Financial Highlights S-1 Consolidated Balance Sheets S-2 Consolidated Statements of Comprehensive Income S-3 Consolidated Statements of Funds from Operations S-4 Owned Properties Results of Operations S-5 Same Store Owned Properties Operating Expenses S-6 Seasonality of Operations S-7 Portfolio Overview S-8 Owned Development Update S-9 Third-Party Development Update S-10 Management Services Update S-11 Capital Structure S-12 Interest Coverage S-13 Capital Allocation – Long Term Funding Plan (2021-2023) S-14 2021 Outlook - Summary S-15 2021 Outlook - Changes from Previous Guidance S-16 Detail of Property Groupings S-17 Definitions S-18 Investor Information S-20 Table of Contents Q3 Supplemental Package October 25, 2021 Exhibit 99.2

Financial Highlights ($ in thousands, except share and per share data) S-1 Operating Data Three Months Ended September 30, Nine Months Ended September 30, 2021 2020 $ Change % Change 2021 2020 $ Change % Change Total revenues $ 228,877 $ 202,675 $ 26,202 12.9% $ 670,120 $ 637,626 $ 32,494 5.1% Operating income 17,335 8,235 9,100 110.5% 83,173 136,233 (53,060) (38.9%) Net (loss) income attributable to ACC (11,439) (19,515) 8,076 (41.4%) (5,223) 47,996 (53,219) (110.9%) Net (loss) income per share - basic (0.09) (0.15) (0.05) 0.34 Net (loss) income per share - diluted (0.09) (0.15) (0.05) 0.33 Funds From Operations ("FFO") 1 55,380 45,000 10,380 23.1% 193,255 191,188 2,067 1.1% FFO per share - diluted 1 0.39 0.32 0.07 21.9% 1.38 1.37 0.01 0.7% Funds From Operations - Modified ("FFOM") 1 56,914 45,248 11,666 25.8% 195,148 193,722 1,426 0.7% FFOM per share - diluted 1 0.40 0.32 0.08 25.0% 1.39 1.39 — —% Market Capitalization and Unsecured Notes Covenants 2 September 30, 2021 December 31, 2020 Debt to total market capitalization 35.4% 37.8% Net debt to EBITDA 3 8.3x 8.3x Unencumbered asset value to total asset value 88.3% 86.5% Total debt to total asset value 41.7% 41.2% Secured debt to total asset value 6.3% 7.4% Unencumbered asset value to unsecured debt 249.3% 255.3% Interest coverage 3 3.5x 3.5x 1. Refer to page S-4 for a reconciliation to net income, the most directly comparable GAAP measure. 2. Refer to the definitions outlined on pages S-18 and S-19 for detailed definitions of terms appearing on this page. 3. Refer to calculations on page S-13, including a reconciliation to net income and interest expense, the most directly comparable GAAP measures.

Consolidated Balance Sheets ($ in thousands) S-2 September 30, 2021 December 31, 2020 (unaudited) Assets Investments in real estate Owned properties, net $ 6,709,528 $ 6,721,744 On-campus participating properties, net 65,813 69,281 Investments in real estate, net 6,775,341 6,791,025 Cash and cash equivalents 42,073 54,017 Restricted cash 20,163 19,955 Student contracts receivable, net 22,188 11,090 Operating lease right of use assets 1 456,871 457,573 Other assets 1 232,083 197,500 Total assets $ 7,548,719 $ 7,531,160 Liabilities and equity Liabilities Secured mortgage and bond debt, net $ 562,343 $ 646,827 Unsecured notes, net 2,378,380 2,375,603 Unsecured term loan, net 199,736 199,473 Unsecured revolving credit facility 577,000 371,100 Accounts payable and accrued expenses 98,380 85,070 Operating lease liabilities 2 494,397 486,631 Other liabilities 2 191,251 185,352 Total liabilities 4,501,487 4,350,056 Redeemable noncontrolling interests 27,405 24,567 Equity: American Campus Communities, Inc. and Subsidiaries stockholders' equity: Common stock 1,390 1,375 Additional paid in capital 4,538,210 4,472,170 Common stock held in rabbi trust (4,711) (3,951) Accumulated earnings and dividends (1,534,660) (1,332,689) Accumulated other comprehensive loss (17,236) (22,777) Total American Campus Communities, Inc. and 2,982,993 3,114,128 Subsidiaries stockholders' equity Noncontrolling interests - partially owned properties 36,834 42,409 Total equity 3,019,827 3,156,537 Total liabilities and equity $ 7,548,719 $ 7,531,160 1. For purposes of calculating net asset value ("NAV") at September 30, 2021, the company excludes other assets of approximately $8.4 million related to net deferred financing costs on its revolving credit facility and the net value of in-place leases, as well as operating lease right of use assets disclosed above. 2. For purposes of calculating NAV at September 30, 2021, the company excludes other liabilities of approximately $72.1 million related to deferred revenue and fee income, as well as operating lease liabilities disclosed above.

Consolidated Statements of Comprehensive Income (Unaudited, $ in thousands, except share and per share data) S-3 Three Months Ended September 30, Nine Months Ended September 30, 2021 2020 $ Change 2021 2020 $ Change Revenues Owned properties $ 219,413 $ 192,332 $ 27,081 $ 637,480 $ 602,631 $ 34,849 On-campus participating properties 6,067 5,386 681 20,246 20,196 50 Third-party development services 938 2,186 (1,248) 3,763 5,531 (1,768) Third-party management services 2,459 2,771 (312) 8,631 9,268 (637) Total revenues 228,877 202,675 26,202 670,120 637,626 32,494 Operating expenses (income) Owned properties 117,176 106,518 10,658 306,870 284,741 22,129 On-campus participating properties 4,120 3,783 337 10,689 10,357 332 Third-party development and management services 4,990 5,061 (71) 15,377 16,245 (868) General and administrative 1 10,309 8,638 1,671 35,563 28,563 7,000 Depreciation and amortization 69,445 67,369 2,076 206,303 199,979 6,324 Ground/facility leases 5,502 3,071 2,431 12,145 10,033 2,112 Gain from disposition of real estate — — — — (48,525) 48,525 Total operating expenses 211,542 194,440 17,102 586,947 501,393 85,554 Operating income 17,335 8,235 9,100 83,173 136,233 (53,060) Nonoperating income (expenses) Interest income 387 855 (468) 959 2,576 (1,617) Interest expense (29,271) (29,056) (215) (87,488) (84,007) (3,481) Amortization of deferred financing costs (1,470) (1,349) (121) (4,207) (3,891) (316) Loss from extinguishment of debt 2 — — — — (4,827) 4,827 Other nonoperating income — 264 (264) 157 264 (107) Total nonoperating expenses (30,354) (29,286) (1,068) (90,579) (89,885) (694) (Loss) income before income taxes (13,019) (21,051) 8,032 (7,406) 46,348 (53,754) Income tax provision (340) (373) 33 (1,021) (1,133) 112 Net (loss) income (13,359) (21,424) 8,065 (8,427) 45,215 (53,642) Net loss attributable to noncontrolling interests 1,920 1,909 11 3,204 2,781 423 Net (loss) income attributable to ACC, Inc. and $ (11,439) $ (19,515) $ 8,076 $ (5,223) $ 47,996 $ (53,219) Subsidiaries common stockholders Other comprehensive income (loss) Change in fair value of interest rate swaps and other 1,672 1,851 (179) 5,541 (7,668) 13,209 Comprehensive (loss) income $ (9,767) $ (17,664) $ 7,897 $ 318 $ 40,328 $ (40,010) Net (loss) income per share attributable to ACC, Inc. and Subsidiaries common stockholders Basic $ (0.09) $ (0.15) $ (0.05) $ 0.34 Diluted $ (0.09) $ (0.15) $ (0.05) $ 0.33 Weighted-average common shares outstanding Basic 139,068,939 137,632,091 138,283,616 137,574,485 Diluted 139,068,939 137,632,091 138,283,616 138,678,713 1. The three and nine months ended September 30, 2021 amounts include $0.8 million and $2.6 million respectively in accelerated amortization of unvested restricted stock awards due to the retirement of the company's President in August 2021. The nine months ended September 30, 2021 amount also includes $2.0 million related to the settlement of a litigation matter and $0.9 million in consulting, legal, and other related costs incurred in relation to stockholder engagement activities in preparation for the company's 2021 annual stockholders' meeting. The nine months ended September 30, 2020 amount includes $1.1 million related to the settlement of a litigation matter. 2. The nine months ended September 30, 2020 amount represents the loss associated with the January 2020 redemption of the company's $400 million 3.35% Senior Notes originally scheduled to mature in October 2020.

