a separate line item in profit or loss. in bringing the inventories into operating condition, and take purchase price reductions into account, such as bonuses and discounts. Manu-Assets that do not meet the criteria of the categories “at amortized cost” facturing costs comprise all directly attributable costs as well as reason-or “at fair value through other comprehensive income” are allocated to ably allocated overhead. Net realizable value is the estimated selling the category “at fair value through profit or loss.” Gains and losses on price less the estimated expenses necessary for completion and sale. debt instruments that are subsequently measured at fair value through Inventories are divided into the categories of raw materials and sup-profit or loss are recognized in the finance result in the period in which plies as well as finished goods. they occur. The impairment to a net realizable value of zero on the antibody material The Group reclassifies debts instruments only in case when there is a (tafasitamab) derived from fermenter runs, recognized in cost of sales change in the business model for managing such assets. as well as research and development expenses in prior periods, was reversed due to the market approval of Monjuvi. This was now usable for commercialization and therefore represents inventory. Following its market approval, tafasitamab used for commercialization purposes is presented as inventory, which is measured at its cost of production and recognized in cost of sales upon its sale.

Notes Financial Statements 163 Inventory of tafasitamab used for clinical trials or research activities 2.8.7 Leases are presented as other current assets and once it is used costs are As of January 1, 2019, the Group applies the IFRS 16 standard on leases. recognized in the income statement under research and development expenses when consumed. For lessees, a uniform approach is applied to the recognition of leases, according to which assets for the right-of-use assets of the leased assets 2.8.5 Prepaid Expenses and Other Current Assets and liabilities for the payment obligations entered into are required to Prepaid expenses include expenses resulting from an outflow of liquid be recognized in the balance sheet for all leases. At the time a leased assets prior to the reporting date that are only recognized as expenses asset becomes available for the Group’s use, a right-of-use asset and in the subsequent financial year. Such expenses usually involve main- corresponding lease liability are recognized in the balance sheet. tenance contracts, sublicenses and upfront payments for external laboratory services not yet performed. Other current assets primarily Right-of-use assets are measured at cost, which is calculated as the consist of receivables from tax authorities from input tax surpluses, lease liability plus lease payments made at or before the date on which combination compounds as well as receivables from upfront pay- the asset is made available for use, less lease incentives received and ments. This item is recognized at nominal value or acquisition cost additional initial direct costs and dismantling obligations. Subsequent less impairments. measurement of right-of-use assets is at amortized cost. The right-of-use assets are amortized on a straight-line basis over the shorter of 2.8.6 Property, Plant and Equipment either the useful life or the term of the lease agreement. Property, plant and equipment are recorded at historical cost less accumulated depreciation (see Note 6.7 *) and any impairment losses (see The lease liability is the present value of the fixed and variable lease Note 2.4.3 *). Historical cost includes expenditures directly related to payments that are paid during the term of the lease less any lease in-the purchase at the time of the acquisition. Replacement purchases, centives receivable. The discounting is carried out based on the implied building alterations and improvements are capitalized, whereas repair interest rate underlying the lease contract if the rate can be determined. and maintenance expenses are recognized as expenses as they are If not, discounting is carried out based on the lessee’s incremental bor-incurred. Property, plant and equipment are depreciated on a straight- rowing rate, i.e., the interest rate a lessee would need to pay to borrow line basis over its estimated useful life (see table below). Leasehold over a similar term, and with a similar security, the funds necessary to improvements are depreciated on a straight-line basis over the shorter obtain an asset of similar value and condition to the right-of-use asset of either the asset’s estimated useful life or the remaining term of the in a similar economic environment. lease. *cross-reference to page 156 and page 181 In subsequent measurement, the carrying amount of the lease liability is increased to reflect the interest expense on the lease liability and Depreciation reduced to reflect the lease payments made. Each lease installment is Asset Class Useful Life Rates separated into a repayment portion and a financing expense portion. Finance expenses are recognized in profit or loss over the term of the Office Equipment 8 years 13 % lease. Laboratory Equipment 4 years 25 % Low-value Office and Laboratory The Group is exposed to potential future increases in variable lease Equipment Immediately 100 % payments based on an index or rate, which are not included in the lease Computer Hardware 3 years 33 % liability until they take eï¬€ect. When adjustments to lease payments Permanent Improvements to based on an index or rate take eï¬€ect, the lease liability is reassessed Property/Buildings 10 years 10 % and adjusted against the right-of-use asset. As of January 1, 2019, the rental expenses recognized in the statement of The residual values and useful lives of assets are reviewed at the end profit or loss up to and including the 2018 financial year were replaced of each reporting period and adjusted when necessary. by depreciation and amortization of assets and interest expenses from the compounding of lease liabilities. This means that the related costs Borrowing costs that can be directly attributed to the acquisition, con- are recorded in various items of the statement of profit or loss and diï¬€er struction or production of a qualifying asset are not included in the in their total amount compared to the application of IAS 17. As a result of acquisition or production costs because the Group’s operating business the interest expenses recorded under finance expenses in the statement is funded with equity. of profit or loss, there was a material eï¬€ect on Group EBIT in the 2019 financial year compared with the application of IAS 17 in financial year 2018. In accordance with IAS 17, interest expenses were part of rental expenses and were recorded under operating expenses in the statement of profit or loss.

Financial Statements Notes 164 The payments for the redemption of lease liabilities and the payments a license are amortized over the term of each annual agreement. Subli-attributable to the interest portion of the lease liabilities are allocated cense fees are amortized on a straight-line basis over the term of the to cash flow from financing activities. contract or the estimated useful life of the collaboration for contracts without a set duration. For low-value leases and short-term leases (terms of less than twelve months), mainly technical equipment, use is made of the simplified Licenses For Marketed Products application. Accordingly, no right-of-use assets or lease liabilities are Due to the market approval of Monjuvi, the amount recognized in the recognized; instead, the lease payments are recognized as an expense balance sheet item “In-process R&D programs” as of December 31, 2019, over the term of the lease. has been reclassified to the balance sheet item “Licenses for marketed products.” The prepaid license fees and milestone payments that are Impairment losses are recognized in accordance with the principles subsequently paid after the milestones have been reached are amortized described in Note 2.4.3 *. over the estimated useful life of the acquired license. The duration and *cross-reference to page 156 method of amortization are reviewed at the end of each financial year. In the case of triggering events, the asset is tested for any impairment. 2.8.8 Intangible Assets Because the Group applies the cost accumulation approach, milestones Purchased intangible assets are capitalized at acquisition cost and ex- in the near future are not taken into account. clusively amortized on a straight-line basis over their useful lives. Internally generated intangible assets are recognized to the degree the In-Process R&D Programs corresponding recognition criteria are met. This line item previously contained capitalized payments from the in-licensing of compounds for the Proprietary Development segment, Development costs are capitalized as intangible assets when the corre- as well as milestone payments for these compounds subsequently paid sponding capitalization criteria have been met, namely, clear specifica- as milestones were achieved. Additionally, this line item also included tion of the product or procedure, technical feasibility, intention of com- compounds and antibody programs resulting from acquisitions. As of pletion, use, commercialization, coverage of development costs through December 31, 2020, no assets were recognized in this balance sheet future free cash flows, reliable determination of these free cash flows item due to the launch of Monjuvi and the divestment of the Lanthio and availability of sufficient resources for completion of development entities’ in-process R&D programs. and sale. Amortization of intangible assets is recorded in cost of goods sold or research and development expenses. Software Software is recorded at acquisition cost less accumulated amortization Expenses to be classified as research expenses are allocated to re- (see below) and any impairment (see Note 2.4.3 *). Amortization is rec-search and development expenses. ognized in profit or loss on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of three to five years. Software is amortized from the date Subsequent expenditures for capitalized intangible assets are capital- the software is operational. ized only when they substantially increase the future economic benefit *cross-reference to page 156 of the specific asset to which they relate. All other expenditures are expensed as incurred. Goodwill Goodwill is recognized for expected synergies from business combina-Patents tions and the skills of the acquired workforce. Goodwill is tested annu-Patents obtained by the Group are recorded at acquisition cost less accu- ally for impairment (see Note 6.9 *). mulated amortization (see below) and any impairment (see Note 2.4.3 *). *cross-reference to page 183 Patent costs are amortized on a straight-line basis over the lower of the estimated useful life of the patent (ten years) or the remaining patent term. Amortization starts when the patent is issued. Technology iden- Amortization tified in the purchase price allocation for the acquisition of Sloning Intangible Asset Class Useful Life Rates BioTechnology GmbH was recorded at the fair value at the time of acquisition, less accumulated amortization (useful life of 10 years). Patents 10 years 10% *cross-reference to page 156 Licenses and Licenses for Marketed Products 8 – 24 years 13% – 4 % Licenses The Group has acquired license rights from third parties by making Not yet amor- tized, Impair- upfront license payments, paying annual fees to maintain the license In-process R&D Programs ment Only –and paying fees for sublicenses. The Group amortizes upfront license Software 3 – 5 years 33% – 20 % payments on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the Impairment acquired license (8 to 13 years). The amortization period and method Goodwill Only –are reviewed at the end of each financial year. Annual fees to maintain

Notes Financial Statements 165 2.8.9 Sharesat Fair Value, with Changes Recognized in 2.9.2 Accounts Payable, Accruals and other Provisions Other Comprehensive Income Accounts payable and accruals are initially recognized at fair value and The investments in adivo GmbH and Vivoryon Therapeutics AG are subsequently at amortized cost using the eï¬€ective interest method. accounted for as equity financial instruments at fair value. Changes in Non-financial liabilities with a term of more than one year are dis-fair value are recognized in other comprehensive income. This was ir- counted to their net present value. Liabilities that are uncertain in revocably determined when the investments were first recognized. their timing or amount are recorded as accruals. These investments are strategic financial investments, and the Group considers this classification to be more meaningful. If one of the invest- Accruals are recognized for obligations to third parties arising from ment is derecognized, no subsequent reclassification of gains or losses past events. Furthermore, accruals are only recognized for legal or facto profit or loss will occur. Dividends from these investments are recog- tual obligations to third parties if the event’s occurrence is more likely nized in profit or loss when there is a justified right to receive payment. than not. Accruals are recognized in the amount required to settle the respective obligation and discounted to the reporting date when the 2.8.10 Prepaid Expenses and Other Assets, net of Current interest eï¬€ect is material. The amount required to meet the obligation Portion also includes expected price and cost increases. The interest portion of The non-current portion of expenses incurred prior to the reporting the addition to accruals is recorded in the finance result. The measure-date but recognized in subsequent financial years is recorded in pre- ment of accruals is based on past experience and considers the circum-paid expenses. This line item contains maintenance contracts and sub- stances in existence on the reporting date. licenses. The Group has entered into various research and development contracts This line item also includes other non-current assets recognized at fair with research institutions and other companies. These agreements are value. Other non-current assets consist mainly of restricted cash, such generally cancelable, and related costs are recorded as research and as rent deposits. development expenses as incurred. The Group recognizes accruals for estimated ongoing research costs that have been incurred. When eval-2.9 Accounting Policies Applied to Equity and uating the appropriateness of the deferred expenses, the Group ana-Liability Items of the Balance Sheet lyzes the progress of the studies, including the phase and completion 2.9.1 Financial Liabilites of events, invoices received and contractually agreed costs. Significant Initial Recognition and Measurement judgments and estimates are made in determining the deferred bal-Financial liabilities are recognized when the group entity becomes a ances at the end of any reporting period. Actual results may differ from party to the financial instrument that establishes the financial liability. the Group’s estimates. The Group’s historical accrual estimates have Financial instruments are initially recognized on the settlement date not been materially different from the actual costs. in the case of regular way purchases or sales, and derivative financial instruments are initially recognized on the trade date. Other provisions mainly include cash-settled share-based payments. Financial liabilities are measured at fair value on initial recognition. 2.9.3 Tax Liabilities Direct attributable transaction costs are deducted from the fair value if Tax liabilities are recognized and measured at their nominal value. Tax they are attributable to financial liabilities measured at amortized liabilities contain obligations from current taxes, excluding deferred cost. Transaction costs are recognized directly in profit or loss if they taxes. Liabilities for trade taxes, corporate taxes and similar taxes on are related to the issue of financial liabilities measured at fair value. income are determined based on the taxable income of the consolidated entities less any prepayments made. Subsequent Measurement For purposes of subsequent measurement, financial liabilities are clas- 2.9.4 Current Portion of Contract Liabilities sified in two categories: Upfront payments from customers for services to be rendered by the • Financial liabilities at fair value through profit or loss Group and revenue that must be recognized over a period of time are • Financial liabilities at amortized cost deferred and measured at the nominal amount of cash received. The corresponding rendering of services and revenue recognition is ex-Subsequent measurement of financial liabilities at fair value through pected to occur within a twelve-month period following the reporting profit or loss is at fair value. Gains or losses from changes in fair value date. are recognized in profit or loss in the financial result. After initial recognition of financial liabilities at amortized cost, these financial liabilities are measured at amortized cost using the eï¬€ective interest method. Gains and losses are recognized in profit or loss in the financial result using the eï¬€ective interest method. Derecognition A financial liability is derecognized when the obligation under the liability is discharged or cancelled or expires.

Financial Statements Notes 166 2.9.5 Contract Liabilities, net of Current Portion Deferred tax assets are oï¬€set against deferred tax liabilities when the This line item includes the non-current portion of deferred customer taxes are levied by the same taxation authority and their maturity and upfront payments and revenue that must be recognized over a period the entity has a legally enforceable right to oï¬€set current tax assets of time. Contractual liabilities are measured at the nominal amount of against current tax liabilities. Deferred tax assets and liabilities may cash received. not be discounted. 2.9.6 Convertible Bonds Deferred tax assets on loss carryforwards and temporary diï¬€erences The components of the convertible bonds issued by MorphoSys are rec- are recognized and measured on the basis of projected future taxable ognized separately as a financial liability and as an equity instrument income. They are only recognized if suï¬ƒcient taxable income is avail-according to the economic substance of the contractual arrangement. able in the future to utilize the deferred tax assets. As of the date of issuance, the fair value of the liability component was determined using the market interest rate applicable to comparable In assessing the recoverability of deferred tax assets, only the eï¬€ects non-convertible instruments. This amount was recognized as a financial on earnings of the reversal of temporary diï¬€erences arising from de-liability at amortized cost using the eï¬€ective interest method until set- ferred tax liabilities, the planned results from operating activities, and tlement on conversion or maturity of the instrument. The conversion possible tax strategies are taken into account. The planned results are option classified as equity was determined as the diï¬€erence between based on internal forecasts of the future earnings situation of the re-the total value of the convertible bond and the fair value of the liability spective Group company for the assessment of recoverability in the case component. The resulting amount, net of income tax eï¬€ects, is recog- of loss carryforwards and the long-term planning of the respective nized in the capital reserve as part of equity and is not adjusted in company for the assessment of recoverability in the case of temporary subsequent periods. No gain or loss arises from the exercise or expira- diï¬€erences. If there are doubts about the realizability of the loss carry-tion of the conversion option. Transaction costs associated with the forwards, no corresponding deferred tax assets are recognized in indi-instrument are allocated between the two components based on the vidual cases, or deferred tax assets already recognized are impaired. allocation of proceeds. The transaction costs attributable to the bor- The tax deferrals recognized are subject to ongoing reviews of the un-rowed capital were deducted from carrying amount of the liability com- derlying assumptions. Changes in assumptions or circumstances may ponent and are amortized over the term of the convertible bond using necessitate adjustments, which may result in additional tax deferrals the eï¬€ective interest method. or their reversal. Deferred tax assets and liabilities are oï¬€set if they relate to the same tax authority, and the right to oï¬€set current tax assets Interest calculated pro rata and payable within the next 12 months is and liabilities is legally enforceable. Deferred tax assets and liabilities shown as current. are recognized on an undiscounted basis. If the items underlying the temporary diï¬€erences, or tax expenses and income respectively, are 2.9.7 Convertible Bonds due to Related Parties recognized directly in equity, this also applies to the current taxes or The Group has issued convertible bonds to the Group’s Management deferred tax assets and liabilities attributable thereto. Board and employees. The equity component of a convertible bond must be recorded separately under additional paid-in capital. The equity 2.9.9 Financial Liabilities from Collaborations component is determined by deducting the separately determined The accounting policies applied to financial liabilities from collabora-amount of the liability component from the fair value of the convertible tions are presented in Note 2.3.3 * and Note 4*. bond. The eï¬€ect of the equity component on profit or loss is recognized *cross-reference to page 150 and page 170 in personnel expenses from stock options, whereas the eï¬€ect on profit or loss from the liability component is recognized as interest expense. 2.9.10 Stockholders’ Equity The exercise period of the conversion rights expired on March 31, 2020. Common Stock Ordinary shares are classified as stockholders’ equity. Incremental costs 2.9.8 Deferred Taxes directly attributable to the issue of ordinary shares and stock options Deferred tax assets and liabilities are calculated using the liability are recognized as a deduction from stockholders’ equity. method, which is commonly used internationally. Under this method, taxes expected to be paid or recovered in subsequent financial years Treasury Stock are based on the applicable tax rate at the time of recognition. Repurchases of the Company’s own shares at prices quoted on an exchange or at market value are recorded in this line item as a deduction Deferred tax assets and liabilities are recorded separately in the bal- from common stock. ance sheet and take into account the future tax effect resulting from temporary differences between carrying amounts in the balance sheet for assets and liabilities and tax loss carryforwards.

Notes Financial Statements 167 When common stock recorded as stockholders’ equity is repurchased, The Management Board evaluates a segment’s economic success using the amount of consideration paid, including directly attributable costs, selected key figures so that all relevant income and expenses are in-is recognized as a deduction from stockholders’ equity net of taxes and cluded. EBIT, which the Company defines as earnings before finance classified as treasury shares. When treasury shares are subsequently income, finance expenses, income from impairment reversals/ex-sold or reissued, the proceeds are recognized as an increase in stock- penses from impairment losses on financial assets and income taxes, holders’ equity, and any difference between the proceeds from the is the key benchmark for measuring and evaluating the operating re-transaction and the initial acquisition costs is recognized in additional sults. Refer to the table in Note 3.3 * for a reconciliation of EBIT to net paid-in capital. income as well as to the table in Note 5.3 * for a breakdown of finance income and expenses. Other key internal reporting figures include rev-The allocation of treasury shares to beneficiaries under long-term in- enues, operating expenses, segment results and the liquidity position. centive plans (in this case: performance shares) is reflected in this line *cross-reference to page 168 and page 174 item based on the set number of shares to be allocated after the expiration of the four-year vesting period (quantity structure) and multiplied Starting in first quarter of 2021, MorphoSys will no longer present the by the weighted-average purchase price of the treasury shares (value previous segment information for the Proprietary Development and structure). The adjustment is carried out directly in equity through a Partnered Discovery segment to the Company’s chief operating-decision reduction in the line item “treasury stock,” which is a deduction from maker, the Management Board. Internal reporting will only focus on common stock, while simultaneously reducing additional paid-in capi- the Groups key value drivers, which are product sales, further market tal. Further information can be found in Notes 8.3.1 * and 8.3.2 *. approvals of tafasitamab and royalties. The previous segment report-*cross-reference to page 192 and page 193 ing will be made for external reporting purposes for the last time as of December 31, 2020. The future reporting will only include the consoli-Additional Paid-In Capital dated statement of profit or loss and there will no longer be any segment Additional paid-in capital mainly consists of personnel expenses re- reporting. sulting from the grant of stock options, convertible bonds and performance shares, the conversion option of convertible bonds classified as 3.1 Proprietary Development equity, as well as the proceeds from newly created shares in excess of The Proprietary Development segment comprises all activities related their nominal value. to the proprietary development of therapeutic antibodies. Currently, this segment’s activities comprise a total of eleven antibody programs, Other Comprehensive Income Reserve with tafasitamab representing the Company’s most advanced propri-The line item “other comprehensive income reserve” includes changes etary clinical program. Also included are the antibody felzartamab in the fair value of equity instruments that are recognized in other (MOR202), which was partially out-licensed to I-Mab and the proprietary comprehensive income and currency exchange diï¬€erences that are not program otilimab, which was out-licensed to GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) in recognized in profit or loss. 2013. The partially or completely out-licensed programs have been part of the Proprietary Development segment since the beginning of Accumulated Income/Deficit their development and will therefore continue to be reported in this The “accumulated income/deficit” line item consists of the Group’s ac- segment. MorphoSys is also pursuing other early-stage proprietary cumulated consolidated net profits/losses. A separate measurement of development and co-development programs. One other program is in this item is not made. preclinical development and a further six programs are in drug discovery. The Proprietary Development segment also manages the development of proprietary technologies 3 Segment Reporting 3.2 Partnered Discovery An operating segment is defined as a unit of an entity that engages in MorphoSys’s technology for generating therapeutics is based on human business activities from which it can earn revenues and incur expenses antibodies. The Group markets this technology commercially through and whose operating results are regularly reviewed by the entity’s its partnerships with numerous pharmaceutical and biotechnology chief operating decision-maker, the Management Board, and for which companies. The Partnered Discovery segment encompasses all operat-discrete financial information is available. ing activities relating to these commercial agreements. Segment information is provided for the Group’s operating segments based on the Group’s management and internal reporting structures. The segment results and segment assets include items that can be either directly attributed to the individual segment or allocated to the segments on a reasonable basis.

Financial Statements Notes 168 3.3 Cross-Segment Information The information on segment assets is based on the assets’ respective locations. Proprietary Development Partnered Discovery For the Twelve-month Period    Ended December 31 (in 000’ ) 2020 2019 2018 2020 2019 2018 External Revenues 278,630 34,286 53,610 49,068 37,469 22,832 Operating Expenses (265,159) (143,459) (107,019) (11,643) (10,671) (9,516) Segment Result 13,471 (109,173) (53,409) 37,425 26,798 13,316 Other Income 9,386 125 159 0 0 0 Other Expenses 0 (19) 0 0 0 0 Segment EBIT 22,857 (109,067) (53,250) 37,425 26,798 13,316 Finance Income 81,995 0 0 0 0 0 Finance Expenses (45,443) 0 0 0 0 0 Income from Reversals of Impairment Losses /  (Impairment Losses) on Financial Assets                Earnings before Taxes                Income Tax Benefit / (Expenses)                Consolidated Net Profit / (Loss)                Current Assets 138,515 12,155 15,842 13,965 11,078 7,114 Non-current Assets 103,747 72,928 42,041 7,166 11,851 6,288 Total Segment Assets 242,262 85,083 57,883 21,131 22,929 13,402 Current Liabilities 102,177 36,176 32,167 7,363 2,877 1,471 Non-current Liabilities 544,761 27,775 3,291 4,517 5,771 158 Stockholders’ Equity 0 0 0 0 0 0 Total Segment Liabilities and Equity 646,938 63,951 35,458 11,880 8,648 1,629 Capital Expenditure 48,260 2,830 1,319 429 625 879 Depreciation and Amortization 3,201 1,718 1,903 1,104 1,385 1,429 The segment result is defined as the segment’s revenue, less the seg- In 2019, the largest customer for the Group accounted for revenues of ment’s operating expenses. The unallocated operating expenses of 32.3 million, the second-largest for 22.0 million, and the third-larg- 32.9 million (2019: 25.7 million; 2018: 20.0 million) included est for 9.4 million. The largest customer was allocated to the Part-primarily expenses for central administrative functions that are not nered Discovery segment and the second-largest and third-largest allocated to one of the two segments. Finance income, finance expense customers to the Proprietary Development segment. and income tax, except for the effects from the collaboration and license agreement with Incyte, are also not allocated to the segments as In 2018, 49.5 million of the Group’s total revenues came from the they are managed on a Group basis. Unallocated segment assets and largest customer, 19.0 million from the second-largest customer, and liabilities have the same background as unallocated operating expenses. 3.9 million from the third-largest customer. The largest and third-larg-In the 2020 financial year, impairments totaling 13.9 million were est customers were allocated to the Proprietary Development segment recognized in the Proprietary Development segment and 2.1 million and the second-largest customer to the Partnered Discovery segment. in the Partnered Discovery segment on property, plant and equipment as well as intangible assets (2019: impairments of 1.6 million in the The following overview shows the Group’s regional distribution of Proprietary Development segment; 2018: impairments of 19.2 million revenue: in the Proprietary Development segment). The Group’s key customers are allocated to both the Proprietary Devel- in 000’ 2020 2019 2018 opment and the Partnered Discovery segments. As of December 31, 2020, the single most important customer represented accounts receiv- Germany 0 145 309 able with a carrying amount of 50.1 million (December 31, 2019: Europe and 8.0 million). The largest customer for the Group accounted for revenues Asia 8,640 39,322 56,784 in 2020 of 255.8 million, the second-largest for 44.7 million, and the USA and third-largest for 4.1 million. The largest and third-largest customer Canada 319,058 32,288 19,350 in 2020 were allocated to the Proprietary Development segment and Total 327,698 71,755 76,443 the second-largest customer to the Partnered Discovery segment.

