Exhibit 99.1

Copano Energy
IPAA Oil and Gas Investment Symposium
New York, NY

NASDAQ: CPNO
April 2009

Copano Energy

Disclaimer
Statements made by representatives of Copano Energy, L.L.C. (“Copano”) during this
presentation will include “forward-looking statements,” as defined in the federal securities laws.
All statements that address activities, events or developments that Copano expects, believes or
anticipates will or may occur in the future are forward-looking statements. Underlying these
forward-looking statements are certain assumptions made by Copano’s management based on
their experience and perception of historical trends, current conditions, expected future
developments and other factors management believes are appropriate under the circumstances.
Whether actual results and developments in the future will conform to Copano’s expectations is
subject to a number of risks and uncertainties, many of which are beyond Copano’s control. If
one or more of these risks or uncertainties materializes, or if underlying assumptions prove
incorrect, then Copano’s actual results may differ materially from those implied or expressed by
forward-looking statements made during this presentation. These risks and uncertainties include
the volatility of prices and market demand for natural gas and natural gas liquids; Copano’s ability
to complete any pending acquisitions and integrate any acquired assets or operations; Copano’s
ability to continue to obtain new sources of natural gas supply; the ability of key producers to
continue to drill and successfully complete and attach new natural gas supplies; Copano’s ability
to retain key customers; the availability of local, intrastate and interstate transportation systems
and other facilities to transport natural gas and natural gas liquids; Copano’s ability to access
sources of liquidity when needed and to obtain additional financing, if necessary, on acceptable
terms; the effectiveness of Copano’s hedging program; unanticipated environmental or other
liability; general economic conditions; the effects of government regulations and policies; and
other financial, operational and legal risks and uncertainties detailed from time to time in the Risk
Factors sections of Copano’s annual and quarterly reports filed with the Securities and Exchange
Commission.
Copano undertakes no obligation to update any forward-looking statements, whether as a result
of new information or future events.

Copano Energy

Introduction to Copano
• Serves natural gas producers in three leading producing
 regions
• Founded in 1992 - built through more than 50 acquisitions
 and major capital projects
Texas
South Texas and
North Texas
Oklahoma
Central and Eastern Oklahoma
Rocky Mountains
Wyoming’s Powder River Basin

Copano Energy

Key Metrics
• Service throughput volumes exceed 2,100,000 MMBtu per day of natural
 gas(1)
• 6,400 miles of active natural gas gathering and transmission pipelines
• 7 natural gas processing plants with over 1 Bcf/d of combined processing
 capacity(2)
• Equity market cap: $898 million(3)
• Enterprise value: $1.7 billion(3)
• Copano has outperformed its peer group since IPO with a total return of
 95%(3) compared to the Alerian MLP Total Return Index (AMZX) total
 return of 16%(3), over the same period.
(1) As of 4Q08. Includes unconsolidated affiliates.
(2) Completion of Saint Jo cryogenic processing plant to replace leased refrigeration plant expected in May 2009.
(3) As of April 15, 2009.

Copano Energy

Copano’s LLC Structure
Characteristic	Typical MLP	Copano Energy	Typical Corporation
Non-Taxable Entity
Tax Shield on Distributions
Tax Reporting
General Partner
Incentive Distribution Rights
Voting Rights
Schedule K-1
Schedule K-1
Form 1099

Copano Energy

Agenda
Throughput
Volume Outlook
Commodity
Prices and
Margin
Sensitivities
Capital Access
Distribution Policy
and Outlook

Copano Energy
• Total service throughput volumes grew 13% from 4Q07 -
 4Q08
 – All three segments participated in year-over-year volume
 growth, with double-digit growth for the Oklahoma and Rocky
 Mountains segments
Total Volume Trends
Note: Includes affiliates, net of intercompany volumes.