Consolidated Statements of Funds from Operations ("FFO") (Unaudited, $ in thousands, except share and per share data) S-4 1. Represents depreciation on corporate assets not added back for purposes of calculating FFO. 2. 50% of the properties’ net cash available for distribution after payment of operating expenses, debt service (including repayment of principal), and capital expenditures which is included in ground/ facility leases expense in the accompanying consolidated statements of comprehensive income. 3. The nine months ended September 30, 2020 amount represents the loss associated with the January 2020 redemption of the company's $400 million 3.35% Senior Notes originally scheduled to mature in October 2020. 4. Represents accelerated amortization of unvested restricted stock awards due to the retirement of the company's President in August 2021. 5. Represents expenses associated with settlements of litigation matters that are included in general and administrative expenses in the accompanying consolidated statements of comprehensive income. 6. Represents consulting, legal, and other related costs incurred in relation to stockholder engagement activities in preparation for the company’s 2021 annual stockholders' meeting. Three Months Ended September 30, Nine Months Ended September 30, 2021 2020 $ Change 2021 2020 $ Change Net (loss) income attributable to ACC, Inc. and Subsidiaries common stockholders $ (11,439) $ (19,515) $ 8,076 $ (5,223) $ 47,996 $ (53,219) Noncontrolling interests' share of net loss (1,920) (1,909) (11) (3,204) (2,781) (423) Joint Venture ("JV") partners' share of FFO JV partners' share of net loss 1,896 1,857 39 3,230 2,987 243 JV partners' share of depreciation and amortization (1,903) (1,944) 41 (5,697) (5,836) 139 (7) (87) 80 (2,467) (2,849) 382 Gain from disposition of real estate — — — — (48,525) 48,525 Total depreciation and amortization 69,445 67,369 2,076 206,303 199,979 6,324 Corporate depreciation 1 (699) (858) 159 (2,154) (2,632) 478 FFO attributable to common stockholders and OP unitholders 55,380 45,000 10,380 193,255 191,188 2,067 Elimination of operations of on-campus participating properties ("OCPPs") Net loss (income) from OCPPs 1,458 1,294 164 (361) (206) (155) Amortization of investment in OCPPs (1,969) (1,883) (86) (6,050) (5,965) (85) 54,869 44,411 10,458 186,844 185,017 1,827 Modifications to reflect operational performance of OCPPs Our share of net cashflow 2 961 518 443 1,634 1,632 2 Management fees and other 333 319 14 1,135 1,146 (11) Contribution from OCPPs 1,294 837 457 2,769 2,778 (9) Elimination of loss from extinguishment of debt 3 — — — — 4,827 (4,827) Executive retirement charges 4 751 — 751 2,588 — 2,588 Elimination of litigation settlement expense 5 — — — 2,033 1,100 933 Stockholder engagement and other proxy advisory costs 6 — — — 914 — 914 Funds from operations-modified ("FFOM") attributable to $ 56,914 $ 45,248 $ 11,666 $ 195,148 $ 193,722 $ 1,426 common stockholders and OP unitholders FFO per share - diluted $ 0.39 $ 0.32 $ 1.38 $ 1.37 FFOM per share - diluted $ 0.40 $ 0.32 $ 1.39 $ 1.39 Weighted-average common shares outstanding - diluted 140,747,950 139,235,064 140,015,436 139,182,430

Owned Properties Results of Operations 1 ($ in thousands) S-5 Three Months Ended September 30, Nine Months Ended September 30, 2021 2020 $ Change % Change 2021 2020 $ Change % Change Owned properties revenues Same store properties $ 207,371 $ 191,149 $ 16,222 8.5% $ 618,211 $ 598,461 $ 19,750 3.3% New properties 12,042 1,183 10,859 19,269 1,469 17,800 Sold properties and other 2 — — — — 2,701 (2,701) Total revenues $ 219,413 $ 192,332 $ 27,081 14.1% $ 637,480 $ 602,631 $ 34,849 5.8% Owned properties operating expenses Same store properties 3 $ 111,618 $ 104,487 $ 7,131 6.8% $ 295,591 $ 280,442 $ 15,149 5.4% New properties 5,493 1,849 3,644 11,072 2,999 8,073 Sold properties and other 2 65 182 (117) 207 1,300 (1,093) Total operating expenses $ 117,176 $ 106,518 $ 10,658 10.0% $ 306,870 $ 284,741 $ 22,129 7.8% Owned properties net operating income (loss) Same store properties $ 95,753 $ 86,662 $ 9,091 10.5% $ 322,620 $ 318,019 $ 4,601 1.4% New properties 6,549 (666) 7,215 8,197 (1,530) 9,727 Sold properties and other 2 (65) (182) 117 (207) 1,401 (1,608) Total net operating income $ 102,237 $ 85,814 $ 16,423 19.1% $ 330,610 $ 317,890 $ 12,720 4.0% 1. Refer to page S-17 for detail of our store groupings. 2. Includes one property sold in 2020, as well as professional fees related to the operation of consolidated joint ventures that are included in owned properties operating expenses in the accompanying consolidated statements of comprehensive income (refer to page S-3). Does not include the allocation of payroll and other administrative costs related to corporate management and oversight. 3. Refer to page S-6 for detail of same store operating expenses.

