Q3 2020 Update Exhibit 99.1

Highlights 03 Financial Summary04 Operational Summary06 Vehicle Capacity 07 Core Technology 08 Other Highlights09 Outlook10 Battery Day Highlights11 Photos & Charts13 Financial Statements23 Additional Information28

The third quarter of 2020 was a record quarter on many levels. Over the past four quarters, we generated over $1.9B of free cash flow while spending $2.4B on new production capacity, service centers, Supercharging locations and other capital investments.  While we took additional SBC expense in Q3, our GAAP operating margin reached 9.2%. We are increasingly focused on our next phase of growth. Our most recent capacity expansion investments are now stabilizing with Model 3 in Shanghai achieving its designed production rate and Model Y in Fremont expected to reach capacity-level production soon. During this next phase, we are implementing more ambitious architectural changes to our products and factories to improve manufacturing cost and efficiency. We are also expanding our scope of manufacturing to include additional areas of insourcing. At Tesla Battery Day, we announced our plans to manufacture battery cells in-house to aid in our rapid expansion plan. We believe our new 4680 cells are an important step forward to reduce cost and improve capital efficiency, while improving performance. We continue to see growing interest in our cars, storage and solar products and remain focused on cost-efficiency while growing capacity as quickly as possible. $5.9B increase in our cash and cash equivalents in Q3 to $14.5B Operating cash flow less capex (free cash flow) of $1.4B in Q3 Cash Record vehicle deliveries, profitability and free cash flow Buildout of three new factories on three continents continues as planned First step of FSD beta rollout started in Oct. 2020 Profitability $809M GAAP operating income; 9.2% operating margin in Q3 $331M GAAP net income; $874M non-GAAP net income (ex-SBC) in Q3 SBC expense increased to $543M (driven by 2018 CEO award milestones) Operations S U M M A R Y H I G H L I G H T S 3 SBC = stock-based compensation

F I N A N C I A L   S U M M A R Y (Unaudited) 4 ($ in millions, except percentages and per share data) Q3-2019 Q4-2019 Q1-2020 Q2-2020 Q3-2020 QoQ YoY Automotive revenues 5,353 6,368 5,132 5,179 7,611 47% 42%    of which regulatory credits 134 133 354 428 397 -7% 196% Automotive gross profit 1,222 1,434 1,311 1,317 2,105 60% 72% Automotive gross margin 22.8% 22.5% 25.5% 25.4% 27.7% 223 bp 483 bp               Total revenues 6,303 7,384 5,985 6,036 8,771 45% 39% Total gross profit 1,191 1,391 1,234 1,267 2,063 63% 73% Total GAAP gross margin 18.9% 18.8% 20.6% 21.0% 23.5% 253 bp 462 bp               Operating expenses 930 1,032 951 940 1,254 33% 35% Income from operations 261 359 283 327 809 147% 210% Operating margin 4.1% 4.9% 4.7% 5.4% 9.2% 381 bp 508 bp               Adjusted EBITDA 1,083 1,175 951 1,209 1,807 49% 67% Adjusted EBITDA margin 17.2% 15.9% 15.9% 20.0% 20.6% 57 bp 342 bp               Net income attributable to common stockholders (GAAP) 143 105 16 104 331 218% 131% Net income attributable to common stockholders (non-GAAP) 342 386 227 451 874 94% 156%               EPS attributable to common stockholders, diluted (GAAP) (1) 0.16 0.11 0.02 0.10 0.27 170% 69% EPS attributable to common stockholders, diluted (non-GAAP) (1) 0.37 0.41 0.23 0.44 0.76 73% 105%               Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities 756 1,425 (440) 964 2,400 149% 217% Capital expenditures (385) (412) (455) (546) (1,005) 84% 161% Free cash flow 371 1,013 (895) 418 1,395 234% 276% Cash and cash equivalents 5,338 6,268 8,080 8,615 14,531 69% 172% (1) Prior period results have been retroactively adjusted to reflect the five-for-one stock split effected in the form of a stock dividend in August 2020. EPS = Earnings per share

