Supplemental Analyst Package 3Q 2017 October 23, 2017

Table of Contents Financial Highlights 1 Consolidated Balance Sheets 2 Consolidated Statements of Comprehensive Income 3 Consolidated Statements of Funds from Operations 4 Wholly-Owned Properties Results of Operations 5 Same Store Wholly-Owned Properties Operating Expenses 6 Seasonality of Operations 7 Portfolio Overview 8 Investment Update 9 Owned Development Update 10 Presale Development Update 11 Third-Party Development Update 12 Management Services Update 13 Capital Structure 14 Interest Coverage 15 Capital Allocation – Long Term Funding Plan 16 2017 Outlook - Summary 17 2017 Outlook - Changes from Previous Guidance 18 Detail of Property Groupings 19 Definitions 20 Investor Information 22

Financial Highlights ($ in thousands, except share and per share data) 1 Operating Data Three Months Ended September 30, Nine Months Ended September 30, 2017 2016 $ Change % Change 2017 2016 $ Change % Change Total revenues $ 196,938 $ 196,411 $ 527 0.3% $ 568,884 $ 582,389 $ (13,505) (2.3%) Operating income 17,575 29,278 (11,703) (40.0%) 79,404 121,419 (42,015) (34.6%) Net (loss) income attributable to ACC1 (1,312) 9,644 (10,956) (113.6%) 29,976 73,669 (43,693) (59.3%) Net (loss) income per share - basic (0.01) 0.07 0.21 0.57 Net (loss) income per share - diluted (0.01) 0.07 0.21 0.56 Funds From Operations ("FFO")2 58,975 61,146 (2,171) (3.6%) 213,449 214,642 (1,193) (0.6%) FFO per share - diluted2 0.43 0.46 (0.03) (6.5%) 1.56 1.65 (0.09) (5.5%) Funds From Operations - Modified ("FFOM")2 61,175 60,441 734 1.2% 216,858 210,804 6,054 2.9% FFOM per share - diluted2 0.44 0.45 (0.01) (2.2%) 1.59 1.62 (0.03) (1.9%) Market Capitalization and Unsecured Notes Covenants3 September 30, 2017 December 31, 2016 Debt to total market capitalization 31.2% 24.1% Net debt to EBITDA4 6.4x 5.4x Unencumbered asset value to total asset value 83.0% 81.0% Total debt to total asset value 35.8% 31.3% Secured debt to total asset value 8.4% 9.8% Unencumbered asset value to unsecured debt 303.1% 378.2% Interest coverage4 4.4x 4.5x 1. Excluding net loss from dispositions of real estate and impairment charges, net income attributable to ACC for the nine months ended September 30, 2017 would have been $45.9 million. Excluding net gains from dispositions of real estate, net income attributable to ACC for the nine months ended September 30, 2016 would have been $56.3 million. 2. Refer to page 4 for a reconciliation to net income, the most directly comparable GAAP measure. 3. Refer to the definitions outlined on pages 20 and 21 for detailed definitions of terms appearing on this page. 4. Refer to calculations on page 15, including a reconciliation to net income and interest expense, the most directly comparable GAAP measures.

Consolidated Balance Sheets ($ in thousands) 2 September 30, 2017 December 31, 2016 (unaudited) Assets Investments in real estate: Wholly-owned properties, net $ 6,262,077 $ 5,427,014 Wholly-owned properties held for sale — 25,350 On-campus participating properties, net 83,095 85,797 Investments in real estate, net 6,345,172 5,538,161 Cash and cash equivalents 16,341 22,140 Restricted cash 25,824 24,817 Student contracts receivable, net 15,531 8,428 Other assets1 284,023 272,367 Total assets $ 6,686,891 $ 5,865,913 Liabilities and equity Liabilities: Secured mortgage, construction and bond debt $ 662,874 $ 688,195 Unsecured notes 1,190,296 1,188,737 Unsecured term loans 646,675 149,065 Unsecured revolving credit facility 266,440 99,300 Accounts payable and accrued expenses 79,612 76,614 Other liabilities2 214,918 158,437 Total liabilities 3,060,815 2,360,348 Redeemable noncontrolling interests 112,270 55,078 Equity: American Campus Communities, Inc. and Subsidiaries stockholders' equity: Common stock 1,364 1,322 Additional paid in capital 4,321,228 4,118,842 Common stock held in rabbi trust (2,944) (975) Accumulated earnings and dividends (816,360) (670,137) Accumulated other comprehensive loss (3,195) (4,067) Total American Campus Communities, Inc. and 3,500,093 3,444,985Subsidiaries stockholders' equity Noncontrolling interests - partially owned properties 13,713 5,502 Total equity 3,513,806 3,450,487 Total liabilities and equity $ 6,686,891 $ 5,865,913 1. As of September 30, 2017, other assets include approximately $9.4 million related to net deferred financing costs on our revolving credit facility and the net value of in-place leases. 2. As of September 30, 2017, other liabilities include approximately $64.6 million in deferred revenue and fee income.

Consolidated Statements of Comprehensive Income (Unaudited, $ in thousands, except share and per share data) 3 Three Months Ended September 30, Nine Months Ended September 30, 2017 2016 $ Change 2017 2016 $ Change Revenues Wholly-owned properties $ 183,569 $ 185,694 $ (2,125) $ 531,556 $ 546,078 $ (14,522) On-campus participating properties 6,799 6,758 41 23,128 23,018 110 Third-party development services 3,566 773 2,793 4,697 3,929 768 Third-party management services 2,291 2,376 (85) 7,193 7,039 154 Resident services 713 810 (97) 2,310 2,325 (15) Total revenues 196,938 196,411 527 568,884 582,389 (13,505) Operating expenses Wholly-owned properties 99,423 100,602 (1,179) 249,552 257,175 (7,623) On-campus participating properties 3,923 3,784 139 11,080 10,125 955 Third-party development and management services 3,879 3,340 539 11,789 10,638 1,151 General and administrative1 8,684 5,375 3,309 25,200 16,810 8,390 Depreciation and amortization 61,125 52,067 9,058 169,391 159,486 9,905 Ground/facility leases 2,329 1,965 364 7,151 6,736 415 Provision for real estate impairment2 — — — 15,317 — 15,317 Total operating expenses 179,363 167,133 12,230 489,480 460,970 28,510 Operating income 17,575 29,278 (11,703) 79,404 121,419 (42,015) Nonoperating income and (expenses) Interest income 1,259 1,272 (13) 3,723 4,026 (303) Interest expense (18,654) (19,016) 362 (47,944) (61,762) 13,818 Amortization of deferred financing costs (1,146) (1,344) 198 (3,197) (5,238) 2,041 (Loss) gain from disposition of real estate — — — (632) 17,409 (18,041) Total nonoperating expense (18,541) (19,088) 547 (48,050) (45,565) (2,485) (Loss) income before income taxes (966) 10,190 (11,156) 31,354 75,854 (44,500) Income tax provision (267) (345) 78 (791) (1,035) 244 Net (loss) income (1,233) 9,845 (11,078) 30,563 74,819 (44,256) Net income attributable to noncontrolling interests (79) (201) 122 (587) (1,150) 563 Net (loss) income attributable to ACC, Inc. and $ (1,312) $ 9,644 $ (10,956) $ 29,976 $ 73,669 $ (43,693)Subsidiaries common stockholders Other comprehensive income (loss) Change in fair value of interest rate swaps and other 233 1,271 (1,038) 872 (162) 1,034 Comprehensive (loss) income $ (1,079) $ 10,915 $ (11,994) $ 30,848 $ 73,507 $ (42,659) Net (loss) income per share attributable to ACC, Inc. and Subsidiaries common stockholders Basic $ (0.01) $ 0.07 $ 0.21 $ 0.57 Diluted $ (0.01) $ 0.07 $ 0.21 $ 0.56 Weighted-average common shares outstanding Basic 136,421,198 130,786,985 134,708,361 128,239,294 Diluted 136,421,198 131,568,371 135,585,850 129,034,401 1. The nine months ended September 30, 2017 include $4.5 million of contractual executive separation and retirement charges incurred in the first and second quarter of 2017 with regard to the retirement of the company's former Chief Financial Officer. The three and nine months ended September 30, 2017 include $2.9 million in transaction costs related to our initial investment in the Core Spaces/DRW joint ventures. Refer to pages 9 and 11. 2. Represents an impairment charge recorded in the second quarter of 2017 for one wholly-owned property currently in receivership that is in the process of being transferred to the lender in settlement of the property's $27.4 million mortgage loan that matured in August 2017.

