Baytex Energy Corp.
Q4 2012 MD&A    Page 1

Exhibit 99.2
BAYTEX ENERGY CORP.
Management’s Discussion and Analysis
For the three months and year ended December 31, 2012
Dated March 6, 2013

The following is management’s discussion and analysis (“MD&A”) of the operating and financial results of Baytex Energy Corp. for the three months and year ended December 31, 2012. This information is provided as of March 6, 2013. In this MD&A, references to “Baytex”, the “Company”, “we”, “us” and “our” and similar terms refer to Baytex Energy Corp. and its subsidiaries on a consolidated basis, except where the context requires otherwise. The fourth quarter results have been compared with the corresponding period in 2011. This MD&A should be read in conjunction with the Company’s condensed interim unaudited consolidated financial statements (“consolidated financial statements”) for the three months and years ended December 31, 2012 and 2011, its audited consolidated comparative financial statements for the years ended December 31, 2011 and 2010, together with accompanying notes, and its Revised Annual Information Form for the year ended December 31, 2011. These documents and additional information about Baytex are accessible on the SEDAR website at www.sedar.com. All amounts are in Canadian dollars, unless otherwise stated, and all tabular amounts are in thousands of Canadian dollars, except for percentages and per common share amounts as otherwise noted.

In this MD&A, barrel of oil equivalent (“boe”) amounts have been calculated using a conversion rate of six thousand cubic feet of natural gas to one barrel of oil, which represents an energy equivalency conversion method applicable at the burner tip and does not represent a value equivalency at the wellhead. While it is useful for comparative measures, it may not accurately reflect individual product values and may be misleading if used in isolation.

This MD&A contains forward-looking information and statements. We refer you to the end of the MD&A for our advisory on forward-looking information and statements.

NON-GAAP FINANCIAL MEASURES

In this MD&A, we refer to certain financial measures (such as funds from operations, payout ratio, total monetary debt and operating netback) which do not have any standardized meaning prescribed by generally accepted accounting principles in Canada ("GAAP"). While funds from operations, payout ratio and operating netback are commonly used in the oil and natural gas industry, our determination of these measures may not be comparable with calculations of similar measures for other issuers.

Funds from Operations

We define funds from operations as cash flow from operating activities adjusted for financing costs, changes in non-cash operating working capital and other operating items. We believe that this measure assists in providing a more complete understanding of certain aspects of our results of operations and financial performance, including our ability to generate the cash flow necessary to fund future dividends to shareholders and capital investments. However, funds from operations should not be construed as an alternative to traditional performance measures determined in accordance with GAAP, such as cash flow from operating activities and net income. For a reconciliation of funds from operations to cash flow from operating activities, see "Funds from Operations, Payout Ratio and Dividends".

Payout Ratio

We define payout ratio as cash dividends (net of participation in our dividend reinvestment plan) divided by funds from operations. We believe that this measure assists in providing a more complete understanding of certain aspects of our results of operations and financial performance, including our ability to generate the cash flow necessary to fund future dividends to shareholders and capital investments.

Total Monetary Debt

We define total monetary debt as the sum of monetary working capital (which is current assets less current liabilities (excluding non-cash items such as unrealized gains or losses on financial derivatives)), the principal amount of long-term debt and long-term bank loan. We believe that this measure assists in providing a more complete understanding of our cash liabilities.

Operating Netback

We define operating netback as product revenue less royalties, production and operating expenses and transportation expenses divided by barrels of oil equivalent sales volume for the applicable period. We believe that this measure assists in characterizing our ability to generate cash margin on a unit of production basis.

1111456445461515111115511

Baytex Energy Corp.
Q4 2012 MD&A    Page 2

RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

Production

	Three Months Ended December 31			Years Ended December 31
Daily Production	2012	2011	Change	2012	2011	Change
Light oil and NGL (bbl/d)	7,739	7,232	7%	7,360	6,769	9%
Heavy oil (bbl/d)(1)	40,257	38,006	6%	39,447	35,252	12%
Natural gas (mmcf/d)	42.3	46.9	(10)%	43.1	48.7	(11)%
Total production (boe/d)	55,046	53,054	4%	53,986	50,132	8%

Production Mix
Light oil and NGL	14%	14%	—	14%	14%	—
Heavy oil	73%	72%	—	73%	70%	—
Natural gas	13%	14%	—	13%	16%	—

(1)
Heavy oil sales volumes may differ from reported production volumes due to changes to Baytex's heavy oil inventory. For the three months ended December 31, 2012, heavy oil sales volumes were 11 bbl/d lower than production volumes (three months ended December 31, 2011 – 20 bbl/d higher). For the year ended December 31, 2012, heavy oil sales volumes were 38 bbl/d lower than production volumes (year ended December 31, 2011 – 72 bbl/d higher).

Production for the three months ended December 31, 2012 averaged 55,046 boe/d, compared to 53,054 boe/d for the same period in 2011. Light oil and natural gas liquids (“NGL”) production in the fourth quarter of 2012 increased by 7% to 7,739 bbl/d, compared to 7,232 bbl/d in the fourth quarter of 2011 primarily due to successful development activities in the U.S. Heavy oil production for the fourth quarter of 2012 increased by 6% to 40,257 bbl/d from 38,006 bbl/d a year ago primarily due to Baytex's successful drilling and development activities. Natural gas production decreased by 10% to 42.3 mmcf/d for the fourth quarter of 2012, as compared to 46.9 mmcf/d for the same period in 2011 primarily due to natural declines as we focused our capital spending on our oil projects.

Production for the year ended December 31, 2012 averaged 53,986 boe/d, compared to 50,132 boe/d for the same period in 2011. Light oil and NGL production increased by 9% to 7,360 bbl/d from 6,769 bbl/d due to Baytex's successful drilling and development activities in Canada and the U.S. which also offset the 950 bbl/d of non-operated North Dakota light oil production divested during 2012. Heavy oil production for the year ended December 31, 2012 increased by 12% to 39,447 bbl/d from 35,252 bbl/d a year ago primarily due to successful drilling and development activities. Natural gas production decreased by 11% to 43.1 mmcf/d for the year ended December 31, 2012, as compared to 48.7 mmcf/d for the same period in 2011 primarily due to natural declines as we focused our capital spending on our oil projects.

Commodity Prices

Crude Oil

For the year ended December 31, 2012, the prompt price of West Texas Intermediate ("WTI") fluctuated between a low of US$77.69/bbl and a high of US$109.77/bbl, with an average price of US$94.19/bbl. The volatile price range seen in 2012 reflected both uneven sentiment over global economic conditions and several periods of geopolitical tension. For the three months ended December 31, 2012, the prompt WTI oil price averaged US$88.18/bbl, ranging from a low of US$84.44/bbl immediately after severe weather struck the U.S. East coast in early November, to a high of US$92.48/bbl early in the fourth quarter following the U.S. Federal Reserve's announcement of monetary easing.