F I N A N C I A L   S U M M A R Y Revenue Profitability Cash Total revenue grew 39% YoY in Q3. This was achieved mainly through substantial growth in vehicle deliveries as well as growth in other parts of the business. At the same time, vehicle average selling price (ASP) declined slightly compared to the same period last year as our product mix continues to shift from Model S and Model X to the more affordable Model 3 and Model Y. Our operating income improved in Q3 to a record level of $809M, resulting in a 9.2% operating margin. This profit level was reached while we took increased SBC expense in Q3 attributable to the 2018 CEO award, of which $290M was triggered by a significant increase in share price and market capitalization and a new operational milestone becoming probable. Positive profit impacts included strong volume, better fixed cost absorption and continuous cost reduction.  Quarter-end cash and cash equivalents increased by $5.9B QoQ to $14.5B, driven mainly by our recent capital raise of $5.0B (average price of this offering was ~$449/share) combined with free cash flow of $1.4B and partially offset by reduced use of working capital credit lines. Since our days payable outstanding (DPO) are higher than days sales outstanding (DSO), revenue growth results in additional cash generation from working capital. DPO and DSO both declined sequentially in Q3 2020.  5

Q3-2019 Q4-2019 Q1-2020 Q2-2020 Q3-2020 QoQ YoY Model S/X production 16,318 17,933 15,390 6,326 16,992 169% 4% Model 3/Y production 79,837 86,958 87,282 75,946 128,044 69% 60% Total production 96,155 104,891 102,672 82,272 145,036 76% 51% Model S/X deliveries 17,483 19,475 12,230 10,614 15,275 44% -13% Model 3/Y deliveries 79,703 92,620 76,266 80,277 124,318 55% 56% Total deliveries 97,186 112,095 88,496 90,891 139,593 54% 44%    of which subject to operating lease accounting 9,086 8,848 6,104 4,716 10,014 112% 10% Total end of quarter operating lease vehicle count 44,241 49,901 53,159 54,519 61,638 13% 39% Global vehicle inventory (days of supply)(1) 18 10 25 17 14 -18% -22% Solar deployed (MW) 43 54 35 27 57 111% 33% Storage deployed (MWh) 477 530 260 419 759 81% 59% Store and service locations 417 433 438 446 466 4% 12% Mobile service fleet 719 743 756 769 780 1% 8% Supercharger stations 1,653 1,821 1,917 2,035 2,181 7% 32% Supercharger connectors 14,658 16,104 17,007 18,100 19,437 7% 33% (1) Days of supply is calculated by dividing new car ending inventory by the quarter’s deliveries and using 75 trading days (aligned with Automotive News definition). 6 O P E R A T I O N A L   S U M M A R Y (Unaudited)

Delivery percentage of locally-made vehicles* V E H I C L E C A P A C I T Y Fremont We have recently increased capacity of Model 3 / Model Y to 500,000 units a year. In order to do this, we restarted our second paint shop, installed the largest die-casting machine in the world and upgraded our Model Y general assembly line. Production should reach full capacity toward the end of this year or beginning of next year. Shanghai Model 3 production capacity has increased to 250,000 units a year. We reduced the price of Model 3 to 249,900 RMB after incentives, making it the lowest-price premium mid-sized sedan1 in China. This was enabled both by lower-cost batteries and an increased level of local procurement. As a result of this shift in cost and starting price, we recently added a third production shift to our Model 3 factory. Berlin-Brandenburg Construction of the Gigafactory in Berlin continues to progress rapidly. Buildings are under construction and equipment move-in will start over the coming weeks. At the same time, the Giga Berlin team continues to grow. Production is expected to start in 2021.  Installed Annual Capacity Current Status Fremont Model S / Model X         90,000 Production Model 3 / Model Y    500,000 Production Shanghai Model 3       250,000 Production Model Y - Construction Berlin Model 3 - In development Model Y - Construction Texas Model Y - Construction Cybertruck - In development United States Tesla Semi - In development Roadster - In development 7 Installed capacity ≠ Current production rate. Production rate depends on pace of factory ramp, supply chain ramp, downtime related to factory upgrades, national holidays and other factors. * Locally-made is defined as (i) cars made in Fremont and delivered in North America and (ii) cars made in China and delivered in China. 1 Premium mid-sized sedan segment in China defined as Audi A4, BMW 3-Series, Mercedes C-Class and Tesla Model 3.