Notes Financial Statements 169 Unallocated Group 2020 2019 2018 2020 2019 2018 0 0 0 327,698 71,755 76,442 (32,945) (25,723) (19,969) (309,747) (179,853) (136,504) (32,945) (25,723) (19,969) 17,951 (108,098) (60,062) 5,199 680 1,486 14,585 805 1,645 (5,175) (608) (689) (5,175) (627) (689) (32,921) (25,651) (19,172) 27,361 (107,920) (59,106) 10,052 0 0 92,047 2,799 418 (50,771) 0 0 (96,214) (2,272) (754)    (702) 872 (1,035)    22,492 (106,521) (60,477)    75,399 3,506 4,305    97,891 (103,015) (56,172) 1,054,336 280,460 365,949 1,206,816 303,693 388,905 341,784 107,967 101,530 452,697 192,746 149,859 1,396,120 388,427 467,479 1,659,513 496,439 538,764 90,919 22,505 12,285 200,459 61,558 45,923 288,454 6,633 1,019 837,732 40,179 4,468 621,322 394,702 488,373 621,322 394,702 488,373 1,000,695 423,840 501,677 1,659,513 496,439 538,764 526 207 268 49,215 3,662 2,466 425 355 418 4,730 3,458 3,750 The following overview shows the timing of the satisfaction of performance obligations: Proprietary Development Partnered Discovery in 000’ 2020 2019 2018 2020 2019 2018 At a Point in Time thereof performance obligations fulfilled in previous periods: in Proprietary Development 0.8 million in 2020, 29.1 million in 2019 and 0 in 2018 and in Partnered Discovery 46.2 million in 2020, 32.9 million in 2019 and 19.0 million in 2019 278,630 34,286 53,610 48,808 36,984 22,268 Over Time 0 0 0 260 485 564 Total 278,630 34,286 53,610 49,068 37,469 22,832 A total of 311.6 million (December 31, 2019: 175.8 million) of the Group’s non-current assets, excluding deferred tax assets, are located in Germany and 8.3 million in the USA (December 31, 2019: 4.4 mil-lion). In the Netherlands, there were no non-current assets as of De-cember 31, 2020 due the sale of the Lanthio entities (December 31, 2019: 12.5 million). Of the Group’s investments, 47.6 million (De-cember 31, 2019: 2.3 million) were made in Germany, 1.6 million (December 31, 2019: 1.3 million) in the USA and less than 0.1 mil-lion (December 31, 2019: less than 0.1 million) in the Netherlands. In accordance with internal definitions, investments solely include additions to property, plant and equipment and intangible assets not related to leases and business combinations.

Financial Statements Notes 170 4 Collaboration and License Agreement with Incyte On January 13, 2020, MorphoSys AG and Incyte Corporation an- expected future losses associated with the US commercialization ac-nounced that both companies had signed a collaboration and license tivities (as Incyte has agreed to compensate MorphoSys for 50 % of said agreement for the further global development and commercialization of losses) measured at fair value. The non-current financial liability, mea-MorphoSys’s proprietary anti-CD19 antibody tafasitamab. The agree- sured initially at fair value, represents Incyte’s prepaid entitlement to ment became eï¬€ective on March 3, 2020 following the receipt of anti- future profit sharing on sales of Monjuvi in the US (as MorphoSys will trust clearance. Under the terms of the agreement, MorphoSys re- share 50 % of these profits with Incyte). Incyte has already acquired this ceived an upfront payment of US$ 750.0 million ( 691.7 million). In right with the payments made in March 2020; therefore, a liability had addition, Incyte invested US$ 150.0 million ( 130.9 million) in new to be recognized at that time. The basis for the initial valuation at fair ADSs of MorphoSys. MorphoSys increased its common stock by issuing value is the corporate planning and its shared profits and losses thereof 907,441 new ordinary shares from Authorized Capital 2017-I, excluding in connection with the commercialization activities of MorphoSys and the preemptive rights of existing shareholders, to facilitate Incyte’s Incyte in the United States for the years ahead. As part of Incyte’s purchase of 3,629,764 ADSs. Each ADS represents one-quarter of one participation in the equity of MorphoSys AG through a capital increase, MorphoSys ordinary share. The new ordinary shares underlying the the equivalent of US$1.0 million ( 0.9 million; equivalent to the nomADSs represented 2.84 % of the registered common stock of MorphoSys inal value of 1 per ordinary share) was recognized in common stock prior to the capital increase. Incyte purchased the 3,629,764 new ADSs and US$ 90.7 million ( 79.7 million) in additional paid-in capital in at a price of US$ 41.32 (approximately 36.27) per ADS. This price the amount of the fair value of the investment. The remainder of represented a premium of 20 % on the volume-weighted average price US$ 268.9 million ( 236.1 million) was recognized as revenues accord-of the ADSs 30 days prior to the signing of the collaboration and license ing to IFRS 15, as this is the amount recognized as consideration for the agreement. Subject to limited exceptions, Incyte has agreed not to sell marketing license for tafasitamab outside the US. Due to the diï¬€erent or otherwise transfer any of the new ADSs (representing 2.76 % of timing of revenue recognition and receipt of payment from Incyte, for-MorphoSys’s registered common stock following the capital increase) eign currency gains of 8.4 million were recognized. for a period of 18 months. The financial asset is subsequently measured at fair value through Depending on the achievement of certain developmental, regulatory, profit or loss and the financial liability at amortized cost using the ef-and commercial milestones, MorphoSys is eligible to receive milestone fective interest method. Any resulting effective interest is recognized payments amounting to up to US$ 1.1 billion (approximately 973.0 mil- in the finance result. The basis for the valuation at fair value is the lion). MorphoSys will also receive tiered royalties in a mid-teen to corporate planning and its shared profits and losses thereof in connec-mid-twenties percentage of net sales of Monjuvi outside the US. In tion with the commercialization activities of MorphoSys and Incyte in the US, MorphoSys and Incyte will co-commercialize Monjuvi, with the US for the years ahead. Cash flows from the profits and losses shared MorphoSys being responsible for the commercial relationship with the equally between the two parties are generally recognized directly end customer, which also comprises the deliveries of the drug and the against the financial asset or financial liability. Diï¬€erences between collection of the related cash inflows. The revenues from product sales the planned and actual cash flows from the financial asset or financial of Monjuvi will, therefore, be recognized by MorphoSys, as it is the liability are recorded in the finance result. Eï¬€ects resulting from principal of the transaction. Incyte and MorphoSys are jointly respon- changes in planning estimates regarding the expected net cash flows sible for the commercialization activities in the US and will equally from financial assets and financial liabilities are also recognized in the share any profits and losses (50/50 basis). Outside the US, Incyte will finance result. The initial interest rate continues to be applied for the receive exclusive commercialization rights, determine the commer- subsequent measurement of the financial liability, whereas the current cialization strategy and be responsible for the commercial relationship yield curve is used for the financial assets. Foreign currency translation with the end customer, including the deliveries of the drug and the effects from the financial asset or financial liability are also recognized collection of the related cash inflows. Therefore, Incyte will recognize in the finance result. all revenues generated from sales of tafasitamab outside the US and will pay royalties to MorphoSys on these sales. The planning assumptions are influenced by significant estimates and mainly comprise revenues and costs for the production and sale of MorphoSys received a total of US$ 900.0 million ( 822.6 million) from Monjuvi in the US, the discount rate and the expected term of cash Incyte upon signing the agreement. At the time of its initial recogni- flows. Revenues are affected by variable influencing factors such as tion, a current financial asset in the amount of US$ 48.9 million patient numbers and the number of doses of Monjuvi administered, as ( 45.1 million) and a non-current financial liability in the amount of well as the price that can be obtained in the market. Costs include the US$ 588.3 million ( 542.6 million) were recognized and recorded in manufacturing costs for these doses of Monjuvi and other cost compo-the balance sheet items “Financial assets from collaborations” and “Fi- nents for e.g. sale, transport, insurance and packaging. For more infor-nancial liabilities from collaborations”. The financial asset represents mation on the discount rate, see section 2.3.3 of these notes. The term MorphoSys’s current reimbursement claim against Incyte from the is the estimated time period over which Monjuvi will generate benefits in the approved indication and therefore the expected term of product sales in the US.

Notes Financial Statements 171 As of December 31, 2020, US$ 633.8 million ( 516.5 million) was recog- The estimates underlying the financial liabilities from collaboration nized as a current and non-current financial liability and US$ 52.6 mil- are subject to a sensitivity analysis below. This would have resulted in lion ( 42.9 million) as a financial asset as a result of the collaboration the following effects on the fair value of the financial liabilities from with Incyte. collaborations upon initial recognition. In each case, one planning assumption is changed and all other estimates are kept constant. MorphoSys and Incyte will also share the development costs for the jointly initiated worldwide and US-specific clinical trials at a ratio of 55% (Incyte) to 45% (MorphoSys). This 45 % share of development costs in million + 1% (1%) borne by MorphoSys is included in research and development costs. Should MorphoSys provide services in excess of this 45 % share, Change in Price obtained in the Market MorphoSys will be entitled to a compensation claim against Incyte, (revenue related) 13.8 (13.8) which will qualify as revenue in accordance with IFRS 15. Related ex- Change in Patient Numbers and Number penses for the provision of the service are recognized as cost of sales. of Doses administered (revenue related) 12.7 (12.6) Conversely, MorphoSys has to bear additional research and develop- Change in Manufacturing Costs and ment expenses if Incyte performs more than 55 % of the total clinical other Cost Components (cost related) (7.2) 7.2 trial services. In addition, Incyte will assume 100 % of future develop- Change in Patient Numbers and Number ment costs for clinical trials in countries outside the United States, of Doses administered (cost related) (1.2) 1.2 which are conducted in Incyte’s own responisbility. Incyte has the op- Discount Rate (43.1) 47.7 tion to obtain development services from MorphoSys for this purpose. If this option is exercised, the related income will be recognized as revenue. The eï¬€ects included in the previous table would have correspondingly aï¬€ected the revenue recognized as residual value for the marketing The financial assets from collaborations measured according to Level 3 license for tafasitamab outside the US at the acquisition date. An in-changed in 2020 as follows: crease in financial liabilities from collaborations would have led to lower and a decrease to higher sales revenues. in 000’ 2020 As of December 31, 2020, percentage changes in significant estimates would have impacted the financial liabilities from collaborations as fol- Opening Balance 0 lows. Additions 45,090 Cash Receipts (12,677) Through Other Comprehensive Income 0 in million + 1% (1%) Through Profit or Loss (in Finance Result) 10,458 Closing Balance 42,870 Change in Price obtained in the Market (revenue related) 11.2 (11.2) Change in Patient Numbers and Number If the expected sales revenues and cost components had changed by of Doses administered (revenue related) 10.1 (10.1) 1%, the fair value of the financial asset from collaborations would have Change in Manufacturing Costs and been in a range of 42.1 million to 43.7 million (acquisition date: other Cost Components (cost related) (6.2) 6.2 43.7 million to 46.5 million). Change in Patient Numbers and Number of Doses administered (cost related) (1.1) 1.1

Financial Statements Notes 172 5 Notes to the Profit or Loss Statement 5.1 Revenues Proprietary Development Partnered Discovery in 000’ 2020 2019 2018 2020 2019 2018 Product Sales, Net 22,983 0 0 0 0 0 License Fees 236,051 0 50,596 43 265 618 Milestone Payments 847 29,100 0 3,978 1,370 3,917 Service Fees 18,749 5,186 3,014 2,580 4,046 2,919 Royalties 0 0 0 42,467 31,788 15,379 Total 278,630 34,286 53,610 49,068 37,469 22,833 Substantially all service fee revenues relate to revenues on a gross basis (principal). Of the total revenues generated in 2020, a total of 47.1 million were recognized from performance obligations that were fulfilled in previous periods and related to milestone payments and royalties (2019: 62.0 million; 2019: 19.0 million). 5.2 Operating Expenses 5.2.1 Cost of Sales Cost of sales consisted of the following: in 000’ 2020 2019 2018 Expensed Acquisition or Production Cost of Inventories 5,564 0 0 Personnel Expenses 11,054 3,233 1,797 Impairment (+) and Reversals of Impairment (-) on Inventories (9,933) 8,685 0 Other Operating Expenses 12 18 0 Impairment, Amortization and Other Costs of Intangible Assets 2,251 0 0 External Services 128 49 0 Depreciation and Other Costs for Infrastructure 98 100 0 Total 9,174 12,085 1,797 For the explanation of the income in the line “impairment and reversals of impairment on inventories”, see Note 6.5 * of these notes. *cross-reference to page 180 5.2.2 Research and Development Expenses Research and development expenses consisted of the following: in 000’ 2020 2019 2018 Personnel Expenses 35,495 30,131 25,288 Impairment (+) and Reversals of Impairment (-) on Inventories (3,338) 0 0 Consumable Supplies 3,239 2,874 2,310 Other Operating Expenses 2,498 3,142 2,761 Impairment, Amortization and Other Costs of Intangible Assets 20,201 5,631 22,760 External Services 74,663 60,710 47,889 Depreciation and Other Costs for Infrastructure 8,669 5,944 5,389 Total 141,427 108,432 106,397

Notes Financial Statements 173 For the explanation of the income in the line “impairment and reversals of impairment on inventories”, see Note 6.5 * of these notes. *cross-reference to page 180 In 2020, a total of 16.0 million in impairment losses was recognized as expenses for intangible assets, which related to the MOR107 in-process R&D program, licenses and patents as well as to goodwill. 5.2.3 Selling Expenses Selling expenses consisted of the following: in 000’ 2020 2019 2018 Personnel Expenses 52,959 6,967 2,536 Consumable Supplies 125 14 3 Other Operating Expenses 3,360 1,158 538 Amortization of Intangible Assets 8 11 25 External Services 50,591 14,150 2,953 Depreciation and Other Costs for Infrastructure 700 371 328 Total 107,743 22,671 6,383 5.2.4 General and Administrative Expenses General and administrative expenses consisted of the following: in 000’ 2020 2019 2018 Personnel Expenses 32,352 23,382 15,016 Consumable Supplies 565 389 15 Other Operating Expenses 1,250 1,875 1,012 Amortization of Intangible Assets 55 39 97 External Services 13,097 9,241 4,475 Depreciation and Other Costs for Infrastructure 4,084 1,739 1,313 Total 51,403 36,665 21,928 5.2.5 Personnel Expenses Personnel expenses consisted of the following: in 000’ 2020 2019 2018 Wages and Salaries 99,438 43,476 30,349 Social Security Contributions 8,043 5,686 4,341 Share-based Payment Expense 8,955 6,654 5,585 Temporary Staff (External) 5,760 2,633 1,241 Other 9,664 5,264 3,121 Total 131,860 63,713 44,637 In the years 2020, 2019 and 2018, other personnel expenses consisted mainly of costs for personnel support and personnel development. The cost of defined contribution plans amounted to 0.8 million in 2020 (2019: 0.7 million; 2018: 0.7 million).

Financial Statements Notes 174 The following number of employees as of December 31 of a given year were employed in the various functions and allocated to the segments as follows: 2020 2019 2018 Research and Development 351 300 246 Selling 142 40 21 General and Administrative 122 86 62 Total 615 426 329 Proprietary Development 423 249 209 Partnered Discovery 59 61 49 Unallocated 133 116 71 Total 615 426 329 The average number of employees for the 2020 financial year was 564 (2019: 374; 2018: 327). 5.3 Other Income and Expenses, Finance Income and Finance Expenses The other income and other expenses are shown in the following overview. in 000’ 2020 2019 2018 Gain from Deconsolidation of Lanthio Entities 379 0 0 Gain on Foreign Exchange from Operating Activities 13,656 233 677 Grant Income 61 98 153 Gain from recognition of previously unrecognized intangible assets 0 0 350 Income from Other Items 489 474 465 Other Income 14,585 805 1,645 Loss on Foreign Exchange from Operating Activities (4,581) (413) (457) Expenses from Other Items (594) (214) (232) Other Expenses (5,175) (627) (689) The finance income and finance expenses are shown in the following overview. in 000’ 2020 2019 2018 Foreign Currency Gains from Financial Liabilities from Collaborations 66,379 0 0 Gain from Changes of Estimates in Financial Assets from Collaborations 15,616 0 0 Gain from Foreign Currency Hedging 698 1,476 322 Gain on Financial Assets at Fair Value through Profit or Loss 8,121 1,101 5 Interest Income on Other Financial Assets at Amortized Cost 1,233 223 91 Finance Income 92,047 2,799 418 Foreign Currency Losses from Financial Assets from Collaborations (5,549) 0 0 Effective Interest Expenses from Financial Liabilities from Collaborations (15,329) 0 0 Losses from Changes of Estimates in Financial Liabilities from Collaborations (24,565) 0 0 Losses from Foreign Currency Hedging (4,950) (214) (444) Loss on Financial Assets at Fair Value through Profit or Loss (32,138) (299) (85) Interest Expenses for Other Financial Assets at Amortized Cost (9,391) (796) (53) Interest Expenses on Lease Liabilities (1,174) (932) 0 Interest Expenses for Financial Liabilites at Amortized Cost (2,454) 0 (126) Bank Fees (664) (31) (46) Finance Expenses (96,215) (2,273) (754)

Notes Financial Statements 175 The following net gains or losses resulted from financial instruments in the financial year: in 000’ 2020 2019 2018 Financial Assets at Fair Value through Profit or Loss (18,202) 2,063 (202) Other Financial Assets at Amortized Cost (8,860) 299 (978) Shares at Fair Value through Other Comprehensive Income 1,260 (1,160) (127) Financial Liabilities at Amortized Cost 24,031 0 (126) Total (1,771) 1,202 (1,433) Net gains or losses mainly comprised gains and losses from hedging exchange rate fluctuations, interest income and expenses, as well as valuation eï¬€ects from changes in fair value. The category financial liabilities at amortized cost also includes gains and losses from changes in planning estimates from financial liabilities from collaborations. 5.4 Income Tax Expenses and Benefits MorphoSys AG is subject to corporate taxes, the solidarity surcharge and trade taxes. The Company’s corporate income tax rate in the reporting year remained unchanged (15.0%), as did the solidarity surcharge (5.5%) and the eï¬€ective trade tax rate (10.85%), resulting in a combined eï¬€ective tax rate of 26.68%. MorphoSys US Inc. is subject to Federal Corporate Income Tax of 21.0 % and a blended State Income Tax of combined and eï¬€ective 4.11%, resulting in a total eï¬€ective income tax rate of 25.11%. in 000’ 2020 2019 2018 Current Tax Benefit / (Expense) (Thereof Regarding Prior Years: k 66; 2019: 0; 2018: k 1) (67,073) (1) 1 Deferred Tax Benefit / (Expenses) 142,472 3,507 4,304 Total Income Tax Benefit / (Expenses) 75,399 3,506 4,305 The Group recorded total income tax benefits of 75.4 million in 2020, which was mainly driven by the different accounting treatment of the collaboration and license agreement for tax purposes, since the resulting financial liability could not be recorded for tax purposes. This included current tax expenses of 67.1 and deferred tax expenses from temporary differences of 10.6 million. These were more than offset by deferred tax benefits from temporary differences of 153.1 million. From the initial valuation of the convertible bond, 12.8 million was recorded through equity and the share of deferred taxes to be recognized in profit or loss was recorded as current tax expense at 1.3 million.

Financial Statements Notes 176 The following table reconciles the expected income tax expense to the actual income tax expense as presented in the consolidated financial statements. The combined income tax rate of 26.675 % in the 2020 finan-cial year (2019: 26.675%; 2018: 26.675%) was applied to profit before taxes to calculate the statutory income tax expense. This rate consisted of a corporate income tax of 15.0%, a solidarity surcharge of 5.5 % on the corporate tax, and an average trade tax of 10.85 % applicable to the Group. in 000’ 2020 2019 2018 Earnings Before Income Taxes 22,492 (106,520) (60,477) Expected Tax Rate 26,675% 26,675% 26,675 % Expected Income Tax (6,000) 28,414 16,132 Tax Effects Resulting from:    Premium from Capital Increase by Incyte 14,182 0 0 Share-based Payment (1,823) (387) (363) Permanent Differences 4,991 (101) 0 Non-Tax-Deductible Items (9,718) (151) (126) Differences in Profit or Loss-Neutral Adjustments 0 (310) 3,716 Non-Recognition of Deferred Tax Assets on Temporary Differences 0 0 (349) Non-Recognition of Deferred Tax Assets on Current Year Tax Losses 0 (24,285) (14,497) Recognition of Deferred Tax Assets on Prior Year Temporary Differences 6,548 0 0 Effect from Utilization of Loss Carryforwards for which no Deferred Tax Assets were recognized 66,472 0 0 Tax Rate Differences to Local Tax Rates 140 (1,461) (268) Effect of Tax Rate Changes 0 1,789 0 Prior Year Taxes 0 0 1 Other Effects 607 (2) 59 Actual Income Tax 75,399 3,506 4,305 Effective Tax Rate 335.2% (3.3)  % (7.1)  % As of December 31, 2020, the tax loss carryforwards in MorphoSys AG were fully utilized on the basis of the net income generated and the profit to be taken into account for tax purposes pursuant to Section 5 paragraph 2a of the German Income Tax Act. Tax loss carryforwards from previous years at MorphoSys US Inc. were capitalized as start-up losses for taxation purposes and are treated accordingly as temporary differences. The respective deferred tax asset of 6.0 million was capitalized, because realization is likely based on the positive current planning and the implemented transferprice method. On November 16, 2020, the 100 % direct investment in Lanthio Pharma B.V. and the 100 % indirect investment in LantioPep B.V. were sold. As a result, the previous loss carryforwards are to be eliminated. Deferred taxes on temporary diï¬€erences are capitalized in full due to the long-term positive business development and the associated positive earnings forecasts of MorphoSys AG and MorphoSys US Inc. The forecast period is up to 2039 and in line with the accrual period of the financial liability from collaborations, and the respective analysis is based on long-term corporate planning and supports the assessment as strong evidence that the deferred tax assets will be realized.

