EXHIBIT 99.1

FOUNDATION COAL HOLDINGS, INC.

2008 ANNUAL INCENTIVE PERFORMANCE PLAN

EFFECTIVE AS OF MARCH 8, 2008

1.	Purpose of the Plan

The purpose of the Foundation Coal Holdings, Inc. 2008 Annual Incentive Performance Plan is to reinforce corporate, organizational and business-development goals; to promote the achievement of year-to-year and long-range financial and other business objectives; and to reward the performance of individual officers and other employees in fulfilling their personal responsibilities for long-range achievements.

2.	Definitions

The following terms, as used herein, shall have the following meanings:

(a) “Affiliate” means, with respect to any Person, any other Person directly or indirectly controlling, controlled by or under common control with such Person or any other Person designated by the Committee in which any Person has an interest.

(b) “Award” means an annual incentive compensation award, granted pursuant to the Plan, which is contingent upon the attainment of Performance Goals with respect to a Performance Period.

(c) “Award Agreement” means any written agreement, contract, or other instrument or document between the Company and a Participant evidencing an Award.

(d) “Board of Directors” means the Board of Directors of the Company.

(e) “Code” means the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, or any successor thereto.

(f) “Committee” means a committee of the Board of Directors designated by the Board of Directors or absent such a designation, the Board of Directors.

(g) “Company” means Foundation Coal Holdings, Inc., a Delaware corporation, and its subsidiaries.

(h) “Covered Employee” shall have the meaning set forth in Section 162(m)(3) of the Code.

(i) “Effective Date” means the date the Board of Directors adopts the Plan

(j) “Family Member” includes any child, stepchild, grandchild, parent, stepparent, grandparent, spouse, former spouse, sibling, niece, nephew, mother-in-law, father-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, including adoptive relationships, a trust in which these persons or the Participant have more than a fifty percent beneficial interest, a foundation in which these persons or the Participant control the management of assets, and any other entity in which these persons or the Participant own more than fifty percent voting interest.

(k) “Participant” means an officer or other employee of the Company who is, pursuant to Section 4 of the Plan, selected to participate herein.

(l) “Performance Goals” means performance goals based on one or more of the following criteria: (i) earnings including operating income, earnings before or after taxes, earnings before or after interest, depreciation, amortization, or extraordinary or special items or book value per share (which may exclude nonrecurring items); (ii) pre-tax income or after-tax income; (iii) earnings per common share (basic or diluted); (iv) operating profit; (v) revenue, revenue growth or rate of revenue growth; (vi) return on assets (gross or net), return on investment, return on capital, or return on equity; (vii) returns on sales or revenues; (viii) operating expenses; (ix) stock price appreciation; (x) cash flow, free cash flow, cash flow return on investment (discounted or otherwise), net cash provided by operations, or cash flow in excess of cost of capital; (xi) implementation or completion of critical projects or processes; (xii) economic value created; (xiii) cumulative earnings per share growth; (xiv) operating margin, profit margin, production or earnings before interest, taxes and depreciation margin; (xv) safety performance; (xvi) common stock price or total stockholder return; (xvii) cost targets, reductions and savings, productivity and efficiencies; (xviii) strategic

business criteria, consisting of one or more objectives based on meeting specified market penetration, geographic business expansion, customer satisfaction, employee satisfaction, human resources management, supervision of litigation, information technology, and goals relating to acquisitions, divestitures, joint ventures and similar transactions, and budget comparisons; (xix) personal professional objectives, including any of the foregoing performance goals, the implementation of policies and plans, the negotiation of transactions, the development of long-term business goals, formation of joint ventures, research or development collaborations, and the completion of other corporate transactions; and (xx) any combination of, or a specified increase in, any of the foregoing. Where applicable, the Performance Goals may be expressed in terms of attaining a specified level of the particular criteria or the attainment of a percentage increase or decrease in the particular criteria, and may be applied to one or more of the Company, a Subsidiary or Affiliate, or a division or strategic business unit of the Company, or may be applied to the performance of the Company relative to a market index, a group of other companies or a combination thereof, all as determined by the Committee. The Performance Goals may include a threshold level of performance below which no payment will be made (or no vesting will occur), levels of performance at which specified payments will be made (or specified vesting will occur), and a maximum level of performance above which no additional payment will be made (or at which full vesting will occur). Each of the foregoing Performance Goals shall be determined in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, if applicable, and shall be subject to certification by the Committee; provided that, to the extent an Award made to any Covered Employee is intended to satisfy the performance-based compensation exception to the limits of Section 162(m) of the Code and then to the extent consistent with such exception, the Committee shall have the authority to make equitable adjustments to the Performance Goals in recognition of unusual or non-recurring events affecting the Company or any Subsidiary or Affiliate or the financial statements of the Company or any Subsidiary or Affiliate, in response to changes in applicable laws or regulations, or to account for items of gain, loss or expense determined to be extraordinary or unusual in nature or infrequent in occurrence or related to the disposal of a segment of a business or related to a change in accounting principles.

(m) “Performance Period” means the Company’s fiscal year.

(n) “Person” means any individual, firm, corporation, partnership, limited liability company, trust, incorporated or unincorporated association, joint venture, joint stock company, governmental body or other entity of any kind.

(o) “Plan” means this Foundation Coal Holdings, Inc. 2008 Annual Incentive Performance Plan.

