Exhibit 99.2

Management’s Report on Internal Control Over Financial Reporting

The management of Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd. (the “Company”) is responsible for establishing and maintaining adequate internal control over financial reporting.  The Company’s internal control over financial reporting is reviewed and approved by the President and Chief Executive Officer and the Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer to provide reasonable assurance regarding the reliability of financial reporting and the preparation of the consolidated financial statements for external purposes in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America.

Due to its inherent limitations, internal control over financial reporting may not prevent or detect misstatements on a timely basis.  Also, the effectiveness of these controls applicable to future periods are also subject to risk and may not be sufficient to meet the degree of compliance required to comply with the policy or procedure in the future.

Management conducted an assessment of the Company’s internal control over financial reporting (“ICFR”) based on the “Internal Control-Integrated Framework (1992)” established by the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission (“COSO”).  Based on that assessment, management has concluded that, as of December 31, 2013, the Company’s internal control over financial reporting is considered effective.

Based on management’s evaluation, the President and Chief Executive Officer and Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer concluded that the Company’s internal control over financial reporting was effective as of December 31, 2013.  There were no material weaknesses identified by management as of December 31, 2013.

The Company’s internal control over financial reporting as of December 31, 2013 has been audited by Deloitte LLP, Independent Registered Public Accounting Firm, who also audited the Company’s consolidated financial statements for the year ended December 31, 2013.  Deloitte LLP issued an unqualified opinion on the effectiveness of our internal control over financial reporting.

Joseph D. Quarin (signed)	Ian Kidson (signed)
President and Chief Executive Officer	Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
February 13, 2014	February 13, 2014

Management’s Responsibility for Financial Statements

The consolidated financial statements of Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd. (the “Company”) are the responsibility of management and have been approved by the Company’s Board of Directors.

The consolidated financial statements have been prepared by management in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America.  The consolidated financial statements include amounts that are based on estimates and judgments which management has determined to be reasonable and presented fairly in all material respects.

The Company maintains systems of internal accounting and administrative controls.  These systems are designed and operated effectively to provide reasonable assurance that the financial information is relevant, reliable and accurate and that the Company’s assets are properly accounted for and adequately safeguarded.

The Board of Directors is responsible for ensuring that management fulfills its responsibilities for financial reporting and is ultimately responsible for reviewing and approving the consolidated financial statements.  The Board of Directors carries out this responsibility principally through its Audit Committee.

The Audit Committee is appointed by the Board of Directors and is comprised entirely of non-management directors. The Audit Committee meets periodically with management and the Company’s external auditors to discuss auditing, internal control, accounting policy and financial reporting matters. The Audit Committee reviews the consolidated financial statements with management and the Company’s external auditors and reports its findings to the Board of Directors before the consolidated financial statements are approved by the Board of Directors.

The consolidated financial statements have been audited by Deloitte LLP, the Company’s external auditors, in accordance with Canadian generally accepted auditing standards and the standards of the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (United States).

Joseph D. Quarin (signed)	Ian Kidson (signed)
President and Chief Executive Officer	Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
February 13, 2014	February 13, 2014

Report of Independent Registered Public Accounting Firm

To the Board of Directors and Shareholders of Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

We have audited the internal control over financial reporting of Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.  and subsidiaries (the “Company”) as of December 31, 2013, based on the criteria established in Internal Control—Integrated Framework (1992) issued by the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission.  The Company’s management is responsible for maintaining effective internal control over financial reporting and for its assessment of the effectiveness of internal control over financial reporting, included in the accompanying Management’s Report on Internal Control over Financial Reporting.  Our responsibility is to express an opinion on the Company’s internal control over financial reporting based on our audit.

We conducted our audit in accordance with the standards of the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (United States).  Those standards require that we plan and perform the audit to obtain reasonable assurance about whether effective internal control over financial reporting was maintained in all material respects.  Our audit included obtaining an understanding of internal control over financial reporting, assessing the risk that a material weakness exists, testing and evaluating the design and operating effectiveness of internal control based on the assessed risk, and performing such other procedures as we considered necessary in the circumstances.  We believe that our audit provides a reasonable basis for our opinion.

A company’s internal control over financial reporting is a process designed by, or under the supervision of, the company’s principal executive and principal financial officers, or persons performing similar functions, and effected by the company’s board of directors, management, and other personnel to provide reasonable assurance regarding the reliability of financial reporting and the preparation of financial statements for external purposes in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles.  A company’s internal control over financial reporting includes those policies and procedures that (1) pertain to the maintenance of records that, in reasonable detail, accurately and fairly reflect the transactions and dispositions of the assets of the company; (2) provide reasonable assurance that transactions are recorded as necessary to permit preparation of financial statements in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, and that receipts and expenditures of the company are being made only in accordance with authorizations of management and directors of the company; and (3) provide reasonable assurance regarding prevention or timely detection of unauthorized acquisition, use, or disposition of the company’s assets that could have a material effect on the financial statements.

Because of the inherent limitations of internal control over financial reporting, including the possibility of collusion or improper management override of controls, material misstatements due to error or fraud may not be prevented or detected on a timely basis.  Also, projections of any evaluation of the effectiveness of the internal control over financial reporting to future periods are subject to the risk that the controls may become inadequate because of changes in conditions, or that the degree of compliance with the policies or procedures may deteriorate.

In our opinion, the Company maintained, in all material respects, effective internal control over financial reporting as of December 31, 2013, based on the criteria established in Internal Control — Integrated Framework (1992) issued by the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission.

We have also audited, in accordance with Canadian Generally Accepted Auditing Standards and the standards of the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (United States), the consolidated financial statements as of and for the year ended December 31, 2013 of the Company and our report dated February 13, 2014 expressed an unqualified opinion on those financial statements.

“Deloitte LLP”

Chartered Professional Accountants, Chartered Accountants

Licensed Public Accountants

February 13, 2014

Toronto, Canada

Report of Independent Registered Public Accounting Firm

To the Board of Directors and Shareholders of Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

We have audited the accompanying consolidated financial statements of Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd. and subsidiaries (the “Company”), which comprise the consolidated balance sheets as at December 31, 2013 and December 31, 2012, and the consolidated statements of operations and comprehensive income or loss, consolidated statement of cash flows and equity for the years then ended, and a summary of significant accounting policies and other explanatory information.

Management’s Responsibility for the Consolidated Financial Statements

Management is responsible for the preparation and fair presentation of these consolidated financial statements in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America, and for such internal control as management determines is necessary to enable the preparation of consolidated financial statements that are free from material misstatement, whether due to fraud or error.

Auditor’s Responsibility

Our responsibility is to express an opinion on these consolidated financial statements based on our audits. We conducted our audits in accordance with Canadian generally accepted auditing standards and the standards of the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (United States). Those standards require that we comply with ethical requirements and plan and perform the audit to obtain reasonable assurance about whether the consolidated financial statements are free from material misstatement.

An audit involves performing procedures to obtain audit evidence about the amounts and disclosures in the consolidated financial statements. The procedures selected depend on the auditor’s judgment, including the assessment of the risks of material misstatement of the consolidated financial statements, whether due to fraud or error. In making those risk assessments, the auditor considers internal control relevant to the entity’s preparation and fair presentation of the consolidated financial statements in order to design audit procedures that are appropriate in the circumstances. An audit also includes evaluating the appropriateness of accounting policies used and the reasonableness of accounting estimates made by management, as well as evaluating the overall presentation of the consolidated financial statements.

We believe that the audit evidence we have obtained in our audits is sufficient and appropriate to provide a basis for our audit opinion.

Opinion

In our opinion, the consolidated financial statements present fairly, in all material respects, the financial position of Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd. and subsidiaries as at December 31, 2013 and December 31, 2012, and their results of operations and cash flows for the years then ended in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America.

Other Matter

We have also audited, in accordance with the standards of the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (United States), the Company’s internal control over financial reporting as of December 31, 2013, based on the criteria established in Internal Control — Integrated Framework (1992) issued by the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission and our report dated February 13, 2014 expressed an unqualified opinion on the Company’s internal control over financial reporting.

“Deloitte LLP”

Chartered Professional Accountants, Chartered Accountants

Licensed Public Accountants

February 13, 2014

Toronto, Canada

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Consolidated Balance Sheets (“Balance Sheet”)

December 31, 2013 and December 31, 2012 (stated in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America (“U.S.”) and in thousands of U.S. dollars except for issued and outstanding share amounts)

	December 31,	December 31,
	2013	2012
ASSETS
CURRENT
Cash and cash equivalents	$31,980	$29,940
Accounts receivable (Note 6)	229,548	238,958
Other receivables	68	440
Prepaid expenses	34,886	38,762
Income taxes recoverable	2,531	2,928
Restricted cash (Note 7)	498	476
Other assets (Note 14)	2,149	1,573
	301,660	313,077

OTHER RECEIVABLES	—	72
FUNDED LANDFILL POST-CLOSURE COSTS (Note 17)	10,690	9,885
INTANGIBLES (Note 8)	220,078	287,847
GOODWILL (Note 9)	905,347	929,114
LANDFILL DEVELOPMENT ASSETS	20,247	19,715
DEFERRED FINANCING COSTS (Note 10)	19,037	20,060
CAPITAL ASSETS (Note 11)	937,252	927,518
LANDFILL ASSETS (Note 12)	952,731	963,720
INVESTMENTS (Note 13)	5,659	4,062
OTHER ASSETS (Note 14)	19,869	491
	$3,392,570	$3,475,561

LIABILITIES
CURRENT
Accounts payable	$100,270	$120,341
Accrued charges (Note 15)	136,991	131,528
Dividends payable	16,243	16,206
Income taxes payable	2,048	1,986
Deferred revenues	17,180	19,002
Current portion of long-term debt (Note 16)	5,969	6,907
Landfill closure and post-closure costs (Note 17)	10,332	8,871
Other liabilities (Note 14)	12,925	2,527
	301,958	307,368

LONG-TERM DEBT (Note 16)	1,542,289	1,681,370
LANDFILL CLOSURE AND POST-CLOSURE COSTS (Note 17)	114,122	104,281
OTHER LIABILITIES (Note 14)	14,743	6,166
DEFERRED INCOME TAXES (Note 24)	129,887	103,795
	2,102,999	2,202,980

COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES (Note 21)

SHAREHOLDERS’ EQUITY (Note 18)
Common shares (authorized - unlimited, issued and outstanding - 114,852,852 (December 31, 2012 - 114,993,864))	1,773,734	1,773,530
Restricted shares (issued and outstanding - 322,352 (December 31, 2012 - 172,500))	(6,654)	(3,460)
Additional paid in capital	2,796	2,166
Accumulated deficit	(398,414)	(451,539)
Accumulated other comprehensive loss	(81,891)	(48,116)
Total shareholders’ equity	1,289,571	1,272,581
	$3,392,570	$3,475,561

James J. Forese (signed) - Non-Executive Chairman	Douglas Knight (signed) - Audit Committee Chair

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Consolidated Statements of Operations and Comprehensive Income or Loss (“Statement of Operations and Comprehensive Income or Loss”)

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (stated in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the U.S. and in thousands of U.S. dollars, except share and net income or loss per share amounts)

	2013	2012

REVENUES	$2,026,039	$1,896,741
EXPENSES
OPERATING	1,249,252	1,154,764
SELLING, GENERAL AND ADMINISTRATION	255,173	230,740
AMORTIZATION	296,491	274,118
NET GAIN ON SALE OF CAPITAL ASSETS	(7,793)	(592)
OPERATING INCOME	232,916	237,711
INTEREST ON LONG-TERM DEBT	60,754	57,428
NET FOREIGN EXCHANGE (GAIN) LOSS	(1,061)	9
NET (GAIN) LOSS ON FINANCIAL INSTRUMENTS (Note 23)	(4,282)	1,725
LOSS ON EXTINGUISHMENT OF DEBT (Note 16)	1,240	16,924
OTHER EXPENSES	—	105
INCOME BEFORE INCOME TAX EXPENSE AND NET (INCOME) LOSS FROM EQUITY ACCOUNTED INVESTEE	176,265	161,520
INCOME TAX EXPENSE (Note 24)
Current	29,535	49,281
Deferred	28,908	17,841
	58,443	67,122
NET (INCOME) LOSS FROM EQUITY ACCOUNTED INVESTEE	(148)	41
NET INCOME	117,970	94,357

OTHER COMPREHENSIVE (LOSS) INCOME:
Foreign currency translation adjustment	(33,181)	11,702

Derivatives designated as cash flow hedges, net of income tax $566 (2012 - ($863))	(1,051)	1,604
Settlement of derivatives designated as cash flow hedges, net of income tax ($247) (2012 - ($177))	457	329
	(594)	1,933
TOTAL OTHER COMPREHENSIVE (LOSS) INCOME	(33,775)	13,635
COMPREHENSIVE INCOME	$84,195	$107,992

Net income per weighted average share, basic and diluted (Note 18)	$1.02	$0.81
Weighted average number of shares outstanding (thousands), basic and diluted (Note 18)	115,170	116,178

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows (“Statement of Cash Flows”)

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (stated in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the U.S. and in thousands of U.S. dollars)

	2013	2012

NET INFLOW (OUTFLOW) OF CASH RELATED TO THE FOLLOWING ACTIVITIES
OPERATING
Net income	$117,970	$94,357
Items not affecting cash
Restricted share expense	2,004	2,034
Write-off of deferred financing costs (Note 10 and 16)	1,240	11,726
Accretion of landfill closure and post-closure costs (Note 17)	5,655	5,240
Amortization of intangibles	62,929	53,585
Amortization of capital assets	152,728	141,192
Amortization of landfill assets	80,834	79,341
Interest on long-term debt (amortization of
deferred financing costs) (Note 10)	3,436	5,665
Net gain on sale of capital assets	(7,793)	(592)
Net (gain) loss on financial instruments	(4,282)	1,725
Deferred income tax expense	28,908	17,841
Net (income) loss from equity accounted investee	(148)	41
Landfill closure and post-closure expenditures (Note 17)	(4,276)	(6,737)
Changes in non-cash working capital items (Note 19)	11,530	(68,657)
Cash generated from operating activities	450,735	336,761
INVESTING
Acquisitions, net of cash acquired (Note 5)	(3,273)	(282,313)
Investments in cost and equity accounted investees (Note 13 and 22)	(1,746)	—
Restricted cash deposits	(22)	(24)
Investment in other receivables	(134)	(148)
Proceeds from other receivables	556	440
Funded landfill post-closure costs	(1,134)	(404)
Purchase of capital assets	(208,202)	(180,322)
Purchase of landfill assets	(65,660)	(66,556)
Proceeds from the sale of capital assets	21,183	2,761
Investment in landfill development assets	(3,334)	(3,968)
Cash utilized in investing activities	(261,766)	(530,534)
FINANCING
Payment of deferred financing costs	(4,762)	(17,315)
Proceeds from long-term debt	770,139	1,924,480
Repayment of long-term debt	(880,800)	(1,568,323)
Proceeds from the exercise of stock options (Note 18)	112	403
Repurchase of common shares and related costs (Note 18)	(14)	(65,633)
Purchase of, net of proceeds from, restricted shares	(4,462)	(541)
Dividends paid to shareholders	(63,725)	(63,478)
Cash (utilized in) generated from financing activities	(183,512)	209,593
Effect of foreign currency translation on cash and cash equivalents	(3,417)	(23)
NET CASH INFLOW	2,040	15,797
CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, BEGINNING OF YEAR	29,940	14,143
CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, END OF YEAR	$31,980	$29,940
SUPPLEMENTAL CASH FLOW INFORMATION:
Cash and cash equivalents are comprised of:
Cash	$28,200	$28,929
Cash equivalents	3,780	1,011
	$31,980	$29,940
Cash paid during the year for:
Income taxes	$35,429	$53,531
Interest	$62,336	$57,109

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Consolidated Statements of Equity (“Statement of Equity”)

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (stated in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the U.S. and in thousands of U.S. dollars)

	Common	Restricted	Treasury	Additional paid in	Accumulated	Accumulated other comprehensive loss	Total
	shares	shares	shares	capital	deficit	(Note 18)	equity
Balance at December 31, 2012	$1,773,530	$(3,460)	$—	$2,166	$(451,539)	$(48,116)	$1,272,581
Net income					117,970		117,970
Dividends declared					(64,845)		(64,845)
Restricted shares purchased, net of restricted shares sold		(4,483)		21			(4,462)
Restricted share expense				2,004			2,004
Vesting of restricted shares		1,289		(1,289)			—
Common shares issued on exercise of stock options	218			(106)			112
Common shares acquired by U.S. long-term incentive plan (“LTIP”)			1,912				1,912
Deferred compensation obligation			(1,912)				(1,912)
Repurchase of common shares and related costs	(14)						(14)
Foreign currency translation adjustment						(33,181)	(33,181)
Derivatives designated as cash flow hedges, net of income tax						(1,051)	(1,051)
Settlement of derivatives designated as cash flow hedges, net of income tax						457	457
Balance at December 31, 2013	$1,773,734	$(6,654)	$—	$2,796	$(398,414)	$(81,891)	$1,289,571

	Common	Restricted	Treasury	Additional paid in	Accumulated	Accumulated other comprehensive loss	Total
	shares	shares	shares	capital	deficit	(Note 18)	equity
Balance at December 31, 2011	$1,824,231	$(5,353)	$—	$2,789	$(466,775)	$(61,751)	$1,293,141
Net income					94,357		94,357
Dividends declared					(64,815)		(64,815)
Restricted shares purchased, net of restricted shares sold		(494)			(47)		(541)
Restricted share expense				2,034			2,034
Vesting of restricted shares		2,387		(2,387)			—
Common shares issued on exercise of stock options	673			(270)			403
Common shares acquired by U.S. LTIP			(3,505)				(3,505)
Deferred compensation obligation			3,505				3,505
Repurchase of common shares and related costs	(51,374)				(14,259)		(65,633)
Foreign currency translation adjustment						11,702	11,702
Derivatives designated as cash flow hedges, net of income tax						1,604	1,604
Settlement of derivatives designated as cash flow hedges, net of income tax						329	329
Balance at December 31, 2012	$1,773,530	$(3,460)	$—	$2,166	$(451,539)	$(48,116)	$1,272,581

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

1.   Organization

Effective May 2, 2011, Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd. (the “Company”) amalgamated with its parent IESI-BFC Ltd. and continued operating as Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.  The Company was incorporated on May 20, 2009 under the provisions of the Business Corporations Act (Ontario).