Copano Energy

• Rich gas (primarily Hunton de-watering play)
 – Drilling activity reduced, pending increased liquids and natural gas
 prices and reduced drilling costs
 – 4 rigs running currently in the Hunton and 6 in other rich gas areas
 • 3 additional rigs being considered
 – High BTU gas, processing upgrade and low geologic risk enhance
 drilling economics, but activity remains subject to market forces
 – Modest increase in 1Q09 volumes vs. 4Q08
• Lean gas
 – Drilling activity reduced, reflecting low natural gas prices and need for
 lower drilling costs
 – 3 rigs currently running
 • No known additional rigs being added
 – Modest increase in 1Q09 volumes vs. 4Q08
Oklahoma Volume Outlook

Copano Energy
Rich Gas vs. Lean Gas
(1) Full value prior to deduction of Copano’s margin. Excludes value of condensate and crude oil recovered by the
 producer at the wellhead.
(2) Implied NGL prices are based on a three-year historical regression analysis.
(3) Assumes 9 GPM gas with a Btu factor of 1.375 processed at Copano’s cryogenic plant, and field fuel of 6.25%.
(4) Assumes unprocessed gas with a Btu factor of 1.0 and field fuel of 6%.

Copano Energy

South Texas Volume Outlook
• Small decrease in 1Q09 volumes vs. 4Q08
• Drilling continues in South Texas niche areas
• Upper Gulf Coast intrastate service throughput remains
 strong
• Pending acquisition of Transco McMullen lateral, if approved
 by FERC, would significantly increase South Texas volumes
• Cautiously optimistic about early drilling in the Eagle Ford
 Shale

Copano Energy

North Texas Volume Outlook
• Drilling activity curtailed; however, recent stabilization of oil prices and
 downward trend in drilling costs are expected to improve rig counts
• 2 rigs running in gathering area with a 3rd expected in May
• Over 10 wells are awaiting completion and frac
• Leading producer plans to resume drilling in May timeframe, focusing on
 higher-performing “sweet spots,” and drill 2 wells per month through the
 remainder of the year
• Completion of Saint Jo plant in May 2009 may attract additional volumes
• Leasing activity continues
• North Texas natural gas has an average GPM of 5.5 and an average Btu of
 1.20 (1.30 net of CO2), which enhances per Mcf netback value, under most
 market conditions

Copano Energy

Rocky Mountains Volume Outlook
• Bighorn:
 – Two new projects to connect approximately 200 previously drilled wells
 – Timing of dewatering will drive volume levels
 – Development of extensive acreage dedication remains active but will
 be driven by drilling economics
 – Purchased producer-owned pipeline will allow expansion of gathering
 system into Montana
• Fort Union:
 – Volumes have increased and should accelerate in 2009 based on new
 well tie-ins following pipeline and amine treating expansion
• Combined systems:
 – 1Q09 volumes flat vs. 4Q08
 – Blizzard impacted volumes in March and into April

Copano Energy

Commodity Prices and Margin
Sensitivities
Commodity
Prices and
Margin
Sensitivities
Distribution Policy
and Outlook
Capital Access
Throughput
Volume Outlook

Copano Energy
Oklahoma Commodity Prices

Copano Energy

Oklahoma Commercial Update
• Fourth quarter 2008:
 – Total service throughput volumes: 261,000 MMBtu/d(1)
 – Unit margin: $0.77/MMBtu(2)
 – Increasing percentage of contract volumes (approximately 64%)
 contain fee-based components, including volumes subject to minimum
 margin provisions
 – Approximately 72% of contract volumes are directly correlated with
 NGL prices
• Fourth quarter 2008:
 – 54 days in full processing
 – 38 days in partial ethane rejection(3)
• First quarter 2009:
 – First 7 days in partial ethane rejection(3)
 – Full processing after January 8
(1) Excludes 8,195 MMBtu/d service throughput for Southern Dome, a majority-owned affiliate.
(2) Refers to Oklahoma segment gross margin ($18.4 million) divided by Oklahoma service throughput volumes
 (261,000 MMBtu/d) for the period. See Appendix for reconciliation of Oklahoma segment gross margin.
(3) Ethane rejection at Copano’s Paden plant is limited by nitrogen rejection facilities.

