Exhibit 99.2 Supplemental Information 4th Quarter 2017

2 Financial Overview 3 Segment Overview 7 Senior Housing 8 Ancillary Services 13 G&A Expense & Transaction Costs 14 Capital Expenditures 15 Cash Lease Payments 16 Unconsolidated Ventures 17 Debt & Liquidity 18 Net Asset Value Elements 20 Definitions 21 Appendix: Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows 24 Non-GAAP Financial Measures 25 Table of Contents

3 (1) Brookdale’s weighted average unit ownership percentage is 23.5%. Important Note Regarding Non-GAAP Financial Measures. Adjusted EBITDA, Adjusted Free Cash Flow, Brookdale's Proportionate Share of Adjusted EBITDA of Unconsolidated Ventures and Brookdale’s Proportionate Share of Adjusted Free Cash Flow of Unconsolidated Ventures are financial measures that are not calculated in accordance with U.S. generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP). See the definitions of such measures under “Definitions” below and important information regarding such measures, including reconciliations to the most comparable GAAP financial measures, under “Non-GAAP Financial Measures” below. ($ in 000s, except Total RevPAR) 2016 2017 YoY Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q4 Resident fee and management fee revenue $ 1,030,338 $ 1,032,821 $ 956,512 $ 941,030 $ 925,622 (10.2)% Net income (loss) $ (268,600) $ (126,361) $ (46,337) $ (413,929) $ 15,021 NM Net cash provided by operating activities $ 88,451 $ 66,766 $ 133,108 $ 83,235 $ 83,555 (5.5)% Adjusted EBITDA $ 184,198 $ 198,296 $ 160,325 $ 141,829 $ 138,116 (25.0)% Adjusted Free Cash Flow $ 33,156 $ 63,445 $ 39,959 $ 5,804 $ (11,655) NM Brookdale's Proportionate Share of Adjusted EBITDA of Unconsolidated Ventures $ 17,989 $ 17,126 $ 18,219 $ 16,788 $ 17,723 (1.5)% Brookdale's Proportionate Share of Adjusted Free Cash Flow of Unconsolidated Ventures $ 6,763 $ 8,750 $ 7,920 $ 6,709 $ 12,037 78.0 % Total RevPAR $ 4,310 $ 4,405 $ 4,392 $ 4,386 $ 4,463 3.5 % Q4 2017 weighted average unit occupancy Community % of Period End Occupancy Band Count Communities Greater than 95% 237 23% 90% < 95% 181 18% 85% < 90% 191 19% 80% < 85% 127 12% Less than 80% 287 28% Total 1,023 Consolidated Portfolio Average Asset Age ~ 21.4 years Managed - 3rd Party: 8,222 Managed- Venture : 25,719 Owned: 32,539 Leased: 34,102 100,582 units Managed - 3rd Party: 61 Managed- Venture: 168 Owned: 360 Leased: 434 1,023 communities Overview (1) As of December 31, 2017

4 Segment Overview (1) Senior Housing Segments Re venue (2) Segme nt O pe ra ting In come (3) (1) Brookdale’s five segments are Retirement Centers, Assisted Living, CCRCs-Rental (which combined are referred to as Senior Housing), Brookdale Ancillary Services and Management Services. (2) Percentage of revenue is based on Q4 2017 resident fee and management fee revenue. (3) Percentage of segment operating income is based on Q4 2017 results. Brookdale Ancillary Services 12% Management Services 2% Senior Housing 86% Brookdale Ancillary Services 4% Management Services 7% Senior Housing 89% CCRCs - Rental 13% Retirement Centers 20% Assisted Living 67% CCRCs - Rental 9% Retirement Centers 25% Assisted Living 66% Consolidated Portfolio Overview

5 (1) Includes hurricane and natural disaster expense of $5.3 million and $1.9 million in Q3 2017 and Q4 2017, respectively. (2) Primarily consists of proceeds from property insurance, cash paid for debt modification and extinguishment costs and cash paid for state income taxes. (All amounts in 000s) 2016 2017 YoY Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q4 Resident fee and management fee revenue 1,030,338 1,032,821 956,512 941,030 925,622 Less: Facility operating expense (1) (686,176) (674,542) (642,405) (650,654) (634,554) Combined Segment Operating Income 344,162 358,279 314,107 290,376 291,068 (15.4)% Less: G&A expenses (including non-cash stock-based compensation expense) (66,668) (65,560) (67,090) (63,779) (59,017) Add: Non-cash stock-based compensation expense 5,067 7,774 7,246 7,527 5,285 Less: Transaction costs (2,040) (7,593) (3,339) (1,992) (9,649) Less: Cash operating lease payments (see page 16) (96,323) (94,604) (90,599) (90,303) (89,571) Adjusted EBITDA 184,198 198,296 160,325 141,829 138,116 (25.0)% Less: Interest expense, net (85,594) (83,645) (69,076) (71,157) (67,054) Less: Lease financing debt amortization (16,409) (17,248) (14,382) (14,626) (18,650) Add: Proceeds from entrance fees, net of refunds and amortization 1,575 (173) 541 (547) 811 Add/Less: Other (2) (1,251) 937 1,383 (8,690) 7,030 Less: Non-Development Capital Expenditures, net (see page 15) (49,363) (34,722) (38,832) (41,005) (71,908) Adjusted Free Cash Flow $ 33,156 $ 63,445 $ 39,959 $ 5,804 $ (11,655) NM Brookdale's Proportionate Share of Unconsolidated Ventures Adjusted EBITDA $ 17,989 $ 17,126 $ 18,219 $ 16,788 $ 17,723 (1.5)% Adjusted Free Cash Flow $ 6,763 $ 8,750 $ 7,920 $ 6,709 $ 12,037 78.0 % Weighted average shares used in computing basic net income (loss) per share 185,684 185,689 186,212 186,298 186,412 Adjusted EBITDA and Adjusted Free Cash Flow

6 (1) Other is primarily comprised of corporate capital expenditures, unallocated G&A expense (primarily strategic project costs), non-cash stock-based compensation, transaction costs, and debt modification costs. ($ in 000s) Q4 2017 Total Senior Housing Owned Portfolio Senior Housing Leased Portfolio Ancillary Services Management Services Other (1) Resident fee and management fee revenue $ 925,622 $ 377,586 $ 415,169 $ 113,496 $ 19,371 $ — Less: Facility operating expense (634,554) (260,799) (273,052) (100,703) — — Combined Segment Operating Income 291,068 116,787 142,117 12,793 19,371 — Less: G&A expenses (including non-cash stock-based compensation expense) (59,017) (15,176) (16,686) (7,630) (12,979) (6,546) Add: Non-cash stock-based compensation expense 5,285 — — — — 5,285 Less: Transaction costs (9,649) — — — — (9,649) Less: Cash operating lease payments (89,571) — (87,531) — — (2,040) Adjusted EBITDA 138,116 101,611 37,900 5,163 6,392 (12,950) Less: Interest expense, net (67,054) (46,031) (22,794) (132) — 1,903 Less: Lease financing debt amortization (18,650) — (17,322) — — (1,328) Add: Proceeds from entrance fees, net of refunds and amortization 811 — 811 — — — Add/Less: Other 7,030 — — — — 7,030 Less: Non-Development Capital Expenditures, net (71,908) (29,356) (29,119) (3) — (13,430) Adjusted Free Cash Flow $ (11,655) $ 26,224 $ (30,524) $ 5,028 $ 6,392 $ (18,775) Adjusted EBITDA and Adjusted Free Cash Flow Distribution

