Exhibit 99.1

Education Realty Trust, Inc. (the “Company”) and Education Realty Operating Partnership, LP (the “Operating Partnership”) are disclosing the information below to amend and restate in its entirety, the disclosure under the heading “Material U.S. Federal Income Tax Considerations” included in the Company and the Operating Partnership’s Registration Statements on Form S-3 (File No. 333-199988) and (File No.333-199988-01), as filed by the Company and the Operating Partnership, respectively, with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”) on November 7, 2014, and the disclosure included in Item 8.01 of the Current Report on Form 8-K of the Company and the Operating Partnership filed with the SEC on November 5, 2015 under the heading “Supplemental U.S. Federal Income Tax Considerations.” The Company is also disclosing the information below to amend and restate in its entirety, the disclosure under the heading “Federal Income Tax Considerations” included in the Company’s Registration Statements on Form S-3 (File No. 333-131284), as filed by the Company with the SEC on January 25, 2006.

MATERIAL U.S. FEDERAL INCOME TAX CONSIDERATIONS

This section summarizes the material U.S. federal income tax considerations that you, as a prospective investor, may consider relevant in connection with the acquisition, ownership and disposition of our common stock or our debt securities and our election to be taxed as a REIT. As used in this section, and except relating to discussion of our debt securities, the terms “we” and “our” refer solely to Education Realty Trust, Inc. and not to our subsidiaries and affiliates, which have not elected to be taxed as REITs for U.S. federal income tax purposes.
This discussion does not exhaust all possible tax considerations and does not provide a detailed discussion of any state, local or foreign tax considerations. Nor does this discussion address all aspects of U.S. federal income taxation that may be relevant to particular investors in light of their personal investment or tax circumstances, or to certain types of investors that are subject to special treatment under the U.S. federal income tax laws, such as insurance companies, tax‑exempt organizations, financial institutions, broker‑dealers, persons subject to the alternative minimum tax, persons holding our stock or debt securities as part of a hedge, straddle or other risk reduction, constructive sale or conversion transaction, non‑U.S. individuals and foreign corporations and other persons subject to special tax rules. Moreover, this summary assumes that our investors hold our common stock or debt securities as a “capital asset” for U.S. federal income tax purposes, which generally means property held for investment.
The statements in this section are based on the current U.S. federal income tax laws, including the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, the regulations promulgated by the U.S. Treasury Department or the Treasury Regulations, rulings and other administrative interpretations and practices of the Internal Revenue Service, or the IRS, and judicial decisions, all as currently in effect, and all of which are subject to differing interpretations or to change, possibly with retroactive effect. This discussion is for general purposes only and is not tax advice. We cannot assure you that new laws, interpretations of law, or court decisions, any of which may take effect retroactively, will not cause any statement in this section to be inaccurate.
We urge you to consult your own tax advisor regarding the specific tax consequences to you of the acquisition, ownership and disposition of our common stock or debt securities and of our election to be taxed as a REIT. Specifically, you are encouraged to consult your own tax advisor regarding the U.S. federal, state, local, foreign, and other tax consequences of such acquisition, ownership, disposition and election, and regarding potential changes in applicable tax laws.

Taxation of Our Company
We elected to be taxed as a REIT under the federal income tax laws beginning with our taxable year ended December 31, 2005. We believe that, beginning with such taxable year, we have been organized and have operated in such a manner as to qualify for taxation as a REIT under the Code, and we intend to continue to operate in such a manner. However, no assurances can be provided regarding our qualification as a REIT because such qualification depends on our ability to satisfy numerous asset, income, stock ownership and distribution tests described below, the satisfaction of which will depend, in part, on our operating results.
The sections of the Code relating to qualification, operation and taxation as a REIT are highly technical and complex. The following discussion sets forth only the material aspects of those sections. This summary is qualified in its entirety by the applicable Code provisions and the related Treasury Regulations and administrative and judicial interpretations thereof.
Morrison & Foerster LLP has rendered an opinion that we have been organized and have operated in conformity with the requirements for qualification and taxation as a REIT under the U.S. federal income tax laws for our taxable years ended December 31, 2009 through December 31, 2013, and our current and proposed method of operation will enable us to satisfy the requirements for qualification and taxation as a REIT under the U.S. federal income tax laws for our taxable year ending December 31, 2014 and thereafter. Investors should be aware that Morrison & Foerster LLP’s opinion is based on the U.S. federal income tax laws governing qualification as a REIT as of the date of such opinion, which is subject to change, possibly on a retroactive basis, is not binding on the IRS or any court, and speaks only as of the date issued. In addition, Morrison & Foerster LLP’s opinion is based on customary assumptions and is conditioned upon certain representations made by us as to factual matters, including representations regarding the nature of our assets and the future conduct of our business. Moreover, our continued qualification and taxation as a REIT depend on our ability to meet, on a continuing basis, through actual results, certain qualification tests set forth in the U.S. federal income tax laws. Those qualification tests involve, among other things, the percentage of our gross income that we earn from specified sources, the percentage of our assets that falls within specified categories, the diversity of our stock ownership and the percentage of our earnings that we distribute. Morrison & Foerster LLP will not review our compliance with those tests on a continuing basis. Accordingly, no assurance can be given that the actual results of our operations for any particular taxable year will satisfy such requirements. Morrison & Foerster LLP’s opinion does not foreclose the possibility that we may have to use one or more of the REIT savings provisions described below, which may require us to pay a material excise or penalty tax in order to maintain our REIT qualification. For a discussion of the tax consequences of our failure to maintain our qualification as a REIT, see “— Failure to Qualify as a REIT” below.
If we qualify as a REIT, we generally will not be subject to U.S. federal income tax on the taxable income that we distribute to our stockholders because we will be entitled to a deduction for dividends that we pay. Such tax treatment avoids the “double taxation,” or taxation at both the corporate and stockholder levels, that generally results from owning stock in a corporation. In general, income generated by a REIT is taxed only at the stockholder level if such income is distributed by the REIT to its stockholders. However, we will be subject to U.S. federal income tax in the following circumstances:

•
We will be subject to U.S. federal corporate income tax on any REIT taxable income, including net capital gain, that we do not distribute to our stockholders during, or within a specified time period after, the calendar year in which the income is earned.

•	We may be subject to corporate “alternative minimum tax.”

•
We will be subject to tax, at the highest U.S. federal corporate income tax rate, on net income from the sale or other disposition of property acquired through foreclosure (“foreclosure property”) that we hold primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of business, and other non‑qualifying income from foreclosure property.

•
We will be subject to a 100% tax on net income from sales or other dispositions of property, other than foreclosure property, that we hold primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of business.

•
If we fail to satisfy one or both of the 75% gross income test or the 95% gross income test, as described below under “— Gross Income Tests,” but nonetheless maintain our qualification as a REIT because we meet certain other requirements, we will be subject to a 100% tax on:

◦	the greater of the amount by which we fail the 75% gross income test or the 95% gross income test, in either case, multiplied by

◦	a fraction intended to reflect our profitability.

•
If we fail to distribute during a calendar year at least the sum of: (1) 85% of our REIT ordinary income for the year, (2) 95% of our REIT capital gain net income for the year, and (3) any undistributed taxable income required to be distributed from earlier periods, then we will be subject to a 4% nondeductible excise tax on the excess of the required distribution over the amount we actually distributed.

•
If we fail any of the asset tests, other than a de minimis failure of the 5% asset test, the 10% vote test or the 10% value test, as described below under “— Asset Tests,” as long as (1) the failure was due to reasonable cause and not to willful neglect, (2) we file a description of each asset that caused such failure with the IRS, and (3) we dispose of the assets causing the failure or otherwise comply with the asset tests within six months after the last day of the quarter in which we identify such failure, we will pay a tax equal to the greater of $50,000 or the highest U.S. federal corporate income tax rate (currently 35%) multiplied by the net income from the nonqualifying assets during the period in which we failed to satisfy the asset tests.

•
If we fail to satisfy one or more requirements for REIT qualification, other than the gross income tests and the asset tests, and such failure is due to reasonable cause and not to willful neglect, we will be required to pay a penalty of $50,000 for each such failure.

We will be subject to a 100% excise tax on transactions with a taxable REIT subsidiary, or TRS, that are not conducted on an arm’s‑length basis including, for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2015, “redetermined TRS service income.” Redetermined TRS service income generally represents income of a taxable REIT subsidiary that is understated as a result of services provided to us or on our behalf.

•
If we acquire any asset from a C corporation, or a corporation that generally is subject to full corporate‑level tax, in a merger or other transaction in which we acquire a basis in the asset that is determined by reference either to the C corporation’s basis in the asset or to another asset, we will pay tax at the highest U.S. federal corporate income tax rate applicable if we recognize gain on the sale or disposition of the asset during the 5‑year period after we acquire the asset. The amount of gain on which we will pay tax generally is the lesser of:

◦	the amount of gain that we recognize at the time of the sale or disposition, and

◦	the amount of gain that we would have recognized if we had sold the asset at the time we acquired it.

