Event ID: 1066884
Event Name: Quanta Capital Holdings Inc. Investor Day
Event Date: 2005-05-26T18:00:00 UTC

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C: Sabrena Tufts;Quanta Capital Holdings Ltd.;VP Corporate Communications
C: Tobey Russ;Quanta Capital Holdings Ltd.;President & CEO
C: Deirdre Littlefield;Quanta Capital Holdings Ltd.;Specialty Insurance,
Marine/Aviation Reinsurance
C: Rick Pagnani;Quanta Capital Holdings Ltd.;Specialty Reinsurance
C: Jim Olivo;Quanta Capital Holdings Ltd.;Structured Products & Programs

Sabrena Tufts: I'm Sabrena Tufts, Quanta's Vice President of Corporate
Communications. Thank you for joining us this afternoon for our first Investor
Day. I want to point out that this is going to be webcast live. For those of us
joining the webcast, the presentation to accompany the briefing today can be
accessed on the website. A replay of the presentation is also available until
June 2 at the conclusion of the presentation today. The toll-free number to
access that is 888-286-8010; the international number is 617-801-6888. The pass
code to be used for both dial-in numbers is 73024414.

Before we begin I would like to note that this presentation contains
forward-looking statements that are made pursuant to the Safe Harbor provisions
of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Forward-looking
statements are based on our estimates and assumptions, and are subject to a
number of risks, uncertainties, and other factors beyond the Company's control,
which may cause material differences in actual results. These risks factors are
detailed in Quanta's annual report on Form 10-K, which has been filed with the
SEC. I would now like to introduce Tobey Russ, Quanta's Chief Executive Officer
and our first speaker this afternoon.

Tobey Russ: Thank you, Sabrena. The first thing I would like to do is to thank
JP Morgan for providing us with this terrific facility. We very much appreciate
that. I would like to welcome all of you here today, and I thank you for taking
the time to come and see us in person. And I would like to thank those on the
webcast for joining us with an interest in finding out more about Quanta.

I just want take a minute before we begin to talk a little bit about how we
structured the day, as well as to introduce the people who are going to be up
here with me, and some of which are going to speak to specific businesses that
we engage in.

The first and foremost, Deirdre Littlefield. Deirdre is responsible for the
Company's specialty insurance business, as well as our marine and aviation
reinsurance business. Sitting next to Deirdre is Rick Pagnani, and Rick is
responsible for the Company's specialty reinsurance business. Next to Rick is
Jim Olivo. Jim Olivo is responsible for the Company's structured products and
programs business. Next to Jim is John, John Brittain, the Company's CFO. And
next to John is Gary Wang, the Company's Chief Risk Officer.

Our objectives this afternoon are first and foremost to provide better insight
into the Company and the development of the Company. Sometimes it is hard for me
to believe we are only an 18-month-old Company, but a lot has been accomplished
in these first 18 months. We think it is time, especially after the earnings
call for the first quarter, to provide all of you with much greater insight into
the Company itself, its development, its strategy, and ultimately to answer a
number of questions that were raised, emanating out of that call and in
subsequent conversations after the call.

We want to take the opportunity to reaffirm the Company's strategy. The
underlying message here is going to be that the Company's strategy has not
changed. We will go through that in some detail. We want to review the
businesses of Quanta, and that will be done by the business heads as well, to
give you an opportunity to be exposed to them, and them a chance to talk in a
little bit more detail than perhaps we have done in the past about each of their
businesses.

We want to address the very specific questions that either came up on our
earnings call in the first quarter or that came up in subsequent conversation.
There is a theme associated with the questions that have been asked, and I think
it is time for us to provide, as I said, much greater insight into the business,
as well as to try to address, as specifically and as objectively and as openly
as possible, the questions that you all have about Quanta and its development.

Finally we are going to discuss guidance, and we are going to give some very
specific guidance through the balance of 2005. Then in the end we will open the
whole thing up to questions and answers. I am going to ask that we reserve the
questions for the end; and that will probably help with the efficiency of
getting through the material. Then hopefully we'll get to all of your questions
when we are done.

