Exhibit 99.1
News release via Canada NewsWire, Calgary 403-269-7605

    Attention Business Editors:
    Star Diamond Project: Diamond results

    8.23, 5.04 and 4.75 carat diamonds in 190 carat parcel

    Stock Symbol: SGF: TSX

    SASKATOON, April 3 /CNW/ - George H. Read, P. Geo., Senior Vice President
Exploration and Development, is pleased to announce the eighth set of diamond
results from Phase 2 of the underground bulk sample (Phase 1 is the original
25,000 tonne bulk sample) collected from the Star Kimberlite as part of the
prefeasibility study. The aim of this additional bulk sample is to increase
the size of the diamond valuation parcel from 4,000 to 6,000 carats. The
diamond recoveries total 190.44 carats from 1191.53 dry tonnes processed.
Included in this release are results for six kimberlite batches of a total of
some 80 kimberlite batches that will be processed as part of the Phase 2 bulk
sampling program on the Star Diamond Project. A total of 1,093 commercial
sized diamonds (greater than 1.18 millimetre square mesh screen), collectively
weighing 189.98 carats, has been recovered from the six batches. Thirty
diamonds greater than one carat have been recovered and the four largest
stones are: 8.23, 5.04, 4.75, and 4.57 carats, respectively. In addition, 24
diamonds (0.46 carats) were recovered down to 0.85 millimetre square mesh. The
colour of 68 percent of these diamonds has been classified as white, with a
further 12 percent classified as off-white.
    Five of these kimberlite batches have been recovered from the Early Joli
Fou Kimberlite, which was mined to the south of the shaft (Batches 130, 132,
133 and 134) and on the ramp from the 235 metre level to the drill station on
the 215 metre level (Batch 131). Batch 135 was recovered from Mid Joli Fou
Kimberlite, which combined with the small sample size, explains the lower
grade (6.64 cpht) of this batch. Phase 2 of the underground bulk sampling has
been completed and over 17,000 tonnes have been processed through the on-site
plant. The X-ray Flow-sort and grease table concentrates of Batches 136, 137,
138, 139, 140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145A and 145B have been shipped to SGS
Lakefield Research for final diamond recovery.
    Kimberlite processed and diamond results for the six sample batches are
listed in the table below. Grades are expressed in carats per hundred tonnes
(cpht).

    <<
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                      Diamonds                       Largest
    Batch                            Number of     Total     Grade     Stone
    No.    Location       Dry Tonnes    Stones   (carats)    (cpht)  (carats)
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    130    SOUTH 5B           346.40       291     41.96     12.11      2.06
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    131    SOUTH 16F          296.29       316     63.38     21.39      8.23
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    132    SOUTH 11A
            SILL SLASH        151.26       119     23.72     15.68      4.75
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    133    SOUTH 11B
            SILL SLASH        197.67       182     31.62     16.00      2.92
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    134    SOUTH 9 SILL
            SLASH             115.01       144     24.12     20.97      2.53
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    135    SOUTH 3-2
            SILL SLASH         84.90        65      5.64      6.64      0.63
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Total                   1,191.53     1,117    190.44     15.98
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------

