Exhibit 99.1

Marinus Pharmaceuticals Announces Closing of Sale of Priority Review Voucher for $110 Million

RADNOR, Pa. – August 29, 2022 – Marinus Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (Nasdaq: MRNS), a pharmaceutical company dedicated to the development of innovative therapeutics to treat seizure disorders, today announced that it has closed on the sale of its Rare Pediatric Disease Priority Review Voucher for $110 million. The $110 million of gross funds have been received and are in addition to the $92.3 million in cash and cash equivalents reported as of June 30, 2022.

Marinus anticipates using the proceeds for the ZTALMY® commercial launch, execution of its Phase 3 clinical programs in refractory status epilepticus and tuberous sclerosis complex, and other general expenditures. With the addition of this funding, Marinus expects cash and cash equivalents are sufficient to fund its operating expenses, capital expenditure requirements and maintain the minimum cash balance required under its debt facility into the fourth quarter of 2023.

Jefferies LLC acted as the exclusive financial advisor to Marinus for this transaction.

About the Rare Pediatric Disease Priority Review Voucher (PRV) Program

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration Rare Pediatric Disease Priority Review Program is intended to encourage the development of new drug and biological products for the prevention and treatment of certain rare pediatric diseases. Under this program, a PRV is issued to the sponsor of a rare pediatric disease product application and entitles the holder to priority review of a single New Drug Application or Biologics License Application. The sponsor may choose to sell or transfer the voucher upon approval of the rare pediatric disease product application.

About Marinus Pharmaceuticals

Marinus is a commercial-stage pharmaceutical company dedicated to the development of innovative therapeutics for seizure disorders. The Company’s commercial product, ZTALMY® (ganaxolone) oral suspension CV, has been approved by the U.S. FDA for the treatment of seizures associated with CDKL5 deficiency disorder in patients two years of age and older. The potential of ganaxolone is also being studied in other rare seizure disorders, including in Phase 3 trials in tuberous sclerosis complex and refractory status epilepticus. Ganaxolone is a neuroactive steroid GABAA receptor modulator that acts on a well-characterized target in the brain known to have anti-seizure effects. It is being developed in IV and oral formulations to maximize therapeutic reach for adult and pediatric patients in acute and chronic care settings. For more information visit www.marinuspharma.com.

Forward-Looking Statements

To the extent that statements contained in this press release are not descriptions of historical facts regarding Marinus, they are forward-looking statements reflecting the current beliefs and expectations of management made pursuant to the safe harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Words such as "may", "will", "expect", "anticipate", "estimate", "intend", "believe", and similar expressions (as well as other words or expressions referencing future events, conditions or circumstances) are intended to identify forward-looking statements. Examples of forward-looking statements contained in this press release include, among others, statements regarding the our plans with respect to the use of the PRV sale proceeds; our expected cash runway with the PRV sale proceeds; our commercialization plans with respect to ZTALMY and the expected timing thereof; our expected clinical development plans, enrollment in our clinical trials, regulatory communications and submissions for ganaxolone, and the timing thereof; and other statements regarding the Company's future operations, financial performance, financial position, prospects, objectives and other future event.

Forward-looking statements in this press release involve substantial risks and uncertainties that could cause our clinical development programs, future results, performance or achievements to differ significantly from those expressed or implied by the forward-looking statements. Such risks and uncertainties include, among others, uncertainties and delays relating to the design, enrollment, completion, and results of clinical trials; unanticipated costs and expenses; the company’s cash and cash equivalents may not be sufficient to support its operating plan for as long as anticipated; clinical trial results may not support regulatory approval or further development in a specified indication or at all; actions or advice of the FDA or EMA may affect the design, initiation, timing, continuation and/or progress of clinical trials or result in the need for additional clinical trials; delays, interruptions or failures in the manufacture and supply of our product candidates; the company’s ability to obtain additional funding to support its clinical development and commercial programs; and the effect of the COVID-19 pandemic on our business, the medical community, regulators and the global economy. This list is not exhaustive and these and other risks are described in our periodic reports, including our annual reports on Form 10-K, quarterly reports on Form 10-Q and current reports on Form 8-K, filed with or furnished to the Securities and Exchange Commission and available at www.sec.gov. Any forward-looking statements that we make in this press release speak only as of the date of this press release. We assume no obligation to update forward-looking statements whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise, after the date of this press release.

Company Contact

Sasha Damouni Ellis
Vice President, Corporate Affairs & Investor Relations
Marinus Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
sdamouni@marinuspharma.com