Exhibit 99.2

Ninetowns Announces Board Change

BEIJING, April 19 /Xinhua-PRNewswire/ – Ninetowns Digital World Trade Holdings Limited (Nasdaq: NINE - News; the "Company") announced today that Mr. Kenneth Sze Ho Siu resigned as a director due to personal reasons. The 60 year old Mr. Siu also served as financial controller. Nine directors remain on the Company's board of directors, of which four directors are independent.

Mr. Shuang Wang, Chief Executive Officer, said, "We appreciate Kenneth's contribution to the Company and are respectful of his decision at this time."

About Ninetowns Digital World Trade Holdings Limited

Ninetowns is a PRC software company that enables enterprises and trade-related PRC government agencies to streamline the import/export process in China. Through its scalable enterprise software products, Ninetowns' clients have the ability to automate import/export processing over the Internet, which is a more cost-effective and efficient alternative to the traditional paper-based method.

Forward-Looking Statements:

Certain statements in this press release include forward-looking statements within the meaning of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Forward-looking statements generally can be identified by the use of forward-looking terminology, such as "may," "will," "expect," "intend," "estimate," "anticipate," "believe," "project" or "continue" or the negative thereof or other similar words. All forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties, including, but not limited to, customer acceptance and market share gains, competition from companies that have greater financial resources; introduction of new products into the marketplace by competitors; successful product development; dependence on significant customers; the ability to recruit and retain quality employees as the Company grows; and economic and political conditions globally. Actual results may differ materially from those discussed in, or implied by, the forward-looking statements. The forward-looking statements speak only as of the date of this release and the Company assumes no duty to update them to reflect new, changing or unanticipated events or circumstances.

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Zheng, Investor Relations,
Ninetowns Digital World Trade Holdings Limited
Tel: +86-10-6588-2256
Email: ir@ninetowns.com

David Pasquale, EVP The Ruth Group
Tel: +1-646-536-7006
Email: dpasquale@theruthgroup.com

Web: http://www.ninetowns.com/english