Exhibit 99.2
The information included in this exhibit is presented for informational purposes only in connection with the change in reportable segments as described in the accompanying Form 8-K. The information included in this exhibit does not reflect events occurring after March 3, 2014, the date on which we filed our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013 (the “2013 Form 10-K”), and does not modify or update the disclosures included in the 2013 Form 10-K in any way, other than as required to reflect the change in reportable segments as described in the accompanying Form 8-K and as set forth in the exhibits attached thereto. You should therefore read this information in conjunction with the 2013 Form 10-K and in conjunction with our Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the period ended March 31, 2014, which we filed on May 14, 2014.

ITEM 1A.	RISK FACTORS
Our business is subject to a number of important risks and uncertainties that are described below. You should carefully consider these risks and all other information included in the accompanying Current Report on Form 8-K, the exhibits thereto, and our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013.
Risks Related to Our Capital Structure
Our substantial indebtedness could have a material adverse effect on our financial condition and prevent us from fulfilling our debt or contractual obligations.
We have a substantial amount of debt, which requires significant interest and principal payments. As of December 31, 2013, we had an aggregate principal amount of debt outstanding of $2,854.4 million, including our 7.25% Senior Notes, our Senior Subordinated Notes, our Senior Secured Credit Facility and our A/R Facility. Our high level of debt could have important consequences to us including the following:

•	making it more difficult for us to satisfy our debt or contractual obligations;

•	exposing us to the risk of increased interest rates as certain of our borrowings, including borrowings under our Senior Secured Credit Facility and our A/R Facility, are at variable rates of interest;

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requiring us to dedicate a substantial portion of our cash flow from operations to debt service payments, which would reduce the funds available for working capital, capital expenditures, investments, acquisitions and other general corporate purposes;

•	limiting our flexibility in planning for, or reacting to, changes in our business, future business opportunities and the industry in which we operate;

•	placing us at a competitive disadvantage compared to any of our less leveraged competitors;

•	increasing our vulnerability to a downturn in our business and both general and industry-specific adverse economic conditions; and

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limiting our ability to obtain additional financing at a favorable cost of borrowing, or if at all, to fund future working capital, capital expenditures, investments, acquisitions or other general corporate requirements.

Despite current indebtedness levels and restrictive covenants, we may incur additional indebtedness in the future, which would intensify our leverage risks.
Although the terms of the indentures governing the 7.25% Senior Notes and Senior Subordinated Notes and the credit agreement governing the Senior Secured Credit Facility restrict us and our restricted subsidiaries from incurring additional indebtedness, these restrictions are subject to exceptions and qualifications, including with respect to our ability to incur additional senior secured debt. The risks that we and our subsidiaries face as a result of our leverage could intensify to the extent that we incur additional indebtedness.

Our debt agreements contain restrictions on our ability to operate our business and to pursue our business strategies, and our failure to comply with, cure breaches of, or obtain waivers for covenants could result in an acceleration of the due date of our indebtedness.
The credit agreement governing our Senior Secured Credit Facility and the indentures governing the 7.25% Senior Notes and Senior Subordinated Notes contain, and agreements governing future debt issuances may contain, covenants that restrict our ability to finance future operations or capital needs, to respond to changing business and economic conditions or to engage in other transactions or business activities that may be important to our growth strategy or otherwise important to us. The credit agreement and the indentures restrict, among other things, our ability and the ability of our subsidiaries to:

•	incur or create additional indebtedness;

•	pay dividends or make distributions in respect of our capital stock or to make certain other restricted payments;

•	purchase or redeem stock;

•	make investments;

•	create liens;

•	sell assets and subsidiary stock;