I would like to just start by reminding everybody why we are so excited about
being in this industry. Our excitement for being here has not changed one iota,
despite the fact that we live in a dynamic marketplace and there are constant
changes taking place around us. One of the things that gives us great
encouragement is this is a $700 billion industry, the property casualty
insurance industry. There is a lot of room inside this industry for a new
company like Quanta. The industry has many, many niches in it where we believe
there are terrific opportunities for returns, especially for a company that is
very technically oriented, exhibits a great degree of financial rigor in its
decision-making. Where because of the nature of the industry a lot of the major
players either ignore, or because they have, quote unquote, gone back to their
core competencies have created vacuums where a company like Quanta can step in
to a very deep marketplace and achieve superior return.

Capital destruction continues in this industry on a wide range of fronts along
with downgrades that have further created opportunities for a company like
Quanta to step in. Many of the P&C companies with which we compete with are
still faced or plagued with a variety of different issues. Legacy liabilities
continue to be a theme. Poor financial management. What we call the experiential
underwriting approach, which I'll talk more

about in a minute as we get into this presentation. And the poor alignment of
interest between underwriter and investor we think creates terrific
opportunities for us to improve on all those fronts and ultimately produce
superior returns.

And then finally as you have been reading about in the papers everyday, the
increased scrutiny by regulators and on the legal front of many of the P&C
companies if nothing else has created a significant amount of distraction and
dislocation, where opportunities for Quanta have been created.

In terms of our strategy, as I said, our strategy has not changed at all. We are
well positioned to capture what we think is one of the most attractive shares of
the property casualty marketplace, the real specialty focused niches that I
mentioned earlier. Critical to that is a prudent capital structure. Too much
capital in this industry has always been the death knell to underwriting
profitability. It is though, as you can imagine, a dual-edged sword. Not enough
capital and you can't take advantage of the opportunities before you or you're
not perceived as credible.

We have spent a lot of time trying to strike what we believe to be the right
balance between the sufficient amount of capital to be treated credibly, and at
the same time not too much capital to encourage growth, unprecedented growth or
growth that forces you to make poor underwriting decisions.

Getting the right rating has been critical to that process. As you know, we
maintain an A- excellent rating from A.M. Best, and that is a very important
part of our approach to capital structure.

Innovative incentive plan. This strikes at the heart of aligning the interest
between underwriter and investor, and we are going to talk more about that.
Because since we capitalized the Company we have implemented not only on the
cash compensation side but also the equity side what we think to be one of the
best incentive structures in the industry today. Then finally a technical
underwriting approach. Easy to say, hard to operationalize. We are going to talk
more about what we mean by that as we get into this.

The way I would like to try to get across where we are relative to our strategy
is to talk about the execution of that strategy. What have we done since we
capitalized the Company, where this was simply an idea to how we have gone about
the process of operationalizing or executing the strategy?

First as most of you know, it was our intent to develop a specialty line
insurance business. That is not something you can do overnight. We knew before
we capitalized the Company that in order to set up a specialty lines insurance
company there was a number of things that we would have to accomplish before we
could put our capital to work. We live in a highly-regulated environment in the
insurance world, especially here in the United States; and in order to that we
not only had to acquire the right legal entities but we had to get them licensed
and/or admitted and approved in almost 50 states around the country. That is a
time-consuming and very labor-intensive process.

The U.S., though, was only part of our initiative. Europe was also critical to
the development of our specialty lines strategy. While perhaps we have a more
efficient regulatory system in Europe, which allowed us to get a license in
Dublin to access the EU, we had another part of our European strategy that was
at least, if not more, important than our underwriting office in Dublin. That
was setting up a syndicate at Lloyd's so that we could benefit by what we
believe to be the largest specialty insurance market in the world.

So the specialty insurance business takes a long time with which to get
established, not only just in terms of hiring the people, establishing the legal
entities, getting the regulatory approval, filing your rates and forms, filing
your pricing plans, and getting traction in a direct marketplace in the
brokerage community. As a result we knew that we could not put all of our
capital to work at an attractive rate in 2004. So our stated objective was to
produce approximately 40% of our total premiums in 2004 in specialty insurance
and 60% in reinsurance.

You may recall that when we capitalized the company in 2003 reinsurance rates
were still at very attractive levels. It's a much less regulated environment. We
had an excellent Bermuda-based team of reinsurance people who take a very
technical approach at underwriting the underwriter. We felt, given the
opportunities that exist in that marketplace and the team that we had in place
that we could put a significant portion of our capital to work in 2004 at very
attractive returns, while we were building the specialty lines insurance
business.

