Exhibit 99.2
American Commercial Lines First Quarter 2009 Earnings Call April 29, 2009

DisclosureStatements made during this presentation with respect to the future are forward-looking statements. Forward looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. ACL actual results may differ materially from those anticipated as the result of various factors. A list of some of these factors can be found in American Commercial Line’s SEC filings, including its Form 10-K on file with the Securities and Exchange Commission.During the presentation reference may be made to certain non-GAAP or adjusted financial measures. A reconciliation of the non-GAAP financial measures to the most directly comparable GAAP financial measures is available on ACL’s web site at www.aclines.com in the investor relations section under non-GAAP financial data.2

First Quarter 2009 Highlights($ in millions)?Operating results in respective quarters were impacted by individually significant non-comparable items as follows:1Q091Q08 Difference Reduction in Force charges$(1.9)$(1.2)$(0.7) Houston office closure charges(2.1)-(2.1) Changes for customer bankruptcy(0.7)-(0.7) Interest expense(8.5)(6.7)(1.8)•Volume/Mix Professional services results(1.5)(0.2)(1.3)deterioration in Pension buy-out reversal-2.1(2.1)Transportation(14.7)(6.0)(8.7)• Core contract pricing All other operating results5.79.7(4.0)intact•Strong productivity & Income (loss) from cont operations beforecost control, partially income tax and discontinued operations (9.0)3.7(12.7)offset by traffic inefficiencyIncome tax expense (benefit)(3.5)1.4(4.9) Net (loss) income $(5.5)$2.3$(7.8)

First Quarter 2009 Highlights•Transportation segment affreightment/towing ton-miles declined 10.7%, consistent with the industry decline–Grain and coal volume increase by 11.6% and 14.1%–Bulk and liquid affreightment volume declined by 26.3% and 47.2%–Non-affreightment revenues declined by 18.8% (primarily liquid towing)•Fuel price decreases exceeding our contractual rate reductions, improved boat productivity and reduced negative weather impact almost offset the impact of the volume decline but did not cover cost inflation, primarily labor•Manufacturing segment operating profit increased by $0.8 million or 23.9% on fewer, more profitable liquid barge builds•Strong progress on cost control with transportation SG&A up by $1.6 million driven by $3.5 million in special charges4

Revenue Mix Change 1Q’09 to 1Q’08($ in millions)Revenue Change in 2009change + (-)commodityGrain$ 37.9$3.29%Steel and pig iron4.9(20.2)-80% Fertilizer2.5(4.1)-62% All other bulk 27.2(4.1)-13% Total Bulk/ Non-Bulk34.6(28.4)-45%Coal and energy4.7(6.1)-56% Legacy coal14.84.442%Total Coal/Energy19.5(1.7)-8%Dry towing/demurrage11.8(2.0)-15%Total Dry Revenue103.8(28.9)-22%Chemicals12.0(8.1)-40% Petroleum6.0(1.3)-18% Other liquids3.2(2.0)-38% Towing liquid10.1(6.1)-38% Charter/demurrage13.40.54%Total Liquid44.7(17.0)-28% Scrap and other7.0(3.4)-33% Total Revenue$ 155.5 $(49.3)-24%

Annualized Organic Growth(1)($ in millions)Transportation $93 $14$32BulkCoalLiquids$24$18$2$47 $11 $7$1$11 $101Q091Q082008 FYContinuing to Bring New Organic Growth to the Transportation Portfolio1) New business from new and existing customers

Revenue Portfolio Mix2009 Full Year2008 Full YearServicesServices5%7%TransportationCoalLiquidCoalLiquid13%29%12%29% GrainGrain 27%21% BulkBulk 26%31%March 31, 2009December 31, 2008Legacy,Legacy,Manufacturing$37,$37,20%17%Sales BacklogNon-Non-($ in millions)Legacy, Legacy, $175, $146 83% 80%Total Backlog — $183Total Backlog - $212

Transportation Productivity% Loaded Miles –Gallons Consumed/Boat Op HourCovered Hopper10590% 1009585%9080%858075%757070%0606Q07Q07060708091Q3Q131Q083Q081Q09Q Q06QQ Q08Q13 13Q07 13 1Impacted by higher utilization Impacted by volume of greater horsepower boats declines in the quarter due to weather conditions

Productivity MetricsTon-Miles/1Q09 Labor Hours Per Ton of Steel Average Affreightment Barge(Reduction over Prior Year)3,5293,470 3,391-1%1,642-5%1Q08 1Q091Q08 1Q0930K10K DryLiquid TankerTanker•Dry K4% in 1Q • No dry hoppers in 1Q09•Liquids L53%

