Exhibit 99.1

NEWS
RELEASE

Suite 215-800 West Pender St
Vancouver, BC V6C 2V6

t:	604 669 2251
866 824 1100
f:	604 669 8577

w:	www.kimberresources.com

KIMBER REPORTS ADDITIONAL HIGH GRADE GOLD AND SILVER RESULTS FROM UNDERGROUND SAMPLING AT MONTERDE

70 m at Average of 5.25g/t AuEq over 1.7m Width on Carmen Level 3

May 1, 2013

Vancouver, British Columbia - Kimber Resources Inc. (NYSE MKT:KBX, TSX:KBR) is pleased to announce the latest set of results from its underground rehabilitation and sampling program within the historic Carmen level 3 underground workings of the Carmen deposit at the 100% owned Monterde gold-silver project in Chihuahua, Mexico.

Carmen Level 3 is the uppermost of the three adits driven into the Carmen vein during underground mining conducted between 1936 and 1944. Sampling results have been returned for the initial 80 metres of tunnel from the un-mined portal section of the 3 Level adjacent to one of the large stopes mined in the Carmen mine. Assay results from level 3 at Carmen again show a significant strike length of gold and silver mineralization along accessible unmined portions of the Carmen vein. The continuity of these high grade zones over significant strike lengths supports the potential for similar continuity of high grade zones intersected in other areas of the Carmen deposit.

Sampling within the initial section of the Carmen 3 level yielded a weighted average grade of 1.56 g/t gold and 194 g/t silver (5.25 g/t gold equivalent) over 1.73m average sample width (true width) representing 70 metres of notably mineralized strike length along the vein (S06 to S28). This average includes a higher grade section, from S11 to S28, totaling 50m of strike averaging 1.65m at 1.84 g/t gold and 230 g/t silver for 6.21 g/t gold equivalent (see figure 3).

Individual sample highlights from the sampling program are as follows:

Sample	Sample	True Width	Gold	Silver	Gold Eq*
Number	Location	(m)	g/t	g/t	g/t
S13	Carmen 3	1.4	5.64	255.9	10.50
S27	Carmen 3	1.5	2.06	336.0	8.45
S24	Carmen 3	1.55	1.56	351.5	8.25
S15	Carmen 3	1.1	3.37	275.0	8.60
S16	Carmen 3	1.9	2.22	311.2	8.14

* Gold equivalent based upon silver:gold ratio of $27/$1420, Gross metal values, no recovery factor applied.

** Horizontal Samples are estimated to be between 80-100% of true width.

“We continue to be pleased with the high grade gold and silver results from the underground sampling program at the Carmen deposit,” said Gordon Cummings, President and CEO of Kimber Resources. “Kimber is currently reviewing the potential to take Monterde into production with reduced capital expenditure and a focus on high grade gold and silver production. These results showing continuity of high grade gold and silver at Carmen support that initiative.”

The results of the underground sampling at Carmen have successfully provided valuable information including:

1.	Support of continuity of the high grade mineralization on the Carmen vein structure between the old mine workings.
2.	Distribution of gold and silver within the mineralized zones on the Carmen structure.
3.	Mineralization controls, including lithological and structural.
4.	Ground conditions for mine development planning and economics.

The underground work program initiated at the Carmen deposit was aimed at providing more than 650 metres of underground access to high-grade gold-silver mineralized structures, including the Carmen and Hilos structures (see figures 2 and 3 below). Thus far, access has been achieved within all four of the targeted adits and total access exceeds 965 metres within the historic underground mine workings. Levels rehabilitated currently include Hilos Mine levels 0 and 1 and Carmen Mine levels 1 and 3. Assay results have been received for sampling on the Hilos levels 0 & 1 and Carmen level 1, as well as partial sections of the Carmen 3 level reported herein (Hilos results reported December 20, 2012 and Carmen Level 1 reported February 26, 2013). Rehabilitation and sampling continues on the Carmen level 3 workings.

Figures 1 & 2 show the spatial relationship of the historic workings with relation to the proposed Open Pit as outlined in the 2011 Preliminary Economic Assessment (the “PEA”). While the levels being sampled are within the proposed Open Pit, the sampling and mapping provides important insight in respect of the potential continuity of high grade mineralization in the same vein structures below the proposed pit bottom. This information will be incorporated into the ongoing economic and engineering studies of the Carmen deposit development alternatives.

Figure 3 show the sample station locations within Carmen level 3. See the Company’s website at www.kimberresources.com for full details of the sample data.

Historic production of gold and silver ores from the Monterde underground mine took place between 1937 and 1944. Total ore production has been estimated at 68,000 tonnes grading 19.29 g/t gold and 311.5 g/t silver. The mining cut-off grade is reported to have been approximately 15.0 g/t gold. All of the ore produced was oxide in nature. Historic mining depths were greater than 250 metres vertical. Production came from two underground mines located on two separate shears, Carmen and Los Hilos, separated by an east-west distance of approximately 150 metres.

