Exhibit 99.1

Copano Energy
NAPTP Master Limited Partnership Investor Conference
Greenwich, CT

NASDAQ: CPNO
September 16, 2009

Copano Energy

Disclaimer
Statements made by representatives of Copano Energy, L.L.C. (“Copano”) during this
presentation will include “forward-looking statements,” as defined in the federal securities laws. All
statements that address activities, events or developments that Copano expects, believes or
anticipates will or may occur in the future are forward-looking statements. Underlying these
forward-looking statements are certain assumptions made by Copano’s management based on
their experience and perception of historical trends, current conditions, expected future
developments and other factors management believes are appropriate under the circumstances.
Whether actual results and developments in the future will conform to Copano’s expectations is
subject to a number of risks and uncertainties, many of which are beyond Copano’s control. If
one or more of these risks or uncertainties materializes, or if underlying assumptions prove
incorrect, then Copano’s actual results may differ materially from those implied or expressed by
forward-looking statements made during this presentation. These risks and uncertainties include
the volatility of prices and market demand for natural gas and natural gas liquids; Copano’s ability
to complete any pending acquisitions and integrate any acquired assets or operations; Copano’s
ability to continue to obtain new sources of natural gas supply; the ability of key producers to
continue to drill and successfully complete and attach new natural gas supplies; Copano’s ability
to retain key customers; the availability of local, intrastate and interstate transportation systems
and other facilities to transport natural gas and natural gas liquids; Copano’s ability to access
sources of liquidity when needed and to obtain additional financing, if necessary, on acceptable
terms; the effectiveness of Copano’s hedging program; unanticipated environmental or other
liability; general economic conditions; the effects of government regulations and policies; and
other financial, operational and legal risks and uncertainties detailed from time to time in the Risk
Factors sections of Copano’s annual and quarterly reports filed with the Securities and Exchange
Commission.
Copano undertakes no obligation to update any forward-looking statements, whether as a result
of new information or future events.

Copano Energy

Introduction to Copano
• Serves natural gas producers in three leading producing
 regions
• Founded in 1992 - built through more than 50 acquisitions
 and major capital projects
Texas
South Texas and
North Texas
Oklahoma
Central and Eastern Oklahoma
Rocky Mountains
Wyoming’s Powder River Basin

Copano Energy

Key Metrics
• Service throughput volumes approximate 2,100,000 MMBtu per day of
 natural gas(1)
• Approximately 6,800 miles of active pipelines
• 7 natural gas processing plants with over 1 Bcf/d of combined processing
 capacity
• Equity market cap: $919 million(2)
• Enterprise value: $1.7 billion(2)
• Copano has outperformed its peer group since its IPO with a total return of
 110%(2) compared to the Alerian MLP Total Return Index (AMZX) total
 return of 46%(2) over the same period
(1) As of 2Q09. Includes unconsolidated affiliates.
(2) As of September 8, 2009.

Copano Energy

Copano’s LLC Structure
Characteristic	Typical MLP	Copano Energy	Typical Corporation
Non-Taxable Entity
Tax Shield on Distributions
Tax Reporting
General Partner
Incentive Distribution Rights
Voting Rights
Schedule K-1
Schedule K-1
Form 1099

Copano Energy

Agenda
Throughput
Volume Outlook
Commodity
Prices and
Margin
Sensitivities
Capital Access
Distribution Policy
and Outlook

Copano Energy
• Total service throughput volumes decreased 3% from 1Q09 to 2Q09
• Processed volumes increased 2% from 1Q09 to 2Q09
• Unprocessed volumes decreased 5% from 1Q09 to 2Q09
Total Volume Trends
Note: Includes affiliates, net of intercompany volumes.

Copano Energy
(1) 1/08 - 9/09: Actual
 10/09 - 12/13: Forward prices as of 9/8/09

Oklahoma Natural Gas Price Outlook

Copano Energy
Oklahoma Rich Gas vs. Lean Gas
(1) Full value prior to deduction of Copano’s margin. Excludes value of condensate and crude oil recovered by the
 producer at the wellhead.
(2) Implied NGL prices are based on a three-year historical regression analysis.
(3) Assumes 9 GPM gas with a Btu factor of 1.375 processed at Copano’s cryogenic plant, and field fuel of 6.25%.
(4) Assumes unprocessed gas with a Btu factor of 1.0 and field fuel of 6%.