•	The earnings of our subsidiary entities that are C corporations, including TRSs, will be subject to U.S. federal corporate income tax.
In addition, we may be subject to a variety of taxes, including payroll taxes and state, local and foreign income, property and other taxes on our assets and operations. We also could be subject to tax in situations and on transactions not presently contemplated.
Requirements for Qualification as a REIT
A REIT is a corporation, trust or association that satisfies each of the following requirements:

(1)	It is managed by one or more trustees or directors;

(2)	Its beneficial ownership is evidenced by transferable shares of stock, or by transferable shares or certificates of beneficial interest;

(3)	It would be taxable as a domestic corporation, but for Sections 856 through 860 of the Code, i.e., the REIT provisions;

(4)	It is neither a financial institution nor an insurance company subject to special provisions of the U.S. federal income tax laws;

(5)	At least 100 persons are beneficial owners of its stock or ownership shares or certificates (determined without reference to any rules of attribution);

(6)
Not more than 50% in value of its outstanding stock or shares of beneficial interest are owned, directly or indirectly, by five or fewer individuals, which the U.S. federal income tax laws define to include certain entities, during the last half of any taxable year;

(7)
It elects to be a REIT, or has made such election for a previous taxable year, and satisfies all relevant filing and other administrative requirements established by the IRS that must be met to qualify to be taxed as a REIT for U.S. federal income tax purposes;

(8)	It uses a calendar year for U.S. federal income tax purposes and complies with the recordkeeping requirements of the U.S. federal income tax laws; and

(9)	It meets certain other requirements described below, regarding the sources of its gross income, the nature and diversification of its assets and the distribution of its income.
We must satisfy requirements 1 through 4, and 8 during our entire taxable year and must satisfy requirement 5 during at least 335 days of a taxable year of 12 months, or during a proportionate part of a taxable year of less than 12 months. If we comply with certain requirements for ascertaining the beneficial ownership of our outstanding stock in a taxable year and have no reason to know that we violated requirement 6, we will be deemed to have satisfied requirement 6 for that taxable year. For purposes of determining stock ownership under requirement 6, an “individual” generally includes a supplemental unemployment compensation benefits plan, a private foundation, or a portion of a trust permanently set aside or used exclusively for charitable purposes. An “individual,” however, generally does not include a trust that is a qualified employee pension or profit sharing trust under the U.S. federal income tax laws, and beneficiaries of such a trust will be treated as holding our stock in proportion to their actuarial interests in the trust for purposes of requirement 6. Our charter provides for restrictions regarding the ownership and transfer of our stock. We believe that we will issue sufficient stock with enough diversity of ownership to allow us to satisfy requirements 5 and 6 above. The restrictions in our charter are intended, among other things, to assist us in satisfying requirements 5 and 6 described above. These restrictions, however, may not ensure that we will be able to satisfy such share ownership requirements in all cases. If we fail to satisfy these share ownership requirements, our qualification as a REIT may terminate. For purposes of requirement 8, we have adopted December 31 as our year end for U.S. federal income tax purposes, and thereby satisfy this requirement.
Qualified REIT Subsidiaries. A “qualified REIT subsidiary” generally is a corporation, all of the stock of which is owned, directly or indirectly, by a REIT and that is not treated as a TRS. A corporation that is a “qualified REIT subsidiary” is treated as a division of the REIT that owns, directly or indirectly, all of its stock and not as a separate entity for U.S. federal income tax purposes. Thus, all assets, liabilities, and items of income, deduction, and credit of a “qualified REIT subsidiary” are treated as assets, liabilities, and items of income, deduction, and credit of the REIT that directly or indirectly owns the qualified REIT subsidiary. Consequently, in applying the REIT requirements described herein, the separate existence of any “qualified REIT subsidiary” that we own will be ignored, and all assets, liabilities, and items of income, deduction, and credit of such subsidiary will be treated as our assets, liabilities, and items of income, deduction, and credit.
Other Disregarded Entities and Partnerships. An unincorporated domestic entity, such as a partnership or limited liability company, that has a single owner, as determined under U.S. federal income tax laws, generally is not treated as an entity separate from its owner for U.S. federal income tax purposes. We own various direct and indirect interests in entities that are classified as partnerships and limited liability companies for state law purposes. Nevertheless, many of these entities currently are not treated as entities separate from their owners for U.S. federal income tax purposes because such entities are treated as having a single owner for U.S. federal income tax purposes. Consequently, the assets and liabilities, and items of income, deduction, and credit, of such entities will be treated as our assets and liabilities, and items of income, deduction, and credit, for U.S. federal income tax purposes, including the application of the various REIT qualification requirements.
An unincorporated domestic entity with two or more owners, as determined under the U.S. federal income tax laws, generally is taxed as a partnership for U.S. federal income tax purposes. In the case of a REIT that is an owner in an entity that is taxed as a partnership for U.S. federal income tax purposes, the REIT is treated as owning its proportionate share of the assets of the entity and as earning its allocable share of the gross income of the entity for purposes of the applicable REIT qualification tests. Thus, our

proportionate share of the assets and items of gross income of our Operating Partnership and any other partnership, joint venture, or limited liability company that is taxed as a partnership for U.S. federal income tax purposes is treated as our assets and items of gross income for purposes of applying the various REIT qualification tests. For purposes of the 10% value test (described in “— Asset Tests”), our proportionate share is based on our proportionate interest in the equity interests and certain debt securities issued by the entity. For all of the other asset and income tests, our proportionate share is based on our proportionate interest in the capital of the entity.
Taxable REIT Subsidiaries. A REIT is permitted to own, directly or indirectly, up to 100% of the stock of one or more TRSs. The subsidiary and the REIT generally must jointly elect to treat the subsidiary as a TRS. However, a corporation of which a TRS directly or indirectly owns more than 35% of the voting power or value of the securities is automatically treated as a TRS without an election.
Unlike a qualified REIT subsidiary, the separate existence of a TRS is not ignored for U.S. federal income tax purposes and a TRS is a fully taxable corporation subject to U.S. federal corporate income tax on its earnings. We will not be treated as holding the assets of any TRS or as receiving the income earned by any TRS. Rather, we will treat the stock issued by any TRS as an asset and will treat any distributions paid to us from any TRS as income. This treatment may affect our compliance with the gross income test and asset tests.
Restrictions imposed on REITs and their TRSs are intended to ensure that TRSs will be subject to appropriate levels of U.S. federal income taxation. These restrictions limit the deductibility of interest paid or accrued by a TRS to its parent REIT and impose a 100% excise tax on transactions between a TRS and its parent REIT or the REIT’s tenants that are not conducted on an arm’s‑length basis, such as any redetermined rents, redetermined deductions, excess interest or, for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2015, redetermined TRS service income. In general, redetermined rents are rents from real property that are overstated as a result of any services furnished to any of our tenants by a TRS of ours, redetermined deductions and excess interest represent any amounts that are deducted by a TRS of ours for amounts paid to us that are in excess of the amounts that would have been deducted based on arm's length negotiations, and redetermined TRS service income is income of a TRS that is understated as a result of services provided to us or on our behalf. Rents we receive will not constitute redetermined rents if they qualify for certain safe harbor provisions contained in the Code. Dividends paid to us from a TRS, if any, will be treated as dividend income received from a corporation. The foregoing treatment of TRSs may reduce the cash flow generated by us and our subsidiaries in the aggregate and our ability to make distributions to our stockholders and may affect our compliance with the gross income tests and asset tests.
A TRS generally may be used by a REIT to undertake indirectly activities that the REIT requirements might otherwise preclude the REIT from doing directly, such as the provision of noncustomary tenant services or the disposition of property held for sale to customers. See “— Gross Income Tests — Rents from Real Property” and “— Gross Income Tests — Prohibited Transactions.”
Gross Income Tests
We must satisfy two gross income tests annually to qualify and maintain our qualification as a REIT. First, at least 75% of our gross income for each taxable year generally must consist of the following:

•	rents from real property;

•
interest on debt secured by mortgages on real property or on interests in real property, and for taxable years after December 31, 2015, interest on debt secured by mortgages on both real and personal property if the fair market value of such personal property does not exceed 15% of the total fair market value of all such property;

•	dividends or other distributions on, and gain from the sale of, stock or shares of beneficial interest in other REITs;

•
gain from the sale of real estate assets other than, for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2015, gain from the sale of a nonqualified publicly offered REIT debt instrument as defined under Section 856(c)(5)(L)(ii) of the Code;

•	income and gain derived from foreclosure property; and

•
income derived from the temporary investment of new capital attributable to the issuance of our stock or a public offering of our debt with a maturity date of at least five years and that we receive during the one‑year period beginning on the date on which we receive such new capital.

