Exhibit 99.1
Pharmacokinetics of Oral
Lisdexamfetamine Dimesylate (LDX; NRP
104) Versus d-Amphetamine Sulfate in
 Healthy Adults With a History of
Stimulant Abuse
(NRP104.A01)
Donald Jasinski
The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD
Suma Krishnan
New River Pharmaceuticals, Blacksburg, VA

n
d-amphetamine covalently bonded to l-lysine
n
Pharmacologically inactive until cleaved via rate-limiting hydrolysis
n
Resistant to manipulation and difficult to extract d-amphetamine
LDX
(lisdexamfetamine dimesylate)

n
To determine safety and tolerability of single oral dose of lisdexamfetamine dimesylate (LDX) in 12 healthy adults with histories of stimulant abuse
n
To compare PK profile of LDX with d- amphetamine and placebo
n
To determine safe and tolerable dosing for further study
Protocol Objectives

n
Partially randomized, single-blind, dose-escalation study; Subjects on inpatient unit at least 14 days
n
Subjects met DSM-IV criteria for stimulant abuse;
n
Screening for medical and psychiatric histories; naloxone challenge included
Design and Methodology

Placebo
LDX 30 mg, 50 mg, 70 mg, 100 mg
d-amphetamine sulfate 40 mg
Cohort 1
N = 4
Placebo
LDX 50 mg, 70 mg, 100 mg, 130 mg
d-amphetamine sulfate 40 mg
Cohort 2
N = 4
Placebo
LDX 70 mg, 100 mg, 130 mg, 150 mg
d-amphetamine sulfate 40 mg
Cohort 3
N = 4
Design and Methodology
n
Minimum dosing interval: 48 h
n
d-amphetamine and placebo interspersed in random order
n
Fasting: 10 h overnight before dosing; ≥4 h after dosing
n
Each dosing day: vital sign measures assessed and blood drawn before dosing; 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, 12, 16, 24 h after dosing

n
12 subjects were given at least 1 dose
n
11 subjects completed the study
n
1 subject was discontinued due to “reactive hypertension” after 2nd dose of d-amphetamine sulfate 40 mg
Patient Disposition

d-amphetamine sulfate 40 mg and
lisdexamfetamine dimesylate contain equal molar amounts of
d-amphetamine base

Cohort 1
Cohort 2
Cohort 1 and Cohort 2

Cohort 3

	LDX 100 mg		d-amphetamine sulfate 40 mg

Cohort	Tmax d-amp (hours)	Cmax d-amp (ng/mL)	Tmax d-amp (hours)	Cmax d-amp (ng/mL)
1	3.78	81.9	2.74	109.0
2	4.25	85.0	2.75	87.5
3	3.98	104.0	1.88	111.0
Pharmacokinetics by Cohort

Results
n
Dose appeared to attenuate between 130 to 150 mg of lisdexamfetamine
n
Doses to 150 mg lisdexamfetamine safe and tolerable for further study
n
Prolonged absorption phase as result of rate limiting hydrolysis

A Double-Blind, Randomized, Placebo
and Active-Controlled, Six-Period
Crossover Study to Evaluate the
Likeability, Safety, and Abuse Liability of
NRP 104 in Healthy Adult Volunteers
with Histories of Stimulant Abuse
(NRP104.A03)

Design and Methods
n
30 male and 6 female stimulant abusers
n
Six 6X6 balanced Latin squares for crossover design
n
Primary variable is maximum score on VAS scale to item “ How much do you like the drug effects you are feeling now?”

Drug and doses given orally
n
Placebo
n
40 mg d-amphetamine (Schedule II)
n
200 mg diethylpropion (Schedule IV)
n
Pro-drug
n
Subjective and behavioral effects comparable to d-amphetamine 40 mg
n
lisdexamfetamine
n
50 mg   (base = d-amp 20 mg)
n
100mg  (base = d-amp 40 mg)
n
150 mg  (base = d-amp 60 mg)

Dependent Variable: Do you like the drug effect you are feeling now?
Drug (I)	Drug (J)	Mean Difference (I – J)	Std. Error	Significance	95% Conf. Interval ( Lower Bound)
d-amphetamine 40mg	Placebo	4.53*	1.148	< 0.001	1.94
diethylpropion 200mg	Placebo	4.03*	1.148	0.001	1.44
LDX 100mg	Placebo	2.14	1.148	0.113	-0.45
Based on observed means
* - The mean difference is significant at the 0.05 level
Primary Endpoint:
Peak Liking Score

Dependent Variable:Do you like the drug effect you are feeling now?
Drug (I)	Drug (J)	Mean Difference (I – J)	Std. Error	Significance	95% Conf. Interval ( Lower Bound)
LDX 50mg	Placebo	1.97	1.148	0.148	-0.61
LDX 100mg	Placebo	2.14	1.148	0.113	-0.45
LDX 150mg	Placebo	6.06*	1.148	0.001	3.47
Based on observed means
* - The mean difference is significant at the 0.05 level
Primary Endpoint:
Peak Liking Score

n
d-amphetamine and diethylpropion
n
1.5 to 2 hours
n
NRP104
n
3 to 4 hours
Peak Liking Scores

Top Line Results
n
LDX attenuates onset and intensity of liking effects
n
Liking effects of LDX 50 and 100mg not significantly different than placebo
n
Liking effects of LDX 150 mg greater than placebo but similar to d-amphetamine and diethylpropion however mean peak effect delayed

Top Line Results
n
Rate limited hydrolysis of LDX in humans
n
Pro-drug attenuates onset and intensity of amphetamine like effects
n
Attenuated Liking Scale scores
n
Less reinforcing than equivalent d-amphetamine or diethylpropion
n
Contribute to lesser abuse potential