Copano Energy

• Rich gas (primarily Hunton de-watering play)
 – Drilling activity reduced, pending increased liquids and natural gas
 prices
 – 2 rigs running currently in the Hunton and 5 in other rich gas areas
 – High BTU gas, processing upgrade and low geologic risk enhance
 drilling economics, but activity remains subject to market forces
 – 3Q09 volumes are expected to be flat vs. 2Q09
• Lean gas (primarily Woodford Shale and Coalbed methane)
 – Drilling activity reduced, reflecting low natural gas prices
 – 2 rigs currently running
 • No known additional rigs being added
 – 3Q09 volumes are expected to be slightly down from 2Q09
Oklahoma Volume Outlook

Copano Energy
(1) 1/08 - 9/09: Actual
 10/09 - 12/13: Forward prices as of 9/8/09

South Texas Natural Gas Price
Outlook

Copano Energy

South Texas Volume Outlook
• Small decrease in 3Q09 volumes vs. 2Q09
• Drilling activity in the Eagle Ford Shale is steadily ramping up
• Upper Gulf Coast intrastate service throughput remains strong
• Pending acquisition of Transco McMullen lateral, if approved by
 FERC, would significantly increase South Texas volumes

Copano Energy

North Texas Volume Outlook
• Current volumes steady compared to 2Q09, but below anticipated
 levels
• Four rigs running in gathering area, and we hope for additional rigs
 by year-end
• Approximately 12 wells are awaiting completion and frac
• Our state-of-the-art Saint Jo plant was recently placed in service,
 and we hope to attract additional volumes
• North Texas natural gas has an average GPM of 5.5 and an
 average Btu of 1.20 (1.30 net of CO2), which enhances per-Mcf
 netback value under current market conditions. Drilling economics
 are driven by associated crude oil production

Copano Energy
(1) 1/08 - 9/09: Actual
 10/09 - 12/13: Forward prices as of 9/8/09

Rocky Mountains Natural Gas Price
Outlook

Copano Energy

Rocky Mountains Volume Outlook
• Bighorn:
 – 130 previously drilled wells can be connected with moderate capital
 expenditures. 70 previously drilled wells can be connected with more
 significant capital expenditures. All connections depend on improved
 production economics
 – Timing of dewatering will also drive volume levels
 – Development of extensive acreage dedication will be driven by drilling
 economics and commodity prices
 – Purchased producer-owned pipeline, which will allow expansion of
 gathering system into Montana when economics warrant
 – 3Q09 volumes are expected to be flat vs. 2Q09
• Fort Union:
 – Volumes decreased slightly during 2Q09 due to adverse weather
 conditions and downstream maintenance. Producer shut-ins will likely
 offset the anticipated increase in production for the remainder of 2009.
 Production from new well tie-ins and previously drilled wells will be
 delayed into 2010

Copano Energy
Rocky Mountains Takeaway
 Capacity Outlook
Source: Bentek Energy, LLC
(1) Historical and future prices as of 9/2/09.

(1)

Copano Energy

Commodity Prices and Margin
Sensitivities
Commodity
Prices and
Margin
Sensitivities
Distribution Policy
and Outlook
Capital Access
Throughput
Volume Outlook

Copano Energy
Oklahoma Commodity Prices

Copano Energy

Oklahoma Commercial Update
• Second Quarter 2009
 – Total service throughput volumes: 268,000 MMBtu/d(1)
 – Unit margin: $0.76/MMBtu(2)
 – Margins from approximately 73% of contract volumes are directly
 correlated with NGL prices
 – Significant percentage of contract volumes (over 55%) contain fee-
 based components, including volumes subject to minimum margin
 provisions
• Processing Operating Modes
 – Second and third quarter 2009 to date:
 • Full processing
(1) Excludes 15,412 MMBtu/d service throughput for Southern Dome, a majority-owned affiliate.
(2) Refers to Oklahoma segment gross margin ($18.6 million) divided by Oklahoma service throughput volumes
 (268,000 MMBtu/d) for the period. See Appendix for reconciliation of Oklahoma segment gross margin.