Consolidated Statements of Funds from Operations (Unaudited, $ in thousands, except share and per share data) 4 1. Represents an impairment charge recorded for a wholly-owned property currently in receivership that is in the process of being transferred to the lender in settlement of the property's $27.4 million mortgage loan that matured in August 2017. 2. 50% of the properties’ net cash available for distribution after payment of operating expenses, debt service (including repayment of principal) and capital expenditures. Represents actual amounts accrued for the interim periods, which is included in ground/facility leases expense in the consolidated statements of comprehensive income (refer to page 3). 3. The three and nine months ended September 30, 2017 amounts represent transaction costs related to our initial investment in the Core Spaces/DRW joint ventures. Refer to pages 9 and 11. 4. Represents contractual executive separation and retirement charges incurred in the first and second quarter of 2017 with regard to the retirement of the company's former Chief Financial Officer. Three Months Ended September 30, Nine Months Ended September 30, 2017 2016 $ Change 2017 2016 $ Change Net (loss) income attributable to ACC, Inc. and $ (1,312) $ 9,644 $ (10,956) $ 29,976 $ 73,669 $ (43,693)Subsidiaries common stockholders Noncontrolling interests 85 201 (116) 593 1,150 (557) Loss (gain) from disposition of real estate — — — 632 (17,409) 18,041 Elimination of provision for real estate impairment1 — — — 15,317 — 15,317 Real estate related depreciation and amortization 60,202 51,301 8,901 166,931 157,232 9,699 Funds from operations ("FFO") attributable to 58,975 61,146 (2,171) 213,449 214,642 (1,193)common stockholders and OP unitholders Elimination of operations of on-campus participating properties Net loss (income) from on-campus participating properties 479 365 114 (1,373) (1,702) 329 Amortization of investment in on-campus participating properties (1,892) (1,839) (53) (5,621) (5,493) (128) 57,562 59,672 (2,110) 206,455 207,447 (992) Modifications to reflect operational performance of on-campus participating properties Our share of net cashflow2 452 351 101 1,987 2,216 (229) Management fees 306 304 2 1,046 1,027 19 Contribution from on-campus participating properties 758 655 103 3,033 3,243 (210) Property acquisition costs3 2,855 114 2,741 2,855 114 2,741 Contractual executive separation and retirement charges4 — — — 4,515 — 4,515 Funds from operations-modified ("FFOM") attributable to $ 61,175 $ 60,441 $ 734 $ 216,858 $ 210,804 $ 6,054common stockholders and OP unitholders FFO per share - diluted $ 0.43 $ 0.46 $ 1.56 $ 1.65 FFOM per share - diluted $ 0.44 $ 0.45 $ 1.59 $ 1.62 Weighted-average common shares outstanding - diluted 138,328,932 132,877,380 136,686,611 130,407,761

Wholly-Owned Properties Results of Operations ($ in thousands) 5 Three Months Ended September 30, Nine Months Ended September 30, 2017 2016 $ Change % Change 2017 2016 $ Change % Change Wholly-owned properties revenues Same store properties $ 162,776 $ 160,636 $ 2,140 1.3% $ 490,177 $ 478,327 $ 11,850 2.5% New properties 20,637 4,187 16,450 39,774 4,291 35,483 Sold and held for sale properties1 869 21,681 (20,812) 3,915 65,785 (61,870) Total revenues2 $ 184,282 $ 186,504 $ (2,222) (1.2%) $ 533,866 $ 548,403 $ (14,537) (2.7%) Wholly-owned properties operating expenses Same store properties3 4 $ 87,902 $ 85,126 $ 2,776 3.3% $ 227,993 $ 220,724 $ 7,269 3.3% New properties 11,232 2,242 8,990 19,152 2,400 16,752 Sold and held for sale properties1 5 289 13,234 (12,945) 2,407 34,051 (31,644) Total operating expenses $ 99,423 $ 100,602 $ (1,179) (1.2%) $ 249,552 $ 257,175 $ (7,623) (3.0%) Wholly-owned properties net operating income Same store properties6 $ 74,874 $ 75,510 $ (636) (0.8%) $ 262,184 $ 257,603 $ 4,581 1.8% New properties 9,405 1,945 7,460 20,622 1,891 18,731 Sold and held for sale properties1 580 8,447 (7,867) 1,508 31,734 (30,226) Total net operating income $ 84,859 $ 85,902 $ (1,043) (1.2%) $ 284,314 $ 291,228 $ (6,914) (2.4%) Note: The same store grouping above represents properties owned and operating for both of the entire years ended December 31, 2017 and 2016, which are not conducting or planning to conduct substantial development, redevelopment, or repositioning activities, and are not classified as held for sale as of September 30, 2017. Refer to page 19 for detail of our same store groupings. 1. Includes properties sold in 2016 and 2017, and one property currently in receivership that is in the process of being transferred to the lender in settlement of the property's $27.4 million mortgage loan that matured in August 2017. 2. Includes revenues that are reflected as Resident Services Revenue on the accompanying consolidated statements of comprehensive income. 3. Refer to page 6 for detail of same store operating expenses. 4. Excluding expenses of $1.9 million incurred during the third quarter of 2017 associated with Hurricanes Harvey and Irma, same store wholly-owned operating expenses for the three and nine months ended September 30, 2017 would have increased by 1.0% and 2.4%, respectively. 5. Does not include the allocation of payroll and other administrative costs related to corporate management and oversight. 6. The three and nine months ended September 30, 2017 include a reduction of $272,000 and $548,000, respectively, related to 41 beds damaged by a fire occurring at one same store property in March 2017 and a reduction in beds available for lease at one same store property renovated during the summer months. The fire damaged beds are being rebuilt and are anticipated to be available for occupancy in Spring 2018. Losses incurred in relation to the fire are covered by the company's business interruption insurance policy. Proceeds from this policy are anticipated to be received and recorded in 2018. Excluding the effects of these items and $1.9 million of expenses incurred during the third quarter of 2017 associated with Hurricanes Harvey and Irma, same store wholly-owned net operating income for the three and nine months ended September 30, 2017 would have increased 2.0% and 2.7%, respectively.