•	enter into transactions with affiliates; and

•	enter into mergers, consolidations and sales of substantially all assets.
Additionally, our Senior Secured Credit Facility contains a financial maintenance covenant for the benefit of our revolving commitment lenders. Specifically, we are required to maintain a Senior Secured Net Leverage Ratio (as defined) of not more than 5.50:1.00. We cannot assure you that we will be able to maintain compliance with the covenants related to our debt in the future and, if we fail to do so, that we will be able to obtain waivers from the lenders or note holders and/or amend the covenants. In particular, if our financial condition or operating results deteriorate, our relations with our lenders and noteholders may be materially and adversely affected, which could impact our ability to obtain waivers if necessary.
Any breach of the covenants in the credit agreement or the indentures could result in a default of the obligations under such debt and cause a default under other debt. If there were an event of default under the credit agreement related to our Senior Secured Credit Facility that was not cured or waived, the lenders under our Senior Secured Credit Facility could cause all amounts outstanding with respect to the borrowings under the Senior Secured Credit Facility to be due and payable immediately. Our assets and cash flow may not be sufficient to fully repay borrowings under our Senior Secured Credit Facility and our obligations under the 7.25% Senior Notes and Senior Subordinated Notes if accelerated upon an event of default. If, as or when required, we are unable to repay, refinance or restructure our indebtedness under, or amend the covenants contained in, our Senior Secured Credit Facility, the lenders under our Senior Secured Credit Facility could institute foreclosure proceedings against the assets securing borrowings under the Senior Secured Credit Facility. Any such acceleration may also constitute a termination event under our A/R Facility, which could result in the amount outstanding under that facility becoming due and payable.
We may not be able to generate sufficient cash flows or access sufficient additional capital to meet our debt obligations or to fund our other liquidity needs.
Our business may not generate sufficient cash flow from operations, or future borrowings under our Senior Secured Credit Facility, our A/R Facility or from other sources may not be available to us in an amount sufficient to enable us to make required interest payments on our indebtedness or to fund our other liquidity needs, including capital expenditure requirements, investments, acquisitions and other transactions that are important to the execution of our business strategy. Additionally, the revolving loan portion of our Senior Secured Credit Facility and our A/R Facility are scheduled to mature in 2016, and significant portions of our other long term debt are scheduled to mature in 2017, and we will need to refinance or satisfy this debt as it matures. We may not be able to refinance our maturing debt on favorable terms, or at all, based on general economic or market conditions, our historical or projected growth or other factors, including those beyond our control. If our cash flow from operations or other liquidity sources are not sufficient to make required interest payments or we are not able to refinance maturing debt on favorable terms, we may have to take actions such as selling assets, seeking additional equity or debt capital on commercially unreasonable terms or reducing or delaying important business transactions. Our Senior Secured Credit Facility and the indentures governing the 7.25% Senior Notes and Senior Subordinated Notes restrict our ability to sell assets and use the proceeds from such sales for purposes other than debt payment obligations.

Our ability to make payments on our debt obligations depends on our ability to receive dividends, payments or other distributions from our subsidiaries.
We are a holding company operating principally through VWR International, LLC (“VWR”) and certain of its subsidiaries. As a result, we are substantially dependent on dividends, payments or other distributions from VWR (and such subsidiaries) to make payments on the 7.25% Senior Notes, Senior Subordinated Notes and borrowings under the Senior Secured Credit Facility. VWR’s ability to make such dividends, payments or other distributions will depend on its and its subsidiaries’ financial and operating performance, which, in turn, is subject to prevailing economic and competitive conditions and financial and business factors, such as the following, which may be beyond our control:

•	operating difficulties;

•	increased operating costs;

•	decreased demand for the products and services we offer;

•	market cyclicality;

•	product prices;

•	the response of competitors or suppliers;

•	regulatory developments;

•	failure to successfully complete or integrate acquisitions; and

•	delays in implementing or our inability to fund strategic projects.
In addition, the ability of VWR and its subsidiaries to pay such dividends and other distributions also may be restricted by law.
A change in the control of the Company could require us to repay certain of our outstanding indebtedness, and we may be unable to do so.
Upon a change of control, as defined in the indentures governing the 7.25% Senior Notes and the Senior Subordinated Notes (collectively, the “Notes”), subject to certain conditions, we will be required to offer to repurchase the Notes at 101% of the principal amount thereof, plus accrued and unpaid interest to the date of repurchase. The source of funds for that purchase will be our available cash or cash generated from operations or other potential sources, including borrowings, sales of assets or sales of equity. We may not have sufficient funds from such sources at the time of any change of control to make required repurchases of Notes tendered. In addition, the terms of our Senior Secured Credit Facility limit our ability to repurchase the Notes and certain change of control events will constitute an event of default under the indentures. If the holders of the Notes exercise their right to require us to repurchase all of the Notes upon a change of control, the financial effect of this repurchase could cause a default under our other debt, even if the change of control itself would not cause a default. Accordingly, it is possible that we will not have sufficient funds at the time of the change of control to make the required repurchase of our other debt and the Notes or that restrictions in our Senior Secured Credit Facility and the indentures will not allow such repurchases.
The interests of our controlling stockholders may conflict with your interests.
Private equity funds managed by Madison Dearborn indirectly own a substantial majority of our common stock through their ownership interests in Holdings. The interests of these funds as equity holders may conflict with your interests. The controlling stockholders may have an incentive to increase the value of their investment or cause us to distribute funds at the expense of our financial condition and liquidity position, subject to the restrictions in our debt agreements. In addition, these funds have the indirect power to elect a majority of our Board of Directors and appoint new officers and management and, therefore, effectively could control many other major decisions regarding our operations. Furthermore, our controlling stockholders are in the business of making investments in companies and may, from time to time, acquire and hold interests in businesses that compete directly or indirectly with us. Our controlling stockholders may also pursue acquisition opportunities that may be complementary to our business and, as a result, those acquisition opportunities may not be available to us.