The discount for Canadian heavy oil, as measured by the Western Canadian Select (“WCS”) price differential to WTI, averaged 22% for the year ended December 31, 2012, as compared to 18% for the year ended December 31, 2011. The WCS Canadian heavy oil differential was more volatile in 2012 than in the prior year due to several factors. These included an increase in export pipeline problems which at times constrained access to U.S. refineries, continued Canadian heavy oil production growth, which reduced spare export capacity, and periodic planned and unplanned maintenance at refineries using Canadian heavy oil. Concurrence of these factors at times exacerbated the impact on heavy oil pricing, with the monthly WCS differential twice exceeding 30% in 2012. However, at other times of the year, during which upsets were absent, the monthly WCS differential was closer to 15%. During the fourth quarter of 2012 and 2011, the WCS heavy oil differential averaged 21% and 11%, respectively.

1111456445461515111115511

Baytex Energy Corp.
Q4 2012 MD&A    Page 3

Natural Gas

For the year ended December 31, 2012, the average AECO natural gas price was $2.40/mcf, as compared to $3.68/mcf in the same period of 2011. The decrease in the natural gas price was due to higher U.S. natural gas production and a relatively mild 2011-2012 winter season in major natural gas consumption areas, which brought U.S. and western Canada natural gas storage levels to record highs. For the three months ended December 31, 2012, AECO natural gas price was $3.06/mcf, as compared to $3.47/mcf in the same period of 2011, and $2.19/mcf in the third quarter of 2012. The increase in natural gas prices during the fourth quarter of 2012 was driven, in large part, by expectations of the 2012-2013 winter heating season and declining natural gas production, as natural gas drilling activity markedly slowed over 2012.

	Three Months Ended December 31			Years Ended December 31
	2012	2011	Change	2012	2011	Change
Benchmark Averages
WTI oil (US$/bbl)(1)	$88.18	$94.06	(6)%	$94.19	$95.12	(1)%
WCS heavy oil (US$/bbl)(2)	$70.07	$83.57	(16)%	$73.16	$77.97	(6)%
Heavy oil differential(3)	(21)%	(11)%		(22)%	(18)%
CAD/USD average exchange rate	0.9913	1.0231	(3)%	0.9991	0.9887	1%
Edmonton par oil ($/bbl)	$84.28	$97.87	(14)%	$86.53	$95.56	(9)%
AECO natural gas price ($/mcf)(4)	$3.06	$3.47	(12)%	$2.40	$3.68	(35)%

Baytex Average Sales Prices
Light oil and NGL ($/bbl)	$72.02	$85.09	(15)%	$74.07	$82.49	(10)%
Heavy oil ($/bbl)(5)	$54.37	$72.93	(25)%	$58.60	$65.36	(10)%
Physical forward sales contracts gain (loss) ($/bbl)	0.21	(2.08)		0.84	0.17
Heavy oil, net ($/bbl)	$54.58	$70.85	(23)%	$59.44	$65.53	(9)%
Total oil and NGL, net ($/bbl)	$57.39	$73.13	(22)%	$61.74	$68.26	(10)%
Natural gas ($/mcf)(6)	$3.03	$3.57	(15)%	$2.45	$3.86	(37)%
Physical forward sales contracts gain ($/mcf)	—	0.34		—	0.31
Natural gas, net ($/mcf)	$3.03	$3.91	(23)%	$2.45	$4.17	(41)%

Summary
Weighted average ($/boe)(6)	$52.22	$67.18	(22)%	$54.86	$60.78	(10)%
Physical forward sales contracts gain (loss) ($/boe)	0.15	(1.37)		0.62	0.48
Weighted average, net ($/boe)	$52.37	$65.81	(20)%	$55.48	$61.26	(9)%

(1)	WTI refers to the arithmetic average based on NYMEX prompt month WTI.

(2)	WCS refers to the average posting price for the benchmark WCS heavy oil.

(3)	Heavy oil differential refers to the WCS discount to WTI.

(4)	AECO refers to the AECO arithmetic average monthly index price published by the Canadian Gas Price Reporter.

(5)	Baytex’s realized heavy oil prices are calculated based on sales volumes, net of blending costs.

(6)
Baytex's risk management strategy employs both oil and natural gas financial and physical forward contracts (fixed price forward sales and collars) and heavy oil differential physical delivery contracts (fixed price and percentage of WTI). The above pricing information in the table excludes the impact of financial derivatives.

During the fourth quarter of 2012, Baytex’s average sales price for light oil and NGL was $72.02/bbl, down 15% from $85.09/bbl in the fourth quarter of 2011. Baytex’s realized heavy oil price during the fourth quarter of 2012, prior to physical forward sales contracts, was $54.37/bbl, or 78% of WCS. This compares to a realized heavy oil price in the fourth quarter of 2011, prior to physical forward sales contracts, of $72.93/bbl, or 85% of WCS. The discount to WCS largely reflects the cost of blending Baytex’s heavy oil with diluent to meet pipeline specifications. Other factors impacting Baytex's realized heavy oil price during this period were pipeline apportionments, periods of high WCS differential volatility, and quality discounts for some volumes. Net of physical forward sales contracts, Baytex’s realized heavy oil price during the fourth quarter of 2012 was $54.58/bbl, down from $70.85/bbl in the fourth quarter of 2011. Baytex’s realized natural gas price for the three months ended December 31, 2012 was $3.03/mcf with no applicable physical forward sales contracts (three months ended December 31, 2011 - $3.57/mcf prior to physical forward sales contracts and $3.91/mcf inclusive of physical forward sales contracts).

1111456445461515111115511

Baytex Energy Corp.
Q4 2012 MD&A    Page 4

For the year ended December 31, 2012, Baytex’s average sales price for light oil and NGL was $74.07/bbl, down 10% from $82.49/bbl in the same period of 2011. Baytex’s realized heavy oil price during the year ended December 31, 2012, prior to physical forward sales contracts, was $58.60/bbl or 80% of WCS. This compares to a realized heavy oil price in the same period of 2011, prior to physical forward sales contracts, of $65.36/bbl, or 85% of WCS. The discount to WCS reflects the cost of blending Baytex's heavy oil with diluent to meet pipeline specifications and the other factors mentioned in the prior paragraph. Net of physical forward sales contracts, Baytex’s realized heavy oil price during the year ended December 31, 2012 was $59.44/bbl, down 9% from $65.53/bbl in the same period in 2011. Baytex’s realized natural gas price for the year ended December 31, 2012 was $2.45/mcf with no applicable physical forward sales contracts (year ended December 31, 2011 - $3.86/mcf prior to physical forward sales contracts and $4.17/mcf inclusive of physical forward sales contracts).