C O R E   T E C H N O L O G Y Autopilot & Full Self Driving (FSD) Our Autopilot team has been focused on a fundamental architectural rewrite of our neural networks and control algorithms. This rewrite will allow the remaining driving features to be released. In October, we sent the first FSD software update enabled by the rewrite to a limited number of Early Access Program users — City Streets. As we continue to collect data over time, the system will become more robust. Vehicle Software New software functionality was introduced since the start of Q3. In order to make our products safer from unauthorized access, we introduced the ability to enable 2-step verification via a smartphone. Additionally, among many other updates, we improved active suspension comfort, updated Powerwall-to-vehicle charging coordination and added an automated window close function and glovebox PIN access. Our Model Y AWD customers can now purchase a $2,000 software update that improves 0-60 mph time to just 4.3s.     Battery & Powertrain On September 22, we hosted Tesla Battery Day where we described a path to reducing battery pack cost per kWh by 56%, enabling production of a profitable $25,000 vehicle. This, in our view, is a critical component to exceed cost parity with internal combustion engine vehicles. Additionally, due to a simpler cell manufacturing process, we believe capex per GWh of battery capacity should decline by 69% compared to today’s production process.  How our vehicles see an intersection 8 How our Neural Net understands the same intersection (generalized approach for any unmapped intersection)

O T H E R H I G H L I G H T S Energy Business Our energy storage business reached record deployments of 759 MWh in Q3. Megapack production continued to ramp at Gigafactory Nevada as production volumes more than doubled in Q3. Powerwall demand remains strong and is growing, particularly as our solar business grows as many customers include a Powerwall with their solar installation. Additionally, we are seeing accelerating interest in Powerwall as concerns with grid stability grow, particularly in California. We continue to believe that the energy business will ultimately be as large as our vehicle business. Our recently introduced strategy of low cost solar (at $1.49/watt in the US after tax credit) is starting to have an impact. Total solar deployments more than doubled in Q3 to 57 MW compared to the prior quarter, with Solar Roof deployments almost tripling sequentially. While not yet at scale, we recently demonstrated a ~1.5-day Solar Roof install, as shown below in the photos. For Solar Roof, installation time is a key area of focus to accelerate the growth of this program. We continue to onboard hundreds of electricians and roofers to grow this business. 9 7:30 am Noon 2:00 pm (the next day)

O U T L O O K Volume Cash Flow Profit Product We have the capacity installed to produce and deliver 500,000 vehicles this year.  While achieving this goal has become more difficult, delivering half a million vehicles in 2020 remains our target. Achieving this target depends primarily on quarter over quarter increases in Model Y and Shanghai production, as well as further improvements in logistics and delivery efficiency at higher volume levels.  We should have sufficient liquidity to fund our product roadmap, long-term capacity expansion plans and other expenses.  For the trailing 12 months, we achieved an operating margin of 6.3%. We expect our operating margin will continue to grow over time, ultimately reaching industry-leading levels with capacity expansion and localization plans underway.  We are currently building Model Y capacity at Gigafactory Shanghai, Gigafactory Berlin and Gigafactory Texas, and remain on track to start deliveries from each location in 2021. Tesla Semi deliveries will also begin in 2021.  We continue to significantly invest in our product roadmap. 10

B A T T E R Y D A Y H I G H L I G H T S

Area of improvement Description Range Increase* $/kWh Cost Reduction* $/GWh Capex Reduction* Cell Design After considering every form factor and cell size across quantifiable factors, we deemed 80 mm height by 46 mm diameter cylindrical to be best These dimensions maximize vehicle range (pack level energy density) while minimizing manufacturing and product cost The challenge is that large diameter cylindrical cells easily overheat during supercharging We identified a tab-less design solution to resolve the overheating challenge and simplify manufacturing 16% 14% 7% Cell Factory Electrode Current electrode production process involves mixing liquids with cathode or anode powders and using massive machinery to coat and dry electrode New process allows going directly from cathode or anode powder to an electrode film 0% 18% 34% Winding Larger cells improve winder productivity Incorporates our tab-less design Assembly Large cells moving at high speed with simplification in process steps enables a single production line to have 20 GWh of capacity Formation Leveraging our power electronics to densify and reduce costs of the final charging and testing step of millions of cells Anode Material Silicon is a better anode material than graphite – stores 9x more lithium, but silicon expansion brings challenges Silicon used in anodes today is highly engineered and expensive Raw silicon with our coating design will cost just $1.20/kWh Expansion of silicon is managed by stabilizing surface and by creating an elastic binder network 20% 5% 4% Cathode Material We are taking a diversified cathode approach to maximize available supply options: all usable in our 4680 cells We are planning to manufacture cathode in-house, using far less water and reagents in a simplified production process Focus on local sourcing for each cell factory to avoid unnecessary transportation cost Actively pursuing pathways to vertically integrate lithium production for a portion of supply 4% 12% 16% Cell-Vehicle Integration Current EV design: cells to modules, modules to battery pack, battery pack to vehicle Future EV design: cells directly integrated into vehicle body with giga castings Battery is no longer carried as “luggage”, will provide new utility as a load-bearing frame element This unlocks high-efficiency factories and mechanical structures— best manufacturability, weight, range and cost 14% 7% 8% Projected Total Improvement 54% 56% 69% F I V E A R E A S O F F O C U S 12 * Our current projections.

