Prospect Energy Corporation Schedules First Fiscal Quarter Earnings Release and Conference Call

NEW YORK, NY -- 11/09/2006 -- Prospect Energy Corporation (NASDAQ: PSEC) (the "Company") announced today that it will report its first fiscal quarter results for the period ended September 30, 2006, on Friday, November 10, 2006, before the opening of the financial markets.

The Company will host a conference call on Monday, November 13, 2006, at 11:00 am Eastern Time. The conference call dial-in number will be (877) 407-9205. A recording of the conference call will be available for approximately 7 days. To hear a replay, call (877) 660-6853 and use Account # 286 and ID code 220023.

About Prospect Energy Corporation

Prospect Energy Corporation (www.prospectenergy.com) is a closed-end investment company that lends to and invests in energy-related businesses. Prospect Energy's investment objective is to generate both current income and capital appreciation through debt and equity investments.

Prospect Energy has elected to be treated as a business development company under the Investment Company Act of 1940 ("1940 Act"). We are required to comply with a series of regulatory requirements under the 1940 Act as well as applicable NASDAQ, federal and state laws and regulations. We have elected to be treated as a regulated investment company under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. Failure to comply with any of the laws and regulations that apply to Prospect Energy could have a material adverse effect on Prospect Energy and its shareholders.

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Any such statements, other than statements of historical fact, are likely to be affected by other unknowable future events and conditions, including elements of the future that are or are not under the Company's control, and that the Company may or may not have considered; accordingly, such statements cannot be guarantees of any aspect of future performance. Actual developments and results are highly likely to vary materially from these estimates and projections of the future. Such statements speak only as of the time when made, and the Company undertakes no obligation to update any such statement now or in the future.

Contact:

Please send investment proposals to:

Prospect Energy Corporation
Grier Eliasek
grier@prospectstreet.com
(212) 448-0702