Same Store Owned Properties Operating Expenses 1 2 ($ in thousands, except per bed amounts) S-6 Three Months Ended September 30, 2021 2020 Total Per Bed $ Change From Prior Year % Change From Prior Year % of Total Operating Expenses Total Per Bed % of Total Operating Expenses Property taxes $ 22,570 $ 238 $ 222 1.0% 21% $ 22,348 $ 236 22% Payroll 21,595 226 384 1.8% 20% 21,211 222 20% General & administrative and other 20,389 214 1,669 8.9% 18% 18,720 196 18% Utilities 18,403 193 565 3.2% 16% 17,838 187 17% Repairs and maintenance 21,292 223 3,059 16.8% 19% 18,233 191 17% Marketing 3,707 39 631 20.5% 3% 3,076 32 3% Insurance 3,662 38 601 19.6% 3% 3,061 32 3% Total same store owned operating expenses $ 111,618 $ 1,171 $ 7,131 6.8% 100% $ 104,487 $ 1,096 100% Same store owned beds 95,351 Nine Months Ended September 30, 2021 2020 Total Per Bed $ Change From Prior Year % Change From Prior Year % of Total Operating Expenses Total Per Bed % of Total Operating Expenses Property taxes $ 68,472 $ 718 $ 1,054 1.6% 24% $ 67,418 $ 706 24% Payroll 58,116 609 1,979 3.5% 20% 56,137 589 20% General & administrative and other 57,199 600 1,638 3.0% 19% 55,561 583 20% Utilities 54,324 570 1,538 2.9% 18% 52,786 554 19% Repairs and maintenance 36,744 385 6,190 20.3% 12% 30,554 320 11% Marketing 10,549 111 1,098 11.6% 4% 9,451 99 3% Insurance 10,187 107 1,652 19.4% 3% 8,535 90 3% Total same store owned operating expenses $ 295,591 $ 3,100 $ 15,149 5.4% 100% $ 280,442 $ 2,941 100% Same store owned beds 95,351 1. Refer to the definition of operating expenses on page S-19 for a detailed description of items included in the various expense categories. 2. Refer to page S-17 for detail of our same store groupings.

Seasonality of Operations 1 ($ in thousands, except per bed amounts) S-7 Three Months Ended Total/Weighted Average- September 30, 2020 December 31, 2020 March 31, 2021 June 30, 2021 September 30, 2021 Last 12 Months 2021 Same Store Properties Average number of owned beds 95,351 95,351 95,351 95,351 95,351 95,351 Average physical occupancy for the quarter 84.6% 90.5% 90.3% 83.9% 86.4% 87.8% Rental revenue per occupied bed per month 2 $ 745 $ 786 $ 786 $ 768 $ 775 $ 779 Rental revenue $ 180,243 $ 203,449 $ 203,038 $ 184,244 $ 191,476 $ 782,207 Other income 3 10,906 11,272 12,094 11,464 15,895 50,725 Total revenue $ 191,149 $ 214,721 $ 215,132 $ 195,708 $ 207,371 $ 832,932 Property operating expenses 104,487 91,290 91,516 92,457 111,618 386,881 Net operating income $ 86,662 $ 123,431 $ 123,616 $ 103,251 $ 95,753 $ 446,051 Operating margin 45.3% 57.5% 57.5% 52.8% 46.2% 53.6% 2021 New Properties Average number of owned beds 1,863 2,483 3,467 4,481 6,140 4,143 Average physical occupancy for the quarter 13.6% 14.6% 14.6% 16.0% 70.4% 35.7% Rental revenue per occupied bed per month 2 $ 1,388 $ 1,198 $ 1,339 $ 1,175 $ 859 $ 959 Rental revenue $ 1,055 $ 1,303 $ 2,033 $ 2,527 $ 11,133 $ 16,996 Other income 3 128 2,044 1,279 1,388 909 5,620 Total revenue $ 1,183 $ 3,347 $ 3,312 $ 3,915 $ 12,042 $ 22,616 Property operating expenses 1,849 2,342 2,404 3,175 5,493 13,414 Net operating (loss) income $ (666) $ 1,005 $ 908 $ 740 $ 6,549 $ 9,202 Operating margin (56.3%) 30.0% 27.4% 18.9% 54.4% 40.7% ALL PROPERTIES Average number of owned beds 97,214 97,834 98,818 99,832 101,491 99,494 Average physical occupancy for the quarter 83.2% 88.6% 87.6% 80.9% 85.4% 85.6% Rental revenue per occupied bed per month 2 $ 747 $ 787 $ 790 $ 771 $ 779 $ 782 Rental revenue $ 181,298 $ 204,752 $ 205,071 $ 186,771 $ 202,609 $ 799,203 Other income 3 11,034 13,316 13,373 12,852 16,804 56,345 Total revenue $ 192,332 $ 218,068 $ 218,444 $ 199,623 $ 219,413 $ 855,548 Property operating expenses 106,336 93,632 93,920 95,632 117,111 400,295 Net operating income $ 85,996 $ 124,436 $ 124,524 $ 103,991 $ 102,302 $ 455,253 Operating margin 44.7% 57.1% 57.0% 52.1% 46.6% 53.2% Sold properties and other 4 Total revenue $ — $ — $ — $ — $ — $ — Property operating expenses 182 81 71 71 65 288 Net operating loss $ (182) $ (81) $ (71) $ (71) $ (65) $ (288) 1. Refer to page S-17 for detail of our store groupings. 2. Rental revenue per occupied bed per month is calculated based upon our net student rental revenue earned during the respective quarter divided by average monthly occupied beds over the periods presented. 3. Other income is all income other than net student rent. This includes, but is not limited to, utility income, damages, parking income, summer conference rent, application and administration fees, income from retail tenants, and the provision for uncollectible accounts. 4. Includes costs related to the operation of consolidated joint ventures as noted on page S-5.

Portfolio Overview 1 2 S-8 Leases as % of Rental Revenue per Design Beds Fall 2021 Leased Bed for Property Type Design September 30, Final Rental Academic Year 3 Beds 2021 2020 Rate Change 2021 / 2022 2020 / 2021 2021 Same Store Owned Properties 95,351 95.8% 90.3% 3.3% $812 $786 2022 New Same Store Owned Properties 4 856 93.8% 40.8% 20.0% $1,467 $1,223 2022 Same Store Owned Properties 96,207 95.8% 89.9% 3.8% $818 $788 1. Represents leasing results for the 2021/2022 academic year as of September 30, 2021, as compared to prior academic year occupancy and rental rates as of September 30, 2020. 2. Refer to page S-17 for detail of our store groupings. 3. Represents average rental revenue per leased bed for the academic years presented. For the 2020/2021 academic year, rental revenue per leased bed includes the effects of on-campus rent refunds and rent relief under the company’s Resident Hardship Program. 4. Does not include completed phases of the Disney College Program project. All phases of the Disney College Program project will be included in our same store results as one property beginning in 2025 once all ten phases have been completed and operating for two full calendar years. Academic Year 2021/2022 Seasonality Note As noted on recent earnings calls, the company experienced significantly elevated levels of spring and summer-term leasing during the first half of 2021, as compared to pre-pandemic levels. Given the 2021/2022 academic year lease-up resulted in occupancy approaching pre-pandemic levels, the company anticipates spring and summer-term leasing will return to pre-pandemic levels in 2022. As a result, primarily due to the positive effects the elevated spring and summer leasing had on same store revenue growth during the first and second quarter 2021 comparable periods, the company anticipates that same store revenue growth will moderate from approximately 8.0% in the fourth quarter of 2021 to a range of 6.75-7.75% and 5.0-6.0% for the first and second quarters of 2022, respectively.