The Company, through its operating subsidiaries, provides vertically integrated non-hazardous solid waste (“waste”) services to commercial, industrial, municipal and residential customers in Canada and the U.S.

2.  Reporting Currency

The Company has elected to report its financial results in U.S. dollars to improve the comparability of its financial information with its peers.  Reporting the Company’s financial results in U.S. dollars also reduces the impact of foreign currency fluctuation in its reported amounts because the Company’s collection of assets and operations are larger in the U.S. than they are in Canada.  The Company remains a legally domiciled Canadian entity and its functional currency is the Canadian dollar.  As a result, the Company’s financial position, results of operations, cash flows and equity are initially translated to, and consolidated in, Canadian dollars using the current rate method of accounting.  The Company’s consolidated Canadian dollar financial position is further translated from Canadian to U.S. dollars applying the foreign currency exchange rate in effect at the consolidated balance sheet date, while the Company’s consolidated Canadian dollar results of operations and cash flows are translated to U.S. dollars applying the average foreign currency exchange rate in effect during the reporting period.  The resulting translation adjustments are included in other comprehensive income or loss.  Translating the Company’s U.S. segment financial position, results of operations and cash flows into Canadian dollars, the Company’s functional currency, and re-translating these amounts to U.S. dollars, the Company’s reporting currency, has no translation impact on the Company’s consolidated financial statements.  Accordingly, U.S. segment results retain their original values when expressed in the Company’s reporting currency.

3.  Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

These consolidated financial statements (“financial statements”) have been prepared in conformity with accounting principles generally accepted in the U.S. (“U.S. GAAP”), are stated in U.S. dollars, and reflect the following significant accounting policies.

Basis of presentation

These financial statements include the accounts of the Company and its wholly-owned subsidiaries.  All intercompany accounts and transactions have been eliminated on consolidation.

Use of estimates

The preparation of financial statements in conformity with U.S. GAAP requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets and liabilities, contingent or otherwise, as at the date of the financial statements and the reported amounts of revenues and expenses during the reporting period.  Estimates and assumptions are applied to the following: the Company’s allowance for doubtful accounts receivable;  estimates of future cash flows and earnings, income tax and other estimates used in the annual step one and step two test for impairment of goodwill; recoverability assumptions for landfill development assets; the useful life of capital and intangible assets; fair value of contingent acquisition payments; accrued insurance reserves; projected landfill construction and development costs and estimated permitted airspace capacity consumed in the determination of landfill asset amortization; estimated landfill remediation costs; estimated closure and post-closure costs; various economic estimates used in the development of fair value estimates, including but not limited to interest and inflation rates; share price volatility and the estimated length of time employees will hold options before exercise to determine share based compensation, in addition to estimates of future performance, which are compared to established targets, to determine share based compensation for performance share units; the fair value of financial instruments; the likelihood of realizing deferred income tax assets; and deferred income tax assets and liabilities.  Accordingly, results may differ significantly from these estimates.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

Cash and cash equivalents

Cash and cash equivalents include cash and highly liquid short-term money market investments that have an original term to maturity of three months or less.

Other receivables

Other receivables include direct finance lease receivables.

Assets leased under terms that transfer substantially all of the benefits and risks and rewards of ownership to customers are accounted for as direct finance lease receivables.  Direct finance lease receivables are carried at cost and discounted at the underlying rate implicit in the lease.

The fair value of other receivables is estimated using a discounted cash flow analysis applying interest rates that management considers consistent with the credit quality of the borrower.  Other receivables are periodically reviewed for impairment and any resulting write-down to the net recoverable amount is recorded in the period in which impairment occurs.

Restricted cash

Cash received on the issuance of variable rate demand solid waste disposal revenues bonds (“IRBs”) is made available for certain purposes which may include some or all of the of following: landfill construction or equipment, vehicle and or container expenditures.  Cash received in advance of permitted expenditures is not available for general Company purpose or use.  Accordingly, restricted cash amounts are classified as restricted cash on the Company’s balance sheet.  Deposits and withdrawals of restricted cash amounts are recorded as an investing activity in the statement of cash flows.

Intangibles

Intangible assets include customer collection contracts, customer lists, non-competition agreements, transfer station permits and trade-names.  All intangibles are deemed to have finite lives and are amortized on a straight-line basis as follows:

Customer collection contracts	Estimated contract term net of attrition
Customer lists	2-12 years
Non-competition agreements	2-5 years
Transfer station permits	10-25 years
Trade-names	1-13 years

Goodwill

Goodwill is not amortized and is tested annually for impairment or more frequently if an event or circumstance occurs that more likely than not reduces the fair value of a reporting unit below its carrying amount.  Examples of such events or circumstances include: a significant adverse change in legal factors or in the business climate; an adverse action or assessment by a regulator; unanticipated or increased competition; the loss of key personnel; a more-likely-than-not expectation that a significant portion or all of a reporting unit will be sold or otherwise disposed of; the testing for write-down or impairment of a significant asset group within a reporting unit; or the recognition of a goodwill impairment loss by a subsidiary that is a component of the reporting unit.  Goodwill is not tested for impairment when the assets and liabilities that make up the reporting unit have not changed significantly since the most recent fair value determination, the most recent fair value determination results in an amount that exceeded the carrying amount by a substantial margin, and based on an analysis of events that have occurred and circumstances that have changed since the most recent fair value determination, the likelihood that the current fair value determination would be less than the current carrying amount of the reporting unit is remote.  The Company has identified its reporting units as its operating segments, or one level below its operating segments, and the amount of goodwill assigned to each and methodology employed to make such assignments has been applied on a consistent basis.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

The impairment test is a two step test.  The first test requires the Company to compare the fair value of its reporting units to their carrying amounts.  If the fair value of a reporting unit exceeds its carrying amount, goodwill of the reporting unit is not considered impaired.  However, if the carrying amount of the reporting unit exceeds its fair value, the fair value of the reporting unit’s goodwill is compared with its carrying amount to measure the resulting amount of impairment loss, if any.  The fair value of goodwill is determined in the same manner goodwill is determined in a business combination, whereby the excess of the fair value of the reporting unit over the amounts assigned to its assets and liabilities is the fair value of goodwill.  Fair value is the amount an item can be bought or sold in a current transaction between willing parties, that is, other than in a forced sale or liquidation.  In determining fair value, the Company has utilized a discounted future cash flow approach.  Additional measures of fair value are also considered by the Company.  Accordingly, the Company compares fair values determined using a discounted future cash flow approach to other fair value measures which may include some or all of the following: market multiple approach, offers from potential suitors, where available, or appraisals.  There may be circumstances where an alternative method to determine fair value is a more accurate measure.

Prolonged economic weakness, higher levels of competition, loss of business or loss of an operating permit could render goodwill impaired and could have a material adverse effect on the Company’s financial condition and operating performance.

The Company’s annual impairment test was completed on April 30, 2013, at which time the Company determined that the fair value of its Canadian and U.S. south reporting units substantially exceeded their carrying amounts.  The fair value of the Company’s U.S. northeast reporting unit also exceeded its carrying amount. The Company included the expected cash flows attributable to successfully securing a long-term contract with New York City in determining the fair value of its U.S. northeast reporting unit in step one of the goodwill impairment test.  Should the prospects of securing a long-term contract with the city become less certain or the Company is not successful in the award of such contract, the fair value of the U.S. northeast reporting unit will be less than its carrying amount and a step two of the two step impairment test would be required to be performed to determine the resulting impairment loss.  It is the Company’s belief that if it is not awarded the long-term contract with New York City, goodwill recorded in the U.S. northeast reporting unit will be impaired.

Landfill development assets

Landfill development assets represent costs incurred to develop landfills, including costs to obtain new or expansion landfill permits.  Landfill development assets are capitalized to landfill assets once the asset is available for use, which is typically when the landfill is permitted to accept waste.  Once capitalized to landfill assets, these costs are amortized in accordance with the Company’s landfill asset accounting policy.  Management periodically reviews the carrying values of landfill development assets for impairment.  Any resulting write-down to fair value is recorded in the period in which the impairment occurs and is recorded to operating expense on the Company’s statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss.

Deferred financing costs

Deferred financing costs represent fees and costs incurred to secure or amend long-term debt facilities.  Deferred financing costs are amortized on a straight-line basis over the term of the underlying debt instrument, which approximates the effective interest method.  Amortization of deferred financing costs is recorded to interest on long-term debt in the Company’s statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss.

Capital assets

Capital assets are recorded at cost and, with the exception of land and land improvements, are amortized over their estimated useful lives on a straight-line basis as follows:

Buildings and improvements	10-40 years
Vehicles and equipment	3-21 years
Containers and compactors	5-10 years
Furniture, fixtures and computer equipment	1-10 years

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

The historical cost of acquiring an asset includes the cost incurred to bring it to the condition and location necessary for its intended use, and may include capitalized interest attributable to the construction and development of certain assets.  The Company ceases to capitalize interest once the construction and development effort is complete and the asset is available for use.  Interest is capitalized applying the Company’s weighted average interest cost incurred on its long-term debt facilities in the year of capitalization.  Construction and development activities undertaken in Canada and the U.S. incur interest at the rate of interest applicable to each region. Capitalized costs, including interest amounts, are amortized over the asset’s intended useful life.

Landfill assets

Landfill assets represent the cost of landfill airspace, which includes original acquisition cost and landfill construction and development costs, including gas collection systems installed during the operating life of the site.  Landfill assets also include capitalized landfill closure and post-closure costs, net of accumulated amortization and the cost of new or expansion landfill permits.

Interest is capitalized on certain landfill construction and development activities prior to the landfill asset being available for use and is capitalized applying the Company’s weighted average interest cost incurred on its long-term debt facilities in the year of capitalization.  Construction and development activities undertaken in Canada and the U.S. incur interest at the rate of interest applicable to each region.

The original acquisition cost of landfill assets, together with incurred and projected landfill construction and development costs and capitalized interest, is amortized on a per unit basis as landfill airspace is consumed.  Capitalized landfill closure and post-closure costs are amortized immediately since the capitalized amounts are deemed to have no future benefit.

At least annually, management updates landfill capacity estimates and projected landfill construction and development costs.  The impact of changes in capacity and construction cost estimates is accounted for prospectively.

Total available disposal capacity for the purpose of amortizing landfill assets represents the sum of estimated permitted airspace capacity (having received the final permit from the governing authorities) plus future permitted airspace capacity, which represents an estimate of airspace capacity that management believes is probable of being permitted based on the following criteria:

·            Personnel are actively working to obtain the permit or permit modifications necessary for expansion of an existing landfill, and progress is being made on the project;

·            It is probable that the required approvals will be received within the normal application and processing periods for approvals in the jurisdiction in which the landfill is located;

·            The Company has a legal right to use or obtain land associated with the expansion plan;

·            There are no significant known political, technical, legal or business restrictions or issues that could impair the success of the expansion effort;

·            Management is committed to pursuing the expansion; and

·            Additional airspace capacity and related costs have been estimated based on the conceptual design of the proposed expansion.

The Company and its predecessors have been successful in receiving approvals for expansions pursued; however, there can be no assurance that the Company will be successful in obtaining approvals for landfill expansions in the future.

Investment in cost accounted investee

Investments in which the Company does not have the ability to exercise significant influence over the strategic operating, investing and financing policies of an investee are accounted for using the cost method of accounting.  The cost method of accounting requires the Company to record its initial investment at cost.  Post-acquisition earnings of the investee are recognized by the Company only to the extent they are distributed by the investee in the form of dividends.  Dividends received by the Company in excess of post-acquisition earnings are considered a return of investment and are recorded as a reduction of the investments’ cost.  A decrease in value of the investment, which is considered other than temporary, is included in the Company’s statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss in the period of impairment.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

Investment in equity accounted investee

Investments in which the Company has joint control or the ability to exercise significant influence over the strategic operating, investing and financing policies of an investee, are accounted for using the equity method of accounting.  The equity method of accounting requires the Company to record its initial investment at cost.  The carrying value of the Company’s initial investment is subsequently adjusted to include its pro rata share of post-acquisition earnings from the investee, reflecting adjustments similar to those made in preparing consolidated financial statements, which is included in the Company’s determination of net income or loss.  In addition, the Company’s investment also reflects loans and advances, including amounts accruing thereon, its share of capital transactions, changes in accounting policies and corrections of errors relating to prior period financial statements applicable to post-acquisition periods.  Dividends received or receivable from the Company’s investee reduces the carrying value of the Company’s investment.

Capital leases

Assets qualifying as capital leased assets are initially recorded at the present value of the minimum lease payments, excluding executory costs, including any profit thereon.  In the event that the present value of the minimum lease payments exceeds the fair value of the leased asset at lease inception, the capital asset and lease obligation are recorded at fair value.  Capital leased assets are amortized over the shorter of their estimated useful life or the lease term and are amortized on a straight-line basis.  Capital lease obligations are recorded as long-term debt on the Company’s balance sheet.

Accrued insurance

The Company is self-insured for certain general, auto liability and workers’ compensation claims.  Stop-loss insurance coverage is maintained for claims in excess of $250 or $500, depending on the policy period in which the claim occurred.  Self-insurance accruals are based on reported claims and claims incurred but not reported.  The Company engages independent actuaries in its assessment of insurance accruals and considers its historical claims experience in the determination of its accrued amounts.  Changes in the Company’s claims history, including amounts or frequency, that increase or decrease the insurance accrual are recorded to selling, general and administrative expenses in the Company’s statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss in the period in which the change occurs.  The Company makes various estimates in its determination of its self-insurance accruals.  Changes in these estimates could result in significant changes to accrued insurance amounts.

Landfill closure and post-closure costs

Costs associated with capping, closing and monitoring the landfill, or portions thereof, after it ceases to accept waste are recognized at fair value over the landfill’s operating life, which represents the period over which waste is accepted at the site.  The Company develops estimates for landfill closure and post-closure costs with input from its engineers and landfill and accounting personnel.  Estimates are reviewed at least once annually and consider, amongst other things, various regulations that govern each site.  Revenues derived from the Company’s landfill gas to energy facilities do not reduce the Company’s closure and post-closure cost estimates.

Quoted market prices are not available to fair value landfill closure and post-closure costs.  Accordingly, the Company estimates the fair value of landfill closure and post-closure costs using present value techniques that consider and incorporate assumptions and considerations marketplace participants would use in the determination of these estimates, including inflation, markups, inherent uncertainties due to the timing of work performed, information obtained from third parties, quoted and actual prices paid for similar work and engineering estimates.  Inflation assumptions are based on management’s understanding of current and future economic conditions and the expected timing of expenditures.  An inflation factor of 2.0% (December 31, 2012 — 2.0%) and 2.5% (December 31, 2012 — 2.5%) has been used in the derivation of fair value estimates for the Company’s Canadian and U.S. landfill closure and post-closure cost obligations, respectively.  Fair value estimates are discounted applying the credit adjusted risk free rate, which is the rate of interest that is essentially free of default risk, plus an adjustment for the Company’s credit standing.

