Exhibit 99.1


           Tower Group, Inc. Reports on Annual Meeting of Stockholders


     NEW YORK--(BUSINESS WIRE)--May 19, 2006--Tower Group, Inc. (NASDAQ:TWGP) today reported the results of its Annual Meeting of Stockholders held on May 18, 2006 in New York City. President and Chief Executive Officer Michael H. Lee presided over the meeting and reported that the proposal to elect two nominees to the Board of Directors to serve until the 2009 annual meeting of stockholders, or until their successors are elected and qualified, had been duly approved by stockholders. Steven G. Fauth, Senior Vice President and General Counsel of Tower Group, Inc., and Austin P. Young III, C.P.A., were reelected to the Company's Board of Directors.
     The stockholders also approved the appointment of the firm of Johnson Lambert & Co., which served as the Company's independent registered public accounting firm for 2005, to serve as the Company's independent registered public accounting firm for 2006.

     About Tower Group, Inc.

     Tower Group, Inc., headquartered in New York City, offers property and casualty insurance products and services through its insurance company and insurance service subsidiaries. Its two insurance company subsidiaries are Tower Insurance Company of New York which is rated A- (Excellent) by A.M. Best Company and offers commercial insurance products to small to medium-size businesses and personal insurance products to individuals and Tower National Insurance Company which is also rated A- (Excellent) by A.M. Best Company. Its insurance services subsidiary, Tower Risk Management, acts as a managing general agency, adjusts claims and negotiates reinsurance terms on behalf of other insurance companies.

     Cautionary Note Regarding Forward-Looking Statements

     The Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 provides a "safe harbor" for forward-looking statements. This release or any other written or oral statements made by or on behalf of the Company may include forward-looking statements that reflect the Company's current views with respect to future events and financial performance. All statements other than statements of historical fact included in this release are forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements can generally be identified by the use of forward-looking terminology such as "may," "will," "plan," "expect," "intend," "estimate," "anticipate," "believe" or "continue" or their negative or variations or similar terminology. All forward-looking statements address matters that involve risks and uncertainties. Accordingly, there are or will be important factors that could cause our actual results to differ materially from those indicated in these statements. We believe that these factors include but are not limited to ineffectiveness or obsolescence of our business strategy due to changes in current or future market conditions; increased competition on the basis of pricing, capacity, coverage terms or other factors; greater frequency or severity of claims and loss activity, including as a result of natural or man-made catastrophic events, than our underwriting, reserving or investment practices anticipate based on historical experience or industry data; the effects of acts of terrorism or war; developments in the world's financial and capital markets that adversely affect the performance of our investments; changes in regulations or laws applicable to us, our subsidiaries, brokers or customers; changes in the level of demand for our insurance and reinsurance products and services, including new products and services; changes in the availability, cost or quality of reinsurance and failure of our reinsurers to pay claims timely or at all; loss of the services of any of our executive officers or other key personnel; the effects of mergers, acquisitions and divestitures; changes in rating agency policies or practices; changes in legal theories of liability under our insurance policies; changes in accounting policies or practices; and changes in general economic conditions, including inflation and other factors. Forward-looking statements speak only as of the date on which they are made, and the Company undertakes no obligation to update publicly or revise any forward-looking statement, whether as a result of new information, future developments or otherwise.

     For more information visit Tower's website at http://www.twrgrp.com/.


     CONTACT: Tower Group, Inc.
              Thomas Song, 212-655-4789
              tsong@twrgrp.com
              or
              Investor Relations:
              Makovsky + Company
              Gene Marbach, 212-508-9600
              gmarbach@makovsky.com