PRESS RELEASE                                 SOURCE:  First Trust Advisors L.P.


FIRST TRUST ADVISORS L.P. ANNOUNCES PORTFOLIO MANAGER CALL FOR FIRST TRUST MORTGAGE INCOME FUND

WHEATON, IL -- (BUSINESS WIRE) -- July 18, 2013 -- First Trust Advisors L.P. ("FTA") announced today that First Trust Mortgage Income Fund (NYSE: FMY) (the "Fund") intends to host a conference call with Brookfield Investment Management, Inc. ("Brookfield"), the Fund's investment sub-advisor, on THURSDAY, AUGUST 1, 2013, AT 4:15 P.M. EASTERN TIME. The purpose of the call is to hear Brookfield's portfolio management team provide an update for the Fund and the Market.

--    Dial-in Number: (866) 865-6631; International (706) 679-1727; and Passcode
      # 14952659. Please call 10 to 15 minutes before the scheduled start of the teleconference.

--    Telephone Replay: (800) 585-8367; International (404) 537-3406; and
      Passcode # 14952659. The replay will be available after the call until 11:59 P.M. Eastern Time on Sunday, September 1, 2013.

First Trust Advisors L.P., the Fund's investment advisor, along with its affiliate, First Trust Portfolios L.P., are privately-held companies which provide a variety of investment services, including asset management and financial advisory services, with collective assets under management or supervision of approximately $70 billion as of June 30, 2013, through unit investment trusts, exchange-traded funds, closed-end funds, mutual funds and separate managed accounts.

Brookfield Investment Management Inc. ("Brookfield") serves as the Fund's Sub-Advisor. Brookfield is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Brookfield Asset Management, a global alternative asset manager with over $184 billion in assets under management as of March 31, 2013. Brookfield Asset Management has over a 100-year history of owning and operating assets with a focus on property, renewable power, infrastructure and private equity. The company offers a range of public and private investment products and services, which leverage its expertise and experience and provide it with a competitive advantage in the markets where it operates. On behalf of its clients, Brookfield Asset Management is also an active investor in the public securities markets, where its experience extends over 30 years. Over this time, the company has successfully developed several investment operations and built expertise in the management of institutional portfolios, retail mutual funds, and structured product investments. Brookfield's public market activities are conducted by Brookfield Investment Management, a registered investment advisor. These activities complement Brookfield Asset Management's core competencies and include global listed real estate and infrastructure equities, corporate high yield investments, opportunistic credit strategies and a dedicated insurance asset management division. Headquartered in New York, NY, Brookfield Investment Management maintains offices and investment teams in Toronto, Chicago, Boston and London and has over $10 billion of assets under management as of March 31, 2013.

If you have questions about the Fund that you would like answered on the call, please email your questions to cefquestions@ftadvisors.com and refer to FMY by Tuesday, July 30, 2013, 6:00 P.M. Eastern Time. The Fund's daily closing price and net asset value per share as well as other information can be found at www.ftportfolios.com or by calling (800) 988-5891.

Past performance is no assurance of future results. Investment return and market value of an investment in the Fund will fluctuate. Shares, when sold, may be worth more or less than their original cost.

Principal Risk Factors: Investment in this Fund involves investment and market risk, management risk, credit risk, prepayment risk, reinvestment risk, interest rate risk, floating rate CMOs and inverse floating rate CMOs risk, bond market risk, economic sector risk, inflation risk, U.S. government securities risk, government agency risk, asset-backed securities risk, market discount risk, leverage risk, interest rate transactions risk, derivatives risk, market disruption risk, portfolio turnover risk, tax risk relating to investments in certain REMICs, and illiquid/restricted securities risk.

Subordinated Debt Risk: The Fund may invest a portion of its Managed Assets in subordinated classes of MBS, including debt obligations issued by private originators or issuers backed by residential mortgage loans and multi-class debt or pass-through or paythrough securities backed by a mortgage loan or pool of mortgage loans on commercial real estate. Such subordinated classes are subject to a greater degree of non-payment risk than are senior classes of the same issuer or agency.

Prepayment Risk: If borrowers prepay their mortgage loans at rates that are faster than expected, this results in prepayments that are faster than expected on MBS. These faster than expected prepayments may adversely affect the Fund's profitability, particularly if the Fund is forced to invest prepayments it receives in lower yielding securities. Moreover, the Fund may also acquire MBS that are less affected by prepayments. While the Fund will seek to minimize prepayment risk to the extent practical, the Fund must balance prepayment risk against other risks and the potential returns of each investment in selecting investments. No strategy can completely insulate the Fund from prepayment risk.

Interest Rate Risk: The Fund may also invest in MBS which are interest-only ("IO") securities and principal-only ("PO") securities. Generally speaking, when interest rates are falling and prepayment rates are increasing, the value of a PO security will rise and the value of an IO security will fall. Conversely, when interest rates are rising and prepayment rates are decreasing, generally the value of a PO security will fall and the value of an IO security will rise.

The risks of investing in the Fund are spelled out in the prospectus, shareholder reports and other regulatory filings.

The Fund's daily closing New York Stock Exchange price and net asset value per share as well as other information can be found at www.ftportfolios.com or by calling 1-800-988-5891.


CONTACT: JEFF MARGOLIN -- (630) 915-6784


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Source:  First Trust Advisors L.P.