Copano Energy

Texas Commodity Prices

Copano Energy

Texas Commercial Update
• Second Quarter 2009
 – Total service throughput volumes: 631,000 MMBtu/d(1)
 – Unit margin: $0.41/MMBtu(2)
 – Margins from approximately 87% of contract volumes are directly
 correlated with NGL prices
 – Approximately 90% of contract volumes have fee-based components,
 including volumes subject to minimum margin provisions
• Operating Modes
 – Second and third quarter 2009 to date:
 • Full processing
(1) Excludes 88,740 MMBtu/d service throughput for Webb Duval, a majority-owned affiliate.
(2) Refers to Texas segment gross margin ($23.3 million) divided by Texas service throughput volumes (631,000
 MMBtu/d) for the period. See Appendix for reconciliation of Texas segment gross margin.

Copano Energy

Texas Fractionation Strategy
• NGL transportation and fractionation capacity at Mt. Belvieu has continued to become
 constrained and expensive
• Beginning in 2008, Copano began investigating and obtained board approval for the
 expansion of its de-ethanization capacity at the Houston Central Plant in order to
 produce purity ethane and propane
• During the second and third quarters, transportation and fractionation services by third
 parties have resulted in lower gross margin in the Texas segment
 – Impact of higher T&F charges to Texas segment gross margin
 • 2Q09: - $700,000
 • 3Q09: - $2,100,000
 – Effective August 24, 2009, Copano moved all of its NGL sales to a new, more favorable market
• As a result of increasing pressure on the NGL transportation and fractionation facilities
 at Mt. Belvieu, Copano is implementing a plan to fully utilize - and expand where
 necessary - the Houston Central Plant’s fractionation facilities and access to
 alternative markets using its portfolio of NGL pipelines and other facilities

Copano Energy

Rocky Mountains Commercial
Update
• Second Quarter 2009
 – Total service throughput volumes:
 • Consolidated (producer services): 166,000 MMBtu/d
 • Unconsolidated affiliates:
 § Bighorn: 185,600 MMBtu/d
 § Fort Union: 795,100 MMBtu/d
• All Bighorn and Fort Union margins are fixed fee
• Virtually all producer services margins are fixed margin

Copano Energy

Combined Commodity-Sensitive Segment Margins
 and Hedging Settlements
• Copano’s hedge portfolio supports cash flow stability based on
 combined segment gross margins and cash hedging settlements

Copano Energy

Commodity-Related Margin
Sensitivities
Note: Please see Appendix for definitions of processing modes and additional details.
• Matrix reflects 2Q09 wellhead and plant inlet volumes,
 adjusted using Copano’s 2009 planning model
• In conditioning mode, Copano would be indifferent to
 declining liquids prices
(1) Consists of Texas and Oklahoma Segment gross margins.

Copano Energy

Combined Commodity-Sensitive Segment Margins
 and Hedging Settlements
(1) Does not include non-cash expenses included in Corporate and Other for purposes of calculating Total Segment
 Gross Margin. See Appendix for reconciliation of Total Segment Gross Margin.
(2) Reflects prices through 9/8/09.

Copano Energy

Capital Access
Capital Access
Distribution Policy
and Outlook
Commodity
Prices and
Margin
Sensitivities
Throughput
Volume Outlook

Copano Energy

Capital Access
• Copano has no need to access capital markets to support
 currently approved projects
 – At June 30, 2009:
 ($ in millions)
• Debt access available
• Equity access available privately
 – Would only make sense for accretive transactions or projects
(1) Includes Copano’s net share for unconsolidated affiliates. Does not include future potential acquisitions.
(2) Includes integration costs. The McMullen Lateral acquisition remains subject to FERC approval.