Notes Financial Statements 177 Unlimited Carry Forward Limited Carry Forward in 000’ of Tax Losses of Tax Losses Tax Losses from Prior Years 295,417 20,435 Tax Losses from Current Year 0 0 Reclassification to Temporary Differences (27,453) 0 Expiry / Deconsolidation (18,772) (20,435) Utilization of Tax Losses (249,193) 0 Total Tax Losses as of December 31, 2020 0 0 Deferred tax assets and deferred tax liabilities consisted of the following: Deferred Deferred Deferred Deferred Tax Asset Tax Asset Tax Liability Tax Liability in 000’s , as of December 31 2020 2019 2020 2019 Collaborations 137,778 0 5,475 0 Convertible Bonds 113 0 13,653 0 Leases 824 1 787 448 Intangible Assets 8,753 8,138 517 1,351 Inventories 1,328 0 0 0 Receivables and Other Assets 1,099 0 211 55 Property, Plant and Equipment 0 0 381 0 Other Provisions 2,581 0 2,723 9,778 Other Liabilities 0 0 980 350 Tax Losses 0 3,843 0 0 Offsetting (19,670) (11,982) (19,670) (11,982) Total 132,806 0 5,057 0 3.2 million of deferred tax assets were regarded as current and 129.6 million as non-current (reversal or offset after more than 12 months). Deferred tax liabilities are of current nature, income tax receivables and income tax payables are both fully of current nature. Changes in Deferred Taxes in 2020 Recognized in Profit or Loss in 000’s , as of December 31 Income / (Expense) Recognized in Equity Collaborations 132,303 0 Convertible Bonds (806) (12,734) Leases 484 0 Intangible Assets 1,449 0 Inventories 1,328 0 Receivables and Other Assets 943 0 Property, Plant and Equipment (381) 0 Other Provisions 9,636 0 Other Liabilities (630) 0 Tax Losses (3,843) 0 Foreign Currency Translation Differences 642 0 Total 141,125 (12,734) As of December 31, 2020, there were no temporary differences in connection with investments in subsidiaries (as of December 31, 2019 the respective outside basis differences for which no deferred tax liability was recognized amounted to 0.6 million).

Financial Statements Notes 178 5.5 Earnings per Share The following table shows the reconciliation of basic earnings per Earnings per share are calculated by dividing the 2020 consolidated share to diluted earnings per share (in , except for disclosures in net profit of 97,890,576 (2019: consolidated net loss of 103,014,058; shares). 2018: consolidated net loss of 56,172,121) by the weighted-average number of ordinary shares outstanding during the respective year (2020: 32,525,644; 2019: 31,611,155; 2018: 31,338,948). 2020 The table below shows the calculation of the weighted-average number Numerator (in ) of ordinary shares. Consolidated Net Profit – used in calculating Basic    Earnings per Share 97,890,576 Interest in connection with Dilutive Shares 654,487 2020 2019 Profit used in calculating Diluted Earnings per Share 98,545,063 Denominator (in Shares) Shares Issued on January 1 31,957,958 31,839,572 Weighted average Ordinary Shares Used in Calculating Effect of Treasury Shares Held Basic Earnings per Share 32,525,644 on January 1 (225,800) (281,036) Dilutive Shares 642,208 Effect of Share Issuance 725,953 0 Weighted average Ordinary Shares and potential Effect of Transfer of Treasury Ordinary Shares Used in Calculating Diluted Earnings Stock / Shares Issued in January 3,291 247 per Share 33,167,852 Effect of Transfer of Treasury Earnings per Share (in ) Stock / Shares Issued in February 0 230 Basic 3.01 Effect of Transfer of Treasury Diluted 2.97 Stock / Shares Issued in March 17,516 208 Effect of Transfer of Treasury Stock / Shares Issued in April 12,561 10,500 In 2019 and 2018, diluted earnings per share equaled basic earnings Effect of Transfer of Treasury per share. The eï¬€ect of 115,684 potentially dilutive shares in 2019 and Stock / Shares Issued in May 22,106 5,789 52,930 dilutive shares in 2018 resulting from stock options granted to Effect of Transfer of Treasury the Management Board and certain employees of the Company was Stock / Shares Issued in June 183 296 excluded from the diluted earnings per share as it would result in a Effect of Transfer of Treasury decline in the loss per share and should, therefore, not be treated as Stock / Shares Issued in July 707 588 dilutive. Effect of Transfer of Treasury Stock / Shares Issued in August 631 1,533 Effect of Transfer of Treasury Stock /  6 Notes to the Balance Sheet Assets Shares Issued in September 5,829 25,122 Effect of Transfer of Treasury 6.1 Cashand Cash Equivalents Stock / Shares Issued in October 4,709 331 Effect of Transfer of Treasury Stock /  Shares Issued in November 0 7,702 in 000’ 12/31/2020 12/31/2019 Effect of Transfer of Treasury Stock /  Shares Issued in December 0 73 Bank Balances and Cash in Hand 109,797 44,314 Weighted-average Number of Shares Impairment (2) 0 of Common Stock 32,525,644 31,611,155 Cash and Cash Equivalents 109,795 44,314 Diluted earnings per share is calculated by taking into account the The presentation of the development of the expected twelve-month loss potential increase in the Group’s ordinary shares as the result of for cash and cash equivalents can be found in Note 2.3.1 *. granted stock options, restricted stock units and convertible bonds. *cross-reference to page 146

Notes Financial Statements 179 6.2 Financial Assets at Fair Value, with Changes Recognized in Profit or Loss and Other Financial Assets at Amortized Costs The financial assets at fair value, with changes recognized in profit or loss, are shown in the following overview. Gross Unrealized Market in 000’ Maturity Cost Gains Losses Value December 31, 2020                Money Market Funds daily 288,050 293 (405) 287,938 Total    287,938 December 31, 2019                Money Market Funds daily 20,330 125 0 20,455 Total    20,455 Realized and unrealized gains and losses on money market funds held or sold were recognized in the finance result in profit or loss. The valuation of financial assets resulted in a net loss of 6.1 million in 2020 (2019: net gain of 0.4 million; 2018: net loss of less than 0.1 million). The other financial assets at amortized cost are shown in the following overview. Unrealized Carrying Interest Gain in 000’ Maturity Cost (+) / Loss (-) Impairment amount December 31, 2020                Term Deposits, Current Portion 4 – 12 Months 649,745 380 (412) 649,713 More than Bonds 12 Months 197,827 (652) (587) 196,588 Total    846,301 December 31, 2019                Term Deposits, Current Portion 4 – 12 Months 207,846 90 (201) 207,735 More than Commercial Papers 12 Months 10,000 1 0 10,001 More than Term Deposits, Net of Current Portion 12 Months 75,000 18 (97) 74,921 Total    292,657 As of December 31, 2020, these assets mainly consisted of term deposits with fixed or variable interest rates, as well as corporate bonds with fixed interest. Interest expense from financial assets classified as “at amortized cost” amounted to 0.5 million in 2020 (2019: 0.1 million interest income; 2018: 0.1 million interest income) and was recognized in the finance result.

Financial Statements Notes 180 The risk associated with these financial instruments results primarily 6.5 Inventories from bank credit risks. The presentation of the development of the ex- Inventories amounted to 10.0 million as of December 31, 2020 (De-pected twelve-month loss and the lifetime expected credit loss for term cember 31, 2019: 0.3 million) and consisted of raw materials and deposits and corporate bonds can be found in Note 2.3.1 *. supplies ( 5.3 million) and finished goods ( 4.7 million). *cross-reference to page 146 The impairment to a net realizable value of zero on the antibody material Further information on the accounting for financial assets is provided (tafasitamab) derived from fermenter runs, which was recognized in in Note 2.8.1 *. cost of sales and research and development expenses in prior periods, *cross-reference to page 161 was reversed due to the market approval of Monjuvi. At the time of the reversal tafasitamab was allocated only under inventories. The reversal 6.3 Accounts Receivable resulted in a net gain of 13.3 million, which was fully attributable to All accounts receivable are non-interest-bearing and generally have financial year 2019. The reversal of the impairment loss was recog-payment terms of between 30 and 180 days. As of December 31, 2020, nized in cost of sales of 9.9 million and in research and development accounts receivable mainly included royalty payments not yet received expenses of 3.3 million. There were no impairment losses to be rec-and receivables from the collaboration and license agreement with ognized in 2020 and 2019. Incyte. As of December 31, 2019, accounts receivable mainly consisted of royalty payments not yet received and unbilled services associated 6.6 Income Tax Receivables, Prepaid Expenses and with the transfer of projects to customers. Other Current Assets As of December 31, 2020, income tax receivables amounted to 0.4 mil-The presentation of the development of the risk provisions in the 2020 lion (December 31, 2019: 0.1 million) and consisted of receivables and 2019 financial years for accounts receivable using the simplified from capital gain taxes withheld. impairment model can be found in Note 2.3.1 *. *cross-reference to page 146 Prepaid expenses and other current assets are shown in the following table. 6.4 Other Receivables Other receivables as of December 31, 2020, mainly consisted of receivables from creditors with debit accounts in the amount of 1.2 million in 000’ 12/31/2020 12/31/2019 (December 31, 2019: 0.3 million). As of December 31, 2019, other receivables mainly consisted of receivables from unrealized gross gains Combination Drugs 10,003 4,790 on foreign exchange forward agreements in the amount of 0.4 million. Receivables due from Tax The foreign exchange forward agreements were classified as financial Authorities from Input Tax Surplus 3,920 3,502 assets at fair value through profit or loss. Upfront Fees for External    Laboratory Services 1,210 745 As of December 31, 2020 and December 31, 2019, there were no impair- Upfront Fees for Sublicenses 777 466 ments recognized on other receivables. Other Prepayments 4,711 4,557 Total 20,621 14,060 An impairment of 0.5 million was recognized on combination drugs in 2020 (December 31, 2019: 0.7 million).

Notes Financial Statements 181 6.7 Property, Plant and Equipment Office and Laboratory Furniture and in 000’ Equipment Fixtures Total Cost    January 1, 2020 18,386 2,390 20,776 Additions 2,662 1,672 4,334 Disposals (1,006) (8) (1,014) Exchange differences (1) (112) (113) December 31, 2020 20,041 3,942 23,983 Accumulated Depreciation and Impairment    January 1, 2020 15,654 469 16,123 Depreciation Charge for the Year 2,101 363 2,464 Disposals (921) (2) (923) Exchange differences 0 (5) (5) December 31, 2020 16,834 825 17,659 Carrying Amount    January 1, 2020 2,732 1,921 4,653 December 31, 2020 3,207 3,117 6,324 Cost    January 1, 2019 17,658 939 18,597 Additions 1,647 1,452 3,099 Disposals (919) (1) (920) December 31, 2019 18,386 2,390 20,776 Accumulated Depreciation and Impairment    January 1, 2019 14,758 308 15,066 Depreciation Charge for the Year 1,805 161 1,966 Impairment 10 0 10 Disposals (919) 0 (919) December 31, 2019 15,654 469 16,123 Carrying Amount    January 1, 2019 2,900 631 3,531 December 31, 2019 2,732 1,921 4,653 No borrowing costs were capitalized during the reporting period, and there were neither restrictions on the retention of title nor property, plant and equipment pledged as security for liabilities. There were no material contractual commitments for the purchase of property, plant and equipment as of the reporting date. The disposals in the 2020 financial year included 0.4 million in acquisition costs and 0.3 million in accumulated depreciation and impairment from the sales of the Lanthio entities. Depreciation is contained in the following line items of profit or loss. in 000’ 2020 2019 2018 Research and Development 1,663 1,478 1,398 Research and Development (Impairment) 0 10 0 Selling 132 92 87 General and Administrative 692 396 327 Total 2,487 1,976 1,812

Financial Statements Notes 182 6.8 Leases The development of the right-of-use assets and lease liabilities is shown below. Lease Right-of-Use Assets Liabilities Technical in 000’ Building Cars Equipment Total Balance as of January 1, 2019 42,094 244 168 42,506 40,783 Additions 3,009 138 312 3,459 4,122 Depreciation of Right-of-Use Assets (2,517) (144) (144) (2,805) 0 Interest Expenses on Lease Liabilities 0 0 0 0 932 Lease Payments 0 0 0 0 (3,280) Stand am 31. Dezember 2019 42,586 238 336 43,160 42,557 Balance as of January 1, 2020 42,586 238 336 43,160 42,557 Additions 4,660 196 12 4,868 5,286 Depreciation of Right-of-Use Assets (3,218) (162) (152) (3,532) 0 Interest Expenses on Lease Liabilities 0 0 0 0 1,173 Lease Payments 0 0 0 0 (3,918) Disposals (78) 0 0 (78) (79) Balance as of December 31, 2020 43,950 272 196 44,418 45,019 Lease agreements had the following eï¬€ects on the statement of profit or loss. in 000’ 2020 2019 Depreciation of Right-of-Use Assets (3,586) (2,805) Interest Expenses on Lease Liabilities (1,173) (932) Expenses for Short Term Leases 0 0 Expenses for Leases of Low Value Assets and Short-Term Leases (81) (41) Total (4,840) (3,778) Depreciation of right-of-use assets is contained in the following line items of profit or loss. in 000’ 2020 2019 Cost of Sales 98 100 Research and Development 1,991 1,985 Selling 145 123 General and Administrative 1,352 597 Total 3,586 2,805 The maturity analysis of the lease liabilities as of December 31, 2020 is as follows. Between Total Carrying December 31, 2020; in 000’ Up to One and More than Contractual Amount Contractual Maturities of Financial Liabilities One Year Five Years Five Years Cash Flows Liabilities Lease Liabilities 4,150 16,025 32,913 53,088 45,019

Notes Financial Statements 183 The rental conditions for leases are negotiated individually and include diï¬€erent terms. Leases are generally concluded for fixed periods but may include extension options. Such contractual conditions oï¬€er the Group the greatest possible operational flexibility. In determining the term of the lease, all facts and circumstances are taken into account that provide an economic incentive to exercise extension options. If extension options are exercised with suï¬ƒcient certainty, they are taken into account when determining the term of the contract. The leases contain fixed and variable lease payments linked to an index. The Group entered into an additional lease for oï¬ƒce space in Boston in January 2020. The minimum lease term of six and a half years results in a contractually agreed cash outflow of US$ 5.6 million ( 5.0 million). 6.9 Intangible Assets Licenses for In-process Marketed R&D in 000’ Patents Licenses Products Programs Software Goodwill Total Cost                January 1, 2020 18,034 23,896 0 52,159 5,758 11,041 110,888 Additions 290 12,000 0 32,501 90 0 44,881 Disposals (110) (500) 0 (28,211) (1) (3,689) (32,511) Reclassification 0 0 56,449 (56,449) 0 0 0 December 31, 2020 18,214 35,396 56,449 0 5,847 7,352 123,258 Accumulated Amortization and Impairment                January 1, 2020 15,053 21,546 0 16,475 5,651 7,365 66,090 Amortization Charge for the Year 990 206 963 0 81 0 2,240 Impairment 233 2,000 0 11,736 0 2,057 16,026 Disposals 0 (192) 0 (28,211) (1) (3,689) (32,093) Reclassification 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 December 31, 2020 16,276 23,560 963 0 5,731 5,733 52,263 Carrying Amount                January 1, 2020 2,981 2,350 0 35,684 107 3,676 44,798 December 31, 2020 1,938 11,836 55,486 0 116 1,619 70,995 Cost                January 1, 2019 17,585 23,896 0 52,159 5,644 11,041 110,325 Additions 449 0 0 0 114 0 563 December 31, 2019 18,034 23,896 0 52,159 5,758 11,041 110,888 Accumulated Amortization and Impairment                January 1, 2019 13,646 21,369 0 15,140 5,440 7,365 62,960 Amortization Charge for the Year 1,209 72 0 0 211 0 1,492 Impairment 198 105 0 1,335 0 0 1,638 December 31, 2019 15,053 21,546 0 16,475 5,651 7,365 66,090 Carrying Amount                January 1, 2019 3,939 2,527 0 37,019 204 3,676 47,365 December 31, 2019 2,981 2,350 0 35,684 107 3,676 44,798

Financial Statements Notes 184 As of December 31, 2020, Goodwill was subject to an impairment test. Lanthio Group This test indicated a need for impairment. As of June 30, 2020, an intangible asset (MOR107) from the acquisition of the Lanthio group that is not yet ready for use was subject to an There were no material contractual commitments for the purchase of event-driven impairment test. As the program is not expected to be intangible assets as of the reporting date. advanced towards clinical development, a full impairment loss of 11.7 million was recognized The disposals in the 2020 financial year included 32.5 million in acquisition costs and 32.1 million in accumulated amortization and Effective November 16, 2020, the 100 % direct interest in Lanthio impairment from the deconsolidation of the Lanthio entities. This in- Pharma B.V. (Groningen, the Netherlands) and the 100 % indirect inter-cluded costs and accumulated amortization and impairment for in-pro- est via Lanthio Pharma B.V. in LanthioPep B.V. (Groningen, the Nether-cess R&D programs in the amount of 28.2 million and for goodwill in lands) were divested. the amount of 3.7 million. Goodwill Amortization was included in the following line items of profit or loss. The annual goodwill impairment test was performed on September 30, 2020. in 000’ 2020 2019 2018 Slonomics Technology As of September 30, 2020, goodwill of 3.7 million from the 2010 acCost of Sales 963 0 0 quisition of Sloning BioTechnology GmbH was subject to an impair-Research and ment test. The recoverable amount of the cash-generating unit Slonom-Development 1,258 1,444 1,822 ics technology, which is part of the Partnered Discovery segment, was determined on the basis of value-in-use calculations. The calculation Research and showed that the value-in-use was lower than the carrying amount of Development    (Impairment) 16,026 1,639 19,189 the cash-generating unit, and a 2.1 million impairment was recog-Selling 5 11 25 nized as a result. The cash flow forecasts took into account future free General and cash flows from the contribution of the Slonomics technology to part-Administrative 17 37 91 nered programs. The cash flow forecasts are based on a period of ten Total 18,269 3,131 21,127 years because the Management Board believes that commercialization through licensing agreements, milestone payments, and royalties is only feasible by means of medium- to long-term contracts. For this rea-Licenses for Marketed Products son, a planning horizon of ten years is considered appropriate for the Due to the market launch of Monjuvi, the amount reported for this pur- value-in-use calculation. The lower year-on-year cash flow forecasts pose under the line item “In-process R&D programs” was reclassified are predominantly based on the assumption that the advantage of into the line item “Licenses for marketed products”. corporating the Slonomics technology into partnered programs can no longer be extended for more advanced partnered programs. The values Tafasitamab of the underlying assumptions were determined using both internal Until market approval on July 31, 2020, the compound tafasitamab was (past experience) and external sources of information (market infor-measured as an intangible asset with an indefinite useful life (no fore- mation). Based on the updated ten-year cash flow forecast, the value-in-seeable limit to the period in which the compound is expected to gener- use was determined as follows: A beta factor of 0.9 (2019: 1.2), WACC ate cash flows) and subjected to an impairment test. Due to the market before taxes of 8.5% (2019: 9.4%) and a perpetual growth rate of 1 % approval of Monjuvi, the compound is from now on classified as an in- (2019: 1%). A detailed sensitivity analysis was performed for the tangible asset with a finite useful life and amortized as of that date. growth rate and the discount rate for calculating value-in-use. The sen-The Group amortizes the intangible asset on a straight-line basis over sitivity analysis took into account the change in one assumption, with the estimated useful life of the acquired license until 2044 and recog- the remaining assumptions remaining unchanged from the original nizes the amortization in cost of sales. The duration and method of calculation. A change in the pre-tax WACC of +/–1.0 % would cause a amortization are reviewed at the end of each financial year. In the 0.2 million lower or 0.3 million higher impairment of goodwill. A event of triggering events, the asset is tested for impairment, if any. As sensitivity analysis for changes in the cash flows has not been per-of December 31, 2020, no indications of impairment were identified. formed since the cash flows have already been probability-adjusted in the value-in-use calculations so as to reflect the probabilities of success In-Process R&D Programs in phases of clinical trials. This analysis did not reveal any additional Until the market approval of Monjuvi, this balance sheet item included need for impairment. The values ascribed to the assumptions corre-capitalized payments from in-licensing as well as milestone payments spond to the Management Board’s forecasts for future development and made for this compound at later dates. In 2020, further milestone pay- are based on internal planning scenarios as well as external sources of ments of 32.5 million were capitalized for a total amount of 56.4 mil- information lion. Due to the market approval, this amount was reclassified to the balance sheet item “Licenses for marketed products.” No indication of further impairment was identified as of December 31, 2020.

Notes Financial Statements 185 6.10 Investments at fair Value, with Changes Recognized in Other Comprehensive Income This item concerns an investment in adivo GmbH, Martinsried, Ger-many. MorphoSys has held an investment in adivo GmbH since July 2019. As of December 31, 2020, the fair value of the investment in adivo GmbH was measured at 0 (December 31, 2019: 0.4 million). The decrease of 0.4 million was recognized directly in equity. Loss for the Equity in Year in Domestic Domestic Currency Currency Currency Stake in % (in ) (in ) adivo GmbH, Martinsried, Germany 17.2 (346,691) (467,272) No observable market data is available for the determination of the fair 6.12 Prepaid Expenses and other Assets, Net of value of the investment in adivo GmbH. This corresponds to hierarchy Current Portion level 3 for the fair value. The change in the investment in adivo GmbH This balance sheet item includes the non-current portion of prepaid is shown below. expenses and other assets. The Group has classified certain items within other assets as “restricted in 000’ 2020 2019 cash” that is not available for operational purposes (see Note 2.8.1 *). As of December 31, 2020, the Group had non-current restricted cash of Opening Balance 387 232 1.2 million for rental deposits issued (December 31, 2019: 0.8 mil-Additions 0 0 lion). As of December 31, 2020, 0.2 million were deposited as collateral Disposals 0 0 by MorphoSys US Inc. (December 31, 2019: 0.2 million). Through Other Comprehensive *cross-reference to page 161 Income (387) 155 Through Profit or Loss 0 0 This line item consisted of the following: Closing Balance 0 387 in 000’ 12/31/2020 12/31/2019 MorphoSys has held an investment in Vivoryon Therapeutics AG since July 2019. During the 2020 financial year, all shares in this investment Prepaid Expenses, Net of Current were sold in several steps for strategic reasons. The gain on the disposal Portion 183 134 amounted to 0.3 million and was recognized in equity. This corre- Other Current Assets 1,384 1,002 sponds to a fair value before sale of 15.3 million. As of December 31, Total 1,567 1,136 2019, the fair value of the investment was measured at 13.7 million. In the 2020 and 2019 financial years, no dividends from the investments were recognized in profit or loss, and there were no reclassifications of gains or losses made within equity. 6.11 Deferred Tax Assets The Group recognized deferred tax assets of 132.8 million in the 2020 financial year that were mainly related to the collaboration and license agreement with Incyte because the financial liability resulting from this collaboration cannot be recognized in the tax accounts. As of December 31, 2019, no deferred tax assets had to be recognized due to the Company’s history of losses.