Same Store Wholly-Owned Properties Operating Expenses ($ in thousands, except per bed amounts) 6 Three Months Ended September 30, 2017 2016 Total Per Bed % Change From Prior Year % of Total Operating Expenses Total Per Bed % of Total Operating Expenses Property taxes $ 16,829 $ 228 2.9% 19% $ 16,356 $ 221 19% General & administrative and other1 17,843 241 0.7% 21% 17,722 240 21% Utilities2 16,182 219 —% 18% 16,178 219 19% Payroll3 16,602 225 (0.3)% 19% 16,656 225 20% Repairs and maintenance4 16,179 219 15.7% 18% 13,982 189 16% Marketing5 2,648 36 0.9% 3% 2,625 36 3% Insurance 1,619 22 0.7% 2% 1,607 22 2% Total same store wholly-owned operating expenses6 $ 87,902 $ 1,190 3.3% 100% $ 85,126 $ 1,152 100% Same store wholly-owned beds 73,871 Nine Months Ended September 30, 2017 2016 Total Per Bed % Change From Prior Year % of Total Operating Expenses Total Per Bed % of Total Operating Expenses Property taxes $ 49,701 $ 673 3.2% 22% $ 48,142 $ 652 22% General & administrative and other1 48,660 658 1.2% 21% 48,077 651 22% Utilities2 47,480 643 2.5% 21% 46,328 627 21% Payroll3 43,950 595 1.7% 19% 43,222 585 20% Repairs and maintenance4 25,354 343 11.3% 11% 22,780 308 10% Marketing5 8,032 109 8.7% 4% 7,390 100 3% Insurance 4,816 65 0.6% 2% 4,785 65 2% Total same store wholly-owned operating expenses6 $ 227,993 $ 3,086 3.3% 100% $ 220,724 $ 2,988 100% Same store wholly-owned beds 73,871 Note: The same store grouping above represents properties owned and operating for both of the entire years ended December 31, 2017 and 2016, which are not conducting or planning to conduct substantial development, redevelopment, or repositioning activities, and are not classified as held for sale as of September 30, 2017. Refer to page 19 for detail of our same store groupings. 1. Includes security costs, shuttle costs, and property-level general and administrative costs as well as an allocation of costs related to corporate management and oversight. Also includes acquisition integration costs, bad debt, food service, and other miscellaneous expenses. 2. Represents gross expenses prior to any recoveries from tenants, which are reflected in wholly-owned properties revenues. 3. Includes payroll and related expenses for on-site personnel including general managers, maintenance staff, and leasing staff. 4. Includes general maintenance costs such as interior painting, routine landscaping, pest control, fire protection, snow removal, elevator maintenance, roof and parking lot repairs, and other miscellaneous building repair costs. Also includes costs related to the annual turn process and approximately $1.9 million of costs incurred during the third quarter of 2017 primarily related to cleanup and repairs for water intrusion, roofing and landscaping at the company's communities located in Texas and Florida as a result of Hurricanes Harvey and Irma. Excluding expenses incurred in relation to Hurricanes Harvey and Irma, repairs and maintenance expenses for the three and nine months ended September 30, 2017 would have increased by 2.1% and 3.0%, respectively. 5. Includes costs related to property marketing campaigns associated with our ongoing leasing efforts. 6. Excluding expenses of $1.9 million incurred during the third quarter of 2017 associated with Hurricanes Harvey and Irma, total same store wholly-owned operating expenses for the three and nine months ended September 30, 2017 would have increased by 1.0% and 2.4%, respectively.

Seasonality of Operations ($ in thousands, except per bed amounts) 7 Three Months Ended Total/Weighted Average- September 30, 2016 December 31, 2016 March 31, 2017 June 30, 2017 September 30, 2017 Last 12 Months 2017 same store properties Revenue per occupied bed Rental revenue per occupied bed per month $ 701 $ 728 $ 727 $ 710 $ 715 $ 721 Other income per occupied bed per month1 85 57 58 69 86 67 Total revenue per occupied bed $ 786 $ 785 $ 785 $ 779 $ 801 $ 788 Average number of owned beds 73,871 73,871 73,857 2 73,773 2 73,753 2 73,814 Average physical occupancy for the quarter 92.2% 97.6% 97.1% 92.0% 91.9% 94.6% Total revenue $ 160,636 $ 169,743 $ 168,853 $ 158,548 $ 162,776 $ 659,920 Property operating expenses 85,126 70,918 70,118 69,973 87,902 298,911 Net operating income $ 75,510 $ 98,825 $ 98,735 $ 88,575 $ 74,874 $ 361,009 Operating margin 47.0% 58.2% 58.5% 55.9% 46.0% 54.7% 2017 new properties Revenue per occupied bed Rental revenue per occupied bed per month $ 798 $ 787 $ 778 $ 787 $ 784 $ 783 Other income per occupied bed per month1 40 43 42 59 68 57 Total revenue per occupied bed $ 838 $ 830 $ 820 $ 846 $ 852 $ 840 Average number of owned beds 1,910 3,868 3,900 4,559 9,382 5,427 Average physical occupancy for the quarter 87.2% 93.2% 93.4% 87.9% 86.1% 89.1% Total revenue $ 4,187 $ 8,980 $ 8,965 $ 10,172 $ 20,637 $ 48,754 Property operating expenses 2,242 3,252 3,533 4,387 11,232 22,404 Net operating income $ 1,945 $ 5,728 $ 5,432 $ 5,785 $ 9,405 $ 26,350 Operating margin 46.5% 63.8% 60.6% 56.9% 45.6% 54.0% ALL PROPERTIES Revenue per occupied bed Rental revenue per occupied bed per month $ 703 $ 731 $ 730 $ 714 $ 722 $ 724 Other income per occupied bed per month1 84 57 57 69 84 67 Total revenue per occupied bed $ 787 $ 788 $ 787 $ 783 $ 806 $ 791 Average number of owned beds 75,781 77,739 77,757 78,332 83,135 79,241 Average physical occupancy for the quarter 92.1% 97.3% 96.9% 91.7% 91.2% 94.2% Total revenue $ 164,823 $ 178,723 $ 177,818 $ 168,720 $ 183,413 $ 708,674 Property operating expenses 87,368 74,170 73,651 74,360 99,134 321,315 Net operating income $ 77,455 $ 104,553 $ 104,167 $ 94,360 $ 84,279 $ 387,359 Operating margin 47.0% 58.5% 58.6% 55.9% 46.0% 54.7% Sold and held for sale properties3 Total revenue $ 21,681 $ 11,472 $ 1,892 $ 1,154 $ 869 $ 15,387 Property operating expenses4 13,234 5,951 1,306 812 289 8,358 Net operating income $ 8,447 $ 5,521 $ 586 $ 342 $ 580 $ 7,029 Note: The same store grouping above represents properties owned and operating for both of the entire years ended December 31, 2017 and 2016, which are not conducting or planning to conduct substantial development, redevelopment, or repositioning activities, and are not classified as held for sale as of September 30, 2017. Refer to page 19 for detail of our same store groupings. 1. Other income is all income other than Net Student Rent. This includes, but is not limited to, utility income, damages, parking income, summer conference rent, application and administration fees, income from retail tenants, etc. 2. The decrease in the average number of owned beds from the prior quarter is due to fire damaged beds currently being rebuilt that will be available for occupancy in Spring 2018 and beds renovated during the summer months. These beds have been removed to appropriately reflect revenue per occupied bed as they did not contribute revenue for the related period. 3. Includes properties sold in 2016 and 2017, and one property currently in receivership that is in the process of being transferred to the lender in settlement of the property's $27.4 million mortgage loan that matured in August 2017. 4. Does not include the allocation of payroll and other administrative costs related to corporate management and oversight.

Portfolio Overview 8 Rental Revenue per Physical Occupancy at Fall 2017 Occupied Bed for Design September 30, Occupancy Final Rental Revenue Academic Year1 Property Type Beds 2017 2016 Change Rate Change Change 2017 / 2018 2016 / 2017 2018 Same Store Wholly-owned Properties Final Fall 2016 occupancy of 98% or greater 53,154 98.3% 99.8% (1.5%) 4.0% 2.5% $ 774 $ 744 Final Fall 2016 occupancy between 95% and 98% 9,086 94.6% 96.9% (2.3%) 1.1% (1.2%) 625 619 Final Fall 2016 occupancy less than 95% 15,531 92.2% 87.8% 4.4% (0.7%) 3.7% 743 749 Subtotal - 2018 Same Store Wholly-owned Properties 77,771 96.6% 97.2% (0.6%) 2.9% 2.3% $ 751 $ 730 New Wholly-owned Properties 2017 Acquisition Properties2 2,626 96.5% n/a n/a n/a n/a $ 790 n/a 2017 Development Deliveries3 7,454 83.2% n/a n/a n/a n/a 737 n/a Subtotal - New Wholly-owned Properties 10,080 86.6% n/a n/a n/a n/a $ 752 n/a Total - Wholly-owned Properties 87,851 95.5% n/a n/a n/a n/a $ 751 n/a On Campus Participating Properties 5,086 98.6% 97.9% 0.7% Note: The same store grouping presented above represents properties that will be classified as same store properties in 2018. This represents properties owned and operating for both of the entire years ended December 31, 2017 and 2018, which are not conducting or planning to conduct substantial development or redevelopment activities, and are not classified as held for sale. This same store grouping is presented for purposes of disclosing the final leasing results for the 2017/2018 academic year. Refer to page 19 for detail of our same store groupings. 1. Represents average rental revenue per occupied bed for the academic years presented. 2. Includes four properties acquired in 2017. Excludes TWELVE at U District, a multi-family property that was acquired in the second quarter of 2017, which the company plans to convert to by-the-bed leasing over the next two leasing cycles. Refer to page 9 for additional information on property acquisitions. 3. Includes ten wholly-owned properties that completed construction and opened for occupancy in August 2017. Refer to page 10 for more information about these development properties.