For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2015, the term "real estate assets" also includes debt instruments of “publicly offered REITs,” personal property securing a mortgage secured by both real property and personal property if the fair market value of such personal property does not exceed 15% of the total fair market value of all such property, and personal property leased in connection with a lease of real property for which the rent attributable to personal property is not greater than 15% of the total rent received under the lease.
Second, in general, at least 95% of our gross income for each taxable year must consist of income that is qualifying income for purposes of the 75% gross income test, other types of interest and dividends, gain from the sale or disposition of stock or securities, for taxable years after December 31, 2015, income from debt instruments of “publicly offered REITs,” or any combination of these.
Cancellation of indebtedness income and gross income from a sale of property that we hold primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of business will be excluded from gross income for purposes of the 75% and 95% gross income tests. In addition, gains from “hedging transactions,” as defined in “— Hedging Transactions,” that are clearly and timely identified as such will be excluded from gross income for purposes of the 75% and 95% gross income tests. Finally, certain foreign currency gains will be excluded from gross income for purposes of one or both of the gross income tests.
The following paragraphs discuss the specific application of certain relevant aspects of the gross income tests to us.
Rents from Real Property. Rent that we receive for the use of our real property will qualify as “rents from real property,” which is qualifying income for purposes of the 75% and 95% gross income tests, only if the following conditions are met:
First, the rent must not be based in whole or in part on the income or profits of any person. However, participating rent will qualify as “rents from real property” if it is based on percentages of receipts or sales and the percentages generally:

•	are fixed at the time the leases are entered into;

•	are not renegotiated during the term of the leases in a manner that has the effect of basing percentage rent on income or profits; and

•	conform with normal business practice.
In compliance with the rules above, we intend to set and accept rents which are fixed dollar amounts with an annual percentage increase, if any, after a certain fixed number of years based on either a fixed percentage or the “consumer price index,” and not to any extent determined by reference to any person’s income or profits.
Second, we generally must not own, actually or constructively, 10% or more of the stock or the assets or net profits of any tenant, referred to as a “related‑party tenant.” The constructive ownership rules generally provide that, if 10% or more in value of our stock is owned, directly or indirectly, by or for any person, we are considered as owning the stock owned, directly or indirectly, by or for such person. Because the constructive ownership rules are broad and it is not possible to monitor direct and indirect transfers of our stock continually, no assurance can be given that such transfers or other events of which we have no knowledge will not cause us to own constructively 10% or more of a tenant (or a subtenant, in which case only rent attributable to the subtenant is disqualified).
Under an exception to the related‑party tenant rule, rent that we receive from a TRS lessee will qualify as “rents from real property” as long as (1) at least 90% of the leased space in the property is leased to persons other than TRS lessees and related‑party tenants, and (2) the amount paid by the TRS lessee to rent space at the property is substantially comparable to rents paid by other tenants of the property for comparable space.
Third, we must not furnish or render noncustomary services, other than a de minimis amount of noncustomary services, to the tenants of our properties other than through (i) an independent contractor from whom we do not derive or receive any income or (ii) a TRS. However, we generally may provide services directly to our tenants to the extent that such services are “usually or customarily rendered” in connection with the rental of space for occupancy only and are not considered to be provided for the tenants’ convenience. In addition, we may provide a minimal amount of noncustomary services to the tenants of a property, other than through an independent contractor from whom we do not derive or receive any income or a TRS, as long as the income attributable to the services (valued at not less than 150% of the direct cost of performing such services) does not exceed 1% of our gross income from the related property. If the rent from a lease does not qualify as “rents from real property” because we furnish noncustomary services having a value in excess of 1% of our gross income from the related property to the tenants of the property, other than through a qualifying independent contractor or a TRS, none of the rent from the property will qualify as “rents from real property.” We have not performed, and do not intend to provide any noncustomary services to our tenants unless such services are provided through independent contractors from whom we do not derive or receive any income or TRSs.
Fourth, rent attributable to any personal property leased in connection with a lease of real property will not qualify as “rents from real property” if the rent attributable to such personal property exceeds 15% of the total rent received under the lease. If a portion of the rent that we receive from a property does not qualify as “rents from real property” because the rent attributable to personal property exceeds 15% of the total rent for a taxable year, the portion of the rent attributable to personal property will not be

qualifying income for purposes of either the 75% or 95% gross income test. We do not and do not intend to lease significant amounts of personal property pursuant to our leases.
Fifth, the leases must be respected as true leases for federal income tax purposes and not treated as service contracts, joint ventures or some other type of arrangement. The determination of whether our leases are true leases depends on an analysis of all the surrounding facts and circumstances. We intend to enter into leases that will be treated as true leases.
We believe rents received under our leases generally qualify as “rents from real property” and any income attributable to noncustomary services or personal property will not jeopardize our ability to maintain our qualification as a REIT. However, there can be no assurance that the IRS would not challenge our conclusions, or that a court would agree with our conclusions. If such a challenge were successful, we could fail to satisfy the 75% or 95% gross income test and thus potentially lose our REIT status.
Interest. Interest income constitutes qualifying income for purposes of the 75% gross income test to the extent that the obligation upon which such interest is paid is secured by a mortgage on real property or on an interest in real property. For purposes of the 75% and 95% gross income tests, the term “interest” generally does not include any amount received or accrued, directly or indirectly, if the determination of such amount depends in whole or in part on the income or profits of any person. However, an amount received or accrued generally will not be excluded from the term “interest” solely because it is based on a fixed percentage or percentages of receipts or sales. Furthermore, to the extent that interest from a loan that is based on the profit or net cash proceeds from the sale of the property securing the loan constitutes a “shared appreciation provision,” income attributable to such participation feature will be treated as gain from the sale of the secured property.
We may provide mortgage loans. Interest on debt secured by mortgages on real property or on interests in real property, including, for this purpose, prepayment penalties, loan assumption fees and late payment charges that are not compensation for services, generally is qualifying income for purposes of the 75% gross income test. In general, under applicable Treasury Regulations, if a loan is secured by real property and other property and the highest principal amount of the loan outstanding during a taxable year exceeds the fair market value of the real property securing the loan determined as of the date we agreed to acquire or originate the loan then a portion of the interest income from such loan will not be qualifying income for purposes of the 75% gross income test, but will be qualifying income for purposes of the 95% gross income test. For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2015, in the case of real estate mortgage loans secured by both real and personal property, if the fair market value of such personal property does not exceed 15% of the total fair market value of all property securing the loan, then the personal property securing the loan will be treated as real property for purposes of determining whether the mortgage is qualifying under the 75% asset test and interest income that qualifies for purposes of the 75% gross income test. We anticipate that the interest on our mortgage loans generally would be treated as qualifying income for purposes of the 75% gross income test.
Certain mezzanine loans are secured by equity interests in an entity that directly or indirectly owns real property, rather than by a direct mortgage of the real property. IRS Revenue Procedure 2003‑65 provides a safe harbor pursuant to which a mezzanine loan, if it meets each of the requirements contained in the Revenue Procedure, will be treated by the IRS as a real estate asset for purposes of the REIT asset tests described below, and interest derived from it will be treated as qualifying mortgage interest for purposes of the 75% gross income test. Although the Revenue Procedure provides a safe harbor on which taxpayers may rely, it does not prescribe rules of substantive tax law. We anticipate that any mezzanine

loans that we originate typically may not meet all of the requirements for reliance on this safe harbor. Nevertheless, if we invest in mezzanine loans, we intend to do so in a manner that will enable us to satisfy the gross income tests and asset tests.
Dividends. Our share of any dividends received from any corporation or entity treated as a corporation for federal income tax purposes (including any taxable REIT subsidiary, but excluding any REIT or qualified REIT subsidiary) in which we own an equity interest will qualify for purposes of the 95% gross income test but not for purposes of the 75% gross income test. Our share of any dividends received from any other REIT in which we own an equity interest will be qualifying income for purposes of both gross income tests. Any dividends received by us from a qualified REIT subsidiary will be excluded from gross income for purposes of the 75% and 95% gross income tests.
Prohibited Transactions. A REIT will incur a 100% tax on the net income derived from any sale or other disposition of property, other than foreclosure property, that the REIT holds primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of a trade or business. Net income derived from such prohibited transactions is excluded from gross income for purposes of the 75% and 95% gross income tests. Whether a REIT holds an asset “primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of a trade or business” depends on the facts and circumstances that exist from time to time, including those related to a particular asset. A safe harbor to the characterization of the sale of property by a REIT as a prohibited transaction is available if the following requirements are met:

•	the REIT has held the property for not less than two years;

•	the aggregate capital expenditures made by the REIT, or any partner of the REIT, during the two‑year period preceding the date of the sale do not exceed 30% of the selling price of the property;

•
either (1) during the year in question, the REIT did not make more than seven property sales other than sales of foreclosure property or sales to which Section 1033 of the Code applies, (2) the aggregate adjusted bases of all such properties sold by the REIT during the year did not exceed 10% of the aggregate bases of all of the assets of the REIT at the beginning of the year or (3) the aggregate fair market value of all such properties sold by the REIT during the year did not exceed 10% of the aggregate fair market value of all of the assets of the REIT at the beginning of the year or, for taxable years beginning after December 18, 2015, (4) the REIT satisfies the requirements of clause (2) applied by substituting “20%” for “10%” and the 3-year average adjusted bases percentage for the taxable year does not exceed 10% or (5) the REIT satisfies the requirements of clause (3) applied by substituting “20%” for “10%” and the 3-year average fair market value percentage for the taxable year does not exceed 10%;

•	in the case of property not acquired through foreclosure or lease termination, the REIT has held the property for at least two years for the production of rental income; and

•
if the REIT has made more than seven property sales (excluding sales of foreclosure property) during the taxable year, substantially all of the marketing and development expenditures with respect to the property were made through an independent contractor from whom the REIT or, for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2015, a TRS derives no income.