Financial Statements Notes 186 7 Notes to the Balance Sheet Equity At the Company’s Annual General Meeting in May 2020, Pricewater-and Liabilities houseCoopers GmbH Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft (PwC GmbH), Munich, was appointed as the auditor. The Supervisory Board engaged PwC GmbH to audit the financial statements. 7.1 Accounts Payable and Accruals Accounts payable and licenses payable were non-interest-bearing and, In the 2020 financial year, PwC GmbH received total fees from under normal circumstances, have payment terms of no more than MorphoSys of 1,632,883, including fees for audit services of 30 days. 1,561,233, fees of 70,000 for other assurance services in connection with the non-financial group report and fees of 1,650 for other Accounts payable and accruals are listed in the following table: services. PwC GmbH did not provide tax advisory services in 2020. 7.2 Tax Liabilities and other Provisions in 000’ 12/31/2020 12/31/2019 As of December 31, 2020, the Group recorded tax liabilities and other provisions of 67.5 million (2019: 0.4 million). Trade Accounts Payable 47,559 10,655 Licenses Payable 259 357 Tax liabilities included primarily expenses for income taxes. Other Accruals 79,200 44,971 provisions included mainly expenses for share-based payments when Other Liabilities 1,536 1,059 these are settled by other assets equivalent to the value of a certain Total 128,554 57,042 number of shares or stock options (“cash settlement”), as well as personnel recruitment measures. Accruals are shown in the following overview: in 000’ 12/31/2020 12/31/2019 Accruals for External Laboratory Services 43,500 24,383 Accrued Personnel Expenses from Payments to Employees and Management 17,320 13,975 Accruals for Outstanding Invoices 15,236 5,639 Accruals for Revenue Deductions from Product Sales 943 0 Accruals for Legal Fees 472 272 Accruals for Audit Fees and other related Costs 683 663 Accruals for License Payments 1,046 39 Total 79,200 44,971

Notes Financial Statements 187 The table below shows the development of tax liabilities and current and non-current other provisions in the 2020 financial year. in 000’ 01/01/2020 Additions Utilized Released 12/31/2020 Tax Liabilities 95 65,633 0 0 65,728 Other Provisions 346 1,505 323 0 1,528 Total 441 67,138 323 0 67,256 7.3 Contract Liabilities the share on XETRA between issue and pricing). The convertible bonds Contract liabilities related to transaction prices paid by customers that are traded on the Open Market Segment (Freiverkehr) of the Frankfurt were allocated to unfulfilled performance obligations as of December 31, Stock Exchange. 2020. It is expected that the realization of current contract liabilities will be in the 2021 financial year and non-current contract liabilities The convertible bonds are convertible between November 26, 2020 and mainly in the 2022 financial year. The changes in this item are shown the fortieth trading day prior to maturity. As of the maturity date, in the table below. MorphoSys has the right to either pay the full amount in cash or to settle a certain amount through the delivery of shares. in 000’ 2020 2019 MorphoSys is entitled to redeem the convertible bonds at any time the market price of MorphoSys shares reaches at least 130 % of the then Opening Balance 1,686 952 applicable conversion price over a period of twenty trading days or when Prepayments Received in the only 20 % or less of the original total nominal amount of the convertible Financial Year 13,430 6,070 bond is still outstanding. Repayment is then made in the amount of the nominal value plus accrued interest. Revenues Recognized in the    Reporting Period that was included The holders of the convertible bonds have a conditional call right in the Contract Liability at the    Beginning of the Period (1,571) (794) should an investor directly or indirectly acquire at least 30 % of the voting rights in MorphoSys (representing a change of control). In the Revenues Recognized for Received event of such a change of control, each convertible bondholder has the Prepayments and Services    Performed in the Financial Year (10,929) (4,542) right to call the bonds that have not yet been converted or redeemed. Closing Balance 2,616 1,686 Repayment is then made in the amount of the nominal value plus ac- thereof short-term 2,544 1,571 crued interest. thereof long-term 72 115 MorphoSys raised gross proceeds of 325.0 million through the issuance of the convertible bonds. Issuance costs of 5.1 million were in-7.4 Deferred Tax Liabilities curred in the transaction. The net issue proceeds are to be used for The Group recognized deferred tax liabilities of 14.1 million in the general corporate activities, including proprietary development, in-li-2020 financial year in connection with the issuance of convertible censing and/or M&A transactions. bonds. As of December 31, 2020, deferred tax liabilities of 5.1 million were recognized after offsetting. The conversion right securitized in the convertible bond represents an equity instrument and was recognized in equity for an amount of There are no uncertain tax positions requiring disclosure under 49.2 million net of issuance costs attributable to the equity compo-IFRIC 23. nent. The equity component is not adjusted over time, and the liability component is classified as a financial liability at amortized cost. As of 7.5 Convertible Bonds the date of initial recognition, the liability component amounted to By resolution of the Annual General Meeting on June 2, 2016, Condi- 270.7 million after the deduction of issuance costs. The difference tional Capital 2016-I of up to 500.0 million has been created until between this amount and the nominal value of 325.0 million is recog-April 2021, authorizing the issuance of a total of 5,307,536 new no-par- nized as an interest expense over the term of the financial liability value bearer shares. using the effective interest method. Making partial use of the conditional capital, MorphoSys AG placed The early termination rights from MorphoSys (issuer call and clean-up non-subordinated, unsecured convertible bonds on October 16, 2020 call) and the put option of the convertible bondholders in the case of for a nominal amount of 325.0 million, equal to 3,250 bonds with a change of control all represent embedded derivatives that, however, nominal amount of 100,000 each, and maturing on October 16, 2025. have not been separated in accordance with IFRS 9, as they are consid-The convertible bonds are initially convertible into approximately ered to be closely related to the base contract. Accordingly, these com-2,475,436 new or existing bearer ordinary shares MorphoSys. ponents are included in the financial liability. The convertible bonds were issued at 100 % of their nominal amount and carry a coupon of 0.625 % p.a. payable semi-annually. The conversion price is 131.29, corresponding to a conversion premium of 40 % to the reference price of 93.7766 (volume-weighted average price of

Financial Statements Notes 188 7.6 Stockholders’ Equity 7.6.4 Treasury Stock 7.6.1 Common Stock In the years 2020 and 2019, the Group did not repurchase any of its As of December 31, 2020, the Company’s common stock, including own shares. The composition and development of this line item are treasury shares, amounted to 32,890,046 and 32,890,046 shares, listed in the table below. representing an increase of 932,088 and 932,088 shares compared to 31,957,958 and 31,957,958 shares as of December 31, 2019. Each Number of share of common stock grants one vote. The common stock increased Shares Value due to Incyte’s purchase of 3,692,764 ADSs, or 907,441 shares, created from a capital increase from Authorized Capital 2017-I, as well as from As of 12/31/2010 79,896 9,774 the exercise of 24,647 convertible bonds granted to employees amount- Purchase in 2011 84,019 1,747,067 ing to 24,647, or 24,647 shares. The weighted-average exercise price As of 12/31/2011 163,915 1,756,841 of the exercised convertible bonds amounted to 31.88. Purchase in 2012 91,500 1,837,552 As of 12/31/2012 255,415 3,594,393 7.6.2 Authorized Capital Purchase in 2013 84,475 2,823,625 In comparison to December 31, 2019, the number of authorized ordi- As of 12/31/2013 339,890 6,418,018 nary shares increased from 14,843,488 to 15,214,050. The number was Purchase in 2014 111,000 7,833,944 reduced by the capital increase of 907,441 from the Authorized Capital As of 12/31/2014 450,890 14,251,962 2017-I carried out in April 2020 under the collaboration and license Purchase in 2015 88,670 5,392,931 agreement with Incyte. At the Annual General Meeting on May 27, Transfer in 2015 (104,890) (3,816,947) 2020, Authorized Capital 2020-I in the amount of 3,286,539 was As of 12/31/2015 434,670 15,827,946 newly created, and the remaining Authorized Capital 2017-I in the Purchase in 2016 52,295 2,181,963 amount of 2,008,536 was canceled. Under Authorized Capital 2020-I, Transfer in 2016 (90,955) (3,361,697) the Management Board is authorized, with the consent of the Supervi- As of 12/31/2016 396,010 14,648,212 sory Board, to increase the Company’s share capital on one or more Transfer in 2017 (76,332) (2,821,231) occasions on or before the end of May 26, 2025 against cash contribu- As of 12/31/2017 319,678 11,826,981 tions by a total of up to 3,286,539 by issuing up to 3,286,539 new Transfer in 2018 (38,642) (1,428,208) no-par-value bearer shares. As of 12/31/2018 281,036 10,398,773 Transfer in 2019 (55,236) (2,041,523) Pursuant to the Company’s articles of association, the shareholders As of 12/31/2019 225,800 8,357,250 may authorize the Management Board to increase the share capital Transfer in 2020 (94,386) (3,488,506) with the consent of the Supervisory Board within a period of five years As of 12/31/2020 131,414 4,868,744 by issuing shares for a specific total amount referred to as authorized capital (Genehmigtes Kapital), which is a concept under German law that enables the company to issue shares without going through the On December 31, 2020, the Company held 131,414 treasury shares process of obtaining an additional shareholders’ resolution. The aggre- with a value of 4,868,744 — a decrease of 3,488,506 compared to gate nominal amount of the authorized capital created by the share- December 31, 2019 (225,800 shares, 8,357,250). The reason for this holders may not exceed half of the share capital existing at the time of decrease was the transfer of 91,037 treasury shares amounting to registration of the authorized capital in the commercial register. 3,364,727 to the Management Board and selected employees of the Company (beneficiaries) from the 2016 Long-Term Incentive Plan (LTI 7.6.3 Conditional Capital Plan). The vesting period for this LTI Plan expired on April 1, 2020 and In comparison to December 31, 2019, the number of ordinary shares of offered beneficiaries a six-month period until October 20, 2020 to reconditional capital increased from 6,340,760 to 7,630,728. At the An- ceive a total of 91,037 shares. In addition, 3,349 treasury shares for an nual General Meeting on May 27, 2020, Conditional Capital 2020-I in amount of 123,779 from the 2019 Long-Term Incentive Plan were the amount of 1,314,615 was newly created. The exercise of 24,647 transferred to certain employees of MorphoSys US Inc. conversion rights in 2020 had an offsetting effect. The reduction from the exercise of the 24,647 conversion rights was entered into the com- Consequently, the number of MorphoSys shares owned by the Commercial register in February 2021. pany as of December 31, 2020, was 131,414 (December 31, 2019: 225,800). The repurchased shares may be used for all of the purposes Although shareholders may resolve to amend or create conditional cap- named in the authorization granted by the Annual General Meeting on ital (Bedingtes Kapital), they may do so only to issue conversion or May 23, 2014, particularly for existing and future employee stock subscription rights to holders of convertible bonds in preparation for a option programs and/or to finance acquisitions. The shares may also merger with another company or to issue subscription rights to em- be redeemed. ployees and members of the Management Board of the Company or of an aï¬ƒliated company by way of consent or authorizing resolution. Ac- 7.6.5 Additional Paid-In Capital cording to German law, the aggregate nominal amount of the condi- As of December 31, 2020, the capital reserve amounted to 748,978,506 tional capital created at the shareholders’ meeting may not exceed half (December 31, 2019: 628,176,568). The increase by a total of of the share capital existing at the time of the shareholders’ meeting 120,801,938 resulted mainly from the capital increase with Incyte in adopting such resolution. The aggregate nominal amount of the condi- the amount of 79,590,657 after deducting transaction costs of tional capital created for the purpose of granting subscription rights to 100,370 and from the convertible bond option of 49,994,274 classi-employees and members of the management of our Company or of an fied as equity and deducting deferred taxes directly recognized in eq-affiliated company may not exceed 10 % of the share capital existing at uity of 12,733,806 as well as transaction costs of 777,418. Further-the time of the shareholders’ meeting adopting such resolution. more, the additional paid-in capital increased due to the addition of

Notes Financial Statements 189 personnel expenses from share-based payments in the amount of 200%. If the share price development falls short of the program’s per- 7,455,761 and the exercise of convertible bonds in the amount of formance parameters, the target achievement for that year is 0%. 760,976. This was offset by the decrease from reclassifications of treasury shares in connection with the allocation of shares from the The exercise price, derived from the average market price of the Com-MorphoSys AG 2016 Performance Share Plan in the amount of pany’s shares in the XETRA closing auction on the Frankfurt Stock 3,364,727 and from the MorphoSys US Inc. 2019 LTI Plan in the Exchange from the 30 trading days prior to the issue of the stock op-amount of 123,779. tions, is 55.52. 7.6.6 Other Comprehensive Income Reserve MorphoSys reserves the right to settle the exercise of stock options On December 31, 2020, this reserve included changes in the fair value through newly created shares from Conditional Capital 2016-III, the of equity instruments of 1,260,132 (December 31, 2019: 1,160,160) issuance of treasury shares, or in cash. The exercise period is three recognized directly in equity, as well as currency translation differ- years after the end of the four-year vesting period/performance period, ences from consolidation of 2,247,005 (December 31, 2019: of 75,332). which is March 31, 2024. The currency translation diï¬€erences from consolidation included exchange rate diï¬€erences from the revaluation of the financial statements In the event of a departure from the Company, the beneficiaries gen-of Group companies prepared in foreign currencies and diï¬€erences erally retain the stock options that have vested by the time of their between the exchange rates used in the balance sheet and income departure. statement. In the event of a termination of a beneficiary for reasons of conduct or 7.6.7 Accumulated Deficit a revocation of the appointment of a member of the Management Board The consolidated net profit for the year of 97,890,576 is reported under for reasons constituting good cause within the meaning of Section 626 “accumulated deficit.” As a result, the accumulated deficit decreased (2) of the German Civil Code (BGB), all unexercised stock options forfeit from 255,779,786 in 2019 to 157,889,210 in 2020. without entitlement to compensation. If a change of control occurs during the four-year vesting period, the 8 Remuneration System for the stock options will become fully vested. In this case, however, the right Management Board and Employees to exercise the stock options arises only at the end of the four-year of the Group vesting period. In 2020, personnel expenses from stock options under the Group’s A change in the organizational structure of MorphoSys took effect as of 2017 SOP amounted to 62,780 based on the fair value on the grant July 1, 2020. This change had an impact on the definition of related date (2019: 252,393; 2018: 436,154). parties who hold a key position in MorphoSys AG as the parent company of the Group. In addition to the members of the Management 8.1.2 2018 Stock Option Plan Board and the Supervisory Board, all persons on the management level On April 1, 2018, MorphoSys established a stock option plan (SOP) for below who have direct or indirect authority and responsibility for plan- the Management Board and selected Company employees (beneficia-ning, directing, or supervising the activities of the Company are also ries). The program is considered an equity-settled share-based payment considered to be key management personnel. From the Group’s per- and is accounted for accordingly. The grant date was April 1, 2018, and spective, key management personnel are those persons who direct and the vesting period/performance period is four years. Each stock option control a significant part of the Group’s activities. Starting in 2020, in grants up to two subscription rights to shares in the Company. The addition to the Management Board and the Supervisory Board, the subscription rights vest each year by 25 % within the four-year vesting other members of the Executive Committee that was newly formed in period, provided that the performance criteria specified for the respec-2020 are considered key management personnel from the perspective of tive period have been 100 % fulfilled. The number of subscription rights MorphoSys AG and are therefore relevant for the disclosures. Prior-year vested per year is calculated based on the key performance criteria of figures do not need to be adjusted and are therefore not comparable to the absolute and relative MorphoSys share price performance compared the figures for 2020. to the Nasdaq Biotech Index and the TecDAX Index. The program’s performance criteria can be met annually up to a maximum of 200%. If the 8.1 Stock Option Plans share price development falls short of the program’s performance pa-8.1.1 2017 Stock Option Plan rameters, the target achievement for that year is 0%. On April 1, 2017, MorphoSys established a stock option plan (SOP) for the Management Board and selected employees of the Company (bene- The exercise price, derived from the average market price of the Com-ficiaries). The program is considered an equity-settled share-based pany’s shares in the XETRA closing auction on the Frankfurt Stock payment and is accounted for accordingly. The grant date was April 1, Exchange from the 30 trading days prior to the issue of the stock op-2017, and the vesting period/performance period is four years. Each tions, is 81.04. stock option grants up to two subscription rights to shares in the Company. The subscription rights vest each year by 25 % within the four-year MorphoSys reserves the right to settle the exercise of stock options vesting period, provided that the performance criteria specified for the using either newly created shares from Conditional Capital 2016-III or respective period have been 100 % fulfilled. The number of subscription by issuing treasury shares, or in cash should the exercise from Condi-rights vested per year is calculated based on the key performance crite- tional Capital 2016-III not be possible. The exercise period is three years ria of the absolute and relative MorphoSys share price performance after the end of the four-year vesting period/performance period, compared to the Nasdaq Biotech Index and the TecDAX Index. The pro- which is March 31, 2025. gram’s performance criteria can be met annually up to a maximum of

Financial Statements Notes 190 In the event of a departure from the Company, the beneficiaries gen- In the event of a departure from the Company, the beneficiaries gener-erally retain the stock options that have vested by the time of their ally retain the stock options that have vested by the time of their depar-departure. ture. In the event of a termination of a beneficiary for reasons of conduct or In the event of a termination of a beneficiary for reasons of conduct or a revocation of the appointment of a member of the Management Board a revocation of the appointment of a member of the Management Board for reasons constituting good cause within the meaning of Section 626 for reasons constituting good cause within the meaning of Section 626 (2) of the German Civil Code (BGB), all unexercised stock options forfeit (2) of the German Civil Code (BGB), all unexercised stock options forfeit without entitlement to compensation. without entitlement to compensation. If an accumulated period of absence of more than 90 days occurs If an accumulated period of absence of more than 90 days occurs during the four-year vesting period/performance period, 1/48 of the during the four-year vesting period/performance period, 1/48 of the stock options granted are forfeited for each up to 30 days of absence. A stock options granted are forfeited for each up to 30 days of absence. A period of absence is defined as absence due to illness, continued pay- period of absence is defined as absence due to illness, continued payment of remuneration in the event of illness or a suspended service or ment of remuneration in the event of illness or a suspended service or employment relationship without continued payment of remuneration. employment relationship without continued payment of remuneration. If a change of control occurs during the four-year vesting period, the If a change of control occurs during the four-year vesting period, the stock options will become fully vested. In this case, however, the right stock options will become fully vested. In this case, however, the right to exercise the stock options arises only at the end of the four-year to exercise the stock options arises only at the end of the four-year vesting period. vesting period. In 2020, personnel expenses from stock options under the Group’s On October 1, 2019, MorphoSys established a further stock option plan 2018 SOP amounted to 251,855 based on the fair value on the grant (SOP plan) for one member of the Management Board. The terms and date (2019: 704,954; 2018: 925,635). conditions were identical to those of the April 1, 2019 program, and the exercise price was 106.16. 8.1.3 2019 Stock Option Plan On April 1, 2019, MorphoSys established a stock option plan (SOP) for In 2020, personnel expenses from stock options under the Group’s the Management Board and selected employees of the Company (bene- 2019 SOP amounted to 1,570,241 based on the fair value on the grant ficiaries). The program is considered an equity-settled share-based date (2019: 1,718,087). payment and is accounted for accordingly. The grant date was April 1, 2019, and the vesting period/performance period is four years. Each 8.1.4 2020 Stock Option Plan stock option grants up to two subscription rights to shares in the Com- On April 1, 2020, MorphoSys established a stock option plan (SOP) for pany. The subscription rights vest each year by 25 % within the four- the Management Board and selected employees of the Company (bene-year vesting period, provided that the performance criteria specified ficiaries). The program is considered an equity-settled share-based for the respective period have been 100 % fulfilled. The number of sub- payment and is accounted for accordingly. The grant date was April 21, scription rights vested per year is calculated based on the key perfor- 2020, and the vesting period/performance period is four years. Each mance criteria of the absolute and relative MorphoSys share price per- stock option grants up to two subscription rights to shares in the Com-formance compared to the Nasdaq Biotech Index and the TecDAX pany. The subscription rights vest each year by 25 % within the four-Index. The program’s performance criteria can be met annually up to a year vesting period, provided that the performance criteria specified maximum of 200%. If the share price development falls short of the for the respective period have been 100 % fulfilled. The number of subprogram’s performance parameters, the target achievement for that scription rights vested per year is calculated based on the key perfor-year is 0%. mance criteria of the absolute and relative MorphoSys share price performance compared to the Nasdaq Biotech Index and the TecDAX The exercise price, derived from the average market price of the Com- Index. The program’s performance criteria can be met annually up to a pany’s shares in the XETRA closing auction on the Frankfurt Stock maximum of 200%. If the share price development falls short of the Exchange from the 30 trading days prior to the issue of the stock op- program’s performance parameters, the target achievement for that tions, is 87.86. year is 0%. MorphoSys reserves the right to settle the exercise of stock options The exercise price, derived from the average market price of the Com-using either newly created shares from Conditional Capital 2016-III, pany’s shares in the XETRA closing auction on the Frankfurt Stock issuing treasury shares, or in cash should the exercise from Conditional Exchange from the 30 trading days prior to the issue of the stock op-Capital 2016-III not be possible. The exercise period is three years after tions, is 93.66. the end of the four-year vesting period/performance period, which is March 31, 2026.