7(1) Excludes reimbursed costs on behalf of managed communities of $178,530, $183,945, $229,960, $236,958, and $240,268 (in thousands), respectively. ($ in 000s, except RevPAR and RevPOR) 2016 2017 YoY Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q4 Total Senior Housing, Brookdale Ancillary and Management Services(1) Revenue $ 1,030,338 $ 1,032,821 $ 956,512 $ 941,030 $ 925,622 (10.2)% Combined Segment Operating Income $ 344,162 $ 358,279 $ 314,107 $ 290,376 $ 291,068 (15.4)% Combined Segment Operating Margin 33.4% 34.7% 32.8% 30.9% 31.4% -200 bps Senior Housing (see page 8) Revenue $ 896,032 $ 904,955 $ 823,880 $ 812,288 $ 792,755 (11.5)% Senior Housing Operating Income $ 307,609 $ 326,756 $ 278,562 $ 262,415 $ 258,904 (15.8)% Senior Housing Operating Margin 34.3% 36.1% 33.8% 32.3% 32.7% -160 bps Number of communities (period end) 902 838 829 820 794 Period end number of units 77,135 71,186 70,263 69,675 66,641 Total Average Units 78,029 76,862 70,833 70,112 67,652 RevPAR $ 3,823 $ 3,919 $ 3,873 $ 3,860 $ 3,904 2.1 % Weighted average unit occupancy 86.0% 85.3% 84.6% 84.8% 85.2% -80 bps RevPOR $ 4,446 $ 4,597 $ 4,580 $ 4,552 $ 4,584 3.1 % Brookdale Ancillary Services Segment Revenue $ 114,042 $ 111,972 $ 110,190 $ 110,604 $ 113,496 (0.5)% Segment Operating Income $ 16,289 $ 15,629 $ 13,103 $ 9,823 $ 12,793 -21.5 % Segment Operating Margin 14.3% 14.0% 11.9% 8.9% 11.3% -300 bps Management Services Segment Segment Operating Income (comprised solely of management fees) $ 20,264 $ 15,894 $ 22,442 $ 18,138 $ 19,371 (4.4)% G&A Allocation (see page 14) (9,505) (11,238) (14,184) (13,134) (12,979) 36.5 % Segment Operating Income (Adjusted to Include G&A Allocation) $ 10,759 $ 4,656 $ 8,258 $ 5,004 $ 6,392 (40.6)% Segment Operating Margin (Adjusted to Include G&A Allocation) 53.1% 29.3% 36.8% 27.6% 33.0% -2010 bps Resident fee revenue under management $ 297,713 $ 310,050 $ 371,381 $ 371,165 $ 386,253 Number of communities (period end) 153 214 210 211 229 Period end number of units 25,633 31,284 31,454 31,527 33,941 Total Average Units 25,623 25,702 31,361 31,417 33,176 RevPAR $ 3,873 $ 3,939 $ 3,876 $ 3,864 $ 3,804 (1.8)% Weighted average occupancy 86.8% 86.3% 84.8% 84.5% 84.7% -210 bps RevPOR $ 4,367 $ 4,549 $ 4,570 $ 4,566 $ 4,483 2.7 % Segment Overview

8 Retirement Centers Revenue $ 169,381 $ 172,620 $ 162,248 $ 161,986 $ 157,342 (7.1)% Segment Operating Income $ 72,215 $ 74,002 $ 67,297 $ 65,907 $ 64,211 (11.1)% Segment Operating Margin 42.6% 42.9% 41.5% 40.7% 40.8% -180 bps Number of communities (period end) 93 86 86 85 84 Period end number of units 17,017 16,071 16,071 15,961 15,042 Total Average Units 17,115 17,108 16,071 16,061 15,256 RevPAR $ 3,299 $ 3,363 $ 3,365 $ 3,362 $ 3,438 4.2 % Weighted average unit occupancy 88.9% 88.0% 87.3% 87.6% 88.1% -80 bps RevPOR $ 3,711 $ 3,823 $ 3,857 $ 3,836 $ 3,905 5.2 % Assisted Living Revenue $ 581,827 $ 590,537 $ 547,430 $ 542,227 $ 530,494 (8.8)% Segment Operating Income $ 204,044 $ 217,439 $ 186,921 $ 173,576 $ 171,122 (16.1)% Segment Operating Margin 35.1% 36.8% 34.1% 32.0% 32.3% -280 bps Number of communities (period end) 768 720 713 705 682 Period end number of units 50,682 47,296 46,999 46,520 44,773 Total Average Units 51,087 50,540 47,246 46,858 45,448 RevPAR $ 3,796 $ 3,895 $ 3,862 $ 3,857 $ 3,891 2.5 % Weighted average unit occupancy 85.6% 84.7% 83.9% 84.2% 84.5% -110 bps RevPOR $ 4,437 $ 4,600 $ 4,602 $ 4,582 $ 4,604 3.8 % CCRCs - Rental Revenue $ 144,824 $ 141,798 $ 114,202 $ 108,075 $ 104,919 (27.6)% Segment Operating Income $ 31,350 $ 35,315 $ 24,344 $ 22,932 $ 23,571 (24.8)% Segment Operating Margin 21.6% 24.9% 21.3% 21.2% 22.5% 90 bps Number of communities (period end) 41 32 30 30 28 Period end number of units 9,436 7,819 7,193 7,194 6,826 Total Average Units 9,827 9,214 7,516 7,193 6,948 RevPAR $ 4,876 $ 5,086 $ 5,028 $ 4,989 $ 5,012 2.8 % Weighted average unit occupancy 83.2% 83.5% 83.0% 82.6% 83.2% 0 bps RevPOR $ 5,861 $ 6,091 $ 6,063 $ 6,046 $ 6,027 2.8% ($ in 000s, except RevPAR and RevPOR) 2016 2017 YoY Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q4 Senior Housing Segments

9 Revenue $ 750,187 $ 770,151 $ 759,151 $ 754,903 $ 754,272 0.5 % Community Labor Expense (309,553) (312,633) (319,566) (324,268) (328,079) Other facility operating expense (170,093) (166,905) (172,963) (175,620) (173,520) Facility operating expense (1) (479,646) (479,538) (492,529) (499,888) (501,599) Same Community Operating Income $ 270,541 $ 290,613 $ 266,622 $ 255,015 $ 252,673 (6.6)% Same Community Operating Margin 36.1% 37.7% 35.1% 33.8% 33.5% -260 bps Number of communities (period end) 775 775 775 775 775 Total Average Units 63,779 63,770 63,761 63,755 63,736 RevPAR $ 3,919 $ 4,023 $ 3,966 $ 3,945 $ 3,942 0.6 % Weighted average unit occupancy 86.7% 86.1% 85.3% 85.5% 85.6% -110 bps RevPOR $ 4,519 $ 4,675 $ 4,652 $ 4,616 $ 4,604 1.9% ($ in 000s, except RevPAR and RevPOR) 2016 2017 YoY Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q4 Same Community Operating Income/Weighted average unit occupancy Q4 2016 Q1 2017 Q2 2017 Q3 2017 Q4 2017 86.7% 86.1% 85.3% 85.5% 85.6% $270,541 $290,613 $266,622 $255,015 $252,673 Same Community RevPAR Q4 2016 Q1 2017 Q2 2017 Q3 2017 Q4 2017 $3,919 $4,023 $3,966 $3,945 $3,942 Senior Housing: Same Community (1) Excludes hurricane and natural disaster expense.