Sampling Program Description and QA/QC

Sampling within the underground workings included diamond saw channel sampling, taken in compliance with the Company’s core drilling QA/QC protocol, and have been analyzed for gold, silver and trace elements with ALS Chemex laboratory. The vein exposures in the back (roof) and face of the workings are sampled in stations perpendicular to the strike of the structure, with the widths of the individual samples determined by the mineralization and alteration. Sample stations include one to four continuous channel samples, with the hanging wall, vein and footwall mineralization separated into individual samples. Sample stations are spaced at approximately 2 metre intervals along the

vein, except in areas where historic mining has removed the vein. Minimum sample widths were 0.4 metres and maximum was 2.0 metres. The cross cut drifts were sampled along waist high horizontal channel samples, with sample widths again determined by mineralization, but typically on 1.5 metre intervals. The underground channel sample data is being compared to the drill data in the area of the sampling for validation crosschecks and to analyze trends where stronger gold-silver mineralization occurs. Sample widths reported are true thicknesses, except for horizontal crosscut samples which are approximately 80-100% of true thickness. Duplicate channel samples were taken for each 20th sample with blank and standard samples inserted in the sample stream.

About Kimber

Kimber owns mineral concessions covering in excess of 39,000 hectares in the prospective Sierra Madre gold-silver belt, including the Monterde property, where three gold-silver mineral resources have already been defined. The most advanced of these, the Carmen deposit, has been extensively drilled and has undergone detailed geologic modeling. The completion of the Updated Preliminary Economic Assessment for Monterde in 2011 represented a significant step forward for Kimber and supported further evaluation and more advanced economic studies at the Monterde deposits, with the 2012 Updated Mineral Resource Estimate Technical Report for the Carmen deposit representing a component of those activities.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION PLEASE CONTACT:

Renee Brickner, BSc (Hons) Geol.
Vice President, Investor Relations

or

Gordon Cummings, CA
President and CEO

North America Toll Free: 1-866-824-1100
Tel: (604) 669-2251
Fax: (604) 669-8577

Website: http://www.kimberresources.com
Email: kimbernews@kimberresources.com

Forward looking statements

Statements in this release may be viewed as forward-looking statements, including statements regarding estimates of mineral resources at Monterde, the preliminary economic assessment of the Monterde project, the conversion of inferred mineral resources to measured and indicated mineral resources, the conversion of mineral resources to mineral reserves, life of mine estimates, the potential for gold and silver mineral resources in the Carmen and Veta Minitas deposits and other targets within the Monterde project, the implications of the results of channel samples reported herein, the results of future exploration, the economic potential of any such discoveries made, the further development, expected results and future economic assessments of the Monterde project. When used in this press release, the words “expect”, “intend”, “hopes”, “should”, “believe”, “may”, “will”, “if”, “anticipates”, “potential for”, “potentially”, “suggests” and similar expressions are intended to identify forward-looking statements. Such statements involve risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from those projected. Such risks and uncertainties include, among others, uncertainty of mineral reserve and resource estimates, continuity of mineralization between drill holes, risks relating to fluctuations in the price of gold, the inherently hazardous nature of mining-related activities, potential effects on Kimber’s operations of environmental

regulations in the countries in which it operates, risks due to legal proceedings, risks relating to political and economic instability in certain countries in which it operates, risks related to the use of inferred mineral resources in the preliminary economic assessment, and uncertainty of being able to raise capital on favourable terms or at all, as well as those risk factors discussed under the headings “Cautionary Note Regarding Forward-Looking Statements” and “Risk Factors” in Kimber’s latest Annual Report on Form 20-F as recently filed on SEDAR and EDGAR. There are no assurances the Company can fulfil such forward-looking statements and the Company undertakes no obligation to update such statements, except as required by law. Such forward-looking statements are only predictions; actual events or results may differ materially as a result of risks facing the Company, some of which are beyond the Company’s control.

Quality Assurance/Quality Control

The technical information in this news release has been prepared in accordance with Canadian regulatory requirements set out in National Instrument 43-101 and reviewed and approved by Mr. David R. Hembree, P.Geo., Vice President Exploration of the Company. The exploration activities at the Monterde project site are now carried out under the supervision of Mr. David R. Hembree, who is the designated Qualified Person under National Instrument 43-101 for the Monterde project and is responsible for quality control at Monterde and has verified the data being disclosed herein. He has determined that the laboratory reports matched the underground sample logs and that the quality control assays fall within reasonable limits. QA/QC procedures incorporate blanks and duplicates inserted at the mine and standards inserted after sample preparation. Sample preparation was done by ALS Chemex at its Chihuahua laboratory. Pulps are analyzed by ALS Chemex at its laboratory in North Vancouver, British Columbia, using 50 gram sub-samples, using fire assay with an AA finish for gold and four-acid digestion and ICP finish for silver from a 0.4 gram subsample. Over limit gold or silver intervals are re-assayed by fire assay with gravimetric finish.

Cautionary Note to U.S. Investors – The United States Securities and Exchange Commission permits U.S. mining companies, in their filings with the SEC, to disclose only those mineral deposits that a company can economically and legally extract or produce. Kimber Resources uses certain terms in this news release, such as “mineral resources,” which the SEC guidelines strictly prohibit U.S. companies from including in their filings with the SEC. U.S. Investors are urged to consider closely the disclosure under the heading “Cautionary Note to U.S. Investors Regarding Mineral Reserve and Resource Estimates” in our latest annual report on Form 20-F which may be secured from us, or from the SEC’s website at http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml.

Figure 1: Carmen Deposit Showing Historic Workings: Carmen and Hilos Structures

Figure 2: Carmen Level 3

Figure 3: Insert A: Carmen Level 3