Copano Energy

Texas Commodity Prices

Copano Energy

Texas Commercial Update
• Fourth quarter 2008:
 – Total service throughput volumes: 679,000 MMBtu/d(1)
 – Unit margin: $0.31/MMBtu(2)
 – Approximately 90% of contract volumes have fee-based components,
 including volumes subject to minimum margin provisions
 – Approximately 87% of contract volumes directly correlated with NGL
 prices
• Fourth quarter 2008:
 – 34 days in full processing
 – 14 days in ethane rejection
 – 44 days in conditioning or partial recovery mode
• First quarter 2009:
 – First 8 days in conditioning or partial recovery mode
 – Full processing after January 9
(1) Excludes 92,222 MMBtu/d service throughput for Webb Duval, a majority-owned affiliate.
(2) Refers to Texas segment gross margin ($19.3 million) divided by Texas service throughput volumes (679,000
 MMBtu/d) for the period. See Appendix for reconciliation of Texas segment gross margin.

Copano Energy

Rocky Mountains Commercial
Update
• Fourth Quarter 2008
 – Total service throughput volumes:
 • Consolidated (producer services): 196,000 MMBtu/d
 • Unconsolidated affiliates:
 § Bighorn: 212,500 MMBtu/d
 § Fort Union: 785,800 MMBtu/d
• All Bighorn and Fort Union margins are fixed fee
 – Virtually all producer services margins are fixed margin

Copano Energy

Combined Commodity-Sensitive Segment Margins
and Hedging Settlements
(1) Copano’s hedging program became effective in 1Q07.
(1)

Copano Energy

Commodity-Related Margin
Sensitivities
Note: Please see Appendix for definitions of processing modes and additional details.
• Matrix reflects 4Q08 wellhead and plant inlet volumes,
 adjusted using Copano’s 2008 planning model
• In conditioning mode, Copano would be indifferent to
 declining liquids prices
(1) Consists of Texas and Oklahoma Segment gross margins.

Copano Energy

Capital Access
Capital Access
Distribution Policy
and Outlook
Commodity
Prices and
Margin
Sensitivities
Throughput
Volume Outlook

Copano Energy

Capital Access
(1) Includes Copano’s net share for unconsolidated affiliates. Does not include future potential acquisitions.
(2) Includes integration costs. The McMullen Lateral acquisition remains subject to FERC approval.

Copano Energy

Liquidity and Debt Facilities
• At December 31, 2008
 – Cash: $64 million
 – $550 million revolving credit facility
 • Approximately $330 million undrawn
 • Remaining term: approximately 3.5 years
 • Currently LIBOR + 150 bps
 – $600 million senior notes
 • $332,665,000 8 ⅛% due 2016
 • $267,750,000 7 ¾% due 2018
 • Weighted average rate: 7.96%
 • Weighted average maturity: 8.5 years

Copano Energy

Key Debt Terms and Covenants
• Senior Secured Revolving Credit Facility
 – $550 million facility with $100 million accordion
 – Maintenance tests:
 • 5x defined EBITDA(1) limitation on total debt
 § 3.34x at December 31, 2008(2)
 • Minimum required interest coverage 2.5x defined EBITDA
 § 3.66x at December 31, 2008
 • Defined EBITDA adds back hedge amortization and other non-
 cash expenses
 – Following an acquisition, Copano may increase total debt to
 defined EBITDA test to 5.5x for three quarters
(1) See Appendix for reconciliation of defined EBITDA, which is referred to in our credit facility as “Consolidated
 EBITDA.”
(2) If $50 million cash had been used to reduce total debt, defined EBITDA to total debt would have been 3.14x.

Copano Energy

Key Debt Terms and Covenants
• Senior Notes
 – Incurrence tests:
 • Minimum defined EBITDA to interest test of 2.00x for debt
 incurrence
 • Minimum defined EBITDA to interest test of 1.75x for restricted
 payments
 • Defined EBITDA is similar to that for credit facility

Copano Energy

Distribution Policy and Outlook
Distribution Policy
and Outlook
Capital Access
Commodity
Prices and
Margin
Sensitivities
Throughput
Volume Outlook

Copano Energy

Distribution Track Record
• On April 15, 2009, Copano announced a cash distribution for the
 first quarter of 2009 of $0.575 per unit for all of its outstanding
 Common Units
(1) All pre-1Q 2007 distributions are adjusted to reflect Copano’s 3/30/07 two-for-one unit split.
(2) Assumes generic MLP splits with 10%, 25% & 50% increases in distributable cash flow to LP units resulting in
 incremental 13%, 23% and 48% increases in the percentage of total distributable cash flow applicable to the GP.
(3) Actual $0.10 distribution per unit was for the period from November 15, 2004 through December 31, 2004.