Investment Update ($ in thousands) 9 ACQUISITIONS Assumed Project Location Primary University Served Beds Closing Date Purchase Price Mortgage Debt The Arlie Arlington, TX University of Texas at Arlington 598 April 5, 2017 $ — TWELVE at U District Seattle, WA University of Washington 384 June 9, 2017 — Bridges @ 11th Seattle, WA University of Washington 258 October 11, 2017 — 1,240 $ 222,900 $ — Core Spaces / DRW Portfolio1 Hub Eugene Eugene, OR University of Oregon 513 August 14, 2017 $ — State Fort Collins, CO Colorado State University 665 August 14, 2017 — The James2 Madison, WI University of Wisconsin - Madison 850 September 13, 2017 — Hub U District Seattle2 Seattle, WA University of Washington 248 Q4 2017 — 2,276 $ 281,769 $ — 3,516 $ 504,669 $ — DISPOSITIONS Outstanding Project Location Primary University Served Beds Closing Date Sales Price Mortgage Debt The Province - Dayton Dayton, OH Wright State University 657 April 25, 2017 $ 24,988 $ — 1. As part of this transaction, the company also acquired three projects under-construction and scheduled for completion in September 2018. Refer to page 11. 2. The company is acquiring an initial interest in the two properties through a joint venture with Core Spaces/DRW Real Estate Investments for $135.7 million. The remaining interest in both properties is subject to further purchase options exercisable in the fourth quarter of 2019 for an amount to be determined by fair market value, expected to approximate $68.8 million.

Owned Development Update ($ in thousands) 10 RECENTLY COMPLETED PROJECTS Project Total Project Opened for Project Location Primary University Served Type Beds Cost1 Occupancy Tooker House Tempe, AZ Arizona State University ACE 1,594 $ 105,500 August 2017 Sky View Flagstaff, AZ Northern Arizona University ACE 626 58,200 August 2017 University Square Prairie View, TX Prairie View A&M University ACE 466 25,900 August 2017 U Centre on Turner Columbia, MO University of Missouri Off-campus 718 69,600 August 2017 U Pointe on Speight Waco, TX Baylor University Off-campus 700 51,800 August 2017 21Hundred @ Overton Park Lubbock, TX Texas Tech University Off-campus 1,204 82,700 August 2017 Suites at 3rd Champaign, IL University of Illinois Off-campus 251 25,200 2 August 2017 U Club Binghamton Phase II Binghamton, NY SUNY Binghamton University Off-campus 562 56,900 August 2017 Callaway House Apartments Norman, OK University of Oklahoma Off-campus 915 90,700 August 2017 U Centre on College Clemson, SC Clemson University Off-campus 418 42,700 August 2017 7,454 $ 609,200 OWNED DEVELOPMENT PROJECTS UNDER CONSTRUCTION As of September 30, 2017 Project Estimated Land and Total Costs Scheduled Project Location Primary University Served Type Beds Project Cost1 CIP3 Other4 Incurred Completion Gladding Residence Center Richmond, VA Virginia Commonwealth Univ. ACE 1,524 $ 95,700 $ 60,215 $ — $ 60,215 August 2018 Irvington House Indianapolis, IN Butler University ACE 648 38,900 16,656 — 16,656 August 2018 Greek Leadership Village Tempe, AZ Arizona State University ACE 957 69,600 24,032 — 24,032 August 2018 Bancroft Residence Hall Berkeley, CA University of California, Berkeley ACE 781 98,700 44,570 — 44,570 August 2018 NAU Honors College Flagstaff, AZ Northern Arizona University ACE 636 43,400 14,999 38 15,037 August 2018 U Club Townhomes Oxford, MS University of Mississippi Off-campus 528 44,300 11,845 5,115 16,960 August 2018 SUBTOTAL - 2018 DELIVERIES 5,074 $ 390,600 $ 172,317 $ 5,153 $ 177,470 Columbus Avenue Student Apts. Boston, MA Northeastern University ACE 825 $ 153,400 $ 30,753 $ — $ 30,753 August 2019 191 College Auburn, AL Auburn University Off-campus 495 59,300 6,081 5,435 11,516 July 2019 SUBTOTAL - 2019 DELIVERIES 1,320 $ 212,700 $ 36,834 $ 5,435 $ 42,269 OWNED DEVELOPMENT PIPELINE5 Project Anticipated Approx. Estimated Targeted Project Location Primary University Served Type Commencement Targeted Beds Project Cost1 6 Completion University of Arizona Honors College Tucson, AZ University of Arizona ACE Q4 2017 1,042 $ 80,000 Fall 2019 USC Health Sciences Phase II Los Angeles, CA University of Southern California ACE Q1/Q2 2019 297 42,000 Fall 2020 1,339 $ 122,000 1. In certain instances at ACE properties, the company agrees to construct spaces within the property that will ultimately be owned, managed, and funded by the universities. Such spaces include but are not limited to dining, childcare, retail, academic, and office facilities. Project Cost excludes the costs of the construction of such facilities, as they will be reimbursed by the universities. 2. The primary amenity package for the property is located at the neighboring Tower at Third property. Total Project Cost includes approximately $1.4 million in renovations to the amenity space. 3. The total construction in progress (“CIP”) balances above and on page 11 exclude $4.2 million related to ongoing renovation projects at operating properties. 4. Consists of amounts incurred to purchase the land for off-campus development projects, as well as other development-related expenditures not included in CIP such as deposits, furniture, etc. 5. Does not include land parcels in seven university markets totaling $40.6 million. Commencement of owned off-campus development projects is subject to final determination of feasibility, execution and closing on definitive agreements, municipal approval processes, fluctuations in the construction market, and current capital market conditions. ACE awards provide the company with the opportunity to exclusively negotiate with the subject universities. Commencement of ACE projects is subject to various levels of university board approval, final determination of feasibility, execution and closing on definitive agreements, municipal approval processes, fluctuations in the construction market, and current capital market conditions. 6. Estimated Project Cost includes land and other predevelopment costs of $10.3 million incurred as of September 30, 2017 for owned development pipeline projects.

Presale Development Update ($ in thousands) 11 PRESALE DEVELOPMENT PROJECTS UNDER CONSTRUCTION As of September 30, 2017 Project Estimated Land and Total Costs Scheduled Project Location Primary University Served Type Beds Project Cost CIP1 Other2 Incurred Completion The Edge - Stadium Centre3 Tallahassee, FL Florida State University Off-campus 412 $ 42,600 $ 15,430 $ 615 $ 16,045 August 2018 Core Spaces / DRW Portfolio4 Hub Ann Arbor Ann Arbor, MI University of Michigan Off-campus 310 Hub Flagstaff Flagstaff, AZ Northern Arizona University Off-campus 591 Hub West Lafayette West Lafayette, IN Purdue University Off-campus 599 1,500 $ 240,000 $ 44,628 $ 19,329 $ 63,957 September 2018 1,912 $ 282,600 $ 60,058 $ 19,944 $ 80,002 1. The total construction in progress (“CIP”) balances above and on page 10 exclude $4.2 million related to ongoing renovation projects at operating properties. 2. Consists of amounts incurred to purchase the land for off-campus development projects, as well as other development-related expenditures not included in CIP such as deposits, furniture, etc. 3. In December 2016, the company entered into a pre-sale agreement to purchase The Edge - Stadium Centre, a property which will be completed in August 2018. The company is obligated to purchase the property as long as certain construction completion deadlines and other closing conditions are met. The company is responsible for leasing, management, and initial operations of the project while the third-party developer retains development risk during the construction period. In accordance with accounting guidance, the company is including this property in its consolidated financial statements. Estimated project cost includes purchase price, elected upgrades and transaction costs. 4. The company funded an initial investment of $24.2 million through a joint venture with Core Spaces/DRW Real Estate Investments in August 2017. Including the initial investment, the company expects to invest a total of $240 million over a two year period. The company expects to increase its investment by $130.6 million upon delivery of the assets and to exercise an option to purchase the remaining ownership interests in the properties in the third quarter of 2019 for an amount to be determined by fair market value, expected to approximate $85.2 million.

