EXHIBIT 99.2
Novelisnews Special Edition — Hindalco Acquisition Update March 2007 About Hindalco Industries Limited Hindalco Industries Limited, a flagship leadership position in its domestic markets company of the Aditya Birla Group, in Speciality Aluminas and Hydrates as well is structured into two strategic businesses — as in Primary Aluminum and downstream Aluminum and Copper. From bauxite mining, semi-fabricated products. As a step towards alumina refining, aluminum smelting to down- expanding the market for value-added products stream rolling, extrusions, foil and alloy wheels, and services, Hindalco has launched several Hindalco is Asia’s largest integrated primary brands in recent years. These include the Aura producer of aluminum and among the most Aluminum Alloy Wheels for cars, Everlast Roofing cost-efficient producers globally. The Company Sheets and Freshwrapp and Freshpakk household also has the world’s largest custom copper foil for packaging. smelter at a single location. In alignment with Novelis’ strong commitment Established in 1958, Hindalco commissioned to environment, health and safety, all of its first aluminum facility in Renukoot in 1962. Hindalco’s plants are certified in ISO 9001 With an eye to build size and scale, Hindalco (quality), ISO 14001 (environment) and several acquired a majority control in Indian Aluminium are certified in OHSAS 18001 (the occupational Company Limited (Indal), an Alcan company, health and safety award).n in 2000. The Company currently enjoys a About Aditya Birla Group The Aditya Birla Group is India’s first truly multinational corporation. With a global vision and strong set of values, the Group is a leading player in all of the sectors in which it operates. Among these are viscose staple fibre, non-ferrous metals, cement, viscose filament yarn, branded apparel, carbon black, chemicals, fertilizers, sponge iron, insulators, financial services, telecom, BPO (business process outsourcing) and IT services. n US$12 billion Market capitalization 88,000 employees 20 different Over 23% of revenues operations outside 74 state-of-the-art and services units Thailand, Laos, Egypt, Canada, U.S., UK, Germany Aditya Birla’s ”A Thousand Suns” Video ‘Aditya’ is the Hindi word for sun and the Company has incorporated this into their logo symbolizing conglomerate ‘The Rising Sun’. of A 15-minute video,US$20 billion belonging providing anto overview of Aditya Birla and the from Hindalco companies, its of India is available on the Novelis manufacturing intranet under “News” across India, Indonesia, Philippines, and then the “Acquisition Australia, by Hindalco” section. China, Hungary. Quick Facts on India Geography: 3.29 million sq. km. (1.27 million sq. mi.). Capital — New Delhi. Population: 1.1 billion; annual growth rate: 1.3% Languages: Hindi, English, and 16 other official languages Government: Federal republic; independence — August 15, 1947 Economy: GDP (Gross Domestic Product) FY 2005-2006 — $797 billion; real growth rate — 8.4%; per capita GDP — $761 Agriculture: 21% of GDP Industry: 28% of GDP Services and transportation: 51% of GDP Major trade U.S., China, EU,partners: Russia, Japan