We will attempt to comply with the terms of the foregoing safe‑harbor. However, we cannot assure you that we will be able to comply with the safe‑harbor provisions or that we will avoid owning property that may be characterized as property held “primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of a trade or business.” We may hold and dispose of certain properties through a TRS if we conclude that the sale or other disposition of such property may not fall within the safe‑harbor provisions. The 100% prohibited transactions tax will not apply to gains from the sale of property by a TRS, although such income will be taxed to the TRS at U.S. federal corporate income tax rates.
Foreclosure Property. We generally will be subject to tax at the maximum corporate rate on any net income from foreclosure property, other than income that otherwise would be qualifying income for purposes of the 75% gross income test. Gross income from foreclosure property will qualify under the 75% and 95% gross income tests.
Hedging Transactions. From time to time, we or our subsidiaries may enter into hedging transactions with respect to one or more of our or our subsidiaries’ assets or liabilities. Our or our subsidiaries’ hedging activities may include entering into interest rate swaps, caps, and floors, options to purchase such items, and futures and forward contracts. Income and gain from “hedging transactions” will be excluded from gross income for purposes of both the 75% and 95% gross income tests. A “hedging transaction” means either (1) any transaction entered into in the normal course of our or our subsidiaries’ trade or business primarily to manage the risk of interest rate, price changes, or currency fluctuations with respect to borrowings made or to be made, or ordinary obligations incurred or to be incurred, to acquire or carry real estate assets or (2) any transaction entered into primarily to manage the risk of currency fluctuations with respect to any item of income or gain that would be qualifying income under the 75% or 95% gross income test (or any property which generates such income or gain) and for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2015, new transactions entered into to hedge the income or loss from prior hedging transactions, where the property or indebtedness which was the subject of the prior hedging transaction was extinguished or disposed of. We are required to clearly identify any such hedging transaction before the close of the day on which it was acquired, originated, or entered into and to satisfy other identification requirements. We intend to structure any hedging transactions in a manner that does not jeopardize our qualification as a REIT; however, no assurance can be given that our hedging activities will give rise to income that is excluded from gross income or qualifies for purposes of either or both of the gross income tests.
Failure to Satisfy Gross Income Tests. We intend to monitor our sources of income, including any non‑qualifying income received by us, and manage our assets so as to ensure our compliance with the gross income tests. If we fail to satisfy one or both of the gross income tests for any taxable year, we nevertheless may qualify as a REIT for that year if we qualify for relief under certain provisions of the U.S. federal income tax laws. Those relief provisions are available if:

•	our failure to meet the applicable test is due to reasonable cause and not to willful neglect; and

•	following such failure for any taxable year, we file a schedule of the sources of our income with the IRS in accordance with the Treasury Regulations.
We cannot predict, however, whether any failure to meet these tests will qualify for the relief provisions.
In addition, as discussed above in “— Taxation of Our Company,” even if the relief provisions apply, we would incur a 100% tax on the gross income attributable to the greater of (1) the amount by which we

fail the 75% gross income test, or (2) the amount by which we fail the 95% gross income test, multiplied, in either case, by a fraction intended to reflect our profitability.
Asset Tests
To qualify as a REIT, we also must satisfy the following asset tests at the end of each quarter of each taxable year.
First, under the “75% asset test,” at least 75% of the value of our total assets generally must consist of:

•	cash or cash items, including certain receivables and shares in certain money market funds;

•	government securities;

•	interests in real property, including leaseholds and options to acquire real property and leaseholds;

•	interests in mortgage loans secured by real property;

•
for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2015, interests in personal property securing a mortgage secured by both real property and personal property if the fair market value of such personal property does not exceed 15% of the total fair market value of all such property;

•	stock or shares of beneficial interest in other REITs;

•
investments in stock or debt instruments during the one‑year period following our receipt of new capital that we raise through equity offerings or public offerings of debt with at least a five‑year term;

•
for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2015, personal property leased in connection with real property for which the rent attributable to personal property is not greater than 15% of the total rent received under the lease; and

•	for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2015, debt instruments issued by "publicly offered REITs.”
Second, under the “5% asset test,” of our assets that are not qualifying assets for purposes of the 75% asset test described above, the value of our interest in any one issuer’s securities may not exceed 5% of the value of our total assets.
Third, of our assets that are not qualifying assets for purposes of the 75% asset test described above, we may not own more than 10% of the voting power of any one issuer’s outstanding securities, or the “10% vote test,” or more than 10% of the value of any one issuer’s outstanding securities, or the “10% value test.”
Fourth, no more than 25% (20% for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2017) of the value of our total assets may consist of the securities of one or more TRSs.

Fifth, no more than 25% of the value of our total assets may consist of the securities of TRSs and other assets that are not qualifying assets for purposes of the 75% asset test.
Sixth, for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2015, not more than 25% of the value of our total assets may be represented by debt instruments of “publicly offered REITs” to the extent those debt instruments would not be real estate assets but for the inclusion of debt instruments of “publicly offered REITs” in the meaning of real estate assets for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2015, as described above.
For purposes of the 5% asset test, the 10% vote test and the 10% value test, the term “securities” does not include securities that qualify under the 75% asset test, securities of a TRS and equity interests in an entity taxed as a partnership for U.S. federal income tax purposes. For purposes of the 10% value test, the term “securities” also does not include: certain “straight debt” securities; any loan to an individual or an estate; most rental agreements and obligations to pay rent; any debt instrument issued by an entity taxed as a partnership for U.S. federal income tax purposes in which we are an owner to the extent of our proportionate interest in the debt and equity securities of the entity; and any debt instrument issued by an entity taxed as a partnership for U.S. federal income tax purposes if at least 75% of the entity’s gross income, excluding income from prohibited transactions, is qualifying income for purposes of the 75% gross income test described above in “— Gross Income Tests.”
We believe that the assets that we hold satisfy the foregoing asset test requirements. We will not obtain, nor are we required to obtain under the U.S. federal income tax laws, independent appraisals to support our conclusions as to the value of our assets and securities or the real estate collateral for the mortgage or mezzanine loans that we may originate. Moreover, the values of some assets may not be susceptible to a precise determination. As a result, there can be no assurance that the IRS will not contend that our ownership of securities and other assets violates one or more of the asset tests applicable to REITs.
Failure to Satisfy Asset Tests. We will monitor the status of our assets for purposes of the various asset tests and will manage our portfolio in order to comply at all times with such tests. Nevertheless, if we fail to satisfy the asset tests at the end of a calendar quarter, we will not lose our REIT status if:

•	we satisfied the asset tests at the end of the preceding calendar quarter; and

•
the discrepancy between the value of our assets and the asset test requirements arose from changes in the market values of our assets and was not caused, in part or in whole, by the acquisition of one or more non‑qualifying assets.

If we did not satisfy the condition described in the second bullet point immediately above, we still could avoid REIT disqualification by eliminating any discrepancy within 30 days after the close of the calendar quarter in which the discrepancy arose.
In the event that we violate the 5% asset test, the 10% vote test or the 10% value test described above, we will not lose our REIT status if (1) the failure is de minimis (up to the lesser of 1% of our assets or $10 million) and (2) we dispose of assets causing the failure or otherwise comply with the asset tests within six months after the last day of the quarter in which we identify such failure. In the event of a failure of any of such asset tests other than a de minimis failure, as described in the preceding sentence, we will not lose our REIT status if (1) the failure was due to reasonable cause and not to willful neglect, (2) we file a description of each asset causing the failure with the IRS, (3) we dispose of assets causing the failure or

otherwise comply with the asset tests within six months after the last day of the quarter in which we identify the failure, and(4) we pay a tax equal to the greater of $50,000 or the highest U.S. federal corporate income tax rate (currently 35%) multiplied by the net income from the nonqualifying assets during the period in which we failed to satisfy the asset tests.
Annual Distribution Requirements
Each taxable year, we must make distributions, other than capital gain dividend distributions and deemed distributions of retained capital gain, to our stockholders in an aggregate amount at least equal to:

•	the sum of:

◦	90% of our “REIT taxable income,” computed without regard to the dividends paid deduction and excluding any net capital gain, and

◦	90% of our after‑tax net income, if any, from foreclosure property, minus

•	the sum of certain items of non‑cash income.
Generally, we must pay such distributions in the taxable year to which they relate, or in the following taxable year if either (1) we declare the distribution before we timely file our U.S. federal income tax return for the year and pay the distribution on or before the first regular dividend payment date after such declaration or (2) we declare the distribution in October, November, or December of the taxable year, payable to stockholders of record on a specified day in any such month, and we actually pay the dividend before the end of January of the following year. In both instances, these distributions relate to our prior taxable year for purposes of the annual distribution requirement to the extent of our earnings and profits for such prior taxable year.
We will pay U.S. federal income tax on any taxable income, including net capital gain, that we do not distribute to our stockholders. Furthermore, if we fail to distribute during a calendar year, or by the end of January of the following calendar year in the case of distributions with declaration and record dates falling in the last three months of the calendar year, at least the sum of:

•	85% of our REIT ordinary income for the year,

•	95% of our REIT capital gain net income for the year, and

•	any undistributed taxable income from prior years,
we will incur a 4% nondeductible excise tax on the excess of such required distribution over the amounts we actually distributed.
We may elect to retain and pay U.S. federal income tax on the net long‑term capital gain that we receive in a taxable year. If we so elect, we will be treated as having distributed any such retained amount for purposes of the 4% nondeductible excise tax described above. We intend to make timely distributions sufficient to satisfy the annual distribution requirement and to minimize U.S. federal corporate income tax and avoid the 4% nondeductible excise tax.