Gross Revenues

	Three Months Ended December 31			Years Ended December 31
($ thousands except for %)	2012	2011	Change	2012	2011	Change
Oil revenue
Light oil and NGL	$51,274	$56,614	(9)%	$199,518	$204,513	(2)%
Heavy oil	202,085	247,869	(18)%	857,320	843,707	2%
Total oil revenue	253,359	304,483	(17)%	1,056,838	1,048,220	1%
Natural gas revenue	11,798	16,863	(30)%	38,667	74,018	(48)%
Total oil and natural gas revenue	265,157	321,346	(17)%	1,095,505	1,122,238	(2)%
Heavy oil blending revenue	26,938	46,467	(42)%	123,979	186,576	(34)%
Total petroleum and natural gas revenues	$292,095	$367,813	(21)%	$1,219,484	$1,308,814	(7)%

Petroleum and natural gas revenues decreased 21% to $292.1 million for the three months ended December 31, 2012 from $367.8 million for the same period in 2011. The reduction in revenues was driven by lower heavy oil revenues in the three months ended December 31, 2012 due to lower heavy oil prices than in fourth quarter of 2011. Heavy oil diluent revenue for the three months ended December 31, 2012 was down 42% from the same period last year due to increase in volumes of heavy oil being transported by railway. Unlike transportation through oil pipelines, transportation of heavy oil by rail does not require condensate blending. In addition to lower sales of blended heavy oil, the decrease in revenue was also due to lower realized petroleum and natural gas prices in the fourth quarter of 2012, as compared to 2011. Higher light oil and NGL and heavy oil sales volumes in the fourth quarter of 2012 partially offset the decrease in total revenues, as compared to the three months ended December 31, 2011.

Petroleum and natural gas revenues decreased 7% to $1,219.5 million for the year ended December 31, 2012 from $1,308.8 million for the same period in 2011. The reduction in revenues was driven by lower natural gas revenues in 2012 due to lower natural gas prices than in 2011. Heavy oil blending diluent revenue for the year ended December 31, 2012, was down 34% from the same period last year due to increase in volumes of heavy oil being transported by railway. Unlike transportation through oil pipelines, transportation of heavy oil by rail does not require condensate blending. In addition to lower sales of blended heavy oil, the decrease in revenue was also due to lower realized petroleum and natural gas prices, as compared to 2011. Higher light oil and NGL and heavy oil sales volumes in the 2012 partially offset the decrease in total revenues, as compared to 2011.

Royalties

	Three Months Ended December 31			Years Ended December 31
($ thousands except for % and per boe)	2012	2011	Change	2012	2011	Change
Royalties	$47,763	$61,555	(22)%	$194,535	$212,172	(8)%
Royalty rates:
Light oil, NGL and natural gas	20.3%	18.0%		19.0%	18.7%
Heavy oil	17.3%	19.5%		17.4%	19.0%
Average royalty rates(1)	18.0%	19.2%		17.8%	18.9%
Royalty expenses per boe	$9.43	$12.61	(25)%	$9.85	$11.59	(15)%

(1)	Average royalty rate excludes sales of heavy oil blending diluents and the effects of financial derivatives.

Total royalties for the fourth quarter of 2012 decreased to $47.8 million from $61.6 million in the fourth quarter of 2011. Total royalties for the fourth quarter of 2012 were 18.0% of petroleum and natural gas revenue (excluding sales of heavy oil blending diluent), as compared to 19.2% for the same period in 2011. Total royalties for the year ended December 31, 2012 decreased to $194.5 million from $212.2 million for the same period in 2011. Total royalties for the year of 2012 were 17.8% of petroleum and natural gas revenue (excluding sales of heavy oil blending diluent), as compared to 18.9% for the same period in 2011.

1111456445461515111115511

Baytex Energy Corp.
Q4 2012 MD&A    Page 5

Royalty rates for light oil, NGL and natural gas increased from 18.0% in the three months ended December 31, 2011 to 20.3% in the three months ended December 31, 2012 due to the expiry of conventional royalty rate incentives on new wells and production increases in the U.S. Royalty rates for heavy oil decreased from 19.5% in the three months ended December 31, 2011 to 17.3% in the three months ended December 31, 2012 due to a higher number of wells qualifying under the lower royalties.

Royalty rates for light oil, NGL and natural gas for the year ended December 31, 2012 increased from 18.7% in 2011 to 19.0% in 2012. Royalty rates for heavy oil decreased from 19.0% in 2011 to 17.4% in 2012. The year-to-date royalty changes by product were primarily due to the same factors as discussed above for the fourth quarter.

Financial Derivatives

	Three Months Ended December 31			Years Ended December 31
($ thousands)	2012	2011	Change	2012	2011	Change
Realized gain (loss) on financial derivatives(1)
Crude oil	$15,000	$(3,286)	$18,286	$21,080	$(17,641)	$38,721
Natural gas	593	372	221	5,223	431	4,792
Foreign currency	1,071	1,529	(458)	5,545	15,230	(9,685)
Interest rate	169	84	85	(3,102)	116	(3,218)
Total	$16,833	$(1,301)	$18,134	$28,746	$(1,864)	$30,610

Unrealized gain (loss) on financial derivatives(2)
Crude oil	$(815)	$(61,066)	$60,251	$31,171	$1,237	$29,934
Natural gas	549	2,212	(1,663)	(2,920)	6,004	(8,924)
Foreign currency	(5,148)	8,527	(13,675)	1,084	(17,542)	18,626
Interest rate	2,179	13	2,166	3,473	(5,865)	9,338
Total	$(3,235)	$(50,314)	$47,079	$32,808	$(16,166)	$48,974

Total gain (loss) on financial derivatives
Crude oil	$14,185	$(64,352)	$78,537	$52,251	$(16,404)	$68,655
Natural gas	1,142	2,584	(1,442)	2,303	6,435	(4,132)
Foreign currency	(4,077)	10,056	(14,133)	6,629	(2,312)	8,941
Interest rate	2,348	97	2,251	371	(5,749)	6,120
Total	$13,598	$(51,615)	$65,213	$61,554	$(18,030)	$79,584

(1)	Realized gain (loss) on financial derivatives represents actual cash settlement or receipts for the financial derivatives.