Owned Development Update ($ in thousands) S-9 1. In certain instances at ACE properties, the company agrees to construct spaces within the property that will ultimately be owned, managed, and funded by the universities or ground lessors. Such spaces include but are not limited to dining, childcare, retail, academic, and office facilities. Total and Estimated Project Cost excludes the costs of the construction of such facilities, as they will be reimbursed by the ground lessors. 2. Includes an additional $20.4 million in project costs due to the early delivery of 288 beds which were previously scheduled for delivery in January 2022 as a part of Phase VI. 3. Does not include land parcels in twelve markets totaling $89.9 million. 4. Includes $262.2 million in construction in progress ("CIP") and excludes $7.9 million of CIP balances related to ongoing renovation projects at operating properties. Total consolidated CIP as of September 30, 2021 was $270.1 million. 5. Phase VI, with estimated project costs of $40.9 million and 579 beds, is scheduled for occupancy in January 2022. Phase VII, with estimated project costs of $90.3 million and 1,632 beds is scheduled for occupancy in May 2022. Phase VIII, with estimated project costs of $41.4 million and 736 beds, is scheduled for occupancy in August 2022. 6. Phase IX, with estimated project costs of $81.5 million and 1,473 beds, is scheduled for occupancy in January 2023. Phase X, with estimated project costs of $41.2 million and 736 beds, is scheduled for occupancy in May 2023. RECENTLY COMPLETED PROJECTS University / Market Served Project Location Project Type Beds Total Project Cost 1 Construction Completed Walt Disney World® Resort Disney College Program Phase III Orlando, FL ACE 984 $ 54,400 January 2021 Disney College Program Phase IV Orlando, FL ACE 1,521 84,500 May 2021 Disney College Program Phase V 2 Orlando, FL ACE 1,152 71,900 July 2021 3,657 $ 210,800 OWNED DEVELOPMENT PROJECTS UNDER CONSTRUCTION 3 University / Market Served Project Location Project Type Beds Estimated Project Cost 1 Total Costs Incurred as of September 30, 2021 4 Scheduled Completion Walt Disney World® Resort Disney College Program Phases VI-VIII 5 Orlando, FL ACE 2,947 $ 172,600 $ 155,057 Jan, May & Aug 2022 Disney College Program Phases IX-X 6 Orlando, FL ACE 2,209 122,700 91,371 Jan & May 2023 5,156 $ 295,300 $ 246,428

Third-Party Development Update ($ in thousands) S-10 Three Months Ended September 30, Nine Months Ended September 30, 2021 2020 $ Change 2021 2020 $ Change Development services revenue1 $ 938 $ 2,186 $ (1,248) $ 3,763 $ 5,531 $ (1,768) 1. The nine months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020 amounts include $0.4 million of construction savings revenue related to one project delivered in Fall 2020 and $0.7 million of construction savings revenue related to one project delivered in Fall 2019, respectively. 2. In October 2021, the company executed the development and construction agreements. The project is expected to commence construction during the fourth quarter 2021. 3. These awards relate to speculative development projects that are subject to final determination of feasibility, negotiation, final award, procurement rules and other applicable law, execution and closing of definitive agreements on terms acceptable to the company, and fluctuations in the construction and financing markets. Anticipated commencement and fees are dependent upon the availability of project financing, which is affected by current capital market conditions. Anticipated commencement and targeted completion dates for certain projects have been delayed due to disruption associated with COVID-19. 4. These projects include awards to develop multiple phases to be completed over several years. The scope, transaction structure, feasibility, fees, and timing will be determined on a phase by phase basis. RECENTLY COMPLETED PROJECTS University Served Project Location Beds Total Fees Construction Completed University of California, Riverside North District Phase I Riverside, CA 1,506 $ 6,700 August 2021 CONTRACTED PROJECTS IN PROGRESS University Served Project Location Beds Total Fees Fees Earned as of September 30, 2021 Fees Earned in Current Year Remaining Fees as of September 30, 2021 Scheduled Completion Georgetown University Capitol Campus Housing Washington, D.C. 476 $ 3,000 $ 2,201 $ 450 $ 799 August 2022 Concordia University Phase II Austin, TX 235 1,300 902 902 398 August 2022 Princeton University Lake Campus Graduate Housing 2 Princeton, NJ 604 6,000 — — 6,000 August 2023 1,315 $ 10,300 $ 3,103 $ 1,352 $ 7,197 ON-CAMPUS AWARD PIPELINE 3 University Served Project Location Anticipated Financing Structure Anticipated Commencement Targeted Completion Estimated Fees Drexel University Kelly Hall Renovation Philadelphia, PA Third-party Q4 2021 Fall 2023 $1,800 University of California, Irvine Phase V Irvine, CA Third-party 2021 / 2022 Summer 2023 / 2024 $5,700 Massachusetts Institute of Technology Family & Graduate Housing Cambridge, MA ACE / Third-party Q1 2022 Fall 2024 TBD University of California, Berkeley Upper Hearst Development for the Goldman School of Public Policy Berkeley, CA Third-party 2022 Summer 2024 $3,000 Albany Village Graduate Housing Berkeley, CA ACE 2022 Fall 2024 N/A Master Development - future phases 4 Berkeley, CA TBD TBD TBD TBD University of Texas Graduate Housing Austin, TX Third-party 2022 / 2023 Fall 2024 / 2025 TBD Emory University Graduate Housing Atlanta, GA Third-party 2022 / 2023 Fall 2024 / 2025 TBD Northeastern University Phase II Boston, MA ACE Q1 / Q2 2023 Fall 2025 N/A University of California, Riverside Master Development - future phases 4 Riverside, CA TBD TBD TBD TBD Virginia Commonwealth University Honors College Housing Richmond, VA TBD TBD TBD TBD West Virginia University Master Development 4 Morgantown, WV TBD TBD TBD TBD

Management Services Update ($ in thousands) S-11 Three Months Ended September 30, Nine Months Ended September 30, 2021 2020 $ Change 2021 2020 $ Change Management services revenue $ 2,459 $ 2,771 $ (312) $ 8,631 $ 9,268 $ (637) NEW / PENDING MANAGEMENT CONTRACTS University Served Project Location Approximate Beds Stabilized Annual Fees 1 Actual or Anticipated Commencement University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Granville Towers Chapel Hill, NC 1,315 $ 490 February 2021 University of California, Riverside North District Phase I Riverside, CA 1,506 540 September 2021 University of California, Irvine Phase V Irvine, CA 1,077 440 September 2023 3,898 $ 1,470 DISCONTINUED MANAGEMENT CONTRACTS University Served Project Location Beds 2021 Fee Contribution Prior to Termination Discontinued As Of University of California, Berkeley Garden Village Berkeley, CA 236 $ 50 April 2021 Clark Atlanta University CAU Suites Atlanta, GA 598 60 July 2021 Clark Atlanta University Heritage Commons Atlanta, GA 455 60 July 2021 Cleveland State University Euclid Commons Cleveland, OH 601 130 July 2021 Cleveland State University Fenn Tower Cleveland, OH 438 40 July 2021 Texas A&M University The Cambridge @ College Station College Station, TX 552 30 October 2021 Columbus State University Independence Place Columbus, GA 555 150 December 2021 3,435 $ 520 1. Stabilized annual fees are dependent upon the achievement of anticipated occupancy levels.

