Exhibit 99.1

                  Eagle Bulk Shipping Inc. Declares Dividend

NEW YORK, April 18, 2007 - Eagle Bulk Shipping Inc. today announced that its Board of Directors has declared a cash dividend on its common stock for the first quarter of 2007 of $0.50 per share, payable on or about May 3, 2007, to all shareholders of record as of April 30, 2007.

For the remainder of the 2007 fiscal year, the Company's expected dividend calendar is July and October 2007, and February 2008.

About Eagle Bulk Shipping, Inc.

Eagle Bulk Shipping Inc. is a Marshall Islands corporation headquartered in New York City. We are the largest U.S.-based owner of Handymax dry bulk vessels, which are dry bulk vessels that range in size from 35,000 to 60,000 deadweight tons, or dwt, and transport a broad range of major and minor bulk cargoes, including iron ore, coal, grain, cement and fertilizer, along worldwide shipping routes. Our strategy is to charter our modern fleet primarily pursuant to one- to three-year time charters to allow us to take advantage of the stable cash flow and high utilization rates that are associated with medium- to long-term time charters.

Forward-Looking Statements

Matters discussed in this release may constitute forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements reflect our current views with respect to future events and financial performance and may include statements concerning plans, objectives, goals, strategies, future events or performance, underlying assumptions and other statements, which are other than statements of historical facts, as well as the completion and acceptance of definitive documentation. The forward-looking statements in this release are based upon various assumptions, many of which are based, in turn, upon further assumptions, including without limitation, management's examination of historical operating trends, data contained in our records and other data available from third parties. Although Eagle Bulk Shipping Inc. believes that these assumptions were reasonable when made, because these assumptions are inherently subject to significant uncertainties and contingencies which are difficult or impossible to predict and are beyond our control, Eagle Bulk Shipping Inc. cannot assure you that it will achieve or accomplish these expectations, beliefs or projections.

Important factors that, in our view, could cause actual results to differ materially from those discussed in the forward-looking statements include the strength of world economies and currencies, general market conditions, including changes in charterhire rates and vessel values, changes in demand that may affect attitudes of time charterers to scheduled and unscheduled drydocking, changes in our vessel operating expenses, including dry-docking and insurance costs, or actions taken by regulatory authorities,


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ability of our counterparties to perform their obligations under sales
agreements and charter contracts on a timely basis, potential liability from future litigation, domestic and international political conditions, potential disruption of shipping routes due to accidents and political events or acts by terrorists.

Risks and uncertainties are further described in reports filed by Eagle Bulk Shipping Inc. with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

Visit our website at http://www.eagleships.com


Contact:
          Eagle Bulk Shipping Inc.
          Investors:
          Alan Ginsberg
          212-785-2500

          Mandelbaum & Morgan
          Media:
          Jonathan Morgan
          212-741-0014