Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.

SEMICONDUCTOR MANUFACTURING INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION
(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability)
(STOCK CODE: 0981)

Notification of Board Meeting

Pursuant to Rule 13.43 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, Semiconductor Manufacturing International Corporation (the “Company”) hereby announces that a meeting of the Board of Directors of the Company will be held on Wednesday, April 29, 2009 at 9:00 a.m. at which announcement of the profits or losses for the three months ended March 31, 2009 is to be approved for publication.

As at the date of this announcement, the directors of the Company are Yang Yuan Wang as Chairman of the Board of Directors and Independent Non-Executive Director of the Company; Richard R. Chang as President, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director of the Company; Zhou Jie (and Wang Zheng Gang as alternate director to Zhou Jie) as Non-Executive Director of the Company; and Tsuyoshi Kawanishi, Lip-Bu Tan, Jiang Shang Zhou and Edward S Yang as Independent Non-Executive Directors of the Company.

Semiconductor Manufacturing International Corporation
Richard R. Chang
Chief Executive Officer

Shanghai, PRC
April 16, 2009