1. Refer to the definitions outlined on pages S-18 and S-19 for detailed definitions of terms appearing on this page. 2. Excludes net unamortized debt premiums related to mortgage loans assumed in connection with acquisitions of $0.6 million, unamortized original issue discount on unsecured notes of $5.2 million, and unamortized deferred financing costs of $17.8 million. 3. Based on share price of $48.45 and fully diluted share count of 140,783,970 as of September 30, 2021. Assumes conversion of 503,717 common and preferred Operating Partnership units and 1,123,582 unvested restricted stock awards. 4. Refer to calculations on page S-13, including a reconciliation to net income and interest expense, the most directly comparable GAAP measures. 5. Excludes accumulated depreciation of $2.0 billion, receivables and intangible assets, net of accumulated amortization, of $89.7 million, and lease-related right of use assets of $456.9 million. 6. Includes $330.0 million of mortgage debt related to the ACC / Allianz joint venture of which the company has a 55% interest. 7. Including the amortization of net debt premiums related to mortgage loans assumed in connection with property acquisitions, the effective interest rate for fixed rate mortgage loans is 4.1%. 8. In October 2021, the company issued $400.0 million of 7-year unsecured notes at a yield of 2.261% that mature in 2029. Proceeds from the issuance were used to pay down the balance on the Unsecured Revolving Credit Facility. 9. The company's variable rate debt consists of the unsecured revolving credit facility and $1.2 million of mortgage debt at one of our on-campus participating properties. Capital Structure as of September 30, 2021 1 ($ in millions, except per share data) S-12 Market Capitalization & Unsecured Notes Covenants Debt Maturity Schedule Total Debt 2 $ 3,740 Total Equity Market Value 3 6,821 Total Market Capitalization 10,561 Debt to Total Market Capitalization 35.4% Net Debt to EBITDA 4 8.3x Total Asset Value 5 $ 8,967 Unencumbered Asset Value 7,922 Unencumbered Asset Value to Total Asset Value 88.3% Requirement Current Ratio Total Debt to Total Asset Value ≤ 60% 41.7% Secured Debt to Total Asset Value ≤ 40% 6.3% Unencumbered Asset Value to Unsecured Debt > 150% 249.3% Interest Coverage 4 > 1.5x 3.5x Principal Outstanding ² Weighted Average Interest Rate Average Term To Maturity Mortgage Loans 6 $ 487 4.1% 7 5.3 Yrs Unsecured Revolving Credit Facility 8 577 1.1% 3.6 Yrs Unsecured Term Loan 200 2.5% 0.7 Yrs Unsecured Notes 8 2,400 3.7% 5.5 Yrs On-Campus Participating Properties 76 4.2% 14.6 Yrs Total/Weighted Average $ 3,740 3.3% 5.1 Yrs Variable Rate Debt as % of Total Debt 9 15.5% Weighted Average Interest Rate Of Debt Maturing Each Year Fixed Rate Debt N/A 2.9% 3.8% 4.2% N/A 3.7% 3.6% 4.1% N/A 3.4% Total Debt N/A 2.7% 3.8% 4.2% 1.2% 3.7% 3.6% 4.0% N/A 3.4%

Interest Coverage 1 ($ in thousands) S-13 Three Months Ended December 31, March 31, June 30, September 30, Last Twelve 2020 2021 2021 2021 Months Net income (loss) attributable to ACC, Inc. and Subsidiaries common stockholders $ 24,807 $ 15,618 $ (9,402) $ (11,439) $ 19,584 Net (loss) income attributable to noncontrolling interests (174) 367 (1,651) (1,920) (3,378) Interest expense 28,500 28,977 29,240 29,271 115,988 Income tax provision 216 340 341 340 1,237 Depreciation and amortization 67,724 68,117 68,741 69,445 274,027 Amortization of deferred financing costs 1,368 1,319 1,418 1,470 5,575 Share-based compensation 3,495 5,148 6,481 4,693 19,817 Earnings Before Interest, Taxes, Depreciation, and Amortization ("EBITDA") $ 125,936 $ 119,886 $ 95,168 $ 91,860 $ 432,850 Pro-forma adjustments to EBITDA 2 12,098 Adjusted EBITDA $ 444,948 Interest expense from consolidated statement of comprehensive income $ 28,500 $ 28,977 $ 29,240 $ 29,271 $ 115,988 Amortization of mortgage debt premiums/discounts 1,317 395 340 366 2,418 Capitalized interest 2,654 2,532 2,367 1,849 9,402 Change in accrued interest payable (6,761) 9,248 (7,062) 7,346 2,771 Cash Interest Expense $ 25,710 $ 41,152 $ 24,885 $ 38,832 $ 130,579 Pro-forma adjustments to Cash Interest Expense 2 (3,499) Adjusted Interest Expense $ 127,080 Interest Coverage 3.5x 1. Refer to pages S-18 and S-19 for detailed definitions of terms appearing on this page. 2. Adjustment to reflect all acquisitions, development deliveries, dispositions, debt repayments, and debt refinancings as if such transactions had occurred on the first day of the 12 month period presented.