The credit adjusted risk free rate considers current and future economic conditions and the expected timing of expenditures.  Accordingly, the Company has discounted landfill closure and post-closure costs using credit adjusted risk free rates between 4.6% and 9.5% in Canada (December 31, 2012 — 4.6% and 9.5%) and 4.5% and 7.2% (December 31, 2012 — 4.5% and 7.2%) in the U.S.  Due to the inherent uncertainty in making these estimates, actual results could differ significantly.  In isolation, a change in the Company’s credit standing does not change previously recorded closure and post-closure obligations, but it would change subsequent fair value calculations.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

Reliable estimates of market risk premiums are not available as there is no existing market for selling the responsibility of landfill closure and post-closure activities.  Accordingly, the Company has excluded any estimate of market risk premiums in the fair value determination of landfill closure and post-closure costs.

Upward revisions to estimated closure and post-closure costs are discounted using the current credit adjusted risk free rate.  Downward revisions to estimated closure and post-closure costs are discounted using the credit adjusted risk free rate when the estimated closure and post-closure costs were originally recorded or a weighted average credit adjusted risk free rate if the period of original recognition cannot be identified.

The Company records the estimated fair value of landfill closure and post-closure cost obligations as airspace is consumed.  The total obligation will be fully accrued, net of accretion, at the time these sites cease to accept waste and are closed.

Accretion represents an increase in the carrying amount of landfill closure and post-closure cost obligations due to the passage of time and is recorded to operating expense in the statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss.  Accretion expense continues to be recognized post waste acceptance.

Maintenance activities including: environmental monitoring, mowing and fertilizing, leachate management, well monitoring, buffer maintenance, landfill gas collection and flaring systems, and other activities, are charged to operating expenses during the sites operating life.  These same costs are estimated and included in the Company’s landfill post-closure accruals which are incurred subsequent to the landfill’s operating life.  Post-closure maintenance activities are generally required for a period of 30 years post waste acceptance.

Income taxes

Deferred income taxes are calculated using the liability method of accounting. Deferred income tax assets and liabilities represent differences between the financial reporting and tax bases of assets and liabilities, and are measured using the enacted tax rates and laws that will be in effect when the differences are expected to reverse.  The effect of a change in tax rates on deferred income tax assets and liabilities is recorded to the statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss in the period in which the change in tax rate occurs.  Unutilized tax loss carryforwards that are not likely to be realized are reduced by a valuation allowance in the determination of deferred income tax assets.  Uncertain tax positions are recognized when it is more likely than not that the tax position will be sustained upon examination based on its technical merits.   The Company recognizes interest and penalties in current income tax expense.

Revenues

Revenues consist primarily of waste collection fees earned from commercial, industrial, municipal and residential (“collection”) customers and transfer and landfill disposal fees charged to third parties.  The Company recognizes revenues when the service is provided, persuasive evidence of an arrangement exists, ultimate collection is reasonably assured and the price is determinable.  The Company’s revenues are not derived from multiple deliverables.  Revenue is recognized upon the collection of waste for collection customers under contractual service agreements.  Revenue earned from transfer and landfill disposal fees charged to third parties is recognized upon the receipt of waste at the Company’s facilities.  The Company also earns revenue from the collection and sale of recycled materials and generation of electric power or methane gas.  Revenue earned from the collection of recycled materials is recognized when materials are collected while revenue recognized on the sale of recycled materials is recognized when the material is delivered to the purchaser.  Revenue earned from the sale of electric power or methane gas is under contract and is recognized when the supply of electricity or methane gas is delivered to the purchaser.

Tax assessed by governmental authorities on revenue-producing transactions between the Company and its customers is excluded from revenues presented in the statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss.

Deferred revenue relates to advance billings under long-term collection contracts or when cash is received prior to the service being performed.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

Acquisitions

The Company accounts for acquisitions using the acquisition method of accounting and allocates the fair value of the consideration transferred, together with the fair value of non-controlling interest, if any, to the fair value of identifiable assets acquired and liabilities assumed.  Goodwill represents the excess of the fair value of consideration, including any amount of non-controlling interest in the acquired company, over the acquisition date fair values of the net assets acquired, subject to certain exceptions.  If aggregate consideration is less than the net assets acquired, a gain is recognized on the date of acquisition.

The measurement and recognition of acquired net assets may require adjustment when information is absent and fair value allocations are presented on an estimated or preliminary basis.  Adjustments to estimated or preliminary amounts occurring not later than one year from the date of acquisition are recorded retrospectively to the purchase price allocation to reflect new information obtained about facts and circumstances that existed at the date of acquisition.

Certain of the Company’s purchase and sale agreements contain contingent consideration provisions which are initially recorded at fair value on the date of acquisition.  For acquisitions completed subsequent to January 1, 2009, purchase price allocation adjustments resulting from contingent consideration provisions are required when additional information is obtained subsequent to the date of acquisition that existed at the date of acquisition.  Purchase price allocation adjustments are permitted, but are limited to the measurement period, which is the earlier of the date on which all facts and circumstances that existed at the date of acquisition are known or are determined to not be obtainable, and one year from the acquisition date.  Changes in events that occur subsequent to the date of acquisition are not permissible measurement period adjustments.  Changes in the fair value of contingent consideration classified as equity are not re-measured, but subsequent settlement is recorded to shareholders’ equity.  A change in the fair value of contingent consideration classified as an asset or liability is measured at fair value and recorded to net income or loss.

Contingent consideration for acquisitions completed prior to January 1, 2009 that could be reasonably estimated at the date of acquisition and the outcome could be determined beyond a reasonable doubt, was recognized at fair value and included in the purchase price allocation.  Consideration which is contingent on maintaining or achieving specified revenue or earnings levels, satisfying representations and warranties, achieving specified tonnage thresholds, in the case of acquired landfills, or receiving approval from regulatory authorities for landfill expansion, is recognized as an adjustment to the purchase price allocation when the contingency is resolved and the additional consideration is issued or becomes issuable.

The acquisition date is the date the Company obtains control and is generally the date the Company obtains legal title to the net assets acquired.  To be recognized at the date of acquisition, assets and liabilities must meet their fundamental definitions.  Contingencies existing before or on the date of acquisition are recognized at their fair values if they can be reliably measured.  The Company recognizes acquisition and related costs in the period incurred and records these costs to selling general and administration expense in the statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss.  Costs associated with the issuance of long-term debt are capitalized to deferred financing costs and amortized over the period of the underlying debt instrument, while equity issue costs are recorded against common shares on the Company’s balance sheet.

Advertising costs

Advertising costs of $3,535 (2012 - $3,515) were expensed as incurred and recorded to selling, general and administration expenses in the statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss.

Royalties

Certain of the Company’s purchase and sale agreements contain provisions that require the Company to make royalty payments.  Royalty payments, including accrued amounts, are recorded to operating expense on the statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss as incurred.

Costs associated with exit activities

The Company records employee termination benefits that represent a one-time benefit accruing to an employee as an expense when management approves and commits to a plan of termination and communicates the termination arrangement to the employee.  Expenses may be recorded in future periods if employees are required to provide future services in order to receive the termination benefits.  A liability for costs to terminate a contract before the end of its term is recognized when the Company

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

terminates the contract.  Other costs associated with an exit activity may include costs to consolidate or close facilities and relocate employees, which are expensed as incurred.

Impairment of long-lived assets

An impairment loss is recognized when events or circumstances indicate that the carrying amount of a long-lived asset is not recoverable and exceeds its fair value.  Management assesses its long-lived assets periodically or more frequently if impairment indicators exist.  Any resulting impairment loss is recorded in the period in which the impairment occurs.

Share based compensation

Share based options

With the exception of stock options assumed on the acquisition of Waste Services, Inc. (“WSI”), the Company has issued all share based options with stock appreciation rights.  Stock appreciation rights give the holder the right to surrender to the Company all or a portion of an option in exchange for cash equal to the excess of the fair market value defined as the closing trading price of a share on the business day immediately preceding the date of surrender over the option’s exercise price.

Stock appreciation rights are measured at fair value on the date of grant and are re-measured at fair value at each balance sheet date until the date of settlement.  The Company considers estimated forfeitures in the determination of fair value.  Changes to estimated forfeitures are recorded as a selling, general and administration expense in the period in which the change occurs.   Changes in the fair value of share based options are also recorded to selling, general and administration expense. The Company has elected to recognize compensation expense on a straight-line basis over the requisite service period for the entire award.

Stock options assumed on the acquisition of WSI were fully vested and measured at fair value on the date of closing.

The Company uses the Black-Scholes-Merton option pricing model which requires several input variables.  These variables include the estimated length of time employees will retain their options before exercising them and the expected volatility of the Company’s share price.  Changes in these variables can materially affect the estimated fair value of share based compensation and, consequently, the related amount recognized in selling, general and administration expense on the statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss.

Restricted shares

Compensation expense for restricted share awards is recognized over the period in which employee services are rendered.  Restricted shares with graded vesting schedules are viewed as separate awards and each is accounted for separately over the employee service period to the date of vesting.  The Company purchases its own shares on the open market and deposits them into a trust account where the share is held for the benefit of the restricted share award recipient.  Restricted shares are initially recorded to shareholders’ equity at the fair value of the shares issued on the date of grant.  The related expense is recorded to selling, general and administration expense as the employee service period is satisfied.

Performance Share Units (“PSUs”)

PSUs have been issued to certain employees of the Company.  PSU awards are subject to meeting a three year service period, subject to certain conditions, and certain three year performance measures, which consist of operating cash flow and return on invested capital.  The fair value of each PSU is based on the expected level of achievement relative to each performance measure and the price of the Company’s shares traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (“TSX”).  The Company’s compensation committee may, in its sole discretion, consider other business circumstances that warrant adjustment to the financial results or targets when assessing the final award amount.  Compensation expense is recognized over the service period based on the fair value of the award at each balance sheet date until the date of vesting.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

The Company uses the Black-Scholes-Merton pricing model to determine the fair value of its PSUs which requires several input variables.   Changes in these variables can have a significant impact on the estimated fair value of PSUs and, consequently, the related amounts accrued on the balance sheet and recognized as compensation expense or recovery in the statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss.  Compensation expense or recovery is based on the change or a portion of the change in the fair value of the PSU at each reporting period multiplied by the percentage of the service period satisfied at the reporting date.  The Company considers the likelihood of achieving each performance measure and recognizes compensation expense only to the extent that it believes the performance measures will be achieved.  If the Company concludes that it is unlikely that its performance measures will be met, the Company will recover any amounts accrued to date and cease recognizing compensation expense until this conclusion is no longer supportable.  In estimating the fair value of the liability the Company also considers current and historical forfeitures.  PSUs are settled in cash and are recorded as liabilities on the Company’s balance sheet.  Changes in the fair value of PSUs are recorded to selling, general and administration expense in the statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss.

Shares held by a rabbi trust

Common shares held in a rabbi trust are classified as treasury shares.  Shares of the Company acquired for the benefit of its U.S. LTIP participants are held in a rabbi trust.  A rabbi trust, as a grantor trust, requires that the assets held in trust be available to satisfy the claims of general creditors in the event of bankruptcy.  The deferred compensation obligation is recorded to restricted shares as a component of shareholders’ equity and subsequent changes in the fair value of the shares are not recognized in either treasury stock or deferred compensation obligations.  As U.S. LTIP participants draw shares from the rabbi trust, both the deferred compensation obligation and shares acquired by the U.S. LTIP reduce by a similar amount.  The rabbi trust holds no other investments.

Financial instruments

Derivatives, including derivatives that are embedded in financial or non-financial contracts that are not closely related to the host contract, subject to certain exceptions, are measured at fair value, even when they are part of a hedging relationship.

Financial instrument gains or losses measured at fair value are recognized in the statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss in the periods in which they arise, with the exception of gains and losses on certain financial instruments that are part of a designated hedging relationship.  Financial instruments are presented as other assets or other liabilities on the Company’s balance sheet.  Gains or losses on financial instruments designated as hedges are recognized in other comprehensive income or loss.

Derivatives are financial instruments or other contracts that embody all of the following characteristics:

·                  their value changes in response to the change in a specified interest rate, financial instrument price, commodity price, foreign exchange rate, index of prices or rates, a credit rating or credit index, or other variable (sometimes called the “underlying”), provided that, in the case of a non-financial variable, the variable is not specific to a party to the contract;

·                  they require no initial net investment or an initial net investment that is smaller than would be required for other types of contracts that would be expected to have a similar response to changes in market factors; and

·                  they are settled at a future date.

The Company enters into various types of derivative financial instruments, which may include some or all of the following: interest rate swaps, commodity swaps, foreign currency exchange agreements or old corrugated cardboard hedges.

Embedded derivatives are components of a hybrid (combined) instrument that also include a non-derivative host contract.  The result is that some of the cash flows of the combined instrument vary in a way similar to a stand-alone derivative.  An embedded derivative causes some or all of the cash flows that would otherwise be required by the contract to be modified according to a specified interest rate, financial instrument price, commodity price, foreign exchange rate, index of prices or rates, a credit rating or credit index, or other variable, provided that, in the case of a non-financial variable, the variable is not specific to a party to the contract.  An embedded derivative is separated from its host contract when all of the following conditions are met:

·                  the economic characteristics and risks of the embedded derivative are not closely related to the economic characteristics and risks of the host contract;

·                  the separated instrument would meet the definition of a derivative; and

·                  the hybrid (combined) instrument is not measured at fair value with changes in fair value recognized in net income.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

The Company has identified an embedded derivative in a wood waste supply agreement.  Any gains or losses on embedded derivatives are recorded in the statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss as a gain or loss on financial instruments and are presented as other assets or other liabilities on the Company’s balance sheet.

Hedges

Hedges modify the Company’s exposure to one or more risks by creating an offset between changes in the fair value of, or the cash flows attributable to, the hedged item and the hedging item.  Hedge accounting ensures that counterbalancing gains, losses, revenues and expenses are recognized in net income or loss in the same period or periods.  In addition, hedge accounting is only applied when gains, losses, revenues and expenses on a hedging item would otherwise be recognized in net income or loss in a different period than the hedged item.

The application of hedge accounting is at the option of the Company; however, hedge accounting can only be applied when, at the inception of the hedging relationship the Company has met or satisfied the following conditions:

·                  the nature of the specific risk exposure or exposures being hedged has or have been identified in accordance with the Company’s objective and strategy;

·                  the Company has designated that hedge accounting will be applied to the hedging relationship; and

·                  the Company has formally documented its risk management objective, its strategy, the hedging relationship, the hedged item, the related hedging item, the specific risk exposure or exposures being hedged, the term of the hedging relationship, and the method for assessing the effectiveness of the hedging relationship.

In addition, both at the inception of the hedging relationship, and throughout its term, the Company has to be reasonably certain that the relationship will be effective and consistent with its originally documented risk management objective and strategy.  Hedge effectiveness represents the extent to which changes in the fair value or cash flows of a hedged item relating to a risk being hedged, and arising during the term of a hedging relationship, are offset by changes in the fair value or cash flows of the corresponding hedging item related to the risk being hedged and arising during the same period.  Accordingly, the effectiveness of the hedging relationship must be reliably measurable, the hedging relationship must be assessed on a regular periodic basis over its term to determine that it has remained, and is expected to continue to be, effective, and in the case of a forecasted transaction, it is probable that the transaction will occur.

Fair value hedges, hedge the exposure to changes in the fair value of: a recognized asset or liability; an unrecognized firm commitment; or, an identified portion of such an asset, liability or firm commitment.  The Company has no fair value hedges.

Cash flow hedges, hedge the exposure to variability of cash flows associated with: a recognized asset or liability; a forecasted transaction; or, a foreign currency risk in an unrecognized firm commitment.  The gain or loss on the hedging item that is determined to be an effective hedge is recognized in other comprehensive income or loss and the ineffective portion of the gain or loss is recognized on the Company’s statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss as a net gain or loss on financial instruments.