Third-Party Development Update ($ in thousands) 12 Three Months Ended September 30, Nine Months Ended September 30, 2017 2016 $ Change 2017 2016 $ Change Development services revenue $ 3,566 $ 773 $ 2,793 $ 4,697 $ 3,929 $ 768 % of total revenue 1.8% 0.4% 0.8% 0.7% RECENTLY COMPLETED PROJECTS Project Location Primary University Served Beds Total Fees Completed Momentum Village Phase II Corpus Christi, TX Texas A&M University Corpus Christi 560 $ 2,300 August 2017 Esperanza Hall San Antonio, TX Texas A&M University San Antonio 382 1,100 August 2017 942 $ 3,400 CONTRACTED PROJECT IN PROGRESS Fees Earned Fees Remaining Fees as of Earned in as of Scheduled Project Location Primary University Served Beds Total Fees September 30, 2017 Current Year September 30, 2017 Completion University of California Irvine Phase IV Irvine, CA University of California, Irvine 1,441 $ 5,900 $ 2,872 $ 2,872 $ 3,028 August 2019 1. These awards relate to speculative development projects that are subject to final determination of feasibility, negotiation, final award, procurement rules and other applicable law, execution and closing of definitive agreements on terms acceptable to the company, and fluctuations in the construction and financing markets. Anticipated commencement and fees are dependent upon the availability of project financing, which is affected by current capital market conditions. 2. Under the terms of a Consultant Agreement, and with the consent of the University’s Board of Regents, the company will earn fees for the performance of advisory services related to a not-for-profit entity’s purchase of a 1,790-bed apartment community for the benefit of the University. 3. The University of Arizona Honors College project includes the construction of a parking garage, academic center and a student recreation and wellness center as part of the overall development project. These components will be owned, managed and funded by the University, and the company anticipates earning third-party development fees for its role in providing development services for those components of the project. ON-CAMPUS AWARD PIPELINE1 Anticipated Anticipated Targeted Estimated Project Location Financing Structure Commencement Completion Fees Texas A&M University Corpus Christi2 Corpus Christi, TX Third-party n/a Q4 2017 $1,400 University of Illinois - Chicago Chicago, IL Third-party Q4 2017 Fall 2019 $5,100 University of Arizona Honors College3 Tucson, AZ Third-party Q4 2017 Fall 2019 $2,700 Louisville Village Site Louisville, KY ACE TBD Fall 2019 n/a University of California, Berkeley Berkeley, CA TBD TBD TBD TBD

Management Services Update ($ in thousands) 13 Three Months Ended September 30, Nine Months Ended September 30, 2017 2016 $ Change 2017 2016 $ Change Management services revenue $ 2,291 $ 2,376 $ (85) $ 7,193 $ 7,039 $ 154 % of total revenue 1.2% 1.2% 1.3% 1.2% NEW / PENDING MANAGEMENT CONTRACTS Actual or Approximate Stabilized Anticipated Project Location Primary University Served Beds Annual Fees1 Commencement Momentum Village Phase II Corpus Christi, TX Texas A&M University Corpus Christi 560 $ 180 August 2017 Esperanza Hall San Antonio, TX Texas A&M University San Antonio 382 100 August 2017 Collegeview Commons Phase II Ontario, Canada Conestoga College 513 50 September 2017 CampusOne2 Toronto, Canada University of Toronto 892 291 September 2017 Texas A&M University Corpus Christi Corpus Christi, TX Texas A&M University Corpus Christi 1,790 480 Q4 2017 Annex at Laurier3 Ontario, Canada University of Ottawa 503 150 August 2018 4,640 $ 1,251 DISCONTINUED MANAGEMENT CONTRACTS 2017 Fee Contribution Prior to Project Location Primary University Served Beds Termination Discontinued As Of Saban Real Estate Group4 Various Various 7,060 $ 278 March 2017 SUNO - New Orleans New Orleans, LA Southern University at New Orleans 698 75 June 2017 Indiana University - Purdue University Fort Wayne Fort Wayne, IN Indiana University - Purdue University Fort Wayne 1,204 150 September 2017 8,962 $ 503 1. Stabilized annual fees are dependent upon the achievement of anticipated occupancy levels. 2. The stabilized annual fee amount does not include an initial operations fee of $60,000 earned from February 2017 through August 2017. Subsequent to August 2017, the stabilized annual fee is anticipated to be approximately $291,000 per year. 3. The stabilized annual fee amount does not include an initial operations fee of $90,000 anticipated to be earned from July 2017 through July 2018. Subsequent to July 2018, the stabilized annual fee is anticipated to be approximately $150,000 per year. 4. In November 2016, the company sold a portfolio of 19 properties to Saban Real Estate Group. The company continued to manage 11 of the properties during a transition period subsequent to the sale for up to five months. The transition period concluded on March 31, 2017.

Capital Structure as of September 30, 2017 ($ in millions, except per share data) 14 Market Capitalization & Unsecured Notes Covenants Debt Maturity Schedule Total Debt1 $ 2,763 Total Equity Market Value2 6,104 Total Market Capitalization $ 8,867 Debt to Total Market Capitalization 31.2% Net Debt to EBITDA3 6.4x Total Asset Value4 $ 7,725 Unencumbered Asset Value $ 6,415 Unencumbered Asset Value to Total Asset Value 83.0% Requirement Current Ratio Total Debt to Total Asset Value ≤ 60% 35.8% Secured Debt to Total Asset Value ≤ 40% 8.4% Unencumbered Asset Value to Unsecured Debt > 150% 303.1% Interest Coverage3 > 1.5x 4.4x Weighted Average Principal Average Term To Outstanding1 Interest Rate Maturity Fixed Rate Mortgage Loans $ 524 4.8%5 3.6 Yrs Construction Loans 22 4.2% 2.3 Yrs Unsecured Revolving Credit Facility 266 2.4% 4.5 Yrs Unsecured Term Loans6 650 2.3% 2.7 Yrs Unsecured Notes 1,200 3.8% 5.1 Yrs On-Campus Participating Properties 101 5.0% 14.8 Yrs Total/Weighted Average $ 2,763 3.5% 4.5 Yrs Variable Rate Debt as % of Total Debt7 34.0% Note – refer to the definitions outlined on pages 20 and 21 for detailed definitions of terms appearing on this page. 1. Excludes net unamortized debt premiums related to mortgage loans assumed in connection with acquisitions of $20.7 million, unamortized original issue discount on unsecured notes of $1.7 million, and unamortized deferred financing costs of $15.8 million. 2. Based on share price of $44.15 and fully diluted share count of 138,261,100 as of September 30, 2017. Assumes conversion of 1,084,644 common and preferred Operating Partnership units and 813,728 unvested restricted stock awards. 3. Refer to calculations on page 15, including a reconciliation to net income and interest expense, the most directly comparable GAAP measures. 4. Excludes accumulated depreciation of $1.1 billion and receivables and intangible assets, net of accumulated amortization, of $61.9 million. 5. Including the amortization of net debt premiums related to mortgage loans assumed in connection with property acquisitions, the effective interest rate for fixed rate mortgage loans is 3.8%. 6. In September 2017, the company closed on a new $300 million term loan which matures in September 2018. Proceeds were used to fund the company's initial investments in the Core Spaces/DRW Portfolio as disclosed on pages 9 and 11. 7. The company's variable rate debt consists of the unsecured revolving credit facility, unsecured term loans and construction loans for presale developments. Weighted Average Interest Rate Of Debt Maturing Each Year Fixed Rate Mortgage Loans 6.3% 3.8% 0.0% 5.6% 5.2% 4.0% 0.0% 4.5% 0.0% 3.7% Total Debt 6.3% 2.8% 4.4% 3.6% 4.0% 2.5% 3.9% 4.3% 7.6% 3.9% +