Risks Related to Our Business
Our business is affected by general economic conditions in the United States, Europe and the other regions in which we operate, and unfavorable global economic conditions or instability in the capital and credit markets could adversely impact our business.
With operations in many parts of the world, the global economy has a significant impact on our business. Unfavorable global economic conditions in the United States, Europe and other regions in which we operate, and volatility in the global capital and credit markets, could materially and adversely affect our business, financial condition and results of operations. In particular, a deterioration of global economic conditions, or a prolonged period of market instability, could present the following additional risks and uncertainties for our business:

•	a reduction in revenues from and/or less favorable pricing or terms with new and existing customers;

•	the inability to expand our customer base in existing or new markets;

•	difficulties in collecting accounts receivable;

•	an increase in product prices from our suppliers that we are not able to pass through to our customers;

•	an acceleration of payment terms to our suppliers and/or the imposition of more restrictive credit terms and other contractual requirements;

•	an increased risk of excess and obsolete inventory;

•	a reduction in research and development spending by our customers, especially those in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries;

•	the inability to access additional capital or refinance existing indebtedness;

•	a limited availability to enter into new derivative financial instruments; and

•	the need to record additional impairment charges against our goodwill and/or intangible and other long-lived assets.
The demand for our products depends on the level of our customers’ research and development and other scientific endeavors. Our business, financial condition and results of operations may be harmed if our customers discontinue, outsource and/or spend less on these activities.
Our customers are engaged in research, development and production in the pharmaceutical, biotechnology, medical device, chemical, technology, food processing, healthcare, mining, consumer products and other industries as well as in the education and government sectors. The amount of customer spending on research, development and production has a large impact on our sales and profitability. Our customers determine the amounts that they will spend on the basis of, among other things, general economic conditions, their financial condition and liquidity, spending priorities and their need to develop new products, which, in turn, is dependent upon a number of factors, including their competitors’ research, development and production initiatives. In addition, consolidation in the industries in which our customers operate may have an impact on such spending as customers integrate acquired operations, including research and development departments and their budgets. Our customers finance their research and development spending from private and public sources. Government funding of scientific research and education has varied for several reasons, including general economic conditions, growth in population, political priorities, changes in the number of students and other demographic changes.
A deterioration in general economic conditions or a return to a period of economic contraction could result in reductions, or further reductions as the case may be, in spending by our customers across all industry segments that we serve. In particular, we may experience a reduction in revenues from certain of our customers in the pharmaceutical industry, which have restructured research functions resulting in workforce reductions, facility closures and budget reductions; and from certain of our customers in the biotechnology industry, which are experiencing increased economic and liquidity pressures. In addition, certain of our customers who depend on federal funding to finance their scientific research may be adversely impacted by federal spending cuts required by the “sequestration” mechanism in the Budget Control Act of 2011 and the Bipartisan Budget Act of 2013. Sequestration, which went into effect in March 2013, mandates $1.2 trillion of spending reductions split between domestic and defense spending over the next ten years. A reduction in spending by our customers could have a material adverse effect on our business, financial condition and results of operations.