P H O T O S & C H A R T S

G I G A F A C T O R Y   S H A N G H A I   -   M O D E L   Y   F A C T O R Y   ( F O R E G R O U N D ) ;   M O D E L   3   F A C T O R Y   ( B A C K G R O U N D ) 14

G I G A F A C T O R Y S H A N G H A I - M O D E L Y D I E C A S T 15

G I G A F A C T O R Y S H A N G H A I - M O D E L Y B O D Y S H O P 16

G I G A F A C T O R Y S H A N G H A I - M O D E L Y P A I N T S H O P 17

18 G I G A F A C T O R Y B E R L I N - M O D E L Y F A C T O R Y C O N S T R U C T I O N

19 G I G A F A C T O R Y T E X A S

20 M E G A P A C K P R O J E C T AT M O S S L A N D I N G

Vehicle Deliveries (units) Net Income ($B) K E Y   M E T R I C S   Q U A R T E R L Y  (Unaudited) 21 Operating Cash Flow ($B) Free Cash Flow ($B)

K E Y   M E T R I C S   T R A I L I N G   1 2   M O N T H S   ( T T M ) (Unaudited) Vehicle Deliveries (units) Operating Cash Flow ($B) Free Cash Flow ($B) Net Income ($B) 22

F I N A N C I A L S T A T E M E N T S

In millions of USD or shares as applicable, except per share data Q3-2019 Q4-2019 Q1-2020 Q2-2020 Q3-2020 REVENUES Automotive sales 5,132 6,143 4,893 4,911 7,346 Automotive leasing 221 225 239 268 265 Total automotive revenue 5,353 6,368 5,132 5,179 7,611 Energy generation and storage 402 436 293 370 579 Services and other 548 580 560 487 581 Total revenues 6,303 7,384 5,985 6,036 8,771 COST OF REVENUES           Automotive sales 4,014 4,815 3,699 3,714 5,361 Automotive leasing 117 119 122 148 145 Total automotive cost of revenues 4,131 4,934 3,821 3,862 5,506 Energy generation and storage 314 385 282 349 558 Services and other 667 674 648 558 644 Total cost of revenues 5,112 5,993 4,751 4,769 6,708 Gross profit 1,191 1,391 1,234 1,267 2,063 OPERATING EXPENSES           Research and development 334 345 324 279 366 Selling, general and administrative 596 699 627 661 888 Restructuring and other - (12) - - - Total operating expenses 930 1,032 951 940 1,254 INCOME FROM OPERATIONS 261 359 283 327 809 Interest income 15 10 10 8 6 Interest expense (185) (170) (169) (170) (163) Other income (expense), net 85 (25) (54) (15) (97) INCOME BEFORE INCOME TAXES 176 174 70 150 555 Provision for income taxes 26 42 2 21 186 NET INCOME 150 132 68 129 369 Net income attributable to noncontrolling interests and redeemable noncontrolling interests 7 27 52 25 38 NET INCOME ATTRIBUTABLE TO COMMON STOCKHOLDERS 143 105 16 104 331 Less: Buy-out of noncontrolling interest - - - - 31 NET INCOME USED IN COMPUTING NET INCOME PER SHARE OF COMMON STOCK 143 105 16 104 300 Net income per share of common stock attributable to common stockholders(1)           Basic $ 0.16 $ 0.12 $ 0.02 $ 0.11 $ 0.32 Diluted $ 0.16 $ 0.11 $ 0.02 $ 0.10 $ 0.27 Weighted average shares used in computing net income per share of common stock(1)           Basic 897 902 915 928 937 Diluted 922 935 994 1,036 1,105 S T A T E M E N T O F O P E R A T I O N S (Unaudited) 24 (1) Prior period results have been retroactively adjusted to reflect the five-for-one stock split effected in the form of a stock dividend in August 2020