Interest Coverage ($ in thousands) 15 Three Months Ended December 31, March 31, June 30, September 30, Last Twelve 2016 2017 2017 2017 Months Net income (loss) attributable to ACC, Inc. and Subsidiaries common stockholders $ 25,392 $ 34,050 $ (2,762) $ (1,312) $ 55,368 Net income attributable to noncontrolling interests 412 399 109 79 999 Interest expense 16,925 14,717 14,573 18,654 64,869 Income tax provision 115 257 267 267 906 Depreciation and amortization 51,901 52,323 55,943 61,125 221,292 Amortization of deferred financing costs 1,282 1,028 1,023 1,146 4,479 Share-based compensation 2,222 4,256 4,646 2,499 13,623 Provision for real estate impairment 4,895 — 15,317 — 20,212 Loss on early extinguishment of debt 12,841 — — — 12,841 (Gain) loss from disposition of real estate (3,788) — 632 — (3,156) Earnings Before Interest, Taxes, Depreciation, and Amortization ("EBITDA") $ 112,197 $ 107,030 $ 89,748 $ 82,458 $ 391,433 Pro-forma adjustments to EBITDA1 34,814 Adjusted EBITDA $ 426,247 Interest Expense from consolidated statement of comprehensive income $ 16,925 $ 14,717 $ 14,573 $ 18,654 $ 64,869 Amortization of mortgage debt premiums/discounts 2,454 2,010 2,010 2,113 8,587 Capitalized interest 3,302 4,411 5,677 3,455 16,845 Change in accrued interest payable 3,320 (2,203) 1,981 (4,048) (950) Cash Interest Expense $ 26,001 $ 18,935 $ 24,241 $ 20,174 $ 89,351 Pro-forma adjustments to Cash Interest Expense1 6,775 Adjusted Interest Expense $ 96,126 Interest Coverage 4.4x Note: refer to the definitions outlined on pages 20 and 21 for detailed definitions of terms appearing on this page. 1. Adjustment to reflect all acquisitions, development deliveries, dispositions, debt repayments and debt refinancings as if such transactions had occurred on the first day of the 12 month period presented.

Capital Allocation – Long Term Funding Plan ($ in millions) 16 Sources and Uses for Acquisition and Development Pipelines - As of September 30, 2017 Estimated Project Total Costs Remaining Estimated Capital Uses: Cost Incurred Capital Needs Acquisition and Development Pipeline1: 2017 Acquisition of Bridges @ 11th - Subsequent to September 30, 2017 $ 64 $ — $ 64 2018 Developments Underway2 433 194 239 2019 Developments Underway or Expected to Start in Current Year 293 53 240 Core Spaces / DRW Portfolio Transaction: Core Spaces / DRW Acquisition - 2017 Funding3 306 265 41 Core Spaces / DRW Acquisition - 2018 Funding4 131 — 131 Core Spaces / DRW Acquisition - 2019 Funding5 154 — 154 Total $ 1,381 $ 512 $ 869 Estimated Sources: Capital Sources Cash and Cash Equivalents as of September 30, 2017 $ 16 Estimated Cash Flow Available for Investment - through 20196 130 Targeted Asset Dispositions and/or Joint Ventures through 20197 400 - 450 Remaining Capital Needs8 323 - 273 Total $ 869 Selected Credit Metrics9 Credit Metric: September 30, 2017 Pro Forma10 Total Debt to Total Asset Value 35.8% 34.7% - 38.5% Net Debt to EBITDA11 6.4x 5.8x - 6.6x Note: This analysis demonstrates anticipated funding for the developments currently underway or with expected starts in the current year. Estimated Capital Uses also includes acquisitions completed for which the company has expected future funding commitments. As future developments commence or acquisitions occur, they are expected to be funded via additional dispositions, free cash available for investment, and capital market transactions. 1. Includes development projects under construction, and management’s Estimated Project Cost for future development deliveries that are expected to commence construction during the current year, as disclosed on page 10. Also includes the purchase price of completed acquisitions. 2. Includes the presale development project The Edge - Stadium Centre, as disclosed on page 11. 3. Includes Core Spaces/DRW Portfolio acquisition, as disclosed on page 9, and the initial investments in the joint ventures with Core Spaces/DRW Real Estate Investments, as disclosed on page 11. 4. Includes the additional investment in the joint venture with Core Spaces/DRW Real Estate Investments to be made upon delivery of the assets, as disclosed on page 11. 5. Includes the exercise of the option to purchase the remaining interest in the joint ventures with Core Spaces/DRW Real Estate Investments as disclosed on pages 9 and 11. 6. Available cash flow is derived from disclosures in our 2016 Form 10-K and is calculated as net cash provided by operating activities of $308.1 million less dividend payments of $218.7 million, less principal payments on debt of $15.1 million, less recurring capital expenditures of $16.4 million. Calculation results in available cash flow for investment in 2016 of $57.9 million, which is then annualized over the remaining 9 quarters through the end of 2019. 7. Dispositions and/or joint ventures are targeted for core assets with assumed nominal cap rates ranging from 4.25% - 5.0%. 8. Remaining capital needs are expected to come from a mix of debt, equity, and dispositions. 9. Refer to definitions outlined on pages 20 and 21 for detailed definitions of terms appearing on this page. 10. Ratios represent the pro forma impact of development deliveries and funding alternatives assumed in the Sources and Uses table. The lower end of the pro forma leverage ranges assumes remaining capital needs are funded with equity, while the higher end assumes funding with debt. Actual ratios will vary based on the timing of construction funding and ultimate mix of sources from debt, equity, or dispositions. 11. Refer to page 15 for a reconciliation of EBITDA to net income, the most directly comparable GAAP measure.

2017 Outlook - Summary1 ($ in thousands, except share and per share data) 17 Prior Current2 Low High Low High Net income $ 103,400 $ 116,500 $ 92,900 $ 98,700 Noncontrolling interests 1,700 1,900 1,100 1,200 Loss from disposition of real estate3 — — 650 650 Elimination of provision for real estate impairment4 — — 15,300 15,300 Depreciation and amortization 211,700 211,700 217,600 217,600 Funds from operations ("FFO") $ 316,800 $ 330,100 $ 327,550 $ 333,450 Elimination of operations from on-campus participating properties (11,700) (12,100) (11,750) (12,350) Contribution from on-campus participating properties 4,100 4,700 4,200 4,400 Contractual executive separation and retirement charges5 4,550 4,550 4,500 4,500 Property acquisition costs6 — — 2,850 2,850 Elimination of effect of transfer of asset to lender7 — — (15,200) (15,200) Funds from operations - modified ("FFOM") $ 313,750 $ 327,250 $ 312,150 $ 317,650 Net income per share - diluted $ 0.76 $ 0.86 $ 0.68 $ 0.72 FFO per share - diluted $ 2.34 $ 2.44 $ 2.39 $ 2.43 FFOM per share - diluted $ 2.32 $ 2.42 $ 2.28 $ 2.32 Weighted-average common shares outstanding - diluted 135,500,000 135,500,000 137,100,000 137,100,000 1. The company believes that the financial results for the fiscal year ending December 31, 2017 may be affected by, among other factors: • national and regional economic trends and events; • the timing of acquisitions and/or dispositions; • interest rate risk; • the timing of commencement of construction on owned development projects; • the ability of the company to be awarded and the timing of the commencement of construction on third-party development projects; • university enrollment, funding and policy trends; • the ability of the company to earn third-party management revenues; • the amount of income recognized by the taxable REIT subsidiaries and any corresponding income tax expense; • the ability of the company to integrate acquired properties; • the outcome of legal proceedings arising in the normal course of business; and • the finalization of property tax rates and assessed values in certain jurisdictions. 2. Refer to page 18 for details on changes in assumptions used to determine the revised guidance range. 3. Represents loss from one property disposed of during the second quarter of 2017. Refer to page 9. 4. Represents an impairment charge recorded in the second quarter of 2017 for one-wholly owned property currently in receivership that is in the process of being transferred to the lender in settlement of the property's $27.4 million mortgage loan that matured in August 2017. 5. Represents contractual executive separation and retirement charges incurred with regard to the retirement of the company's former Chief Financial Officer, recognized in the first and second quarter 2017. 6. Represents transaction costs related to our initial investment in the Core Spaces/DRW transaction. Refer to pages 9 and 11. 7. Includes a $27.4 million gain on the extinguishment of debt of one wholly-owned property being transferred to the lender in settlement of the property's mortgage loan as described above, and a $12.2 million loss expected to be incurred as a result of the transfer.