    The four largest stones are: 8.23 (Batch 131, White), 5.04 (Batch 131,
White), 4.75 (Batch 132, White) and 4.57 (Batch 131, White) carats,
respectively. Eleven diamonds exceed two carats and 30 diamonds exceed one
carat, of which 18 are white, 3 are off-white, 7 are grey and 2 are brown. A
total of 67 diamonds exceed 0.5 carat. Sixty-eight percent of this diamond
parcel is classified white in colour, with a further 12 percent classified as
off-white. The diamond parcel includes five amber stones. Ninety-nine percent
of the carat weight of this parcel occurs in diamonds greater than
1.18 millimetre square mesh.
    Senior Vice President Exploration and Development, George Read, states:
"On-site processing of the kimberlite batches of Phase 2 of the underground
development is near completion. The final sets of Phase 2 results are
anticipated before the end of April. Planning of Phase 3 of the underground
development is at an advanced stage and the commencement of Phase 3, which
will include bulk sampling of the Cantuar and Pense Kimberlite, is imminent.
The collection of prefeasibility data which will be used to determine the
presence of a National Instrument 43-101 compliant Mineral Resource is
proceeding on schedule."
    The diamond recovery procedure includes on-site processing of kimberlite
through the modular Dense Media Separator (DMS), after which DMS concentrates
are batch fed through an X-ray Flow-sort. In order to ensure the recovery of
low luminosity diamonds, the Flow-sort tailings are processed over a grease
table. Flow-sort and grease table concentrates are transported by a secure
carrier to SGS Lakefield Research for final diamond recovery. The SGS
Lakefield Research process includes drying, screening, magnetic separation,
manual sorting and diamond weighing and description. SGS Lakefield Research is
accredited to the ISO/IEC 17025 standard by the Standards Council of Canada as
a testing laboratory for specific tests.
    The prefeasibility study on Star, with a budget of approximately
$44 million, is now the largest work program outlined for any of the Fort a la
Corne kimberlites. The aim of the prefeasibility study is to define a National
Instrument 43-101 compliant Mineral Reserve for the Star Kimberlite. Senior
Vice President Exploration and Development, George Read, Professional
Geoscientist in the Provinces of Saskatchewan and British Columbia, is the
Qualified Person responsible for the verification and quality assurance of
analytical results. Shore is a Canadian based corporation engaged in the
acquisition, exploration and development of mineral properties. Shares of the
Company trade on the TSX Exchange under the trading symbol "SGF".

    Caution Regarding Forward-Looking Statements

    From time to time, Shore makes written or oral forward-looking statements
within the meaning of certain securities laws, including the "safe harbour"
provisions of the Ontario Securities Act and the United States Private
Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Shore may make such statements in
this press release, in other filings with Canadian regulators or the United
States Securities and Exchange Commission, in reports to shareholders or in
other communications. These forward-looking statements include, among others,
statements with respect to Shore's objectives for the ensuing year, our medium
and long-term goals, and strategies to achieve those objectives and goals, as
well as statements with respect to our beliefs, plans, objectives,
expectations, anticipations, estimates and intentions. The words "may,"
"could," "should," "would," "suspect," "outlook," "believe," "plan,"
"anticipate," "estimate," "expect," "intend," and words and expressions of
similar import are intended to identify forward-looking statements. In
particular, statements regarding Shore's future operations, future exploration
and development activities or the anticipated results of Shore's pre-
feasibility study or other development plans contain forward-looking
statements.
    All forward-looking statements and information are based on Shore's
current beliefs as well as assumptions made by and information currently
available to Shore concerning anticipated financial performance, business
prospects, strategies, regulatory developments, development plans,
exploration, development and mining activities and commitments. Although
management considers these assumptions to be reasonable based on information
currently available to it, they may prove to be incorrect.
    By their very nature, forward-looking statements involve inherent risks
and uncertainties, both general and specific, and risks exist that
predictions, forecasts, projections and other forward-looking statements will
not be achieved. We caution readers not to place undue reliance on these
statements as a number of important factors could cause the actual results to
differ materially from the beliefs, plans, objectives, expectations,
anticipations, estimates and intentions expressed in such forward-looking
statements. These factors include, but are not limited to, developments in
world diamond markets, changes in diamond valuations, risks relating to
fluctuations in the Canadian dollar and other currencies relative to the US
dollar, changes in exploration, development or mining plans due to exploration
results and changing budget priorities of Shore or its joint venture partners;
the effects of competition in the markets in which Shore operates; the impact
of changes in the laws and regulations regulating mining exploration and
development; judicial or regulatory judgments and legal proceedings;
operational and infrastructure risks and the additional risks described in
Shore's most recently filed Annual Information Form, annual and interim MD&A
and short form prospectus, and Shore's anticipation of and success in managing
the foregoing risks.
    Shore cautions that the foregoing list of factors that may affect future
results is not exhaustive. When relying on our forward-looking statements to
make decisions with respect to Shore, investors and others should carefully
consider the foregoing factors and other uncertainties and potential events.
Shore does not undertake to update any forward-looking statement, whether
written or oral, that may be made from time to time by Shore or on our behalf.

    >>
    %CIK: 0001283176

    /For further information: please contact: Kenneth E. MacNeill, President
& C.E.O.; George H. Read, P. Geo., Senior Vice President Exploration and
Development or Pieter Du Plessis, Vice President Exploration at
(306) 664-2202/
    (SGF.)

CO:  Shore Gold Inc.

CNW 18:26e 03-APR-06