The Company discontinues hedge accounting when a hedging relationship ceases to satisfy the conditions of hedge accounting, including: maturity, expiry, sale, termination, cancellation or exercise, of the hedging item or hedged item; the anticipated transaction will not occur within the documented time period or within an additional two month period thereafter; the Company terminates its designation of the hedging relationship; or, the hedging relationship ceases to be effective.  When a hedging item ceases to exist or it is determined that the anticipated transaction will not occur, amounts recognized in other comprehensive income or loss are recognized in net income or loss.  If the Company terminates its designation of the hedging relationship or the hedging relationship ceases to be effective, amounts recorded to other comprehensive income or loss in previous periods are not reversed, while amounts arising subsequently are recorded to the Company’s statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss as a net gain or loss on financial instruments.  Amounts that were recorded to other comprehensive income or loss in previous periods that were not reversed are recorded as a net gain or loss on financial instruments in the same period or periods as the hedged transaction affects net income.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

Foreign currency translation

The Company’s functional currency is the Canadian dollar.  Accordingly, its financial position, results of operations, cash flows and equity are initially consolidated in Canadian dollars.  The Company has concluded that its U.S. segments are self-sustaining foreign operations and these U.S. segments are translated applying the current rate method.  Applying this method, assets and liabilities are translated to Canadian dollars from their functional currency using the exchange rate in effect at the balance sheet date.  Revenues and expenses are translated to Canadian dollars at the average monthly exchange rates.  The resulting translation adjustments are included in other comprehensive income or loss and are only included in net income or loss when the Company realizes a reduction in its foreign operations investment.  Gains or losses on foreign currency balances or transactions that are designated as hedges of a net investment in self-sustaining foreign operations are offset against exchange gains or losses included in other comprehensive income or loss.

The Company has elected to report its financial results in U.S. dollars.  Accordingly, the Company’s balance sheet is translated from Canadian to U.S. dollars at the foreign currency exchange rate in effect at the balance sheet date.  The statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss and statement of cash flows are translated to U.S. dollars applying the average foreign currency exchange rate in effect during the reporting period.  The resulting translation adjustments are included in other comprehensive income or loss.

Disposal of long-lived assets and discontinued operations

Long-lived assets, to be disposed of other than by sale, such as abandonment or exchange for similar productive long-lived assets, are classified as held and used until the disposal transaction occurs.  Long-lived assets held for sale are carried at the lower of their carrying amount or fair value less cost to sell.

4.  Changes in Accounting Policies

Comprehensive Income - Reporting of Amounts Reclassified Out of Accumulated Other Comprehensive Income

In February 2013, the Financial Accounting Standards Board issued amendments to comprehensive income requiring an entity to report the effect of significant reclassifications out of accumulated other comprehensive income on the respective line items in net income if the amount being reclassified is required under U.S. GAAP to be reclassified in its entirety to net income.  For other amounts that are not required under U.S. GAAP to be reclassified in their entirety to net income in the same reporting period, an entity is required to cross-reference other disclosures required under U.S. GAAP that provide additional detail about those amounts.  This would be the case when a portion of the amount reclassified out of accumulated other comprehensive income is reclassified to a balance sheet account instead of directly to income or expense in the same reporting period.  The amendments are effective prospectively for reporting periods beginning after December 15, 2012 with early adoption permitted.  This guidance did not have a significant impact on the Company’s financial statement presentation and disclosure.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

5.  Acquisitions

The following table outlines the number of acquisitions completed by the Company in each business segment for the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012.  Acquisitions may include all of the issued and outstanding share capital of the purchased company or a company’s assets, including various current assets and liabilities.  Each of the acquisitions completed constitutes a business.

	December 31
	2013			2012
	Assets	Shares	Total	Assets	Shares	Total

Canada	1	—	1	4	2	6
U.S. south	2	—	2	7	1	8
U.S. northeast	—	—	—	1	4	5
Total acquisitions	3	—	3	12	7	19

The Company considers each of these acquisitions a “tuck-in”.  Tuck-ins represent the acquisition of solid waste collection and or disposal operations in markets where the Company has existing operations.  Goodwill arising from these tuck-in acquisitions is largely attributable to assembled workforces and to expected synergies resulting from personnel and operating overhead reductions, disposal or collection advantages or the deployment of market focused strategies.  Pro forma revenues and net income for these acquisitions have not been disclosed as the companies acquired are immaterial both individually and in the aggregate.  The financial results of these acquisitions have been included in the Company’s financial statements from their dates of closing.

The payment of contingent consideration, for acquisitions completed prior to 2009, which results from meeting various business performance targets, is also subject to final adjustment.  Final fair value adjustments occurring during the measurement period that change the fair value of certain assets or liabilities are recorded to the original purchase price allocation.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

Cash consideration paid, and its preliminary allocation to the fair value of net assets acquired, is as follows:

	December 31
	2013	2012

Consideration
Cash, including holdbacks (as applicable)	$3,262	$308,314

Net assets acquired
Cash	—	717
Accounts receivable	294	18,176
Intangibles (Note 8)	1,400	79,730
Goodwill (Note 9)	845	146,702
Capital assets	1,288	90,396
Accounts payable	(565)	(17,059)
Long-term debt	—	(2,628)
Remediation liabilities	—	(200)
Deferred income taxes	—	(7,520)
Total net assets acquired	$3,262	$308,314

Consideration by segment (including holdbacks (as applicable))
Canada	$505	$69,271
U.S. south	2,757	145,766
U.S. northeast	—	93,277
Total consideration	$3,262	$308,314

Goodwill recorded by segment
Canada	$371	$28,167
U.S. south	474	71,512
U.S. northeast	—	47,023
Total goodwill	$845	$146,702

Goodwill expected to be deductible for tax purposes	$845	$99,777

	December 31
	2013	2012

Aggregate cash consideration (excluding holdbacks and cash payments due to sellers for achieving various business performance targets)	$2,848	$281,970

Contingent consideration (paid in respect of acquisitions completed prior to January 1, 2009)	$425	$343

Transaction costs (included in selling, general and administration expense)	$781	$2,507

The Company typically holds back a portion of amounts due to sellers subject to the acquired operations meeting various business performance conditions.  These conditions are generally short-term in nature and the Company has assessed the fair value of its obligation for payment as the full amount of the hold back.  In certain circumstances, the Company has also agreed to pay sellers additional amounts for meeting certain business performance targets which are longer in term.  The Company has assessed the fair value of its obligation for payment as the full amount of the additional consideration it expects to pay discounted to the date of

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

acquisition.  Holdback and additional amounts payable for current period acquisitions totaled $414 as at December 31, 2013 (December 31, 2012 - $25,627).

6.  Accounts Receivable - Allowance for Doubtful Accounts

The following table illustrates the change in the Company’s allowance for doubtful accounts for the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012.

	December 31
	2013	2012

Balance, beginning of the year	$5,980	$5,250
Additions, during the year	6,083	5,594
Written-off, uncollectible, during the year	(5,940)	(5,774)
Recoveries, during the year	865	869
Foreign currency translation adjustment, for the year	(131)	41
Balance, end of year	$6,857	$5,980

7.  Restricted Cash

Restricted cash represents cash received from IRB drawings that have been received in advance of incurring expenditures for which the IRBs are made available.  At December 31, 2013, $498 (2012 - $476) of cash is restricted to fund a portion of landfill construction activities and equipment and container expenditures in the Company’s U.S. northeast operations.

8.  Intangibles

	December 31, 2013
	Cost	Accumulated amortization	Net book value	Additions (including adjustments)	Weighted average amortization period of additions (expressed in years)

Customer collection contracts	$235,369	$160,847	$74,522	$74	5.00
Customer lists	243,961	131,112	112,849	1,241	7.50
Non-competition agreements	11,171	4,919	6,252	(315)	3.50
Transfer station permits	27,708	6,973	20,735	—	—
Trade-names	12,598	6,878	5,720	—	—
	$530,807	$310,729	$220,078	$1,000

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

	December 31, 2012
	Cost	Accumulated amortization	Net book value	Additions (including adjustments)	Weighted average amortization period of additions (expressed in years)

Customer collection contracts	$249,308	$150,337	$98,971	$23,675	3.83
Customer lists	247,553	104,833	142,720	42,221	6.60
Non-competition agreements	31,602	20,932	10,670	6,990	4.54
Transfer station permits	34,415	6,837	27,578	5,570	20.00
Trade-names	13,142	5,234	7,908	2,377	3.67
	$576,020	$288,173	$287,847	$80,833

Adjustments to the fair value of certain assets, occurring in the measurement period, and acquired in the prior year, resulted in a $400 decline to non-competition agreements for the year ended December 31, 2013 (2012 - $572 and $531 increase to customer collection contracts and customer lists, respectively).

During the year, the Company requested the revocation of a transfer station permit in Canada and its request was approved by the Ontario Ministry of the Environment.  In conjunction with the revocation, the transfer station permit recorded to intangible assets was immediately impaired.  Accordingly, a $4,074 impairment loss was recorded to amortization expense on the statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss for the year ended December 31, 2013.

Intangible assets are expected to amortize in the next five years and thereafter as follows:

2014	$52,881
2015	42,877
2016	37,545
2017	32,020
2018	16,696
Thereafter	38,059
$220,078

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

9.  Goodwill

The following tables illustrate the change in goodwill for the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012.

	December 31, 2013
	Canada	U.S. south	U.S. northeast	Total

Goodwill, stated at cost	$409,296	$421,108	$459,267	$1,289,671
Accumulated impairment loss	—	—	(360,557)	(360,557)
Balance, beginning of year	409,296	421,108	98,710	929,114
Goodwill recognized on acquisitions, during the year	371	474	—	845
Goodwill adjustments in respect of prior year acquisitions, during the year	272	1,582	—	1,854
Foreign currency exchange adjustment, for the year	(26,466)	—	—	(26,466)

Goodwill, stated at cost	383,473	423,164	459,267	1,265,904
Accumulated impairment loss	—	—	(360,557)	(360,557)
Balance, end of year	$383,473	$423,164	$98,710	$905,347

	December 31, 2012
	Canada	U.S. south	U.S. northeast	Total

Goodwill, stated at cost	$372,596	$350,126	$412,244	$1,134,966
Accumulated impairment loss	—	—	(360,557)	(360,557)
Balance, beginning of year	372,596	350,126	51,687	774,409
Goodwill recognized on acquisitions, during the year	28,167	71,512	47,023	146,702
Goodwill adjustments in respect of prior year acquisitions, during the year	—	(530)	—	(530)
Foreign currency exchange adjustment, for the year	8,533	—	—	8,533

Goodwill, stated at cost	409,296	421,108	459,267	1,289,671
Accumulated impairment loss	—	—	(360,557)	(360,557)
Balance, end of year	$409,296	$421,108	$98,710	$929,114

For the year ended December 31, 2013, goodwill arising from accrued contingent consideration payable to sellers for acquisitions consummated prior to January 1, 2009 amounted to $nil (2012 - $nil).  Adjustments to preliminary purchase price allocations resulted in a $1,429 increase to goodwill (2012 - ($873) decrease to goodwill).

The Company has not disposed of any goodwill or recognized an impairment charge for the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012.

10.  Deferred Financing Costs

	December 31, 2013
	Cost	Accumulated amortization	Net book value

Deferred financing costs	$23,410	$4,373	$19,037

	December 31, 2012
	Cost	Accumulated amortization	Net book value

Deferred financing costs	$21,543	$1,483	$20,060

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

Deferred financing cost amortization for the year ended December 31, 2013 amounted to $3,436 (2012 - $5,665) and is recorded to interest on long-term debt.  For the year ended December 31, 2013, $1,240 of deferred financing costs were written-off in connection with the Company’s repayment of its 2005 Seneca County Industrial Development Agency Variable Rate Demand Solid Waste Disposal Revenue Bond (“2005 Seneca IRB Facility”) (Note 16).  For the year ended December 31, 2012, $11,726 of deferred financing costs were written-off in connection with the Company entering into a consolidated Credit Agreement (Note 16).

Deferred financing costs are expected to amortize in each of the next five years and thereafter as follows:

2014	$3,537
2015	3,537
2016	3,537
2017	3,537
2018	3,035
Thereafter	1,854
$19,037

11. Capital Assets

	December 31, 2013
	Cost	Accumulated amortization	Net book value

Land and improvements	$141,470	$—	$141,470
Buildings and improvements	286,494	64,400	222,094
Vehicles and equipment	859,474	430,154	429,320
Containers and compactors	323,180	186,144	137,036
Furniture, fixtures and computer equipment	32,834	25,502	7,332
	$1,643,452	$706,200	$937,252

	December 31, 2012
	Cost	Accumulated amortization	Net book value

Land and improvements	$146,044	$—	$146,044
Buildings and improvements	251,157	55,100	196,057
Vehicles and equipment	814,371	389,810	424,561
Containers and compactors	325,212	173,314	151,898
Furniture, fixtures and computer equipment	31,653	22,695	8,958
	$1,568,437	$640,919	$927,518

Capitalized interest for the year ended December 31, 2013 amounted to $1,240 (2012 - $391).

At December 31, 2013, assets recorded under capital lease total $705 and $5,117 (2012 - $754 and $3,060) and are recorded in the land and improvements and buildings and improvements capital asset classifications, respectively.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

12.  Landfill Assets

	December 31, 2013
	Cost	Accumulated amortization	Net book value

Landfill assets	$1,614,583	$661,852	$952,731

	December 31, 2012
	Cost	Accumulated amortization	Net book value

Landfill assets	$1,561,567	$597,847	$963,720

Capitalized interest for the year ended December 31, 2013 amounted to $1,989 (2012 - $1,518).

13.  Investments

Investment at cost

In June 2013, the Company acquired a 19.9% non-controlling interest in TerraCycle Canada ULC (“TerraCycle”) for total consideration of 1,035 Canadian dollars (“C$”).  TerraCycle is a Canadian unlimited liability company that offers programs to collect waste and convert the collected waste into a wide range of products and materials.  This investment is accounted for under the cost method of accounting.

Investment in equity accounted investee

The Company has a fifty percent ownership interest in two companies whose business is comprised principally of compactor and related equipment rentals.  The remaining ownership is owned by two trusts.  The Company exercises joint control over its investment through its fifty percent ownership interest.  The Company’s fifty percent ownership interest grants it authority to nominate fifty percent of the directors to the board of the investee.  The Chairperson of the investee’s Board of Directors cannot be nominated by the Company and the Chairperson cannot be a member of the Company’s Board of Directors.  The Chairperson of the investee is entitled to cast a second vote in the event of a tie amongst its board.  Certain matters are beyond the control of the investee’s board and reside with its shareholders.  These matters include certain financing, board composition, the sharing of profits and material business changes.

Effective April 1, 2013, the Company entered into an amending agreement to purchase the remaining fifty percent interest in the investee no later than February 28, 2015, subject to the Company or the seller providing notice of purchase or sale, at an amount equal to the greater of fifty percent of revenues less operating and selling, general and administration expense of the investee for the preceding 12 month period multiplied by six or C$9,000.  Certain conditions can accelerate the purchase or extend the commitment beyond February 28, 2015.

The Company received unsecured promissory notes from its equity accounted investee.  The promissory notes are repayable on demand with no fixed term to maturity.  Interest on the notes accrues at a rate equal to the greater of 5.5%, or the rate which is equal to bank prime plus 2.0% calculated annually, not in advance and payable on maturity.  The promissory notes may be repaid, in whole or in part, at any time, subject to certain restrictions.  See Note 22 for additional information about transactions conducted between the Company and its equity accounted investee.

