Exhibit 99.1

Obsidian Energy Provides Operational Update

CALGARY, Sept. 30, 2019 /CNW/ – OBSIDIAN ENERGY LTD. (TSX/NYSE – OBE) (“Obsidian Energy”, the “Company”, “we”, “us” or “our”) is pleased to provide an update on its Cardium development program and hedging portfolio.

Phase 2 Cardium Program Update

The 13 well Willesden Green Cardium development program planned for the second half of the year is progressing as planned, with six wells rig released. Four of those wells have been completed and are expected to be on stream by mid-October. The Company has seven additional wells planned in the fourth quarter of 2019. All locations are expected to be onstream before the end of the year. The Company is on target to deliver its $120 million capital program, with $75 million of the total spending planned for the second half of the year.

Hedging Program Updates

Recent oil price volatility allowed the Company to build on its fourth quarter hedge position, adding 2,663 barrels per day with an average strike price of $79.62 per barrel, on a Canadian dollar basis. Our hedging policy is designed to provide a level of certainty to our cash flow. While our hedging volumes have increased, we are cautious to only hedge at levels that are constructive to the business.

Currently, the Company has the following crude oil hedges in place:

	Q3 2019	Q4 2019
WTI $CAD	80.31	79.44
Total barrels/day	2,650	4,613

Forward-Looking Statements

Certain statements contained in this document constitute forward-looking statements or information (collectively “forward-looking statements”). Forward-looking statements are typically identified by words such as “anticipate”, “continue”, “estimate”, “expect”, “forecast”, “budget”, “may”, “will”, “project”, “could”, “plan”, “intend”, “should”, “believe”, “outlook”, “objective”, “aim”, “potential”, “target” and similar words suggesting future events or future performance. In particular, this document contains forward-looking statements pertaining to, without limitation, the following: the 13 well Willesden Green Cardium development program planned for the second half of the year is progressing well; all four wells are expected to be on stream by mid-October; the Company has seven additional wells planned in the fourth quarter of 2019; all locations are expected to be onstream before the end of the year; the Company is on target to deliver its $120 million capital program with $75 million of spending planned for the second half of the year; and what our hedging policy is designed to provide and that we will be cautious to only hedge at levels that are constructive to the business.

With respect to forward-looking statements contained in this document, we have made assumptions regarding, among other things that we do not dispose of any material producing properties; the impact of the Alberta Government mandated curtailment; our ability to execute our long-term plan as described herein and in our other disclosure documents and the impact that the successful execution of such plan will have on our Company and our shareholders; that the current commodity price and foreign exchange environment will continue or improve; future capital expenditure levels; future crude oil, natural gas liquids and natural gas prices and differentials between light, medium and heavy oil prices and Canadian, WTI and world oil and natural gas prices; future crude oil, natural gas liquids and natural gas production levels; future exchange rates and interest rates; future debt levels; our ability to execute our capital programs as planned without significant adverse impacts from various factors beyond our control, including weather, infrastructure access and delays in obtaining regulatory approvals and third party consents; our ability to obtain equipment in a timely manner to carry out development activities and

the costs thereof; our ability to market our oil and natural gas successfully to current and new customers; our ability to obtain financing on acceptable terms, including our ability to renew or replace our syndicated bank facility and our ability to finance the repayment of our senior notes on maturity; and our ability to add production and reserves through our development and exploitation activities.

Although we believe that the expectations reflected in the forward-looking statements contained in this document, and the assumptions on which such forward-looking statements are made, are reasonable, there can be no assurance that such expectations will prove to be correct. Readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on forward-looking statements included in this document, as there can be no assurance that the plans, intentions or expectations upon which the forward-looking statements are based will occur. By their nature, forward-looking statements involve numerous assumptions, known and unknown risks and uncertainties that contribute to the possibility that the forward-looking statements contained herein will not be correct, which may cause our actual performance and financial results in future periods to differ materially from any estimates or projections of future performance or results expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. These risks and uncertainties include, among other things: the possibility that we will not be able to continue to successfully execute our long-term plan in part or in full, and the possibility that some or all of the benefits that we anticipate will accrue to our Company and our securityholders as a result of the successful execution of such plans do not materialize; general economic and political conditions in Canada, the U.S. and globally, and in particular, the effect that those conditions have on commodity prices and our access to capital; industry conditions, including fluctuations in the price of crude oil, natural gas liquids and natural gas, price differentials for crude oil and natural gas produced in Canada as compared to other markets, and transportation restrictions, including pipeline and railway capacity constraints; fluctuations in foreign exchange or interest rates; unanticipated operating events or environmental events that can reduce production or cause production to be shut-in or delayed (including extreme cold during winter months, wild fires and flooding); and the other factors described under “Risk Factors” in our Annual Information Form and described in our public filings, available in Canada at www.sedar.com and in the United States at www.sec.gov. Readers are cautioned that this list of risk factors should not be construed as exhaustive.

The forward-looking statements contained in this document speak only as of the date of this document. Except as expressly required by applicable securities laws, we do not undertake any obligation to publicly update any forward-looking statements. The forward-looking statements contained in this document are expressly qualified by this cautionary statement.

OBSIDIAN ENERGY: Suite 200, 207 – 9th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1K3, Phone: 403-777-2500, Fax: 403-777-2699, Toll Free: 1-866-693-2707, Website: www.obsidianenergy.com; Investor Relations: Toll Free: 1-888-770-2633, E-mail: investor_relations@obsidianenergy.com