(2)	Unrealized gain (loss) on financial derivatives represents the change in fair value of the financial derivatives during the period.

The realized gain of $16.8 million for the three months ended December 31, 2012 on derivative contracts relates to favorable contracts entered when crude oil prices were high, a strengthening Canadian dollar against the U.S. dollar and lower natural gas prices. The unrealized mark-to-market loss of $3.2 million for the three months ended December 31, 2012 relates a weakening Canadian dollar against the U.S. dollar at December 31, 2012, as compared to September 30, 2012 and the reversal of previously recorded unrealized gains on foreign currency contracts as they settled upon maturity. This was partially offset by settlement of previously recorded unrealized gains on interest rate contracts.

The realized gain of $28.7 million for the year ended December 31, 2012 relates to lower commodity prices and favorable foreign currency contracts, partially offset by losses on interest rate contracts. The unrealized mark-to-market gain of $32.8 million for the year ended December 31, 2012 relates to favourable contracts entered in early 2012 when oil prices were high. Subsequently, oil prices at December 31, 2012 have decreased resulting in an unrealized gain.

A summary of the risk management contracts in place as at December 31, 2012 and the accounting treatment of the Company’s financial instruments are disclosed in note 15 to the condensed consolidated financial statements.

1111456445461515111115511

Baytex Energy Corp.
Q4 2012 MD&A    Page 6

Production and Operating Expenses

	Three Months Ended December 31			Years Ended December 31
($ thousands except for % and per boe)	2012	2011	Change	2012	2011	Change
Production and operating expenses	$60,028	$55,576	8%	$232,375	$209,177	11%
Production and operating expenses per boe:
Heavy oil	$11.68	$10.97	6%	$11.02	$11.09	(1)%
Light oil, NGL and natural gas	$12.32	$12.43	(1)%	$13.81	$12.21	13%
Total	$11.86	$11.38	4%	$11.77	$11.43	3%

Production and operating expenses for the three months ended December 31, 2012 increased 8% to $60.0 million from $55.6 million. This increase is primarily due to the growth of Baytex's production from successful execution of its drilling and development activities of existing assets in Canada and the U.S., which resulted in production and operating expenses of $11.86/boe for the three months ended December 31, 2012, as compared to $11.38/boe for the same period in 2011. The increase of 6% per boe for heavy oil was due to increased third party water hauling costs, maintenance and labour. This increase was partially offset by the 1% decrease per boe for light oil, NGL and natural gas, resulting in a 4% net increase per boe of production and operating expenses.

Production and operating expenses for the year ended December 31, 2012 increased 11% to $232.4 million from $209.2 million. This increase is primarily due to the growth of Baytex's production from successful execution of its drilling and development activities of existing assets in Canada and the U.S. and from the Reno and Brewster acquisitions completed in February and August 2011, respectively. Production and operating expenses were $11.77/boe for the year ended December 31, 2012, as compared to $11.43/boe for the same period in 2011. The increase of 13% per boe for light oil, NGL and natural gas was mainly due to production declines in our natural gas areas, partially offset by the 1% decrease per boe for heavy oil, resulting in a 3% net increase per boe of production and operating expenses.

Transportation and Blending Expenses

	Three Months Ended December 31			Years Ended December 31
($ thousands except for % and per boe)	2012	2011	Change	2012	2011	Change
Blending expenses	$26,938	$46,467	(42)%	$123,979	$186,576	(34)%
Transportation expenses	26,349	17,646	49%	83,261	63,274	32%
Total transportation and blending expenses	$53,287	$64,113	(17)%	$207,240	$249,850	(17)%
Transportation expenses per boe(1):
Heavy oil	$6.87	$4.76	44%	$5.54	$4.58	21%
Light oil, NGL and natural gas	$0.68	$0.73	(7)%	$0.63	$0.79	(20)%
Total	$5.20	$3.61	44%	$4.22	$3.46	22%

(1)	Transportation expenses per boe are before the purchase of blending diluent.

Transportation and blending expenses for the fourth quarter of 2012 were $53.3 million, as compared to $64.1 million for the fourth quarter of 2011. Transportation and blending expenses for the year ended December 31, 2012 were $207.2 million, as compared to $249.9 million for the year ended 2011.

The heavy oil produced by Baytex requires blending to reduce its viscosity in order to meet pipeline specifications. In most cases, Baytex purchases condensate from industry producers as the blending diluent facilitates the marketing of its heavy oil. In the fourth quarter of 2012, blending expenses were $26.9 million for the purchase of 3,042 bbl/d of condensate at $96.25/bbl, as compared to $46.5 million for the purchase of 4,780 bbl/d at $105.65/bbl for the same period last year. In the year ended December 31, 2012, blending expenses were $124.0 million for the purchase of 3,316 bbl/d of condensate at $102.17/bbl, as compared to $186.6 million for the purchase of 5,031 bbl/d at $101.60/bbl for the same period last year. This decrease in blending for both the three months and year ended December 31, 2012 is due to rail transportation of heavy oil, which does not require blending diluent, as compared to no rail deliveries in the prior periods. The cost of blending diluent is effectively recovered in the sale price of the blended product.

Transportation expenses were $5.20/boe for the three months ended December 31, 2012, as compared to $3.61/boe for the same period of 2011. Transportation expenses were $4.22/boe for the year ended December 31, 2012, as compared to $3.46/boe for the same period of 2011. The increase in transportation expenses per barrel of heavy oil for the three months and year ended December 31, 2012 is primarily driven by increased use of long-haul trucking to deliver a larger percentage of our heavy oil production at Peace River to market.

1111456445461515111115511

Baytex Energy Corp.
Q4 2012 MD&A    Page 7

Operating Netback

	Three Months Ended December 31			Years Ended December 31
($ per boe except for % and volume)	2012	2011	Change	2012	2011	Change
Sales volume (boe/d)	55,035	53,074	4%	53,948	50,154	8%
Operating netback(1):
Sales price(2)	$52.37	$65.81	(20)%	$55.48	$61.26	(9)%
Less:
Royalties	9.43	12.61	(25)%	9.85	11.59	(15)%
Operating expenses	11.86	11.38	4%	11.77	11.43	3%
Transportation expenses	5.20	3.61	44%	4.22	3.46	22%
Operating netback before financial derivatives	$25.88	$38.21	(32)%	$29.64	$34.78	(15)%
Financial derivatives gain (loss)(3)	3.32	(0.27)	1,330%	1.46	(0.10)	1,560%
Operating netback after financial derivatives gain (loss)	$29.20	$37.94	(23)%	$31.10	$34.68	(10)%

(1)	Operating netback table includes revenues and costs associated with sulphur production.