Delay Days Barge Days Lost Due Manufacturing Production to River DelaysDays Lost Due to Weather11,0066,49119.013.01Q08 1Q09 1Q08 1Q091Q09 returned to more Significant improvement for normal levelsShipyard

First Quarter Financial Results($ in millions except EPS)Variance1Q09To PYKey 1st Quarter Variance Drivers1Q 2008 EBITDA$23.0Transportation$155.5$(49.3)Jeffboat35.2(28.8)Transportation:Services6.14.4Volume/Price/Mi x(12.3) Revenues 196.8 (73.7)Inflation and All other(3.7) Net fuel benefit of lower price4.8 Transportation(3.3)(9.8)Boat productivity5.4 Jeffboat4.10.8Other SG&A1.9 Services(1.5)(1.3)Higher gain on sale of assets1.7Operating Income(0.7)(10.3)Scrapping(2.1) Houston closure costs (SG&A)(2.1)Net (Loss) Income (5.5)(7.8)PY Pension benefit(2.1) EPS(0.11)(0.16)RIF 2009 (SG&A)(1.9) RIF 2008 (SG&A)1.2 EBITDA$13.1$(9.9)Customer bankruptcy (SG&A)(0.7)%6.7%(1.8)pts(9.9)Cash From Operations $25.1$33.4Manufacturing1.0 Professional Services(1.0)Effective Tax Rate39.1%(1.7)pts1Q 2009 EBITDA$13.1

Cash Flow & Capital Expenditures($ in millions)1Q 1Q 200920081Q09 Capital Expenditures(1)Net (Loss) Income $(5)$2 $4.2$8.4Non-Cash1619 Working Capital14(29)Cash From Operations$25$(8)Capital Expenditures(1)(8)(12) $0.6Investment in Summit-(8)$1.5 Investment/Dispositions2(1) $2.1 Free Cash Flow$19$(29)Revolver Balance$431.7Bank Agreement Debt/EBITDA2.8TranspMfg Facilities/Barges Total MaintenanceOtherRevolver Availability$40$1.41 Tanker Delivered 20.6 12 Tankers in WIP on 3/31 Continued Positive FCF(17.8)13 Tankers in WIP on 12/31

Summary•We continue to work to best position the Company to compete in this environment and through recovery-We have continued to produce organic growth and continue to battle daily for spot business we can profitably service-We continue to see progress against our key productivity metrics as we have shared with you-We have begun to fundamentally change our SG&A cost structure •We are not finished-We continue to refine our cash management-We continue to drive costs out and increase productivity•2009 has been and will continue to be challenging with the uncertainties of the economy, higher cost of debt, uncertain spot pricing, volatile fuel, lower liquidity

Appendix

Management considers EBITDA to be a meaningful indicator of operating performance and uses it as a measure to assess the operating performance of the Company’s business segments. EBITDA provides us with an understanding of one aspect of earnings before the impact of investing and financing transactions and income taxes. EBITDA should not be construed as a substitute for net income or as a better measure of liquidity than cash flow from operating activities, which is determined in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”). EBITDA excludes components that are significant in understanding and assessing our results of operations and cash flows. In addition, EBITDA is not a term defined by GAAP and as a result our measure of EBITDA might not be comparable to similarly titled measures used by other companies.

American Commercial Lines Inc Net Income to EBITDA Reconciliation (unaudited)$ in thousandsQuarter Ended March 31, 2009 2008Net (Loss) Income from Continuing Operations$(5,458)$ 2,303 Discontinued Operations, Net of Income Taxes-12Consolidated Net (Loss) Income$(5,458)$ 2,315 Adjustments from Continuing Operations: Interest Income(7)(50) Interest Expense8,5416,732 Depreciation and Amortization13,54012,646 Taxes(3,504)1,375 Adjustments from Discontinued Operations: Interest Income-(19) Taxes-7EBITDA from Continuing Operations13,11223,006 EBITDA from Discontinued Operations—Consolidated EBITDA $13,112$ 23,006EBITDA from Continuing Operations by Segment:Transportation Net (Loss) Income$(8,114)$ (1,010) Interest Income(6)(48) Interest Expense8,5316,732 Depreciation and Amortization12,13511,907 Taxes(3,525)1,375Transportation EBITDA$9,021$ 18,956Manufacturing Net Income$4,152$ 3,507 Depreciation and Amortization866654Total Manufacturing EBITDA5,0184,161 Intersegment Profit-(147)External Manufacturing EBITDA$5,018$ 4,01416

Other Key Metrics Vs. Prior YearTransportation1Q09Rev Per Barge ƒ¢-19% Fuel-Neutral Rate Per Ton Mile ƒ¢-15% Ton Mile Volume ƒ¢-11%ManufacturingBarges Built1Q091Q08-Dry Hoppers-79-Tankers129-Special Vessels-11289