EXHIBIT 99.1

Contacts:	Duane Reade Holdings, Inc.

John Henry

(212) 273-5746

SVP - Chief Financial Officer

Investors: Cara O’Brien/Caren Barbara

Press: Melissa Merrill
(212) 850-5600
Financial Dynamics

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

DUANE READE HOLDINGS, INC. REPORTS THIRD QUARTER RESULTS

~ Adjusted FIFO EBITDA Growth of 16.5%~

~ Record Front-end Same-store Sales Increase of 9.9% Leads Chain Drug Industry~

~Total Same-store Sales Increase of 7.8%~

~ Operating Loss of $6.2 million, Including $2.7 million in Closed Store Costs and $1.0 million in Costs Related to Former CEO~

New York, NY – November 8, 2007 – Duane Reade Holdings, Inc. today reported financial results for the third quarter ended September 29, 2007.

Third Quarter Key Highlights

•	Adjusted FIFO EBITDA improved 16.5% to $19.3 million from $16.6 million in the previous year, representing the fifth consecutive quarter of year-over-year Adjusted FIFO EBITDA growth
•	Net sales increased 6.0% to $408.8 million
•	Front-end same-store sales increased a record 9.9% and pharmacy same-store sales grew 5.3%
•	Gross margin improved to 21.0% from 20.9% last year
•	Operating loss of $6.2 million, including $2.7 million in closed store costs and $1.0 million in costs related to former CEO

Richard W. Dreiling, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, commented, “We are delighted that we delivered yet another strong quarterly performance in which we drove strong sales growth in both the front-end and pharmacy, improved our market share, realized additional operating efficiencies and further improved our customers’ overall shopping experience. This broad based success, in particular the fact that we achieved our fourth quarterly record front-end same-store sales increase in the last six quarters, is a testament to the ongoing traction we are gaining from our operational improvements. We are very pleased with this progress and the fact that we are solidifying our position as one of the leading urban retailers in the metro New York area.”

Third Quarter Results

Net retail store sales, which exclude pharmacy resale activity, increased 6.1% to $392.4 million from $369.9 million in the third quarter of 2006. Total net sales increased 6.0% to $408.8 million from $385.7 million in the third quarter of 2006. Total same-store sales increased by 7.8%. Front-end same-store sales increased by a record 9.9% on top of a 5.7% increase in the prior year period and pharmacy same-store sales increased by 5.3%. During the third quarter, the Company opened four new stores and closed seven stores. At the end of the third quarter, the Company operated 241 stores, compared to 249 stores in the previous year.

Front-end sales continued to show broad-based growth across most major merchandise categories, including convenience foods, health and wellness categories and beauty items. The Dollar Rewards customer loyalty program also continued its strong performance with increased spending from our most frequent shoppers. Pharmacy sales growth was also strong, despite a 3.9% increase in the generic dispensing rate over last year.

The increased use of lower priced, but more profitable generic medications adversely impacted the pharmacy same-store sales growth percentage by 3.3%.

Gross margin for the third quarter increased to 21.0% from 20.9% last year. These results reflect reduced pharmacy margins resulting from increased penetration of lower margin Medicare Part D sales, reductions in Medicaid reimbursement rates that went into effect in July 2007 and lower margins on certain high volume generic drugs that converted to multi-source distribution. Gross margin also included $1.9 million of real estate related income compared to $0.2 million in the previous year. Selling, general and administrative expenses as a percentage of net sales remained unchanged from the prior year and included a $0.5 million retained loss from a fire that occurred in one of the stores. Excluding resales of pharmaceutical merchandise, selling, general and administrative expenses represented 18.1% of net retail sales in both the current and prior year. During the quarter, the Company also sold several pharmacy prescription files that resulted in a separately reported gain of $1.3 million.

The above factors resulted in a 16.5% increase in Adjusted FIFO EBITDA, as defined on the attached schedule of preliminary operating data, to $19.3 million, or 4.7% of sales, from $16.6 million, or 4.3% of sales in last year’s third quarter.

Net loss for the quarter was $22.1 million, compared to a net loss of $18.7 million in the prior year period. The current year’s third quarter results include $4.1 million of other expenses, including $2.7 million of closed store costs and $1.0 million of costs incurred in connection with the Company’s former CEO. The previous year’s third quarter results included other expenses of $0.1 million. A breakdown of other expenses is shown on Table 6 of this press release.

At quarter end, the Company’s total debt, including capital leases but excluding the liability associated with the issuance of the redeemable preferred stock, was $566.1 million, reflecting a decrease of $6.4 million from the balance at the end of fiscal 2006. Availability under the Company’s revolving credit facility at quarter end was approximately $61.2 million. The availability at quarter end reflects the benefit of $39.4 million in proceeds resulting from the sale of redeemable preferred stock and common stock warrants to Oak Hill Capital Partners L.P. These proceeds were received in the first half of 2007 and are being used to fund the acquisition of up to eight store leases from the Gristedes supermarket chain as well as certain growth related capital expenditures.