10 Resident fee revenue $ 383,588 $ 388,310 $ 381,418 $ 376,896 $ 377,586 Less: Facility operating expense (259,430) (252,673) (257,991) (261,069) (260,799) Owned Portfolio Operating Income 124,158 135,637 123,427 115,827 116,787 (5.9)% Less: G&A Portfolio Allocation (see page 14) (16,163) (16,808) (17,580) (16,326) (15,176) Owned Portfolio Operating Income (Adjusted to Include G&A Allocation) $ 107,995 $ 118,829 $ 105,847 $ 99,501 $ 101,611 (5.9)% Additional Information Interest expense: property level and corporate debt $ (42,302) $ (40,285) $ (41,352) $ (44,214) $ (46,031) Community level capital expenditures, net (see page 15) $ (18,668) $ (13,909) $ (16,733) $ (17,695) $ (29,356) Number of communities (period end) 363 362 360 360 360 Period end number of units 33,054 33,016 32,765 32,721 32,539 Total Average Units 33,489 33,041 32,921 32,734 32,579 RevPAR $ 3,818 $ 3,916 $ 3,862 $ 3,838 $ 3,863 1.2 % Weighted average unit occupancy 85.2% 84.4% 83.9% 84.0% 84.9% -30 bps RevPOR $ 4,481 $ 4,641 $ 4,603 $ 4,569 $ 4,550 1.5 % Interest Coverage (as of December 31, 2017) 2.4x Net Debt (as of December 31, 2017; see page 19) $ 3,354,474 ($ in 000s, except RevPAR and RevPOR) 2016 2017 YoY Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q4 Senior Housing: Owned Portfolio

11 Resident fee revenue $ 512,444 $ 516,645 $ 442,462 $ 435,392 $ 415,169 Less: Facility operating expense (328,993) (325,526) (287,327) (288,804) (273,052) Leased Portfolio Operating Income 183,451 191,119 155,135 146,588 142,117 (22.5)% Less: G&A Portfolio Allocation (see page 14) (21,592) (22,362) (20,394) (18,860) (16,686) Leased Portfolio Operating Income (adjusted to Include G&A Allocation) $ 161,859 $ 168,757 $ 134,741 $ 127,728 $ 125,431 (22.5)% Additional Information Total cash lease payments on leased portfolio (see page 16) $ (152,849) $ (152,041) $ (129,853) $ (129,523) $ (127,647) Proceeds from entrance fees, net of refunds and amortization $ 1,575 $ (173) $ 541 $ (547) $ 811 Community level capital expenditures, net (see page 15) $ (16,585) $ (14,801) $ (14,205) $ (15,397) $ (29,119) Number of communities (period end) 539 476 469 460 434 Period end number of units 44,081 38,170 37,498 36,954 34,102 Total Average Units 44,540 43,821 37,912 37,378 35,073 RevPAR $ 3,827 $ 3,922 $ 3,883 $ 3,879 $ 3,942 3.0 % Weighted average unit occupancy 86.6% 85.9% 85.2% 85.5% 85.5% -110 bps RevPOR $ 4,420 $ 4,564 $ 4,557 $ 4,537 $ 4,610 4.3 % Lease Coverage (as of December 31, 2017) 1.01x ($ in 000s, except RevPAR and RevPOR) 2016 2017 YoY Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q4 Lease Maturity Information as of December 31, 2017 Twelve months ended December 31, 2017 Leased communities with purchase options Leased communities without purchase options Total leased communities Initial lease maturities Community count Total average units Community count Total average units Community count Total average units Total cash lease payments 2018 42 2,169 43 4,158 85 6,327 $ 93,134 2019 3 327 48 2,724 51 3,051 48,254 2020 2 301 84 4,513 86 4,814 58,428 2021 — — 23 1,559 23 1,559 20,962 2022 1 114 11 961 12 1,075 12,597 Thereafter 47 2,541 130 14,735 177 17,276 267,015 Total 95 5,452 339 28,650 434 34,102 $ 500,390 Senior Housing: Leased Portfolio

12 (1) Data reflected is for the consolidated senior housing portfolio only. (2) NIC MAP Supply Set, Q4 2017 "New Construction" properties with projected open dates through Q4 2018. (3) Saturation is equal to units per population Age 75+ with income 50k+. (4) Percentage changes are based on data from ESRI for 2016-2021. Brookdale's Largest 20 Markets - Competitive Summary Brookdale in NIC Markets Competition Within 20 Minute Drive Market Community Count Total Average Units (IL/AL/MC) Q4 2017 Weighted Average Unit Occupancy Q4 2017 RevPAR New Const. Properties(2) IL/AL/MC New Const. Units(2) 1 Yr Projected Unit Opens % of Supply(2) Current Saturation(3) 5 Yr Projected Total Pop Growth(4) 5 Yr Projected Age 75 + Pop w/ Inc. $50k + Growth(4) Chicago, IL 16 2,602 90.0% $ 3,977 16 2,047 7.8% 20.5% 1.5% 24.1% Seattle, WA 25 2,447 87.7% 3,741 2 164 0.8% 27.5% 6.8% 37.3% Los Angeles, CA 20 2,146 84.0% 3,917 4 550 2.7% 8.5% 3.5% 24.0% Phoenix, AZ 22 1,767 88.7% 3,808 13 1,841 9.4% 24.3% 8.8% 43.5% Dallas, TX 25 1,709 85.4% 3,360 14 1,200 5.4% 22.6% 9.2% 39.7% Portland, OR 17 1,467 93.2% 3,786 3 463 2.8% 37.7% 6.5% 46.0% Charlotte, NC 18 1,403 90.2% 4,433 2 318 3.2% 33.6% 8.9% 41.5% Denver, CO 11 1,207 81.9% 4,315 11 1,341 11.1% 23.3% 8.5% 42.8% Austin, TX 10 1,043 87.8% 5,527 7 934 15.3% 20.9% 13.3% 47.0% Miami, FL 7 1,041 79.1% 2,820 7 1,097 7.9% 15.8% 6.0% 36.5% Houston, TX 12 991 86.3% 4,388 7 655 6.7% 14.9% 9.7% 41.2% San Antonio, TX 12 970 74.2% 3,125 — — —% 22.4% 8.4% 35.9% Detroit, MI 10 955 83.1% 3,206 10 956 6.9% 22.6% 1.5% 31.0% Jacksonville, FL 9 934 90.0% 3,609 4 419 8.1% 25.8% 6.9% 45.4% Riverside, CA 9 903 84.5% 3,338 4 599 7.1% 12.4% 5.0% 24.6% Atlanta, GA 9 858 90.5% 3,402 6 609 6.2% 29.2% 8.0% 46.7% Orlando, FL 11 848 85.7% 3,687 4 625 9.3% 20.0% 9.1% 46.3% Tampa, FL 8 845 78.2% 2,916 7 877 8.2% 20.4% 6.1% 40.9% Santa Rosa, CA 6 843 80.9% 3,931 — — —% 18.9% 3.6% 31.4% New York, NY 8 841 89.2% 6,560 5 466 4.6% 8.0% 3.6% 22.7% Top 20 Markets 265 25,820 86.1% $ 3,889 126 15,161 6.2% 21.5% 6.7% 37.4% All Other NIC Markets 310 24,942 84.8% $ 3,918 82 8,184 2.3% 20.9% 4.3% 32.1% New Supply (1)

13 Resident fee revenue Home Health $ 91,199 $ 92,241 $ 88,561 $ 87,315 $ 89,272 Hospice 12,531 13,346 15,441 17,328 18,248 Outpatient Therapy 9,320 6,375 6,179 5,941 5,937 Other ancillary services 992 10 9 20 39 Segment resident fee revenue 114,042 111,972 110,190 110,604 113,496 (0.5)% Segment Operating Income 16,289 15,629 13,103 9,823 12,793 (21.5)% Segment Operating Margin 14.3% 14.0% 11.9% 8.9% 11.3% -300 bps Less: G&A Allocation (see page 14) (6,331) (7,225) (7,128) (7,091) (7,630) Segment Operating Income (Adjusted to Include G&A Allocation) $ 9,958 $ 8,404 $ 5,975 $ 2,732 $ 5,163 (48.2)% Segment Operating Margin (Adjusted to Include G&A Allocation) 8.7% 7.5% 5.4% 2.5% 4.5% -420 bps Additional Information Interest expense $ (303) $ (288) $ (165) $ (168) $ (132) Community level capital expenditures, net (see page 15) $ (51) $ (22) $ (35) $ (277) $ (3) Home Health average daily census 14,587 15,370 14,821 14,844 15,335 5.1 % Hospice average daily census 863 920 1,033 1,169 1,257 45.7 % Outpatient Therapy treatment codes 307,933 193,853 190,618 178,851 179,132 (41.8)% ($ in 000s) 2016 2017 YoY Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q4 Ancillary Services