The following table summarizes the Company’s cost and equity method investments:

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

	December 31, 2013	December 31, 2012

Cost method investment	$973	$—
Equity method investment	4,686	4,062
Total investments	$5,659	$4,062

14.  Other Assets and Other Liabilities

	December 31
	2013	2012

Other assets
Fair value of commodity swaps	$2,819	$1,151
Fair value of commodity swaps designated as cash flow hedges	—	913
Fair value of interest rate swaps	19,199	—
	22,018	2,064
Less current portion of other assets	2,149	1,573
	$19,869	$491

Other liabilities
Fair value of interest rate swaps	$19,733	$3,754
Fair value of wood waste supply agreement	806	—
Fair value of foreign currency exchange agreements	—	80
Deferred lease liabilities	1,220	1,267
Unfavourable lease arrangements	515	552
Contingent acquisition payables	459	1,009
Share based compensation	4,300	1,188
Other	635	843
	27,668	8,693
Less current portion of other liabilities	12,925	2,527
	$14,743	$6,166

15.  Accrued Charges

Accrued charges comprise the following:

	December 31, 2013	December 31, 2012

Insurance	$33,879	$29,040
Payroll and related costs	41,824	28,745
Franchise and royalty fees	9,127	8,653
Interest	876	2,737
Provincial, federal and state sales taxes	6,895	4,542
Acquisition holdbacks and acquisition related costs	2,668	27,834
Environmental surcharges	6,972	7,990
Property taxes	189	141
Share based compensation	7,854	3,730
Other	26,707	18,116
	$136,991	$131,528

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

16.  Long-Term Debt

	December 31
	2013	2012

Senior secured term B facility, net of debt discount $1,948 (2012 - $2,440)	$493,052	$497,560
Senior secured revolving credit	983,481	1,074,712
IRBs	64,000	109,000
Other	7,725	7,005
	1,548,258	1,688,277
Less current portion of long-term debt	5,969	6,907
	$1,542,289	$1,681,370

Consolidated credit agreement

Effective October 24, 2012, the Company entered into a Credit Agreement (the “consolidated facility”) and concurrently repaid all outstanding indebtedness under its pre-existing Canadian and U.S. revolving credit facilities and its series B, senior secured debenture.  The borrower under the consolidated facility is Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd. and the facility is guaranteed by all subsidiaries of the Company, excluding certain subsidiaries as permitted by the consolidated facility.

The consolidated facility is comprised of a $500,000 senior secured term B facility (“term B facility”) and a $1,850,000 senior secured revolving facility (“consolidated revolver”) having maturity dates of October 24, 2019 and October 24, 2017, respectively.  The consolidated facility has a $750,000 accordion feature, which is available subject to certain conditions.  Proceeds from the consolidated facility were used to refinance previously existing indebtedness and may be used for permitted acquisitions, as defined by the agreement, capital expenditures, working capital, letters of credit and for general corporate purposes.  Amounts drawn under the consolidated revolver, plus accrued interest, are repayable in full at maturity.  The term B facility is subject to principal amortization of one percent per annum and payable quarterly commencing in March 2013.  All amounts outstanding under the term B facility, plus accrued interest, are repayable in full at maturity.  The term B facility is also subject to mandatory prepayment if certain conditions exist, which include net cash proceeds from the sale of assets, the issuance of additional indebtedness that does not constitute permitted indebtedness and a percentage of excess cash flow, all of which are subject to various conditions.

The Company is required to provide its consolidated facility lenders with a first priority perfected security interest in all present and future assets of it and its subsidiaries, including all present and future intercompany indebtedness and a pledge of all of the equity interests in each of the Company’s direct and indirect subsidiaries, subject to certain conditions.  Excluded subsidiaries, real estate and certain other equipment are excluded from the first priority perfected security requirement unless requested by the lenders.

The consolidated facility permits a maximum consolidated total funded debt to four-quarter consolidated EBITDA ratio (“leverage ratio”) of four times, as defined therein.  In the event the Company delivers to its lenders a corporate credit rating from Standard & Poor’s or Moody’s of at least BBB-/Baa3 (with a stable outlook or better), the Company may elect to have the security interests of the lenders terminated, provided the term B facility is repaid in full, at which time the maximum leverage ratio declines to three and one half times.  The leverage ratio increases to four and one half times if the Company obtains unsecured indebtedness in an aggregate amount of not less than $250,000 and remains at this ratio for as long as the unsecured indebtedness remains outstanding.  The consolidated facility also requires a minimum four quarter consolidated EBITDA to consolidated interest expense ratio (“interest coverage ratio”) of two and one half times, subject to certain conditions, and two and three quarter times if the Company elects to have the security interests of the lenders terminated.

Effective November 26, 2013, the Company entered into an Amendment to the Credit Agreement which resulted in lower applicable margins on both the term B facility and consolidated revolver drawings and extended the maturity of the consolidated revolver to October 24, 2018.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

Borrowings on the consolidated revolver are available in either U.S. or Canadian dollars.  Applicable margins are dependent on the Company’s leverage ratio.  If an event of default occurs, the applicable margin on all obligations owing under the consolidated facility will increase by 2.0% per annum.  Pricing on the consolidated facility is as follows:

	Term B facility - Euro based loans	Term B facility - U.S. based loans	Consolidated revolver - Euro based loans	Consolidated revolver - Bankers’ Acceptances (“BA”)/BA equivalents	Consolidated revolver - U.S. based/ Canadian prime rate loans	Letters of credit	Commitment fee

Interest rate basis	LIBOR	U.S. base prime	LIBOR	BA or BA equivalents plus 10 basis points	U.S. base or Canadian prime rate
Applicable margin	2.75%	1.75%
Amended applicable margin	2.25%	1.25%
Floor	0.75%
Applicable margin - minimum			1.50%	1.50%	0.50%
Applicable margin - maximum			2.25%	2.25%	1.25%
Applicable margin - first 6 months			2.00%	2.00%	1.00%
Amended applicable margin - minimum			1.25%	1.25%	0.25%
Amended applicable margin - maximum			2.00%	2.00%	1.00%
Fee rate - minimum						1.50%	0.25%
Fee rate - maximum						2.25%	0.50%
Fee rate - first 6 months							0.375%
Frequency of payments	Monthly, in arrears	Quarterly, in arrears	In arrears, for applicable term	In advance, for applicable term	Quarterly, in arrears	Quarterly, in arrears	Quarterly, in arrears

U.S. revolving credit facility

On July 7, 2011, the Company entered into a second amendment to its Amended and Restated Senior Secured Revolving Credit Facility (the “U.S. facility”) on behalf of IESI Corporation (“IESI”), an indirect wholly owned subsidiary of the Company.  Entering into the second amendment increased the total commitment to $1,377,500, from $1,250,000.  Available lending under the amended U.S. facility was $1,122,500, up $45,000 from $1,077,500, and the facility had a $255,000 accordion feature.  Monies from the U.S. facility were available for permitted acquisitions, subject to certain restrictions, capital expenditures, refinancing existing indebtedness, working capital, letters of credit and for general corporate purposes.  All amounts under the U.S. facility were revolving.  Financial covenants under the U.S. facility permitted a maximum total funded debt to rolling four-quarter EBITDA ratio of 4.5 times and a maximum senior secured debt to rolling four-quarter EBITDA ratio of 3.5 times had the Company borrowed an amount no less than $150,000 and loaned these borrowings to IESI.  Other covenants included a minimum rolling four-quarter EBITDA to interest expense ratio of 2.5 times and a capital expenditure maximum of 1.1 times actual deprecation and landfill depletion expense for any fiscal year.  The U.S. facility required that IESI maintain interest rate hedges at fixed rates for at least 40% of the total funded debt, as defined therein.  In addition, the U.S. facility precluded IESI from paying dividends if their funded debt to EBITDA ratio exceeded 3.9 times but increased to 4.4 times had IESI received monies from Company borrowings.  The U.S. facility was also modified to allow IESI to be in compliance with the requirement to maintain interest rate hedges at fixed rates for at least 40% of total funded debt so long as its’ in place interest rate hedges were not more than $10,000 under than the hedging requirement at the 40% test and the test was performed quarterly.  The U.S. facility was to mature on July 2, 2014.

Pricing on the U.S. facility declined on advances drawn by 75 basis points.  Pricing ranged from 175 to 250 basis points over LIBOR for borrowings on LIBOR and 75 to 150 basis points over bank prime for prime rate advances.  Pricing on financial letters of credit were 175 to 250 basis points which represented a decline of 75 basis points from previous pricing points.  Fronting fees of 12.5 basis points on financial letters of credit were payable at all pricing levels.  Standby fees declined by 12.5 basis points and range from 25 to 50 basis points.  All other significant terms remained unchanged.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

In July 2012, the Company exercised a portion of the accordion feature available under the U.S. facility.  Effective July 20, 2012, total availability under the U.S. facility increased to $1,253,600 from $1,122,500.  The accordion feature declined by a like amount from $255,000 to $123,900.  All other significant terms remained unchanged.

Security under the U.S. facility represented an interest over all assets of the U.S. operating companies and a pledge of the U.S. operating entities equity.

Effective October 24, 2012, all amounts outstanding under the U.S. facility were repaid.

Canadian revolving credit facility

Effective July 2, 2010, the Company entered into a Sixth Amended and Restated Credit Facility Agreement in Canada (the “Canadian facility”) on behalf of BFI Canada Inc. (“BFI”), an indirect wholly owned subsidiary of the Company.  Monies from the Canadian facility were available for general corporate purposes, including permitted acquisitions, subject to certain restrictions.  The Canadian facility made available C$525,000 and the total additional availability under the facility (the “accordion feature”) was C$125,000.  All committed monies under the Canadian facility were revolving and the maturity date was July 2, 2014.  Financial covenants included a maximum funded debt to EBITDA ratio, as defined and calculated in accordance with the terms of the Canadian facility, of 3.0 times.  The funded debt to EBITDA ratio covenant expanded to a maximum of 3.25 times for a period of two quarters following the completion of an acquisition which exceeded C$75,000.

Security under the Canadian facility represented a first priority perfected security interest over all personal and real property of the Canadian operating companies and a pledge of the Canadian operating entities equity held by the Canadian parent.

Effective July 15, 2011, the Company entered into an Amending Agreement to its Canadian facility which resulted in a 62.5 basis point decline for advances made under the facility.  Pricing ranged from 50 to 175 basis points over bank prime for borrowings on prime and 150 to 275 basis points over BAs for borrowings on BAs.  Pricing on financial letters of credit decreased by similar amounts and pricing ranged from 150 to 275 basis points.  Standby fees declined by at least 15 basis points, and pricing ranged from 37.5 to 68.8 basis points, while non-financial letters of credit decreased by at least 41.3 basis points and pricing ranged from 100 to 183.3 basis points.  All other significant terms were unchanged.

In July 2012, the Company exercised a portion of the accordion feature available under the Canadian facility.  Effective July 19, 2012, total availability under the Canadian facility increased to C$595,000 from C$525,000.  The accordion feature declined by a like amount from C$125,000 to C$55,000.  All other significant terms remained unchanged.

Effective October 24, 2012, all amounts outstanding under the Canadian facility were repaid.

Details of outstanding debt - credit facilities

	December 31
	2013	2012

Term B facility
Amount drawn	$495,000	$500,000
Interest rate applicable	3.00%	3.50%

Consolidated revolver
Amount drawn	$983,481	$1,074,712
Letters of credit	$196,909	$183,767
Available	$669,610	$591,521
Amount drawn - Euro based loan	$463,250	$543,000
Interest rate applicable - Euro based loan	1.99%	2.21%
Amount drawn - BAs	$512,410	$527,691
Interest rate applicable - BAs	3.03%	3.28%
Amount drawn - U.S. based loan	$5,000	$—
Interest rate applicable - U.S. based loan	4.00%	—
Amount drawn - Canadian prime rate loan	$2,821	$4,021
Interest rate applicable - Canadian prime rate loan	3.75%	4.00%
Commitment - rate applicable	0.375%	0.375%

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

IRBs

The Company entered into the following IRB facilities which are available to fund a portion of landfill construction activities and equipment, vehicle and container expenditures at its Seneca Meadows landfill and in its Pennsylvania and Texas operations: 2005 Seneca IRB Facility, Pennsylvania Economic Development Corporation IRB (“PA IRB Facility”), Mission Economic Development Corporation IRB (“TX IRB Facility”) and 2009 Seneca County Industrial Development Agency IRB (“2009 Seneca IRB Facility”).

IRB Facility	Date entered	Term, expressed in years	Maturity	Availability	Interest rate basis	Frequency of interest payments	Date interest payments commenced	Security

2005 Seneca IRB Facility(*)	Oct. 20, 2005	30	Oct. 1, 2035	$45,000	LIBOR less an applicable discount	Monthly, in arrears	Nov. 1, 2005	Guaranteed by IESI
PA IRB Facility	Nov. 16, 2006	22	Nov. 1, 2028	$35,000	LIBOR less an applicable discount	Monthly, in arrears	Dec. 1, 2006	Letter of credit equal to amount drawn
TX IRB Facility	Mar. 1, 2007	15	Apr. 1, 2022	$24,000	LIBOR less an applicable discount	Monthly, in arrears	May. 1, 2007	Letter of credit equal to amount drawn
2009 Seneca IRB Facility	Dec. 1, 2009	30	Dec. 31, 2039	$5,000	Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association Municipal Swap Index	Monthly, in arrears	Feb. 1, 2010	Letter of credit equal to amount drawn

IRB Facility Amendment	Amendment date	Amended interest rate basis	Term for amended interest rate basis, expressed in years

2005 Seneca IRB Facility(*)	Aug. 1, 2008	Fixed rate	5

Note:

(*) Effective October 1, 2013, the Company provided notice to cancel its outstanding $45,000 2005 Seneca IRB facility and repaid the balance in full.  The Company drew on its consolidated revolver to repay the 2005 Seneca IRB Facility.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

	December 31
	2013	2012

2005 Seneca IRB Facility
Amount drawn	$—	$45,000
Annual interest rate	—	6.625%

PA IRB Facility
Amount drawn	$35,000	$35,000
Current daily interest rate	0.07%	0.14%

TX IRB Facility
Amount drawn	$24,000	$24,000
Current daily interest rate	0.07%	0.13%

2009 Seneca IRB Facility
Amount drawn	$5,000	$5,000
Amount restricted	$498	$476
Current daily interest rate	0.08%	0.14%

Series B, senior secured debenture (“debenture”)

Date issued	June 25, 2004
Amount issued (in Canadian dollars)	$58,000
Interest rate	7.015%
Maturity date	June 26, 2014
Frequency of interest payments	Quarterly, in arrears
Date interest payments commenced	September 26, 2004
Covenants	Same as Canadian facility

The debenture was redeemable in whole or in part from time to time at a price equal to the greater of par and the net present value of all scheduled payments of interest and principal using a discount rate equivalent to the sum of the Government of Canada Yield plus a margin.  The debenture was secured by a charge over all the personal and real property of BFI, Ridge (Chatham) Holdings G.P. Inc., and Ridge (Chatham) Holdings L.P. and the shares of BFI and its subsidiaries.  The debenture ranked equally with the Company’s Canadian revolving credit facility.

On October 24, 2012, the Company redeemed the debenture in full in accordance with the redemption provisions.

Loss on extinguishment of debt — 2005 Seneca IRB facility, debenture and U.S. and Canadian facilities

	December 31
	2013	2012

Excess over principal of cash paid for redemption of debenture	$—	$5,198
Write-off of deferred financing costs	1,240	11,726
Loss on extinguishment of debt	$1,240	$16,924

Other

In connection with the WSI acquisition, the Company assumed a note that was originally payable to WCA of Florida LLC (“WCA”) and subsequently assigned to Credit Suisse.  The note has an original issue date of June 29, 2007 and was originally issued for $10,500.  The note is non-interest bearing and requires payments of $125 per month until its maturity in June 2014.  The note was entered into as part of a transaction between WSI and WCA to acquire certain WCA assets in Florida and to sell certain WSI operations in Texas.  The note is secured by the WCA assets acquired.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

At December 31, 2013 and 2012, the Company has capital lease obligations of $7,118 (2012 - $4,889) with maturities and interest rates ranging from 2020 to 2025 and 5.00% to 24.80%, respectively.  Future minimum lease payments required under capital lease obligations in each of the next five years ending December 31 and thereafter are as follows:

2014	$1,135
2015	1,176
2016	1,220
2017	1,266
2018	1,314
Thereafter	5,685
11,796
Less amount representing interest	4,678
Present value of minimum capital lease obligations	$7,118

Consolidated long-term debt

The Company is subject to various covenants and restrictions included in its long-term debt financing agreements.  At December 31, 2013 and 2012 the Company is in compliance with all covenants and restrictions included in this agreement.

Interest on long-term debt amounted to $60,754 (2012 - $57,428) and includes the amortization of deferred financing and debt discount costs but excludes capitalized interest.

Principal repayments, excluding capital lease obligations, required in each of the next five years ending December 31, and thereafter are as follows:

2014	$5,275
2015	4,666
2016	4,666
2017	4,666
2018	988,148
Thereafter	533,719
$1,541,140

17.  Landfill Closure and Post-Closure Costs

The tables below outline key assumptions used to determine the value of landfill closure and post-closure costs.  The tables also outline the expected timing of undiscounted landfill closure and post-closure expenditures and changes to landfill closure and post-closure costs between periods.