The healthcare industry has and will continue to experience significant changes that could adversely affect our business.
Many of our customers in the healthcare industry have experienced significant changes in the last several years and are expected to continue to experience significant changes, including reductions in governmental support of healthcare services, expirations of significant patents, lower reimbursements for research and development and adverse changes in legislation or regulations regarding the delivery or pricing of healthcare services or mandated benefits. In response to these and other changes, some of our customers have implemented or may in the future implement actions in an effort to control and reduce costs, including:

•	development of large and sophisticated group purchasing organizations;

•	consolidation, especially in the case of pharmaceutical companies;

•	purchasing the products that we supply directly from manufacturers;

•	closing of domestic facilities and establishment of facilities at low-cost offshore locations; and

•	significant reductions in and/or outsourcing of research, development and production activities, including outsourcing to low-cost offshore locations.
The ability of our healthcare industry customers to develop new products to replace revenue decreases attributable to expirations of significant patents, along with the impact of other past or potential future changes in the healthcare industry may result in our healthcare industry customers significantly reducing their purchases of products and services from us or the prices they are willing to pay for those products or services. In addition, we will need to adapt our business to maintain existing customer relationships and develop new customer relationships as our customers consolidate or move facilities to low-cost offshore locations or outsource certain activities domestically or to low-cost offshore locations.
We compete in a highly competitive market. Failure to compete successfully could have a material adverse effect on our business, financial condition and results of operations.
We compete in the global laboratory supply industry primarily with Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc., which has a portion of its business dedicated to the distribution of laboratory products and services. We also compete with many smaller regional, local and specialty distributors, as well as with manufacturers of all sizes selling directly to their customers. Competitive factors include price, service and delivery, breadth of product line, customer support, e-business capabilities, service offerings and the ability to meet the special requirements of customers.
Some of our competitors have greater financial and other resources than we do. Most of our products are available from several sources, and some of our customers have relationships with several distributors. Our agreements with customers generally provide that the customer can terminate the agreement or reduce the scope of products or services provided pursuant to the agreement with little or no notice. Lack of product availability, stemming from either our inability to acquire products or interruptions in the supply of products from manufacturers, could have a material adverse effect on our ability to compete. Our competitors could also obtain exclusive rights to distribute some products, thereby foreclosing our ability to distribute these products. Vertically integrated distributors may also have an advantage with respect to the total delivered product cost of certain of their captive products. Additionally, manufacturers could increase their efforts to sell directly to consumers and effectively bypass distributors like us. Consolidation in the global laboratory supply industry could result in existing competitors increasing their market share, which could have a material adverse effect on our business, financial condition and results of operations. The entry of new distributors in the industry could also have a material adverse effect on our ability to compete.

Our business, financial condition and results of operations depend upon maintaining our relationships with manufacturers.
We offer products from a wide range of manufacturers. While there is generally more than one source of supply for most of the categories of products that we sell, we currently do not manufacture the majority of our products and are dependent on these manufacturers for access to those products. Our most significant dependence is on Merck KGaA and its affiliates, which supplied products that accounted for approximately 10% of our net sales in 2013. We have concluded negotiations to replace our chemical distribution agreements with Merck KGaA, which were set to expire in April 2014. The new, non-exclusive chemical distribution agreements with Merck KGaA will commence in April 2014 and run through December 2018. The terms and conditions in these new agreements are less favorable to us than in our existing agreements with Merck KGaA, which could adversely affect our results of operations or financial condition once the new agreements commence.
Our ability to sustain our gross margins has been, and will continue to be, dependent in part upon our ability to obtain favorable terms from our suppliers. These terms may change from time to time, and such changes could adversely affect our gross margins over time. In addition, our results of operations and cash flows could be adversely impacted by the acceleration of payment terms to our suppliers and/or the imposition of more restrictive credit terms and other contractual requirements.
Some of our competitors are increasing their manufacturing operations both internally and through acquisitions of manufacturers, including manufacturers that supply products to us. In addition, we manufacture certain products that may compete directly with products we source from our suppliers. To date, we have not experienced an adverse impact on our ability to continue to source products from manufacturers that have been vertically integrated or otherwise compete with us, although there is no assurance that we will not experience such an impact in the future.
The loss of one or more of our large suppliers, a material reduction in their supply of products or provision of services to us, extended disruptions or interruptions in their operations or material changes in the terms we obtain from them, could have a material adverse effect on our business, financial condition and results of operations.
A significant part of our growth strategy is to engage in acquisitions, which will subject us to a variety of risks that could harm our business.
We intend to continue to review and complete selective acquisition opportunities throughout the world as a part of our growth strategy. There can be no assurances that we will be able to complete suitable acquisitions for a variety of reasons, including competition for acquisition targets, the need for regulatory approvals, the inability of the parties to agree to the structure or purchase price of the transaction and our inability to fund the transaction. In addition, any completed acquisition will subject us to a variety of other risks:

