Exhibit 99.1

News release via Canada NewsWire, Calgary 403-269-7605

     Attention Business/Financial Editors:
     Jaguar Mining Reports Q1 2008 Earnings

     Record Production and Sales; Company Expects to Double Reserves in Q2

     JAG - TSX/NYSE Arca

     CONCORD, NH, May 7 /CNW/ - Jaguar Mining Inc. ("Jaguar" or the "Company")
(JAG: TSX/NYSE Arca, JAG.NT: TSX) reports its financial and operational
results for the period ended March 31, 2008. All figures are in US dollars
unless otherwise indicated.

     <<
     Q1 2008 Highlights

     -   Q1 2008 earnings per fully diluted share totaled $0.01 compared to a
         loss of $0.01 in Q1 2007.

     -   Record revenue for Q1 2008 totaled $18.8 million, an increase of 187%
         from the same period last year.

     -   Gold sales for Q1 2008 totaled 20,344 oz at an average price of
         $924/oz compared to Q1 2007 figures of 9,885 oz at $662/oz.

     -   As of March 31, 2008, cash and cash equivalents totaled $99.8 million
         including $3.1 million of restricted cash, mostly related to foreign
         exchange hedges.

     -   In Q1 2008, the Company produced 21,414 oz of gold at an average cash
         cost of $428/oz compared to 12,129 oz at an average cash cost of
         $273/oz during the same period last year. In addition to the reasons
         explained below under the Turmalina and Sabara highlights, costs for
         Q1 2008 were impacted by the weaker US dollar against the Brazilian
         real. The average exchange rate in Q1 2008 was R$1.74/US$1.00
         compared to R$2.11/US$1.00 in Q1 2007.

     -   In Q1 2008, Turmalina produced 17,155 oz of gold at an average cash
         cost of $387/oz compared to 7,423 oz at an average cash cost of
         $206/oz in Q1 2007. During March of this year, operations at
         Turmalina were slightly impacted by required maintenance to the
         crushing circuit and one of the two milling circuits. A total of four
         days of production were effectively lost in order to complete the
         necessary repairs. Other factors contributed to the increase in costs
         from 2007, including the switch from processing principally oxide ore
         during the start-up phase to sulfide ore, the inclusion of a paste-
         fill circuit, lower than optimal recovery rates, and selective grade
         management during the optimization process.

     -   In Q1 2008, Sabara produced 4,259 oz of gold at an average cash cost
         of $594/oz compared to 4,706 oz at an average cash cost of $378/oz in
         the same period in 2007. Cash operating costs in the most recent
         quarter were primarily impacted by lower grades, as expected. The
         feed grade of ore processed in Q1 2008 averaged 1.61 g/t compared to
         2.9 g/t in Q1 2007. Production from the new higher grade Serra
         Paraiso mineralized zone located near the Sabara Plant is scheduled
         to begin in Q3 2008.

     -   Commissioning of the Paciencia Operation is underway with all
         circuits fully charged and ore processing underway. The Company
         expects the first pour of gold from this new operation to take place
         during the next several weeks.

     -   The Turmalina Expansion feasibility study has essentially been
         completed and is undergoing final review. Based on this work and an
         approximate 70 percent conversion rate to previously reported
         resources, Jaguar expects to report 127,000 oz of reserves associated
         with the Satinoco ore body.

     -   The Caet Project feasibility study is in the final stage of
         preparation. Based on the work completed to date and assuming a
         75 percent conversion rate, Jaguar expects to report reserves of
         approximately 825,000 oz at the Pilar and Roa Grande ore bodies.

     -   During Q1 2008, the Company eliminated its forward gold contracts and
         the remaining debt associated with the term note to complete the
         Turmalina build-out. The Company has no forward production hedged.
     >>

     Commenting on the Q1 results, Daniel R. Titcomb, Jaguar's President and
CEO stated, "Our team's first quarter accomplishments, where we eliminated our
term debt and forward sales contracts, completed the construction of
Paciencia, raised the growth capital to help fund our new plan to reach
700,000 oz by 2014 and completed the vast portion of the feasibility studies
which we expect will nearly double Jaguar's reserve base, highlight some of
the steps we are taking to add shareholder value."
     Mr. Titcomb added, "With the commissioning of Paciencia now underway and
that element of risk eliminated, we continue to demonstrate our ability to
deliver projects on time and on budget. Another key milestone that we expect
this month is the completion of the feasibility studies for the expansion of
Turmalina and the Caet Project. This will allow us to report reserve
additions that we expect will nearly double Jaguar's existing base to two
million ounces. During the remainder of 2008, we will continue to advance
underground development and exploration with the goal of identifying new
resources and accelerating our growth as we begin construction on the
Turmalina expansion and the Caet Project."