December 31, 2013
Fair value of legally restricted assets (funded landfill post-closure costs)	$10,690
Undiscounted closure and post-closure costs	$672,245
Credit adjusted risk-free rates - Canadian segment landfills	4.6 - 9.5%
Credit adjusted risk-free rates - U.S. segment landfills	4.5 - 7.2%
Expected timing of undiscounted landfill closure and post-closure expenditures
2014	$10,332
2015	10,853
2016	14,149
2017	8,385
2018	14,817
Thereafter	613,709
$672,245

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

	December 31
	2013	2012

Landfill closure and post-closure costs, beginning of the year	$113,152	$101,502
Provision for landfill closure and post-closure costs, during the year	11,796	13,925
Accretion of landfill closure and post-closure costs, during the year	5,655	5,240
Landfill closure and post-closure expenditures, during the year	(4,276)	(6,737)
Landfill closure and post-closure costs and remediation liabilities acquired, during the year	—	200
Revisions to estimated cash flows, during the year	517	(1,630)
Foreign currency translation adjustment, for the year	(2,390)	652
	124,454	113,152
Less current portion of landfill closure and post-closure costs	10,332	8,871
Landfill closure and post-closure costs, end of year	$114,122	$104,281

The Company is required to deposit monies into a social utility trust for the purpose of settling post-closure costs at its Lachenaie landfill.  The funding amount is established by the Quebec Government based on each cubic metre of waste accepted and payment is due quarterly.  At December 31, 2013, funded landfill post-closure costs, representing the fair value of legally restricted assets, totals $10,690 (2012 - $9,885).  At December 31, 2013, $10,333 (2012 - $9,782) was deposited into the social utility trust with the balance, $357 (2012 - $103) remaining unfunded and included in accounts payable.

18.  Shareholders’ Equity

Shareholders’ equity

The Company is authorized to issue an unlimited number of common, special and preferred shares, issuable in series.

Common Shares

Effective August 21, 2013, the Company received approval for a normal course issuer bid (“NCIB”) to purchase up to 7,500 of the Company’s common shares during the period that expires on August 20, 2014.  Daily purchases are limited to a maximum of 52.651 shares on the Toronto Stock Exchange.  Once a week, the Company is permitted to purchase a block of common shares which can exceed the daily purchase limit, as long as the block is not owned by an insider.  All shares purchased will be cancelled.

For the year ended December 31, 2013, no common shares (2012 - 3,155) were purchased and cancelled at a total cost of $nil (2012 - $65,633).  As of February 13, 2014, no additional common shares have been purchased and settled.

For the year ended December 31, 2013, 9 stock options (2012 — 28) were exercised for total consideration of $112 (2012 - $403).

At December 31, 2013, 480 (2012 — 691) common shares were held in a rabbi trust for U.S. LTIP participants.

Special Shares

The Company is authorized to issue an unlimited number of special shares.  Special shareholders are entitled to one vote in matters of the Company for each special share held.  The special shares carry no right to receive dividends or to receive the remaining property or assets of the Company upon dissolution or wind-up.  At December 31, 2013 and 2012, no special shares are issued.

Preferred Shares

The Company is authorized to issue an unlimited number of preferred shares, issuable in series.  At December 31, 2013 and 2012, no preferred shares are issued.  Each series of preferred shares issued shall have rights, privileges, restrictions and conditions as determined by the Board of Directors prior to their issuance.  Preferred shareholders are not entitled to vote, but take preference over the common shareholders rights in the remaining property and assets of the Company in the event of dissolution or wind-up.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

Details of common and restricted shares for the year ended December 31, 2013 are as follows:

	December 31
	2013	2012

Common shares
Common shares issued and outstanding, beginning of the year	114,994	118,041
Common shares issued on exercise of options, during the year	9	28
Repurchase of common shares, during the year	—	(3,155)
Restricted common shares purchased, during the year	(218)	(50)
Restricted common shares forfeited, during the year	8	23
Restricted common shares vested, during the year	60	107
Common shares issued and outstanding, end of year	114,853	114,994

Restricted common shares
Restricted common shares issued and outstanding, beginning of year	172	252
Restricted common shares purchased, during the year	218	50
Restricted common shares forfeited, during the year	(8)	(23)
Restricted common shares vested, during the year	(60)	(107)
Restricted common shares issued and outstanding, end of year	322	172

Accumulated other comprehensive loss

Accumulated other comprehensive loss, is comprised of accumulated foreign currency translation adjustments, including accumulated exchange gains or losses on intangibles, goodwill and capital and landfill assets, partially offset by accumulated exchange losses or gains on long-term debt, landfill closure and post-closure costs, and deferred income tax liabilities.  Accumulated other comprehensive loss also includes gains or losses recognized on the effective portion of derivatives designated as cash flow hedges, net of income tax and settlements.

	Foreign currency translation adjustment	Derivatives designated as cash flow hedges, net of income tax	Accumulated other comprehensive loss
December 31, 2013
Balance, beginning of year	$(48,292)	$176	$(48,116)
Other comprehensive loss before reclassifications, during the year	(33,181)	(1,051)	(34,232)
Amounts reclassified from accumulated other comprehensive loss, during the year	—	457	457
Balance, end of year	$(81,473)	$(418)	$(81,891)

December 31, 2012
Balance, beginning of year	$(59,994)	$(1,757)	$(61,751)
Other comprehensive income (loss) before reclassifications, during the year	11,702	(1,236)	10,466
Amounts reclassified from accumulated other comprehensive loss, during the year	—	3,169	3,169
Balance, end of year	$(48,292)	$176	$(48,116)

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

Net income per share

The following table presents net income and reconciles the weighted average number of shares outstanding at December 31, 2013 and 2012 for the purpose of computing basic and diluted net income per share.

	December 31
	2013	2012

Net income	$117,970	$94,357

Weighted average number of shares, basic	115,170	116,178
Dilutive effect of share based options	—	—
Weighted average number of shares, diluted	115,170	116,178

Net income per weighted average share, basic and diluted	$1.02	$0.81
Issued and outstanding share based options	2,639	2,687

Share based options are anti-dilutive to the calculation of net income or loss per share and have been excluded from the calculation of net income per share.

19.  Changes in Non-Cash Working Capital Items

The following table outlines changes in non-cash working capital items:

	December 31
	2013	2012

Accounts receivable	$9,704	$(8,683)
Prepaid expenses	3,876	(7,278)
Accounts payable	(8,886)	(24,964)
Accrued charges	5,049	(18,595)
Income taxes recoverable and payable	459	(11,635)
Deferred revenues	(1,822)	1,357
Effect of foreign currency translation adjustments and other non-cash changes	3,150	1,141
	$11,530	$(68,657)

20.  Share Based Compensation

Share based options (“options”) are granted to certain directors, officers or management employees at the discretion of the Company’s Board of Directors, or its designate.  Options, in the absence of any other determination, vest and become exercisable equally on their first, second, third and fourth anniversary dates and expire on the 10th anniversary date of the grant.  The Company has reserved 4,000 shares for issuance under the option plan.  The exercise date of options may be accelerated at the discretion of the Board of Directors, or its designate.  On termination of employment without cause, death or disability, the options vest and become immediately exercisable and are not transferable or assignable.

The Company periodically grants restricted shares.  Restricted shares represent incentives for certain management (“employees” or “management”) in respect of their employment with the Company and to align the interests of management with the interests of the Company’s shareholders.  Restricted shares vest when the employee has satisfied the requisite service period.  Management forfeits their right to restricted shares upon termination for cause or resignation without good reason.  Accelerated vesting occurs in certain circumstances, including termination without cause or resignation for good reason, change of control, and death and disability.  Dividends received by the trustee, on restricted shares held for the benefit of management, are paid to the employee.  The employee’s interest in restricted shares cannot be assigned or transferred.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

The Company grants share based awards to management as part of its LTIP.  The 2012 annual LTIP award granted PSUs.  Starting in 2013, the Company introduced a combination of options, restricted shares and PSUs.

Options

On March 26, 2013, as part of the current year LTIP, the Board of Directors issued 176 options, all of which have stock appreciation rights, to various executives of the Company.  The options vest and are exercisable on March 25, 2016.  The grant date market value of the Company’s common shares and exercise price of the options was C$21.35.  Unexercised options expire on March 25, 2023.

On August 20, 2012, the Board of Directors issued 210 share based options, all of which have stock appreciation rights, to one executive of the Company.  The options vest and are exercisable on December 31, 2016.  The options have an exercise price of C$20.29 and a grant date market value of C$20.01.  On termination of employment without cause, death or disability, the options vest and become immediately exercisable.  Unexercised options expire on December 31, 2021.

	December 31
	2013		2012
	Number of options	Weighted average exercise price	Number of options	Weighted average exercise price

Outstanding, beginning of year	2,687	$23.59	2,505	$23.28
Granted, during the year	176	$21.00	210	$20.51
Exercised, during the year(*)	(224)	$(19.70)	(28)	$(14.42)
Forfeited, during the year	—	$—	—	$—
Expired, during the year	—	$—	—	$—
Outstanding, end of year	2,639	$22.36	2,687	$23.59
Options outstanding, exercisable	2,253		2,477
Weighted average grant date market value	$20.67		$22.28
Weighted average remaining contractual life (expressed in years)	4.0		5.1

Note:

(*)Includes the exercise of share appreciation rights.

	December 31
	2013	2012

Share based compensation expense (recovery)	$6,142	$(110)
Unrecognized compensation costs for options	$1,556	$1,070
Share based compensation accrued	$7,854	$3,730

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

The Company uses the Black-Scholes-Merton option pricing model which requires several input variables.  These variables include the estimated length of time employees will retain their options before exercising them and the expected volatility of the Company’s share price.  Changes in these variables can materially affect the estimated fair value of share based compensation and, consequently, the related amount recognized in selling, general and administration expense on the statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss.  In calculating the fair value of the options at December 31, 2013 and 2012, the following weighted average assumptions were used:

	2013	2012

Grant date - February 14, 2006
Dividend yield	2.3%	2.8%
Expected volatility	15.8%	16.9%
Risk free interest rate	1.0%	1.0%
Expected remaining life, stated in years	1.1	0.7
Fair value, per option (in Canadian dollars)	$0.62	$0.01

Grant date - August 25, 2008
Dividend yield	2.3%	2.8%
Expected volatility	19.8%	22.2%
Risk free interest rate	1.2%	1.0%
Expected remaining life, stated in years	2.1	1.2
Fair value, per option (in Canadian dollars)	$6.20	$2.50

Grant date - January 9, 2009
Dividend yield	—	2.8%
Expected volatility	—	23.8%
Risk free interest rate	—	1.1%
Expected remaining life, stated in years	—	1.5
Fair value, per option (in Canadian dollars)	$—	$2.82

Grant date - November 11, 2010
Dividend yield	2.3%	2.8%
Expected volatility	19.7%	22.2%
Risk free interest rate	1.2%	1.1%
Expected remaining life, stated in years	2.0	3.0
Fair value, per option (in Canadian dollars)	$3.57	$2.26

Grant date - August 20, 2012
Dividend yield	2.3%	2.8%
Expected volatility	19.8%	36.4%
Risk free interest rate	1.5%	1.2%
Expected remaining life, stated in years	3.3	4.3
Fair value, per option (in Canadian dollars)	$6.26	$5.56

Grant date - March 26, 2013
Dividend yield	2.3%	—
Expected volatility	21.1%	—
Risk free interest rate	1.7%	—
Expected remaining life, stated in years	4.0	—
Fair value, per option (in Canadian dollars)	$6.01	$—

Compensation expense or recovery including fair value changes in share based options are recorded to selling, general and administration expense on the statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss.  To determine the expected life of the options, management considered the age of the recipients and duration between the vesting date and date of expiration.  Expected volatility was calculated using changes in monthly share prices for a period commensurate with the expected remaining life.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

Restricted shares

During the year, the Company issued 218 restricted shares at a weighted average cost of $21.32 per share to certain executives.  In conjunction with the restricted share issuance, the Company purchased 218 common shares for total cash consideration of $4,643 and transferred these shares to a trust to be held for the benefit of the recipients.  The restricted shares have vesting dates as follows:  2 restricted shares on December 15, 2013, 2.5 restricted shares on December 15, 2014, 13 restricted shares on December 15, 2015, 133.5 restricted shares on March 25, 2016, 1 restricted share on June 17, 2016, 1.5 restricted shares on July 2, 2016, 4.5 restricted shares on August 12, 2016 and 60 restricted shares on December 15, 2016.

In September 2013, 8 restricted shares previously awarded to one employee were forfeited.  In conjunction with the forfeiture, the Company sold 8 restricted shares for total cash proceeds of $181.  The forfeiture resulted in a $94 recovery of previously recognized restricted share expense.

On August 24, 2012, the Company issued 50 restricted shares at a weighted average cost of C$19.95 per share to one executive.  In conjunction with the restricted share issuance, the Company purchased 50 common shares for total cash consideration of C$998 and transferred these shares to a trust to be held for the benefit of the recipient.  The restricted shares issued have a vesting date of December 1, 2014.

In September 2012, 23 restricted shares previously awarded to two employees were forfeited.  As a result of the forfeiture, the Company sold 23 restricted shares for total cash proceeds of $456.  Additionally, 23 restricted shares previously awarded on September 12, 2011 to these same employees were modified.  The vesting date for the modified awards was December 31, 2012, subject to the achievement of certain performance conditions.  The changes resulted in a $663 recovery of previously recognized restricted share expense.

The following table outlines various details pertaining to restricted shares.

	December 31
	2013	2012

Outstanding, beginning of year	172	252
Granted, during the year	218	50
Vested, during the year	(60)	(107)
Forfeited, during the year	(8)	(23)
Outstanding, end of year	322	172
Weighted average remaining life	1.97	1.74
Restricted share expense	$2,004	$2,034

Restricted share expense is recorded to selling, general and administration expense on the statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss.

If employees satisfy the requisite service period requirements, the Company will record compensation expense in the following years as follows:

2014	$1,892
2015	1,422
2016	622
$3,936

PSUs

In March 2012, the Company’s Compensation Committee approved a revised LTIP plan for all executive officers and certain employees effective January 1, 2012.  Under the revised plan, PSU payments are awarded at the end of a three year performance period and payment amounts can range from 0% to 175% of the target award subject to the Company’s performance against pre-established performance measures.  These performance measures are recommended by executive management and submitted to the Compensation Committee for their approval.  In addition to these performance measures, the Compensation Committee may evaluate performance results and retains the authority and discretion to amend PSU payments.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

PSU award payments are paid in lump sum cash amounts based on the volume weighted average trading price of the Company’s shares for the five trading days immediately preceding the vesting date.  A participant who voluntarily terminates employment or is terminated with cause prior to the date of payment forfeits all rights to, or interest in, any unvested award.  If a participant’s employment is terminated without cause, or by death, disability or retirement, after the mid-point of the performance period, the participant shall be entitled to the full amount of the participant’s unvested PSUs and related dividend PSUs.  If a participant’s employment is terminated without cause, or by death, disability or retirement, prior to the mid-point of the performance period, the participant shall be entitled to a pro-rated amount of the award that the Compensation Committee determines would have been paid to the participant had their employment continued to the end of the performance period.  Starting in 2013, if a participant’s employment is terminated without cause, the participant is entitled to a pro-rata amount of the award that the Compensation Committee determines would have been paid to the participant had their employment continued to the end of the performance period.  If a participant is disabled, dies or meets certain qualifying conditions upon retirement, the participant is entitled to be paid the full amount of the PSU award had the participant continued employment to the end of the three year performance period.

The following table outlines details of the Company’s PSU’s:

	December 31
	2013		2012
		Weighted
		average grant		Weighted
	Number of	date fair	Number of	average grant
	PSUs	value	PSUs	date fair value

Outstanding, beginning of year	333	$20.04	—	$—
Granted, during the year	187	$19.55	333	$20.04
Vested, during the year	—		—
Forfeited, during the year	(13)		—
Outstanding, end of year	507	$19.87	333	$20.04

	December 31
	2013	2012
PSU expense	$3,222	$1,185
Unrecognized compensation cost for PSU’s	$4,061	$2,218
PSU compensation cost accrued	$4,300	$1,188

In calculating the fair value of the PSU’s, the following weighted average assumptions were used:

	December 31
	2013	2012

Grant date - March 16, 2012
Dividend yield	2.3%	2.8%
Expected volatility	16.2%	21.1%
Risk free interest rate	1.0%	1.1%
Expected remaining life, stated in years	1.0	2.0
Fair value per PSU (in Canadian dollars)	$25.68	$20.32

Grant date - March 26, 2013
Dividend yield	2.3%	—
Expected volatility	19.1%	—
Risk free interest rate	1.2%	—
Expected remaining life, stated in years	2.2	—
Fair value per PSU (in Canadian dollars)	$24.96	$—

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

Compensation expense includes fair value changes for PSU’s which are recorded to selling, general and administration expense on the statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss.