14 (1) G&A allocations are calculated using a methodology which the Company believes best matches the type of general and administrative cost with the community, segment, or portfolio. Some of the allocations are based on direct utilization and some are based on formulas such as unit proportion. G&A allocations presented herein exclude non-cash stock-based compensation expense and integration, transaction, transaction-related and strategic project costs. G&A Expense Allocations(1) Senior Housing Owned Portfolio allocation $ 16,163 $ 16,808 $ 17,580 $ 16,326 $ 15,176 Senior Housing Leased Portfolio allocation 21,592 22,362 20,394 18,860 16,686 Ancillary Services allocation 6,331 7,225 7,128 7,091 7,630 Management Services allocation 9,505 11,238 14,184 13,134 12,979 Total allocations(1) 53,591 57,633 59,286 55,411 52,471 Non-cash stock-based compensation expense 5,067 7,774 7,246 7,527 5,285 Integration, Transaction-Related and Strategic Project Costs 8,010 153 558 841 1,261 General and administrative expense 66,668 65,560 67,090 63,779 59,017 -11.5% Transaction Costs 2,040 7,593 3,339 1,992 9,649 General and administrative expense and transaction costs $ 68,708 $ 73,153 $ 70,429 $ 65,771 $ 68,666 -0.1% Allocated G&A Expense as a Percentage of Resident Fee Revenue Resident fee revenue $ 1,010,074 $ 1,016,927 $ 934,070 $ 922,892 $ 906,251 Senior Housing Owned Portfolio allocation 16,163 16,808 17,580 16,326 15,176 Senior Housing Leased Portfolio allocation 24,592 22,362 20,394 18,860 16,686 Ancillary Services allocation 6,331 7,225 7,128 7,091 7,630 Non-cash stock-based compensation expense 5,067 7,774 7,246 7,527 5,285 Total $ 49,153 $ 54,169 $ 52,348 $ 49,804 $ 44,777 As a % of resident fee revenue 4.9% 5.3% 5.6% 5.4% 4.9% ($ in 000s) 2016 2017 YoY Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q4 G&A Expense & Transaction Costs

15 Community level capital expenditures, including allocations Senior Housing Owned Portfolio $ 18,668 $ 13,909 $ 16,733 $ 17,695 $ 29,356 Senior Housing Leased Portfolio 16,585 14,801 14,205 15,397 29,119 Ancillary Services 51 22 35 277 3 Community level capital expenditures, net 35,304 28,732 30,973 33,369 58,478 65.6 % Corporate capital expenditures 14,059 5,990 7,859 7,636 13,430 (4.5)% Non-Development Capital Expenditures, net 49,363 34,722 38,832 41,005 71,908 45.7 % Development Capital Expenditures, net 7,186 1,064 2,807 3,336 1,616 (77.5)% Total capital expenditures, net $ 56,549 $ 35,786 $ 41,639 $ 44,341 $ 73,524 30.0 % Community level capital expenditures, net, per unit $ 452 $ 374 $ 437 $ 476 $ 864 91.2 % Reconciliation to Additions to PP&E Total capital expenditures, net $ 56,549 $ 35,786 $ 41,639 $ 44,341 $ 73,524 Add: Total lessor reimbursements 12,727 8,044 5,545 4,379 8,218 Add: Change in related payables 421 5,098 (6,542) 1,754 (7,899) Additions to property, plant and equipment and leasehold intangibles, net $ 69,697 $ 48,928 $ 40,642 $ 50,474 $ 73,843 ($ in 000s, except for Community level capital expenditures per unit) 2016 2017 YoY Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q4 Capital Expenditures

16(1) Includes cash lease payments of $3,566, $3,514, $3,491, $3,466 and $3,368 (in thousands), respectively, for leases of corporate offices and information technology systems and equipment. Operating Leases Facility lease expense $ 91,745 $ 88,807 $ 84,690 $ 84,437 $ 81,787 Less: Straight-line (income) expense, net 1,786 3,007 3,119 3,078 5,109 Less: Amortization of (above) below market lease, net 1,699 1,697 1,697 1,697 1,586 Add: Amortization of deferred gain 1,093 1,093 1,093 1,091 1,089 Cash operating lease payments(1) $ 96,323 $ 94,604 $ 90,599 $ 90,303 $ 89,571 (7.0)% Capital and Financing Leases Interest expense: capital and financing lease obligations $ 50,451 $ 49,859 $ 32,228 $ 31,999 $ 26,578 Less: Non-cash interest expense on financing lease obligations (6,768) (6,156) (3,865) (3,939) (3,784) Add: Lease financing debt amortization 16,409 17,248 14,382 14,626 18,650 Cash capital and financing lease payments $ 60,092 $ 60,951 $ 42,745 $ 42,686 $ 41,444 (31.0)% Total cash lease payments(1) $ 156,415 $ 155,555 $ 133,344 $ 132,989 $ 131,015 (16.2)% Interest Expense Reconciliation to Income Statement Interest expense: capital and financing lease obligations $ 50,451 $ 49,859 $ 32,228 $ 31,999 $ 26,578 Less: Non-cash interest expense on financing lease obligations (6,768) (6,156) (3,865) (3,939) (3,784) Interest expense: capital and financing lease obligations - cash payments 43,683 43,703 28,363 28,060 22,794 Less: Interest income (694) (631) (804) (1,285) (1,903) Interest expense: debt 42,605 40,573 41,517 44,382 46,163 Interest expense, net 85,594 83,645 69,076 71,157 67,054 Add: Amortization of deferred financing costs and debt premium (discount) 2,422 2,591 2,692 3,544 3,854 Add: Change in fair value of derivatives 150 46 39 74 15 Add: Non-cash interest expense on financing lease obligations 6,768 6,156 3,865 3,939 3,784 Add: Interest income 694 631 804 1,285 1,903 Interest expense per income statement $ 95,628 $ 93,069 $ 76,476 $ 79,999 $ 76,610 ($ in 000s) 2016 2017 YoY Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q4 Cash Lease Payments

17 ($ in 000s) Q4 2017 Year Ended December 31, 2017 Total CCRC Venture Other Ventures Total Resident fee revenue $ 343,383 $ 103,784 $ 239,599 $ 1,354,444 Less: Facility operating expenses (241,729) (79,473) (162,256) (946,477) Less: G&A expenses including management fees (17,340) (5,453) (11,887) (71,898) Less: Facility lease expense 14 — 14 (727) Adjusted EBITDA of Unconsolidated Ventures $ 84,328 $ 18,858 $ 65,470 $ 335,342 Less: Interest expense, net (32,766) (5,998) (26,768) (130,468) Add: Proceeds from entrance fees, net of refunds and amortization 15,883 15,883 — 35,535 Less: Other 289 534 (245) 1,221 Less: Community level capital expenditures, net (31,196) (9,820) (21,376) (100,621) Adjusted Free Cash Flow of Unconsolidated Ventures $ 36,538 $ 19,457 $ 17,081 $ 141,009 Statistics Brookdale's weighted average unit ownership percentage 23.5% 51.0% 12.7% 23.5% Non-recourse debt principal of unconsolidated ventures as of December 31, 2017 $ 2,783,650 $ 630,825 $ 2,152,825 $ 2,783,650 Number of communities (period end) 168 16 152 168 Total average units 28,619 7,253 21,367 28,323 Weighted average unit occupancy 84.6% 85.7% 84.3% 85.0% RevPOR $ 4,620 $ 5,157 $ 4,435 $ 4,586 Brookdale's Proportionate Share of: Adjusted EBITDA of Unconsolidated Ventures $ 17,723 $ 9,618 $ 8,105 $ 69,856 Adjusted Free Cash Flow of Unconsolidated Ventures $ 12,037 $ 9,923 $ 2,114 $ 35,416 Debt principal of unconsolidated ventures as of December 31, 2017 $ 594,250 $ 321,720 $ 272,530 $ 594,250 Unconsolidated Ventures

