Dave Weidman, Chairman and CEO
Steven Sterin, Senior Vice President and CFO
Celanese 2Q 2008 Earnings
Conference Call / Webcast
Tuesday, July 22, 2008 10:00 a.m. ET

Forward Looking Statements, Reconciliation and Use of Non-
GAAP Measures to U.S. GAAP
 Forward-Looking Statements
 This presentation may contain “forward-looking statements,” which include information concerning the company’s plans, objectives, goals, strategies, future revenues or performance, capital expenditures, financing
 needs and other information that is not historical information. When used in this release, the words “outlook,” “forecast,” “estimates,” “expects,” “anticipates,” “projects,” “plans,” “intends,” “believes,” and variations of
 such words or similar expressions are intended to identify forward-looking statements. All forward-looking statements are based upon current expectations and beliefs and various assumptions. There can be no
 assurance that the company will realize these expectations or that these beliefs will prove correct. There are a number of risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from the forward-
 looking statements contained in this release. Numerous factors, many of which are beyond the company’s control, could cause actual results to differ materially from those expressed as forward-looking statements.
 Certain of these risk factors are discussed in the company’s filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Any forward-looking statement speaks only as of the date on which it is made, and the company
 undertakes no obligation to update any forward-looking statements to reflect events or circumstances after the date on which it is made or to reflect the occurrence of anticipated or unanticipated events or
 circumstances.
 Reconciliation of Non-U.S. GAAP Measures to U.S. GAAP
 This presentation reflects five performance measures, operating EBITDA, affiliate EBITDA, adjusted earnings per share, net debt and adjusted free cash flow, as non-U.S. GAAP measures. The most directly
 comparable financial measure presented in accordance with U.S. GAAP in our consolidated financial statements for operating EBITDA is operating profit; for affiliate EBITDA is equity in net earnings of affiliates; for
 adjusted earnings per share is earnings per common share-diluted; for net debt is total debt; and for adjusted free cash flow is cash flow from operations.
 Use of Non-U.S. GAAP Financial Information
 ►Operating EBITDA, a measure used by management to measure performance, is defined as operating profit from continuing operations, plus equity in net earnings from affiliates, other income and depreciation and
 amortization, and further adjusted for other charges and adjustments. We provide guidance on operating EBITDA and are unable to reconcile forecasted operating EBITDA to a GAAP financial measure because a
 forecast of Other Charges and Adjustments is not practical. Our management believes operating EBITDA is useful to investors because it is one of the primary measures our management uses for its planning and
 budgeting processes and to monitor and evaluate financial and operating results.  Operating EBITDA is not a recognized term under U.S. GAAP and does not purport to be an alternative to operating profit as a
 measure of operating performance or to cash flows from operating activities as a measure of liquidity. Because not all companies use identical calculations, this presentation of operating EBITDA may not be
 comparable to other similarly titled measures of other companies. Additionally, operating EBITDA is not intended to be a measure of free cash flow for management’s discretionary use, as it does not consider certain
 cash requirements such as interest payments, tax payments and debt service requirements nor does it represent the amount used in our debt covenants.
 ►Affiliate EBITDA, a measure used by management to measure performance of its equity investments, is defined as the proportional operating profit plus the proportional depreciation and amortization of its equity
 investments. Affiliate EBITDA, including Celanese Proportional Share of affiliate information on Table 8, is not a recognized term under U.S. GAAP and is not meant to be an alternative to operating cash flow of the
 equity investments. The company has determined that it does not have sufficient ownership for operating control of these investments to consider their results on a consolidated basis. The company believes that
 investors should consider affiliate EBITDA when determining the equity investments’ overall value in the company.
 ►Adjusted earnings per share is a measure used by management to measure performance. It is defined as net earnings (loss) available to common shareholders plus preferred dividends, adjusted for other charges
 and adjustments, and divided by the number of basic common shares, diluted preferred shares, and options valued using the treasury method. We provide guidance on an adjusted earnings per share basis and are
 unable to reconcile forecasted adjusted earnings per share to a GAAP financial measure without unreasonable effort because a forecast of Other Items is not practical. We believe that the presentation of this non-
 U.S. GAAP measure provides useful information to management and investors regarding various financial and business trends relating to our financial condition and results of operations, and that when U.S. GAAP
 information is viewed in conjunction with non-U.S. GAAP information, investors are provided with a more meaningful understanding of our ongoing operating performance. This non-U.S. GAAP information is not
 intended to be considered in isolation or as a substitute for U.S. GAAP financial information.
 ►The tax rate used for adjusted earnings per share is the tax rate based on our initial guidance, less changes in uncertain tax positions. We adjust this tax rate during the year only if there is a substantial change in
 our underlying operations; an updated forecast would not necessarily result in a change to our tax rate used for adjusted earnings per share. The adjusted tax rate may differ significantly from the tax rate used for
 U.S. GAAP reporting in any given reporting period. It is not practical to reconcile our prospective adjusted tax rate to the actual U.S. GAAP tax rate in any future period.
 ►Net debt is defined as total debt less cash and cash equivalents. We believe that the presentation of this non-U.S. GAAP measure provides useful information to management and investors regarding changes to
 the company’s capital structure. Our management and credit analysts use net debt to evaluate the company's capital structure and assess credit quality. This non-U.S. GAAP information is not intended to be
 considered in isolation or as a substitute for U.S. GAAP financial information
 ►Adjusted free cash flow is defined as cash flow from operations less capital expenditures, other productive asset purchases, operating cash from discontinued operations and certain other charges and adjustments.
 We believe that the presentation of this non-U.S. GAAP measure provides useful information to management and investors regarding changes to the company’s cash flow. Our management and credit analysts use
 adjusted free cash flow to evaluate the company’s liquidity and assess credit quality. This non-U.S. GAAP information is not intended to be considered in isolation or as a substitute for U.S. GAAP financial
 information.
 Results Unaudited
 The results presented in this presentation, together with the adjustments made to present the results on a comparable basis, have not been audited and are based on internal financial data furnished to management.
 Quarterly results should not be taken as an indication of the results of operations to be reported for any subsequent period or for the full fiscal year.