Notes Financial Statements 191 MorphoSys reserves the right to settle the exercise of stock options using either newly created shares from Conditional Capital 2016-III, through the issue of treasury shares, or in cash should the exercise from Conditional Capital 2016-III not be possible. The exercise period is three years after the end of the four-year vesting period/performance period, which is March 31, 2027. In the event of a departure from the Company, the beneficiaries generally retain the stock options that have vested by the time of their departure. In the event of a termination of a beneficiary for reasons of conduct or a revocation of the appointment of a member of the Management Board for reasons constituting good cause within the meaning of Section 626 (2) of the German Civil Code (BGB), all unexercised stock options forfeit without entitlement to compensation. If an accumulated period of absence of more than 90 days occurs during the four-year vesting period/performance period, 1/48 of the stock options granted are forfeited for each up to 30 days of absence. A period of absence is defined as absence due to illness, continued payment of remuneration in the event of illness or a suspended service or employment relationship without continued payment of remuneration. If a change of control occurs during the four-year vesting period, the stock options will become fully vested. In this case, however, the right to exercise the stock options arises only at the end of the four-year vesting period. As of April 1, 2020, a total of 108,215 stock options had been granted to beneficiaries, of which 36,412 had been granted to the Management Board (further details can be found in the “Stock Options” table in Note 8.8 * “Related Parties”), 10,466 to the further members of the Executive Committee and 61,337 to selected Company employees who do not belong to the Executive Committee. For the calculation of personnel expenses resulting from share-based payment under the 2020 Stock Option Plan, the assumption is that ten beneficiaries would leave the Company during the four-year period. *cross-reference to page 199 In 2020, personnel expenses from stock options under the Group’s 2020 SOP amounted to 1,990,326 based on the fair value on the grant date. The table below shows the development of the stock options plans in the financial year 2020. April 2017 April 2018 April 2019 October 2019 April 2020 Stock Option Stock Option Stock Option Stock Option Stock Option Plan Plan Plan Plan Plan Outstanding on January 1, 2020 72,759 65,335 76,021 57,078 0 Granted 0 0 0 0 108,215 Exercised 0 0 0 0 0 Forfeited (109) (1,080) (2,838) 0 (1,173) Expired 0 0 0 0 0 Outstanding on December 31, 2020 72,650 64,255 73,183 57,078 107,042 Weighted-average Price ( ) 55.52 81.04 87.86 106.16 93.66

Financial Statements Notes 192 The fair value of the stock options from the 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020 stock option plans was determined using a Monte Carlo simulation. The expected volatility is based on the development of the share volatility of the last four years. Furthermore, the calculation of fair value equally considered the performance criteria of the absolute and relative performance of MorphoSys shares compared to the development of the Nasdaq Biotech Index and the TecDAX Index. The parameters and fair value of each program are listed in the table below. April 2017 April 2018 April 2019 October 2019 April 2020 Stock Option Stock Option Stock Option Stock Option Stock Option Plan Plan Plan Plan Plan Share Price on Grant Date in 55.07 81.05 85.00 98.10 94.90 Exercise Price in 55.52 81.04 87.86 106.16 93.66 Expected Volatility of the MorphoSys share in % 37.49 35.95 37.76 38.02 39.86 Expected Volatility of the Nasdaq Biotech Index in % 25.07 25.10 18.61 18.17 25.32 Expected Volatility of the TecDAX Index in % 16.94 17.73 26.46 24.82 20.48 Performance Term of Program in Years 4.0 4.0 4.0 4.0 4.0 Dividend Yield in % n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a between between between between between Risk-free Interest Rate in % 0.03 and 0.23 0.02 and 0.15 0.02 and 0.13 0.0 and 0.02 (0.55) and (0.83) Fair Value on Grant Date in 21.41 30.43 31.81 35.04 38.20 8.2 2013 Convertible Bond Program In the period from the grant date until March 31, 2020, one beneficiary On April 1, 2013, MorphoSys AG granted the Management Board and had left MorphoSys, resulting in the forfeiture of 13,414 convertible certain employees of the Group (beneficiaries) convertible bonds with bonds. Prior to March 31, 2020, all remaining convertible bonds had a total nominal value of 225,000, divided into 449,999 no-par-value been exercised. bearer bonds with equal rights from “Conditional Capital 2008-III”. The beneficiaries received the right to convert the bonds into Company 8.3 Long-Term Incentive Programs shares. Each convertible bond can be exchanged for one of the Compa- 8.3.1 2015 Long-Term Incentive Plan ny’s no-par-value bearer shares equal to the proportional amount of On April 1, 2015, MorphoSys established a Long-Term Incentive Plan common stock, which is 1. Exercise of the convertible bonds was (LTI Plan) for the Management Board and certain employees of the subject to several conditions, such as the achievement of performance Company (beneficiaries). The vesting period for this LTI Plan expired on targets, the expiration of vesting periods, the exercisability of the con- April 1, 2019. The program is considered an equity-settled share-based version rights, the existence of an employment or service contract that payment and is accounted for accordingly. The LTI Plan is a perfor-is not under notice and the commencement of the exercise period. mance-related share plan and will be paid out in ordinary shares (performance shares) of MorphoSys AG if predefined key performance The conversion price amounted to 31.88 and was derived from the criteria are achieved. These criteria are evaluated annually by the Company’s share price in the XETRA closing auction of the Frankfurt Supervisory Board. The performance criteria are based on a mathe-Stock Exchange on the trading day preceding the issue of the convert- matical comparison of the absolute and relative performance of the ible bonds. The exercise of the conversion rights is admissible since, on MorphoSys share price against the Nasdaq Biotech Index and the Tec-at least one trading day during the lifetime of the convertible bonds, DAX Index. Achievement of these criteria was set at 100 % for one year, the share price of the Company has risen to more than 120 % of the 94 % for one year and 200 % each for two years. In addition, the Super-price in the XETRA closing auction of the Frankfurt Stock Exchange on visory Board set a “company factor” as 1, which determines the num-the trading day preceding the issue of the convertible bonds. ber of performance shares to be issued. Based on these conditions and the set factor, 52,328 performance shares of MorphoSys AG were trans-The table below shows the development of the convertible bond pro- ferred to the beneficiaries after the four-year vesting period during the grams in the financial year 2020. period ending December 31, 2019. In August 2019, the original six-month transfer period for the performance shares was extended from Convertible October 14, 2019 to December 31, 2019 and had no impact on the fair Bonds value of the performance shares or the period over which the compensation expense was recognized. The Management Board received 19,815 Outstanding on January 1, 2020 24,647 performance shares, and the Senior Management Group received Granted 0 18,798 performance shares. A total of 13,715 performance shares were Exercised (24,647) granted to former members of the Management Board and the Senior Forfeited 0 Management Group who have since left the Company. Expired 0 Outstanding on December 31, 2020 0

Notes Financial Statements 193 In 2020, personnel expenses resulting from performance shares under At the end of the four-year waiting period, there is a six-month exercise the Group’s 2015 LTI Plan amounted to 0 based on the fair value on period during which the Company can transfer the performance shares the grant date (2019: 6,714; 2018: 109,511). to the beneficiaries. The beneficiaries are free to choose the award date within this exercise period. 8.3.2 2016 Long-Term Incentive Plan On April 1, 2016, MorphoSys established a Long-Term Incentive Plan If the number of repurchased shares is not suï¬ƒcient for servicing the (LTI Plan) for the Management Board and certain employees of the LTI Plan, MorphoSys reserves the right to pay a specific amount of the Company (beneficiaries). The vesting period for this LTI Plan expired LTI Plan in cash in the amount of the performance shares at the end of on April 1, 2020. The program is considered an equity-settled share- the vesting period, provided the cash amount does not exceed 200 % of based payment and is accounted for accordingly. The LTI Plan is a per- the fair value of the performance shares on the grant date. formance-related share plan and will be paid out in ordinary shares (performance shares) of MorphoSys AG if predefined key performance In the event of a departure from the Company, the beneficiaries are criteria are achieved. These criteria are evaluated annually by the generally entitled to the performance shares that have vested up to the Supervisory Board. The performance criteria were based on a mathe- date of their departure on a pro rata basis. matical comparison of the absolute and relative performance of the MorphoSys share price against the Nasdaq Biotech Index and the Tec- In the event of a termination of a beneficiary for reasons of conduct or DAX Index. Achievement of these criteria was set at 94 % for one year a revocation of the appointment of a member of the Management Board and 200 % each for three years. In addition, the Supervisory Board set for reasons constituting good cause within the meaning of Section 626 a “company factor” as 1, which determines the number of performance (2) of the German Civil Code (BGB), all performance shares forfeit with-shares to be issued. Based on these conditions and the set factor, out entitlement to compensation. 91,037 performance shares of MorphoSys AG were transferred to the beneficiaries after the four-year vesting period in the period ending If a change of control occurs during the four-year vesting period, all October 20, 2020. The Management Board received 13,677 performance performance shares will become fully vested. In this case, the right to shares (for further information, see the tables entitled “Shares” and receive a specific allocation of performance shares under the LTI Plan “Performance Shares” in Note 8.8 * “Related Parties”), and the mem- occurs only at the end of the four-year vesting period. bers of the Executive Committee received 8,754 performance shares. A total of 68,606 performance shares were granted to current and former In 2020, personnel expenses resulting from performance shares under employees of the Company. the Group’s 2017 LTI Plan amounted to 80,383 based on the fair value *cross-reference to page 199 on the grant date (2019: 323,165; 2018: 558,446). In 2020, personnel expenses resulting from performance shares under 8.3.4 2018 Long-Term Incentive Plan the Group’s 2016 LTI Plan amounted to 4,921 based on the fair value On April 1, 2018, MorphoSys established another Long-Term Incentive on the grant date (2019: 141,473; 2018: 330,727). Plan (LTI Plan) for the Management Board and selected employees of the Company (beneficiaries). This plan is considered a share-based 8.3.3 2017 Long-Term Incentive Plan payment program with settlement in equity instruments and is ac-On April 1, 2017, MorphoSys established another Long-Term Incentive counted for accordingly. The LTI Plan is a performance-related share Plan (LTI Plan) for the Management Board and selected employees of plan and will be paid out in ordinary shares (performance shares) of the Company (beneficiaries). This plan is considered a share-based MorphoSys AG if predefined key performance criteria are achieved. payment program with settlement in equity instruments and is ac- The grant date was April 1, 2018, and the vesting/performance period counted for accordingly. The LTI Plan is a performance-related share is four years. If the predefined performance criteria for the respective plan and will be paid out in ordinary shares (performance shares) of period are 100 % met, 25 % of the performance shares become vested in MorphoSys AG if predefined key performance criteria are achieved. each year of the four-year vesting period. The number of performance The grant date was April 1, 2017, and the vesting/performance period shares vested per year is calculated based on the key performance cri-is four years. If the predefined performance criteria for the respective teria of the absolute and relative MorphoSys share price performance period are fully met, 25 % of the performance shares become vested in compared to the Nasdaq Biotech Index and the TecDAX Index. The per-each year of the four-year vesting period. The number of performance formance criteria can be met annually up to a maximum of 300 % and shares vested per year is calculated based on the key performance cri- up to 200 % for the entire four-year period. If the specified performance teria of the absolute and relative MorphoSys share price performance criteria are met by less than 0 % in one year, no shares will be earned compared to the Nasdaq Biotech Index and the TecDAX Index. The per- for that year (entitlement). In any case, the maximum payout at the end formance criteria can be met annually up to a maximum of 300 % and of the four-year period is limited by a factor determined by the Group, up to 200 % for the entire four-year period. If the specified performance which generally amounts to 1. However, in justified cases, the Supervi-criteria are met by less than 0 % in one year, no shares will be earned sory Board may set this factor freely between 0 and 2, for example, if the for that year (entitlement). In any case, the maximum payout at the end level of payment is regarded as unreasonable in view of the general of the four-year period is limited by a factor determined by the Group, development of the Company. The right to receive a specific allocation which generally amounts to 1. However, in justified cases, the Supervi- of performance shares under the LTI Plan, however, occurs only at the sory Board may set this factor freely between 0 and 2, for example, if the end of the four-year vesting/performance period. level of payment is regarded as unreasonable in view of the Company’s general development. The right to receive a specific allocation of performance shares under the LTI Plan, however, occurs only at the end of the four-year vesting/performance period.

Financial Statements Notes 194 At the end of the four-year waiting period, there is a six-month exercise and up to 200 % for the entire four-year period. If the specified perfor-period during which the Company can transfer the performance mance criteria are met by less than 0 % in one year, no shares will be shares to the beneficiaries. The beneficiaries are free to choose the earned for that year (entitlement). In any case, the maximum payout at award date within this exercise period. the end of the four-year period is limited by a factor determined by the Group, which generally amounts to 1. However, in justified cases, the If the number of repurchased shares is not suï¬ƒcient for servicing the Supervisory Board may set this factor freely between 0 and 2, for ex-LTI Plan, MorphoSys reserves the right to pay a specific amount of the ample, if the level of payment is regarded as unreasonable in view of LTI Plan in cash in the amount of the performance shares at the end of the general development of the Company. The right to receive a specific the vesting period, provided the cash amount does not exceed 200 % of allocation of performance shares under the LTI Plan, however, occurs the fair value of the performance shares on the grant date. only at the end of the four-year vesting/performance period. At the end of the four-year vesting period, there is a six-month exercise period In the event of a departure from the Company, the beneficiaries are during which the Company can transfer the performance shares to the generally entitled to the performance shares that have vested up to the beneficiaries. date of their departure on a pro rata basis. If the number of repurchased shares is not suï¬ƒcient for servicing the In the event of a termination of a beneficiary for reasons of conduct or LTI Plan, MorphoSys reserves the right to pay a specific amount of the a revocation of the appointment of a member of the Management Board LTI Plan in cash in the amount of the performance shares at the end of for reasons constituting good cause within the meaning of Section 626 the vesting period, provided the cash amount does not exceed 200 % of (2) of the German Civil Code (BGB), all performance shares forfeit with- the fair value of the performance shares on the grant date. out entitlement to compensation. In the event of a departure from the Company, the beneficiaries are If an accumulated period of absence of more than 90 days occurs generally entitled to the performance shares that have vested up to the during the four-year vesting period/performance period, the benefi- date of their departure on a pro rata basis. ciary is entitled to performance shares on a pro rata basis. A period of absence is defined as absence due to illness, continued payment of In the event of a termination of a beneficiary for reasons of conduct or remuneration in the event of illness or a suspended service or employ- a revocation of the appointment of a member of the Management Board ment relationship without continued payment of remuneration. for reasons constituting good cause within the meaning of Section 626 (2) of the German Civil Code (BGB), all performance shares forfeit with-If a change of control occurs during the four-year vesting period, all out entitlement to compensation. performance shares will become fully vested. In this case, the right to receive a specific allocation of performance shares under the LTI Plan If an accumulated period of absence of more than 90 days occurs during occurs only at the end of the four-year vesting period. the four-year vesting period/performance period, the beneficiary is entitled to performance shares on a pro rata basis. A period of absence is In 2020, personnel expenses resulting from performance shares under defined as absence due to illness, continued payment of remuneration in the Group’s 2018 LTI Plan amounted to 257,494 based on the fair the event of illness or a suspended service or employment relationship value on the grant date (2019: 720,764; 2018: 946,346). without continued payment of remuneration. 8.3.5 2019 Long-Term Incentive Plan If a change of control occurs during the four-year vesting period, all On April 1, 2019, MorphoSys established another Long-Term Incentive performance shares will become fully vested. In this case, the right to Plan (LTI Plan) for the Management Board and selected employees of receive a specific allocation of performance shares under the LTI Plan the Company (beneficiaries). This plan is considered a share-based occurs only at the end of the four-year vesting period. payment program with settlement in equity instruments and is accounted for accordingly. The LTI Plan is a performance-related share In 2020, personnel expenses resulting from performance shares under plan and will be paid out in ordinary shares (performance shares) of the Group’s 2019 LTI Plan amounted to 682,162 based on the fair MorphoSys AG if predefined key performance criteria are achieved. value on the grant date (2019: 1,294,974). The grant date was April 1, 2019, and the vesting/performance period is four years. If the predefined performance criteria for the respective period are 100 % met, 25 % of the performance shares become vested in each year of the four-year vesting period. The number of performance shares vested per year is calculated based on the key performance criteria of the absolute and relative MorphoSys share price performance compared to the Nasdaq Biotech Index and the TecDAX Index. The performance criteria can be met annually up to a maximum of 300%

Notes Financial Statements 195 The table below shows the development of the LTI plans in the financial year 2020. April 2016 April 2017 April 2018 April 2019 Long-Term Long-Term Long-Term Long-Term Incentive Incentive Incentive Incentive Program Program Program Program Outstanding on January 1, 2020 56,002 29,838 19,654 22,626 Granted 0 0 0 0 Adjustment due to Performance Criteria 35,035 0 0 0 Exercised (91,037) 0 0 0 Forfeited 0 0 (283) (843) Expired 0 0 0 0 Outstanding on December 31, 2020 0 29,838 19,371 21,783 Weighted-average Exercise Price ( ) n/a n/a n/a n/a The fair value of the performance shares from the Long-Term Incentive Plans from 2017 through 2019 has been determined using a Monte Carlo simulation. The expected volatility is based on the development of the share volatility of the last four years. Furthermore, the calculation of fair value equally considered the performance criteria of the absolute and relative performance of MorphoSys shares compared to the development of the Nasdaq Biotech Index and the TecDAX Index. The parameters and the fair value of each program are listed in the table below. April 2017 April 2018 April 2019 Long-Term Long-Term Long-Term Incentive Incentive Incentive Program Program Program Share Price on Grant Date in 55.07 81.05 85.00 Exercise Price in n/a n/a n/a Expected Volatility of the MorphoSys share in % 37.49 35.95 37.76 Expected Volatility of the Nasdaq Biotech Index in % 25.07 25.10 18.61 Expected Volatility of the TecDAX Index in % 16.94 17.73 26.46 Performance Term of Program in Years 4.0 4.0 4.0 Dividend Yield in % n/a n/a n/a between between between Risk-free Interest Rate in % 0.03 and 0.23 0.02 and 0.15 0.02 and 0.13 Fair Value on Grant Date in 70.52 103.58 106.85

Financial Statements Notes 196 8.3.6 2020 Performance Share Unit Program On June 1, 2020, MorphoSys established another performance share On April 1, 2020, MorphoSys established a performance share unit pro- unit program (PSU program) for one member of the Management gram (PSU program) for the Management Board and certain employees Board. The terms and conditions were identical to those of the April 1, of the Company (beneficiaries). The program is considered a cash-set- 2020 program, and a total of 8,361 performance share units were tled, share-based payment and is accounted for accordingly. The PSU granted. program is a performance-based program and is paid out in cash subject to the fulfillment of predefined performance criteria. The grant In 2020, personnel expenses under the Group’s 2020 performance date was April 21, 2020; the vesting period/performance period is four share unit program amounted to 1,166,194. years. If the predefined performance criteria for the respective period are fully met, 25 % of the performance share units become vested in The table below shows the development of the performance share unit each year of the four-year vesting period. The number of performance programs in the financial year 2020. share units vested per year is calculated on the basis of the performance criteria of the absolute and relative development of the MorphoSys April 2020 June 2020 share price compared to the development of the Nasdaq Biotech Index Performance Performance and the TecDAX Index. The performance criteria can be met each year Share Unit Share Unit up to a maximum of 200%. If the defined performance criteria are met Program Program by less than 0 % in any one year, no performance share units will be earned for that year. However, the right to receive a certain cash settle- Outstanding on January 1, 2020 0 0 ment from the PSU program does not arise until the end of the four- Granted 27,795 8,361 year vesting period/performance period. After the end of the four-year Exercised 0 0 vesting period, there is a six-month period during which the perfor- Forfeited (301) 0 mance shares can be transferred from the Company to the beneficiaries. Expired 0 0 Outstanding on December 31, 2020 27,494 8,361 MorphoSys reserves the right to settle the PSU program at the end of Weighted-average Price ( ) n/a n/a the vesting period in MorphoSys AG’s own ordinary shares equal to the amount of the performance share units earned. The currently available treasury stock is not suï¬ƒcient to settle the vested awards. The fair values of the performance share units of the 2020 PSU pro-MorphoSys therefore accounts for the plan only as a cash-settled grams are determined using a Monte Carlo simulation. The expected share-based payment. volatility is based on the development of the share price volatility of the last four years. Furthermore, the calculation of fair values equally conIn the event of a departure from the Company, the beneficiaries gener- sidered the performance criteria of the absolute and relative perforally retain the performance share units that have vested by the time of mance of MorphoSys shares compared to the development of the Nasdaq their departure. Biotech Index and the TecDAX Index. The parameters and the fair value of each program are listed in the table below. In the event of a termination of a beneficiary for reasons of conduct or a revocation of the appointment of a member of the Management Board April 2020 June 2020 for reasons constituting good cause within the meaning of Section 626 Performance Performance (2) of the German Civil Code (BGB), all performance share units forfeit Share Unit Share Unit without entitlement to compensation. Program Program If an accumulated period of absence of more than 12 months occurs Share Price in on during the four-year vesting period/performance period, 1/48 of the December 31, 2020 93.82 93.82 performance share units are forfeited for each month of absence. A Exercise Price in n/a n/a period of absence is defined as an absence due to illness or a period Expected Volatility of the of inactive service or employment without continued payment of MorphoSys share in % 40.24 39.83 remuneration. Expected Volatility of the Nasdaq Biotech Index in % 25.73 25.52 If a change of control occurs during the four-year vesting period, all Expected Volatility of the TecDAX performance share units will become fully vested. In this case, the Index in % 23.32 22.88 right to receive a specific allocation of performance share units under Remaining Performance Term of the PSU program occurs only at the end of the four-year vesting period. Program in Years 3.25 3.42 Dividend Yield in % n/a n/a As of April 1, 2020, a total of 27,795 performance share units were between between granted to beneficiaries, consisting of 9,363 performance share units Risk-free Interest Rate in % (0.68) and (0.91) (0.71) and (0.84) to the Management Board, 2,688 performance share units to other Fair Value on December 31, members of the Executive Committee and 15,744 performance share 2020, in 68.46 68.23 units to certain employees of the Company who are not members of the Executive Committee. For the calculation of the personnel expenses from share-based compensation, it was assumed for the PSU program 2020 that ten beneficiaries would leave the Company during the four-year period.

Notes Financial Statements 197 8.4 Morphosys US Inc. – Share Plan After the end of the first one-year performance period, a target achieve-On September 10, 2018, MorphoSys established a share plan for one ment of 100 % was determined. Taking this target achievement into employee of MorphoSys US Inc. This program was considered a share- account, 3,349 performance shares of MorphoSys AG were transferred based payment program with settlement in equity instruments (trea- to the beneficiaries in the period from April 1, 2020 to October 20, 2020. sury shares of MorphoSys AG). The grant date was September 25, 2018. The fair value at the grant date was € 91.90 per share and the vesting The fair value of the performance shares on December 31, 2020 was period was one year. The total number of shares granted was calcu- € 93.82 per share. lated by dividing the total plan value of US$ 370,000 by the average XETRA share price on the Frankfurt Stock Exchange over the 30 trad- In 2020, personnel expenses of the Group from performance shares ing days prior to the start date of the program (€ 102.95) . As a result, under the MorphoSys US Inc. 2019 LTI Plan amounted to € 38,888 the share plan thus comprised a maximum of 3,104 shares. With the based on the fair value on December 31, 2020. (2019: € 1,076,158). end of the vesting period in 2019, all 3,104 shares were transferred to the beneficiary. The table below shows the development of the performance shares under the MorphoSys US Inc. 2019 LTI Plan in the financial year 2020. In 2020, personnel expenses of the Group under this share plan amounted to € 0 (2019: € 96,374; 2018:€ 188,884). MorphoSys US Inc. – 2019 Long-Term 8.5 Morphosys US Inc. – 2019 Long-Term Incentive Incentive Program Program On April 1, 2019, MorphoSys AG established a Long-Term Incentive Outstanding on January 1, 2020 12,467 Plan (LTI Plan) for selected employees of MorphoSys US Inc. (beneficia- Granted 0 ries). This program is considered a share-based payment program with Exercised (3,349) settlement in equity instruments and is accounted for accordingly. The Forfeited 0 LTI Plan is a performance-related share plan and will be paid out in Expired 0 ordinary shares (performance shares) of MorphoSys AG if predefined Outstanding on December 31, 2020 9,118 key performance criteria are achieved. The plan has a term of four Weighted-average Price (€) n/a years and comprises four one-year performance periods. If the pre-defined performance criteria for the respective period are fully met, 25 % of the performance shares become vested in each year. The number 8.6 Morphosys US Inc. – Restricted Stock Unit of shares vested per year is calculated based on key performance criteria Plan (RSUP) of MorphoSys US Inc. during the annual performance period. The per- 8.6.1 2019 Long-Term Incentive Program formance criteria can be met up to a maximum of 125 % per year. If less On October 1, 2019, MorphoSys AG established a Long-Term Incentive than 0 % of the defined performance criteria are met in any one year, no Plan (LTI Plan) for selected employees of MorphoSys US Inc. (beneficia-shares will be vested for that year. After the end of each one-year per- ries). The program is considered a share-based payment program with formance period, there is a six-month period during which the perfor- settlement in equity instruments and is accounted for accordingly. The mance shares can be transferred from the Company to the beneficiaries. LTI Plan is a restricted stock unit plan (RSUP) and is paid out in shares of MorphoSys AG that are to be created from authorized capital provided If the number of repurchased shares is not suï¬ƒcient for servicing the predefined performance criteria have been fulfilled. The term of the LTI Plan, MorphoSys reserves the right to pay a specific amount of the plan is three years and includes three one-year performance periods. LTI Plan in cash in the amount of the performance shares at the end of If the predefined performance criteria for the respective period are fully the vesting period, provided the cash amount does not exceed 200 % of met, 33.3 % of the performance shares become vested in each year. The the average market price of one share of the Company in the XETRA number of performance shares vested per year is calculated based on closing auction on the Frankfurt Stock Exchange during the 30 trading the key performance criteria of MorphoSys US Inc. and the MorphoSys days preceding the grant of the performance shares. share price performance during the annual performance period. The performance criteria can be met up to a maximum of 125 % per year. If In the event of a departure from the Company, the beneficiaries are less than 0 % of the defined performance criteria are met in any one generally entitled to the performance shares that have vested up to the year, no shares will be vested for that year. At the end of the total three-date of their departure on a pro rata basis. year performance period, the corresponding number of shares eventu-ally vested is calculated, and the shares created from authorized capital In the event of termination by a beneficiary for good cause, all perfor- are transferred from the Company to the beneficiaries. mance shares will be forfeited without entitlement to compensation.