We think that was the right strategy. We had very attractive expected returns in
reinsurance in 2004. But we all know that is not what occurred at the end of the
day, given the unprecedented number of storms that we experienced in the
property and property casualty area, which we will talk more about as we get
deeper into this presentation.

Having said what our strategy was for 2004, it is also important to know where
and how we expected to transition the business from predominantly a reinsurance
business to a specialty insurance business. Our stated objective was to
transition from 60% reinsurance in 2004 to 60% insurance, specialty insurance,
in 2005. We are very much on track with that objective. 2004 almost exactly to
the percentage we produced 60% in reinsurance; and in 2005 we believe that we
will produce approximately 60% of our total business in the specialty insurance
area and 40% in reinsurance.

Our long-term goal is to be between 65 and 75% specialty insurance. This will
obviously fluctuate from period to period depending on what state the market may
be in and the opportunities that we see before us. But that this gives you a
sense of what our long-term goal is.

That being said, a critical part of Quanta's makeup, its culture, and its
strategy was to make its decision using a very rigorous financial framework. As
many of you know, we

allocate capital to every line of business that we engage in. We will not
allocate capital to businesses where we believe the risk-adjusted returns are
not greater than 20% on an NPV basis after-tax; and we adhere to that very
strongly.

We monitor pricing in the market on a regular basis. Our goal in terms of
monitoring pricing is to do this in real-time. What we mean by real-time is
similar to the way in which you might mark your portfolio to market at the end
of every day. We expect that ultimately we will be in a position to close out
the day's activities and see where the Company is relative to the business it
put on that day and the risk-adjusted returns associated with that business,
using expected losses and the capital allocated to it, so that we get an
understanding as to whether or not the business we are doing is meeting the
threshold that we have laid out.

It is also important from a trend analysis standpoint, because we think that
having real-time risk management and financial management capabilities is a
critical strategic advantage for the Company. If we can see how businesses are
performing and ultimately trending over time, we have the opportunity to
redistribute capital within our portfolio. We will rebalance our portfolio, so
to speak, to take advantage of where the opportunities are the greatest for us
and where trends would suggest that we need to be more selective in that
business and write less business.

The best example I can give you of this was what we did in the first and second
quarter of last year in professional liability, where we had an expectation of
very high rates going forward, and we all know that that is not what occurred.
We were very public about pulling capital from that business and redeploying it
in other parts of the Company, in order to take advantage of opportunities we
had, while not encouraging or suggesting that the professional liability
business grow in a marketplace where the returns would clearly not be what we
expected. Deirdre will touch more on this during her presentation.

Alignment of interest. We can't say enough about this subject. We would argue
that for the most part in the property and casualty insurance sector the
alignment of interest is deplorable (ph). You don't have to look beyond the last
five years of restated losses to get a sense of just how far out of line the
interests truly are. We believe that underwriters should be paid based on actual
results, not on a loss estimate that ultimately varies with the kind of
volatility we have seen over the last five years.

We also believe that underwriters should be paid only after they produce an
adequate return for the investors in the Company. So without going through our
incentive structure in detail, there are a couple of critical points I would
like to highlight. First, no incentive pool in a business is created within
Quanta until the risk-adjusted NPV returns on the capital allocated to that
business exceed 12%. To put that in perspective, I think many of you know that
the returns we believe in this industry over the last 20 years are something
like 6.5%.

So we hold our underwriting staff to a very high standard. If they produce a 12%
return on capital allocated to business, they get no incentive pool. This is
done on a business by

business basis. For every dollar after 12%, the business shares in the profit
30% without a cap. And it is critical, that last statement -- without a cap. We
believe that if the underwriters achieve a superior level of returns, then they
should receive a superior level of compensation, but not below.

I don't believe any one of our investors will hold a grudge against us if an
underwriter on our staff is getting paid two times the industry average when our
returns are north of the thresholds that we put forward. That is one of the ways
in which we have been able to attract and keep such a talented group of people.

We have done very much the same thing on the equity side. The way in which we
allocate options is very performance-based. It is not based on position,
longevity, or conjecture about what contribution you may make in the future. It
is very performance-based, and it includes two elements, not only options also
performance shares, which are driven off the actual performance of the Company,
not from an NPV standpoint but from a GAAP risk-adjusted or return on book
equity standpoint.

