Exhibit 99.1

Alpha Natural Resources - Investor Call
September 10, 2009

Certain statements made by management during this call and webcast constitute "forward-looking
statements" within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Such statements are
not guarantees of future performance. Risks and uncertainties are inherent in our future performance.
Many factors could cause our actual results, performance or achievements, or industry results, to be
materially different from any future results, performance or achievements expressed or implied by such
forward looking-statements. These factors are discussed in detail in our Annual Report on Form 10-K and in
our other filings with the SEC, which you access through the investor relations section of Alpha’s website or
the SEC website. Given these risks and uncertainties, prospective and current investors are cautioned not to
place undue reliance on such forward-looking statements. We make forward-looking statements based on
currently available information, and we assume no obligation to update the statements made today or
contained in our Annual Report or other filings due to changes in underlying factors, new information,
future developments, or otherwise, except as required by law.

Northern Appalachia
Central Appalachia
Illinois Basin
Powder River Basin
Production Capacity	55.0
2008 Shipments	49.2
Reserves	760
Reserves	26
Production Capacity	17.3
2008 Shipments	17.9
Reserves	800
Production Capacity	25.0
2008 Shipments	32.1
Reserves	762
Note: Figures pro forma as of 12/31/08.

Northern WV
Southern WV
Kentucky/Virginia
Alpha Coal West

Synergy Detail
Additional upside possible, primarily driven by additional blending and optimization
opportunities depending on future market conditions
Annual net synergies conservatively estimated at $45 million at full run-rate
anticipated to be achieved by mid-year 2010.

Financial Outlook

NOTES:
1. Based on committed and priced coal shipments as of August 25, 2009.
2. Eastern shipments in 2009 and 2010 include an estimated 2.0 to 3.0 million tons of brokered coal per year.
3. As of August 25, 2009, compared to the midpoint of shipment guidance range.
4. In 2009, committed and unpriced Eastern tons include approximately 0.3 million tons of committed met coal subject to
                                               market pricing, and legacy contracts covering approximately 0.1 million tons of steam coal subject to indexed pricing estimated at $50 per
                                               ton.  In 2010, committed and unpriced Eastern tons include approximately 1.3 million tons of steam coal subject to collared pricing with an
                                               average pricing range of $72 to $82 per ton, legacy contracts covering approximately 0.6 million tons of steam coal subject to average
                                               indexed pricing estimated at $63.33 per ton, 3.4 million tons of committed steam coal subject to market pricing, and 3.6 million tons of
                                               committed met coal subject to market pricing.

Leverage of approximately 1.3x and cash and total liquidity of
approximately $1 billion

Note: LTM data as of 6/30/09.
(1) LTM EBITDA based on Alpha Natural Resources, Inc. Reported EBITDA and Foundation Coal Corporation Adjusted EBITDA.

Alpha Natural Resources - Investor Call