Copano Energy

Historic Yield Spreads
(1) Daily 10-yr Treasury yield curve rates. Copano distributions are most recent quarter annualized.

Copano Energy

Distribution Outlook
Driver	Potential 2011 - 2012 Annual Incremental Total DCF Impact(1) ($ in millions)	Comments and Risk Factors
Rocky Mountains Volumes	$40 - $55	• Resource play • Drilling activity • Dewatering rates • Fort Union expansion • New projects
Forward Commodity Prices (4Q08 vs. 2012 forward curve with regression based NGL pricing and without hedges)	$70	• Reflects April 2009 forward quotes • Future market conditions
Saint Jo Plant and North Texas Volumes(2)	$10 - $15	• Resource play • Drilling activity • Product prices • New suppliers
Oklahoma Volumes(2)	$25 - $35	• Resource play • Drilling activity • Product prices
(1) Compared to 4Q08 annualized levels. See Appendix for an explanation of how we calculate distributable cash
 flow and total distributable cash flow.
(2) Reflects April 2009 forward price curves with regression based NGL prices.

Copano Energy

Distribution Outlook
Driver	Potential 2011 - 2012 Annual Incremental Total DCF Impact(1) ($ in millions)	Comments and Risk Factors
Transco McMullen Lateral spin -down and South Texas integration projects(2)	$17 - $26	• FERC approval • Product prices • New attachments
Balance Sheet, Producer Contracts, Vendor Contracts and Other Cost Management	$10 - $15	• Debt management • G&A and O&M efficiencies • Market conditions
Future Acquisitions and Major Projects	TBD	• Opportunities • Execution
(1) Compared to 4Q08 annualized levels. See Appendix for an explanation of how we calculate distributable cash
 flow and total distributable cash flow.
(2) Reflects April 2009 forward price curves with regression based NGL prices.

Copano Energy

Appendix

Copano Energy
Oklahoma Assets
Appendix

Copano Energy
South Texas Assets
Appendix
(1) The McMullen Lateral acquisition remains subject to
 FERC approval.
(1)

Copano Energy

North Texas Assets
Appendix

Copano Energy
Rocky Mountains Assets
Appendix

Copano Energy

Processing Modes
• Full Recovery
• Ethane Rejection
• Conditioning Mode
→ Texas and Oklahoma - If the value of
 recovered NGLs exceeds the fuel and gas
 shrinkage costs of recovering NGLs
→ Texas - If the value of recovered NGLs is less
 than the fuel and gas shrinkage cost of
 recovering NGLs (available at Houston
 Central plant and will be available at Saint Jo
 plant in North Texas when completed)
→ Texas and Oklahoma - If the value of ethane
 is less than the fuel and shrinkage costs to
 recover ethane (in Oklahoma, ethane
 rejection at Paden plant is limited by nitrogen
 rejection facilities)
Appendix

Copano Energy

Oklahoma Contract Mix
• Fourth quarter 2008 contract mix(1)
Appendix
(1) Source: Copano Energy internal financial planning models for consolidated subsidiaries.
(2) Excludes 8,195 MMBtu/d service throughput for Southern Dome, a majority-owned affiliate.

Copano Energy

Oklahoma Net Commodity
Exposure
Note: See explanation of processing modes in this Appendix. Values reflect rounding.
(1) Source: Copano Energy internal financial planning models for consolidated subsidiaries and quarterly back
 testing.
(2) Ethane rejection at Paden plant is limited by nitrogen rejection facilities.
(3) Reflects impact of producer delivery point allocations, offset by field condensate collection and stabilization.
Appendix

Copano Energy

Oklahoma Net Commodity
Exposure (1)
Appendix
Note: See explanation of processing modes in this Appendix.
(1) Source: Copano Energy internal financial planning models for consolidated subsidiaries. Based on 4Q08 daily
 wellhead/plant inlet volumes.

Copano Energy

Oklahoma Commodity Price
Sensitivities
• Oklahoma segment gross margins excluding hedge
 settlements
 – Matrix reflects 4Q08 volumes, adjusted using Copano’s 2008
 planning model
Appendix

Copano Energy

Texas Contract Mix
• Fourth quarter 2008 contract mix(1)
Appendix
(1) Source: Copano Energy internal financial planning models for consolidated subsidiaries.
(2) Excludes 92,222 MMBtu/d service throughput for Webb Duval, a majority-owned affiliate.