B A L A N C E   S H E E T (Unaudited) In millions of USD 30-Sep-19 31-Dec-19 31-Mar-20 30-Jun-20 30-Sep-20 ASSETS Current assets    Cash and cash equivalents 5,338 6,268 8,080 8,615 14,531    Accounts receivable, net 1,128 1,324 1,274 1,485 1,757    Inventory 3,581 3,552 4,494 4,018 4,218    Prepaid expenses and other current assets 893 959 1,045 1,218 1,238       Total current assets 10,940 12,103 14,893 15,336 21,744 Operating lease vehicles, net 2,253 2,447 2,527 2,524 2,742 Solar energy systems, net 6,168 6,138 6,106 6,069 6,025 Property, plant and equipment, net 10,190 10,396 10,638 11,009 11,848 Operating lease right-of-use assets 1,234 1,218 1,197 1,274 1,375 Goodwill and intangible assets, net 537 537 516 508 521 Other non-current assets 1,473 1,470 1,373 1,415 1,436      Total assets 32,795 34,309 37,250 38,135 45,691 LIABILITIES AND EQUITY Current liabilities    Accounts payable       3,468        3,771       3,970        3,638       4,958    Accrued liabilities and other        2,938        3,222        2,825        3,110        3,252    Deferred revenue 1,045 1,163 1,186 1,130 1,258    Customer deposits 665 726 788 713 708    Current portion of debt and finance leases (1) 2,030 1,785 3,217 3,679 3,126      Total current liabilities 10,146 10,667 11,986 12,270 13,302 Debt and finance leases, net of current portion (1) 11,313 11,634 10,666 10,416 10,559 Deferred revenue, net of current portion 1,140 1,207 1,199 1,198 1,233 Other long-term liabilities 2,714 2,691 2,667 2,870 3,049       Total liabilities 25,313 26,199 26,518 26,754 28,143 Redeemable noncontrolling interests in subsidiaries 600 643 632 613 608  Convertible senior notes              —              —  60  44 48 Total stockholders' equity 6,040 6,618 9,173 9,855 16,031 Noncontrolling interests in subsidiaries 842 849 867 869 861       Total liabilities and equity 32,795 34,309 37,250 38,135 45,691 (1) Breakdown of our debt is as follows:    Vehicle and energy product financing (non-recourse) 3,702 4,183 4,022 4,043 4,141    Other non-recourse debt 155 355 708 1,415 605    Recourse debt 7,882 7,263 7,600 7,106 7,448       Total debt excluding vehicle and energy product financing 8,037 7,618 8,308 8,521 8,053 25

In millions of USD Q3-2019 Q4-2019 Q1-2020 Q2-2020 Q3-2020 CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES Net income 150  132  68  129  369  Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by (used in) operating activities: Depreciation, amortization and impairment 530  577  553  567  584  Stock-based compensation 199  281  211  347  543  Other 69  204  175  167  269  Changes in operating assets and liabilities, net of effect of business combinations (192) 231  (1,447) (246) 635  Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities 756  1,425  (440) 964  2,400  CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES Capital expenditures (385) (412) (455) (546) (1,005) Purchases of solar energy systems, net of sales (25) (37) (26) (20) (16) Purchase of intangible assets               —                —                —                —  (5) Receipt of government grants               —  46  1  —  —  Business combinations, net of cash acquired (76)               —                —                —  (13) Net cash used in investing activities (486) (403) (480) (566) (1,039) CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES Net cash flows from debt activities (55) (591) 544  164  (630) Collateralized lease repayments (83) (87) (97) (71) (56) Net borrowings (repayments) under vehicle and solar financing 183  478  (160) 18  99  Net cash flows from noncontrolling interests - Auto 30  19  (8) (3) (31) Net cash flows from noncontrolling interests - Solar (28) 6  (40) (42) (49) Proceeds from issuances of common stock in public offerings, net of issuance costs               —                —  2,309                —  4,973  Other 71  96  160  57  144  Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities 118  (79) 2,708  123  4,450  Effect of exchange rate changes on cash and cash equivalents and restricted cash (11) 14  (24) 38  86  Net increase in cash and cash equivalents and restricted cash 377  957  1,764  559  5,897  Cash and cash equivalents and restricted cash at beginning of period 5,449  5,826  6,783  8,547  9,106  Cash and cash equivalents and restricted cash at end of period 5,826  6,783  8,547  9,106  15,003  S T A T E M E N T   O F   C A S H   F L O W S  (Unaudited) 26

