EXHIBIT 99.1

Coastal.com Reports Record Brand Awareness Among U.S. Consumers

VANCOUVER, British Columbia, Aug. 22, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Coastal Contacts Inc. ("Coastal.com" or "the Company") (Nasdaq:COA) (TSX:COA), the leading online provider of eyewear, announced today that it has achieved a 30% increase in aided brand awareness in the U.S. during the past six months. In an August, 2013 Ipsos-Reid survey of brand awareness among U.S. consumers, aided awareness grew to 22% of those surveyed compared with 17% in February, 2013.

In the same study of Canadian consumers, aided brand awareness grew to a record 49% of those surveyed.

"The investments Coastal.com has made is resulting in a significant shift in consumer awareness, positioning Coastal.com to benefit as consumers migrate from traditional optical channels to the Internet," stated Roger Hardy, Coastal.com's Founder and CEO.

"In North America, Coastal.com has now seeded the market, having served approximately 1.6 million unique eyeglasses customers, establishing Coastal.com as a leader in this rapidly growing channel. We are now focused on higher value new customers and targeting returning customers, both of which are characterized by higher average order sizes."

Mr. Hardy added, "We are also pleased to report that for the month of July, 2013 the overall company achieved positive EBITDA, demonstrating our ability to position Coastal.com in a leadership position in the online optical channel, while building a sustainable and profitable business."

The Company expects to report financial results for the quarter ending July 31, 2013 on September 12, 2013.

EBITDA is a measure the Company believes is useful in assessing performance and highlighting trends on an overall basis.  EBITDA differs from the most comparable IFRS measure, net earnings, primarily because it does not include interest, income taxes, depreciation and amortization, share-based compensation expense, foreign exchange gain or loss and management change costs.

About Coastal.com

Coastal.com is the leading manufacturer and online retailer of eyewear products offered through a family of world class websites. Established in 2000, the Coastal.com family of brands provides customers with an extensive, in stock selection of prescription eyewear, contact lenses and sunglasses. Coastal.com's vision is to provide our customers with stylish high quality eyewear quickly, so they can see everything life has to offer. For more information about Coastal.com (Nasdaq:COA), visit www.coastal.com.

All statements made in the News Release which are not current statements or historical facts constitute "forward-looking information" within the meaning of applicable Canadian securities laws and "forward-looking statements" as defined in Section 27A of the United States Securities Act of 1933, Section 21E of the United States Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995, or in releases made by the United States Securities and Exchange Commission, all as may be amended from time to time, and the words "may", "would", "could", "will", "intend", "plan", "anticipate", "believe", "estimate", "expect", "goal", "target", "should", "likely", "potential", "continue", "project", "forecast", "prospects", and similar expressions typically are used to identify forward-looking information and statements. Examples of such forward-looking information and statements within this News Release include information and statements relating to: Coastal.com's perceptions of the contact lens and eyeglasses industry or market and anticipated trends in that market in any of the countries in which Coastal.com does business; Coastal.com's anticipated ability to procure products and supplies, or the terms under which it may procure its products and supplies; Coastal.com's anticipated business operations, inventory levels, ability to handle specific order and call volumes, ability to fill and ship orders in a timely manner, ability to achieve greater marketing efficiency or similar statements; Coastal.com's ability to increase production; Coastal.com's capital expenditure plans; the results of further investments in Coastal.com's retail brands; Coastal.com's relationships with suppliers; Coastal.com's anticipated results of operations, including but not limited to anticipated sales, revenues, earnings, tax benefits or similar matters; the effects of seasonality; sufficiency of cash flows; Coastal.com's perceptions regarding volatility in and impact of foreign currency exchange rates; the effect of the current economic climate on Coastal.com's business and consumer behavior; and Coastal.com's ability to address challenges and opportunities resulting from current economic conditions.

Forward-looking information and statements are based on the then-current expectations, beliefs, assumptions, estimates and forecasts about Coastal.com's business and the industry and markets in which it operates. Forward-looking information and statements are not guarantees of future performance and involve risks, uncertainties and assumptions which are difficult to predict. Assumptions underlying Coastal.com's expectations regarding forward-looking information and statements contained within this News Release include, among others: that Coastal.com will maintain its position in the markets it operates in and expand into other markets in a favourable manner; that Coastal.com will have sufficient capital to continue making investments in advertising, inventory, property, equipment and leasehold improvements as well as personnel to support its business and new product lines, including its eyeglasses business; that Coastal.com will be able to generate and maintain sufficient cash flows to support its operations; that Coastal.com will be successful in complying with industry regulatory requirements in British Columbia and other jurisdictions in which it operates; that Coastal will be able to establish and/or maintain necessary relationships with suppliers; and that Coastal.com will retain key personnel. The foregoing list of assumptions is not exhaustive.

You are cautioned that forward-looking information and statements are subject to a number of known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors, many of which are beyond Coastal.com's control, that could cause Coastal.com's actual future results or performance to be materially different from those that are disclosed in or implied by the forward-looking information. These factors include, but are not limited to changes in the market; potential downturns in economic conditions; consumer credit risk; Coastal.com's ability to implement its business strategies; competition from traditional and online retailers; limited suppliers; limited availability of inventory; disruption in Coastal's distribution facilities; mergers and acquisitions; foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations; regulatory requirements; demand for contact lenses, eyeglasses and related vision care products; the risk that Coastal.com will not be successful in defending against litigation; dependence on the Internet; and the other risks detailed in Coastal.com's filings with the Canadian securities regulatory authorities.

You should not place undue reliance on forward-looking information and statements which are qualified in their entirety by this cautionary note.

Forward-looking information and statements in this news release are made as of the date hereof and Coastal.com expressly disclaims any intent or obligation to update such forward-looking information or statements, unless Coastal.com specifically states otherwise or as required by applicable law.

For a complete discussion of the assumptions, risks and uncertainties related to Coastal.com's business, you are encouraged to review Coastal.com's filings with the Canadian securities regulatory authorities filed on SEDAR at http://www.sedar.com.

CONTACT: Terry Vanderkruyk
         Vice President, Corporate Development
         Coastal Contacts Inc.
         1-604-676-4498
         terryv@coastal.com

         or

         Liolios Group Inc.
         Scott Liolios or Cody Slach
         1-949-574-3860
         COA@liolios.com