Dave Weidman
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

> Higher pricing on continued strong demand, increased volumes driven by Asia
 expansion and positive currency impacts drove record sales for the quarter
> Advantaged feedstock positions helped to mitigate significantly higher raw
 material and energy costs
Celanese Corporation 2Q 2008 Highlights

Operating EBITDA Growth Objectives
Clear Path to 2010 Growth Objectives
► AEM: volume growth > 2X GDP
 through further penetration
► CIS: Acetate continues
 execution on revitalization
 strategy; Emulsions/PVOH
 revitalization commences
► AI: Nanjing acetic acid plant
 startup leads integrated complex
Acetyl Intermediates
Consumer and Industrial Specialties
Advanced Engineered Materials
$350 - $400 million increased EBITDA profile plus EPS potential by 2010

Steven Sterin
Senior Vice President and CFO

> Net sales increased 20% from prior
 year
 > Higher pricing on strong demand
 > Growth in Asia
 > Favorable currency impacts
> Operating profit more than doubled
 to $207 versus the prior year which
 included expenses related to a
 long-term management
 compensation program and
 impacts of the Clear Lake outage
> Adjusted EPS up 41% to
 $1.20/share
> Diluted share basis reflects share
 repurchase programs
   >  2.9 million shares repurchased for
                 ~$126 million under current
                 authorization
> Operating EBITDA increased 24%
 to $406
Celanese Corporation Financial Highlights

Second Quarter 2008:
► Net sales increase driven by volume growth (8%) and positive
 currency effects (9%)
► Growth in China and non-automotive applications more than offset
 impacts of challenging U.S. automotive market
► Higher raw material and energy costs continue to pressure margins
► Operating EBITDA decrease primarily due to lower earnings from
 equity affiliates
Advanced Engineered Materials

Second Quarter 2008:
► Net sales increase primarily driven by improved pricing on global
 demand and favorable currency impacts
► Higher pricing offset by significantly higher raw material and energy
 costs
► Operating EBITDA improvement driven by higher dividends from
 expanded China acetate ventures
Consumer Specialties

Second Quarter 2008:
► Increase in net sales primarily driven by favorable pricing and foreign
 currency effects
► Volumes pressured by declines in certain North American and
 European markets
► Operating EBITDA improvement mainly due to higher sales offsetting
 raw material cost pressures
Industrial Specialties

Second Quarter 2008:
► Record sales for the quarter attributable to higher pricing on
 strong global demand, increased volumes from Nanjing and
 favorable currency impacts
► Volume and pricing strength more than offset high input costs
 versus the prior year which included impacts from the Clear Lake
 outage
► Increased dividends from Ibn Sina also contributed to improved
 Operating EBITDA
Acetyl Intermediates

► Total affiliate earnings impact improved 28% to $92 million versus prior year
► Increased dividends from Ibn Sina methanol and MTBE cost affiliate more than offset
 performance of AEM affiliates currently pressured by high raw material and energy costs
► Cash from affiliates increased with higher dividends from both Ibn Sina and the China
 ventures
Income Statement
Cash Flow
Affiliates Continue to Deliver Value

1Amounts primarily associated with certain other charges and the cash outflows for purchases of other productive assets that are classified as ‘investing activities’ for U.S. GAAP purposes.
Continued Strong Cash Generation

Acetyl
Intermediates
Advanced
Engineered
Materials
Consumer
Specialties
Industrial
Specialties
2008 Guidance:
Adjusted EPS
$3.60 to $3.85
Operating EBITDA
$1,355 to $1,415 million
Forecasted 2008
adjusted tax rate of
26%
2008 Business Outlook

Appendix

2Q 2008 Other Charges and Other Adjustments
by Segment

Reg G: Reconciliation of Adjusted EPS

Reg G: Reconciliation of Net Debt

Reg G: Other Charges and Other Adjustments

Reg G: Reconciliation of Operating EBITDA

Reg G: Equity Affiliate Preliminary Results and
Celanese Proportional Share - Unaudited