Financial Statements Notes 198 MorphoSys reserves the right to pay a specific amount of the LTI Plan If a beneficiary loses his oï¬ƒce or terminates his employment with in cash at the end of the performance period, equal to the value of the MorphoSys US Inc. prior to the end of a performance period, the bene-performance shares granted. ficiary will generally be entitled to all vested restricted stock units for already completed one-year performance periods. All remaining re-If a beneficiary loses his oï¬ƒce or terminates his employment with stricted stock units are forfeited without entitlement to compensation. MorphoSys US Inc. prior to the end of a performance period, the bene-ficiary will generally be entitled to all vested restricted stock units for As of April 1, 2020, 42,307 restricted shares were granted to US bene-already completed one-year performance periods. All remaining re- ficiaries. For the calculation of the personnel expenses from share-stricted stock units are forfeited without entitlement to compensation. based compensation, it was assumed for the LTI Plan 2020 that four beneficiaries would leave the Company during the three-year period. The fair values of the performance shares according to the grant dates or measurement dates for each of the three performance periods were The fair value of the restricted shares granted on April 1, 2020, in ac-€ 127.90 per share on December 13, 2019, € 94.14 per share on Novem- cordance with the grant dates or measurement dates for each of the ber 30, 2020, and € 93.82 per share on December 31, 2020. three performance periods were € 94.14 per share on November 30, 2020, and € 93.82 per share on December 31, 2020. In 2020, personnel expenses of the Group from the MorphoSys US Inc. 2019 RSU Plan amounted to € 600,445 based on the fair values (2019: On October 1, 2020, MorphoSys established an additional Long-Term € 269,415). Incentive Plan in the form of a restricted stock unit plan (RSUP) for certain employees of MorphoSys US Inc. (beneficiaries). The terms and 8.6.2 2020 Long-Term Incentive Program conditions were identical to those of the April 1, 2020 program, with On April 1, 2020, MorphoSys AG established a Long-Term Incentive 7,678 restricted shares granted. For the calculation of the personnel Plan (LTI Plan) for selected employees of MorphoSys US Inc. (beneficia- expenses from share-based compensation, it was assumed for the 2020 ries). The program is considered a share-based payment program with LTI Plan that two beneficiaries would leave the Company during the settlement in equity instruments and is accounted for accordingly. The three-year period. LTI Plan is a restricted stock unit plan (RSUP) and is paid out in shares of MorphoSys AG that are to be created from authorized capital provided The fair value of the restricted shares granted on October 1, 2020, in predefined performance criteria have been fulfilled. The term of the plan accordance with the grant dates or measurement dates for each of the is three years and includes three one-year performance periods. If the three performance periods were € 94.14 per share as of November 30, predefined performance criteria for the respective period are fully met, 2020, and € 93.82 per share as of December 31, 2020. 33.3 % of the performance shares become vested in each year. The number of performance shares vested per year is calculated based on the In 2020, personnel expenses of the Group from the MorphoSys US Inc. key performance criteria of MorphoSys US Inc. and the MorphoSys 2020 RSU Plan amounted to € 1,916,267 based on the fair values. share price performance during the annual performance period. The performance criteria can be met up to a maximum of 125 % per year. If less than 0 % of the defined performance criteria are met in any one year, no shares will be vested for that year. At the end of the total three-year performance period, the corresponding number of shares eventually vested is calculated, and the shares created from authorized capital are transferred from the Company to the beneficiaries. MorphoSys reserves the right to pay a specific amount of the LTI Plan in cash at the end of the performance period, equal to the value of the performance shares granted.

Notes Financial Statements 199 The table below shows the development of the performance shares under the MorphoSys US Inc. RSU Plans in the financial year 2020. MorphoSys US Inc. – MorphoSys US Inc. – MorphoSys US Inc. – October 2019 April 2020 October 2020 Restricted Stock Restricted Stock Restricted Stock Unit Plan Unit Plan Unit Plan Outstanding on January 1, 2020 14,990 0 0 Granted 0 42,307 7,678 Exercised 0 0 0 Forfeited (2,273) (2,537) 0 Expired 0 0 0 Outstanding on December 31, 2020 12,717 39,770 7,678 Weighted-average Price (€) n/a n/a n/a 8.7 Morphosys Us Inc. – Long-Term Cash 8.8 Related Parties Incentive Plan (CLTI Plan) Related parties that can be influenced by the Group or can have a signif-On April 30, 2020, MorphoSys US Inc. established a long-term cash icant influence on the Group can be divided into subsidiaries, members incentive plan (CLTI plan) for certain employees of MorphoSys US Inc. of the Supervisory Board, members of management in key positions (beneficiaries). The program is considered a cash-settled, share-based and other related entities. payment and is accounted for accordingly. The CLTI plan is paid out in cash provided predefined performance criteria have been fulfilled. The The Group engages in business relationships with members of the term of the plan is three years and includes three one-year perfor- Management Board and Supervisory Board as related parties responsi-mance periods. If the predefined performance criteria for the respec- ble for the planning, management and monitoring of the Group. In ad-tive period are fully met, 33.3 % of the performance shares become dition to cash compensation, the Group has granted the Management vested in each year. The amount of compensation vested per year is Board performance shares. The tables below show the shares, stock calculated based on the key performance criteria of the performance of options and performance shares held by the members of the Manage-MorphoSys US Inc. and the share price performance of MorphoSys AG ment Board and Supervisory Board, as well as the changes in their during the annual performance period. The performance criteria can be ownership during the 2020 financial year. met up to a maximum of 125 % per year. If less than 50 % of the defined performance criteria are met in any one year, no award will be granted for that year. At the end of the total three-year performance period, the cash compensation earned is paid by MorphoSys US Inc. If a beneficiary terminates his employment with MorphoSys US Inc. prior to the end of a one-year performance period, the beneficiary shall lose his entitlement to a cash settlement during the relevant one-year performance period and future performance periods. Entitlements from previously completed one-year performance periods are retained. As of December 31, 2020, and based on 100 % target achievement, cash settlement under the CLTI plan at the end of the three-year performance period is expected to be € 0.8 million. In 2020, personnel expenses of the Group from the MorphoSys US Inc. 2020 CLTI plan amounted to € 325,513. The other provision for this program amounts to € 0.3 million as of December 31, 2020.

Financial Statements Notes 200 Shares 01/01/2020 Additions Sales 12/31/2020 Management Board Jean-Paul Kress, M.D. 0 0 0 0 Malte Peters, M.D. 3,313 0 0 3,313 Roland Wandeler, Ph.D.1 – 0 0 0 Jens Holstein2 19,517 13,677 9,000 –Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D.3 1,676 0 0 – Total 24,506 13,677 9,000 3,313 Supervisory Board Dr. Marc Cluzel 750 0 0 750 Michael Brosnan 0 0 0 0 Sharon Curran 0 0 0 0 Dr. George Golumbeski 0 0 0 0 Wendy Johnson 500 0 0 500 Krisja Vermeylen 350 0 0 350 Dr. Frank Morich4 1,000 0 0 – Total 2,600 0 0 1,600 Stock Options 01/01/2020 Additions Forfeitures Exercises 12/31/2020 Management Board Jean-Paul Kress, M.D. 57,078 24,911 0 0 81,989 Malte Peters, M.D. 21,609 11,501 0 0 33,110 Roland Wandeler, Ph.D.1 – 0 0 0 0 Jens Holstein2 21,609 11,501 0 0 –Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D.3 18,678 0 0 0 – Total 118,974 47,913 0 0 115,099 Adjustment Performance Shares due to performance 01/01/2020 Additions criteria5 Forfeitures Allocations6 12/31/2020 Management Board Jean-Paul Kress, M.D. 0 0 0 0 0 0 Malte Peters, M.D. 7,197 0 1,850 0 0 9,047 Roland Wandeler, Ph.D.1 – 0 0 0 0 0 Jens Holstein2 12,693 0 10,031 0 13,677 –Dr. Markus Enzelberger3 7,259 0 0 0 0 – Total 27,149 0 11,881 0 13,677 9,047 1 Roland Wandeler, Ph.D., joined the Management Board of MorphoSys AG effective May 5, 2020. 2 Jens Holstein resigned as a member of the Management Board with effect from the end of November 13, 2020. Changes in the number of shares after his departure from the Management Board are not presented. 3 Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D., resigned as a member of the Management Board with effect from the end of February 29, 2020. Changes in the number of shares after his departure from the Board of Management are not presented. 4 Dr. Frank Morich resigned as a member of the Supervisory Board with effect from the end of April 11, 2020. Changes in the number of shares after his departure from the Board of Management are not presented. 5 Adjustment due to established performance criteria. For performance criteria that have not yet been met, a target achievement of 100 % is assumed. 6 Allocations are made as soon as performance shares are transferred within the six-month exercise period after the end of the four-year waiting period.

Notes Financial Statements 201 The Supervisory Board of MorphoSys AG does not hold any stock op- As of April 1, 2020, the Executive Board was granted 9,363 Perfor-tions or performance shares. mance Share Units at a fair value of € 74.57 and as of June 1, 2020, 8,361 Performance Share Units at a fair value of € 92.79. Additionally, The remuneration system for the Management Board is intended to as of April 1, 2020, the Executive Board was granted 36,412 stock op-provide sustainable, results-oriented corporate governance. The Man- tions at a fair value of € 36.13. agement Board’s total remuneration consists of several components, including fixed compensation, an annual cash bonus that is dependent For the individualized Executive Board compensation, we refer to the upon the achievement of corporate targets (short-term incentives — remuneration report within the Management Report. STI), variable compensation components with long-term incentives (LTI) and other remuneration components. Variable remuneration com- In the years 2020 and 2019, there were no other long-term benefits in ponents with long-term incentive consist of long-term incentive plans accordance with IAS 24.17 (c) accruing to the Management Board or (LTI Plan) from previous years, stock option and performance share Supervisory Board. No benefits upon termination of service in accor-plans from previous years, and a performance share unit program and dance with IAS 24.17 (d) were accrued for the Supervisory Board in the a stock option plan from the current year. The members of the Manage- years 2020 and 2019. ment Board additionally receive fringe benefits in the form of benefits in kind, essentially consisting of a company car and insurance premi- The new Chief Operating Officer, Roland Wandeler, Ph.D., (since May 5, ums. All total remuneration packages are reviewed annually by the 2020), received a signing bonus of 500,000 US dollar related to the Remuneration and Nomination Committee and compared to an annual execution of his employment agreement, payable in two installments Management Board remuneration analysis to check the scope and ap- (2020: 400,000 US dollar (about € 366,000) and 2021: 100,000 US dol-propriateness of the remuneration packages. The amount of remunera- lar (about € 91,500)), as well as reimbursement of relocation expenses. tion paid to members of the Management Board is based largely on the In addition, Roland Wandeler, Ph.D., will receive an ongoing expense duties of the respective Management Board member, the financial sit- allowance for tax advice. uation and the performance and business outlook for the Company versus its competition. All resolutions on adjustments to the overall Jens Holstein will receive a severance payment of € 2,300,000, which remuneration packages are passed by the plenum of the Supervisory will be paid in 2021, as well as an expense allowance for tax advice. Board. The Management Board’s total remuneration package and the Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D., received a severance payment amounting to index-linked pension contracts were thoroughly reviewed and then 50 % of his fixed remuneration and his bonus payment for the previous adjusted by the Supervisory Board in 2020. financial year until the regular expiry of his service contract. Due to their long years of commitment to the Company, the Supervisory Board If a Management Board member’s service contract terminates due to decided that for both, the long-term incentive plans would not forfeit on death, the member’s spouse or life partner is entitled to the fixed a pro-rate basis despite their termination of the employment before the monthly salary for the month of death and the 12 months thereafter. In end of the respective four-year vesting periods. Because of this modifi-the event of a change of control, Management Board members are enti- cation of terms and conditions, the respective personnel expense from tled to exercise their extraordinary right to terminate their service share-based compensation for the outstanding vesting periods was al-contracts and receive any outstanding fixed salary and the annual bo- located to the remaining period of performance. For Jens Holstein, nus for the remainder of the agreed contract period, but at least 200% € 487,327 were recognized earlier than anticipated in 2020, whereas of the annual gross fixed salary and the annual bonus. Moreover, in such for Markus Enzelberger, Ph.D., € 122,683 were booked earlier in the a case, all stock options, performance share units and performance years 2019 and 2020. shares granted will become vested immediately and can be exercised after the expiration of the statutory vesting periods. A change of con- Payments to former members of the Management Board amounted to trol has occurred when (i) MorphoSys transfers assets or a substantial € 0.6 million in 2020 (2019: € 0.3 million). portion of its assets to unaffiliated third parties, (ii) MorphoSys merges with an unaffiliated company, (iii) an agreement pursuant to Section The total compensation for key management personnel in 2020 and 291 AktG is entered into with MorphoSys as a dependent company, 2019 was as follows. MorphoSys is integrated under Section 319 AktG or (iv) a shareholder or third party holds 30 % or more of MorphoSys’s voting rights. in 000’ € 2020 2019 For the fiscal year 2020, the members of the Executive Board were granted a total compensation of € 11,532,252 (€ 11,308,876), consisting Total Short-Term Employee of performance-unrelated remuneration of € 5,529,112 (€ 3,607,006), Benefits 7,261,119 5,706,334 performance-related remuneration of € 2,478,346 (2019: € 3,704,457) Total Post-Employment Benefits 424,300 414,044 as well as long-term incentive compensation of € 3,524,794 (€ 3,997,413) Total Termination Benefits 2,443,409 1,191,085 in the form of share-based compensation. Performance-unrelated Total Share-Based Payment 4,125,979 3,997,413 compensation includes post-employment benefits in the amount of Total Compensation 14,254,807 11,308,876 € 2,443,409 (2019: € 1,191,085) granted during the respective board membership terms.

Financial Statements Notes 202 In 2020, the total remuneration for the Supervisory Board, excluding reimbursed travel costs, amounted to 634,752 (2019: 633,597). Supervisory Board Remuneration for The Years 2020 and 2019: Fixed Compensation Attendance Fees1 Total Compensation In 2020 2019 2020 2019 2020 2019 Dr. Marc Cluzel 104,210 104,210 56,400 44,400 160,610 148,610 Michael Brosnan 57,284 51,284 28,400 34,000 85,684 85,284 Sharon Curran 45,284 27,791 30,000 11,600 75,284 39,391 Dr. George Golumbeski 65,345 51,284 30,800 31,600 96,145 82,884 Wendy Johnson 49,579 47,618 39,200 35,600 88,779 83,218 Krisja Vermeylen 57,284 57,284 38,400 32,400 95,684 89,684 Dr. Frank Morich2 19,766 70,926 12,800 33,600 32,566 104,526 Total 398,752 410,397 236,000 223,200 634,752 633,597 1 The attendance fee contains expense allowances for the attendance at the Supervisory Board and the Committee meetings. 2 Dr. Frank Morich resigned as a member of the Supervisory Board with effect from the end of April 11, 2020. No other agreements currently exist with present or former members of the Supervisory Board. The change in the organizational structure of MorphoSys AG in 2020 (see Note 8*) ects the following presentation of stock options, convertible bonds and performance shares held by related parties: *cross-reference to page 189 As of December 31, 2020, the members of the Executive Committee (excluding the Management Board) held 31,067 stock options and 7,137 performance shares granted by the Company. In 2020, a new stock option program and new performance share program were issued to the members of the Executive Committee (excluding the Management Board) (see Notes 8.1.4 * and 8.3.6 *). *cross-reference to page 190 and page 196 On April 1, 2020, a total of 7,493 shares from the 2016 LTI Plan were allocated to the members of the Executive Committee (excluding the Management Board), who were given the option to receive the shares within an eight-month period. By December 31, 2020, this option had been exercised for a total of 7,493 shares. On December 31, 2019, the Senior Management Group held 100,832 stock options, 11,233 convertible bonds and 63,786 performance shares granted by the Company. On December 31, 2019, the President of MorphoSys US Inc. held 5,065 performance shares granted to him by the Company.

Notes Financial Statements 203 9 Additional Notes 9.1 Obligations Arising from Leases and other Contracts The future minimum payments under non-cancelable leases of low-value assets and contracts for insurance and other services on Decem-ber 31, 2020 were as follows: Leases of Low-Value Assets and Short- Performance Share in 000’ € Term Leases Unit Program Other Total Up to One Year 44 0 7,406 7,450 Between One and Five Years 0 1,868 992 2,860 More than Five Years 0 0 0 0 Total 44 1,868 8,398 10,310 Additionally, the future payments shown in the table below may be- Milestone payments to MorphoSys may be triggered by the achieve-come due for outsourced studies after December 31, 2020. These ment of specific milestones by one of our partners (submitting an in-amounts could be shifted or substantially lower due to changes in the vestigational new drug, or IND, application for specific target mole-study timeline or premature study termination. cules or the transfer of technology, among others) in the Partnered Discovery segment. As the timing and achievement of such milestones are uncertain, further details cannot be published. in million € Total 2020 Monjuvi’s product sales trigger percentage-based royalty payments. Up to One Year 111.7 Between One and Five Years 81.6 Obligations may arise from enforcing the Company’s patent rights ver-More than Five Years 0.0 sus third parties. It is also conceivable that competitors may challenge Total 193.3 the patents of the MorphoSys Group or that MorphoSys may come to the conclusion that its patents or patent families have been infringed upon by competitors. This could prompt MorphoSys to take legal action 9.2 Contingent Assets/Contingent Liabilities against competitors or lead competitors to file counterclaims against Contingent liabilities are potential obligations from past events that MorphoSys. Currently, there are no specific indications such obligations exist only when the occurrence of one or more uncertain future events have arisen. – beyond the Company’s control – is confirmed. Current obligations can represent a contingent liability if it is not probable enough that an 9.3 Corporate Governance outflow of resources justifies the recognition of a provision. Moreover, The Group has submitted the Declaration of Conformity with the recom-it is not possible to make a suï¬ƒciently reliable estimate of the sum of mendations of the Government Commission on the German Corporate obligations. Governance Code for the 2019 financial year under Section 161 of the German Stock Corporation Act (AktG). This declaration was published The Management Board is unaware of any proceedings that may result on the Group’s website (https://www.morphosys.com/media-and-inves-in a significant obligation for the Group or lead to a material adverse ef- tors/corporate-governance) on November 29, 2020 and made perma-fect on the Group’s net assets, financial position or results of operations. nently available to the public. If certain milestones are achieved in the Proprietary Development 9.4 Research and Development Agreements segment (for example, submitting an investigational new drug (IND) The Group has entered numerous research and development agreements application for specific target molecules), this may trigger milestone as part of its proprietary research and development activities and its payments to licensors of up to an aggregate of US$ 249.0 million (ap- partnered research strategy. The following information describes the proximately € 203.0 million) related to regulatory events or the agreements that have a material effect on the Group and the develop-achievement of sales targets. The next milestone payment amounting ments under the research and development agreements in the 2020 to US$ 12.5 million (approximately € 10.2 million) could presumably financial year. occur in the next 12 months.

