Exhibit 99.1

Silicon Motion Provides Updated First Quarter 2020 Outlook

TAIPEI, Taiwan and MILPITAS, Calif., March 12, 2020 – Silicon Motion Technology Corporation (NasdaqGS: SIMO) (“Silicon Motion” or the “Company”) today provided an update to its first quarter 2020 guidance due to potential impacts from the COVID-19 outbreak.

For first quarter 2020, management now expects non-GAAP revenue towards the low-end and non-GAAP gross margin towards the upper-end of the original guidance ranges issued on February 7, 2020. Management originally expected non-GAAP revenue to be in the range of $130 million to $138 million and non-GAAP gross margin to be in the range of 44% to 46%.

“Sales to OEMs continue largely uninterrupted, while channel markets have been more fluid and dynamic,” said Wallace Kou, President and CEO of Silicon Motion. “We did see some customers in China experience slower than expected restart of operations following the extended Lunar New Year Holiday, and it is critical we continue to actively monitor supply chain and end demand conditions as the outbreak evolves further. Current indications suggest solid sequential growth in the second quarter. May our employees, their families and our business partners around the world remain safe and healthy.”

About Silicon Motion:

We are the global leader in supplying NAND flash controllers for solid state storage devices and the merchant leader in supplying SSD controllers. We have the broadest portfolio of controller technologies and our controllers are widely used in embedded storage products such as SSDs and eMMC+UFS devices, which are found in smartphones, PCs and commercial and industrial applications. We have shipped over six billion NAND controllers in the last ten years, more than any other company in the world. We also supply customized high-performance hyperscale data center and industrial SSD solutions. Our customers include most of the NAND flash vendors, storage device module makers and leading OEMs. For further information on Silicon Motion, visit us at www.siliconmotion.com.

Forward-Looking Statements:

This press release contains “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, including without limitation, statements about Silicon Motion’s currently expected first quarter of 2020 and full year 2020 expectations of revenue, gross margin and operating expenses, all of which reflect management’s estimates based on information available at this time of this press release. While Silicon Motion believes these estimates to be meaningful, these amounts could differ materially

from actual reported amounts for the first quarter of 2020 and full year 2020. Forward-looking statements also include, without limitation, statements regarding trends in the semiconductor or consumer electronics markets and our future results of operations, financial condition and business prospects. In some cases, you can identify forward-looking statements by terminology such as “may,” “will,” “should,” “expect,” “intend,” “plan,” “anticipate,” “believe,” “estimate,” “predict,” “potential,” “continue,” or the negative of these terms or other comparable terminology. Although such statements are based on our own information and information from other sources we believe to be reliable, you should not place undue reliance on them. These statements involve risks and uncertainties, and actual market trends or our actual results of operations, financial condition or business prospects may differ materially from those expressed or implied in these forward looking statements for a variety of reasons. Potential risks and uncertainties include, but are not limited to the unpredictable volume and timing of customer orders, which are not fixed by contract but vary on a purchase order basis; the loss of one or more key customers or the significant reduction, postponement, rescheduling or cancellation of orders from these customers; general economic conditions or conditions in the semiconductor or consumer electronics markets; the effects on our business and our customer’s business taking into account the ongoing US-China tariffs and trade disputes and recent global outbreak of coronavirus; decreases in the overall average selling prices of our products; changes in the relative sales mix of our products; changes in our cost of finished goods; the payment, or non-payment, of cash dividends in the future at the discretion of our board of directors and any announced planned increases in such dividends; changes in our cost of finished goods; the availability, pricing, and timeliness of delivery of other components and raw materials used in our customers’ products; our customers’ sales outlook, purchasing patterns, and inventory adjustments based on consumer demands and general economic conditions; any potential impairment charges that may be incurred related to businesses previously acquired or divested in the future; our ability to successfully develop, introduce, and sell new or enhanced products in a timely manner; and the timing of new product announcements or introductions by us or by our competitors. For additional discussion of these risks and uncertainties and other factors, please see the documents we file from time to time with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including our Annual Report on Form 20-F filed on May 15, 2019. We assume no obligation to update any forward-looking statements, which apply only as of the date of this press release.

Investor Contact:	Investor Contact:
Christopher Chaney	Selina Hsieh
Director, Investor Relations & Strategy	Investor Relations
E-mail: CChaney@siliconmotion.com	E-mail: ir@siliconmotion.com

Media Contact:

Sara Hsu

Project Manager

E-mail: sara.hsu@siliconmotion.com

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