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we may need to allocate substantial operational, financial and management resources in integrating new businesses, technologies and products, and management may encounter difficulties in integrating the operations, personnel or systems of the acquired businesses;

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acquisitions may have a material adverse effect on our business relationships with existing or future suppliers; in particular, to the extent we consummate acquisitions that vertically integrate portions of our business;

•	we may assume substantial actual or contingent liabilities;

•	acquisitions may not meet our expectations of future financial performance;

•	we may incur substantial unanticipated costs or encounter other problems associated with acquired businesses; and

•	we may not be able to retain the key personnel, customers and suppliers of the acquired business.

The international scope of our operations may adversely affect our business.
We derived approximately 50% of our 2013 net sales from operations outside the United States, and we are continuing to expand our sourcing, commercial operations and administrative activities internationally. Accordingly, we face certain risks, including:

•	restrictions on foreign ownership of subsidiaries;

•	tariffs and other trade barriers and restrictions;

•	political risks;

•	differing laws or administrative practices;

•	local business practices that are inconsistent with local or U.S. law, such as the FCPA, or other applicable anti-bribery regulations;

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disruptions in the efficiency and effectiveness of, and difficulty in overseeing and managing, operations, supply chain and certain important administrative functions, including those that have been or in the future may be transferred to our shared services operations;

•	restrictions imposed by foreign governments on international cash transfers;

•	fluctuations in foreign currency exchange rates; and

•	potentially adverse tax consequences of operating in multiple jurisdictions.
In addition, an adverse change in laws or administrative practices in countries within which we operate could have a material adverse effect on us. Our operations outside the United States also may present additional risk with respect to compliance with government regulations and licensing requirements.
In recent years, we incurred, and we may in the future incur, impairment charges related to our goodwill and intangible assets, which could negatively impact our results of operations.
We carry significant amounts of goodwill and intangible assets, including indefinite-lived intangible assets, on our balance sheet as a result of the Merger and acquisitions subsequent to the Merger. Our intangible assets with finite useful lives primarily relate to customer and supplier relationships and are amortized over their respective estimated useful lives on a straight-line basis. Our indefinite-lived intangible assets relate to our trademarks and tradenames.
Goodwill and other intangible assets with indefinite useful lives are not amortized and are tested annually for impairment, and they must also be tested for impairment between the annual tests if an event or change in circumstance occurs that would more likely than not reduce the fair value of the asset below its carrying amount. Other amortizable intangible assets are reviewed for impairment whenever an indication of potential impairment exists. The results of our 2011, 2010 and 2008 impairment testing identified impairments of our goodwill and other indefinite-lived intangible assets aggregating $3.3 million, $48.1 million, and $392.1 million, respectively. The impairment charges from 2011 and 2010 were associated with our former Science Education reportable segment, whereas the impairment charges from 2008 were recognized at each of our reportable segments. We believe that the impairment charges recognized in our laboratory distribution businesses in 2008 were primarily a result of macroeconomic factors, while the charges recognized in our former Science Education reportable segment were due to unfavorable industry-specific factors. We continue to be subject to the risks which led to these impairment charges. See Item 7 — “Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations — Critical Accounting Policies — Goodwill and Intangible Assets” in Exhibit 99.5 of the accompanying Form 8-K for more information.
As of December 31, 2013, goodwill and intangible assets represented approximately $3.7 billion or 70% of our total assets. We may recognize additional impairment charges in the future should our operating results, market conditions or fair value assumptions decline due to, among other things, ongoing or worsening economic instability and volatility or other macroeconomic or industry-specific pressures, including but not limited to rising interest rates.