Financial Statements Notes 204 9.4.1 Proprietary Development Segment In June 2013, MorphoSys announced it had entered into a global agree-In the Proprietary Development segment, partnerships are entered ment with GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) for the development and commer-into as part of the Group’s strategy to develop proprietary drugs in its cialization of otilimab. Otilimab is MorphoSys’s proprietary HuCAL core areas of oncology and inflammatory diseases. Partnerships cur- antibody against the GM-CSF target molecule. Under the agreement, rently exist with (in alphabetical order) Galapagos, GlaxoSmithKline, GSK assumes responsibility for the compound’s entire development I-Mab Biopharma, Immatics Biotechnologies, Incyte, MD Anderson and commercialization. MorphoSys has already received a payment of Cancer Center, Novartis and Xencor. 22.5 million under this agreement and, next to tiered double-digit royalties on net sales, is still eligible to receive additional payments In November 2008, MorphoSys and Galapagos announced a long-term from GSK of up to 423 million, depending on the achievement of drug discovery and co-development cooperation aimed at exploring certain developmental stages, as well as regulatory, commercial and novel mechanisms for the treatment of inflammatory diseases and de- revenue-related milestones. GSK is clinically investigating otilimab in veloping antibody therapies against these diseases. The agreement rheumatoid arthritis and, in July 2019, started a phase 3 development covers all activities ranging from the probing of target molecules to program in this indication. The treatment of the first patients in this the completion of clinical trials for novel therapeutic antibodies. After program triggered a milestone payment of 22.0 million to MorphoSys. demonstrating clinical efficacy in humans, the programs may be GSK has also initiated a clinical trial (OSCAR) to evaluate the eï ƒcacy out-licensed to partners for further development, approval and com- and safety of otilimab in patients with severe pulmonary COVID 19-as-mercialization. Both MorphoSys and Galapagos contributed their core sociated disease. technologies and expertise to this alliance. Along with the use of its adenovirus-based platform to explore new target molecules for the de- In 2017, MorphoSys announced it had signed an exclusive regional velopment of antibodies, Galapagos provided access to already identified licensing agreement with I-Mab Biopharma to develop and commer-target molecules that are associated with bone and joint diseases. cialize felzartamab (MOR202) in China, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau. MorphoSys provided access to its antibody technologies used to generate Felzartamab (MOR202) is MorphoSys’s proprietary antibody targeting fully human antibodies directed against these target molecules. Under CD38. Under the terms of the agreement, I-Mab Biopharma has the the terms of the agreement, Galapagos and MorphoSys will share the exclusive right for the later development and commercialization of fel-research and development costs. In July 2014, the collaboration ad- zartamab (MOR202) in the agreed regions. MorphoSys received a pay-vanced into the preclinical development of MOR106, an antibody from ment of US$ 20.0 million and is also entitled to receive additional suc-MorphoSys’s next-generation library Ylanthia directed against a novel cess-based clinical and commercial milestone payments from I-Mab of Galapagos target molecule. up to roughly US$ 100 million (approximately 84.1 million). In addition, MorphoSys will be entitled to receive double-digit, staggered royal-On July 19, 2018, MorphoSys announced an exclusive global agreement ties on the net revenue of felzartamab (MOR202) in the agreed regions. between MorphoSys and Galapagos with Novartis Pharma AG for the I-Mab is investigating felzartamab (MOR202/TJ202) in a phase 3 clinical development and commercialization of MOR106. The companies study in Mainland China to evaluate felzartamab (MOR202/TJ202) in agreed that they would work together to significantly expand the exist- combination with lenalidomide plus dexamethasone in r/r multiple ing development plan for MOR106. Novartis received all of the exclu- myeloma. I-Mab is also evaluating felzartamab (MOR202/TJ202) as a sive rights to the product’s commercialization resulting from the potential third-line therapy in r/r multiple myeloma in a phase 2 trial agreement. With the signing of the agreement, all future research, that started in March 2019. Both studies are considered pivotal in the development, manufacturing and commercialization costs for MOR106 agreed regions. In 2019, MorphoSys initiated a phase 1/2 study are borne by Novartis. The companies further agreed that Novartis (M-PLACE study) with felzartamab (MOR202) for the treatment of an-would explore the potential of MOR106 in other indications beyond ti-PLA2R-positive membranous nephropathy, an autoimmune disease atopic dermatitis. In addition to receiving financing from Novartis for €ecting the kidneys. the current and future development of the MOR106 program, MorphoSys and Galapagos jointly received a payment of 95 million. Of this In 2018, MorphoSys announced the completion of an exclusive, strate-amount, MorphoSys recognized its 50 % share of that amount – gic development collaboration and regional licensing agreement with 47.5 million – as revenue in 2018. MorphoSys and Galapagos will I-Mab Biopharma for the MOR210 antibody. MOR210 is a preclinical continue to jointly receive significant milestone payments of up to ap- antibody candidate developed by MorphoSys against C5aR1 with the proximately US$ 1 billion (approximately 858.7 million; based on the potential for development in immuno-oncology. I-Mab has exclusive current euro-dollar exchange rate at the time the agreement was signed) rights to develop and market MOR210 in China, Hong Kong, Macao, when specific development, regulatory, commercial and revenue mile- Taiwan and South Korea, while MorphoSys retains the rights for the stones are met. MorphoSys and Galapagos also stand to jointly receive rest of the world. Under the terms of the agreement, I-Mab will exercise tiered royalties ranging from a low 10 % to a low 20 % of net sales. the exclusive rights to develop and market MOR210 in its contracted According to their 2008 agreement, MorphoSys and Galapagos will territories. With the support of MorphoSys, I-Mab will undertake and share equally in all payments (50/50). In October 2019, MorphoSys, fund all global development activities, including clinical trials in Galapagos and Novartis announced a stop in the clinical development China and the United States, to clinical proof of concept in cancer med-of MOR106 in atopic dermatitis. The decision was based on the results icine. MorphoSys received a payment of US$ 3.5 million and is further of a benefit-based interim analysis of the IGUANA phase 2 study. Novar- eligible to receive performance-related clinical and sales-based mile-tis terminated the development and commercialization agreement in a stone payments of up to US$ 101.5 million (approximately 89.6 mil-timely manner, and the ongoing activities related to the terminated lion). MorphoSys recognized the payment of US$ 3.5 million ( 3.1 mil-studies are being completed jointly by the three parties. lion) as revenue in 2018. In addition, MorphoSys will receive tiered royalties in the mid-single-digit percentage range of net sales on the contracted territory of I-Mab. In return for conducting a successful clinical proof of concept trial, I-Mab is entitled to low-single-digit royalties on net sales of MOR210 outside the I-Mab territory, as well as staggered shares of proceeds from the further out-licensing of MOR210.

Notes Financial Statements 205 In August 2015, MorphoSys announced a strategic alliance with the 9.4.2 Partnered Discovery Segment German company Immatics Biotechnologies GmbH in the field of immu- Through its commercial partnerships in the Partnered Discovery seg-no-oncology. The alliance was formed to develop novel antibody-based ment, MorphoSys receives various types of payments that are spread therapies against a variety of cancer antigens that are recognized by over the duration of the agreements or recognized in full as revenue as T cells. The alliance agreement gives MorphoSys access to several of predefined targets and milestones are reached. These payments in-Immatics’s proprietary tumor-associated peptides (TUMAPs) and, in clude payments upon signature, annual license fees in exchange for return, Immatics receives the right to develop MorphoSys’s Ylanthia access to MorphoSys’s technologies and payments for funded research antibodies against several TUMAPs. The companies will pay each to be performed by MorphoSys on behalf of the partner. MorphoSys is other milestone payments and royalties on marketed products based also entitled to development-related milestone payments and royalties on the companies’ development progress. on product sales for specific antibody programs. In January 2020, MorphoSys and Incyte announced that the companies Prior to the 2020 financial year, active collaborations with a number of had signed a collaboration and license agreement for the continued partners had already ended. However, drug development programs ini-global development and commercialization of MorphoSys’s proprietary tiated in the active phase are designed so that they can be continued by anti-CD19 antibody tafasitamab. A detailed description of the agree- the partner and, therefore, still result in performance-based payments ment can be found in Note 4*. for the achievement of the defined milestones. *cross-reference to page 170 Partnerships in the Partnered Discovery segment that ended before In May 2016, MorphoSys and the MD Anderson Cancer Center from the the beginning of 2020 but where drug development programs were still University of Texas announced a long-term strategic alliance. Within being pursued include (in alphabetical order): Bayer AG, Boehringer the scope of this alliance, MorphoSys is applying its Ylanthia technol- Ingelheim, Fibron Ltd. (transfer of the contract from ProChon Biotech ogy platform and, together, the companies are working to identify, val- Ltd.), Janssen Research and Development LLC, Novartis, OncoMed idate and develop novel anti-cancer antibodies through to clinical proof Pharmaceuticals (fully acquired in April 2019 by Mereo BioPharma of concept by researching targets in a variety of oncology indications. Group), Pfizer, Roche and Sosei Heptares. MD Anderson, in cooperation with MorphoSys, will conduct early clinical studies of therapeutic antibody candidates, after which MorphoSys Partnerships that were still active in 2020 include (in alphabetical has the option to continue developing selected antibodies for its own order): GeneFrontier Corporation/Kaneka and LEO Pharma. proprietary pipeline. In MorphoSys’s strategic alliance with LEO Pharma, which has been in In June 2010, MorphoSys and the US-based biopharmaceutical company place since 2016, the two companies are working together to discover Xencor signed an exclusive global licensing and cooperation agreement and develop antibody-based therapies for dermatology. under which MorphoSys receives exclusive global licensing rights to tafasitamab, the antibody for the treatment of cancer and other indi- The Group’s alliance with Novartis AG for the research and develop-cations. The companies jointly conducted a phase 1/2a trial in the US ment of biopharmaceuticals came to an end in November 2017. The in patients with chronic lymphocytic leukemia. MorphoSys is solely collaboration began in 2004 and led to the creation of several ongoing responsible for the further clinical development after the successful therapeutic antibody programs against a number of diseases. MorphoSys completion of the phase 1 clinical trial and commercialization. Upon receives performance-based milestones contingent upon the success-signing the license and cooperation agreement, Xencor received a pay- ful clinical development and regulatory approval of several products. ment of US$ 13.0 million (approximately 10.5 million) from MorphoSys In addition to these payments, MorphoSys is also entitled to royalties and milestone payments totaling US$ 53.0 million (approximately on any future product sales. 43.4 million), which was then capitalized under in-process R&D programs. Xencor is entitled to development, regulatory and commercially related milestone payments. Furthermore, Xencor is also eligible to receive tiered royalty payments of tafasitamab in the mid single-digit to sub-teen double-digit percentage range based upon net sales of licensed antibody sold by us or our licensees. Our royalty obligations continue on a product-by-product and country-by-country basis until the later to occur of the expiration of the last valid claim in the licensed patent covering a licensed product in such country, or 11 years after the first sale of a licensed product following marketing authorization in such country. In November 2020, MorphoSys, Incyte and Xencor announced a clinical collaboration agreement to study the combination of tafasitamab, plamotamab and lenalidomide in patients with relapsed or refractory diï €use large b cell lymphoma (DLBCL), first-line DLBCL and relapsed or refractory follicular lymphoma (FL). MorphoSys and Incyte will provide tafasitamab for the studies. The studies are sponsored and funded by Xencor and are planned to be conducted in North America, Europe and the Asia-Pacific region.

Financial Statements Notes 206 9.5 Subsequent Events On January 5, 2021, MorphoSys and Incyte announced that the Swiss On March 2, 2021, MorphoSys announced that its licensing partner Agency for Therapeutic Products (Swissmedic) has accepted the market- GSK reported preliminary results of the OSCAR (Otilimab in Severe ing authorization application (MAA) for tafasitamab. The MAA seeks COVID-19 Related Disease) study using otilimab for the treatment of approval for tafasitamab, in combination with lenalidomide, followed severe pulmonary COVID-19 related disease. Given these data suggest by tafasitamab monotherapy, for the treatment of adult patients with an important clinical benefit in a pre-defined sub-group of high-risk pa-relapsed or refractory diï €use large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL), includ- tients and the urgent public health need, GSK has amended the OSCAR ing DLBCL arising from low grade lymphoma, who are not candidates study to expand this cohort to confirm these potentially significant for autologous stem cell transplantation (ASCT). The MAA will now findings. The dosing of the first patient in the expanded study trig-enter the formal review process by Swissmedic. gered milestone payments of a total of 16 million to MorphoSys. On January 06, 2021, MorphoSys announced the appointment of Mr. Planegg, March 11, 2021 Sung Lee as Chief Financial Oï ƒcer (CFO) of the Company, eï €ective February 2, 2021. Mr. Sung Lee succeeds Mr. Jens Holstein, who resigned from the Management Board eï €ective November 13, 2020 and left MorphoSys eï €ective December 31, 2020. As a member of the Management Board of MorphoSys AG, Mr. Sung Lee will lead all corporate finance functions of the Company and his place of employment will be Planegg, Germany. Jean-Paul Kress, M.D Sung Lee Chief Executive Oï ƒcer Chief Financial Oï ƒcer On January 12, 2021, MorphoSys and Incyte announced that Health Canada has accepted the New Drug Submission (NDS) for tafasitamab. The application seeks approval of tafasitamab in combination with lenalidomide, followed by tafasitamab monotherapy, for the treatment of adult patients with relapsed or refractory diï €use large B-cell lym-phoma (DLBCL), including DLBCL arising from low grade lymphoma, who are not eligible for, or refuse, autologous stem cell transplant Malte Peters, M.D Roland Wandeler, Ph.D. (ASCT). Chief Research and Chief Operating Oï ƒcer Development Oï ƒcer On January 25, 2021, MorphoSys and I-Mab announced that the first patient has been dosed in a phase 1 dose escalation study to evaluate the safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics (PK) and pharmacodynamics (PD) of MOR210/ TJ210 monotherapy in patients with relapsed or refractory advanced solid tumors in the United States.

Responsibility Statement Additional Information 207 Responsibility Statement To the best of our knowledge, and in accordance with the applicable reporting principles, the consolidated financial statements give a true and fair view of the Group’s net assets, financial position and results of operations, and the group management report provides a fair review of the development and performance of the business and the position of the Group, together with a description of the principal opportunities and risks associated with the Group’s expected development. Planegg, March 11, 2021 Jean-Paul Kress, M.D Sung Lee Chief Executive Oï¬ƒcer Chief Financial Oï¬ƒcer Malte Peters, M.D Roland Wandeler, Ph.D. Chief Research and Chief Operating Oï¬ƒcer Development Oï¬ƒcer

Additional Information Independent Auditor’s Report 208 Independent Auditor’s Report The following copy of the auditor’s report also includes a “Re- In our opinion, on the basis of the knowledge obtained in the port on the audit of the electronic renderings of the financial audit, statements and the management report prepared for disclo- • the accompanying consolidated financial statements comply, sure purposes in accordance with § 317 Abs. 3b HGB” (“sepa- in all material respects, with the IFRSs, as adopted by the EU, rate report on ESEF conformity”). The subject matter (ESEF and the additional requirements of German commercial law documents) to which the separate report on ESEF conformity pursuant to § [Article] 315e Abs. [paragraph] 1 HGB [Handels-relates is not attached. The audited ESEF documents can be in- gesetzbuch: German Commercial Code] and, in compliance spected in or retrieved from the Federal Gazette. with these requirements, give a true and fair view of the assets, liabilities, and financial position of the Group as at Decem-ber 31, 2020, and of its financial performance for the financial Independent Auditor’s Report year from January 1 to December 31, 2020, and • the accompanying group management report as a whole pro-To MorphoSys AG, Planegg vides an appropriate view of the Group’s position. In all material respects, this group management report is consistent with the consolidated financial statements, complies with German Report on the Audit of the Consoli- legal requirements and appropriately presents the opportu-dated Financial Statements and of nities and risks of future development. Our audit opinion on the group management report does not cover the content of the Group Management Report those parts of the group management report listed in the “Other Information” section of our auditor’s report. Audit Opinions We have audited the consolidated financial statements of Pursuant to § 322 Abs. 3 Satz [sentence] 1 HGB, we declare that MorphoSys AG, Planegg, and its subsidiaries (the Group), which our audit has not led to any reservations relating to the legal comprise the consolidated balance sheet as at December 31, compliance of the consolidated financial statements and of the 2020, and the consolidated statement of comprehensive income, group management report. consolidated statement of profit or loss, consolidated statement of changes in stockholders’ equity and consolidated cash flow state- Basis for the Audit Opinions ment for the financial year from January 1 to December 31, 2020, We conducted our audit of the consolidated financial statements and notes to the consolidated financial statements, including a and of the group management report in accordance with § 317 summary of significant accounting policies. In addition, we have HGB and the EU Audit Regulation (No. 537/2014, referred to subaudited the group management report of MorphoSys AG for the sequently as “EU Audit Regulation”) in compliance with German financial year from January 1 to December 31, 2020. In accor- Generally Accepted Standards for Financial Statement Audits dance with the German legal requirements, we have not audited promulgated by the Institut der Wirtschaftsprüfer [Institute of the content of those parts of the group management report listed Public Auditors in Germany] (IDW). Our responsibilities under in the “Other Information” section of our auditor’s report. those requirements and principles are further described in the “Auditor’s Responsibilities for the Audit of the Consolidated Financial Statements and of the Group Management Report” section of our auditor’s report. We are independent of the group entities in accordance with the requirements of European law and German commercial and professional law, and we have ful-filled our other German professional responsibilities in accordance with these requirements. In addition, in accordance with Article 10 (2) point (f) of the EU Audit Regulation, we declare

Independent Auditor’s Report Additional Information 209 that we have not provided non-audit services prohibited under corporate planning and its shared profits and losses thereof Article 5 (1) of the EU Audit Regulation. We believe that the in connection with the commercialization activities of audit evidence we have obtained is sufficient and appropriate to MorphoSys and Incyte in the United States for the years provide a basis for our audit opinions on the consolidated finan- ahead. The executive director’s significant estimations in-cial statements and on the group management report. clude the discount rate and other assumptions including forecasted number of patients as well as expectations on Key Audit Matters in the Audit of the Consoli- selling price and costs associated with the sale of Monjuvi® dated Financial Statements (tafasitamab-cxix).In addition, as part of Incyte’s participa-Key audit matters are those matters that, in our professional tion in the equity of MorphoSys through a capital increase, judgment, were of most significance in our audit of the consoli- the equivalent of 0.9 million was recognized in common dated financial statements for the financial year from January 1 stock and 79.7 million in additional paid-in capital in the to December 2020. These matters were addressed in the con- amount of the fair value of the investment. The remainder of text of our audit of the consolidated financial statements as a 236.1 million was recognized as revenues according to whole, and in forming our audit opinion thereon; we do not pro- IFRS 15, as this is the amount recognized as consideration vide a separate audit opinion on these matters. for the marketing license for tafasitamab outside the US. As a result of the difference in the timing of revenue recogni-In our view, the matters of most significance in our audit were tion and the receipt of the payment from Incyte, foreign cur-as follows: rency gains of 8.4 million were recognized. 1 Initial accounting treatment and valuation of the components of the Incyte collaboration and license agreement The initial accounting treatment and valuation of the com- 2 Subsequent measurement of the financial asset and the fi- ponents of the Incyte collaboration and license agreement nancial liability from the Incyte collaboration and license depend to a large extent on the assessments and estimates agreement made by the executive directors with respect especially to 3 Assessment of recoverability of deferred tax assets the future risk adjusted cash outflows and inflows in connection with the sales of Monjuvi® (tafasitamab-cxix) and Our presentation of these key audit matters has been struc- the discount rate applied and other assumptions and are tured in each case as follows: therefore subject to significant judgement by the executive 1 Matter and issue directors and considerable uncertainty. Against this back- 2 Audit approach and findings ground, and due to the complex nature of the accounting 3 Reference to further information requirements and of the valuation, this matter was of particular significance in the context of our audit. Hereinafter we present the key audit matters: 1 Initial accounting treatment and valuation of the compo- 2 As part of our audit, we tested the eï €ectiveness of controls nents of the Incyte collaboration and license agreement relating to the determination of the rights and obligations 1 Under the collaboration and license agreement with Incyte and the initial assessment of the accounting treatment of Corporation (hereinafter “Incyte”), the Company received a the Incyte collaboration and license agreement under the total of 822.6 million. At the time of its initial recognition, applicable IFRS standards. Our procedures also included, a current financial asset in the amount of 45.1 million and among others, agreeing that the capital increase has been a non-current financial liability in the amount of 542.6 mil- accounted for at the fair value as of the subscription date lion were recognized and recorded in the balance sheet and testing the executive directors’ process for determining items “Financial Assets from Collaborations” and “Finan- the fair values of the financial asset and the financial liabil-cial Liabilities from Collaborations”. The financial asset rep- ity from collaboration. As part of these procedures we tested resents MorphoSys’s current 50 % reimbursement claim the completeness, accuracy and relevance of underlying data against Incyte from the expected future losses associated used in the executive directors’ model for determining the with the US commercialization activities measured at fair risk adjusted forecasted cash outflows and inflows, evaluated value. The non-current financial liability, measured at fair the reasonableness of the executive directors’ significant value, represents Incyte’s prepaid entitlement to future assumptions including the forecasted number of patients as profit sharing on sales of Monjuvi® (tafasitamab-cxix)in the well as expectations on selling price and costs associated US. The basis for the initial valuation at fair value is the with the sales of Monjuvi® (tafasitamab-cxix). Furthermore,

Additional Information Independent Auditor’s Report 210 our procedures included recalculating the transaction price The outcome of the subsequent measurement of the finan-relating to the marketing license for tafasitamab outside of cial asset and liability is dependent to a large extent on the the United States. Professionals with specialized skill and assumptions made by the executive directors with respect knowledge were used to assist in evaluating the reasonable- to the future risk adjusted cash outflows and inflows in conness of the assumptions used in the initial valuation of the nection with the sale of Monjuvi® (tafasitamab-cxix, the components, including the assessment of the risk adjusted discount rate and other assumptions. Therefore, the subse-forecasted cash flows and the discount rate. quent measurement is subject to significant judgement by the executive directors’ and considerable uncertainty. Overall, the valuation parameters and assumptions used by Against this background and due to the complexity of the the executive directors are in line with our expectations measurement, this matter was of particular significance in and also lie within a range that we consider reasonable. the context of our audit. 3 The Company’s disclosures on the initial accounting treat- 2 As part of our audit, we tested the eï €ectiveness of controls ment and valuation of the Incyte collaboration and license relating to the subsequent measurement of the financial agreement are contained in sections 2.3.3 and 4 of the Notes asset and the financial liability from the Incyte collabora-to the consolidated financial statements. tion and license agreement. Our procedures also included, among others, testing the executive director’s process for 2 Subsequent measurement of the financial asset and the determining the fair value of the financial asset and the financial liability from the Incyte collaboration and li- subsequent measurement of the financial liability, including cense agreement evaluating the reasonableness of the executive director’s 1 As of December 31, 2020, the Company has recorded a fi- significant assumptions of the risk adjusted cashflows, nancial asset of 42.9 million and a financial liability of forecasted number of patients, expectations on selling price 516.5 million related to the Incyte collaboration and license and costs associated with the sale of Monjuvi® (tafasitamab agreement. The financial asset is measured at fair value cxix)and testing the completeness, accuracy, and relevance through profit or loss and the financial liability at amortized of underlying data used in the model. Professionals with cost using the eï €ective interest method. Cash flows from specialized skill and knowledge were used to assist in the profits and losses shared equally between MorphoSys evaluating the reasonableness of the assumptions including and Incyte are generally recognized directly against the fi- the assessment of the risk adjusted forecasted cash flows. nancial asset or financial liability. Diï €erences between the planned and actual cash flows from the financial asset or Overall, the valuation parameters and assumptions used by financial liability are recorded in the finance result. Eï €ects the executive directors are in line with our expectations resulting from changes in planning estimates regarding the and also lie within a range that we consider reasonable. expected net cash flows from financial assets and financial liabilities are also recognized in the finance result. The ini- 3 The Company’s disclosures on the subsequent valuation of tial interest rate continues to be applied for the subsequent the financial asset and financial liability from the Incyte measurement of the financial liability, whereas the current collaboration and license agreement are contained in sec-yield curve is used for the financial assets. Foreign currency tions 2.3.3 and 4 of the Notes to the consolidated financial translation eï €ects from the financial asset or financial liabil- statements. ity are also recognized in the finance result. The basis for the valuation at fair value is the corporate planning and its 3 Assessment of recoverability of deferred tax assets shared profits and losses thereof in connection with the com- 1 The Company reports a deferred tax asset amounting to mercialization activities of MorphoSys and Incyte in the US 132.8 million as of December 31, 2020. Deferred tax as-for the years ahead. The executive director’s significant sets on temporary diï €erences are recognized and measured estimations include forecasted number of patients as well on the basis of projected future taxable income. They are only as expectations on selling price and costs associated with recognized if suï ƒcient taxable income is available in the the sale of Monjuvi® (tafasitamab-cxix). future to utilize the deferred tax assets. Assessments as to the recoverability of deferred tax assets require the use of

Independent Auditor’s Report Additional Information 211 judgment regarding assumptions related to estimated fu- Other Information ture taxable profits. This includes the amounts of taxable The executive directors are responsible for the other informa-future profits, the periods in which those profits are ex- tion. The other information comprises the following non-audited pected to occur, and the availability of tax planning oppor- parts of the group management report, which we obtained prior tunities. The Company records a deferred tax asset only to the date of our auditor’s report: when it is probable that a corresponding amount of taxable • the statement on corporate governance pursuant to § 289f HGB profit will be available against which the deductible tempo- and § 315d HGB included in section “Statement on Corporate rary differences relating to the same taxation authority and Governance, Group Statement on Corporate Governance and the same taxable entity can be utilized. The analysis and Report on Corporate Governance” of the group management forecasting required in this process are performed for indi- report vidual jurisdictions by qualified local tax and financial pro- • the subsection “Corporate Governance Report” in the section fessionals. Forecast operating results are based upon ap- “Statement on Corporate Governance, Group Statement on proved business plans. Corporate Governance and Report on Corporate Governance” of the group management report The executive directors’ assessment of the recoverability of • the separate non-financial group report pursuant to § 315b deferred taxes was of particular significance in the context Abs. 3 HGB of our audit, as it depends to a large extent on the executive directors’ estimates and assumptions in determining The annual report is expected to be made available to us after whether suï¬ƒcient future taxable income will be generated the date of the auditor’s report. to support the realization of the existing deferred tax assets and is therefore subject to significant judgement by the Our audit opinions on the consolidated financial statements and executive directors and considerable uncertainties. on the group management report do not cover the other information, and consequently we do not express an audit opinion or 2 As part of our audit, we tested the effectiveness of controls any other form of assurance conclusion thereon. relating to the executive director’s assessment of the recoverability of deferred tax assets, including controls over In connection with our audit, our responsibility is to read the the executive director’s projections of pre-tax income. Our other information and, in so doing, to consider whether the procedures also included, among others, evaluating the other information assumptions used by the executive directors to develop • is materially inconsistent with the consolidated financial state-projections of future taxable income, including the pre-tax ments, with the group management report or our knowledge income, by income tax jurisdiction and testing the com- obtained in the audit, or pleteness and accuracy of the underlying data used in the • otherwise appears to be materially misstated. projections. In addition, we compared the projections of future pre-tax income with other forecasted financial infor- Responsibilities of the Executive Directors and mation prepared by the Company. the Supervisory Board for the Consolidated Financial Statements and the Group Manage- Overall, the valuation parameters and assumptions used by ment Report the executive directors are in line with our expectations and The executive directors are responsible for the preparation of also lie within a range that we consider reasonable. the consolidated financial statements that comply, in all material respects, with IFRSs as adopted by the EU and the additional 3 The Company’s disclosures on the deferred tax assets are requirements of German commercial law pursuant to § 315e contained in sections 2.5.1, 2.7.6 and2.9.8 and 5.4 of the Abs. 1 HGB and that the consolidated financial statements, in Notes to the consolidated financial statements. compliance with these requirements, give a true and fair view of the assets, liabilities, financial position, and financial performance of the Group. In addition, the executive directors are responsible for such internal control as they have determined necessary to enable the preparation of consolidated financial statements that are free from material misstatement, whether due to fraud or error.

