Exhibit 99.1
News release via Canada NewsWire, Calgary 403-269-7605

     Attention Business/Financial Editors:
     Penn West Energy Trust provides financial and operational updates and
     announces April distribution

     CALGARY, March 26 /CNW/ - (TSX - PWT.UN; NYSE - PWE) Penn West Energy
Trust's ("Penn West's") management and Board of Directors regularly monitors
commodity prices and financial markets to ensure its capital programs and
distribution levels continue at appropriate levels. While oil prices are
strengthening, the outlook for natural gas pricing looks challenging over the
mid-term. Given this outlook and the level of current opportunities to make
accretive, strategic acquisitions, Penn West believes it prudent to limit 2009
capital spending to the lower end of our guidance range and to adjust our
distribution level.

     Production

     Penn West maintains its current production guidance of 180,000 boe per
day, excluding dispositions, for the first six months of 2009. All previously
announced asset dispositions have now closed. We anticipate that the impact on
first half production guidance from our dispositions will be approximately one
percent.

     Hedging

     While the outlook for crude oil prices continues to improve, Penn West
remains watchful of the underlying fundamentals for natural gas over the
remainder of 2009. As part of its ongoing risk management program, Penn West
recently hedged 15,000 barrels per day of our 2010 crude oil production using
collars with an average WTI floor price of approximately US$52 and an average
WTI ceiling price of approximately US$68. In addition, to bolster downside
protection on 2010 natural gas prices, we extracted a portion of the value
from our April to October 2009 natural gas collars on 100,000 gigajoules
('GJ") per day by lowering the floor price of these contracts from $8.25 per
GJ to $6.50 per GJ. The proceeds were used to enhance the pricing on new
natural gas collars to above market pricing on 63,000 GJ per day from November
2009 to October 2010 to average floor prices of $6.50 per GJ and average
ceiling prices of $9.50 per GJ.

     Capital Program

     Based on current market conditions, we are targeting a 2009 capital
program towards the lower end of our previous $600 million to $825 million
guidance. Our base capital focus remains on low-cost volume additions through
optimization projects, continued resource play development as well as
restoring production by ongoing field maintenance activities.

     Distributions

     The Penn West Board of Directors recently approved a reduction to our
monthly distribution to unitholders from $0.23 per unit to $0.15 per unit,
subject to changes in commodity prices, production levels and capital
expenditures. This reduction will be recognized in the cash distribution
payable to unitholders for the April 2009 cash distribution, payable on May
15, 2009, to unitholders of record on April 30, 2009. The ex-distribution date
is April 28, 2009. Resultant funds flow in excess of capital spending and cash
distributions will be allocated to acquisitions or further debt reduction. The
revised distribution rate, annualized, represents a cash-on-cash yield of
approximately 13 percent based on the March 26, 2009 closing unit price of
$14.16 on the Toronto Stock Exchange and represents a reduction of
approximately 35 percent from our March 2009 distribution.
     The April 2009 distribution of CDN$0.15 per unit is equivalent to
approximately US$0.12 per unit (before deduction of any applicable Canadian
withholding tax) using currency exchange of one Canadian dollar equals
US$0.80. Registered unitholders with U.S. addresses will receive their
distributions directly from Penn West's transfer agent, and will be paid in
U.S. currency using the exchange rate in effect on the record date.
Non-registered U.S. unitholders will receive their distributions through their
brokers.

     Financial Information

     Unless otherwise stated, all dollar amounts are stated in Canadian
dollars.

     Boe Conversion

     Boes (barrels of oil equivalent) are derived by converting gas to oil in
the ratio of six thousand cubic feet ("Mcf") of gas to one barrel ("bbl") of
oil (6 Mcf : 1 bbl). Boes may be misleading, particularly if used in
isolation. A boe conversion ratio of six thousand cubic feet to one barrel is
based on an energy equivalency conversion method primarily applicable at the
burner tip and does not represent a value equivalency at the wellhead.