If we do not comply with existing government regulations or if we or our suppliers become subject to more onerous government regulations, we could be adversely affected.
Some of the products we offer and our operations are subject to a number of complex and stringent laws and regulations governing the production, handling, transportation, storage, import, export and distribution of chemicals, drugs and other similar products, including the operating and security standards of the United States Drug Enforcement Administration, the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, the Food and Drug Administration, the Bureau of Industry and Security and various state boards of pharmacy as well as comparable state and foreign agencies. In addition, our logistics activities must comply with the rules and regulations of the Department of Transportation, the Federal Aviation Administration and similar foreign agencies. We are also required to abide by the anti-corruption and anti-bribery laws of all countries in which we operate, including the FCPA. While we believe we are in compliance in all material respects with such laws and regulations, any non-compliance could result in substantial fines, penalties or assessments or otherwise restrict our ability to provide competitive distribution services and thereby have an adverse impact on our financial condition. We cannot assure you that existing laws and regulations will not be revised or that new, more restrictive laws will not be adopted or become applicable to us or the products that we distribute.
If our suppliers become subject to more stringent laws, they may seek to recover any or all increased costs of compliance from us by increasing the prices at which we purchase products from them, and we may not be able to recover all such increased prices from our customers. Accordingly, we cannot assure you that our business and financial condition will not be materially and adversely affected by future changes in applicable laws and regulations applicable to our suppliers.
If any of our operations are found not to comply with applicable antitrust or competition laws, our business may suffer.
Our operations are subject to applicable antitrust and competition laws in the countries in which we conduct our business, in particular in the United States and in the European Union. These laws prohibit, among other things, anticompetitive agreements and practices. If any of our commercial agreements is found to violate or infringe upon such laws, we may be subject to civil and other penalties and/or third party claims for damages. Further, agreements that infringe upon these laws may be void and unenforceable, in whole or in part, or require modification in order to be lawful and enforceable. If we are unable to enforce any of our commercial agreements, whether at all or in material part, our business could be adversely affected.
We are subject to environmental, health and safety laws and regulations, and costs to comply with such laws and regulations, or any liability or obligation imposed under such laws or regulations, could negatively impact our business, financial condition and results of operations.
We are subject to a broad range of foreign, federal, state and local environmental, health and safety laws and regulations, including those pertaining to air emissions, water discharges, the manufacturing, handling, disposal and transport of solid and hazardous materials and wastes, the investigation and remediation of contamination and otherwise relating to health and safety and the protection of the environment and natural resources. As our global operations involve and have involved the manufacturing, handling, transport, and distribution of materials that are or could be classified as toxic or hazardous, there is some risk of contamination and environmental damage inherent in our operations and the products we manufacture, handle, transport and distribute. Our environmental, health and safety liabilities and obligations may result in significant capital expenditures and other costs, which could negatively impact our business, financial condition and results of operations. We may be fined or penalized by regulators for failing to comply with environmental, health and safety laws and regulations. In addition, contamination resulting from our current or past operations may trigger investigation or remediation obligations, which may have a material adverse effect on our business, financial condition and results of operations.
Based on current information, we believe that any costs we may incur relating to environmental, health and safety matters will not be material. We cannot be certain, however, that identification of presently unidentified environmental, health and safety conditions, new regulations, more vigorous enforcement by regulatory authorities or other unanticipated events will not arise in the future and give rise to additional liabilities, compliance costs or penalties which could have a material adverse effect on our business, financial condition and results of operations. In addition, environmental, health and safety laws and regulations are constantly evolving and it is not possible to predict accurately the effect they may have in future periods.