Copano Energy

Liquidity and Debt Facilities
• At June 30, 2009:
 – Cash: $75 million
 – $550 million revolving credit facility
 • Approximately $280 million available
 • Remaining term: approximately 3.3 years
 • LIBOR + 150 bps
 – $582 million senior notes
 • $332,665,000 8 ⅛% due 2016
 • $249,525,000 7 ¾% due 2018
 • Weighted average rate: 7.96%
 • Weighted average maturity: 7.6 years

Copano Energy
• Senior Secured Revolving Credit Facility
 – $550 million facility with $100 million accordion
 – Maintenance tests:
 • 5x defined EBITDA(1) limitation on total debt
 § 3.93x at June 30, 2009(2)
 • Minimum required interest coverage 2.5x defined EBITDA
 § 3.50x at June 30, 2009
 • Defined EBITDA adds back hedge amortization and other non-cash
 expenses
 – Following an acquisition, Copano may increase total debt to defined
 EBITDA test to 5.5x for three quarters
• Senior Notes
 – Incurrence tests:
 • Minimum defined EBITDA to interest test of 2.00x for debt incurrence
 • Minimum defined EBITDA to interest test of 1.75x for restricted payments
 • Defined EBITDA is similar to that for credit facility

Key Debt Terms and Covenants
(1) See this Appendix for reconciliation of defined EBITDA, which is referred to in our credit facility as
 “Consolidated EBITDA.”
(2) If $50 million cash had been used to reduce total debt, defined EBITDA to total debt would have been 3.33x.

Copano Energy

Distribution Policy and Outlook
Distribution Policy
and Outlook
Capital Access
Commodity
Prices and
Margin
Sensitivities
Throughput
Volume Outlook

Copano Energy

Distribution Track Record
• On July 15, 2009, Copano announced a cash distribution for the
 second quarter of 2009 of $0.575 per common unit
(3)(4)
(5)
(1) All pre-1Q 2007 distributions are adjusted to reflect Copano’s 3/30/07 two-for-one unit split.
(2) Assumes generic MLP splits with 10%, 25% & 50% increases in distributable cash flow to LP units resulting in
 incremental 13%, 23% and 48% increases in the percentage of total distributable cash flow applicable to the GP.
(3) Actual $0.10 distribution per unit was for the period from November 15, 2004 through December 31, 2004.
(4) 4Q 2004 annualized.
(5) First half 2009 annualized.

Copano Energy

Historic Yield Spreads
(1) Daily 10-yr Treasury yield curve rates. Copano distributions are most recent quarter annualized.

Copano Energy

Distribution Outlook
Driver	Potential 2011 - 2012 Annual Incremental Total DCF Impact(1) ($ in millions)	Comments and Risk Factors
Rocky Mountains Volumes	$30 - $45	• Resource play • Drilling activity • Dewatering rates • Fort Union expansion • New projects
Forward Commodity Prices (2Q09 vs. 2012 forward curve(2) and without hedges)	$42	• Reflects September 2009 forward quotes • Future market conditions
Saint Jo Plant and North Texas Volumes(2)	$25 - $30	• Resource play • Drilling activity • Product prices • New suppliers
Oklahoma Volumes(2)	$20 - $25	• Resource play • Drilling activity • Product prices
(1) Compared to 2Q09 annualized levels. See Appendix for an explanation of how we calculate total distributable
 cash flow.
(2) Reflects September 2009 forward price curves with regression-based NGL prices.

Copano Energy

Distribution Outlook
Driver	Potential 2011 - 2012 Annual Incremental Total DCF Impact(1) ($ in millions)	Comments and Risk Factors
Transco McMullen Lateral spin- down and South Texas expansion and integration projects(2)	$20 - $25	• FERC approval • Product prices • New attachments
Balance Sheet, Producer Contracts, Vendor Contracts and Other Cost Management	TBD	• Debt management • G&A and O&M efficiencies • Market conditions
Future Acquisitions and Major Projects	TBD	• Opportunities • Execution
(1) Compared to 2Q09 annualized levels. See Appendix for an explanation of how we calculate total distributable
 cash flow.
(2) Reflects September 2009 forward price curves with regression-based NGL prices.