2017 Property Net Operating Income Prior Current Significant Changes From Previous Guidance Low High Low High Property net operating income revised to reflect: Wholly-owned properties: • Removal of one property from the original 2017 same store group due to the property’s anticipated transfer to the lender in Q4 2017 in settlement of the property’s $27.4 million mortgage loan that matured in August 2017. The property’s anticipated contribution to 2017 net operating income is currently included in 2017 dispositions net operating income. 2017 same store properties1 Revenue $ 669,100 $ 673,800 $ 662,000 $ 663,000 Operating expenses (299,100) (297,600) (300,000) (298,100) • Completion of lease-up for 2017/2018 academic year and year to date property operating performance. Net operating income 370,000 376,200 362,000 364,900 • $2.6 million in lost same store net operating income due to an additional $2.0 million in expenses incurred as a result of hurricanes Harvey and Irma, beds damaged by a fire at one wholly-owned property and beds not available for occupancy at one wholly-owned property due to renovation activity during the summer months. 2017 new properties net operating income 34,400 35,500 42,000 42,500 • Timing and amount of acquisition activity. 2017 dispositions net operating income 600 600 1,600 1,600 Total wholly-owned properties net operating income $ 405,000 $ 412,300 $ 405,600 $ 409,000 2017 same store net operating income growth 3.6% 5.3% 1.6% 2.4% Excluding the $2.6 million of lost same store net operating income discussed above, same store net operating income growth would be 2.3% at the low end and 3.1% at the high end.AY 2017/2018 final leasing results - occupancy 96.55% 98.75% 96.6% AY 2017/2018 final leasing results - rental rate 3.15% 2.65% 2.9% Dispositions2 $25,600 $53,000 Development deliveries $603,100 $609,200 Third-party Services Prior Current Low High Low High Third-party development services revenue $ 6,200 $ 9,600 $ 11,000 $ 11,100 Current third-party development services revenue amount assumes all remaining awarded projects targeting commencement in 2017 will close and commence construction during the fourth quarter of 2017.Third-party management services revenue $ 9,600 $ 10,400 $ 9,400 $ 9,600 Third-party development and mgmt. services expenses $ (15,000) $ (15,500) $ (15,500) $ (15,100) Corporate Expenses and Other Prior Current Low High Low High Net income: General and administrative expenses $ 27,400 $ 27,800 $ 31,200 $ 30,500 Current range for general and administrative expenses includes $2.9 million of acquisition costs for the Core Spaces/DRW transaction which are added back for purposes of calculating FFOM (refer to page 4).Ground/facility leases expense: ACE properties 6,900 6,900 7,100 7,100 On-campus participating properties 2,700 3,100 2,700 2,900 Total ground/facility leases expense 9,600 10,000 9,800 10,000 Interest income3 4,100 5,000 4,900 4,900 Interest expense4 60,600 59,500 65,800 65,500 Interest expense and amortization of deferred financing costs have been revised to reflect the issuance of the new $300 million term loan in September 2017 to finance the initial investment in the Core Spaces/DRW transaction, the timing of the October 2017 $400 million bond issuance approximately two months earlier than anticipated, and an additional $0.9 million of unanticipated interest expense related to the property in receivership incurred while working with the lender to finalize the transfer of the property in settlement of the property's $27.4 million mortgage loan. Capitalized interest 16,400 16,300 16,000 16,000 Amortization of deferred financing costs3 4,000 4,000 4,500 4,500 Income tax provision 1,100 1,100 1,100 1,100 FFOM: Corporate depreciation 3,600 3,200 3,700 3,700 Contribution from on-campus participating properties 4,100 4,700 4,200 4,400 Contractual executive separation and retirement charges5 4,550 4,550 4,500 4,500 Property acquisition costs — — 2,850 2,850 2017 Outlook - Changes from Previous Guidance ($ in thousands, except share and per share data) 18 1. Refer to page 19 for detail of the 2017 same store and new property groupings. 2. Includes the disposition of one wholly-owned property disposed of during the second quarter of 2017, and one wholly-owned property currently in receivership that is in the process of being transferred to the lender in settlement of the property's $27.4 million mortgage loan. 3. Excludes on-campus participating properties. 4. Net of capitalized interest and excluding on-campus participating properties. 5. Represents contractual executive separation and retirement charges incurred with regard to the retirement of the company's former Chief Financial Officer, recognized in the first and second quarter 2017.

Detail of Property Groupings As of September 30, 2017 19 2017 Grouping 2018 Grouping Same Store Properties New Properties Same Store Properties New Properties # of Design # of Design # of Design # of Design Properties Beds Properties Beds Properties Beds Properties Beds Properties Purchased or Developed Prior to January 1, 2016 124 73,871 124 73,871 2016 Development Deliveries 7 3,191 7 3,191 2016 Acquisition Properties 2 709 2 709 2017 Acquisition Properties 5 3,010 5 3,010 2017 Development Deliveries 10 7,454 10 7,454 2018 Development Deliveries 10 6,986 10 6,986 2019 Development Deliveries 2 1,320 2 1,320 Total Wholly-owned Properties 124 73,871 36 22,670 133 77,771 27 18,770 Total # of Wholly-owned Properties Excluded1 1 Total Wholly-owned Design Beds Excluded1 860 Grand Total # of Wholly-owned Properties (All Groupings) 161 Grand Total Wholly-owned Design Beds (All Groupings) 97,401 Note on Property Portfolio: When disclosing our number of properties and design beds as of a certain date, we include all properties that are owned and operating as of that date, as well as properties that are under construction and anticipated to open for operations in future years. Properties that are in our development pipeline but have not yet commenced construction are not included. 2017: The 2017 same store grouping represents properties owned and operating for both of the entire calendar years ended December 31, 2017 and 2016, which are not conducting or planning to conduct substantial development, redevelopment, or repositioning activities, and are not classified as held for sale as of September 30, 2017. This same store grouping will be used for purposes of presenting our 2017 same store operating results. 2018: The 2018 same store grouping represents properties owned and operating for both of the entire calendar years ended December 31, 2018 and 2017. This same store grouping will be used for purposes of presenting our 2018 same store operating results and our final leasing results for the 2017/2018 academic year. 1. Includes a wholly-owned property that is in the process of being transferred to the lender in settlement of the property's $27.4 million mortgage loan that matured in August 2017.