18 $2,536,474 $1,334,263 (1) Includes the carrying value of mortgage debt, convertible notes, line of credit and other notes payable, but excludes capital and financing lease obligations. (2) Pertaining to variable rate debt, reflects a) market rates as of December 31, 2017 and b) applicable cap rates for hedged debt. Line of credit available to draw Cash and cash equivalents and marketable securities Total liquidity (available to draw + cash) $1,000,000 $800,000 $600,000 $400,000 $200,000 $0 12/31/2016 03/31/2017 06/30/2017 09/30/2017 12/31/2017 $367,642 $367,473 $364,699 $361,505 $358,191 $216,397 $59,237 $181,307 $537,930 $514,443 $899,435 $546,006 $426,710 $584,039 As of December 31, 2017 Weighted Rate Fixed rate debt 4.89% Variable rate debt (2) 3.65% Total debt and line of credit 4.46% Balance(1) Total debt $ 3,870,737 Total Liquidity ($ in 000s) Debt & Liquidity $872,634 Debt Structure(1) ($ in 000s) Fixed rate debt Variable rate debt with interest rate caps Variable rate debt- unhedged Total variable rate debt $534,338 $799,925

19 Debt Maturity Schedule(1) ($ in 000s) Debt $1,400,000 $700,000 $0 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 Thereafter $495,413 $326,038 $485,977 $336,096 $341,095 $1,886,118 (1) Includes carrying value of $309.9 million of convertible notes. (2) Includes mortgage debt, convertible notes and other notes payable, but excludes capital and financing leases and line of credit and recurring principal amortization. (3) Leverage ratios include results of operations of communities disposed of through sale or lease termination through the disposition date. (4) Amounts exclude transaction and strategic project costs of $25.4 million. Important Note Regarding Non-GAAP Financial Measures. Adjusted EBITDAR, Adjusted EBITDA and Adjusted EBITDA after cash capital and financing lease payments (in each case excluding transaction and strategic project costs), Net debt, and Adjusted net debt are financial measures that are not calculated in accordance with GAAP. See the definitions of such measures under “Definitions” below and important information regarding such measures, including reconciliations to the most comparable GAAP financial measures, under “Non-GAAP Financial Measures” below. (2) Leverage Ratios(3) ($ in 000s) Year ended December 31, 2017 Annualized Leverage Adjusted EBITDAR(4) (A) $ 1,029,029 Less: Cash operating lease payments (see page 16) (365,077) Adjusted EBITDA(4) 663,952 Less: Cash capital and financing lease payments (see page 16) (187,826) Adjusted EBITDA(4) after cash capital and financing lease payments (B) 476,126 As of December 31, 2017 Debt (2) 3,870,737 Line of credit — Less: Cash and cash equivalents (222,647) Less: Marketable securities (291,796) Less: Cash and escrow deposits - restricted held as collateral against existing debt (1,820) Net Debt (C) 3,354,474 7.0x (C/B) Plus: Cash operating and capital and financing lease payments (see page 16) multiplied by 8 4,423,224 Adjusted Net Debt (D) $ 7,777,698 7.6x (D/A) Weighted Rate Debt(2) 2018 3.44% 2019 6.31% 2020 5.23% 2021 5.82% 2022 4.02% Thereafter 4.05% Total 4.46% Total Balance Debt(2) $ 3,870,737 Debt Maturity & Leverage (1)

20 (1) Includes results of operations of communities disposed through sale or lease termination through the disposal date. (2) See page 14. G&A allocations presented on this page exclude non-cash stock-based compensation expense of $27,832 and transaction and strategic project costs of $25,386 for the twelve months ended December 31, 2017. Senior Housing: Owned Portfolio(1) Owned Portfolio Operating Income $ 491,678 Less: G&A Portfolio Allocation(2) (65,890) Owned Portfolio Operating Income (Adjusted to Include G&A Allocation) $ 425,788 Net Debt as of December 31, 2017 (see page 19) $ 3,354,474 Total Average Units 32,819 Senior Housing: Leased Portfolio(1) Leased Portfolio Operating Income (Adjusted to Include G&A Allocation)(2) $ 556,657 Total cash lease payments on leased portfolio (see page 16) $ (539,064) Proceeds from entrance fees, net of refunds and amortization $ 632 Total Average Units 38,546 Ancillary Services Segment Operating Income (Adjusted to Include G&A Allocation)(2) $ 22,274 Management Services Segment Operating Income (Adjusted to Include G&A Allocation)(2) $ 24,310 Unconsolidated Ventures Brookdale's Proportionate Share of Adjusted EBITDA $ 69,856 Brookdale's Proportionate Share of non-recourse debt principal as of December 31, 2017 $ 594,250 Total Average Units 28,323 Brookdale's weighted average unit ownership percentage 23.5% Shares outstanding (excluding 4,770,097 unvested restricted shares) as of December 31, 2017 186,505,831 ($ in 000s and are for the trailing twelve months ending December 31, 2017 unless otherwise noted) Net Asset Value Elements

21 Adjusted EBITDA is a non-GAAP financial measure that the Company defines as net income (loss) before provision (benefit) for income taxes; non-operating (income) expense items; depreciation and amortization (including non-cash impairment charges); (gain) loss on sale or acquisition of communities (including gain (loss) on facility lease termination); straight-line lease expense (income), net of amortization of (above) below market rents; amortization of deferred gain; non-cash stock-based compensation expense; and change in future service obligation. For purposes of the Company’s leverage ratios presented under “Debt Maturity & Leverage”, Adjusted EBITDA and Adjusted EBITDA after cash capital and financing lease payments exclude transaction and strategic project costs. Adjusted EBITDAR is a non-GAAP financial measure that the Company defines as Adjusted EBITDA less cash operating lease payments. For purposes of the Company’s leverage ratios presented under “Debt Maturity & Leverage”, Adjusted EBITDAR excludes transaction and strategic project costs. Adjusted Free Cash Flow is a non-GAAP financial measure that the Company defines as net cash provided by (used in) operating activities before: changes in operating assets and liabilities; gain (loss) on facility lease termination; and distributions from unconsolidated ventures from cumulative share of net earnings; plus: proceeds from refundable entrance fees, net of refunds; and property insurance proceeds; less: lease financing debt amortization and Non-Development Capital Expenditures (next page). Adjusted Net Debt is a non-GAAP financial measure that the Company defines as Net Debt, plus cash operating and capital and financing lease payments for the relevant period multiplied by 8. Brookdale's Proportionate Share of Adjusted EBITDA of Unconsolidated Ventures is a non-GAAP financial measure calculated based on the Company’s equity ownership percentage and in a manner consistent with the Company’s definition of Adjusted EBITDA for its consolidated entities. The Company’s investments in its unconsolidated ventures are accounted for under the equity method of accounting. Brookdale’s Proportionate Share of Adjusted Free Cash Flow of Unconsolidated Ventures is a non-GAAP financial measure calculated based on the Company’s equity ownership percentage and in a manner consistent with the Company’s definition of Adjusted Free Cash Flow for its consolidated entities. The Company’s investments in its unconsolidated ventures are accounted for under the equity method of accounting and, therefore, the Company’s proportionate share of Adjusted Free Cash Flow of unconsolidated ventures does not represent cash available to the Company’s consolidated business except to the extent it is distributed to the Company. Combined Segment Operating Income is defined by the Company as resident fee and management fee revenue of the Company, less facility operating expenses. Combined Segment Operating Income does not include general and administrative expenses, transaction costs or depreciation and amortization. Community Labor Expenses is a component of facility operating expense that includes regular and overtime salaries and wages, bonuses, paid-time-off and holiday wages, payroll taxes, contract labor, employee benefits, and workers compensation. Development Capital Expenditures means capital expenditures for community expansions and major community redevelopment and repositioning projects, including the Company’s Program Max initiative, and the development of new communities. Amounts of Development Capital Expenditures are presented net of lessor reimbursements received or anticipated to be received. Integration, Transaction, Transaction-Related and Strategic Project Costs are general and administrative expenses. Integration costs include transition costs associated with organizational restructuring (such as severance and retention payments and recruiting expenses), third party consulting expenses directly related to the integration of acquired communities (in areas such as cost savings and synergy realization, branding and technology and systems work), and internal costs such as training, travel and labor, reflecting time spent by Company personnel on integration activities and projects. Transaction and transaction-related costs include third party costs directly related to the acquisition and disposition activity, community financing and leasing activity, our assessment of options and alternatives to enhance stockholder value, and corporate capital structure assessment activities (including stockholder relations advisory matters), and are primarily comprised of legal, finance, consulting, professional fees and other third party costs. Strategic project costs include costs associated with certain strategic projects related to refining the Company's strategy, building out enterprise-wide capabilities (including the electronic medical records (“EMR”) roll-out project) and reducing costs and achieving synergies by capitalizing on scale. Interest Coverage is calculated based on the trailing-twelve months Owned Portfolio Operating Income adjusted for 5% management fee and capital expenditures at $350/unit, divided by the trailing-twelve months property level and corporate debt interest expense. Lease Coverage is calculated based on the trailing-twelve months Leased Portfolio Operating Income, excluding resident fee revenue and facility operating expense of communities disposed during such period adjusted for 5% management fee and capital expenditures at $350/unit, divided by the trailing-twelve months cash lease payments for both operating leases and capital and financing leases, excluding cash lease payments for leases of corporate offices and information technology systems and equipment. Definitions