So we have taken, we believe, an incentive plan to drive behavior into everybody
within Quanta who has the ability to impact returns to our investors. We have
made it a part of the culture where, instead of the management being punitive
and taking capital away from an underwriter or an underwriting group when we
don't believe the rating environment is worthy of continued investment, it
literally works the other way. Because they are paid on risk-adjusted returns on
allocated capital, the businesses are encouraged actually to look at their
environment and to shed the capital if rates begin to drop below a certain
level.

The reason they want to shed that capital is because they don't want to put it
to work in an environment where the returns are going to drop below what our
thresholds are, because then they don't get paid. If they do put it to work, it
will ultimately come out in the loss ratio; and their pool will be adjusted
accordingly, because we don't pay out the incentive pool at the end of a fiscal
year. We pay it out over time. We pay it out over four years. We pay 25% out at
the end of one fiscal year, and then the balance is paid out in 25% increments
in the three successive years. And that pool is adjusted based on actual loss
experience up or down through that four-year period.

That is very, very unique in this industry and we think a critical factor in
driving a commitment to excellence, a commitment to underwriting, and an
attention not only to the loss line but an attention to the expense line.
Because everybody in those underwriting units as well as on the corporate staff
realizes that every dollar that is wasted, $0.30 is coming right out of their
pocket after 12%.

Operationalizing underwriting discipline. This gets back to a comment I made at
the very beginning, what I have referred to as experiential underwriting. The
property casualty insurance industry is plagued by a practice that I have dubbed
experiential. Meaning if you are an underwriter in this business, in most lines
of business, there is not an automated underwriting process. Nor is there
typically an automated pricing model.

There is not an ability to audit what is going on. Nor is there much consistency
between underwriter to underwriter, office to office, and geography to
geography. It sort of works on the lines that you are a smart person, you have
been involved in that business for a lot of years, you know what you are doing,
you know it when you see it, and you underwrite it accordingly.

Well, anybody who has ever audited an underwriting file at any major multi-line
insurance company knows what I'm talking about. Very hard to determine how those
decisions were made, why they were made, what variables were used, how they were
weighted, and how that drove pricing, (ph) prices. So it is impossible to
actually build on your experience. Other than using the sheer loss data, which
is not, as everybody knows, a great predictor of the future, it is very hard to
build on your experience.

So when I hear other companies talking about underwriting discipline, the
question that comes to mind, because everyone says they are disciplined in this
business, is how do you make discipline a reality? How do you operationalize
discipline in your company? How do you make it happen at the underwriting level
and not just be lip service at the end of the day?

We as a Company spend an enormous amount of time on this subject. We want every
person in the Company to know exactly what we mean when we talk about
operationalizing underwriting discipline. It starts, as I mentioned, with
allocating capital to the business, holding it to a risk-adjusted return, but it
also necessitates automating the process. It means having consistency across the
board through an automated platform where every underwriter who is in a line of
business is addressing the same set of variables, is asked the same set of
questions, and that that automation reflects all of the brainpower and the gray
matter and the intellectual property that exists in our underwriting team and in
the industry.

Operationalizing that process, making it automated, in other words taking the
intellectual property and putting it resident inside an automated system, is a
critical part of your ability to not only say you know what it is you're doing,
you can actually prove what it is you are doing, because you can audit against
it. We can go back, and ultimately our goal is to be in a position to go back,
to look at any decision that was ever made in the Company and understand exactly
what the thought process was, what the variables were used, how they were
weighted, and how that affected the pricing decision in that particular case.

But more importantly, it is the foundation for building a better mousetrap. If
you're going to improve your risk selection and your risk pricing capability,
you cannot afford not to do this. Because it is the foundation of testing
against improvements in variables. I don't think there's a company out there
that could say they have a lock on understanding things like directors and
officers' liability. We will talk more about this later in the day, but we are
going to spend a considerable amount of time and effort and resource at looking
at each of the underwriting lines that we engage in, as well as some new ones,
and look for ways of unlocking better capabilities to assessing risk and pricing
risk.

The development of our risk consulting business in some respects is an offshoot
to this, because again -- and a key differentiator we think for the Company --
most risk assessment capabilities within an insurance company are cost centers.
We have two big problems with that. One, we don't like cost centers. We would
rather they be profit centers. But two, when they are cost centers you don't
often get what we think are the most talented people in the industry. You tend
to get people who like working in cost centers.