Capital Allocation – Long Term Funding Plan (2021-2023) ($ in millions) S-14 Sources and Uses for Development - As of September 30, 2021 Estimated Project Total Costs Remaining Estimated Capital Uses1: Cost Incurred Capital Needs Disney Internships & College Program Housing Phases VI-VIII (2022 deliveries) $ 173 $ 155 $ 18 Phases IX-X (2023 deliveries) 123 91 32 Total $ 296 $ 246 $ 50 Estimated Sources through 2023: Capital Sources Cash and Cash Equivalents as of September 30, 2021 $ 42 Estimated Cash Flow Available for Investment - through 2023 2 175 Anticipated Debt (Repayment) / Funding - through 2023 3 (295) to (495) Anticipated Capital Recycling and/or Equity Funding - through 2023 3 128 to 328 Total $ 50 Selected Credit Metrics 4 Credit Metric: September 30, 2021 Pro Forma 5 Total Debt to Total Asset Value 41.7% 36.2% - 38.9% Net Debt to EBITDA 6 8.3x 6.0x - 6.4x Note: This analysis demonstrates the anticipated funding mix for the developments currently committed, underway, or with expected starts in the current year. As future developments commence, they are expected to be funded via additional dispositions, joint ventures, free cash available for investment, and/or capital market transactions. Due to the negative impacts of COVID-19 on the available cash flow for investment in 2020 per footnote 2 below, the Estimated Cash Flow Available for Investment through 2023 assumes available cash flow in 2021 is consistent with levels experienced in 2020, followed by a gradual recovery to fully normalized levels by 2023. For purposes of calculating the pro forma Net Debt to EBITDA ratio, EBITDA has been normalized for the COVID-19 related impacts on revenue and operating expenses and assumes the original underwritten EBITDA for the development properties delivered in 2020 and beyond. 1. Includes owned development projects under construction and management’s Estimated Project Cost for future development deliveries that are expected to commence construction during the current year, as disclosed on page S-9. 2. Available cash flow is derived from disclosures in our 2020 Form 10-K and is calculated as net cash provided by operating activities of $351.1 million, excluding changes in working capital of $40.9 million plus interest rate swap related items of $1.7 million, less dividend payments of $260.8 million, less principal payments on debt of $11.9 million, less recurring capital expenditures of $20.8 million. This calculation results in available cash flow for investment in 2020 of $15.0 million. 3. Reflects the company's current anticipated capital sources to fund committed developments through 2023. The actual mix of capital sources may vary based on prevailing capital market conditions and the company's balance sheet management strategy. 4. Refer to definitions outlined on pages S-18 and S-19 for detailed definitions of terms appearing on this page. 5. Ratios represent the pro forma impact of development deliveries and funding alternatives assumed in the Sources and Uses table. The lower end of the pro forma leverage ranges assumes remaining capital needs in excess of debt are funded with equity, while the higher end assumes remaining needs in excess of debt are funded with dispositions. Actual ratios will vary based on the timing of construction funding, future cash flow available for investment, and the ultimate mix of sources from debt, equity, joint ventures, or dispositions. 6. Refer to page S-13 for a reconciliation of EBITDA to net income, the most directly comparable GAAP measure.

2021 Outlook - Summary 1 ($ in thousands, except share and per share data) Prior Guidance Current Guidance Low High Low High Net income $ 10,400 $ 29,900 $ 26,100 $ 37,200 Noncontrolling interests' share of net loss (3,300) (3,300) (2,800) (2,800) Joint Venture ("JV") partners' share of FFO JV partners' share of net loss 3,500 3,500 3,000 3,000 JV partners' share of depreciation and amortization (7,700) (7,700) (7,700) (7,700) (4,200) (4,200) (4,700) (4,700) Total depreciation and amortization 273,600 273,600 273,700 273,700 Corporate depreciation (3,100) (3,100) (3,100) (3,100) FFO 273,400 292,900 289,200 300,300 Elimination of operations from on-campus participating properties ("OCPP") (11,000) (11,000) (11,200) (11,200) Contribution from OCPPs 3,100 3,100 3,100 3,100 Executive retirement charges 2 2,600 2,600 2,600 2,600 Elimination of litigation settlement expense 3 2,000 2,000 2,000 2,000 Stockholder engagement and other proxy advisory costs 4 900 900 900 900 FFOM $ 271,000 $ 290,500 $ 286,600 $ 297,700 Net income per share - diluted $ 0.07 $ 0.21 $ 0.19 $ 0.27 FFO per share - diluted $ 1.95 $ 2.09 $ 2.06 $ 2.14 FFOM per share - diluted $ 1.93 $ 2.07 $ 2.04 $ 2.12 Weighted-average common shares outstanding - diluted 140,214,200 140,214,200 140,214,200 140,214,200 1. The company believes that the financial results for the year ending December 31, 2021 may be affected by a number of factors, including but not limited to: • any material impacts to our revenues or operating expenses resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, as well as any stimulus payments or related governmental relief that may be received by the company, our tenants, and/or our University partners; • national and regional economic trends and events; • the timing and amount of any acquisitions, dispositions, or joint venture activity; • interest rate risk; • the timing of commencement and completion of construction on owned and third-party development projects; • university enrollment, funding, and policy trends; • the outcome of legal proceedings arising in the normal course of business; and • the finalization of property tax rates and assessed values in certain jurisdictions. 2. Represents accelerated amortization of unvested restricted stock awards due to the retirement of the company's President in August 2021. 3. Represents expenses associated with the settlements of litigation matters that are included in general and administrative expenses in the accompanying consolidated statements of comprehensive income. 4. Represents consulting, legal, and other related costs incurred in relation to stockholder engagement activities in preparation for the company’s 2021 annual stockholders' meeting. S-15

1. Refer to page S-17 for detail of the 2021 same store and new property groupings. 2021 Outlook - Changes from Previous Guidance ($ in thousands, except share and per share data) FFOM Guidance As Reported Prior Guidance Current Guidance Significant Changes from Previous Guidance and Assumptions Nine Months Ended September 30, 2021 Year Ending December 31,2021 Year Ending December 31,2021 Owned properties ¹ Low High Low High 2021 same store properties Rental revenue $ 578,758 $ 784,000 $ 793,200 $ 798,000 $ 801,400 Other income 39,453 48,600 48,600 49,900 49,900 Owned property guidance revised to reflect final leasing results for the 2021/2022 academic year and anticipated property operating performance for the remainder of the year. Same store revenue $ 618,211 $ 832,600 $ 841,800 $ 847,900 $ 851,300 ß % growth 3.3% 2.4% 3.5% 4.3% 4.7 % Same store operating expenses (295,591) (394,400) (392,200) (392,300) (391,500) % growth 5.4% 6.1% 5.5% 5.5% 5.3 % Same store net operating income ("NOI") $ 322,620 $ 438,200 $ 449,600 $ 455,600 $ 459,800 % growth 1.4% (0.7) % 1.8% 3.2% 4.2 % Includes $6.3 - $6.9 million forecasted NOI contribution in the fourth quarter from phases I-V of the Disney College Program project.2021 new properties NOI $ 8,197 $ 16,700 $ 19,100 $ 16,700 $ 17,500 ß 2021 NOI loss from dispositions and other $ (207) $ (1,000) $ (1,000) $ (300) $ (300) ß Includes recurring professional fees related to the operation of the ACC/Allianz joint venture. Impact of disposition activity has now been removed as any dispositions are now not expected to occur until 2022.Total owned properties NOI $ 330,610 $ 453,900 $ 467,700 $ 472,000 $ 477,000 Third-party development services revenue $ 3,763 $ 5,000 $ 11,400 $ 5,000 $ 11,400 ß See page S-10 for the for third-party development projects that are possible to commence during the fourth quarter of 2021. Third-party management services revenue $ 8,631 $ 12,000 $ 12,400 $ 12,000 $ 12,200 Third-party development and mgmt. services expenses $ (15,377) $ (20,100) $ (20,300) $ (20,300) $ (20,400) Actual G&A for the first nine months includes $2.0 million in costs associated with a litigation settlement, $0.9 million in stockholder engagement and other proxy advisory costs, and $2.6 million in executive retirement charges, all of which are eliminated for the purposes of calculating FFOM. General and administrative expenses $ (35,563) $ (45,200) $ (45,500) $ (45,300) $ (45,500) ß Ground/facility leases expense $ (12,145) $ (17,000) $ (17,400) $ (17,200) $ (17,400) Less: OCPP ground/facility leases expense $ 1,634 $ 1,400 $ 1,400 $ 1,400 $ 1,400 Interest income $ 959 $ 1,400 $ 1,400 $ 1,400 $ 1,400 ß Excludes on-campus participating properties ("OCPPs") for the purposes of calculating FFOM. Interest expense $ (87,488) $ (116,900) $ (116,900) $ (118,200) $ (118,200) ß Interest expense reflects the October issuance of $400 million senior unsecured notes with a 2.25% coupon and is net of $8.6 million of capitalized interest. Less: OCPP interest expense $ 2,678 $ 3,500 $ 3,500 $ 3,500 $ 3,500 Amortization of deferred financing costs $ (4,134) $ (5,600) $ (5,600) $ (5,700) $ (5,700) ß Includes additional deferred financing cost associated with the October issuance of $400 million senior unsecured notes. Excludes OCPPs for the purposes of calculating FFOM. Corporate depreciation $ (2,154) $ (3,100) $ (3,100) $ (3,100) $ (3,100) ß Represents corporate depreciation expense not added back in the calculation of FFO as per the NAREIT definition of FFO. OCPP overhead $ (1,239) $ (1,500) $ (1,700) $ (1,600) $ (1,600) Income tax provision $ (1,021) $ (1,400) $ (1,400) $ (1,400) $ (1,400) Revised to reflect final 2021/2022 academic year leasing results for the ACC/Allianz JV portfolio and the portfolio’s anticipated operating performance for the remainder of the year. For the purposes of calculating NAV, the company excludes $10.8 million of annual NOI and $148.5 million of mortgage debt related to consolidated joint venture partners' share of NOI and any mortgage debt. JV partners' share of net loss $ 3,230 $ 3,500 $ 3,500 $ 3,000 $ 3,000 JV partners' share of depreciation and amortization $ (5,697) $ (7,700) $ (7,700) $ (7,700) $ (7,700) ß Contribution from OCPPs $ 2,769 $ 3,100 $ 3,100 $ 3,100 $ 3,100 ß Includes the company's 50% share of OCPP net cash flow and management and development fees received, as per the definition of FFOM on page S-18. Other nonoperating income $ 157 $ 200 $ 200 $ 200 $ 200 Elimination of litigation settlement expense $ 2,033 $ 2,000 $ 2,000 $ 2,000 $ 2,000 See G&A expense note above.Stockholder engagement and other proxy advisory costs $ 914 $ 900 $ 900 $ 900 $ 900 ß Executive retirement charges $ 2,588 $ 2,600 $ 2,600 $ 2,600 $ 2,600 FFOM per share - diluted $ 1.39 $ 1.93 $ 2.07 $ 2.04 $ 2.12 S-16