Definitions ACE The company’s American Campus Equity program, whereby the company enters into long-term ground/facility lease agreements with Universities to invest our capital and to develop, own, and operate on-campus student housing communities. Properties under this structure are considered to be wholly-owned and are included in the company's consolidated financial statements. Adjusted EBITDA* EBITDA, including pro forma adjustments to reflect acquisitions, development deliveries, and dispositions as if such transactions had occurred on the first day of the 12-month period presented. Adjusted Interest Expense* Interest Expense, including pro forma adjustments to reflect acquisitions, development deliveries, dispositions, debt repayments, and debt refinancings as if such transactions had occurred on the first day of the 12-month period presented. Cash Cash and cash equivalents, determined on a consolidated basis in accordance with GAAP. Cash Interest Expense* Consolidated interest expense calculated in accordance with GAAP, plus amounts which have been deducted and minus amounts which have been added for, without duplication: (i) the amortization of mark-to-market premiums/discounts on mortgage loans assumed in connection with acquisitions; (ii) capitalized interest; and (iii) the change in accrued interest during the period presented. Design Beds Total beds based on the original property design, generally as specified in the construction documents. EBITDA* Consolidated net income calculated in accordance with GAAP, plus amounts which have been deducted and minus amounts which have been added for, without duplication: (i) interest expense; (ii) provision for income taxes; (iii) depreciation, amortization and all other non- cash items; (iv) provision for gains and losses; (v) noncontrolling interests; and (vi) extraordinary and other non-recurring items, as we determine in good faith. Funds from Operations (”FFO”) Determined based on the definition adopted by the Board of Governors of the National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts (“NAREIT”). Calculated as consolidated net income or loss attributable to common shares computed in accordance with GAAP, excluding gains or losses from depreciable operating property sales, plus real estate depreciation and amortization, and after adjustments for unconsolidated partnerships and joint ventures. Also excludes non-cash impairment charges. FFO Modified (”FFOM”) FFO modified to reflect certain adjustments related to the economic performance of our on-campus participating properties, and the elimination of property acquisition costs, contractual executive separation and retirement charges and other non-cash items, as we determine in good faith. The company believes it is meaningful to eliminate the FFO generated from the on-campus participating properties and instead to reflect the company's 50% share of the properties' net cash flow and management and development fees received, as this measure better reflects the economic benefit derived from the company's involvement in the operation of these properties. * These definitions are provided for purposes of calculating the company’s unsecured notes covenants and other key ratios. 20

Definitions GAAP Accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America. Interest Coverage* Adjusted EBITDA / Adjusted Interest Expense. Net Debt* Total Debt less Cash. Net Debt to EBITDA* Net Debt divided by Adjusted EBITDA. Net Operating Income “NOI” Property revenues less direct property operating expenses, excluding depreciation, but including allocated corporate general and administrative expenses. On-campus Participating Properties A transaction structure whereby the company enters into long-term ground/facility lease agreements with Universities to develop, construct, and operate student housing communities. Under the terms of the leases, title to the constructed facilities is held by the University/lessor and such lessor receives 50% of net cash flows, as defined, on an annual basis through the term of the lease. Physical Occupancy Occupied beds, including staff accommodations, divided by Design Beds. Rentable Beds Design beds less beds used by on-site staff. Same Store Grouping Wholly-owned properties owned and operating for both of the entire annual periods presented, which are not conducting or planning to conduct substantial development or redevelopment, or repositioning activities, and are not classified as held for sale as of the current period-end. Secured Debt* The portion of Total Debt that is secured by a mortgage, trust, deed of trust, deed to secure indebtedness, pledge, security interest, assignment of collateral, or any other security agreement. Total Asset Value* Undepreciated book value of real estate assets and all other assets, excluding receivables and intangibles, of our consolidated subsidiaries, all determined in accordance with GAAP. Total Debt* Total consolidated debt calculated in accordance with GAAP, including capital leases and excluding mark-to-market premiums/discounts on mortgage loans assumed in connection with acquisitions, the original issued discount on unsecured notes, and deferred financing costs. Total Equity Market Value Fully diluted common shares times the company’s stock price at period-end. Unencumbered Asset Value* The sum of (i) the undepreciated book value of real estate assets which are not subject to secured debt; and (ii) all other assets, excluding accounts receivable and intangibles, for such properties. Does not include assets of unconsolidated joint ventures. Unsecured Debt* The portion of Total Debt that is not Secured Debt. * These definitions are provided for purposes of calculating the company’s unsecured notes covenants and other key ratios. 21

Investor Information Corporate Headquarters Investor Relations American Campus Communities, Inc. Tel: (512) 732-1000 Ryan Dennison (512) 732-1000 12700 Hill Country Blvd., Suite T-200 Fax: (512) 732-2450 SVP, Capital Markets and Investor Relations rdennison@americancampus.com Austin, Texas 78738 www.americancampus.com Executive Management Bill Bayless Chief Executive Officer Jim Hopke President Jennifer Beese Chief Operating Officer Daniel Perry Chief Financial Officer William Talbot Chief Investment Officer Kim Voss Chief Accounting Officer Research Coverage Jacob Kilstein Argus Research Company (646) 747-5447 jkilstein@argusresearch.com Jeffery Spector / Juan Sanabria Bank of America / Merrill Lynch (646) 855-1363 / (646) 855-1589 jeff.spector@baml.com / juan.sanabria@baml.com Michael Bilerman / Nick Joseph Citigroup Equity Research (212) 816-1383 / (212) 816-1909 michael.bilerman@citi.com / nicholas.joseph@citi.com Vincent Chao / Vlad Rudnytsky Deutsche Bank Securities, Inc. (212) 250-6799 / (212) 250-6090 vincent.chao@db.com / vlad.rudnytsky@db.com Steve Sakwa / Gwen Clark Evercore ISI (212) 446-9462 / (212) 446-5611 steve.sakwa@evercoreisi.com / gwen.clark@evercoreisi.com David Corak FBR & Co. (703) 312-1610 dcorak@fbr.com Andrew Rosivach / Jeff Pehl Goldman Sachs (212) 902-2796 / (212) 357-4474 andrew.rosivach@gs.com / jeffrey.pehl@gs.com Ryan Burke Green Street Advisors (949) 640-8780 rburke@greenst.com Carol Kemple Hilliard Lyons (502) 588-1839 ckemple@hilliard.com Aaron Hecht JMP Securities (415) 835-3963 ahecht@jmpsecurities.com Anthony Paolone / Nikita Bely J.P. Morgan Securities (212) 622-6682 / (212) 622-0695 anthony.paolone@jpmorgan.com / nikita.bely@jpmorgan.com Jordan Sadler / Austin Wurschmidt KeyBanc Capital Markets (917) 368-2280 / (917) 368-2311 jsadler@keybanccm.com / awurschmidt@key.com Drew Babin Robert W. Baird & Co. (610) 238-6634 dbabin@rwbaird.com Alexander Goldfarb / Daniel Santos Sandler O'Neill + Partners, L.P. (212) 466-7937 / (212) 466-7927 agoldfarb@sandleroneill.com / dsantos@sandleroneill.com American Campus Communities, Inc. is followed by the analysts listed above. Please note that any opinions, estimates or forecasts regarding American Campus Communities, Inc.'s performance made by such analysts are theirs alone and do not represent the opinions, forecasts or predictions of the company or its management. American Campus Communities, Inc. does not by its reference above or distribution imply its endorsement of or concurrence with such information, conclusions or recommendations. 22

Forward-looking Statements and Non-GAAP Financial Measures In addition to historical information, this supplemental package contains forward-looking statements under the applicable federal securities law. These statements are based on management’s current expectations and assumptions regarding markets in which American Campus Communities operates, operational strategies, anticipated events and trends, the economy, and other future conditions. Forward-looking statements are not guarantees of future performance and involve certain risks and uncertainties, which are difficult to predict. For discussions of some risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from those expressed or implied by the forward-looking statements, please refer to our filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2016 under the heading “Risk Factors” and under the heading “Business - Forward-looking Statements” and subsequent quarterly reports on Form 10-Q. We undertake no obligation to publicly update any forward-looking statements, including our expected 2017 operating results, whether as a result of new information, future events, or otherwise. This presentation contains certain financial information not derived in accordance with United States generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”). These items include earnings before interest, tax, depreciation and amortization (“EBITDA”), net operating income (“NOI”), funds from operations (“FFO”) and FFO-Modified (“FFOM”). Refer to definitions outlined on pages 20 and 21 for a detailed explanation of terms appearing in the supplement. The Company presents this financial information because it considers each item an important supplemental measure of its operating performance and believes it is frequently used by securities analysts, investors and other interested parties in the evaluation of REITs. These measures should not be considered as alternatives to net income or loss computed in accordance with GAAP as an indicator of the Company's financial performance or to cash flow from operating activities computed in accordance with GAAP as an indicator of its liquidity, nor are these measures indicative of funds available to fund its cash needs, including its ability to pay dividends or make distributions.