It is possible that, from time to time, we may experience timing differences between the actual receipt of income and actual payment of deductible expenses and the inclusion of that income and deduction of such expenses in arriving at our REIT taxable income. Further, it is possible that, from time to time, we may be allocated a share of net capital gain from an entity taxed as a partnership for U.S. federal income tax purposes in which we own an interest that is attributable to the sale of depreciated property that exceeds our allocable share of cash attributable to that sale. As a result of the foregoing, we may have less cash than is necessary to make distributions to our stockholders that are sufficient to avoid U.S. federal corporate income tax and the 4% nondeductible excise tax imposed on certain undistributed income or even to meet the annual distribution requirement. In such a situation, we may need to borrow funds or issue additional stock or, if possible, pay dividends consisting, in whole or in part, of our stock or debt securities.
In order for distributions to be counted as satisfying the annual distribution requirement applicable to REITs and to provide us with a REIT‑level tax deduction, the distributions must not be “preferential dividends,” unless such distributions are made in taxable years beginning after December 31, 2014 and we qualify as a "publicly offered REIT." A distribution is not a preferential dividend if the distribution is (1) pro rata among all outstanding shares within a particular class, and (2) in accordance with the preferences among different classes of stock as set forth in our organizational documents. We believe that we are, and expect we will continue to be, a "publicly offered REIT."
Under certain circumstances, we may be able to correct a failure to meet the distribution requirement for a year by paying “deficiency dividends” to our stockholders in a later year. We may include such deficiency dividends in our deduction for dividends paid for the earlier year. Although we may be able to avoid income tax on amounts distributed as deficiency dividends, we will be required to pay interest to the IRS based on the amount of any deduction we take for deficiency dividends.
Recordkeeping Requirements
We must maintain certain records in order to maintain our qualification as a REIT. To avoid paying monetary penalties, we must demand, on an annual basis, information from certain of our stockholders designed to disclose the actual ownership of our outstanding stock, and we must maintain a list of those persons failing or refusing to comply with such demand as part of our records. A stockholder that fails or refuses to comply with such demand is required by the Treasury Regulations to submit a statement with its tax return disclosing the actual ownership of our stock and other information. We intend to comply with these recordkeeping requirements.
Failure to Qualify as a REIT
If we fail to satisfy one or more requirements for REIT qualification, other than the gross income tests and the asset tests, we could avoid disqualification if our failure is due to reasonable cause and not to willful neglect and we pay a penalty of $50,000 for each such failure. In addition, there are relief provisions available under the Code for a failure of the gross income tests and asset tests, as described in “— Gross Income Tests” and “— Asset Tests.”
If we were to fail to maintain our qualification as a REIT in any taxable year, and no relief provision applied, we would be subject to U.S. federal income tax on our taxable income at U.S. federal corporate income tax rates and any applicable alternative minimum tax. In calculating our taxable income for a year in which we failed to maintain our qualification as a REIT, we would not be able to deduct amounts distributed to our stockholders, and we would not be required to distribute any amounts to our stockholders for that year. Unless we qualified for relief under the statutory relief provisions described in

the preceding paragraph, we also would be disqualified from taxation as a REIT for the four taxable years following the year during which we ceased to maintain our qualification as a REIT. We cannot predict whether in all circumstances we would qualify for such statutory relief.
Taxation of Taxable U.S. Stockholders
For purposes of our discussion, the term “U.S. stockholder” means a beneficial owner of our common stock that, for U.S. federal income tax purposes, is:

•	an individual citizen or resident of the United States;

•
a corporation (including an entity treated as a corporation for U.S. federal income tax purposes) created or organized under the laws of the United States, any of its states or the District of Columbia;

•	an estate whose income is subject to U.S. federal income taxation regardless of its source; or

•
any trust if (1) a U.S. court is able to exercise primary supervision over the administration of such trust and one or more U.S. persons have the authority to control all substantial decisions of the trust or (2) it has a valid election in place to be treated as a U.S. person.

If an entity or arrangement treated as a partnership for U.S. federal income tax purposes (a “partnership”) holds our common stock, the U.S. federal income tax treatment of an owner of the partnership generally will depend on the status of the owner and the activities of the partnership. Partnerships and their owners should consult their tax advisors regarding the consequences of the ownership and disposition of our common stock by the partnership.
Distributions. If we qualify as a REIT, distributions made out of our current and accumulated earnings and profits that we do not designate as capital gain dividends will be ordinary dividend income to taxable U.S. stockholders. A corporate U.S. stockholder will not qualify for the dividends‑received deduction generally available to corporations. Our ordinary dividends also generally will not qualify for the preferential long‑term capital gain tax rate applicable to “qualified dividends” unless certain holding period requirements are met and such dividends are attributable to (i) qualified dividends received by us from non‑REIT corporations, such as any TRSs, or (ii) income recognized by us and on which we have paid U.S. federal corporate income tax. We do not expect a meaningful portion of our ordinary dividends to be eligible for taxation as qualified dividends.
Any distribution we declare in October, November, or December of any year that is payable to a U.S. stockholder of record on a specified date in any of those months and is attributable to our current and accumulated earnings and profits for such year will be treated as paid by us and received by the U.S. stockholder on December 31 of that year, provided that we actually pay the distribution during January of the following calendar year.
Distributions to a U.S. stockholder which we designate as capital gain dividends generally will be treated as long‑term capital gain, without regard to the period for which the U.S. stockholder has held our stock to the extent that such gain does not exceed our actual net capital gain for the taxable year. For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2015, dividends designated as capital gain dividends may not exceed our dividends paid for the taxable year, including dividends paid the following year that are

treated as paid in the current year. A corporate U.S. stockholder may be required to treat up to 20% of certain capital gain dividends as ordinary income.
We may elect to retain and pay U.S. federal corporate income tax on the net long‑term capital gain that we receive in a taxable year. In that case, to the extent that we designate such amount in a timely notice to our stockholders, a U.S. stockholder would be taxed on its proportionate share of our undistributed long‑term capital gain. The U.S. stockholder would receive a credit or refund for its proportionate share of the U.S. federal corporate income tax we paid. The U.S. stockholder would increase its basis in our common stock by the amount of its proportionate share of our undistributed long‑term capital gain, minus its share of the U.S. federal corporate income tax we paid.
A U.S. stockholder will not incur U.S. federal income tax on a distribution in excess of our current and accumulated earnings and profits if the distribution does not exceed the U.S. stockholder’s adjusted basis in our common stock. Instead, the distribution will reduce the U.S. stockholder’s adjusted basis in our common stock. The excess of any distribution to a U.S. stockholder over both its share of our current and accumulated earnings and profits and its adjusted basis will be treated as capital gain and long‑term capital gain if the stock has been held for more than one year.
U.S. stockholders may not include in their individual federal income tax returns any of our net operating losses or capital losses. Instead, these losses are generally carried over by us for potential offset against our future income. We will notify U.S. stockholders after the close of our taxable year as to the portions of the distributions attributable to that taxable year that constitute ordinary income, return of capital and capital gain.
Dispositions. In general, a U.S. stockholder will recognize gain or loss on the sale or other taxable disposition of our stock in an amount equal to the difference between (i) the sum of the fair market value of any property and the amount of cash received in such disposition and (ii) the U.S. stockholder’s adjusted tax basis in such stock. A U.S. stockholder’s adjusted tax basis in our stock generally will equal the U.S. stockholder’s acquisition cost, increased by the excess of undistributed net capital gains deemed distributed to the U.S. stockholder over the federal corporate income tax deemed paid by the U.S. stockholder on such gains and reduced by any returns of capital. Such gain or loss generally will be long‑term capital gain or loss if the U.S. stockholder has held such stock for more than one year and short‑term capital gain or loss otherwise. However, a U.S. stockholder must treat any loss on a sale or exchange of our common stock held by such stockholder for six months or less as a long‑term capital loss to the extent of capital gain dividends and any other actual or deemed distributions from us that such U.S. stockholder treats as long‑term capital gain. All or a portion of any loss that a U.S. stockholder realizes on a taxable disposition of shares of our common stock may be disallowed if the U.S. stockholder purchases other shares of our common stock within 30 days before or after the disposition. Capital losses generally are available only to offset capital gains of the stockholder except in the case of individuals, who may offset up to $3,000 of ordinary income each year.
Other Considerations. U.S. stockholders may not include in their individual U.S. federal income tax returns any of our net operating losses or capital losses. Taxable distributions from us and gain from the disposition of our common stock will not be treated as passive activity income and, therefore, U.S. stockholders generally will not be able to apply any “passive activity losses” against such income.
In addition, taxable distributions from us and gain from the disposition of our common stock generally will be treated as investment income for purposes of the investment interest limitations.