     <<
     2008 First Quarter Results

     A summary of key operating results follows:
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                        Q1 2008       Q1 2007
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Sales ($000)                                   $    18,797   $     6,542
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Ounces sold                                         20,344         9,885
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Average realized price $ / ounce               $       924   $       662
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Gross profit ($000)                            $     7,336   $     3,362
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Net income (loss) ($000)                       $       839   $      (496)
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
       - per share basic and diluted                $      0.01   $     (0.01)
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Weighted avg. no. of shares outstanding
      - basic                                        59,430,887    48,384,918
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Weighted avg. no. of shares outstanding
      - diluted                                      63,768,136    48,384,918
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     >>

     Approximately 41% of the Company's cash and cash equivalents of
$99.8 million including $3.1 million of restricted cash held at March 31, 2008
were in accounts in Brazil. Variations in the relative currencies (Canadian
dollar versus US dollar versus Brazilian real) will likely give rise to
realized and unrealized credits or charges in future periods, which could
materially impact the Company's reported income.
     Additional details are available in the Company's filings on SEDAR and
EDGAR, including Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition
and Results of Operations and Interim Consolidated Financial Statements for
the period ended March 31, 2008.

     Equity Financing

     During Q1 2008, the Company completed an equity financing underwritten by
a syndicate of underwriters and issued 8,250,000 common shares at Cdn.$13.40
per share for gross proceeds of Cdn.$110,550,000 ($109.6 million). Of the
funds raised, $24.8 million was used to close forward sales contracts and
eliminate project financing term debt. Additional use of the proceeds of the
offering will be employed to fund capital expenditures for exploration and
expansions at its three largest projects in Brazil as part of its plan to
reach approximately 700,000 oz of production by 2014 and for general corporate
purposes.

     Project Financing Term Debt Repayment; Close Forward Sales and Forward
     Purchase Contracts

     Term Debt Repayment

     During Q1 2008, the Company paid RMB International (Dublin) Limited
("RMB") $9.8 million plus $181,000 accrued interest to fully repay a loan
facility agreement that the Company had entered into in late 2005. The loan
was used primarily to finance the development, construction and start-up of
Turmalina. The original principal amount was $14 million and $4.2 million had
been repaid as of December 31, 2007.

     Closed Forward Sales and Purchase Contracts

     During Q1 2008 the Company paid RMB $22.1 million to close forward sales
contracts that it had entered into as required by the RMB term loan. At
December 31, 2007, forward sales contracts for 48,556 ounces were outstanding,
which were to be settled at $527.10 at the end of each quarter over the term
of the contracts. During Q1 2008, the Company closed the forward purchase
contracts, realizing a gain of $7.4 million, effectively reducing the net loss
on the forward contracts to $14.8 million, of which $14.5 million was accrued
at December 31, 2007. At December 31, 2007, forward purchase contracts for
48,556 ounces were outstanding at an average cost of $823.81 per ounce. With
these transactions the Company has no forward gold production hedged. No
additional charges will be realized during 2008 for the forward sales or
purchase contracts.

     NON-GAAP PERFORMANCE MEASURES

     The Company has included the non-GAAP performance measures discussed
below in this press release. These non-GAAP performance measures do not have
any standardized meaning prescribed by Canadian GAAP ("GAAP") and, therefore,
may not be comparable to similar measures presented by other companies. The
Company believes that, in addition to conventional measures prepared in
accordance with GAAP, these non-GAAP measures provide certain investors with
additional information that will better enable them to evaluate the Company's
performance. Accordingly, these Non-GAAP measures are intended to provide
additional information and should not be considered in isolation or as a
substitute for measures of performance prepared with GAAP.
     The Company has included Cash Operating Cost per ounce processed because
it believes these figures are a useful indicator of a mine's performance as
they provide: (i) a measure of the mine's cash margin per ounce, by comparison
of the cash operating costs per ounce to the price of gold; (ii) the trend in
costs as the mine matures; and, (iii) an internal benchmark of performance to
allow for comparison against other mines. The definitions for these
performance measures and reconciliation of the non-GAAP measures to reported
GAAP measures are set out in the following table:

     <<
     Cash Operating Cost per oz Processed
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                        Q1 2008       Q1 2007
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Production cost per statement of operations    $ 9,396,000     2,882,000
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Change in inventory(1)                         $  (227,000)      429,000
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Production cost of gold produced(2)            $ 9,169,000     3,311,000
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
       divided by
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Gold produced (ounces)                              21,414        12,129
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
       Equals
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Cost per ounce processed                       $       428           273
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     (1) Under the Company's revenue recognition policy, revenue is recognized
         when legal title passes. Since total cash operating costs are
         calculated on a production basis, this change reflects the portion of
         gold production for which revenue has not been recognized in the
         period.