(2)	Sales price is shown net of blending costs and gains (losses) on physical delivery contracts.

(3)	Financial derivatives reflect realized gains (losses) only.

Evaluation and Exploration Expense

Evaluation and exploration expense for the three months ended December 31, 2012 decreased to $2.7 million from $3.8 million for the same period in 2011 due to a decrease in the expiration of undeveloped land leases. Evaluation and exploration expense for the year ended December 31, 2012 decreased to $12.2 million from $13.9 million for the same period in 2011 due to a decrease in the expiration of undeveloped land leases.

Depletion and Depreciation

Depletion and depreciation for the three months ended December 31, 2012 increased to $83.3 million from $71.9 million for the same period in 2011. On a sales-unit basis, the provision for the current quarter was $16.44/boe, as compared to $14.74/boe for the same quarter in 2011. The increase is the result of overall increased production in areas with high depletable cost bases.

Depletion and depreciation for the year ended December 31, 2012 increased to $297.8 million from $248.5 million for the same period in 2011. On a sales-unit basis, the provision for the year ended December 31, 2012 was $15.08/boe, as compared to $13.57/boe for the same period in 2011. The increase is the result of overall increased production in areas with high depletable cost bases.
General and Administrative Expenses

	Three Months Ended December 31			Years Ended December 31
($ thousands except for % and per boe)	2012	2011	Change	2012	2011	Change
General and administrative expenses	$12,407	$9,912	25%	$44,646	$39,335	14%
General and administrative expenses per boe	$2.45	$2.03	21%	$2.26	$2.15	5%

General and administrative expenses for the fourth quarter of 2012 increased to $12.4 million from $9.9 million for the same period in 2011 due to higher salary costs and higher office rent. On a per boe basis, general and administrative expenses increased from $2.03 in the fourth quarter of 2011 to $2.45 in the fourth quarter of 2012.

General and administrative expenses for the year ended December 31, 2012 increased to $44.6 million from $39.3 million for the same period in 2011 due to higher salary costs and higher office rent. On a per boe basis, general and administrative expenses increased from $2.15 for the year ended December 31, 2011 to $2.26 in the same period of 2012.

Share-based Compensation Expense

On January 1, 2011, Baytex adopted a full-value award plan (the “Share Award Incentive Plan”) pursuant to which restricted awards and performance awards may be granted to directors, officers and employees of the Company and its subsidiaries. Concurrent with the adoption of the Share Award Incentive Plan, Baytex ceased making grants under the Common Share Rights Incentive Plan (the “Share Rights Plan").

1111456445461515111115511

Baytex Energy Corp.
Q4 2012 MD&A    Page 8

Compensation expense related to the Share Rights Plan decreased to $0.7 million in the fourth quarter of 2012 (three months ended December 31, 2011 - $1.9 million) while compensation expense related to the Share Award Incentive Plan slightly increased to $7.0 million for the three months ended December 31, 2012 (three months ended December 31, 2011 - $6.8 million). Compensation expense attributable to the Share Rights Plan decreased as outstanding rights continue to be exercised while no new grants have been made under this plan effective January 1, 2011.

Compensation expense related to the Share Rights Plan decreased to $2.9 million in the year ended December 31, 2012 (year ended December 31, 2011 - $15.6 million) while compensation expense related to the Share Award Incentive Plan increased to $33.8 million for the year ended December 31, 2012 (year ended December 31, 2011 - $18.2 million). Compensation expense attributable to the Share Rights Plan decreased as outstanding rights continue to be exercised while no new grants have been made under this plan effective January 1, 2011. The increase in compensation expense related to the Share Award Incentive Plan is mainly due to the conversion of restricted awards and performance awards held by a departed executive during the second quarter of 2012, additional grants and vesting of outstanding awards, as well as a decrease in forfeitures in 2012 compared to 2011.

Compensation expense associated with the Share Rights Plan and the Share Award Incentive Plan is recognized in income over the vesting period of the share rights or share awards with a corresponding increase in contributed surplus. The issuance of common shares upon the exercise of share rights or conversion of share awards is recorded as an increase in shareholders’ capital with a corresponding reduction in contributed surplus.

Financing Costs

	Three Months Ended December 31			Years Ended December 31
($ thousands except for %)	2012	2011	Change	2012	2011	Change
Bank loan and other	$2,902	$3,100	(6)%	$11,074	$12,489	(11)%
Long-term debt	7,642	6,142	24%	28,623	22,935	25%
Accretion on asset retirement obligations	1,689	1,627	4%	6,631	6,185	7%
Debt financing costs	3	4	(25)%	863	3,002	(71)%
Financing costs	$12,236	$10,873	13%	$47,191	$44,611	6%

Financing costs for the three months ended December 31, 2012 increased to $12.2 million, as compared to $10.9 million in the fourth quarter of 2011. The increase was primarily attributable to interest on the $300 million principal amount of 6.625% Series C senior unsecured debentures issued on July 19, 2012, offset by lower interest on the $150 million principal amount of 9.15% Series A senior unsecured debentures that were redeemed on August 26, 2012.

Financing costs for the year ended December 31, 2012 increased to $47.2 million, as compared to $44.6 million for the year ended December 31, 2011. The increase was primarily attributable to interest on the $300 million principal amount of 6.625% Series C senior unsecured debentures issued on July 19, 2012, and the reporting of interest for a full-year on the US$150 million principal amount of 6.75% Series B senior unsecured debentures issued on February 17, 2011. These increases were partially offset by lower interest on the $150 million principal amount of 9.15% Series A senior unsecured debentures that were redeemed on August 26, 2012 and lower debt financing costs due to credit facility amendment fees incurred in 2011.

Foreign Exchange

	Three months ended December 31			Years Ended December 31
($ thousands except for % and exchange rates)	2012	2011	Change	2012	2011	Change
Unrealized foreign exchange loss (gain)	$1,701	$(6,165)	(128)%	$(1,533)	$8,490	(118)%
Realized foreign exchange (gain) loss	(2,204)	2,096	(205)%	(3,206)	(656)	389%
Total (gain) loss	$(503)	$(4,069)	(88)%	$(4,739)	$7,834	(160)%
CAD/USD exchange rates:
At beginning of period	0.9837	1.0389		1.0170	0.9946
At end of period	0.9949	1.0170		0.9949	1.0170

The fourth quarter of 2012 unrealized loss of $1.7 million, as compared to a gain of $6.2 million for the fourth quarter of 2011, was mainly due to the translation of the US$150 million Series B senior unsecured debentures as the Canadian dollar weakened against the U.S. dollar at December 31, 2012 (as compared to September 30, 2012) and strengthened at December 31, 2011 (as compared to September 30, 2011). The current quarter realized gains were mainly due to the sale of a portion of the U.S. dollar proceeds from

1111456445461515111115511

Baytex Energy Corp.
Q4 2012 MD&A    Page 9

the disposition of non-operated interests in North Dakota that were released from escrow in November 2012, partially offset by losses on day-to-day U.S. dollar denominated transactions.