Tax Rates. The maximum U.S. federal income tax rate on ordinary income and short‑term capital gains applicable to U.S. holders that are taxed at individual rates currently is 39.6%, and the maximum U.S. federal income tax rate on long‑term capital gains applicable to U.S. holders that are taxed at individual rates currently is 20%. However, the maximum tax rate on long‑term capital gain from the sale or exchange of “section 1250 property” (i.e., generally, depreciable real property) is 25% to the extent the gain would have been treated as ordinary income if the property were “section 1245 property” (i.e., generally, depreciable personal property). We generally will designate whether a distribution that we designate as a capital gain dividend (and any retained capital gain that we are deemed to distribute) is attributable to the sale or exchange of “section 1250 property.”
Additional Medicare Tax. Certain U.S. holders, including individuals, estates and trusts, will be subject to an additional 3.8% tax, which, for individuals, applies to the lesser of (i) “net investment income” or (ii) the excess of “modified adjusted gross income” over $200,000 ($250,000 if married and filing jointly or $125,000 if married and filing separately). “Net investment income” generally equals the taxpayer’s gross investment income reduced by the deductions that are allocable to such income. Investment income generally includes passive income such as interest, dividends, annuities, royalties, rents and capital gains.
Taxation of Tax‑Exempt Stockholders
Tax‑exempt entities, including qualified employee pension and profit sharing trusts, or “qualified trusts,” and individual retirement accounts and annuities, generally are exempt from U.S. federal income taxation. However, they are subject to taxation on their “unrelated business taxable income,” or UBTI. Amounts that we distribute to tax‑exempt stockholders generally should not constitute UBTI. However, if a tax‑exempt stockholder were to finance its acquisition of our common stock with debt, a portion of the distribution that it received from us would constitute UBTI pursuant to the “debt‑financed property” rules. Furthermore, social clubs, voluntary employee benefit associations, supplemental unemployment benefit trusts, and qualified group legal services plans that are exempt from taxation under special provisions of the U.S. federal income tax laws are subject to different UBTI rules, which generally will require them to characterize distributions that they receive from us as UBTI.
Finally, in certain circumstances, a qualified trust that owns more than 10% of the value of our stock must treat a percentage of the dividends that it receives from us as UBTI. Such percentage is equal to the gross income that we derive from unrelated trades or businesses, determined as if we were a qualified trust, divided by our total gross income for the year in which we pay the dividends. Such rule applies to a qualified trust holding more than 10% of the value of our stock only if:

•	we are classified as a “pension‑held REIT”; and

•
the amount of gross income that we derive from unrelated trades or businesses for the year in which we pay the dividends, determined as if we were a qualified trust, is at least 5% of our total gross income for such year.

We will be classified as a “pension‑held REIT” if:

•	we qualify as a REIT by reason of the modification of the rule requiring that no more than 50% of our stock be owned by five or fewer individuals that allows the beneficiaries of the qualified trust

to be treated as holding our stock in proportion to their actuarial interests in the qualified trust; and

•	either:

◦	one qualified trust owns more than 25% of the value of our stock; or

◦	a group of qualified trusts, of which each qualified trust holds more than 10% of the value of our stock, collectively owns more than 50% of the value of our stock.
As a result of limitations included in our charter on the transfer and ownership of our stock, we do not expect to be classified as a “pension‑held REIT,” and, therefore, the tax treatment described in this paragraph should be inapplicable to our stockholders. However, because shares of our common stock are publicly traded, we cannot guarantee that this will always be the case.
Taxation of Non‑U.S. Stockholders
For purposes of our discussion, the term “non‑U.S. stockholder” means a beneficial owner of our common stock that is not a U.S. stockholder, an entity or arrangement taxed as a partnership for U.S. federal income tax purposes or a tax‑exempt stockholder. The rules governing U.S. federal income taxation of non‑U.S. stockholders, including nonresident alien individuals, foreign corporations, foreign partnerships and other foreign stockholders, are complex. This section is only a summary of certain of those rules.
We urge non‑U.S. stockholders to consult their own tax advisors to determine the impact of U.S. federal, state, local and foreign income tax laws on the acquisition, ownership and disposition of our common stock, including any reporting requirements.
Distributions. Distributions to a non‑U.S. stockholder (i) out of our current and accumulated earnings and profits, (ii) not attributable to gain from our sale or exchange of a “United States real property interest,” or a USRPI, and (iii) not designated by us as a capital gain dividend will be subject to a withholding tax at a rate of 30% unless:

•
a lower treaty rate applies and the non‑U.S. stockholder submits an IRS Form W‑8BEN or W‑8BEN‑E, as applicable (or any applicable successor form), to us evidencing eligibility for that reduced rate; or

•
the non‑U.S. stockholder submits an IRS Form W‑8ECI (or any applicable successor form) to us claiming that the distribution is income effectively connected to a U.S. trade or business of such stockholder.

A non‑U.S. stockholder generally will be subject to U.S. federal income tax at graduated rates on any distribution treated as effectively connected with the non‑U.S. stockholder’s conduct of a U.S. trade or business in the same manner as a U.S. stockholder. In addition, a corporate non‑U.S. stockholder may be subject to a 30% branch profits tax with respect to any such distribution.
A non‑U.S. stockholder will not incur tax on a distribution in excess of our current and accumulated earnings and profits if such excess does not exceed such non‑U.S. stockholder’s adjusted basis in our

common stock. Instead, the excess portion of such distribution will reduce the non‑U.S. stockholder’s adjusted basis in our common stock. The excess of a distribution over both our current and accumulated earnings and profits and the non‑U.S. stockholder’s adjusted basis in our common stock will be taxed, if at all, as gain from the sale or disposition of our common stock. See “— Dispositions” below. Under FIRPTA (discussed below), we may be required to withhold 10% (15% for dispositions occurring after February 16, 2016) of the portion of any distribution that exceeds our current and accumulated earnings and profits.
Because we generally cannot determine at the time we make a distribution whether the distribution will exceed our current and accumulated earnings and profits, we may withhold tax at a rate of 30% (or such lower rate as may be provided under an applicable tax treaty) on the entire amount of any distribution. A non‑U.S. stockholder may obtain a refund of amounts that we withhold if we later determine that a distribution in fact exceeded our current and accumulated earnings and profits.
Under the Foreign Investment in Real Property Tax Act of 1980, or FIRPTA, distributions attributable to capital gains from the sale or exchange by us of USRPIs are treated like income effectively connected with the conduct of a U.S. trade or business, generally are subject to U.S. federal income taxation in the same manner and at the same rates applicable to U.S. stockholders and, with respect to corporate non‑U.S. stockholders, may be subject to a 30% branch profits tax. However, these distributions will not be subject to tax under FIRPTA, and will instead be taxed in the same manner as distributions described above, if:

•	the distribution is made with respect to a class of shares regularly traded on an established securities market in the United States; and

•	the non‑U.S. stockholder does not own more than 10%% of such class at any time during the year within which the distribution is received.
If our common stock is not regularly traded on an established securities market in the United States or if a non‑U.S. stockholder owned more than 10% % of our outstanding common stock any time during the one‑year period preceding the distribution, capital gain distributions to such non‑U.S. stockholder attributable to our sales of USRPIs would be subject to tax under FIRPTA. Unless you are a qualified shareholder or a qualified foreign pension fund (both as defined below), we are required to withhold 35% of any distribution to a non‑U.S. stockholder owning more than 10% of the relevant class of shares that could be designated by us as a capital gain dividend. Any amount so withheld is creditable against the non‑U.S. stockholder’s U.S. federal income tax liability.
In addition, distributions to certain non-U.S. publicly traded shareholders that meet certain record-keeping and other requirements ("qualified shareholders") are exempt from FIRPTA, except to the extent owners of such qualified shareholders that are not also qualified shareholders own, actually or constructively, more than 10% of our capital stock. Furthermore, distributions to "qualified foreign pension funds" or entities all of the interests of which are held by "qualified foreign pension funds" are exempt from FIRPTA. Non-U.S. holders should consult their tax advisors regarding the application of these rules.
Although not free from doubt, amounts we designate as retained capital gains in respect of the common stock held by U.S. stockholders generally should be treated with respect to non‑U.S. stockholders in the same manner as actual distributions by us of capital gain dividends. Under this approach, a non‑U.S. stockholder would be able to offset as a credit against its U.S. federal income tax

liability resulting from its proportionate share of the tax paid by us on such retained capital gains, and to receive from the IRS a refund to the extent the non‑U.S. stockholder’s proportionate share of such tax paid by us exceeds its actual U.S. federal income tax liability, provided that the non‑U.S. stockholder furnishes required information to the IRS on a timely basis.
Dispositions. Non‑U.S. stockholders may incur tax under FIRPTA with respect to gain recognized on a disposition of our common stock unless one of the applicable exceptions described below applies. Any gain subject to tax under FIRPTA generally will be taxed in the same manner as it would be in the hands of U.S. stockholders, except that corporate non‑U.S. stockholders also may be subject to a 30% branch profits tax. In addition, the purchaser of such common stock could be required to withhold 10% (15% for dispositions occurring after February 16, 2016) of the purchase price for such stock and remit such amount to the IRS.
Non‑U.S. stockholders generally will not incur tax under FIRPTA with respect to gain on a sale of our common stock as long as, at all times during a specified testing period, we are “domestically controlled,” i.e., non‑U.S. persons hold, directly or indirectly, less than 50% in value of our outstanding stock. We cannot assure you that we will be domestically controlled. For purposes of determining whether a REIT is a "domestically controlled qualified investment entity," a person who at all applicable times holds less than 5 % of a class of stock that is "regularly traded" is treated as a U.S. person unless the REIT has actual knowledge that such person is not a U.S. person. In addition, even if we are not domestically controlled, if our common stock is “regularly traded” on an established securities market, a non‑U.S. stockholder that owned, actually or constructively, 10% or less of our outstanding common stock at all times during a specified testing period will not incur tax under FIRPTA on gain from a sale of our common stock. Accordingly, provided our common stock is “regularly traded” on an established securities market, a non‑U.S. stockholder that has not owned more than 10% of our common stock at any time during the five‑year period prior to such sale will not incur tax under FIRPTA on gain from a sale of our common stock. In addition, dispositions of our capital stock by qualified shareholders are exempt from FIRPTA, except to the extent owners of such qualified shareholders that are not also qualified shareholders own, actually or constructively, more than 10% of our capital stock. Furthermore, dispositions of our capital stock by "qualified foreign pension funds" or entities all of the interests of which are held by "qualified foreign pension funds" are exempt from FIRPTA. Non-U.S. holders should consult their tax advisors regarding the application of these rules.
A non‑U.S. stockholder generally will incur tax on gain from a disposition of our common stock not subject to FIRPTA if:

•
the gain is effectively connected with the conduct of the non‑U.S. stockholder’s U.S. trade or business, in which case the non‑U.S. stockholder generally will be subject to the same treatment as U.S. stockholders with respect to such gain, except that a non‑U.S. stockholder that is a corporation also may be subject to the 30% branch profits tax; or

•
the non‑U.S. stockholder is a nonresident alien individual who was present in the U.S. for 183 days or more during the taxable year and certain other conditions are satisfied, in which case the non‑U.S. stockholder generally will incur a 30% tax on its capital gains.