22 Leased Portfolio Operating Income is defined by the Company as resident fee revenues (excluding Brookdale Ancillary Services segment revenue), less facility operating expenses for the Company’s Senior Housing Leased Portfolio. Leased Portfolio Operating Income does not include general and administrative expenses (unless otherwise noted), transaction costs or depreciation and amortization. Net Debt is a non-GAAP financial measure that the Company defines as the total of its debt (mortgage debt, convertible notes and other notes payable) and the outstanding balance on the line of credit, less unrestricted cash, marketable securities, and cash held as collateral against existing debt. NM means not meaningful and is used in the year-over-year variance column if either or both periods being compared are negative values. Non-Development Capital Expenditures is comprised of corporate and community-level capital expenditures, including those related to maintenance, renovations, upgrades and other major building infrastructure projects for the Company’s communities. Non-Development Capital Expenditures does not include capital expenditures for community expansions and major community redevelopment and repositioning projects, including the Company’s Program Max initiative, and the development of new communities (i.e., Development Capital Expenditures). Amounts of Non-Development Capital Expenditures are presented net of lessor reimbursements received or anticipated to be received. Owned Portfolio Operating Income is defined by the Company as resident fee revenues (excluding Brookdale Ancillary Services segment revenue), less facility operating expenses for the Company’s Senior Housing Owned Portfolio. Owned Portfolio Operating Income does not include general and administrative expenses (unless otherwise noted), transaction costs or depreciation and amortization. RevPAR, or average monthly senior housing resident fee revenues per available unit, is defined by the Company as resident fee revenues, excluding Brookdale Ancillary Services segment revenue and entrance fee amortization, for the corresponding portfolio for the period, divided by the weighted average number of available units in the corresponding portfolio for the period, divided by the number of months in the period. RevPOR, or average monthly senior housing resident fee revenues per occupied unit, is defined by the Company as resident fee revenues, excluding Brookdale Ancillary Services segment revenue and entrance fee amortization, for the corresponding portfolio for the period, divided by the weighted average number of occupied units in the corresponding portfolio for the period, divided by the number of months in the period. Same Community information reflects historical results from senior housing operations for same store communities (utilizing the Company's methodology for determining same store communities). Segment Operating Income is defined by the Company as segment revenues less segment facility operating expenses. Segment Operating Income does not include general and administrative expenses (unless otherwise noted), transaction costs or depreciation and amortization. Management Services segment operating income excludes revenue for reimbursements for which the Company is the primary obligor of costs incurred on behalf of managed communities, and there are no facility operating expenses associated with the Management Services segment. See the Segment Information note to the Company’s consolidated financial statements for more information regarding the Company’s segments. Senior Housing Leased Portfolio represents Brookdale leased communities and does not include owned, managed – 3rd party, or managed – venture communities. Senior Housing Operating Income is defined by the Company as segment revenues less segment facility operating expenses for the Company’s Retirement Centers, Assisted Living and CCRCs–Rental segments on an aggregate basis. Senior Housing Operating Income does not include general and administrative expenses, transaction costs or depreciation and amortization. Senior Housing Owned Portfolio represents Brookdale owned communities and does not include leased, managed – 3rd party, or managed – venture communities. Total Average Units represents the average number of units operated during the period. Total RevPAR, or average monthly resident fee revenues per available unit, is defined by the Company as resident fee revenues, excluding entrance fee amortization, for the Company for the period, divided by the weighted average number of available units in the Company’s consolidated portfolio for the period, divided by the number of months in the period. Definitions

23 Brookdale West Hartford West Hartford, CT Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows 24 Non-GAAP Financial Measures 25 Appendix

24 Cash Flows from Operating Activities Net income (loss) $ (268,600) $ (126,361) $ (46,337) $ (413,929) $ 15,021 Adjustments to reconcile net income (loss) to net cash provided by operating activities: Loss on extinguishment of debt, net 876 54 42 573 45 Depreciation and amortization, net 131,510 130,078 123,579 121,193 119,908 Goodwill and asset impairment 221,877 20,706 1,559 368,551 18,966 Equity in (earnings) loss of unconsolidated ventures (1,182) (981) 4,570 6,722 4,516 Distributions from unconsolidated ventures from cumulative share of net earnings 17,144 439 453 473 6,893 Amortization of deferred gain (1,093) (1,093) (1,093) (1,091) (1,089) Amortization of entrance fee revenue (1,084) (1,198) (832) (427) (444) Proceeds from deferred entrance fee revenue 2,653 1,927 2,025 567 1,193 Deferred income tax (benefit) provision (556) 83,310 (2,937) (31,704) (63,978) Straight-line lease income (1,786) (3,007) (3,119) (3,078) (5,109) Change in fair value of derivatives 150 46 39 74 15 Loss (gain) on sale of assets, net (5,092) 603 547 233 (20,656) Loss on facility lease termination — — 6,368 4,938 2,970 Non-cash stock-based compensation 5,067 7,774 7,246 7,527 5,285 Non-cash interest expense on financing lease obligations 6,768 6,156 3,865 3,939 3,784 Amortization of (above) below market rents, net (1,699) (1,697) (1,697) (1,697) (1,586) Other (2,777) (1,398) (1,571) (1,730) (4,120) Changes in operating assets and liabilities: Accounts receivable, net (6,602) 3,556 8,401 (1,192) 1,982 Prepaid expenses and other assets, net 10,292 (8,630) 27,609 4,344 (1,353) Accounts payable and accrued expenses (9,356) (51,627) 3,645 26,523 16,932 Tenant refundable fees and security deposits (146) (297) 82 (17) (190) Deferred revenue (7,913) 8,406 664 (7,557) (15,430) Net cash provided by operating activities 88,451 66,766 133,108 83,235 83,555 Cash Flows from Investing Activities Change in lease security deposits and lease acquisition deposits, net (449) (420) 425 (416) (1,702) Change in cash and escrow deposits - restricted 6,837 (629) (1,092) (4,619) 7,366 Purchase of marketable securities, net — — (29,779) (216,597) (44,811) Additions to property, plant and equipment and leasehold intangibles, net (69,697) (48,928) (40,642) (50,474) (73,843) Acquisition of assets, net of related payables — — (400) — (4,796) Investment in unconsolidated ventures (7,306) (185,971) (195) (1,434) (11,417) Distributions received from unconsolidated ventures 214,137 1,807 6,238 3,446 17,544 Proceeds from sale of assets, net 78,461 31,675 2,780 115 35,937 Property insurance proceeds 2,777 1,398 1,571 1,461 4,120 Other 6,439 696 251 15 13 Net cash (used in) provided by investing activities 231,199 (200,372) (60,843) (268,503) (71,589) Cash Flows from Financing Activities Proceeds from debt 185,216 34,455 58,116 1,200,476 14,158 Repayment of debt and capital and financing lease obligations (251,613) (52,273) (36,931) (869,499) (95,458) Proceeds from line of credit — — — 100,000 — Repayment of line of credit (100,000) — — (100,000) — Purchase of treasury stock (9,640) — — — — Payment of financing costs, net of related payables (1,524) (321) (202) (5,182) 131 Proceeds from refundable entrance fees, net of refunds 6 (902) (652) (687) 62 Payment on lease termination — — (552) — — Payments of employee taxes for withheld shares (205) (5,112) (208) (346) (223) Other 323 599 455 532 457 Net cash (used in) provided by financing activities (177,437) (23,554) 20,026 325,294 (80,873) Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents 142,213 (157,160) 92,291 140,026 (68,907) Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period 74,184 216,397 59,237 151,528 291,554 Cash and cash equivalents at end of period $ 216,397 $ 59,237 $ 151,528 $ 291,554 $ 222,647 ($ in 000s) 2016 2017 Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows

25 This Supplemental Information contains financial measures utilized by management to evaluate the Company’s operating performance and liquidity that are not calculated in accordance with GAAP, including Adjusted EBITDA; the Company's Proportionate Share of Adjusted EBITDA of Unconsolidated Ventures; Adjusted EBITDAR, Adjusted EBITDA and Adjusted EBITDAR after cash lease payments (in each case excluding transaction and strategic project costs); Net Debt; Adjusted Net Debt; Adjusted Free Cash Flow; and the Company’s Proportionate Share of Adjusted Free Cash Flow of Unconsolidated Ventures, the Company’s definitions for which are included in the “Definitions” section above. In addition, this section contains reconciliations of the Company’s non-GAAP financial measures Cash From Facility Operations (CFFO), Adjusted CFFO and the Company's proportionate share of CFFO of unconsolidated ventures, which the Company historically reported. These non-GAAP financial measures should not be considered in isolation from or as superior to or as a substitute for net income (loss), income (loss) from operations, net cash provided by (used in) operating activities, short- term debt, long-term debt, less current portion, current portion of long-term debt, or other financial measures determined in accordance with GAAP. Management uses these non-GAAP financial measures to supplement the Company’s GAAP results to provide a more complete understanding of the factors and trends affecting the business. Investors are urged to review the reconciliations set forth in this section of such non-GAAP financial measures to their most comparable GAAP financial measures and to review the information under “Reconciliation of Non-GAAP Financial Measures” in the Company’s earnings release dated February 22, 2018 for additional information regarding the Company’s use, and the limitations of, the Company’s non-GAAP financial measures. Investors are cautioned that amounts presented in accordance with the Company’s definitions of these non-GAAP measures may not be comparable to similar measures disclosed by other companies, because not all companies calculate such measures in the same manner. As noted in the Company’s earnings release dated February 22, 2018, the Company changed its definition and calculation of Adjusted EBITDA when it reported results for the second quarter of 2016.  Prior period amounts of Adjusted EBITDA presented herein have been recast to conform to the new definition. See "Reconciliation of Non-GAAP Financial Measures" in the Company’s earnings release dated February 22, 2018 for more information regarding the changes made to the definition and calculation of Adjusted EBITDA.  Accounting Standards Update 2016-15, Statement of Cash Flows - Classification of Certain Cash Receipts and Cash Payments ("ASU 2016-15") is effective for the Company on January 1, 2018 and will be applied retrospectively for all periods presented. Among other things, ASU 2016-15 provides that debt prepayment and extinguishment costs will be classified within financing activities within the statement of cash flows. We have identified $5.1 million, $0.7 million, $10.6 million, and $0.5 million of cash paid for debt modification and extinguishment costs for the fourth quarter of 2016, the second quarter of 2017, the third quarter of 2017, and the fourth quarter of 2017, respectively, which we have determined will be retrospectively classified as cash flows from financing activities and will result in an increase to the amount of net cash provided by operating activities for such quarters. There was no material amount of cash paid for debt modification and extinguishment costs during the first quarter of 2017. We do not anticipate changing our definition of Adjusted Free Cash Flow as a result of our adoption of ASU 2016-15. As a result, we anticipate that in future presentations of Adjusted Free Cash Flow that accompany 2018 financial results, the amount of Adjusted Free Cash Flow for the fourth quarter of 2016, the second quarter of 2017, third quarter of 2017, and the fourth quarter of 2017 will be increased by $5.1 million, $0.7 million, $10.6 million, and $0.5 million, respectively. Non-GAAP Financial Measures

26 Net income (loss) $ (268,600) $ (126,361) $ (46,337) $ (413,929) $ 15,021 (Benefit) provision for income taxes (569) 84,028 (2,735) (31,218) (66,590) Equity in (earnings) loss of unconsolidated ventures (1,182) (981) 4,570 6,722 4,516 Debt modification and extinguishment costs 5,930 61 693 11,129 526 (Gain) loss on sale of assets, net (5,092) 603 547 233 (20,656) Other non-operating income (3,790) (1,662) (2,236) (2,621) (4,899) Interest expense 95,628 93,069 76,476 79,999 76,610 Interest income (694) (631) (804) (1,285) (1,903) Income (loss) from operations (178,369) 48,126 30,174 (350,970) 2,625 Depreciation and amortization 129,088 127,487 120,887 117,649 116,054 Goodwill and asset impairment 221,877 20,706 1,559 368,551 18,966 Loss on facility lease termination 11,113 — 6,368 4,938 2,970 Straight-line lease expense (income) (1,786) (3,007) (3,119) (3,078) (5,109) Amortization of above market lease, net (1,699) (1,697) (1,697) (1,697) (1,586) Amortization of deferred gain (1,093) (1,093) (1,093) (1,091) (1,089) Non-cash stock-based compensation expense 5,067 7,774 7,246 7,527 5,285 Adjusted EBITDA $ 184,198 $ 198,296 $ 160,325 $ 141,829 $ 138,116 ($ in 000s) 2016 2017 Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Adjusted EBITDA Reconciliation Non-GAAP Financial Measures (Continued)

27 Adjusted EBITDAR; Adjusted EBITDA; and Adjusted EBITDA after cash capital and financing lease payments Reconciliations (excluding transaction and strategic project costs) ($ in 000s) 2017 Net income (loss) $ (571,606) Benefit for income taxes (16,515) Equity in loss of unconsolidated ventures 14,827 Debt modification and extinguishment costs 12,409 Gain on sale of assets, net (19,273) Other non-operating income (11,418) Interest expense 326,154 Interest income (4,623) Income (loss) from operations (270,045) Depreciation and amortization 482,077 Goodwill and asset impairment 409,782 Loss on facility lease termination 14,276 Facility lease expense 339,721 Non-cash stock-based compensation expense 27,832 Transaction and strategic project costs 25,386 Adjusted EBITDAR (excluding Transaction and Strategic Project Costs) $ 1,029,029 $ —Facility lease expense $ (339,721) Straight-line lease income (14,313) Amortization of above market lease, net (6,677) Amortization of deferred gain (4,366) Adjusted EBITDA (excluding Transaction and Strategic Project Costs) $ 663,952 Interest expense: capital and financing lease obligations $ (140,664) Non-cash interest expense on financing lease obligations 17,744 Lease financing debt amortization (64,906) Adjusted EBITDA after cash capital and financing lease payments (excluding Transaction and Strategic Project Costs) $ 476,126 Non-GAAP Financial Measures (Continued)

