Exhibit 99.1 2011/2012 Leasing Status :: wholly-owned properties – summary Current Year Prior Year Applications + Leases Applications + Leases1 % of Rentable Beds Applications + Leases1 % of Rentable Beds Rentable Beds2  Design Beds  Final Fall 2010 Occupancy3 Same Store Wholly-owned Properties 35,738 79.1% 33,816 74.8% 45,180 45,915 98.5%  New Wholly-owned Properties5 10,699 82.1% 6,465 68.9% 6 13,034 13,233 96.6% 6 Wholly-owned Properties-Total 46,437 79.8% 40,281 73.8% 6 58,214 59,148 98.1% 6 Current Year Prior Year Leases Leases1 % of Rentable Beds Leases1 % of Rentable Beds Rentable Beds2 Design Beds Final Fall 2010 Occupancy3 Initial Rate Increase Projected Rate Increase4  Same Store Wholly-owned Properties 32,306 71.5%  31,146 68.9%  45,180 45,915 98.5% 2.7% 2.9% New Wholly-owned Properties510,009 76.8% 6,095 65.0% 6 13,034 13,233 96.6% 6 2.7% 3.3% Wholly-owned Properties-Total 42,315 72.7% 37,241 68.3% 6 58,214 59,148   98.1% 6 2.7% 2.9% 1 As of April 8, 2011 for current year and April 8, 2010 for prior year. 2 Rentable beds exclude beds needed for on-site staff. 3 As of September 30, 2010. 4 Projected rate increase is based on current executed leases and assumes all future leases are executed at currently marketed rates up to targeted occupancy. 5 Includes the following properties:  University Heights, which was purchased from one of the Fidelity joint ventures in March 2010;  Campus Trails, a property that incurred business interruption due to significant property damage resulting from a fire in April 2010; Sanctuary Lofts, which was purchased in July 2010, and Jefferson 2nd Avenue, which was purchased in December 2010.  Also includes 14 properties purchased in September and November 2010 from two joint ventures with Fidelity in which we previously held a 10% interest, as well as 3 properties currently under construction and anticipated to open for occupancy in Fall 2011. 6 Properties not owned or under ACC management during the prior year are excluded for purposes of calculating the prior year percentage of rentable beds and final Fall 2010 occupancy.