So in order to turn this on its head, the consulting business for Quanta ideally
has two roles. Its first role is to support the underwriting that we are engaged
in. The best example we can give you with this is the acquisition we made
Environmental Strategies Corporation, which is one of the foremost experts in
the environmental remediation business and has been for almost 20 years.
Environmental Strategies works closely with our underwriting team to assess, and
price, and ultimately to remediate risks we assume. It gives us an enormous
competitive advantage. We have deep skill sets in that area of the market; I
would argue better and deeper than anyone. And it's a model that we want to
build on.

So in that example it not only serves a function in terms of providing expertise
to the underwriters, but it also is a third-party consultant and gets paid a
fee-for-service and makes a profit every day. So that model is a model that we
like, one that we expect to build on, and not only just in the underwriting part
of the equation but also in the claims side. We just hired the person that is
going to head up this area of our business, Mark Cloutier. You'll know and hear
more about this in the months and weeks ahead.

Then finally -- and I have touched on this already but I have not touched on the
name -- the Office of Strategic Innovation. Many of you know Michael Murphy, the
Deputy Chairman of the Company. Michael and I worked together along with a
number of others to put Quanta together. Michael has just assumed, I am very
pleased to say, the responsibility for the development of OSI. What OSI is, is a
specific and dedicated commitment to improving the underwriting process and the
process of risk selection.

We happen to be lucky enough to have a guy on our Board named Nigel Morris, who
was one of the cofounders of Capital One. For those of you who aren't familiar
with Capital One, it's a great case study, in a company that did in a different
industry exactly what we're trying to do here. It took niches within niches and
through better information, better process, better data, better analysis
produced a very, very significant return for its shareholders over the last
decade. Nigel Morris believes, and as a consequence we believe, that the only
real way to make meaningful progress in this area is to have a dedicated effort
towards improving the underwriting process.

Michael is responsible now for pulling that together, where we want to be in a
position for delivering the right product to the right customer at the right
time. That involves not only enhancing the risk assessment process, but it also
involves the creation of new

products and the development of new underwriting tools and new data sources that
will improve our results in the long term.

So that is really the guts of the Company's strategy, the execution of its
strategy. I wanted to just for grounding purposes put everyone on the same page
relative to the first 18 months of results. I want to bring your attention to a
couple of broad themes. First, the results we've experienced over the last 18
months are not what any of us had hoped for. But I wanted to dispel any notion
right away that those results reflect any change in the Company's strategy. They
do not. The Company has not changed its strategy.

What has occurred is the results that we expected have been overshadowed by the
unprecedented losses we experienced in 2004, primarily due to the significant
windstorms that we incurred in the third quarter and then adjusted again in the
fourth quarter of last year. Said differently, it delayed our ability to produce
the returns that we expected to produce by now. We will talk more about that
when we get into the guidance section.

Having said that, I want to bring your attention to a couple of important
themes, because they transcend into many of the things that we are going to talk
about. First, I want you to take a look at the written -- if you can see this; I
believe you can -- the written premium line, and the difference between the
written premium line and the earned premium line. They are considerable. As they
started very, very high; that differential was over 300%. While they have
tapered down quarter-to-quarter, in the first quarter of 2005 that differential
was still 56%. That differential drives a lot of issues, and as a result a lot
of questions that we heard coming out of the first-quarter earnings call. The
most important of which is the expense issue.

To try to calculate an expense ratio, which is a typical ratio in this industry,
off of earned premium when you have got differential of 56% is kind of nutty.
Because a lot of your expenses are keyed off your ability and the infrastructure
and the acquisition costs associated with the written premium. So while expense
ratio works well for a mature company, it does not work so well for an
18-month-old Company. So I would argue it is not a great basis for comparison.

So one thing to pay attention to is the gap between written and earned. It's the
earned at the end of the day that drives our profit. It is important to write
it, because if you don't write it you can't earn it. One of the upsides, if you
will, to writing it, even with the delayed earnings pattern, is the unearned
premium reserve. While that number is not on this page, the unearned premium
reserve for Quanta at the end of the first quarter of this year was a little
over $300 million. I think $309 million gross and $252 million net.

That means there's $252 million in the unearned premium reserve that will
ultimately come into revenue and ultimately come into Quanta's bottom line that
is not yet reflected in our GAAP net income results. Relative to our size, that
is a considerable number.