     Forward-Looking Statements

     Certain statements contained in this document constitute forward-looking
statements or information (collectively "forward-looking statements") within
the meaning of the "safe harbour" provisions of applicable securities
legislation. Forward-looking statements are typically identified by words such
as "anticipate", "continue", "estimate", "expect", "forecast", "may", "will",
"project", "could", "plan", "intend", "should", "believe", "outlook",
"potential", "target" and similar words suggesting future events or future
performance. In particular, this document contains forward-looking statements
pertaining to, without limitation, the following: our outlook for oil and
natural gas prices; our belief that there are opportunities to cost
effectively acquire strategic oil and gas properties; our expectations as to
our average daily production volumes in the first half of 2009; our
expectations as to the amount of our 2009 annual capital expenditure budget
and the nature of the expenditures to be made; future distribution levels; and
our intention to use excess funds flow for acquisitions and debt reduction.
With respect to forward-looking statements contained in this document, we have
made assumptions regarding, among other things: future oil and natural gas
prices and differentials between light, medium and heavy oil prices; future
capital expenditure levels; future oil and natural gas production levels;
future exchange rates; the amount of future cash distributions that we intend
to pay; our ability to obtain financing on acceptable terms; and our ability
to maintain existing production levels and add production and reserves through
our development and exploitation activities. Although we believe that the
expectations reflected in the forward-looking statements contained in this
document, and the assumptions on which such forward-looking statements are
made, are reasonable, there can be no assurance that such expectations will
prove to be correct. Readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on
forward-looking statements included in this document, as there can be no
assurance that the plans, intentions or expectations upon which the
forward-looking statements are based will occur. By their nature,
forward-looking statements involve numerous assumptions, known and unknown
risks and uncertainties that contribute to the possibility that the
predictions, forecasts, projections and other forward-looking statements will
not occur, which may cause our actual performance and financial results in
future periods to differ materially from any estimates or projections of
future performance or results expressed or implied by such forward-looking
statements. These risks and uncertainties include, among other things:
competition for, among other things, capital, acquisitions of reserves,
resources, undeveloped lands and skilled personnel; geological, technical,
drilling and processing problems; general economic conditions in Canada, the
U.S. and globally; industry conditions, including fluctuations in the price of
oil and natural gas; royalties payable in respect of our oil and natural gas
production; changes in government regulation of the oil and natural gas
industry, including environmental regulation; fluctuations in foreign exchange
or interest rates; unanticipated operating events that can reduce production
or cause production to be shut-in or delayed; stock market volatility and
market valuations; OPEC's ability to control production and balance global
supply and demand of crude oil at desired price levels; political uncertainty,
including the risks of hostilities, in the petroleum producing regions of the
world; changes in tax laws; changes in the Alberta royalty framework;
uncertainty of obtaining required approvals for dispositions, acquisitions and
mergers; and the other factors described in our public filings (including our
Annual Information Form) available in Canada at www.sedar.com and in the
United States at www.sec.gov. Readers are cautioned that this list of risk
factors should not be construed as exhaustive. The forward-looking statements
contained in this document speak only as of the date of this document. Except
as expressly required by applicable securities laws, we do not undertake any
obligation to publicly update or revise any forward-looking statements,
whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise. The
forward-looking statements contained in this document are expressly qualified
by this cautionary statement.

     Penn West trust units and debentures are listed on the Toronto Stock
Exchange under the symbols PWT.UN, PWT.DB.B, PWT.DB.C, PWT.DB.D, PWT.DB.E and
PWT.DB.F and Penn West trust units are listed on the New York Stock Exchange
under the symbol PWE.

     %SEDAR: 00022266E          %CIK: 0001334388

     /For further information: PENN WEST ENERGY TRUST, Suite 200, 207 - 9th
Avenue S.W., Calgary, Alberta, T2P 1K3, Phone: (403) 777-2500, Fax: (403)
777-2699, Toll Free: 1-866-693-2707, Website: www.pennwest.com; Investor
Relations: Toll Free: 1-888-770-2633, E-mail: investor_relations(at)pennwest.com;
William Andrew, CEO, Phone: (403) 777-2502, E-mail: bill.andrew(at)pennwest.com;
Jason Fleury, Manager, Investor Relations, Phone: (403) 539-6343, E-mail:
jason.fleury(at)pennwest.com/
     (PWT.DB.B. PWT.DB.D. PWT.DB.E. PWT.DB.F. PWT.DB.A. PWT.DB.C. PWT.UN. PWE)

CO:  Penn West Energy Trust

CNW 19:18e 26-MAR-09