     (2) The basis for calculating cost per ounce produced includes the change
         to gold in process inventory, whereas the cost per tonne processed
         does not.
     >>

     Conference Call Details

     Jaguar will hold a conference call on May 8 at 9:00 a.m. EDT, to discuss
the Q1 2008 results.
     North American participants may access the call toll-free by dialing
800-218-4973. International participants should call 213-416-2196. Persons
wishing to participate in this conference call are asked to dial-in at least
five minutes prior to the start time to ensure prompt access to the call.
     Jaguar will provide a web cast of this call over the Internet, which can
be accessed from the Calendar of Events tab located on the Company's homepage
at www.jaguarmining.com. An archive of the web cast and the audio replay will
be available approximately one hour after the call ends. The audio replay can
be accessed by calling 800-675-9924 from North America or 213-416-2185 outside
of North America. The replay ID number is 50808.

     About Jaguar Mining

     Jaguar is one of the fastest growing gold producers in Brazil with
operations in a prolific greenstone belt in the state of Minas Gerais. Jaguar
is actively exploring and developing additional mineral resources at its
72,000 acre land base in Minas Gerais and on an additional 159,000 acres in
the state of Ceara in the Northeast of Brazil through a joint venture.
Additional information is available on the Company's website at
www.jaguarmining.com.

     Forward Looking Statements

     Certain statements in this press release constitute "Forward-Looking
Statements" within the meaning of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation
Reform Act of 1995 and Canadian securities legislation. This press release
contains Forward-Looking Statements, including commencement of production at
Pacincia, completion dates of feasibility studies, gold production and sales
targets, gold reserve targets, conversion rates from resources to reserves and
the use of proceeds from the February 2008 equity financing. These
Forward-Looking Statements can be identified by the use of words, such as "are
expected or "expects". Forward-Looking Statements involve known and unknown
risks, uncertainties and other factors, which may cause the gold production
targets, the reserve targets, the completion dates of feasibility studies, or
use of proceeds to be materially different from any future results or
performance expressed or implied by the Forward-Looking Statements. These
factors include the inherent risks involved in the exploration and development
of mineral properties, the uncertainties involved in interpreting drilling
results and other geological data, fluctuating gold prices and monetary
exchange rates, the possibility of project cost delays and overruns or
unanticipated costs and expenses, uncertainties relating to the availability
and costs of financing needed in the future, uncertainties related to
production rates, timing of production and the cash and total costs of
production, changes in applicable laws including laws related to mining
development, environmental protection, and the protection of the health and
safety of mine workers, the availability of labour and equipment, the
possibility of labour strikes and work stoppages and changes in general
economic conditions. Although the Company has attempted to identify important
factors that could cause actual actions, events or results to differ
materially from those described in forward-looking information, there may be
other factors that cause actions, events or results to differ from those
anticipated, estimated or intended. These Forward-Looking Statements represent
our views as of the date of discussion. The Company anticipates that
subsequent events and developments may cause the Company's views to change.
The Company does not undertake to update any Forward-Looking Statements,
either written or oral, that may be made from time to time by or on behalf of
the Company subsequent to the date of this discussion. For a discussion of
important factors affecting the Company, including fluctuations in the price
of gold and exchange rates, uncertainty in the calculation of mineral
resources, competition, uncertainty concerning geological conditions and
governmental regulations and assumptions underlying the Company's
Forward-Looking Statements, see the "CAUTIONARY NOTE" regarding
Forward-Looking Statements and "RISK FACTORS" in the Company's Annual
Information Form for the year ended December 31, 2007 filed on SEDAR and
available at www.sedar.com, and the Company's Annual Report on Form 40-F for
the year ended December 31, 2007 filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange
Commission and available through EDGAR at www.sec.gov.
     This press release presents estimates of "total cash cost per ounce" that
is not a recognized measure under Canadian generally accepted accounting
principles ("GAAP"). This data may not be comparable to data presented by
other gold producers. A reconciliation of the Company's total cash cost per
ounce to the most comparable financial measures calculated and presented in
accordance with GAAP for the Company's historical results of operations is set
forth in the notes to the financial statements for the three months ended
March 31, 2008 filed with the United States Securities and Exchange
Commission, available at www.sec.gov and with the Canadian Securities
Administrators, available at www.sedar.com.

     %CIK: 0001333849

     /For further information: Investors and analysts: Bob Zwerneman, Director
of Investor Relations, (603) 224-4800, bobz(at)jaguarmining.com; Media inquiries:
Valria Rezende DioDato, Director of Communication, (603) 224-4800,
valeria(at)jaguarmining.com/
     (JAG.NT. JAG JAG.)

CO:  Jaguar Mining Inc.

CNW 19:02e 07-MAY-08