The other thing I want to bring your attention to is the growth of the Company's
portfolio leverage. In other words the difference between our invested assets
and booked equity. When you start a company that is a one-to-one ratio. But as
you can see from these numbers in terms of the investment income line, that
number has grown from just a little over one-to-one in the first quarter of 2004
to over 1.6 to 1 in 2005, the first quarter of 2005. That is considerable
portfolio leverage growth in a relatively short period time.

What is important about that is the contribution that our investment portfolio
is making to the Company's total return has grown every quarter and is becoming
now quite a significant contributor to the Company's total results. And the
trend is continuing in that direction.

Finally the ratios themselves that we show on the bottom of the page, you can't
help but notice a fair amount of volatility in those ratios. The volatility
associated with our business is largely attributable, but not solely
attributable, to the fact that we are an 18-month-old Company. Any blip either
on the loss side or the expense side creates a significant deviation in an
expected loss ratio or an expense ratio. That is because the earned premium has
been so low relative to the written side of the creation. So we have by nature
of the beast a lot of volatility in our ratios, which we expect will dampen over
time.

Those were the critical things that I wanted to bring your attention to here,
and they will tailor into other themes we're going to get into, as I said, in a
bit. But I would like to stop here and begin the business presentation. We are
going to cover the specialty insurance business, the reinsurance business, as
well as structured products and programs business. First, I would like to ask
Deirdre Littlefield to come up and cover specialty insurance. Thank you.

Deirdre Littlefield: Thank you, Tobey. Good afternoon, ladies and gentlemen. It
is really a pleasure to have the opportunity to review our specialty insurance
strategy and operations with you this afternoon. Specialty insurance business at
Quanta includes our specialty insurance as well as our Lloyd's reporting segment
in our SEC filings.

Specialty insurance focuses on a small percentage of a highly technical market.
Said another way, we are niche players in a niche market. We serve a market
which demands expert proficiency in underwriting and risk management. To meet
this demand, our portfolio is managed by underwriting teams who price and
managed complex risks with their knowledge and expertise of the products we
specialize in, aided by sophisticated rating and pricing tools.

Our specialty insurance underwriting teams include not only underwriters but
actuaries, legal experts, and claims management experts. In addition, we provide
further collaborations between specialty insurance and the structured insurance
and programs group headed by Jim Olivo to provide solutions to meet our clients'
needs. This has really proven I think to be a very strong collaboration and
successful working partnership. We work together really between the insurance
and Jim's units, and you will hear more about

it in specifics from Jim. But we work together really on a daily basis to
develop client solutions.

I think one of the real advantages here is it really plays into what Tobey has
been talking about, and that is that we really do award and encourage
collaboration and working together. I have been in the insurance business for 30
years, and while I often hear that people will be rewarded for collaboration,
most of my experience has been basically turf wars and silos. So we do not have
that at all at Quanta, and my experience thus far has really been remarkable,
and I think benefits our clients very well.

U.S., UK, Bermuda, Ireland, and Lloyd's teams are organized by line of business.
To date we have premium writings in the classes of business listed; professional
liability, environmental, fidelity, surety, technical risk, and trade credit.

We believe that Specialty Lines have high barriers to entry due to the
difficulty in acquiring expertise and the experience needed to underwrite these
lines of business successfully. I am pleased to report that we have teams in
each line of business who possess the necessary expertise and experience to
successfully produce, underwrite, and manage these Specialty Lines.

Pricing pressure and volatility in Specialty Lines are less sensitive than in
traditional insurance lines because of the advanced risk assessment and/or loss
control techniques used in Specialty Lines. Here again we're in a strong
position with sophisticated assessment practices and pricing tools, as well as
an in-house expertise and loss control techniques available through
Environmental Strategies Consulting, a Quanta company that provides full-service
consulting, risk management, and engineering facilities through a staff of over
90 engineers who hold advanced engineering degrees in earth sciences, chemistry,
fire protection, industrial hygiene, just to name a few. Risk assessment and
loss control are areas that we will continue to focus in and develop because we
feel that they are so important.

We focus on specialty products that require disciplined underwriting because we
believe these lines historically demonstrate above-average returns to our
shareholders. We are focusing on maintaining and enhancing strong broker market
relationships, utilizing and marketing our philosophy and our expertise. The
broker market has been focused on regulatory activities certainly in recent
months and has not paid full attention to its specialty markets or specialty
customers. We believe that the changes in the broker market as a result of the
Spitzer investigation will be advantageous to us in the future, providing us
with a more level playing field.