3.	Administration

The Plan shall be administered by the Committee. The Committee shall have the authority in its sole discretion, subject to and not inconsistent with the express provisions of the Plan, to administer the Plan and to exercise all the powers and authorities either specifically granted to it under the Plan or necessary or advisable in the administration of the Plan, including, without limitation, the authority to grant Awards; to determine the persons to whom and the time or times at which Awards shall be granted; to determine the terms, conditions, restrictions and performance criteria, including Performance Goals, relating to any Award; to determine whether, to what extent, and under what circumstances an Award may be settled, cancelled, forfeited, or surrendered; to make adjustments in the Performance Goals in recognition of unusual or non-recurring events affecting the Company or the financial statements of the Company, or in response to changes in applicable laws, regulations, or accounting principles, or for any other reason; to construe and interpret the Plan and any Award; to prescribe, amend and rescind rules and regulations relating to the Plan; and to make all other determinations deemed necessary or advisable for the administration of the Plan.

The Committee may appoint a chairperson and a secretary and may make such rules and regulations for the conduct of its business as it shall deem advisable, and shall keep minutes of its meetings. All determinations of the Committee shall be made by a majority of its members either present in person or participating by conference telephone at a meeting or by written consent. The Committee may delegate to one or more of its members or to one or more agents such administrative duties as it may deem advisable, and the Committee or any person to whom it has delegated duties as aforesaid may employ one or more persons to render advice with

respect to any responsibility the Committee or such person may have under the Plan. All decisions, determinations and interpretations of the Committee shall be final and binding on all persons, including the Company, the Participant (or any person claiming any rights under the Plan from or through any Participant) and any shareholder.

No member of the Board of Directors or the Committee shall be liable for any action taken or determination made in good faith with respect to the Plan or any Award granted hereunder.

4.	Eligibility

Awards may be granted to officers and other employees of the Company in the sole discretion of the Committee. In determining the persons to whom Awards shall be granted and the Performance Goals relating to each Award, the Committee shall take into account such factors as the Committee shall deem relevant in connection with accomplishing the purposes of the Plan.

5.	Terms of Awards

Awards granted pursuant to the Plan shall be evidenced by an Award Agreement in such form as the Committee shall from time to time approve and the terms and conditions of such Awards shall be set forth therein. The Committee shall specify with respect to a Performance Period the Performance Goals applicable to each Award. Performance Goals may include a level of performance below which no payment shall be made and levels of performance at which specified percentages of the Award shall be paid. Award levels for any Performance Period may be expressed as a dollar amount or as a percentage of the Participant’s annual base salary. Unless otherwise determined by the Committee, all payments in respect of Awards granted under this Plan shall be made, in cash, within a reasonable period after the Performance Period, but in no event later than March 15th following the end of the Performance Period. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained herein, in no event shall payment in respect of Awards granted for a Performance Period be made to a Participant in an amount that exceeds $10 million.

6.	General Provisions

(a) Compliance with Legal Requirements. The Plan and the granting and payment of Awards, and the other obligations of the Company under the Plan shall be subject to all applicable federal and state laws, rules and regulations, and to such approvals by any regulatory or governmental agency as may be required.

(b) Nontransferability. Unless otherwise determined by the Committee, an Award shall not be transferable or assignable by the Participant other than pursuant to estate planning instruments including wills, a trust for the benefit of a Family Member or by the laws of descent and distribution; provided, however, that no such transfer by any Participant may be made in exchange for consideration.

(c) No Right To Employment or Awards. The granting of an Award under the Plan shall impose no obligation on the Company or any of its Affiliates to continue the employment of a Participant and shall not lessen or affect the Company’s or its Affiliates’ rights to terminate the employment of such Participant. No Participant or other Person shall have any claim to be granted any Award, and there is no obligation for uniformity of treatment of Participants or holders or beneficiaries of Awards. The terms and conditions of Awards and the Committee’s determinations and interpretations with respect thereto need not be the same with respect to each Participant (whether or not such Participants are similarly situated).

(d) Withholding Taxes. Where a Participant or other person is entitled to receive a cash payment pursuant to an Award hereunder, the Company shall have the right to require the Participant or such other person to pay to the Company the amount of any taxes that the Company may be required to withhold before delivery to such Participant or other person of such payment.

(e) Amendments or Termination of the Plan. The Board or the Committee may at any time and from time to time alter, amend, suspend, or terminate the Plan in whole or in part; provided that, no amendment that requires shareholder approval in order for the Plan to continue to comply with Code Section 162(m) shall be effective unless the same shall be approved by the requisite vote of the shareholders of the Company. Notwithstanding the foregoing, no amendment shall affect adversely any of the rights of any Participant, without such Participant’s consent, under any Award theretofore granted under the Plan.

(f) Unfunded Status of Awards. The Plan is intended to constitute an “unfunded” plan for incentive and deferred compensation. With respect to any payments not yet made to a Participant pursuant to an Award, nothing contained in the Plan or any Award shall give any such Participant any rights that are greater than those of a general creditor of the Company.

(g) Governing Law. The Plan shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of the State of Delaware, without regard to conflicts of laws.

(h) Effective Date and Term of Plan. The Plan shall be effective as of the Effective Date.

(i) Beneficiary. A Participant may file with the Committee a written designation of a beneficiary on such form as may be prescribed by the Committee and may, from time to time, amend or revoke such designation. If no designated beneficiary survives the Participant, the executor or administrator of the Participant’s estate shall be deemed to be the grantee’s beneficiary.