Long-term incentive plan — pre 2012

Effective January 1, 2003, the Company entered into a trust (the “Trust”) agreement to establish a long-term incentive plan on behalf of certain Canadian employees, officers and directors.  The purpose of the Trust is to receive monies from the Company and its subsidiaries on behalf of certain Canadian employees, officers and directors to purchase shares of the Company in the open market and to hold the shares acquired for the benefit of its participants.  Shares remain registered in the name of the Company, the Trustee, or its nominee(s), until the shares are redeemed, sold or distributed to the participant for whom they are held.  Dividends received by the Trust are distributed to the participants in proportion to their pro rata entitlement.  The Company’s maximum exposure to loss is limited to its obligation to fund the administration of the Trust and its indemnity to the Company and its officers, directors, employees, agents or shareholders for various items including, but not limited to, all costs to settle suits or actions due to association with the Trust, subject to certain restrictions.  The risk of fluctuations in the price of the Company’s shares is borne by the participants.  In February 2006, the Company amended and restated its long-term incentive plan and established a long-term incentive plan on behalf of certain U.S. employees, officers and directors of IESI and its subsidiaries.  With the exception of changes to the vesting period, the terms of the long-term incentive plan remained principally unchanged.  Shares acquired by the Trust in respect of fiscal year ended December 31, 2004 for the benefit of its participants have vested.  Shares acquired by the Trust in respect of fiscal year ended December 31, 2005, and thereafter, vest as follows: one third on the day such shares are allocated to the participant, one third on December 31 of the year such shares are allocated to the participant, and the balance on December 31 of the subsequent year.  Shares that are forfeited by participants to the long-term incentive plan are allocated to the remaining participants in accordance with their proportional entitlement to all of the shares held by the Trust and the Trust will abstain from voting on all matters related to the Company.  The purpose and terms of the U.S. long-term incentive plan are consistent with those outlined for the Company’s amended and restated Canadian plan.  In 2013 and 2012, contributions to the long-term incentive plan were determined at the discretion of the Compensation Committee.  Included in selling, general and administration expenses are $1,347 (2012 - $1,342) of accrued amounts payable to the Trust on behalf of certain Canadian and U.S. employees at December 31, 2013.

21.  Commitments and Contingencies

The Company leases buildings and equipment under various operating leases.  Payments for the next five years ending December 31 and thereafter are as follows:

2014	$12,819
2015	12,271
2016	10,763
2017	7,421
2018	5,875
Thereafter	14,162
$63,311

The Company is the successor to a license agreement to use the trade name “BFI” and the related logo which is subject to certain restrictions.  The agreement was amended on February 22, 2002, whereby a one-time payment of C$2,000 was made on April 25, 2002 in full satisfaction of all royalty obligations under the license agreement payable through June 1, 2015 (the initial 15-year term).  The Company has two additional 10 year extension options.  The first and second 10 year extension options bear per annum costs of C$600 and C$1,500, respectively.

The Company enters into various commitments in the normal course of business.  At December 31, 2013, the Company has issued letters of credit amounting to $196,909 (2012 - $183,767) and performance bonds totaling $372,412 (2012 - $383,391).  Letters of credit are made available to the Company through the consolidated facility and are included in the security offered by the Company to its lenders.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

On the acquisition of IESI, the Company assumed various obligations which requires the Company to pay additional amounts for achieving certain negotiated events or business performance targets, including landfill expansion approval or target disposal volumes.  The Company is obligated to pay certain sellers various amounts for achieving certain negotiated disposal volumes to a maximum of approximately $6,000.  Amounts are accrued monthly, and paid from time to time in accordance with underlying agreements, until certain threshold negotiated disposal volume targets are achieved, and the maximum obligation is satisfied.  Accrued amounts, which are paid up to the date the disposal volume threshold targets are met, reduce the threshold payment by a similar amount.  The Company will record an adjustment to the purchase price allocation when the contingency is resolved and consideration is issued or becomes issuable.  Landfill permits acquired on the acquisition of IESI were recorded at their fair values.  Accordingly, future contingent payments made, in respect of landfill expansion approval or fulfilling disposal volume targets, are recorded to goodwill.

The Company has a disposal contract that requires it to meet specific disposal volume targets which expires on March 31, 2019.  The volume requirements are measured based on an annual average.  In the event the Company does not meet the required volume targets, the Company is required to make additional payments on the disposal volume shortfall.  At December 31, 2013, the Company expects to meet its disposal volume target and accordingly no accrual has been made.

The Company has an accrued environmental liability of $13,446 (2012 - $14,256) recorded in landfill closure and post-closure costs, related principally to an inactive landfill (hereinafter referred to as “Tantalo”), which the Company assumed as part of the IESI acquisition.  The Tantalo environmental liability consists of remediation and 30 years of post-closure monitoring totaling $13,446 (2012 - $14,215).  The initial remediation work commenced in 2004, and the post-closure monitoring commenced in 2007.  Tantalo is a landfill that stopped accepting waste in 1976 and has been identified by the State of New York as an “Inactive Hazardous Waste Disposal Site”. During its period of operation, Tantalo received both municipal and industrial waste, some of which was found to exhibit “hazardous” characteristics as defined by the U.S. Resource Conservation and Recovery Act.  Past activities at Tantalo have resulted in the release of hazardous wastes into the groundwater.  A remediation program was developed for Tantalo in conjunction with the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation. The remediation program includes: installation of groundwater barriers, protective liner caps, leachate and gas collection systems, and storm-water drainage controls, as well as methods to accelerate the decontamination process. The cost of remediation requires a number of assumptions and estimates which are inherently difficult to estimate, and the outcome may differ materially from current estimates.  However, management believes that its experience provides a reasonable basis for estimating its liability.  As additional information becomes available, estimates are adjusted as applicable.  It is possible that technological, regulatory or enforcement developments, the results of environmental studies, or other factors could necessitate the recording of additional liabilities which could be material.  The estimated environmental remediation liabilities have not been reduced for possible recoveries from other potentially responsible third parties.

The Company is subject to certain lawsuits and other claims arising in the ordinary course of business.  The outcome of these matters is subject to resolution.  Based on management’s evaluation and analysis of these matters, the amounts of potential losses are accrued and management believes that any amount above the amounts accrued will not be material to the financial statements.

Purchase agreements

In April 2007, WSI acquired a company that owns a permit to construct a construction and demolition waste transfer station on land owned by it in Bradenton, Florida.  An additional payment of $2,500 is due to the sellers upon the transfer of the company or the property to any non-affiliate of WSI or upon obtaining all necessary permits to operate the transfer station.

At December 31, 2013, future minimum payments under an unconditional capital expenditure commitment totals approximately C$12,400 (2012 - $19,600).

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

22.  Related Party Transactions

Lease

The Company leases office space that was owned by one of its former directors.

Equity accounted investee

Transactions between the Company and its investee have all been transacted in the normal course of business.  These transactions are the result of the investee billing the Company for services it provides to the Company.  In turn, the Company bills its customers for this service which is measured at the exchange amount.  Transactions between the Company and its investee only reflect the Company’s share of the transaction.

Transportation services

A company owned by an officer of a BFI subsidiary provides transportation services to the Company.

All related party transactions are recorded at the exchange amounts.

Lease
Year lease commenced	2004
Lease expiry date	September 30, 2014
Approximate annual lease cost (in Canadian dollars, recorded to selling, general and administration expenses)	$320

	December 31
	2013	2012
Investment in equity accounted investee
Charges (recorded to operating expenses)	$553	$267
Amounts owing to equity investee (included in accounts payable)	$44	$32
Unsecured promissory note issued December 6, 2010 (in Canadian dollars)	$750	$750
Unsecured promissory note issued October 1, 2013 (in Canadian dollars)	$750	—
Interest income (recorded to interest expense)	$40	$41

Transportation services
Charges (recorded to operating expenses)	$3,788	$3,714
Amounts owing (included in accounts payable)	$70	$63

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

23.  Financial Instruments

The following table categorizes the Company’s derivative financial assets and liabilities and their fair values which are recorded as other assets or other liabilities on the Company’s balance sheet.

	December 31, 2013	December 31, 2012
Financial assets
Derivatives not designated in a hedging relationship
Current - commodity swaps	$2,149	$660
Long-term - commodity swaps	$670	$491
Long-term - interest rate swaps	$19,199	$—

Derivatives designated in a hedging relationship
Current - commodity swaps	$—	$913

Financial liabilities
Derivatives not designated in a hedging relationship
Current - interest rate swaps	$9,863	$2,447
Long-term - interest rate swaps	$9,870	$1,307
Current - foreign currency exchange agreements	$—	$80
Current - wood waste supply agreement	$208	$—
Long-term - wood waste supply agreement	$598	$—

The following tables outline the hierarchical measurement categories for various financial assets and liabilities. As at December 31, 2013 and December 31, 2012, financial assets and liabilities measured on a recurring basis had the following fair values expressed on a gross basis:

	December 31, 2013
	Quoted prices in active markets for identical assets (Level 1)	Significant other observable inputs (Level 2)	Significant unobservable inputs (Level 3)	Total

Cash and cash equivalents	$31,980	$—	$—	$31,980
Funded landfill post-closure costs	10,690	—	—	10,690
Other assets - commodity swaps	—	—	2,819	2,819
Other assets - interest rate swaps	—	19,199	—	19,199
Other liabilities - interest rate swaps	—	(19,733)	—	(19,733)
Other liabilities - wood waste supply agreement	—	—	(806)	(806)
	$42,670	$(534)	$2,013	$44,149

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

	December 31, 2012
	Quoted prices in active markets for identical assets (Level 1)	Significant other observable inputs (Level 2)	Significant unobservable inputs (Level 3)	Total

Cash and cash equivalents	$29,940	$—	$—	$29,940
Funded landfill post-closure costs	9,885	—	—	9,885
Other assets - commodity swaps (designated in a hedging relationship)	—	—	913	913
Other assets - commodity swaps	—	—	1,151	1,151
Other liabilities - interest rate swaps	—	(3,754)	—	(3,754)
Other liabilities - foreign currency exchange agreements	—	(80)	—	(80)
	$39,825	$(3,834)	$2,064	$38,055

The following tables outline the change in fair value for recurring Level 3 financial instrument measurements for the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012, respectively:

	December 31
Significant unobservable inputs (Level 3)	2013	2012

Balance, beginning of year	$2,064	$2,258
Realized gains included in the statement of operations, during the year	1,308	513
Unrealized gains included in the statement of operations, during the year	867	928
Unrealized losses included in accumulated other comprehensive loss, during the year	(913)	(1,126)
Settlements	(1,308)	(513)
Foreign currency translation adjustment	(5)	4
Balance, end of year	$2,013	$2,064

Fair value

Cash equivalents are invested in a money market account offered through a Canadian financial institution.  The fair value of cash equivalents is equal to its carrying amount.

Funded landfill post-closure costs are invested in Bankers’ Acceptances, offered through Canadian financial institutions, or Government of Canada treasury bills.  The fair value of these investments is supported by quoted prices in active markets for identical assets.

The fair values of financial instruments are calculated using available market information, commonly accepted valuation methods and third-party valuation specialists.  Considerable judgment is required to interpret market information to develop these estimates.  Accordingly, these fair value estimates are not necessarily indicative of the amounts the Company, or counter-parties to the instruments, could realize in a current market exchange.  The use of different assumptions and or estimation methods could have a material effect on these fair values.

The Company’s interest rate swaps are recorded at their estimated fair values based on quotes received from financial institutions that trade these contracts.  The Company verifies the reasonableness of these quotes by comparing them to similar quotes from another financial institution and its own calculation of fair value.  In addition, the Company employs a third-party, who is not a counter-party, to independently value the interest rate swaps and the Company uses all of this information to derive its fair value estimates.  The use of different assumptions and or estimation methods could have a material effect on these fair values.

The fair values of commodity swaps are determined applying a discounted cash flow methodology.  This methodology uses the Department of Energy forward index curve and the risk-free rate of interest, on a basis consistent with the underlying terms of the agreements, to discount the commodity swaps.  Financial institutions and the U.S. Department of Treasury are the sources of the

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

Department of Energy forward index curve and risk-free rate of interest, respectively.  The use of different assumptions and or estimation methods could have a material effect on these fair values.

The fair value of the Company’s embedded derivative from its wood waste supply agreement is determined applying a discounted cash flow methodology.  This methodology uses electricity generator and Ultra Low Sulfur Diesel forward index curves and the risk-free rate of interest, on a basis consistent with the underlying terms of the agreement.  The Company employs a third-party, who is not a counter-party, to independently value the embedded derivative and the Company uses this information to derive its fair value estimate.  The use of different assumptions and or estimation methods could have a material effect on this fair value.

The Company’s foreign currency exchange agreement outstanding at December 31, 2012 was recorded at its estimated fair value based on quotes received from a financial institution that the Company had entered into the agreements with.  The Company verified the reasonableness of the quotes by comparing them to the period end foreign currency exchange rate plus a forward premium.  The use of different assumptions and or estimation methods could have resulted in differing fair values which the Company believes was not material.

Hedge accounting

The Company has designated certain commodity and interest rate swaps as cash flow hedges. The following tables outline changes in the fair value of commodity and interest rate swaps designated as cash flow hedges and their impact on other comprehensive income or loss, net of the related income tax effect, for the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012.

	December 31
	2013	2012

Derivatives designated as cash flow hedges, net of income tax
Other comprehensive income, interest rate swaps	$—	$3,854
Other comprehensive loss, commodity swaps	(1,051)	(2,250)
Total other comprehensive (loss) income, net of income tax	$(1,051)	$1,604

	December 31
	2013	2012

Reclassifications from accumulated other comprehensive income or loss to net income or loss
Gains (losses) on cash flow hedges:
Commodity swaps - recorded in operating expenses	$704	$2,336
Interest rate swaps - recorded in interest on long-term debt	—	(1,830)
	704	506
Income tax - recorded in income tax expense or recovery	(247)	(177)
Total gains on cash flow hedges reclassified from accumulated other comprehensive income or loss	$457	$329

Discontinuation of hedge accounting:
Interest rate swaps - recorded in net gain or loss on financial instruments	$—	$4,370
Income tax - recorded in income tax expense or recovery	—	(1,530)
Total discontinuation of hedge accounting reclassified from accumulated other comprehensive income or loss	$—	$2,840

Total amount reclassified from accumulated other comprehensive income or loss	$457	$3,169

The Company measures and records any ineffectiveness on commodity swaps representing the difference between the underlying index price and the actual price of diesel fuel purchased.  Gains or losses are reclassified to operating expenses as diesel fuel is consumed.  At December 31, 2013, no amounts remain in accumulated other comprehensive income to be reclassified to future earnings.

In conjunction with the full repayment of the U.S. facility, effective October 24, 2012, the designation of interest rate swaps as cash flow hedges ceased and hedge accounting was discontinued.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

Interest rate and commodity swaps

The Company is subject to credit risk on certain interest rate and commodity swaps (collectively the “agreements”).  The Company entered into interest rate swaps to fix a portion of its variable rate interest charged on borrowings under its previously outstanding U.S. long-term debt facility, some of which were designated for hedge accounting up to October 24, 2012.  The Company also entered into additional interest rate swaps to reduce its exposure to interest rate volatility on consolidated credit facility advances.  In addition, the Company has entered into commodity swaps for a portion of diesel fuel consumed in its Canadian and U.S. operations.

The Company’s corporate treasury function is responsible for arranging all agreements while the Audit Committee is responsible for approving these agreements.  Suitable counterparties identified by the Company’s treasury function are approved by the Audit Committee.  The Company will only enter into agreements with highly rated and experienced counterparties who have successfully demonstrated that they are capable of executing these arrangements.  If the counterparties’ credit rating, prepared by reputable third-party rating agencies, is downgraded, the Company’s treasury function will review the agreement and assess if its exposure to the counterparty can be collateralized or if the agreement should be terminated.  The Company’s treasury function also prepares a report, at least once annually, to the Company’s Audit Committee which outlines key terms of its agreements, fair values, counterparties and each counterparty’s most recent credit rating, and, when applicable, changes to the risks related to each agreement.

