Exhibit 99.1

Polypore International, Inc.
The Gibson Building
11430 North Community House Road
Suite 350
Charlotte, NC 28277
Tel: (704) 587-8409
Fax: (704) 587-8795
www.polypore.net

Polypore Comments on FTC Decision and Initiates Appeal in Federal Court

Charlotte, N.C., November 8, 2010 — Polypore International, Inc. (NYSE: PPO) provides the following update and comment to the Federal Trade Commission’s (“FTC” or “Commission”) administrative complaint (the “Complaint”) originally issued against the Company on September 9, 2008.

The FTC commissioners affirmed the relief initially granted by the FTC’s Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) issued on February 23, 2010. The Commissioners ordered that the Company proceed with the ALJ’s recommendations to divest substantially all of the Microporous Products L.P. assets acquired in February 2008, which includes the manufacturing facilities located in Piney Flats, Tennessee and Feistritz, Austria.

Both of these initial steps took place within the FTC. The Company is appealing this decision and the appeal process will be heard outside of the FTC in the U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals. At this point, it is not possible to predict with certainty the outcome or timing of the appeal process.

About Polypore International, Inc.

Polypore International, Inc. is a global high technology filtration company specializing in microporous membranes. Polypore’s flat sheet and hollow fiber membranes are used in specialized applications that require the removal or separation of various materials from liquids, primarily in the ultrafiltration and microfiltration markets. Based in Charlotte, NC, Polypore International, Inc. is a market leader with manufacturing facilities or sales offices in ten countries serving six continents. See www.polypore.net.

Forward-Looking Statement

This release contains statements that are forward-looking in nature. Statements that are predictive in nature, that depend upon or refer to future events or conditions or that include words such as “expects,” “anticipates,” “ intends,” “plans,” “believes,” “estimates,” and similar expressions are forward- looking statements. These statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors that may cause our actual results and performance to be materially different from any future results or performance expressed or implied by these forward-looking statements. These factors include the following: the highly competitive nature of the markets in which we sell our products; the failure to continue to develop innovative products; the loss of our customers; the vertical integration by our customers of the production of our products into their own manufacturing process; increases in prices for raw materials or the loss of key supplier contracts; our substantial indebtedness; interest rate risk related to our variable rate indebtedness; our inability to generate cash; restrictions related to the senior secured credit facilities; employee slowdowns, strikes or similar actions; product liability claims exposure; risks

in connection with our operations outside the United States; the incurrence of substantial costs to comply with, or as a result of violations of, or liabilities under, environmental laws; the failure to protect our intellectual property; the failure to replace lost senior management; the incurrence of additional debt, contingent liabilities and expenses in connection with future acquisitions; the adverse impact on our financial condition from past restructuring activities; the failure to effectively integrate newly acquired operations; the absence of expected returns from the amount of intangible assets we have recorded; and natural disasters, epidemics, terrorist acts and other events beyond our control. Additional information concerning these and other important factors can be found in Item 1A. “Risk Factors” of our most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K and subsequent reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Such forward-looking statements speak only as of the date of this press release. Polypore expressly disclaims any obligation to release publicly any updates or revisions to any forward-looking statements contained herein to reflect any change in Polypore’s expectations with regard thereto or change in events, conditions or circumstances on which any statement is based.

CONTACT:

Polypore Investor Relations

(704) 587-8886

investorrelations@polypore.net