Copano Energy

Texas Net Commodity Exposure
Note: See explanation of processing modes in this Appendix.
(1) Source: Copano Energy internal financial planning models for consolidated subsidiaries. Based on 4Q08 daily
 wellhead/plant inlet volumes.
(2) Fractionation at Houston Central processing plant permits significant reductions in ethane recoveries in ethane
 rejection mode and full ethane rejection in conditioning mode. To optimize profitability, plant operations can
 also be adjusted to partial recovery mode.
(3) At the Houston Central processing plant, pentanes+ may be sold as condensate.
Appendix

Copano Energy

Texas Net Commodity Exposure(1)
Appendix
Note: See explanation of processing modes in this Appendix.
(1) Source: Copano Energy internal financial planning models for consolidated subsidiaries. Based on 4Q08 daily
 wellhead/plant inlet volumes.

Copano Energy

Texas Commodity Price
Sensitivities
• Texas segment gross margins excluding hedge settlements
 – Matrix reflects 4Q08 volumes and operating conditions,
 adjusted using Copano’s 2008 planning model
Appendix

Copano Energy

Rocky Mountains Sensitivities
• Fourth Quarter 2008
 – Adjusted EBITDA volume sensitivity (positive or negative
 impact)
 • Consolidated (producer services): 10,000 MMBtu/d = $59,000
 • Unconsolidated affiliates:
 § Bighorn: 10,000 MMBtu/d = $213,500(1)
 § Fort Union: 10,000 MMBtu/d = $71,000(1)
Appendix
Note: See this Appendix for reconciliation of Adjusted EBITDA. Values reflect rounding.
(1) Impact on Adjusted EBITDA based on Copano’s interest in the unconsolidated affiliate.

Copano Energy
Hedging Impact
of Commodity Price Sensitivities
Appendix

Copano Energy

Hedging Impact
Note: All hedge instruments are reported in Copano’s SEC filings. Hedge settlements are based on monthly average
 Mt. Belvieu NGL and NYMEX WTI prices. Positive amounts reflect payments from hedge counterparties under
 swap and put option instruments. Negative amounts reflect payments to hedge counterparties under swap
 instruments.
Appendix

Copano Energy

Hedging Impact
Note: All hedge instruments are reported in Copano’s SEC filings. Hedge settlements are based on monthly average
 Mt. Belvieu NGL and NYMEX WTI prices. Positive amounts reflect payments from hedge counterparties under
 swap and put option instruments. Negative amounts reflect payments to hedge counterparties under swap
 instruments.
Appendix

Copano Energy

Hedging Impact
Note: All hedge instruments are reported in Copano’s SEC filings. Hedge settlements are based on monthly average
 Mt. Belvieu NGL and NYMEX WTI prices. Positive amounts reflect payments from hedge counterparties under
 swap and put option instruments. Negative amounts reflect payments to hedge counterparties under swap
 instruments.
Appendix

Copano Energy

Hedging Impact
Note: All hedge instruments are reported in Copano’s SEC filings. Hedge settlements are based on first of the month
 Houston Ship Channel and CenterPoint East natural gas prices. Positive amounts reflect payments from hedge
 counterparties under call and put option instruments.
Appendix

Copano Energy

Limited Liability Company Agreement
• Distributions based on “Available Cash”
 – Cash on hand at the end of a quarter less reserves established
 by the Board
 – Board may increase or decrease reserves quarterly
• Since IPO and as of December 31, 2008:
 – Initial available cash and reserve at IPO: $20 million
 – Cumulative cash from operations: $382 million
 – Cumulative distributions: $281 million
 – Cumulative reserves established by the Board: $150 million
Appendix