Copano Energy
• Current cash flow trends remain solid
• Forward market prices should drive increased drilling activity in our
 cost-competitive operating regions
• Copano’s liquidity and access to capital remain strong
• We continue to enjoy an abundant opportunity environment

Conclusions

Copano Energy

Appendix

Copano Energy

Oklahoma Assets
Appendix

Copano Energy
South Texas Assets
Appendix
(1) The McMullen Lateral acquisition remains subject to FERC approval.
(1)

Copano Energy

North Texas Assets
Appendix

Copano Energy
Rocky Mountains Assets
Appendix

Copano Energy

Processing Modes
• Full Recovery
• Ethane Rejection
• Conditioning Mode
→ Texas and Oklahoma - If the value of
 recovered NGLs exceeds the fuel and gas
 shrinkage costs of recovering NGLs
→ Texas - If the value of recovered NGLs is less
 than the fuel and gas shrinkage cost of
 recovering NGLs (available at Houston
 Central plant and at Saint Jo plant in North
 Texas)
→ Texas and Oklahoma - If the value of ethane
 is less than the fuel and shrinkage costs to
 recover ethane (in Oklahoma, ethane
 rejection at Paden plant is limited by nitrogen
 rejection facilities)
Appendix

Copano Energy

Oklahoma Contract Mix
• Second quarter 2009 contract mix(1)
(1) Source: Copano Energy internal financial planning models for consolidated subsidiaries.
(2) Excludes 15,412 MMBtu/d service throughput for Southern Dome, a majority-owned affiliate.

Copano Energy

Oklahoma Net Commodity
Exposure
Note: See explanation of processing modes in this Appendix. Values reflect rounding.
(1) Source: Copano Energy internal financial planning models for consolidated subsidiaries.
(2) Ethane rejection at Paden plant is limited by nitrogen rejection facilities.
(3) Reflects impact of producer delivery point allocations, offset by field condensate collection and
 stabilization.
Appendix

Copano Energy

Oklahoma Net Commodity
Exposure(1)
Appendix
Note: See explanation of processing modes in this Appendix.
(1) Source: Copano Energy internal financial planning models for consolidated subsidiaries. Based on 2Q09
 daily wellhead/plant inlet volumes.

Copano Energy

Oklahoma Commodity Price
Sensitivities
• Oklahoma segment gross margins excluding hedge
 settlements
 – Matrix reflects 2Q09 volumes, adjusted using Copano’s 2009
 planning model
Appendix

Copano Energy

Texas Contract Mix
• Second quarter 2009 contract mix(1)
Appendix
(1) Source: Copano Energy internal financial planning models for consolidated subsidiaries.
(2) Excludes 84,452 MMBtu/d service throughput for Webb Duval, a majority-owned affiliate.

Copano Energy

Texas Net Commodity Exposure
Note: See explanation of processing modes in this Appendix.
(1) Source: Copano Energy internal financial planning models for consolidated subsidiaries. Based on 2Q09
 daily wellhead/plant inlet volumes.
(2) Fractionation at Houston Central processing plant permits significant reductions in ethane recoveries in
 ethane rejection mode and full ethane rejection in conditioning mode. To optimize profitability, plant
 operations can also be adjusted to partial recovery mode.
(3) At the Houston Central processing plant, pentanes+ may be sold as condensate.
Appendix

Copano Energy

Texas Net Commodity Exposure(1)
Note: See explanation of processing modes in this Appendix.
(1) Source: Copano Energy internal financial planning models for consolidated subsidiaries. Based on
 2Q09 daily wellhead/plant inlet volumes.

Copano Energy

Texas Commodity Price
Sensitivities
• Texas segment gross margins excluding hedge settlements
 – Matrix reflects 2Q09 volumes and operating conditions,
 adjusted using Copano’s 2009 planning model
Appendix

Copano Energy

Rocky Mountains Sensitivities
Appendix
Note: See this Appendix for reconciliation of Adjusted EBITDA. Values reflect rounding.
(1) Impact on Adjusted EBITDA based on Copano’s interest in the unconsolidated affiliate.
• Second Quarter 2009
 – Adjusted EBITDA volume sensitivity (positive or negative impact)
 • Consolidated (producer services): 10,000 MMBtu/d = $38,000
 • Unconsolidated affiliates:
 § Bighorn: 10,000 MMBtu/d = $230,000(1)
 § Fort Union: 10,000 MMBtu/d = $70,000(1)

Copano Energy

Hedging Impact
of Commodity Price Sensitivities
• Commodity hedging program supplements cash flow in 2009
 through 2011 during less favorable commodity price periods
Appendix