Additional Information Independent Auditor’s Report 212 In preparing the consolidated financial statements, the execu- arise from fraud or error and are considered material if, individ-tive directors are responsible for assessing the Group’s ability to ually or in the aggregate, they could reasonably be expected to continue as a going concern. They also have the responsibility influence the economic decisions of users taken on the basis of for disclosing, as applicable, matters related to going concern. these consolidated financial statements and this group man-In addition, they are responsible for financial reporting based agement report. on the going concern basis of accounting unless there is an intention to liquidate the Group or to cease operations, or there is We exercise professional judgment and maintain professional no realistic alternative but to do so. skepticism throughout the audit. We also: • Identify and assess the risks of material misstatement of the Furthermore, the executive directors are responsible for the consolidated financial statements and of the group manage-preparation of the group management report that, as a whole, ment report, whether due to fraud or error, design and per-provides an appropriate view of the Group’s position and is, in form audit procedures responsive to those risks, and obtain all material respects, consistent with the consolidated financial audit evidence that is sufficient and appropriate to provide a statements, complies with German legal requirements, and ap- basis for our audit opinions. The risk of not detecting a mate-propriately presents the opportunities and risks of future devel- rial misstatement resulting from fraud is higher than for one opment. In addition, the executive directors are responsible for resulting from error, as fraud may involve collusion, forgery, such arrangements and measures (systems) as they have consid- intentional omissions, misrepresentations, or the override of ered necessary to enable the preparation of a group management internal control. report that is in accordance with the applicable German legal • Obtain an understanding of internal control relevant to the requirements, and to be able to provide suï¬ƒcient appropriate audit of the consolidated financial statements and of arrange-evidence for the assertions in the group management report. ments and measures (systems) relevant to the audit of the group management report in order to design audit procedures The supervisory board is responsible for overseeing the Group’s that are appropriate in the circumstances, but not for the financial reporting process for the preparation of the consoli- purpose of expressing an audit opinion on the effectiveness dated financial statements and of the group management report. of these systems. • Evaluate the appropriateness of accounting policies used by Auditor’s Responsibilities for the Audit of the the executive directors and the reasonableness of estimates Consolidated Financial Statements and of the made by the executive directors and related disclosures. Group Management Report • Conclude on the appropriateness of the executive directors’ Our objectives are to obtain reasonable assurance about whether use of the going concern basis of accounting and, based on the consolidated financial statements as a whole are free from the audit evidence obtained, whether a material uncertainty material misstatement, whether due to fraud or error, and exists related to events or conditions that may cast significant whether the group management report as a whole provides an doubt on the Group’s ability to continue as a going concern. appropriate view of the Group’s position and, in all material re- If we conclude that a material uncertainty exists, we are respects, is consistent with the consolidated financial statements quired to draw attention in the auditor’s report to the related and the knowledge obtained in the audit, complies with the Ger- disclosures in the consolidated financial statements and in man legal requirements and appropriately presents the opportu- the group management report or, if such disclosures are in-nities and risks of future development, as well as to issue an au- adequate, to modify our respective audit opinions. Our con-ditor’s report that includes our audit opinions on the consolidated clusions are based on the audit evidence obtained up to the financial statements and on the group management report. date of our auditor’s report. However, future events or conditions may cause the Group to cease to be able to continue as Reasonable assurance is a high level of assurance, but is not a a going concern. guarantee that an audit conducted in accordance with § 317 • Evaluate the overall presentation, structure and content of HGB and the EU Audit Regulation and in compliance with Ger- the consolidated financial statements, including the disclo-man Generally Accepted Standards for Financial Statement sures, and whether the consolidated financial statements Audits promulgated by the Institut der Wirtschaftsprüfer (IDW) present the underlying transactions and events in a manner will always detect a material misstatement. Misstatements can that the consolidated financial statements give a true and

Independent Auditor’s Report Additional Information 213 fair view of the assets, liabilities, financial position and fi- Other Legal and Regulatory nancial performance of the Group in compliance with IFRSs Requirements as adopted by the EU and the additional requirements of German commercial law pursuant to § 315e Abs. 1 HGB. • Obtain suï¬ƒcient appropriate audit evidence regarding the Assurance Report in Accordance with § 317 financial information of the entities or business activities Abs. 3b HGB on the Electronic Reproduction within the Group to express audit opinions on the consoli- of the Consolidated Financial Statements dated financial statements and on the group management and the Group Management Report Prepared report. We are responsible for the direction, supervision and for Publication Purposes performance of the group audit. We remain solely responsi- Reasonable Assurance Conclusion ble for our audit opinions. We have performed an assurance engagement in accordance • Evaluate the consistency of the group management report with § 317 Abs. 3b HGB to obtain reasonable assurance about with the consolidated financial statements, its conformity with whether the reproduction of the consolidated financial state-German law, and the view of the Group’s position it provides. ments and the group management report (hereinafter the “ESEF Perform audit procedures on the prospective information documents”) contained in the attached electronic file MorphoSys_ presented by the executive directors in the group manage- AG_KA+KLB_ESEF-2020-12-31_en.zip and prepared for publica-ment report. On the basis of suï¬ƒcient appropriate audit evi- tion purposes complies in all material respects with the require-dence we evaluate, in particular, the significant assumptions ments of § 328 Abs. 1 HGB for the electronic reporting format used by the executive directors as a basis for the prospective (“ESEF format”). In accordance with German legal requirements, information, and evaluate the proper derivation of the pro- this assurance engagement only extends to the conversion of the spective information from these assumptions. We do not ex- information contained in the consolidated financial statements press a separate audit opinion on the prospective information and the group management report into the ESEF format and and on the assumptions used as a basis. There is a substan- therefore relates neither to the information contained within this tial unavoidable risk that future events will materially reproduction nor to any other information contained in the from the prospective information. above-mentioned electronic file. We communicate with those charged with governance regard- In our opinion, the reproduction of the consolidated financial ing, among other matters, the planned scope and timing of the statements and the group management report contained in the audit and significant audit findings, including any significant above-mentioned attached electronic file and prepared for publi-deficiencies in internal control that we identify during our audit. cation purposes complies in all material respects with the requirements of § 328 Abs. 1 HGB for the electronic reporting for-We also provide those charged with governance with a state- mat. We do not express any opinion on the information contained ment that we have complied with the relevant independence in this reproduction nor on any other information contained in requirements, and communicate with them all relationships and the above-mentioned electronic file beyond this reasonable as-other matters that may reasonably be thought to bear on our surance conclusion and our audit opinion on the accompanying independence, and where applicable, the related safeguards. consolidated financial statements and the accompanying group management report for the financial year from January 1, to De-From the matters communicated with those charged with gov- cember 31, 2020 contained in the “Report on the Audit of the ernance, we determine those matters that were of most signifi- Consolidated Financial Statements and on the Group Manage-cance in the audit of the consolidated financial statements of ment Report” above. the current period and are therefore the key audit matters. We describe these matters in our auditor’s report unless law or reg- Basis for the Reasonable Assurance Conclusion ulation precludes public disclosure about the matter. We conducted our assurance engagement on the reproduction of the consolidated financial statements and the group management report contained in the above-mentioned attached electronic file in accordance with § 317 Abs. 3b HGB and the Exposure Draft of IDW Assurance Standard: Assurance in Accordance with § 317 Abs. 3b HGB on the Electronic Reproduction

Additional Information Independent Auditor’s Report 214 of Financial Statements and Management Reports Prepared for • Obtain an understanding of internal control relevant to the Publication Purposes (ED IDW AsS 410) and the International assurance engagement on the ESEF documents in order to Standard on Assurance Engagements 3000 (Revised). Accord- design assurance procedures that are appropriate in the cir-ingly, our responsibilities are further described below in the cumstances, but not for the purpose of expressing an assur-“Group Auditor’s Responsibilities for the Assurance Engage- ance conclusion on the effectiveness of these controls. ment on the ESEF Documents” section. Our audit firm has ap- • Evaluate the technical validity of the ESEF documents, i.e., plied the IDW Standard on Quality Management: Requirements whether the electronic file containing the ESEF documents for Quality Management in the Audit Firm (IDW QS 1). meets the requirements of the Delegated Regulation (EU) 2019/815 in the version applicable as at the balance sheet Responsibilities of the Executive Directors and the date on the technical specification for this electronic file. Supervisory Board for the ESEF Documents • Evaluate whether the ESEF documents enables a XHTML re-The executive directors of the Company are responsible for the production with content equivalent to the audited consolidated preparation of the ESEF documents including the electronic re- financial statements and to the audited group management production of the consolidated financial statements and the report. group management report in accordance with § 328 Abs. 1 Satz • Evaluate whether the tagging of the ESEF documents with 4 Nr. 1 HGB and for the tagging of the consolidated financial Inline XBRL technology (iXBRL) enables an appropriate statements in accordance with § 328 Abs. 1 Satz 4 Nr. 2 HGB. and complete machine-readable XBRL copy of the XHTML reproduction. In addition, the executive directors of the Company are responsible for such internal control as they have considered neces- Note on Supplementary Audit sary to enable the preparation of ESEF documents that are free We issue this auditor’s report on the consolidated financial from material non-compliance with the requirements of § 328 statements and the group management report as well as on the Abs. 1 HGB for the electronic reporting format, whether due to reproduction of the consolidated financial statements and the fraud or error. group management report submitted for audit for the first time, contained in the attached file MorphoSys_AG_KA+KLB_ESEF-The executive directors of the Company are also responsible for 2020-12-31.zip and prepared for publication purposes on the the submission of the ESEF documents together with the audi- basis of our audit, duly completed as at March 11, 2021, and our tor’s report and the attached audited consolidated financial supplementary audit completed as at March 15, 2021, which restatements and audited group management report as well as lated to the initial submission of the ESEF documents. other documents to be published to the operator of the German Federal Gazette [Bundesanzeiger]. Further Information pursuant to Article 10 of the EU Audit Regulation The supervisory board is responsible for overseeing the prepa- We were elected as group auditor by the annual general meet-ration of the ESEF documents as part of the financial reporting ing on May 27, 2020. We were engaged by the supervisory process. board on July 14, 2020. We have been the group auditor of the MorphoSys AG, Planegg, without interruption since the finan- Group Auditor’s Responsibilities for the Assurance cial year 2011. Engagement on the ESEF Documents Our objective is to obtain reasonable assurance about whether We declare that the audit opinions expressed in this auditor’s the ESEF documents are free from material non-compliance report are consistent with the additional report to the audit with the requirements of § 328 Abs. 1 HGB, whether due to committee pursuant to Article 11 of the EU Audit Regulation fraud or error. We exercise professional judgment and maintain (long-form audit report). professional skepticism throughout the assurance engagement. We also: • Identify and assess the risks of material non-compliance with the requirements of § 328 Abs. 1 HGB, whether due to fraud or error, design and perform assurance procedures responsive to those risks, and obtain assurance evidence that is suï¬ƒcient and appropriate to provide a basis for our assurance conclusion.

Independent Auditor’s Report Additional Information 215 German Public Auditor Responsible for the Engagement The German Public Auditor responsible for the engagement is Holger Lutz. Munich, March 11, 2021 / limited to the initial submission of the ESEF documents stated in the “Note on Supplementary Audit” section above: March 15, 2021 PricewaterhouseCoopers GmbH Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft Stefano Mulas Holger Lutz Wirtschaftsprüfer Wirtschaftsprüfer (German Public Auditor) (German Public Auditor)

Additional Information Glossary 216 Glossary A G ADS – American Depositary Share; share of a non- CD20 – Potential therapeutic target for immuno- GCP – Good clinical practice; an international U.S. company that is held by a U.S. depositary bank therapy ethical and scientific quality standard for design-and is traded at a stock exchange in the U.S. ing, conducting, recording and reporting trials CD38 – Potential therapeutic target for immuno- that involve the participation of human subjects aMN – Autoimmune membranous nephropathy therapy GDP – Good distribution practice; guidelines Amyloid beta – Protein produced by the body Clinical trial – Clinical trials allow safety and on quality standards for distribution practice of that can be deposited in the brain and is associated efficacy data to be collected for new drugs or de- pharmaceutical products with the development of Alzheimer’s disease vices; depending on the type of product and the stage of its development, investigators enroll GLP – Good laboratory practice; a formal frame-Antibody library – A collection of genes that healthy volunteers and/or patients into small work for the implementation of safety tests on encode corresponding human antibodies pilot studies initially, followed by larger-scale chemical products studies in patients Antigen – Foreign substance stimulating anti- GM-CSF – Granulocyte-macrophage colony- body production; binding partner of antibody CLL – Chronic lymphocytic leukemia; most com- stimulating factor; underlying target molecule of mon type of cancer of the blood and bone marrow, MOR103 program anti-PLA2R-positive membranous nephropa- affecting the B cells thy – autoimmune kidney disease GMP – Good manufacturing practice; term for COSMOS – CLL patients assessed for ORR/Safety the control and management of manufacturing ASCT – Autologous stem cell transplantation; in MOR208 Study and quality control testing of pharmaceutical Treatment with stem cells from a patients own products and medical devices body for the treatment of lymphomas CR – Complete response GVP – Good pharmacovigilance practice; quality Crohn’s Disease – Chronic inflammatory bowel standard for monitoring the safety of medicinal B disease products B cells – White blood cells, part of the immune GxP – General abbreviation for the “good practice” system, capable of generation antibodies D quality guidelines and regulations BLA – Biologics License Application; request to DLBCL – Diffuse large B cell lymphoma, a sub-the FDA for permission to introduce, or deliver form of ›› NHL H for introduction, a biologic product into interstate commerce DoR – duration of response HDC – Highdose chemotherapy B-MIND – Study to evaluate Bendamustine- Hemibody-Technology – Multispecific anti-MOR208 IN DLBCL E body technology for the recruitment of effector cells (T cell engager) Bruton tyrosine kinase inhibitor – a key EMA – European Medicines Agency kinase of the B cell receptor signaling pathway HuCAL – Human Combinatorial Antibody Li-that plays a significant role in the proliferation, brary; proprietary antibody library enabling differentiation and survival of B cells F rapid generation of specific human antibodies federal for all applications FDA – Food and Drug Administration; US C agency for the supervision of food and drugs I C5a – Part of the immune system; involved in Felzartamab – MOR202; recombinant human growth of certain cancers monoclonal HuCAL-IgG1-antibody directed against IFRS – International Financial Reporting Stan-the target molecule CD38 dards; accounting standards issued by the IASB C5aR – Receptor for C5a and adopted by the EU firstMIND – Clinical phase 1b study with tafasit-CD3 – Potential target for T-cell engagement amab in first-line patients with DLBCL IND – Investigational New Drug; application for permission to test a new drug candidate on CD19 – Potential therapeutic target for immuno- FL – Follicular lymphoma humans, i.e. in clinical studies therapy frontMIND – Pivotal phase 3 study with tafasit- inMIND – Pivotal phase 3 study with tafasitamab amab in first-line patients with DLBCL (trial initia- in patients with indolent lymphomas (trial initiation expected in H1 2021) tion expected in H1 2021)

Glossary Additional Information 217 L P T L-MIND – Study to evaluate Lenalidomide- PDUFA – Prescription Drug User Fee Act; law al- Tafasitamab – MOR208, formerly XmAb5574 MOR208 IN DLBCL lowing the FDA to collect fees from drug manufacturers to fund the new drug approval process Target – Target molecule for therapeutic inter-with the FDA being required to meet certain per- vention, e.g. on the surface of diseased cells M formance benchmarks, primarily related to the speed of the new drug review process. T cells – An abbreviation for T-lymphocytes; a MAA – Marketing Authorization Application; ap- subtype of white blood cells that together with plication seeking permission to bring a medicinal PFS – Progression-free survival B-lymphocytes are responsible for the body’s im-product to the market in Europe mune defense PsA – Psoriatic arthritis Chronic joint inflamma-Market capitalization – Value of a company’s tion that occures in connection with psoriasis outstanding shares, as measured by shares times U current price Psoriasis – A chronic, non-contagious autoim-mune disease which affects the skin and joints Ulcerative Colitis – Chronic inflammatory MM – Multiple Myeloma; Type of cancer that devel- bowel disease; Crohn’s disease ops in a subset of white blood cells called plasma cells formed in the bone marrow Q Y Monjuvi® (tafasitamab-cxix) – First propri- QPCTL – glutaminyl peptide cyclotransferase- etary drug on the market; approved in the U.S. in like enzymes Ylanthia – The novel next-generation antibody July 2020 in combination with lenalidomide for platform of MorphoSys the treatment of adult patients with relapsed or refractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) R not otherwise specified, including DLBCL arising from low grade lymphoma, and who are not eligi- R-CHOP – Rituximab, Cyclophosphamid, Doxo-ble for autologous stem cell transplant (ASCT) rubicin, Vincristin and Prednison; Combination treatment with rituximab and combination che-M-PLACE – Phase 1/2 study with felzartamab in motherapy as standard first-line treatment of anti-PLA2R-positive membranous nephropathy ›› DLBCL RE-MIND – Retrospective observational study to MZL – Marginal zone lymphoma compare the efficacy in the L-MIND study to the efficacy results of lenalidomide monotherapy N based on real-world data of patients NHL – Non-Hodgkin lymphoma; diverse group of Rheumatoid arthritis – Inflammatory disease blood cancers that include any kind of lymphoma of the joints; abbreviation: RA except Hodgkin lymphoma Royalties – Percentage share of ownership of New-PLACE – Phase 2 study with felzartamab in the revenue generated by drug products anti-PLA2R-positive membranous nephropathy r/r – relapsed/refractory O New S OkapY – bispecific antibody technology SLL – Small lymphocytic lymphoma ORR – Overall response rate Slonomics – DNA engineering and protein library OS – Overall survival generation platform acquired by MorphoSys in 2010 Otilimab – formerly MOR103/GSK3196165 SOX – Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002

Additional Information List of Figures and Tables 218 List of Figures and Tables Figures 01 Performance of the MorphoSys Share in 2020 47 07 Revenues Proprietary Development and Partnered 02 Performance of the MorphoSys Share 2016 – 2020 47 Discovery 72 03 Revenues of the MorphoSys Group by Segment 65 08 Selected R&D Expenses 74 04 Total Headcount of the MorphoSys Group 67 09 Risk and Opportunity Management System at 05 Employees by Gender 69 MorphoSys 94 06 Revenues by Region 72 10 Compliance Management Program (CMP) 129 Tables 01 Key Data for the MorphoSys Share 46 12 Composition of the Supervisory Board until 02 Analyst Recommendations 48 Termination of the 2020 Annual General Meeting 106 03 Development of Key Financial Performance Indicators 55 13 Composition of the Supervisory Board since 04 Multi-Year Overview – Statement of Profit or Loss 77 Termination of the 2020 Annual General Meeting 106 05 Multi-Year Overview – Financial Situation 81 14 Participation of Supervisory Board Members 108 06 Multi-Year Overview – Balance Sheet Structure 82 15 Compensation of the Management Board in 07 Contractual Obligations 83 2020 and 2019 116 08 Comparison of Actual Business Results Versus 16 Components of Executive Board compensation in Forecasts 84 2020 and 2019 122 09 Summary of MorphoSys’s Key Short- and Medium-Term 17 Compensation of the Supervisory Board in Risks 100 2020 and 2019 124 10 Summary of MorphoSys’s Key Long-Term Risks 101 18 Directors’ Holdings 125 11 Summary of MorphoSys’s Key Opportunities 101 19 Managers Transactions in 2020 126

Imprint MorphoSys AG Concept and Design This Annual Report is also available in Semmelweisstrasse 7 3st kommunikation GmbH, Mainz German and can be downloaded from the 82152 Planegg Company’s website. Germany Photography/Picture Credits For better readability, this report uses the Phone: +49-89-89927-0 Andreas Pohlmann, Munich masculine form only but refers equally to Fax: +49-89-89927-222 Webb Chappell, Boston all genders. Email: info@morphosys.com Getty Images Website: www.morphosys.com Translation HuCAL®, HuCAL GOLD®, HuCAL PLATINUM®, Investor Relations Klusmann Communications, Niedernhausen CysDisplay®, RapMAT®, arYla®, Ylanthia®, 100 Phone: +49-89-89927-404 Leinhäuser Language Services GmbH, billion high potentials®, Slonomics®, CyCAT®, Fax: +49-89-89927-5404 Unterhaching OkapY™, MONJUVI® and ENFORCER® are Email: investors@morphosys.com trademarks of the MorphoSys Group. Editorial Office Tremfya® is a registered trademark of Janssen Götz Translations and Proofreading GmbH, Biotech, Inc. XmAb® is a registered trademark Hamburg of Xencor Inc. National Comprehensive Cancer Network®, NCCN® and NCCN Guidelines® Typesetting and Lithography are registered trademarks of the National Knecht GmbH, Ockenheim Comprehensive Cancer Network, Inc. Printer Woeste Druck + Verlag GmbH & Co. KG, Essen-Kettwig Copy Deadline March 11, 2021 (except financial statements)

Financial Calendar 2021 March 15 Publication of 2020 Year-End Results May 5 Publication of 2021 First Quarter Interim Statement May 19 2021 Annual General Meeting July 28 Publication of 2021 Half-Year Report November 10 Publication of 2021 Third Quarter Interim Statement MorphoSys AG Semmelweisstrasse 7 82152  Planegg Germany Phone: +49-89-89927-0 Fax: +49-89-89927-222 www.morphosys.com