Exhibit 99.1

Media Contact:	Investor Relations Contact:
Tim Deighton	List Underwood
(205) 264-4551	(205) 801-0265

Regions Reaches Agreement with IRS

Will benefit from approximately $275 million reduction in tax expense;

Company sets target for non-performing asset sales

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – (BUSINESS WIRE) – December 22, 2008 – Regions Financial Corporation today announced that it has reached an agreement with the Internal Revenue Service establishing the amount of its federal tax liabilities through 2006. The result of the agreement is an approximate $275 million earnings benefit from a reduction in its income tax expense for the fourth quarter of 2008. Because Regions has previously made deposits with the Service, the agreement does not require any additional payments.

The agreement with the IRS includes matters related to Regions’ real estate investment structures and covers Regions’ tax returns for tax years 1999 through 2006. The agreement resolves a broad range of tax issues for Regions and all of its predecessor companies, including Union Planters Corp. and AmSouth Bancorporation.

“We commend the Service for its diligence and rigorous process in resolving multiple tax years quickly, efficiently and fairly,” said Irene Esteves, Regions’ chief financial officer.

Separately, during the fourth quarter the company has decided to sell non-performing assets, targeting an increase in the range of $500 million to $600 million and increasing its loan loss provision above net charge-offs to reflect the accelerating economic weakness. Regions expects this effort to result in a lower level of non-performing assets, a higher allowance for credit losses, and improved coverage ratios at year end compared with the levels reported at September 30, 2008.

About Regions Financial Corporation

Regions Financial Corporation is a member of the S&P 100 Index and Forbes Magazine’s “Platinum 400” list of America’s best big companies. With $144 billion in assets, Regions is one of the nation’s largest full-service providers of consumer and commercial banking, trust, securities brokerage, mortgage and insurance products and services. Regions serves customers in 16 states across the South, Midwest and Texas, and through its subsidiary, Regions Bank, operates over 1,900 banking offices and approximately 2,400 ATMs. Its investment and securities brokerage trust and asset management division, Morgan Keegan & Company Inc., provides services from some 400 offices. Additional information about Regions and its full line of products and services can be found at www.regions.com.

Forward-looking statements

This press release may include forward-looking statements which reflect Regions’ current views with respect to future events and financial performance. The Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 (“the Act”) provides a “safe harbor” for forward-looking statements which are identified as such and are accompanied by the identification of important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from the forward-looking statements. For these statements, we, together with our subsidiaries, unless the context implies otherwise, claim the protection afforded by the safe harbor in the Act. Forward-looking statements are not based on historical information, but rather are related to future operations, strategies, financial results or other developments. Forward-looking statements are based on management’s expectations as well as certain assumptions and estimates made by, and information available to, management at the time the statements are made. Those statements are based on general assumptions and are subject to various risks, uncertainties and other factors that may cause actual results to differ materially from the views, beliefs and projections expressed in such statements. These risks, uncertainties and other factors include, but are not limited to, those described below:

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Congress recently enacted the Emergency Economic Stabilization Act of 2008, and the U.S. Treasury and banking regulators are implementing a number of programs to address capital and liquidity issues in the banking system, all of which may have significant effects on Regions and the financial services industry, the exact nature and extent of which cannot be determined at this time.

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Possible other changes in trade, monetary and fiscal policies, laws and regulations, and other activities of governments, agencies, and similar organizations, including changes in accounting standards, may have an adverse effect on business.

•	The current stresses in the financial and residential real estate markets, including possible continued deterioration in residential property values.

•	Regions’ ability to manage fluctuations in the value of assets and liabilities and off-balance sheet exposure so as to maintain sufficient capital and liquidity to support Regions’ business.

•	Regions’ ability to achieve the earnings expectations related to businesses that have been acquired or that may be acquired in the future.

•	Regions’ ability to expand into new markets and to maintain profit margins in the face of competitive pressures.

•	Regions’ ability to develop competitive new products and services in a timely manner and the acceptance of such products and services by Regions’ customers and potential customers.

•	Regions’ ability to keep pace with technological changes.

•	Regions’ ability to effectively manage interest rate risk, market risk, credit risk, operational risk, legal risk, liquidity risk, and regulatory and compliance risk.

•	The cost and other effects of material contingencies, including litigation contingencies.

•	The effects of increased competition from both banks and non-banks.

•	Possible changes in interest rates may increase funding costs and reduce earning asset yields, thus reducing margins.

•	Possible changes in general economic and business conditions in the United States in general and in the communities Regions serves in particular.

•	Possible changes in the creditworthiness of customers and the possible impairment of collectability of loans.

•	The effects of geopolitical instability and risks such as terrorist attacks.

•	Possible changes in consumer and business spending and saving habits could affect Regions’ ability to increase assets and to attract deposits.

•	The effects of weather and natural disasters such as droughts and hurricanes.

The foregoing list of factors is not exhaustive; for discussion of these and other risks that may cause actual results to differ from expectations, please look under the caption “Forward-Looking Statements” in Regions Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2007, and Forms 10-Q for the quarters ended September 30, 2008, June 30, 2008, and March 31, 2008, as on file with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

The words “believe,” “expect,” “anticipate,” “project,” and similar expressions often signify forward-looking statements. You should not place undue reliance on any forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date made. Regions assumes no obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statements that are made from time to time.

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