The unrealized gain for the year ended December 31, 2012 was $1.5 million, as compared to a loss of $8.5 million for the year ended December 31, 2011, was mainly due to the translation of the US$150 million Series B senior unsecured debentures as the Canadian dollar strengthened against the U.S. dollar at December 31, 2012 (as compared to December 31, 2011) and weakened at December 31, 2011 (as compared to December 31, 2010). The year-to-date realized gains were due to the settlement of the US$180 million portion of the bank loan at a stronger CAD/USD exchange rate on settlement date as compared to December 31, 2011 and the sale of a portion of the U.S. dollar proceeds from the disposition of non-operated interests in North Dakota that were released from escrow in November 2012.

Income Taxes

For the year ended December 31, 2012, total income tax expense was $117.8 million (year ended December 31, 2011 - $52.1 million) of which $10.2 million related to current income taxes (year ended December 31, 2011 - $nil) and $107.6 million related to deferred income taxes (year ended December 31, 2011 - $52.1 million). When compared to the prior year, the increase in deferred income tax expense is primarily the result of the gain on divestiture of oil and natural gas properties, and the deferred tax effect of increased unrealized gains on financial derivative contracts.

The increase in current income tax expense reflects the tax cost of the portion of the gain on divestiture of oil and natural gas properties that could not be sheltered from current tax by available tax pools or other current period deductions.

Tax Pools

We have accumulated the Canadian and US tax pools as noted in the table below, which will be available to reduce future taxable income. Our cash income tax liability is dependent upon many factors, including the prices at which we sell our production, available income tax deductions and the legislative environment in place during the taxation year. Based upon the current forward commodity price outlook, projected production and cost levels, and currently enacted tax laws in Canada and the United States, Baytex does not expect to pay cash income taxes in Canada or in the United States in 2013.

The income tax pools detailed below are deductible at various rates as prescribed by law:

($ thousands)	December 31, 2012	December 31, 2011
Canadian Tax Pools
Canadian oil and natural gas property expenditures	$357,918	$264,503
Canadian development expenditures	387,451	328,006
Canadian exploration expenditures	1,065	4,253
Undepreciated capital costs	311,335	266,105
Non-capital losses	335,566	712,288
Financing costs and other	13,583	9,824
Total Canadian tax pools	$1,406,918	$1,584,979
US Tax Pools
Taxable depletion	$54,055	$92,871
Intangible drilling costs	15,452	87,039
Tangibles	13,836	21,835
Non-capital losses	—	90,828
Other	7,237	—
Total US tax pools	$90,580	$292,573

Net Income

Net income for the three months ended December 31, 2012 was $31.6 million, as compared to $57.8 million for the same period in 2011. The decrease in net income was due to a decrease in operating netbacks, charge on redemption of long-term debt and higher depletion and depreciation, gain on disposition in the prior year, offset by a gain on financial derivatives.

Net income for the year ended December 31, 2012 was $258.6 million, as compared to $217.4 million for the same period in 2011. The increase in net income was primarily the result of a $172.5 million gain on disposition of U.S. properties and increase in gain on financial derivative contracts, offset by lower operating netbacks, charge on redemption of long-term debt, higher income tax expense and higher depletion and depreciation.

1111456445461515111115511

Baytex Energy Corp.
Q4 2012 MD&A    Page 10

Other Comprehensive Income

Revenues and expenses of foreign operations are translated to Canadian dollars using average foreign currency exchange rates for the period. Monetary assets and liabilities that form part of the net investment in the foreign operation are translated at the period-end foreign currency exchange rate. Gains or losses resulting from the translation are included in accumulated other comprehensive income (loss) in shareholders’ equity and are recognized in net income when there has been a disposal or partial disposal of the foreign operation.

The $12.5 million balance of accumulated other comprehensive loss at December 31, 2012 is the sum of a $3.5 million foreign currency translation loss incurred as at December 31, 2011 and a $8.9 million foreign currency translation loss related to the year ended December 31, 2012.

FUNDS FROM OPERATIONS, PAYOUT RATIO AND DIVIDENDS

Funds from operations and payout ratio are non-GAAP measures. Funds from operations represents cash flow from operating activities adjusted for financing costs, changes in non-cash operating working capital and other operating items. Payout ratio is calculated as cash dividends (net of participation in the Dividend Reinvestment Plan (“DRIP”)) divided by funds from operations. Baytex considers these to be key measures of performance as they demonstrate its ability to generate the cash flow necessary to fund dividends and capital investments.

The following table reconciles cash flow from operating activities (a GAAP measure) to funds from operations (a non-GAAP measure):

	Three Months Ended			Years Ended
($ thousands except for %)	December 31, 2012	September 30, 2012	December 31, 2011	December 31, 2012	December 31, 2011
Cash flow from operating activities	$160,875	$142,368	$157,083	$577,305	$571,860
Change in non-cash working capital	(27,780)	6,497	9,336	(11,570)	10,889
Asset retirement expenditures	4,552	1,205	5,646	6,905	10,588
Financing costs	(12,236)	(12,862)	(10,873)	(47,191)	(44,611)
Accretion on asset retirement obligations	1,689	1,663	1,627	6,631	6,185
Accretion on debentures and long- term debt	153	173	154	645	572
Funds from operations	$127,253	$139,044	$162,973	$532,725	$555,483
Cash dividends declared	$80,215	$79,622	$72,912	$317,110	$281,047
Reinvested dividends	25,172	26,982	21,987	101,926	75,087
Cash dividends declared (net of DRIP)	$55,043	$52,640	$50,925	$215,184	$205,960
Payout ratio	63%	57%	45%	60%	51%
Payout ratio (net of DRIP)	43%	38%	31%	40%	37%

Baytex does not deduct capital expenditures when calculating the payout ratio. Due to the depleting nature of petroleum and natural gas assets, certain levels of capital expenditures are required to minimize production declines. In the petroleum and natural gas industry, due to the nature of reserve reporting, natural production declines and the risks involved in capital investment, it is not possible to distinguish between capital spent on maintaining productive capacity and capital spent on growth opportunities. Should the costs to explore for, develop or acquire petroleum and natural gas assets increase significantly, it is possible that Baytex would be required to reduce or eliminate its dividends in order to fund capital expenditures. There can be no certainty that Baytex will be able to maintain current production levels in future periods. Cash dividends declared, net of DRIP participation, of $55.0 million for the fourth quarter of 2012 were funded through funds from operations of $127.3 million. Cash dividends declared, net of DRIP participation, of $215.2 million for the year ended December 31, 2012 were funded through funds from operations of $532.7 million.