Copano Energy

Hedging Impact
• Second Half 2009 NGLs Hedge Settlement Matrix

Note: All hedge instruments are reported in Copano’s SEC filings. Hedge settlements are based on monthly
 average Mt. Belvieu NGL and NYMEX WTI prices. Positive amounts reflect payments from hedge
 counterparties under swap and put option instruments. Negative amounts reflect payments to hedge
 counterparties under swap instruments.
Appendix

Copano Energy

Hedging Impact
• 2010 NGLs Hedge Settlement Matrix
Note: All hedge instruments are reported in Copano’s SEC filings. Hedge settlements are based on monthly
 average Mt. Belvieu NGL and NYMEX WTI prices. Positive amounts reflect payments from hedge
 counterparties under swap and put option instruments. Negative amounts reflect payments to hedge
 counterparties under swap instruments.
Appendix

Copano Energy

Hedging Impact
• 2011 NGLs Hedge Settlement Matrix
Note: All hedge instruments are reported in Copano’s SEC filings. Hedge settlements are based on monthly
 average Mt. Belvieu NGL and NYMEX WTI prices. Positive amounts reflect payments from hedge
 counterparties under swap and put option instruments. Negative amounts reflect payments to hedge
 counterparties under swap instruments.
Appendix

Copano Energy

Hedging Impact
• 2012 NGLs Hedge Settlement Matrix
Note: All hedge instruments are reported in Copano’s SEC filings. Hedge settlements are based on monthly
 average Mt. Belvieu NGL and NYMEX WTI prices. Positive amounts reflect payments from hedge
 counterparties under swap and put option instruments. Negative amounts reflect payments to hedge
 counterparties under swap instruments.
Appendix

Copano Energy

Hedging Impact
• 2009 - 2011 Natural Gas Hedge Settlement Matrix
Note: All hedge instruments are reported in Copano’s SEC filings. Hedge settlements are based on first of the
 month Houston Ship Channel and CenterPoint East natural gas prices. Positive amounts reflect payments
 from hedge counterparties under call and put option instruments.
Appendix

Copano Energy

• At June 30, 2009:
 – Moody’s
 • Corporate Family Rating: Ba3
 • Senior Unsecured Rating: B1
 • Outlook: Stable
 – Standard & Poor’s
 • Corporate Credit Rating: BB-
 • Senior Unsecured Rating: B+
 • Outlook: Stable
Credit Ratings

Copano Energy

Limited Liability Company Agreement
• Distributions based on “Available Cash”
 – Cash on hand at the end of a quarter less reserves established
 by the Board
 – Board may increase or decrease reserves quarterly
• Since IPO and as of June 30, 2009:
 – Initial available cash and reserve at IPO: $20 million
 – Cumulative cash from operations: $457 million
 – Cumulative distributions: $355 million
 – Cumulative reserves established by the Board: $150 million
Appendix

Copano Energy

Oil Price Trends
(1) As of September 8, 2009.
Appendix

Copano Energy

Natural Gas Price Trends
(1) As of September 8, 2009.
Appendix

Copano Energy
Reconciliation of Non-GAAP
Financial Measures
Segment Gross Margin and Total Segment Gross Margin
• We define segment gross margin, with respect to a Copano operating segment, as segment revenue less cost of sales. Cost of sales includes the following:
 cost of natural gas and NGLs purchased from third parties, cost of natural gas and NGLs purchased from affiliates, cost of crude oil purchased from third
 parties, costs paid to third parties to transport volumes and costs paid to affiliates to transport volumes. Total segment gross margin is the sum of the
 operating segment gross margins and the results of Copano’s risk management activities that are included in Corporate and other. We view total segment
 gross margin as an important performance measure of the core profitability of our operations. Segment gross margin allows Copano’s senior management
 to compare volume and price performance of the segments and to more easily identify operational or other issues within a segment. The GAAP measure
 most directly comparable to total segment gross margin is operating income.
• The following table presents total segment gross margin and a reconciliation of total segment gross margin to the GAAP financial measure of operating
 income:
Appendix