Taxation of Taxable Non‑U.S. Holders of Debt Securities
Interest. Except as set forth below, all payments of interest and principal on the debt securities made to a non‑U.S. holder will be exempt from U.S. federal income tax, provided that: (i) such non‑U.S. holder does not own, actually or constructively, 10% or more of the capital or profits interest in the Partnership, (ii) such non‑U.S. holder is not a controlled foreign corporation with respect to which the Operating Partnership is a related person within the meaning of Section 864(d)(4), (iii) such non‑U.S. holder is not a bank receiving certain types of interest, and (iv) the beneficial owner of the debt securities certifies, under penalties of perjury, to us or our paying agent on IRS Form W‑8BEN or Form W‑8BEN‑E (or appropriate substitute form) that it is not a United States person and provides its name, address and certain other required information or certain other certification requirements are satisfied.
If a non‑U.S. holder cannot satisfy the requirements described above, payments of interest will be subject to the 30% U.S. federal withholding tax, unless such non‑U.S. holder provides us with a properly executed (i) IRS Form W‑8BEN or Form W‑8BEN‑E (or appropriate substitute form) claiming an exemption from or reduction in withholding under the benefit of an applicable income tax treaty or (ii) IRS Form W‑8ECI (or appropriate substitute form) stating that interest paid or accrued on the debt securities is not subject to withholding tax because it is effectively connected with the conduct of a trade or business in the United States.
Sale, Exchange, Retirement or Other Disposition of the Debt Securities. Subject to the discussion below and except with respect to accrued but unpaid interest, which will be taxable as described above under “— Interest,” a non‑U.S. holder generally will not be subject to U.S. federal income or withholding tax on the receipt of payments of principal on a debt security, or on any gain recognized upon the sale, exchange, retirement or other disposition of a debt security, unless in the case of gain (i) such gain is effectively connected with the conduct by such non‑U.S. holder of a trade or business within the United States and, if a treaty applies (and the holder complies with applicable certification and other requirements to claim treaty benefits), is attributable to a permanent establishment maintained by the non‑U.S. holder within the United States or (ii) such non‑U.S. holder is an individual who is present in the United States for 183 days or more in the taxable year of disposition, and certain other conditions are met.
If a non‑U.S. holder of debt securities is engaged in a trade or business in the United States, and if interest on the debt securities or gain realized on the sale, exchange, or other disposition of the debt securities is effectively connected with the conduct of such trade or business, the non‑U.S. holder generally will be subject to regular U.S. federal income tax on such income or gain in the same manner as if the non‑U.S. holder were a U.S. holder. If the non‑U.S. holder is eligible for the benefits of an income tax treaty between the United States and the holder’s country of residence, any “effectively connected” income or gain generally will be subject to U.S. federal income tax only if it is also attributable to a permanent establishment or fixed base maintained by the holder in the United States. Payments of interest that are effectively connected with a U.S. trade or business (and, if an income tax treaty applies, attributable to a permanent establishment or fixed base), and therefore included in the gross income of a non‑U.S. holder, will not be subject to the 30% withholding tax provided that the holder claims exemption from withholding. To claim exemption from withholding, the holder must certify its qualification, which can be done by filing a properly executed IRS Form W‑8ECI. In addition, if such a non‑U.S. holder is a foreign corporation, such holder may also be subject to a branch profits tax equal to 30% (or such lower rate provided by an applicable treaty) of its effectively connected earnings and profits for the taxable year, subject to certain adjustments.

Information Reporting Requirements and Backup Withholding
We will report to our holders and to the IRS the amount of interest or distributions that we pay during each calendar year, and the amount of tax that we withhold, if any. Under the backup withholding rules, a holder may be subject to backup withholding (at a rate of 28%) with respect to distributions or interest unless the holder:

•	is a corporation or qualifies for certain other exempt categories and, when required, demonstrates this fact; or

•	provides a taxpayer identification number, certifies as to no loss of exemption from backup withholding, and otherwise complies with the applicable requirements of the backup withholding rules.
A holder who does not provide us with its correct taxpayer identification number also may be subject to penalties imposed by the IRS. Any amount paid as backup withholding will be creditable against the holder’s U.S. federal income tax liability. In addition, we may be required to withhold a portion of capital gain distributions to any stockholders who fail to certify their non‑foreign status to us.
Backup withholding generally will not apply to payments of dividends or interest made by us or our paying agents, in their capacities as such, to a non‑U.S. holder provided that such non‑U.S. holder furnishes to us or our paying agent the required certification as to its non‑U.S. status, such as providing a valid IRS Form W‑8BEN or W‑8BEN‑E, as applicable, or W‑8ECI (or any applicable successor form), or certain other requirements are met. Notwithstanding the foregoing, backup withholding may apply if either we or our paying agent has actual knowledge, or reason to know, that the holder is a “U.S. person” that is not an exempt recipient. Payments of the proceeds from a disposition or a redemption of our common stock or debt securities that occurs outside the U.S. by a non‑U.S. holder made by or through a foreign office of a broker generally will not be subject to information reporting or backup withholding. However, information reporting (but not backup withholding) generally will apply to such a payment if the broker has certain connections with the U.S. unless the broker has documentary evidence in its records that demonstrates that the beneficial owner is a non‑U.S. holder and specified conditions are met or an exemption is otherwise established.
Payment of the proceeds from a disposition of our stock or debt security by a non‑U.S. holder made by or through the U.S. office of a broker generally is subject to information reporting and backup withholding unless the non‑U.S. holder certifies under penalties of perjury that it is not a U.S. person and satisfies certain other requirements, or otherwise establishes an exemption from information reporting and backup withholding.
Backup withholding is not an additional tax. Any amounts withheld under the backup withholding rules may be refunded or credited against the holder’s U.S. federal income tax liability if certain required information is furnished to the IRS. Holders should consult their own tax advisors regarding application of backup withholding to them and the availability of, and procedure for obtaining an exemption from, backup withholding.
FATCA
The Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (“FATCA”) imposes a U.S. federal withholding tax on certain types of payments made to “foreign financial institutions” and certain other non‑U.S. entities

unless certain due diligence, reporting, withholding, and certification obligation requirements are satisfied. FATCA generally imposes a U.S. federal withholding tax at a rate of 30% on dividends, interest and gross proceeds from the sale or other disposition of, our stock or debt securities if paid to a foreign entity unless either (i) the foreign entity is a “foreign financial institution” that undertakes certain due diligence, reporting, withholding, and certification obligations, or in the case of a foreign financial institution that is a resident in a jurisdiction that is treated as having an intergovernmental agreement to implement FATCA, the entity complies with the diligence and reporting requirements of such agreement, (ii) the foreign entity is not a “foreign financial institution” and identifies certain of its U.S. investors, or (iii) the foreign entity otherwise is excepted under FATCA. If we determine withholding is appropriate, we may withhold tax at the applicable statutory rate, and we will not pay any additional amounts in respect of such withholding. FATCA withholding became applicable on July 1, 2014 with respect to dividends and interest from our stock and debt securities. However, under delayed effective dates provided for in the Treasury Regulations and other IRS guidance, FATCA withholding will not become applicable until January 1, 2019 with respect to gross proceeds from a sale or other disposition of our stock or debt securities.
If withholding is required under FATCA on a payment related to our common stock or debt securities, holders of our common stock or debt securities that otherwise would not be subject to withholding (or that otherwise would be entitled to a reduced rate of withholding) generally will be required to seek a refund or credit from the IRS to obtain the benefit of such exemption or reduction (provided that such benefit is available). You are encouraged to consult your own tax advisor regarding the effect of FATCA on an investment in our common stock or debt securities.
Tax Aspects of Our Investments in Our Operating Partnership and Other Subsidiary Partnerships
The following discussion summarizes the material U.S. federal income tax considerations that are applicable to our direct and indirect investments in our subsidiaries that are taxed as partnerships for U.S. federal income tax purposes, each individually referred to as a “Partnership” and, collectively, as the “Partnerships.” The following discussion does not address state or local tax laws or any U.S. federal tax laws other than income tax laws.
Classification as Partnerships
We are required to include in our income our distributive share of each Partnership’s income and allowed to deduct our distributive share of each Partnership’s losses but only if such Partnership is classified for U.S. federal income tax purposes as a partnership rather than as a corporation or an association treated as a corporation. An unincorporated entity with at least two owners, as determined for U.S. federal income tax purposes, will be classified as a partnership, rather than as a corporation, for U.S. federal income tax purposes if it:

•	is treated as a partnership under the Treasury Regulations relating to entity classification, or the “check‑the‑box regulations”; and

•	is not a “publicly traded partnership.”
Under the check‑the‑box regulations, an unincorporated entity with at least two owners may elect to be classified either as an association treated as a corporation or as a partnership for U.S. federal income tax purposes. If such an entity does not make an election, it generally will be taxed as a partnership for

U.S. federal income tax purposes. Our Operating Partnership intends to be classified as a partnership for U.S. federal income tax purposes and will not elect to be treated as an association treated as a corporation.
A publicly traded partnership is a partnership whose interests are traded on an established securities market or are readily tradable on a secondary market or the substantial equivalent thereof. A publicly traded partnership generally is treated as a corporation for U.S. federal income tax purposes, but will not be so treated if, for each taxable year beginning after December 31, 1987 in which it was classified as a publicly traded partnership, at least 90% of the partnership’s gross income consisted of specified passive income, including real property rents, gains from the sale or other disposition of real property, interest, and dividends, or the “90% passive income exception.” The Treasury Regulations provide limited safe harbors from treatment as a publicly traded partnership. Pursuant to one of those safe harbors, interests in a partnership will not be treated as readily tradable on a secondary market or the substantial equivalent thereof if (1) all interests in the partnership were issued in a transaction or transactions that were not required to be registered under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and (2) the partnership does not have more than 100 partners at any time during the partnership’s taxable year. In determining the number of partners in a partnership, a person owning an interest in a partnership, grantor trust, or S corporation that owns an interest in the partnership is treated as a partner in such partnership only if (1) substantially all of the value of the owner’s interest in the entity is attributable to the entity’s direct or indirect interest in the partnership and (2) a principal purpose of the use of the entity is to permit the partnership to satisfy the 100‑partner limitation. If any Partnership does not qualify for any safe harbor and is treated as a publicly traded partnership, we believe that such Partnership would have sufficient qualifying income to satisfy the 90% passive income exception and, therefore, would not be treated as a corporation for U.S. federal income tax purposes.
We have not requested, and do not intend to request, a ruling from the IRS that any Partnership is or will be classified as a partnership for U.S. federal income tax purposes. If, for any reason, a Partnership were treated as a corporation, rather than as a partnership, for U.S. federal income tax purposes, we may not be able to qualify as a REIT, unless we qualify for certain statutory relief provisions. See “— Gross Income Tests” and “— Asset Tests.” In addition, any change in a Partnership’s status for U.S. federal income tax purposes might be treated as a taxable event, in which case we might incur tax liability without any related cash distribution. See “— Annual Distribution Requirements.” Further, items of income and deduction of such Partnership would not pass through to us, and we would be treated as a stockholder for U.S. federal income tax purposes. Consequently, such Partnership would be required to pay income tax at U.S. federal corporate income tax rates on its net income, and distributions to us would constitute dividends that would not be deductible in computing such Partnership’s taxable income.
Income Taxation of the Partnerships and Their Partners
Partners, Not the Partnerships, Subject to Tax. A partnership is not a taxable entity for U.S. federal income tax purposes. Rather, we are required to take into account our distributive share of each Partnership’s income, gains, losses, deductions, and credits for each taxable year of the Partnership ending with or within our taxable year, even if we receive no distribution from the Partnership for that year or a distribution that is less than our share of taxable income. Similarly, even if we receive a distribution, it may not be taxable if the distribution does not exceed our adjusted tax basis in our interest in the Partnership.
Partnership Allocations. Although an agreement among the owners of an entity taxed as a partnership for U.S. federal income tax purposes generally will determine the allocation of income and losses among the owners, such allocations will be disregarded for tax purposes if they do not comply with

the provisions of the U.S. federal income tax laws governing partnership allocations. If an allocation is not recognized for U.S. federal income tax purposes, the item subject to the allocation will be reallocated in accordance with the “partners’ interests in the partnership,” which will be determined by taking into account all of the facts and circumstances relating to the economic arrangement of the owners with respect to such item.
Tax Allocations With Respect to Contributed Properties. Income, gain, loss, and deduction attributable to appreciated or depreciated property contributed to an entity taxed as a partnership for U.S. federal income tax purposes in exchange for an interest in such entity must be allocated for U.S. federal income tax purposes in a manner such that the contributing owner is charged with, or benefits from, respectively, the unrealized gain or unrealized loss associated with the property at the time of the contribution (the “704(c) Allocations”). The amount of such unrealized gain or unrealized loss, referred to as “built‑in gain” or “built‑in loss,” at the time of contribution is generally equal to the difference between the fair market value of the contributed property at the time of contribution and the adjusted tax basis of such property at that time, referred to as a book‑tax difference.
A book‑tax difference attributable to depreciable property generally is decreased on an annual basis as a result of the allocation of depreciation deductions to the contributing owner for book purposes, but not for tax purposes. The Treasury Regulations require entities taxed as partnerships for U.S. federal income tax purposes to use a “reasonable method” for allocating items with respect to which there is a book‑tax difference and outline several reasonable allocation methods.
Any gain or loss recognized by a partnership on the disposition of contributed properties generally will be allocated first to the partners of the partnership who contributed such properties to the extent of their built‑in gain or loss on those properties for U.S. federal income tax purposes, as adjusted to take into account reductions in book‑tax differences described in the previous paragraph. Any remaining gain or loss recognized by the partnership on the disposition of the contributed properties generally will be allocated among the partners in accordance with their partnership agreement unless such allocations and agreement do not satisfy the requirements of applicable Treasury Regulations, in which case such allocation will be made in accordance with the “partners’ interests in the partnership.”
Under the “traditional method,” as well as certain other reasonable methods available to us, built‑in gain or loss with respect to our depreciable properties (i) could cause us to be allocated lower amounts of depreciation deductions for tax purposes than for economic purposes and (ii) in the event of a sale of such properties, could cause us to be allocated taxable gain in excess of the economic gain allocated to us as a result of such sale, with a corresponding tax benefit to the contributing partners.
Basis in Partnership Interest. Our adjusted tax basis in any Partnership interest we own generally will be:

•	the amount of cash and the basis of any other property we contribute to the Partnership;

•	increased by our distributive share of the Partnership’s income (including tax‑exempt income) and any increase in our allocable share of indebtedness of the Partnership; and

•
reduced, but not below zero, by our distributive share of the Partnership’s loss (including any non‑deductible items), the amount of cash and the basis of property distributed to us, and any reduction in our allocable share of indebtedness of the Partnership.

Loss allocated to us in excess of our basis in a Partnership interest will not be taken into account for U.S. federal income tax purposes until we again have basis sufficient to absorb the loss. A reduction of our allocable share of Partnership indebtedness will be treated as a constructive cash distribution to us, and will reduce our adjusted tax basis in the Partnership interest. Distributions, including constructive distributions, in excess of the basis of our Partnership interest will constitute taxable income to us. Such distributions and constructive distributions normally will be characterized as long‑term capital gain.
Sale of a Partnership’s Property. Generally, any gain realized by a Partnership on the sale of property held for more than one year will be long‑term capital gain, except for any portion of the gain treated as depreciation or cost recovery recapture. Our share of any Partnership’s gain from the sale of inventory or other property held primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of the Partnership’s trade or business will be treated as income from a prohibited transaction subject to a 100% tax. See “— Gross Income Tests.”
Partnership Audit Rules. The recently enacted Bipartisan Budget Act of 2015 changes the rules applicable to U.S. federal income tax audits of partnerships. Under the new rules (which are generally effective for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2017), among other changes and subject to certain exceptions, any audit adjustment to items of income, gain, loss, deduction, or credit of a partnership (and any partner's distributive share thereof) is determined, and taxes, interest, or penalties attributable thereto are assessed and collected, at the partnership level. Although it is uncertain how these new rules will be implemented, it is possible that they could result in partnerships in which we directly or indirect invest being required to pay additional taxes, interest and penalties as a result of an audit adjustment, and we, as a direct or indirect partner of these partnerships, could be required to bear the economic burden of those taxes, interest, and penalties even though we, as a REIT, may not otherwise have been required to pay additional corporate-level taxes as a result of the related audit adjustment. The changes created by these new rules are sweeping and in many respects dependent on the promulgation of future regulations or other guidance by the U.S. Treasury. Investors are urged to consult their tax advisors with respect to these changes and their potential impact on their investment in our common stock.
Possible Legislative or Other Actions Affecting Tax Consequences
Prospective holders should recognize that the present U.S. federal income tax treatment of an investment in us may be modified by legislative, judicial or administrative action at any time and that any such action may affect investments and commitments previously made. The rules dealing with U.S. federal income taxation are constantly under review by persons involved in the legislative process, the IRS and the U.S. Treasury Department, resulting in revisions of regulations and revised interpretations of established concepts as well as statutory changes. Revisions in U.S. federal tax laws and interpretations of these laws could adversely affect the tax consequences of your investment.
State and Local Taxes
We and/or you may be subject to taxation by various states and localities, including those in which we or a stockholder transacts business, owns property or resides. The state and local tax treatment may differ from the U.S. federal income tax treatment described above. Consequently, you should consult your own tax advisors regarding the effect of state and local tax laws on an investment in our common stock or our debt securities.