We are subject to product liability and other claims in the ordinary course of business.
Our business involves risk of product liability, patent infringement and other claims in the ordinary course of business arising from the products that we source from various manufacturers or produce ourselves, as well as from the services we provide. Our exposure to such claims may increase as we seek to increase the geographic scope of our sourcing activities and sales of private label products and to the extent that we consummate additional acquisitions that vertically integrate portions of our business. We maintain insurance policies, including product liability insurance, and in many cases the manufacturers of the products we distribute have indemnified us against such claims. We cannot assure you that our insurance coverage or indemnification agreements with manufacturers will be available in all pending or any future cases brought against us. Furthermore, our ability to recover under any insurance or indemnification arrangements is subject to the financial viability of our insurers, our manufacturers and our manufacturers’ insurers, as well as legal enforcement under the local laws governing the arrangements. In particular, as we seek to expand our sourcing from manufacturers in the Asia Pacific region and other developing locations, we expect that we will increase our exposure to potential defaults under the related indemnification arrangements. Insurance coverage in general or coverage for certain types of liabilities, such as product liability or patent infringement in these developing markets may not be readily available for purchase or cost-effective for us to purchase. Furthermore, insurance for liability relating to asbestos, lead and silica exposure is not available, and we do not maintain insurance for product recalls. Accordingly, we could be subject to uninsured and unindemnified future liabilities, and an unfavorable result in a case for which adequate insurance or indemnification is not available could result in a material adverse effect on our business, financial condition and results of operations.
From time to time, we are named as a defendant in cases that arise as a result of our distribution of laboratory and other supplies, including litigation resulting from the alleged prior distribution of products containing asbestos by certain of our predecessors or acquired companies. While the impact of this litigation on us has typically been immaterial, there can be no assurance that the impact of the pending and any future claims will not be material to our business, financial condition and results of operations in the future.
If we are unable to hire, train and retain key personnel, our business, financial condition and results of operations could be adversely affected.
Our success depends in large part upon our continuing ability to identify, hire, retain and motivate skilled professionals. We face intense competition for these professionals from our competitors, customers, suppliers and other companies within the industries in which we compete and the geographical regions in which we operate. Any failure on our part to hire, train, and retain a sufficient number of qualified professionals could have a significant adverse impact on our business.
We depend heavily on the services of our senior management. We believe that our future success will depend upon the continued services of our senior management. Our business may be harmed by the loss of one or more members of our senior management. We currently do not maintain key-man life insurance with respect to our executive officers.
We rely upon our distribution centers and third parties to ship products to our customers, and significant interruptions in the operations of our distribution centers or the operations of such third parties could harm our business, financial condition and results of operations.
Our distribution network primarily consists of strategically located distribution centers and various smaller regional service centers where we receive products from manufacturers, manage inventory and fill and ship customer orders. We also ship a significant amount of our orders through various independent package delivery providers. Prompt shipment of our products is important to our business. Any significant disruptions to the operations of our distribution centers or such third parties for any reason, including labor relations issues, power interruptions, severe weather, fire or other circumstances beyond the control of us or such third parties, could cause our operating expenses to increase or seriously harm our ability to fulfill our customers’ orders or deliver products on a timely basis, or both. In addition, an increase in prices by our third party carriers, due to increases in fuel prices or otherwise, could adversely impact our financial condition and results of operations if we are unable to find alternative providers or make adjustments to our selling prices.

Problems with or failure of our information services and its connectivity to our customers, suppliers and certain service providers could significantly disrupt our operations, which could reduce our customer or supplier base and could harm our business, financial condition and results of operations.
Our businesses rely on sophisticated information systems to obtain, rapidly process, analyze, and manage data to facilitate the purchase and distribution of millions of inventory items from numerous distribution centers; to receive, process, and ship orders on a timely basis; to account for other product and service transactions with customers; to manage the accurate billing and collections for thousands of customers; and to process payments to suppliers. Our business and results of operations may be adversely affected if these systems are interrupted or damaged by unforeseen events or if they fail for any extended period of time, including due to the actions of third parties. To reduce our risks against unforeseen events, we continually deploy, test and refine disaster recovery and business continuity preparedness plans.
Information security risks have generally increased in recent years because of the proliferation of new technologies and the increased sophistication and activities of perpetrators of cyber attacks. A failure in or breach of our operational or information security systems, or those of our third party service providers, as a result of cyber attacks or information security breaches could disrupt our business, result in the improper disclosure or misuse of confidential or proprietary information, damage our reputation and/or increase our costs. As a result, cyber security and the continued development and enhancement of the controls and processes designed to protect our systems, computers, software, data and networks from attack, damage or unauthorized access remain a high priority for us. Although we believe that we have robust information security procedures and other safeguards in place, as cyber threats continue to evolve, we may be required to expend additional resources to continue to enhance our information security measures and/or to investigate and remediate any information security vulnerabilities.
In addition, we accept payment by credit card and similar payment instruments for a material portion of our sales, and our ability to accept, process and settle credit card transactions is subject to rules and regulations issued and/or amended from time to time by payment card companies such as American Express, VISA, MasterCard and Discover. These rules and regulations, which vary based on annual transaction volume and transaction experience, require us to safeguard customer information, including applying the minimum security standards for the manner in which we capture, store, process and transmit such information. Our failure to comply with such changing rules and standards can subject us to fines, restrictions or expulsion from these card acceptance programs, which could have a material adverse affect on our business, financial condition and results of operations.
We have recently completed the implementation of an enterprise resource planning system in our U.S. laboratory supply business and we plan to continue to make technology and infrastructure investments, including with respect to our enterprise resource planning and e-commerce capabilities. Our technology initiatives are designed to enhance the security, confidentiality, integrity and availability of data and systems, to ensure our operations continue to provide a high quality service to our customers and to provide important information to our management and prepare financial information. We are continually assessing the risks and costs associated with potential problems and interruptions that could reduce the efficiency and effectiveness of our operations in the near term, looking for opportunities to transfer or share these risks with specialized information systems security providers and insuring against these risks where appropriate. Despite these efforts, the cost and potential problems and interruptions associated with the implementation of our technology initiatives could disrupt or reduce our productivity, including our ability to process orders, ship products, provide services and customer support, send invoices and track payments, fulfill contractual obligations or otherwise operate our business, as well as disrupt or impair our ability to provide important information to our management and investors.
We have not registered and in some cases do not own the existing applications and registrations for our material trademarks or service marks in every country in which we do business.
We serve our customers globally through our operations in 35 countries and use a number of registered and unregistered trademarks and service marks for our products and services, substantially all of which are owned by us. Although we have registered our material trademarks in the United States and the primary European countries in which we conduct business, we have not registered and in some cases do not own the existing applications and registrations for our material trademarks or service marks in all countries in which we conduct business. Our efforts to protect our intellectual property rights in certain countries, especially those in the Asia Pacific region, may only provide us with limited protection. In addition, in some countries, we may be blocked from registering or otherwise protecting certain of our marks by others who have already registered identical or similar marks for similar goods or services, and in those cases, we run the risk of being sued for infringement or being unable to effectively establish brand identity.
The failure to own and have enforceable rights in the trademarks and service marks used in our business could have a material adverse effect on our business, financial condition and results of operations.