Copano Energy

Reconciliation of Non-GAAP
Financial Measures
Adjusted EBITDA
• We define EBITDA as net income (loss) plus interest expense, provision for income taxes and depreciation and amortization expense. Because a portion of
 our net income (loss) is attributable to equity in earnings (loss) from our equity investees (which include Bighorn, Fort Union, Webb Duval and Southern
 Dome), our management also calculates Adjusted EBITDA to reflect the depreciation and amortization expense embedded in equity in earnings (loss) from
 unconsolidated affiliates. Specifically, our management determines Adjusted EBITDA by adding to EBITDA (i) the amortization expense attributable to the
 difference between our carried investment in each unconsolidated affiliate and the underlying equity in its net assets, (ii) the portion of each unconsolidated
 affiliate’s depreciation and amortization expense, which is proportional to our ownership interest in that unconsolidated affiliate and (iii) the portion of each
 unconsolidated affiliate’s interest and other financing costs, which is proportional to our ownership interest in that unconsolidated affiliate.
• External users of our financial statements such as investors, commercial banks and research analysts use EBITDA or Adjusted EBITDA, and our
 management uses Adjusted EBITDA, as a supplemental financial measure to assess:
 – The financial performance of our assets without regard to financing methods, capital structure or historical cost basis;
 – The ability of our assets to generate cash sufficient to pay interest costs and support our indebtedness;
 – Our operating performance and return on capital as compared to those of other companies in the midstream energy sector, without regard to
 financing or capital structure; and
 – The viability of acquisitions and capital expenditure projects and the overall rates of return on alternative investment opportunities.
• The following table presents a reconciliation of the portion of our EBITDA and Adjusted EBITDA attributable to our Rocky Mountains segment to the GAAP
 financial measure of net income (loss):
Appendix

Copano Energy

Reconciliation of Non-GAAP
Financial Measures
Consolidated EBITDA
§ EBITDA is also a financial measure that, with negotiated pro forma adjustments relating to acquisitions completed during the
 period, is reported to our lenders as Consolidated EBITDA and is used to compute our financial covenants under our senior
 secured revolving credit facility.
§ The following table presents a reconciliation of the non-GAAP financial measure of Consolidated EBITDA to the GAAP
 financial measure of net income (loss):
Appendix

Copano Energy

Definitions of Non-GAAP
Financial Measures
Distributable Cash Flow and Total Distributable Cash Flow
§ We define total distributable cash flow as net income plus: (i) depreciation, amortization and impairment expense (including
 amortization expense relating to the option component of our risk management portfolio); (ii) cash distributions received from
 investments in unconsolidated affiliates and equity losses from such unconsolidated affiliates; (iii) provision for deferred
 income taxes; (iv) the subtraction of maintenance capital expenditures; (v) the subtraction of equity in earnings from
 unconsolidated affiliates and (vi) the addition of losses or subtraction of gains relating to other miscellaneous non-cash
 amounts affecting net income for the period, such as equity-based compensation, mark-to-market changes in derivative
 instruments, and our line fill contributions to third-party pipelines and gas imbalances. Maintenance capital expenditures are
 capital expenditures employed to replace partially or fully depreciated assets to maintain the existing operating capacity of our
 assets and to extend their useful lives, or other capital expenditures that are incurred in maintaining existing system volumes
 and related cash flows.
§ Total distributable cash flow is a significant performance metric used by senior management to compare basic cash flows
 generated by us (prior to the establishment of any retained cash reserves by our Board of Directors) to the cash distributions
 we expect to pay our unitholders, and it also correlates with the metrics of our existing debt covenants. Using total
 distributable cash flow, management can quickly compute the coverage ratio of estimated cash flows to planned cash
 distributions. Total distributable cash flow is also an important non-GAAP financial measure for our unitholders because it
 serves as an indicator of our success in providing a cash return on investment — specifically, whether or not we are
 generating cash flow at a level that can sustain or support an increase in our quarterly distribution rates. Total distributable
 cash flow is also used by industry analysts with respect to publicly traded partnerships and limited liability companies because
 the market value of such entities’ equity securities is significantly influenced by the amount of cash they can distribute to
 unitholders.
Appendix

Copano Energy
NASDAQ: CPNO
September 2009