In millions of USD or shares as applicable, except per share data Q3-2019 Q4-2019 Q1-2020 Q2-2020 Q3-2020           Net income attributable to common stockholders (GAAP) 143 105 16 104 331 Stock-based compensation expense 199 281 211 347 543 Net income attributable to common stockholders (non-GAAP) 342 386 227 451 874 Less: Buy-out of noncontrolling interest - - - - 31 Net income used in computing EPS attributable to common stockholders (non-GAAP) 342 386 227 451 843         EPS attributable to common stockholders, diluted (GAAP)(1) 0.16 0.11 0.02 0.10 0.27 Stock-based compensation expense per share(1) 0.21 0.30 0.21 0.34 0.49 EPS attributable to common stockholders, diluted (non-GAAP)(1) 0.37 0.41 0.23 0.44 0.76 Shares used in EPS calculation, diluted (GAAP and non-GAAP)(1) 922 935 994 1,036 1,105 Net income attributable to common stockholders (GAAP) 143 105 16 104 331 Interest expense 185 170 169 170 163 Provision for income taxes 26 42 2 21 186 Depreciation, amortization and impairment 530 577 553 567 584 Stock-based compensation expense 199 281 211 347 543 Adjusted EBITDA (non-GAAP) 1,083 1,175 951 1,209 1,807 Total revenues 6,303 7,384 5,985 6,036 8,771 Adjusted EBITDA margin (non-GAAP)(2) 17.2% 15.9% 15.9% 20.0% 20.6%         Automotive gross margin (GAAP) 22.8% 22.5% 25.5% 25.4% 27.7% Less: Total regulatory credit revenue recognized 2.0% 1.6% 5.5% 6.7% 4.0% Automotive gross margin excluding regulatory credits (non-GAAP) 20.8% 20.9% 20.0% 18.7% 23.7% R e c o n c I l I a t I o n   o f   G A A P   t o   N o n – G A A P   F I n a n c I a l   I n f o r m a t I o n (Unaudited) 27 In millions of USD 4Q-2017 1Q-2018 2Q-2018 3Q-2018 4Q-2018 1Q-2019 2Q-2019 3Q-2019 4Q-2019 1Q-2020 2Q-2020 3Q-2020 Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities (GAAP) 510 (398) (130) 1,391 1,235 (640) 864 756 1,425 (440) 964 2,400 Capital expenditures (787) (656) (610) (510) (325) (280) (250) (385) (412) (455) (546) (1,005) Free cash flow (non-GAAP) (277) (1,054) (740) 881 910 (920) 614 371 1,013 (895) 418 1,395                           In millions of USD 4Q-2017 1Q-2018 2Q-2018 3Q-2018 4Q-2018 1Q-2019 2Q-2019 3Q-2019 4Q-2019 1Q-2020 2Q-2020 3Q-2020 Net cash (used in) provided by operating activities - TTM (GAAP) (61) (389) (319) 1,373 2,098 1,856 2,850 2,215 2,405 2,605 2,705 4,349 Capital expenditures – TTM (3,415) (3,518) (3,169) (2,563) (2,101) (1,725) (1,365) (1,240) (1,327) (1,502) (1,798) (2,418) Free cash flow - TTM (non-GAAP) (3,476) (3,907) (3,488) (1,190) (3) 131 1,485 975 1,078 1,103 907 1,931 (1) Prior period results have been retroactively adjusted to reflect the five-for-one stock split effected in the form of a stock dividend in August 2020 (2) Adjusted EBITDA margin is Adjusted EBITDA as a percentage of total revenues