Nine Month Results

For the nine month period, total net sales were $1.255 billion, reflecting an increase of 7.3% compared to $1.170 billion last year. Net retail store sales increased 6.7% to $1.209 billion, from $1.133 billion in the prior year period. Total same-store sales increased 8.0%, with a front-end same-store sales increase of 9.0% and a pharmacy same-store sales increase of 6.8%.

Adjusted FIFO EBITDA, as defined on the attached schedule of preliminary operating data, increased by 28.0% to $53.6 million, or 4.3% of sales, from $41.9 million, or 3.6% of sales, in the prior year period. Operating loss was $25.8 million in the nine months of 2007, compared with $5.8 million in the nine months of 2006. The increase was primarily due to the recognition of one-time labor contingency income in 2006 of $18.0 million and an increase in other expenses from $1.8 million in 2006 to $13.4 million in 2007 that was primarily due to expenses related to closed store costs, former CEO matters and the accounting investigations conducted by our Audit Committee that were completed earlier this year.

Outlook for 2007

The Company confirms its full year Adjusted FIFO EBITDA expected range of $76 to $80 million. Due to the overall success of the turnaround plan as well as solid growth in comparable store sales for the first three quarters of 2007, the Company increased the expected range for its full year total same-store sales increase to 7.5% to 8.0%. Separately, the Company now expects a net store count decline for the year of two to three stores based upon 11 to 12 store openings and 14 store closings. The change in expected net store count is due primarily to the slower than expected lease assignments from Gristedes as well as some additional store closings. Several of the eight planned Gristedes locations are now expected to open early in 2008.

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Mr. Dreiling concluded, “We are very pleased with the success of our efforts to date and are optimistic about our prospects for continued positive momentum throughout the remainder of 2007 and into fiscal 2008. We look forward to further enhancing Duane Reade’s position as the “go to” source for convenience and pharmacy products in the New York metro area and to not only meeting but exceeding the needs of our unique urban customer base.”

Conference Call Information

The Company will hold a conference call on November 8, 2007 at 10:00 a.m. Eastern Time to discuss financial results for the third quarter ended September 29, 2007. A live webcast of the call will be accessible from the Investor Information section of the Duane Reade website (http://www.duanereade.com), and the call will be archived on the website approximately one hour after completion of the call through November 22, 2007. Additionally, a replay of the conference call will be available from approximately 12:00 PM Eastern Time on November 8, 2007 through November 22, 2007. The replay can be accessed by dialing (877) 519-4471 access code 9415353.

About Duane Reade

Founded in 1960, Duane Reade is the largest drug store chain in the metropolitan New York City area, offering a wide variety of prescription and over-the-counter drugs, health and beauty care items, cosmetics, greeting cards, photo supplies and photofinishing. As of September 29, 2007, the Company operated 241 stores.

Except for historical information contained herein, the statements in this release and the accompanying discussion on the earnings conference call are forward-looking and made pursuant to the safe harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. In addition, this document may contain statements, estimates or projections that constitute “forward-looking” statements as defined under U.S. federal securities laws. Forward-looking statements involve known and unknown risks and uncertainties, which may cause the Company’s actual results in future periods to differ materially from forecasted or expected results. Those risks include, among other things, the competitive environment in the drug store industry in general and in the New York metropolitan area, the ability to open and operate new stores, the continued efforts by payers and government agencies to reduce prescription reimbursement rates and prescription drug benefits, the strength of the economy in general, the economic conditions in the New York greater metropolitan area, changes in federal and state laws and regulations, including the potential impact of changes in regulations surrounding the importation of pharmaceuticals from foreign countries and changes in laws governing minimum wage requirements, changes in the Company’s operating strategy, capital expenditure plans or development plans, the outcome of pending litigation, the Company’s ability to attract, hire and retain qualified pharmacy and other personnel, the Company’s significant indebtedness, labor disturbances, the continued impact of, or new occurrences of, terrorist attacks in the New York greater metropolitan area and any actions that may be taken in response, demographic changes, the Company’s ability to limit fraud and shrink, the outcome of matters relating to the restatement of the Company’s financial statements and the related investigation and recalls of pharmaceutical products due to health concerns or other reasons. Those and other risks are more fully described in Duane Reade’s reports filed with the SEC from time to time, including its annual reports on Form 10-K, quarterly reports on Form 10-Q and current reports on Form 8-K. You should not place undue reliance on forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date they are made. Except to the extent otherwise required by federal securities laws, we do not undertake to publicly update or revise any forward-looking statements.

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