The Company’s maximum exposure to credit risk is equal to the fair value of interest rate and commodity swaps recorded in other assets on the Company’s balance sheet.  The Company holds no collateral or other credit enhancements as security over these agreements.  The Company deems the agreements’ credit quality to be high in light of its counterparties and no amounts are either past due or impaired.  In all instances, the Company’s risk management objective is to mitigate its risk exposures to a level consistent with its risk tolerance.

The Company has entered into the following commodity and interest rate swaps as outlined in the tables below:

U.S. fuel hedges

Date entered	Notional amount (gallons per month expressed in gallons)	Diesel rate paid (expressed in dollars)	Diesel rate received variable	Effective date	Expiration date

June 21, 2012	150,000	$3.62	Diesel Fuel Index	January 1, 2015	December 31, 2015
June 1, 2012	62,500	$3.69	Diesel Fuel Index	November 1, 2013	June 30, 2014
May 9, 2012	150,000	$3.85	Diesel Fuel Index	January 1, 2014	December 31, 2014
May 24, 2012	150,000	$3.79	Diesel Fuel Index	January 1, 2014	December 31, 2014
June 1, 2012	300,000	$3.73	Diesel Fuel Index	January 1, 2014	December 31, 2014
June 1, 2012	150,000	$3.72	Diesel Fuel Index	January 1, 2015	December 31, 2015

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

Canadian fuel hedges

Date entered	Notional amount (litres per month expressed in litres)	Diesel rate paid (expressed in C$)	Diesel rate received variable	Effective date	Expiration date

May 9, 2012	260,000	$0.61	NYMEX WTI Index	January 1, 2013	December 31, 2014
May 23, 2012	260,000	$0.60	NYMEX WTI Index	January 1, 2013	December 31, 2014
June 4, 2012	520,000	$0.57	NYMEX WTI Index	January 1, 2014	December 31, 2014
June 4, 2012	520,000	$0.57	NYMEX WTI Index	January 1, 2015	December 31, 2015

Interest rate swaps

Date entered	Notional amount	Fixed interest rate (plus applicable margin)	Variable interest rate received	Effective date	Expiration date

October 26, 2010	$160,000	1.07%	0.25%	November 2, 2010	July 2, 2014
March 25, 2011	$60,000	1.61%	0.25%	April 4, 2011	July 2, 2014
June 29, 2011	$30,000	1.13%	0.25%	July 5, 2011	July 2, 2014
August 30, 2013	$35,000	2.97%	0.25%	September 30, 2013	September 29, 2023
August 30, 2013	$40,000	2.96%	0.25%	September 30, 2013	September 29, 2023
September 6, 2013	$25,000	1.10%	0.25%	September 30, 2013	September 30, 2016
September 6, 2013	$25,000	1.10%	0.25%	September 30, 2013	September 30, 2016
September 6, 2013	$25,000	1.95%	0.25%	September 30, 2013	September 28, 2018
September 6, 2013	$25,000	1.95%	0.25%	September 30, 2013	September 28, 2018
September 19, 2013	$25,000	2.30%	0.25%	September 30, 2013	September 30, 2020
September 19, 2013	$25,000	2.30%	0.25%	September 30, 2013	September 30, 2020
September 24, 2013	$25,000	1.60%	0.25%	September 30, 2013	September 28, 2018
September 24, 2013	$25,000	1.60%	0.25%	September 30, 2013	September 28, 2018
October 21, 2013	$25,000	1.51%	0.25%	October 31, 2013	September 28, 2018
October 21, 2013	$25,000	1.53%	0.25%	October 31, 2013	September 28, 2018
October 25, 2013	$15,000	2.65%	0.25%	October 31, 2013	September 29, 2023
October 25, 2013	$20,000	2.64%	0.25%	October 31, 2013	September 29, 2023
November 5, 2013	$25,000	1.50%	0.25%	November 7, 2013	September 28, 2018
November 5, 2013	$25,000	1.50%	0.25%	November 7, 2013	September 28, 2018
December 11, 2013	$20,000	2.18%	0.25%	December 13, 2013	September 30, 2020
December 11, 2013	$20,000	2.17%	0.25%	December 13, 2013	September 30, 2020
December 30, 2013	$10,000	2.96%	0.25%	January 2, 2014	September 29, 2023
December 30, 2013	$15,000	0.75%	0.25%	January 2, 2014	September 30, 2016
December 30, 2013	$15,000	0.79%	0.25%	January 2, 2014	September 30, 2016
December 30, 2013	$15,000	1.62%	0.25%	January 2, 2014	September 28, 2018
December 30, 2013	$30,000	1.66%	0.25%	January 2, 2014	September 28, 2018

The contractual maturities of the Company’s derivatives are as follows:

	December 31, 2013
		Payments due
	Total	Less than 1 year	1-3 years	4-5 years	After 5 years

Derivative
Interest rate swaps	$19,382	$9,696	$9,434	$252	$—

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

Unrealized amounts recorded to net gain or loss on financial instruments for the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 are as follows:

	December 31
	2013	2012

Net (gain) loss on financial instruments
Funded landfill post-closure costs	$(87)	$(59)
Interest rate swaps	(3,251)	2,269
Fuel hedges	(1,699)	(928)
Wood waste supply agreement	832	—
Foreign currency exchange agreements	(77)	443
	$(4,282)	$1,725

Estimated fair value

The carrying value of cash and cash equivalents, accounts receivable, accounts payable and accrued charges approximates fair value due to the relatively short-term maturities of these instruments.  Funded landfill post-closure costs and derivative financial instruments are recorded on the balance sheet at fair value.

At December 31, 2013, the estimated fair value of the direct finance lease receivables applying an interest rate consistent with the credit quality of the instrument is $68 (2012 - $528), compared to the carrying amount of $68 (2012 - $512).

At December 31, 2012, the estimated fair value of the 2005 Seneca IRB Facility was approximately $45,400 compared to the carrying amount of $45,000.  The 2005 Seneca IRB Facility was repaid in full on October 1, 2013.

At December 31, 2013, the estimated fair value of the term B facility is approximately $576,400 (2012 - $538,500) compared to the carrying amount of $493,052 (2012 - $497,560).

At December 31, 2013, the estimated fair value of long-term debt, excluding the term B facility, bears interest at variable rates and approximates its carrying amount.  The Company believes that renegotiation of its variable rate long-term debt would result in similar pricing to that which it currently enjoys.  Accordingly, because the Company’s variable rate facilities are non-amortizing and the Company’s credit spreads have remained principally unchanged, the current carrying amount of the Company’s variable rate long-term debt approximates its fair value.

24.  Income Taxes

The following table reconciles the difference between income taxes that would result solely by applying statutory rates to the Company’s pre-tax income or loss and income tax expense or recovery recorded in the statement of operations and comprehensive income or loss.

	December 31
	2013	2012

Income before income taxes and net (income) loss from equity accounted investee	$176,265	$161,520
Income tax expense at the combined basic rate	59,613	53,655
Large corporation and state tax	4,027	3,300
International financing	(11,661)	—
Withholding tax on foreign dividends	731	3,112
Tax on other non-deductible expenses	1,441	2,369
Net revisions to certain tax bases and tax rates	(456)	1,870
Other	4,748	2,816
Income tax expense	$58,443	$67,122

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

	December 31
	2013	2012

Deferred income tax assets
Unutilized tax loss carryforwards	$64,633	$79,764
Deferred financing costs and offering expenses	—	677
Foreign tax credits available for carryforward	14,567	14,567
Accounting provisions not currently deductible for tax	56,325	54,532
Tax value of intangibles and landfill assets in excess of carrying value	12,263	18,475
Other	819	643
Valuation allowance	(18,267)	(18,267)
	130,340	150,391

Deferred income tax liabilities
Carrying value of capital assets in excess of tax value	93,382	81,855
Carrying value of intangibles and landfill assets in excess of tax value	159,034	166,109
Other	7,811	6,222
	260,227	254,186
Net deferred income tax liabilities	$129,887	$103,795

Canada	$36,601	$38,231
U.S.	93,286	65,564
Net deferred income tax liabilities	$129,887	$103,795

The components of domestic and foreign income before income taxes and domestic and foreign income taxes are as follows:

	December 31
	2013	2012
Income before income taxes and net income or loss from equity accounted investee
Canada	$69,717	$108,289
U.S.	73,053	53,231
Other	33,495	—
	$176,265	$161,520

Current income tax expense
Canada	$26,045	$44,894
U.S.	3,428	4,387
Other	62	—
	29,535	49,281

Deferred income tax expense (recovery)
Canada	867	(7,921)
U.S.	28,041	25,762
	28,908	17,841
Total income tax expense	$58,443	$67,122

The Company recognizes interest related to uncertain tax positions and penalties to current income tax expense.  The Company has no material uncertain tax positions.  Accordingly, interest and penalties recognized in respect of uncertain tax positions and amounts accrued in respect thereof amount to $nil for the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012.

The Company is subject to federal, provincial and state income taxes and files tax returns in multiple jurisdictions.  Tax years open to audit range from 2000 to 2013 in Canada and from 1997 to 2013 in the U.S.

The Company does not tax effect its foreign currency translation adjustment.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

Subsidiaries of the Company have unutilized tax losses amounting to $136,884 (2012 - $197,484) which expire 2013 to 2031.  The realization of the deferred income tax assets, net of a $3,250 (2012 - $3,250) valuation allowance on certain U.S. unutilized tax loss carryforwards, totaling $64,226 (2012 - $72,544), is dependent on the Company generating taxable income in future years in which those temporary differences become deductible.  Based on management’s estimate of the Company’s projected future taxable income and its tax planning strategies, management expects to realize these deferred income tax assets in advance of expiry.  Changes to the Company’s ownership structure could limit the Company’s use of unutilized tax losses as imposed by Section 382 of the U.S. Internal Revenue Code.

As of December 31, 2013, a subsidiary of the Company has foreign tax credit carryforwards which expire in 2018 and 2019 that result in a deferred income tax asset totaling $14,567 (2012 - $14,567).  As the Company does not expect to generate foreign source income in the future, it has provided a full valuation allowance against the foreign tax credits available for carryforward.

Since the Company’s acquisition of IESI, IESI had, and currently has, issued various intercompany notes payable (“U.S. notes”).  For the purposes of determining taxable income, IESI has taken the position that the U.S. notes and their related interest was commercially reasonable and has deducted the interest paid thereon on this basis.  Management has taken steps to ensure that the U.S. notes are commercially reasonable, however, there can be no assurance that U.S. taxation authorities will not seek to challenge the treatment of the U.S. notes as debt or the amount of interest expense deducted, which could increase IESI’s taxable income and accordingly its U.S. federal income tax liability.  Management has determined that it has met the more-likely-than-not threshold based on its technical merits and that management’s position would be sustained upon examination by the relevant tax authority.

25.  Segmented Reporting

The Company carries on business through three separate geographic segments: Canada, the U.S. south and the U.S. northeast.  The business segments are vertically integrated and include the collection and disposal of waste and recyclable materials, transfer station operations, material recovery facilities, landfills and landfill gas to energy facilities.  The geographic location of each business segment limits the volume and number of transactions between them.

The Company has elected to exclude corporate costs in the determination of each business segment’s performance.  Corporate costs include certain executive, legal, accounting, internal audit, treasury, investor relations, corporate development, environmental management, information technology, human resources, sales, safety and other administrative support costs.  Corporate costs also include transaction and related costs, restricted share expense and fair value changes of stock options.

The accounting policies applied by the business segments are the same as those described in the summary of significant accounting policies (Note 3).  The Company evaluates its segment performance based on revenues, less operating and selling, general and administration expenses.

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

	December 31
	2013	2012
Revenues
Canada	$769,077	$776,814
U.S. south	876,888	780,331
U.S. northeast	380,074	339,596
Corporate	—	—
	$2,026,039	$1,896,741

Revenues less operating and selling, general and administration expenses
Canada	$270,514	$278,461
U.S. south	235,996	217,077
U.S. northeast	76,263	71,526
Corporate	(61,159)	(55,827)
	$521,614	$511,237

Amortization
Canada	$109,020	$103,112
U.S. south	123,598	110,172
U.S. northeast	60,470	57,501
Corporate	3,403	3,333
	$296,491	$274,118

Net gain on sale of capital assets	$(7,793)	$(592)

Operating income	$232,916	$237,711

	December 31, 2013
	Canada	U.S. south	U.S. northeast	Corporate	Total

Goodwill	$383,473	$423,164	$98,710	$—	$905,347
Capital assets	$375,562	$444,140	$109,780	$7,770	$937,252
Landfill assets	$180,706	$417,119	$354,906	$—	$952,731
Total assets	$1,218,124	$1,476,464	$657,139	$40,843	$3,392,570

	December 31, 2012
	Canada	U.S. south	U.S. northeast	Corporate	Total

Goodwill	$409,296	$421,108	$98,710	$—	$929,114
Capital assets	$379,095	$421,374	$118,210	$8,839	$927,518
Landfill assets	$207,485	$404,403	$351,832	$—	$963,720
Total assets	$1,283,434	$1,461,817	$684,959	$45,351	$3,475,561

Progressive Waste Solutions Ltd.

Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements

For the years ended December 31, 2013 and 2012 (in thousands of U.S. dollars and shares, except per share amounts and where otherwise stated)

26.  Guarantees

In the normal course of business, the Company enters into agreements that meet the definition of a guarantee.  The Company’s primary guarantees are as follows:

The Company has provided indemnities under lease agreements for the use of various operating facilities.  Under the terms of these agreements the Company agrees to indemnify the counterparties for various items including, but not limited to, all liabilities, loss, suits, damage and the existence of hazardous substances arising during, on or after the term of the agreement.  Changes in environmental laws or in the interpretation thereof may require the Company to compensate the counterparties.  The maximum amount of any potential future payment cannot be reasonably estimated.  These indemnities are in place for various periods beyond the original term of the lease and these leases expire between 2013 and 2025.

Indemnity has been provided to all directors and officers of the Company and its subsidiaries for various items including, but not limited to, all costs to settle suits or actions due to association with the Company and its subsidiaries, subject to certain restrictions.  The Company has purchased directors’ and officers’ liability insurance to mitigate the cost of any potential future suits or actions.  The term of the indemnification is not explicitly defined, but is limited to the period over which the indemnified party serves as a director or officer of the Company, including any one of its subsidiaries.  The maximum amount of any potential future payment cannot be reasonably estimated.

The Company has received indemnities for the receipt of hazardous, toxic or radioactive wastes or substances and the Company has issued indemnities for their disposal at third-party landfills.  Applicable federal, provincial, state or local laws and regulations define hazardous, toxic or radioactive wastes or substances.  Changes in environmental laws or in their interpretation may require the Company to compensate, or be compensated, by the counterparties.  The term of the indemnity is not explicitly defined and the maximum amount of any potential future reimbursement or payment cannot be reasonably estimated.

Certain of the Company’s landfills have Host Community Agreements (“HCA”) between the Company and the towns, municipalities or cities in which the landfills operate.  The Company has agreed to guarantee the market value of certain homeowners’ properties within a certain distance of the landfills based on a Property Value Protection Program (“PVPP”) incorporated into the HCA. Under the PVPP, the Company would be responsible for the difference between the sale amount and the hypothetical market value of the homeowners’ properties assuming a previously approved expansion of the landfill had not been approved, if any. The Company does not believe it is possible to determine the contingent obligation associated with the PVPP guarantees, but does not believe it would have a material effect on the Company’s financial position or results of operations.  As of December 31, 2013, the Company has compensated one homeowner under the PVPP.

In the normal course of business, the Company has entered into agreements that include indemnities in favour of third parties, such as purchase and sale agreements, confidentiality agreements, engagement letters with advisors and consultants, outsourcing agreements, leasing contracts, underwriting and agency agreements, information technology agreements and service agreements.  These indemnification agreements may require the Company to compensate counterparties for losses incurred by the counterparties as a result of breaches in representation and regulations or as a result of litigation claims or statutory sanctions that may be suffered by the counterparty as a consequence of the transaction.  The terms of these indemnities are not explicitly defined and the maximum amount of any potential reimbursement cannot be reasonably estimated.

The nature of these indemnification agreements prevents the Company from making a reasonable estimate of the maximum exposure due to the difficulty in assessing the amount of liability which results from the unpredictability of future events and the unlimited coverage offered to counterparties.  Historically, the Company and its predecessor have not made any significant payments under these or similar indemnification agreements and therefore no amount has been accrued with respect to these agreements.

27.  Subsequent Events

Effective January 31, 2014, the Company purchased the remaining fifty percent interest in its equity accounted investee for C$9,000.