A D D I T I O N A L   I N F O R M A T I O N WEBCAST INFORMATION Tesla will provide a live webcast of its third quarter 2020 financial results conference call beginning at 2:30 p.m. PT on October 21, 2020 at ir.tesla.com. This webcast will also be available for replay for approximately one year thereafter.   CERTAIN TERMS When used in this update, certain terms have the following meanings. Our vehicle deliveries include only vehicles that have been transferred to end customers with all paperwork correctly completed. Our energy product deployment volume includes both customer units installed and equipment sales; we report installations at time of commissioning for storage projects or inspection for solar projects, and equipment sales at time of delivery. "Adjusted EBITDA" is equal to (i) net income (loss) attributable to common stockholders before (ii)(a) interest expense, (b) provision for income taxes, (c) depreciation, amortization and impairment and (d) stock-based compensation expense, which is the same measurement for this term pursuant to the performance-based stock option award granted to our CEO in 2018. "Free cash flow" is operating cash flow less capital expenditures. NON-GAAP FINANCIAL INFORMATION Consolidated financial information has been presented in accordance with GAAP as well as on a non-GAAP basis to supplement our consolidated financial results. Our non-GAAP financial measures include non-GAAP automotive gross margin, non-GAAP net income (loss) attributable to common stockholders, non-GAAP net income (loss) attributable to common stockholders on a diluted per share basis (calculated using weighted average shares for GAAP diluted net income (loss) attributable to common stockholders), Adjusted EBITDA, Adjusted EBITDA margin, and free cash flow. These non-GAAP financial measures also facilitate management’s internal comparisons to Tesla’s historical performance as well as comparisons to the operating results of other companies. Management believes that it is useful to supplement its GAAP financial statements with this non-GAAP information because management uses such information internally for its operating, budgeting and financial planning purposes. Management also believes that presentation of the non-GAAP financial measures provides useful information to our investors regarding our financial condition and results of operations so that investors can see through the eyes of Tesla management regarding important financial metrics that Tesla uses to run the business, and allowing investors to better understand Tesla’s performance. Non-GAAP information is not prepared under a comprehensive set of accounting rules and therefore, should only be read in conjunction with financial information reported under U.S. GAAP when understanding Tesla’s operating performance. A reconciliation between GAAP and non-GAAP financial information is provided above.   FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS Certain statements in this update, including statements in the “Outlook” section; statements relating to the future development, production capacity and output rates, demand and market growth, deliveries, deployment, safety, range and other features and improvements, and timing of existing and future Tesla products and technologies such as Model 3, Model Y, Cybertruck, Tesla Semi, Roadster, Autopilot and Full Self Driving, our energy products and services such as Megapack, Solar Roof and Powerwall, and the battery cells we are developing and related technologies; statements regarding operating margin, spending and liquidity targets; statements regarding manufacturing and procurement improvements, cost reductions and efficiencies; statements regarding construction, expansion, improvements and/or ramp at the Tesla Factory, Gigafactory Shanghai, Gigafactory Berlin and Gigafactory Texas; and statements regarding our hiring targets are “forward-looking statements” that are subject to risks and uncertainties. These forward-looking statements are based on management’s current expectations, and as a result of certain risks and uncertainties, actual results may differ materially from those projected. The following important factors, without limitation, could cause actual results to differ materially from those in the forward-looking statements: uncertainties in future macroeconomic and regulatory conditions arising from the current global pandemic; the risk of delays in launching and manufacturing our products and features cost-effectively; our ability to grow our sales, delivery, installation, servicing and charging capabilities and effectively manage this growth; consumers’ willingness to adopt electric vehicles generally and our vehicles specifically; the ability of suppliers to deliver components according to schedules, prices, quality and volumes acceptable to us, and our ability to manage such components effectively; any issues with lithium-ion cells or other components manufactured at Gigafactory Nevada; our ability to build and ramp Gigafactory Shanghai, Gigafactory Berlin and Gigafactory Texas in accordance with our plans; our ability to procure supply of battery cells, including through our own manufacturing; risks relating to international expansion; any failures by Tesla products to perform as expected or if product recalls occur; the risk of product liability claims; competition in the automotive and energy product markets; our ability to maintain public credibility and confidence in our long-term business prospects; our ability to manage risks relating to our various product financing programs; the unavailability, reduction or elimination of government and economic incentives for electric vehicles and energy products; our ability to attract and retain key employees and qualified personnel and ramp our installation teams; our ability to maintain the security of our information and production and product systems; our compliance with various regulations and laws applicable to our operations and products, which may evolve from time to time; risks relating to our indebtedness and financing strategies; and adverse foreign exchange movements. More information on potential factors that could affect our financial results is included from time to time in our Securities and Exchange Commission filings and reports, including the risks identified under the section captioned “Risk Factors” in our quarterly report on Form 10-Q filed with the SEC on July 28, 2020. Tesla disclaims any obligation to update information contained in these forward-looking statements whether as a result of new information, future events, or otherwise. 28