Copano Energy

Oil Price Trends
(1) As of April 13, 2009.
Appendix

Copano Energy

Natural Gas Price Trends
(1) As of April 13, 2009.
Appendix

Copano Energy

Reconciliation of Non-GAAP
Financial Measures
Appendix

Copano Energy

Reconciliation of Non-GAAP
Financial Measures
Adjusted EBITDA
• We define EBITDA as net income (loss) plus interest expense, provision for income taxes and depreciation and amortization expense. Because a portion of
 our net income (loss) is attributable to equity in earnings (loss) from our equity investees (which include Bighorn, Fort Union, Webb Duval and Southern
 Dome), our management also calculates Adjusted EBITDA to reflect the depreciation and amortization expense embedded in equity in earnings (loss) from
 unconsolidated affiliates. Specifically, our management determines Adjusted EBITDA by adding to EBITDA (i) the amortization expense attributable to the
 difference between our carried investment in each unconsolidated affiliate and the underlying equity in its net assets, (ii) the portion of each unconsolidated
 affiliate’s depreciation and amortization expense, which is proportional to our ownership interest in that unconsolidated affiliate and (iii) the portion of each
 unconsolidated affiliate’s interest and other financing costs, which is proportional to our ownership interest in that unconsolidated affiliate.
• External users of our financial statements such as investors, commercial banks and research analysts use EBITDA or Adjusted EBITDA, and our
 management uses Adjusted EBITDA, as a supplemental financial measure to assess:
 – The financial performance of our assets without regard to financing methods, capital structure or historical cost basis;
 – The ability of our assets to generate cash sufficient to pay interest costs and support our indebtedness;
 – Our operating performance and return on capital as compared to those of other companies in the midstream energy sector, without regard to
 financing or capital structure; and
 – The viability of acquisitions and capital expenditure projects and the overall rates of return on alternative investment opportunities.
• The following table presents a reconciliation of the portion of our EBITDA and Adjusted EBITDA attributable to our Rocky Mountains segment to the GAAP
 financial measure of net income (loss):
Appendix

Copano Energy

Reconciliation of Non-GAAP
Financial Measures
Consolidated EBITDA
§ EBITDA is also a financial measure that, with negotiated pro forma adjustments relating to acquisitions completed during the period, is reported to our
 lenders as Consolidated EBITDA and is used to compute our financial covenants under our senior secured revolving credit facility.
§ The following table presents a reconciliation of the non-GAAP financial measure of Consolidated EBITDA to the GAAP financial measure of net income
 (loss):
Appendix

Copano Energy

Definitions of Non-GAAP
Financial Measures
Distributable Cash Flow and Total Distributable Cash Flow
§ We define distributable cash flow as net income plus: (i) depreciation, amortization and impairment expense (but not
 amortization expense relating to the option component of our risk management portfolio); (ii) cash distributions received from
 investments in unconsolidated affiliates and equity losses from such unconsolidated affiliates; (iii) provision for deferred
 income taxes; (iv) the subtraction of maintenance capital expenditures, (v) the subtraction of equity in earnings from
 unconsolidated affiliates and (vi) the addition of losses or subtraction of gains relating to other miscellaneous non-cash
 amounts affecting net income for the period, such as equity-based compensation, mark-to-market changes in derivative
 instruments, and our line fill contributions to third-party pipelines and gas imbalances. Maintenance capital expenditures are
 capital expenditures employed to replace partially or fully depreciated assets to maintain the existing operating capacity of
 our assets and to extend their useful lives, or other capital expenditures that are incurred in maintaining existing system
 volumes and related cash flows.
§ We define total distributable cash flow as distributable cash flow plus amortization expense of the option component of our
 risk management portfolio.
§ Distributable cash flow and total distributable cash flow are significant performance metrics used by senior management to
 compare basic cash flows generated by us (prior to the establishment of any retained cash reserves by our Board of
 Directors) to the cash distributions we expect to pay our unitholders. Using these metrics, management can quickly compute
 the coverage ratio of estimated cash flows to planned cash distributions. Distributable cash flow and total distributable cash
 flow are also important non-GAAP financial measures for our unitholders because they serve as indicators of our success in
 providing a cash return on investment. Specifically, these financial measures indicate to investors whether or not we are
 generating cash flow at a level that can sustain or support an increase in our quarterly distribution rates. Distributable cash
 flow and total distributable cash flow are also quantitative standards used throughout the investment community with respect
 to publicly traded partnerships and limited liability companies because the market value of such entities’ equity securities is
 significantly influenced by the amount of cash they can distribute to unitholders.
Appendix

Copano Energy
NASDAQ: CPNO
April 2009