Detail of Property Groupings As of September 30, 2021 S-17 2021 Grouping 2022 Grouping Same Store Properties New Properties Same Store Properties New Properties # of Properties Design Beds # of Properties Design Beds # of Properties Design Beds # of Properties Design Beds Properties Purchased or Developed Prior to January 1, 2020 157 95,351 157 95,351 2020 Development Deliveries 1 3 2,483 2 856 1 2 1,627 2 2021 Development Deliveries 1 3 — 3,657 — 3,657 2022 Development Deliveries 1 — 2,947 — 2,947 2023 Development Deliveries 1 — 2,209 — 2,209 Total Owned Properties 157 95,351 3 11,296 159 96,207 1 10,440 Grand Total # of Owned Properties (All Groupings) 160 Grand Total Owned Design Beds (All Groupings) 106,647 Note on Property Portfolio: When disclosing our number of properties and design beds as of a certain date, we include all properties that are owned and operating as of that date, as well as properties that are under construction and anticipated to open for operations in future years. Properties that are in our development pipeline but have not yet commenced construction are not included. 2021: The 2021 same store grouping represents properties owned and operating for both of the entire calendar years ended December 31, 2021 and 2020. This same store grouping will be used for purposes of presenting our 2021 same store operating results. 2022: The 2022 same store grouping represents properties owned and operating for both of the entire calendar years ended December 31, 2022 and 2021. This same store grouping will be used for purposes of presenting our 2022 same store operating results. 1. The Disney College Program project will be delivered in multiple phases over several years with initial deliveries occurring in 2020 and full development completion anticipated in 2023. All phases are counted as one property in the table above. As of September 30, 2021, five phases have been completed totaling 5,284 beds. 2. Represents phases I - II of the Disney College Program project, which were completed in May and August 2020. All phases of the Disney College Program project will be included in our same store results as one property beginning in 2025 once all ten phases have been completed and operating for two full calendar years. 3. Includes 288 beds delivered in July 2021 with Phase V of the Disney College Program, which were previously scheduled for delivery in January 2022 as a part of Phase VI.

Definitions ACE The company’s American Campus Equity program, whereby the company enters into long-term ground/facility lease agreements with Universities to invest our capital and to develop, own, and operate on-campus student housing communities. Properties under this structure are considered to be owned and are included in the company's consolidated financial statements. Adjusted EBITDA* EBITDA, including pro forma adjustments to reflect acquisitions, development deliveries, and dispositions as if such transactions had occurred on the first day of the 12-month period presented. Adjusted Interest Expense* Interest Expense, including pro forma adjustments to reflect acquisitions, development deliveries, dispositions, debt repayments, and debt refinancings as if such transactions had occurred on the first day of the 12-month period presented. Cash Cash and cash equivalents, determined on a consolidated basis in accordance with GAAP. Cash Interest Expense* Consolidated interest expense calculated in accordance with GAAP, plus amounts which have been deducted and minus amounts which have been added for, without duplication: (i) the amortization of mark-to-market premiums/discounts on mortgage loans assumed in connection with acquisitions; (ii) capitalized interest; and (iii) the change in accrued interest during the period presented. Design Beds Total beds based on the original property design, generally as specified in the construction documents. EBITDA* Consolidated net income calculated in accordance with GAAP, plus amounts which have been deducted and minus amounts which have been added for, without duplication: (i) interest expense; (ii) provision for income taxes; (iii) depreciation, amortization and all other non- cash items; (iv) provision for gains and losses; (v) noncontrolling interests; and (vi) extraordinary and other non-recurring items, as we determine in good faith. Funds from Operations (”FFO”) Determined based on the definition adopted by the Board of Governors of the National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts (“NAREIT”). Calculated as consolidated net income or loss attributable to common shares computed in accordance with GAAP, excluding gains or losses from depreciable operating property sales, plus real estate depreciation and amortization, and after adjustments for unconsolidated partnerships and joint ventures. Also excludes non-cash impairment charges. FFO Modified (”FFOM”) FFO modified to reflect certain adjustments related to the economic performance of our on-campus participating properties, and other items, as we determine in good faith, that do not reflect our core operations on a comparative basis. The company believes it is meaningful to eliminate the FFO generated from the on-campus participating properties and instead to reflect the company's 50% share of the properties' net cash flow and management and development fees received, as this measure better reflects the economic benefit derived from the company's involvement in the operation of these properties. GAAP Accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America. Interest Coverage* Adjusted EBITDA / Adjusted Interest Expense. Net Debt* Total Debt less Cash. Net Debt to EBITDA* Net Debt divided by Adjusted EBITDA. Net Operating Income “NOI” Property revenues less direct property operating expenses, excluding depreciation, but including an allocation of costs related to corporate management and oversight. * These definitions are provided for purposes of calculating the company’s unsecured notes covenants and other key ratios. S-18