28 Net Debt and Adjusted Net Debt Reconciliations ($ in 000s) 2017 Long-term debt (including current portion) $ 3,870,737 Line of credit — Less: cash and cash equivalents (222,647) Less: marketable securities (291,796) Less: cash held as collateral against existing debt (1,820) Net Debt 3,354,474 Plus: trailing twelve months cash lease payments multiplied by 8 4,423,224 Adjusted Net Debt $ 7,777,698 Adjusted Net Debt to Adjusted EBITDAR (excluding Transaction and Strategic Project Costs) 7.6x Net Debt to Adjusted EBITDA after cash capital and financing lease payments (excluding Transaction and Strategic Project Costs) 7.0x Non-GAAP Financial Measures (Continued)

29 Net cash provided by operating activities $ 88,451 $ 66,766 $ 133,108 $ 83,235 $ 83,555 Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities 231,199 (200,372) (60,843) (268,503) (71,589) Net cash (used in) provided by financing activities (177,437) (23,554) 20,026 325,294 (80,873) Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents $ 142,213 $ (157,160) $ 92,291 $ 140,026 $ (68,907) Net cash provided by operating activities $ 88,451 $ 66,766 $ 133,108 $ 83,235 $ 83,555 Changes in operating assets and liabilities 13,725 48,592 (40,401) (22,101) (1,941) Proceeds from refundable entrance fees, net of refunds 6 (902) (652) (687) 62 Lease financing debt amortization (16,409) (17,248) (14,382) (14,626) (18,650) Loss on facility lease termination 11,113 — — — — Distributions from unconsolidated ventures from cumulative share of net earnings (17,144) (439) (453) (473) (6,893) Non-development capital expenditures, net (49,363) (34,722) (38,832) (41,005) (71,908) Property insurance proceeds 2,777 1,398 1,571 1,461 4,120 Adjusted Free Cash Flow $ 33,156 $ 63,445 $ 39,959 $ 5,804 $ (11,655) ($ in 000s) 2016 2017 Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Adjusted Free Cash Flow Reconciliation Non-GAAP Financial Measures (Continued)

30 Non-GAAP Financial Measures (Continued) ($ in 000s) 2017 Net cash provided by operating activities $ 366,664 Net cash used in investing activities (601,307) Net cash provided by financing activities 240,893 Net increase in cash and cash equivalents $ 6,250 Net cash provided by operating activities $ 366,664 Changes in operating assets and liabilities (15,851) Proceeds from refundable entrance fees, net of refunds (2,179) Recurring capital expenditures, net (57,203) Lease financing debt amortization with fair market value or no purchase options (61,472) Distributions from unconsolidated ventures from cumulative share of net earnings (8,258) CFFO $ 221,701 Transaction, transaction-related and strategic project costs 37,081 Adjusted CFFO $ 258,782 CFFO and Adjusted CFFO Reconciliations

31 Brookdale's Proportionate Share of Adjusted EBITDA of Unconsolidated Ventures For purposes of this presentation, amounts for each line item represent the aggregate amounts of such line items for all the Company's unconsolidated ventures. Net income (loss) $ 1,917 $ 8,118 $ (22,935) $ (40,233) $ (26,373) $ (81,423) Provision for income taxes 227 263 327 323 292 1,205 Debt modification and extinguishment costs 131 13 16 80 21 130 (Gain) loss on sale of assets, net (724) (372) 189 20 11 (152) Other non-operating income (loss) (781) (434) (837) (617) (590) (2,478) Interest expense 27,183 26,391 35,304 36,119 34,035 131,849 Interest income (723) (703) (750) (783) (804) (3,040) Income (loss) from operations 27,230 33,276 11,314 (5,091) 6,592 46,091 Depreciation and amortization 48,042 47,528 79,695 79,884 77,189 284,296 Asset impairment 413 2 483 3,911 546 4,942 Straight-line lease expense (income) — — 8 4 1 13 Adjusted EBITDA of unconsolidated ventures $ 75,685 $ 80,806 $ 91,500 $ 78,708 $ 84,328 $ 335,342 Brookdale's weighted average ownership percentage 23.8% 21.2% 19.9% 21.3% 21.0% 20.8% Brookdale's proportionate share of Adjusted EBITDA of unconsolidated ventures $ 17,989 $ 17,126 $ 18,219 $ 16,788 $ 17,723 $ 69,856 ($ in 000s) 2016 2017 TTM Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q4 2017 Non-GAAP Financial Measures (Continued)

32 Net cash provided by operating activities $ 40,994 $ 59,924 $ 85,867 $ 62,054 $ 61,910 $ 269,755 Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities 5,556 (1,150,080) (68,585) (20,267) (28,593) (1,267,525) Net cash (used in) provided by financing activities (55,554) 1,145,059 (29,166) (32,514) (52,315) 1,031,064 Net (decrease) increase in cash and cash equivalents $ (9,004) $ 54,903 $ (11,884) $ 9,273 $ (18,998) $ 33,294 Net cash provided by operating activities $ 40,994 $ 59,924 $ 85,867 $ 62,054 $ 61,910 $ 269,755 Changes in operating assets and liabilities 8,617 2,086 (16,559) (5,615) 6,904 (13,184) Proceeds from refundable entrance fees, net of refunds (4,931) (4,365) (5,028) (6,309) (1,664) (17,366) Non-development capital expenditures, net (26,232) (17,027) (23,739) (28,659) (31,196) (100,621) Property insurance proceeds — 393 834 614 584 2,425 Adjusted Free Cash Flow of Unconsolidated Ventures $ 18,448 $ 41,011 $ 41,375 $ 22,085 $ 36,538 $ 141,009 Brookdale's weighted average ownership percentage 36.7% 21.3% 19.1% 30.4% 32.9% 25.1% Brookdale’s Proportionate Share of Adjusted Free Cash Flow of Unconsolidated Ventures $ 6,763 $ 8,750 $ 7,920 $ 6,709 $ 12,037 $ 35,416 ($ in 000s) 2016 2017 TTM Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q4 2017 Brookdale's Proportionate Share of Adjusted Free Cash Flow of Unconsolidated Ventures For purposes of this presentation, amounts for each line item represent the aggregate amounts of such line items for all the Company's unconsolidated ventures. Non-GAAP Financial Measures (Continued)

33 Non-GAAP Financial Measures (Continued) Brookdale's Proportionate Share of CFFO of Unconsolidated Ventures For purposes of this presentation, amounts for each line item represent the aggregate amounts of such line items for all the Company's unconsolidated ventures. ($ in 000s) 2017 Net cash provided by operating activities $ 269,755 Net cash used in investing activities (1,267,525) Net cash provided by financing activities 1,031,064 Net increase in cash and cash equivalents $ 33,294 Net cash provided by operating activities $ 269,755 Changes in operating assets and liabilities (13,184) Proceeds from refundable entrance fees, net of refunds (17,366) Recurring capital expenditures, net (23,767) CFFO of Unconsolidated Ventures $ 215,438 Brookdale's weighted average ownership percentage 26.3% Brookdale's Proportionate Share of CFFO of Unconsolidated Ventures $ 56,631

Brookdale Senior Living Inc. 111 Westwood Place, Suite 400 Brentwood, TN 37027 (615) 221-2250 www.brookdale.com