Exhibit 99.1

News release via Canada NewsWire, Calgary 403-269-7605

     Attention Business/Financial Editors:
     Penn West Energy Trust Confirms its March Cash Distribution

     CALGARY, March 20 /CNW/ - (TSX - PWT.UN; NYSE - PWE) Penn West Energy
Trust ("Penn West") confirms that its March 2008 cash distribution will be
CDN$0.34 per trust unit payable on April 15, 2008 to unitholders of record on
March 31, 2008. The ex-distribution date is March 27, 2008.
     The CDN$0.34 per unit is equivalent to approximately US$0.33 per unit
(before deduction of any applicable Canadian withholding tax), using a current
U.S./Canadian exchange ratio of 0.97. Registered unitholders with U.S.
addresses will receive their distributions directly from our transfer agent,
and will be paid in U.S. currency using the exchange rate in effect on the
record date. Non-registered U.S. unitholders will receive their distributions
through their brokers.

     Penn West trust units and debentures are listed on the Toronto Stock
Exchange under the symbols PWT.UN, PWT.DB.A, PWT.DB.B, PWT.DB.C, PWT.DB.D,
PWT.DB.E and PWT.DB.F and Penn West trust units are listed on the New York
Stock Exchange under the symbol PWE.

     %SEDAR: 00022266E          %CIK: 0001334388

     /For further information: PENN WEST ENERGY TRUST, Suite 2200, 425 - First
Street S.W., Calgary, Alberta, T2P 3L8, Phone: (403) 777-2500, Toll-free:
1-866-693-2707, Fax: (403) 777-2699, Website: www.pennwest.com; Investor
Relations: Phone: 1-888-770-2633, E-mail: investor_relations(at)pennwest.com,
William Andrew, CEO, Phone: (403) 777-2502/
     (PWT.UN. PWT.DB.F. PWT.DB.A. PWT.DB.C. PWT.DB.B. PWT.DB.D. PWT.DB.E. PWE)

CO:  Penn West Energy Trust

CNW 18:00e 20-MAR-08