Definitions On-campus Participating Properties A transaction structure whereby the company enters into long-term ground/facility lease agreements with Universities to develop, construct, and operate student housing communities. Under the terms of the leases, title to the constructed facilities is held by the University/lessor and such lessor receives 50% of net cash flows, as defined, on an annual basis through the term of the lease. Operating Expenses General & administrative and other expenses include security costs, shuttle costs, and property-level general and administrative costs as well as an allocation of costs related to corporate management and oversight. Also includes acquisition integration costs, food service, and other miscellaneous expenses. Utilities expense represents gross expenses prior to any recoveries from tenants, which are reflected in owned properties revenues. Payroll expense includes payroll and related expenses for on-site personnel including general managers, maintenance staff, and leasing staff. Repairs and maintenance expense includes general maintenance costs such as interior painting, routine landscaping, pest control, fire protection, snow removal, elevator maintenance, roof and parking lot repairs, and other miscellaneous building repair costs. Also includes costs related to the annual turn process. Marketing expense includes costs related to property marketing campaigns associated with our ongoing leasing efforts. Physical Occupancy Occupied beds, including staff accommodations, divided by Design Beds. Rentable Beds Design Beds less beds used by on-site staff. Same Store Grouping Properties owned and operating for both of the entire annual periods presented, which are not conducting or planning to conduct substantial development, redevelopment, or repositioning activities, and are not classified as held for sale as of the current period-end. Includes the full operating results of properties owned through joint ventures in which the company has a controlling financial interest and which are consolidated for financial reporting purposes. Secured Debt* The portion of Total Debt that is secured by a mortgage, trust, deed of trust, deed to secure indebtedness, pledge, security interest, assignment of collateral, or any other security agreement. Total Asset Value* Undepreciated book value of real estate assets and all other assets, excluding receivables, intangibles, and right of use assets, of our consolidated subsidiaries, all determined in accordance with GAAP. Total Debt* Total consolidated debt calculated in accordance with GAAP, including finance leases and excluding mark-to-market premiums/ discounts on mortgage loans assumed in connection with acquisitions, the original issued discount on unsecured notes, and deferred financing costs. Total Equity Market Value Fully diluted common shares times the company’s stock price at period-end. Unencumbered Asset Value* The sum of (i) the undepreciated book value of real estate assets which are not subject to secured debt; and (ii) all other assets, excluding accounts receivable and intangibles, for such properties. Does not include assets of unconsolidated joint ventures. Unsecured Debt* The portion of Total Debt that is not Secured Debt. * These definitions are provided for purposes of calculating the company’s unsecured notes covenants and other key ratios. S-19

Investor Information Corporate Headquarters Investor Relations American Campus Communities, Inc. 12700 Hill Country Blvd., Suite T-200 Austin, Texas 78738 Tel: (512) 732-1000 Fax: (512) 732-2450 www.americancampus.com Ryan Dennison SVP, Capital Markets and Investor Relations (512) 732-1000 rdennison@americancampus.com Executive Management Bill Bayless Chief Executive Officer Jennifer Beese President & Chief Operating Officer Daniel Perry Chief Financial Officer William Talbot Chief Investment Officer Kim Voss Chief Accounting Officer Research Coverage Angus Kelleher Argus Research Company (203) 548-9892 akelleher@argusresearch.com Jeffery Spector / Joshua Dennerlein BofA Securities (646) 855-1363 / (646) 855-1681 jeff.spector@bofa.com / joshua.dennerlein@bofa.com Neil Malkin Capital One (571) 633-8191 neil.malkin@capitalone.com Michael Bilerman / Nick Joseph Citigroup Equity Research (212) 816-1383 / (212) 816-1909 michael.bilerman@citi.com / nicholas.joseph@citi.com Derek Johnston / Tom Hennessy Deutsche Bank Securities, Inc. (212) 250-5683 / (212) 250-4063 derek.johnston@db.com / tom.hennessy@db.com Steve Sakwa / Samir Khanal Evercore ISI (212) 446-9462 / (212) 888-3796 steve.sakwa@evercoreisi.com / samir.khanal@evercoreisi.com Chandni Luthra Goldman Sachs (212) 902-5533 chandni.luthra@gs.com John Pawlowski / Alan Peterson Green Street Advisors (949) 640-8780 / (949) 640-8780 jpawlowski@greenstreetadvisors.com / apeterson@greenstreetadvisors.com Anthony Paolone / Nikita Bely J.P. Morgan Securities (212) 622-6682 / (212) 622-0695 anthony.paolone@jpmorgan.com / nikita.bely@jpmorgan.com Jordan Sadler / Austin Wurschmidt KeyBanc Capital Markets (917) 368-2280 / (917) 368-2311 jsadler@key.com / awurschmidt@key.com Alexander Goldfarb / Daniel Santos Piper Sandler & Co. (212) 466-7937 / (212) 466-7927 alexander.goldfarb@psc.com / daniel.santos@psc.com American Campus Communities, Inc. is followed by the analysts listed above. Please note that any opinions, estimates or forecasts regarding American Campus Communities, Inc.'s performance made by such analysts are theirs alone and do not represent the opinions, forecasts or predictions of the company or its management. American Campus Communities, Inc. does not by its reference above or distribution imply its endorsement of or concurrence with such information, conclusions or recommendations. S-20

Forward-looking Statements and Non-GAAP Financial Measures In addition to historical information, this presentation contains forward-looking statements under the applicable federal securities law. These statements are based on management’s current expectations and assumptions regarding markets in which American Campus Communities, Inc. (the “company”) operates, operational strategies, anticipated events and trends, the economy, and other future conditions. Forward- looking statements are not guarantees of future performance and involve certain risks and uncertainties, which are difficult to predict. These risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from those expressed or implied in the forward looking-statements include those related to the COVID-19 pandemic, about which there are still many unknowns, including the duration of the pandemic and the extent of its impact, and those discussed in our filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2020 under the heading “Risk Factors” and under the heading “Business - Forward-looking Statements” and subsequent quarterly reports on Form 10-Q. We undertake no obligation to publicly update any forward-looking statements, including our expected 2021 operating results, whether as a result of new information, future events, or otherwise. This presentation contains certain financial information not derived in accordance with United States generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”). These items include earnings before interest, tax, depreciation and amortization (“EBITDA”), net operating income (“NOI”), funds from operations (“FFO”) and FFO-Modified (“FFOM”). Refer to Definitions for a detailed explanation of terms appearing in the supplement. The Company presents this financial information because it considers each item an important supplemental measure of its operating performance and believes it is frequently used by securities analysts, investors and other interested parties in the evaluation of REITs. These measures should not be considered as alternatives to net income or loss computed in accordance with GAAP as an indicator of the Company's financial performance or to cash flow from operating activities computed in accordance with GAAP as an indicator of its liquidity, nor are these measures indicative of funds available to fund its cash needs, including its ability to pay dividends or make distributions.