LIQUIDITY AND CAPITAL RESOURCES

We regularly review our liquidity sources as well as our exposure to counterparties and have concluded that our capital resources are sufficient to meet our on-going short, medium and long-term commitments. Specifically, we believe that our internally generated funds from operations, augmented by our hedging program and existing credit facilities, will provide sufficient liquidity to sustain our operations in the short, medium and long-term. Further, we believe that our counterparties currently have the financial capacities to honor outstanding obligations to us in the normal course of business. We periodically review the financial capacity of our counterparties and, in certain circumstances, we will seek enhanced credit protection from a counterparty.

1111456445461515111115511

Baytex Energy Corp.
Q4 2012 MD&A    Page 11

($ thousands)	December 31, 2012	December 31, 2011
Bank loan	$116,394	$311,960
Long-term debt(1)	449,235	302,550
Working capital deficiency	34,197	36,071
Total monetary debt	$599,826	$650,581

(1)	Principal amount of instruments.

At December 31, 2012, total monetary debt was $599.8 million, as compared to $650.6 million at December 31, 2011. Bank borrowings at December 31, 2012 were $116.4 million, as compared to total credit facilities of $700 million.

Our wholly-owned subsidiary, Baytex Energy Ltd. ("Baytex Energy"), has established a $40 million extendible operating loan facility with a chartered bank and a $660 million extendible syndicated loan facility with a syndicate of chartered banks, each of which constitute a revolving credit facility that is extendible annually for a 1, 2 or 3 year period (subject to a maximum three-year term at any time). On June 12, 2012, the maturity date of the credit facilities was extended by one year to June 14, 2015. The credit facilities contain standard commercial covenants for facilities of this nature. Baytex Energy is in compliance with all such covenants. The credit facilities do not require any mandatory principal payments prior to maturity. Advances (including letters of credit) under the credit facilities can be drawn in either Canadian or U.S. funds and bear interest at the agent bank's prime lending rate, bankers' acceptance discount rates or London Interbank Offer Rates, plus applicable margins. The credit facilities are secured by a floating charge over all of Baytex Energy's assets and are guaranteed by us and certain of our material subsidiaries. The credit facilities do not include a term-out feature or a borrowing base restriction. In the event that Baytex Energy does not comply with the covenants under the credit facilities, our ability to pay dividends to shareholders may be restricted. A copy of the amended and restated credit agreement (and related amendments) which establishes the credit facilities is accessible on the SEDAR website at www.sedar.com (filed under the category "Material Document" on July 22, 2011, July 10, 2012 and January 14, 2013).

The weighted average interest rate on the bank loan for the year ended December 31, 2012 was 3.95% (3.69% for the year ended December 31, 2011).

On February 17, 2011, we issued US$150 million principal amount of Series B senior unsecured debentures bearing interest at 6.75% payable semi-annually with principal repayable on February 17, 2021. Net proceeds of this issue were used to repay a portion of the amount drawn in Canadian currency on Baytex Energy’s credit facilities. These debentures are unsecured and are subordinate to Baytex Energy’s credit facilities.

On July 19, 2012, we issued $300 million principal amount of Series C senior unsecured debentures bearing interest at 6.625% payable semi-annually with principal repayable on July 19, 2022. Net proceeds of this issue were used to repay a portion of the amount drawn in Canadian currency on Baytex Energy’s credit facilities. These debentures are unsecured and are subordinate to Baytex Energy’s credit facilities.

On August 26, 2012, we redeemed our 9.15% Series A senior unsecured debentures due August 26, 2016 ($150 million principal amount) at 104.575% of the principal amount. The payment of the redemption price was funded by drawing upon Baytex Energy's credit facilities.

Pursuant to various agreements with our lenders, we are restricted from paying dividends to shareholders where the dividend would or could have a material adverse effect on us or our subsidiaries' ability to fulfill our respective obligations under our senior unsecured debentures and Baytex Energy’s credit facilities.

Baytex believes that funds from operations, together with the existing credit facilities, will be sufficient to finance current operations, dividends to the shareholders and planned capital expenditures for the ensuing year. The timing of most of the capital expenditures is discretionary and there are no material long-term capital expenditure commitments. The level of dividend is also discretionary, and the Company has the ability to modify dividend levels should funds from operations be negatively impacted by factors such as reductions in commodity prices or production volumes.

1111456445461515111115511

Baytex Energy Corp.
Q4 2012 MD&A    Page 12

Capital Expenditures

Capital expenditures are summarized as follows:

	Three Months Ended December 31		Years Ended December 31
($ thousands)	2012	2011	2012	2011
Land	$(578)	$1,131	$10,022	$5,219
Seismic	73	663	2,410	1,042
Drilling and completion	41,350	41,112	287,475	245,093
Equipment	25,828	29,109	118,649	116,513
Other	13	(2)	69	(19)
Total exploration and development	$66,686	$72,013	$418,625	$367,848
Acquisitions - Corporate	—	1,313	—	120,006
Acquisitions - Properties	130,575	10,329	144,042	76,164
Proceeds from divestitures	1,222	(47,396)	(314,978)	(47,396)
Total acquisitions and divestitures	131,797	(35,754)	(170,936)	148,774
Total oil and natural gas expenditures	198,483	36,259	247,689	516,622
Other plant and equipment, net	(2,783)	(164)	6,338	1,252
Total capital expenditures	$195,700	$36,095	$254,027	$517,874

On May 22, 2012, Baytex Energy USA Ltd, an indirect, wholly-owned subsidiary of Baytex, disposed of its non-operated interests in North Dakota for cash proceeds $310.6 million. Net of capitalized costs of $116.5 million of oil and gas properties and $21.6 million of exploration and evaluation expenses, a pre-tax gain of $172.5 million was recognized in the states of income and comprehensive income.

Shareholders’ Capital

Baytex is authorized to issue an unlimited number of common shares and 10,000,000 preferred shares. Baytex establishes the rights and terms of preferred shares upon issuance. As at March 1, 2013, the Company had 122,685,393 common shares and no preferred shares issued and outstanding.

Contractual Obligations

Baytex has a number of financial obligations that are incurred in the ordinary course of business. These obligations are of a recurring nature and impact the Company’s funds from operations on an ongoing manner. A significant portion of these obligations will be funded with funds from operations. These obligations as of December 31, 2012, and the expected timing of funding of these obligations, are noted in the table below.