We are subject to currency risks with respect to our international operations and certain outstanding foreign-denominated debt.
While we report our consolidated financial results in U.S. dollars, we derive a significant portion of our sales and incur costs in foreign currencies (principally the Euro, the British pound sterling, the Canadian dollar and the Swiss franc) from our operations outside the United States. For example, in 2013 approximately 50% of our net sales came from our operations outside the United States. Fluctuations in the relative values of currencies occur from time to time and could adversely affect our operating results. Specifically, during times of a strengthening U.S. dollar, our reported international sales and earnings will be reduced because the local currency will translate into fewer U.S. dollars. This could also make it more difficult to pay amounts due on our debt, the majority of which is denominated in U.S. dollars.
Although the majority of our outstanding debt is denominated in U.S. dollars, as of December 31, 2013, we had €699.9 million ($963.8 million on a U.S. dollar equivalent basis as of December 31, 2013) of Euro-denominated debt recorded on our U.S. dollar-denominated balance sheet, which constitutes approximately 34% of our total outstanding debt. As a result, our operating results are exposed to foreign currency risk with respect to this indebtedness. Specifically, during times of a weakening U.S. dollar, the relative value of this debt would increase, which would require us to record foreign exchange losses. For example, during the years ended December 31, 2013, 2012 and 2011, we recognized foreign exchange (losses) gains of $(38.8) million, $(14.4) million and $21.8 million, respectively.
Unanticipated increases to our income tax liabilities could adversely impact our results of operations.
As a global corporation, we are subject to income taxes and tax audits in the U.S. and numerous foreign jurisdictions. Judgment is required in determining our global provision for income taxes and other tax liabilities. Although we believe that our tax estimates are reasonable, we cannot assure you that the final determination of tax audits or tax disputes will not be different from what is reflected in our historical income tax provisions and accruals. Tax authorities in the various jurisdictions in which we have a presence and conduct business may disagree with our tax positions and assess additional taxes.
In addition, our effective tax rate in the future could be adversely affected by changes to our operating structure, changes in the mix of earnings in countries with differing statutory tax rates, changes in the valuation of deferred tax assets and liabilities, changes in tax laws and the discovery of new information in the course of our tax return preparation process. The carrying value of deferred tax assets, which are predominantly in the U.S., is dependent on our ability to generate future taxable income in the U.S. Increases in our income tax liabilities as a result of any of the foregoing could adversely affect our financial position or results of operations.