($ thousands)	Total	Less than 1 year	1-3 years	3-5 years	Beyond 5 years
Trade and other payables	$181,558	$181,558	$—	$—	$—
Dividends payable to shareholders	26,811	26,811	—	—	—
Bank loan(1)	116,394	—	116,394	—	—
Long-term debt(2)	449,235	—	—	—	449,235
Operating leases	46,085	6,014	12,787	12,434	14,850
Processing agreements	67,629	1,162	10,183	10,944	45,340
Transportation agreements	66,830	1,645	13,417	16,835	34,933
Total	$954,542	$217,190	$152,781	$40,213	$544,358

(1)
The bank loan is a covenant-based revolving loan that is extendible annually for a one, two or three year period (subject to a maximum three-year term at any time). Unless extended, the revolving period will end on June 14, 2015 with all amounts to be re-paid on such date.

(2)	Principal amount of instruments.

Baytex also has ongoing obligations related to the abandonment and reclamation of well sites and facilities which have reached the end of their economic lives. Programs to abandon and reclaim them are undertaken regularly in accordance with applicable legislative requirements.

1111456445461515111115511

Baytex Energy Corp.
Q4 2012 MD&A    Page 13

FINANCIAL INSTRUMENTS AND RISK MANAGEMENT

Baytex is exposed to a number of financial risks, including market risk, liquidity risk and credit risk. Market risk is the risk that the fair value of future cash flows will fluctuate due to movements in market prices, and is comprised of foreign currency risk, interest rate risk and commodity price risk. Market risk is managed by Baytex through a series of derivative contracts intended to manage the volatility of its operating cash flow. Liquidity risk is the risk that the Company will encounter difficulty in meeting obligations associated with financial liabilities. Baytex manages its liquidity risk through cash and debt management. Credit risk is the risk that a counterparty to a financial asset will default resulting in the Company incurring a loss. Baytex manages credit risk by entering into sales contracts with creditworthy entities and reviewing its exposure to individual entities on a regular basis.

A summary of the risk management contracts in place as at December 31, 2012 and the accounting treatment of the Company’s financial instruments are disclosed in note 15 to the condensed consolidated financial statements.

QUARTERLY FINANCIAL INFORMATION

	2012				2011
($ thousands, except per common share amounts)	Q4	Q3	Q2	Q1	Q4	Q3	Q2	Q1
Gross revenues	292,095	299,786	284,248	343,355	367,813	313,787	336,899	290,315
Net income	31,620	26,773	157,280	42,958	57,780	51,839	106,863	950
Per common share - basic	0.26	0.22	1.32	0.36	0.49	0.45	0.92	0.01
Per common share - diluted	0.26	0.22	1.30	0.36	0.48	0.44	0.90	0.01

FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS

In the interest of providing our shareholders and potential investors with information regarding Baytex, including management's assessment of the Company’s future plans and operations, certain statements in this document are "forward-looking statements" within the meaning of the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and "forward-looking information" within the meaning of applicable Canadian securities legislation (collectively, "forward-looking statements"). In some cases, forward-looking statements can be identified by terminology such as "anticipate", "believe", "continue", "could", "estimate", "expect", "forecast", "intend", "may", "objective", "ongoing", "outlook", "potential", "project", "plan", "should", "target", "would", "will" or similar words suggesting future outcomes, events or performance. The forward-looking statements contained in this document speak only as of the date of this document and are expressly qualified by this cautionary statement.
Specifically, this document contains forward-looking statements relating to:  crude oil and natural gas prices and the price differentials between light, medium and heavy oil prices; our business strategies, plans and objectives; our ability to fund our capital expenditures and dividends on our common shares from funds from operations; the sufficiency of our capital resources to meet our on-going short, medium and long-term commitments; the financial capacity of counterparties to honor outstanding obligations to us in the normal course of business; funding sources for our cash dividends and capital program; the timing of funding our financial obligations; and the existence, operation and strategy of our risk management program. In addition, information and statements relating to reserves are deemed to be forward-looking statements, as they involve implied assessment, based on certain estimates and assumptions, that the reserves described exist in quantities predicted or estimated, and that the reserves can be profitably produced in the future. Cash dividends on our common shares are paid at the discretion of our Board of Directors and can fluctuate. In establishing the level of cash dividends, the Board of Directors considers all factors that it deems relevant, including, without limitation, the outlook for commodity prices, our operational execution, the amount of funds from operations and capital expenditures and our prevailing financial circumstances at the time.
These forward-looking statements are based on certain key assumptions regarding, among other things: petroleum and natural gas prices and differentials between light, medium and heavy oil prices; well production rates and reserve volumes; our ability to add production and reserves through our exploration and development activities; capital expenditure levels; the receipt, in a timely manner, of regulatory and other required approvals; the availability and cost of labour and other industry services; the amount of future cash dividends that we intend to pay; interest and foreign exchange rates; and the continuance of existing and, in certain circumstances, proposed tax and royalty regimes. The reader is cautioned that such assumptions, although considered reasonable by Baytex at the time of preparation, may prove to be incorrect.
Actual results achieved during the forecast period will vary from the information provided herein as a result of numerous known and unknown risks and uncertainties and other factors. Such factors include, but are not limited to: fluctuations in market prices for petroleum and natural gas; fluctuations in foreign exchange or interest rates; general economic, market and business conditions; stock market volatility and market valuations; changes in income tax laws; industry capacity; geological, technical, drilling and processing problems and other difficulties in producing petroleum and natural gas reserves; uncertainties associated with estimating petroleum and natural gas reserves; liabilities inherent in oil and natural gas operations; competition for, among other things, capital, acquisitions of reserves, undeveloped lands and skilled personnel; risks associated with oil and natural gas operations; changes in royalty rates and incentive programs relating to the oil and natural gas industry; changes in environmental and other regulations;

1111456445461515111115511

Baytex Energy Corp.
Q4 2012 MD&A    Page 14

incorrect assessments of the value of acquisitions; failure to obtain the necessary regulatory and other approvals on the planned timelines and other factors, many of which are beyond the control of Baytex. These risk factors are discussed in our Annual Information Form, Annual Report on Form 40-F and Management's Discussion and Analysis for the year ended December 31, 2012, as filed with Canadian securities regulatory authorities and the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.
There is no representation by Baytex that actual results achieved during the forecast period will be the same in whole or in part as those forecast and Baytex does not undertake any obligation to update publicly or to revise any of the included forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise, except as may be required by applicable securities law.

1111456445461515111115511