For those of you who don't have access to the next slide I'm putting up, it's a
pie chart providing you a visual representation of the lines of business, and
the relative size of each, of the lines we anticipate writing in 2005 on a
global basis for insurance and insurance programs.

These lines of business, again for those of you who don't have the graph, are
trade credit and political risk; professional liability' fidelity and crime;
environmental; surety; technical risk property; the lines of business associated
with the HBW program which Jim Olivo will discuss with you in more detail later,
but those are warranty, builders' risk, and contractors' general liability. We
also have indicated here two lines of business, specie and fine arts, and marine
insurance, that we anticipate launching in Lloyd's later this year.

I would now like to spend some time going over each of the product lines within
Quanta's specialty insurance operations. In the professional liability area, we
offer a diverse portfolio of specialized D&O and E&O products, including
financial institutions D&O and E&O; A-side independent directors; commercial
D&O; A-side D&O; private equity; lawyers and accountants errors and
omissions; technology errors and omissions; architects and engineers E&O;
and miscellaneous professional liability.

We have a highly experienced staff in this line of business. The leader of our
business unit head in the United States has over 20 years of experience in these
lines, and he is supported by a team of underwriters, claims experts, lawyers,
and actuaries -- I almost forgot our actuaries -- who average over 10 years of
experience in these lines of business. We have a similarly qualified team in
Europe.

As you may recall and Tobey also just mentioned, because we saw significant
deterioration in pricing discipline in the U.S. D&O market in 2004, we reduced
our top-line expectations, reallocated capital, and reduced our expense
platform. I think this is a very solid example of Quanta's philosophy of not
chasing a market down, but rather maintaining a high level of discipline. These
actions have served as well in 2005, and we are off to a good start.

In terms of a market forecast or outlook, we believe that the D&O market in --
the professional liability market in most of the areas is stable with the
exception of the commercial D&O. Again that is an area where we have
deemphasized our writing, so (indiscernible) scaled back.

We are highly selective in terms of the lines of business that we write and the
accounts that we write. All of our underwriters are required to employ fairly
technical rating tools on every account that they look at. One way you can get
an indication of the amount of business that we are writing or our success ratio
is by looking at our quote to bind ratio. Historically in the professional
liability area at Quanta that has been in the mid-20s.

On the environmental side, we offer a full range of specialty environmental
insurance products on both the primary and excess basis, remediation cost caps,
environmental site protection, and contractors' site protection. Here again we
have a very highly experienced underwriting staff, head by -- the head of our
team has 19 years experience. He also is supported by a group of underwriters,
claims, actuarial, and legal experts who have an average of 12 years combined.
Not combined, together.

We also have the benefit of the enormous depth and breadth of experience from an
engineering standpoint of the ESC, which Tobey described to you a little bit
earlier. That is an operation that has been up and running for over 20 years and
it is highly regarded in the marketplace. It gives us a tremendous competitive
advantage.

Business flow of environmental lines is not evenly spread by quarter. The
business is lumpy, particularly for a new company. The average duration of the
portfolio earnings in these lines is actually greater than four years. Our
long-term focus is to increase writing in environmental site protection and
other shorter-term policies; and that will benefit our earnings pattern. We see
the environmental market going forward as stable. Here again we have
sophisticated pricing and modeling tools and are highly selective in terms of
the business that we go after and the business that we quote. Our quote to bind
ratio in this line is in the mid-20s.

Fidelity, our portfolio here includes commercial crime, computer art crime,
unauthorized trading, and financial fidelity. Our focus in the U.S. market in
this line of business is on the Fortune 500 account. Our business unit head has
over 30 years experience with current and potential clients in this niche.
Supporting him is a team of individuals who average 17.5 years of experience;
and again we have similar qualifications in our teams in Europe.

Fidelity, and I will get to surety in a minute, but both of these lines have
heavy regulatory approval processes and hurdles. These really needed to be
addressed in 2003 and 2004. But I am pleased to report that we are now in a
position to be able to write on an admitted basis in 36 states, and have the
ability also to issue ERISA bonds, which is necessary in this line of business.

The line of business remains stable in terms of pricing and terms and
conditions; and we are gaining traction in this marketplace. The quote to bind
ratio in this line of business is slightly higher than the others, and that is a
good thing. I should have mentioned that in the other lines we are looking to
increase obviously the quote to bind ratio. The way to do that is to continue to
educate our producer force on exactly the types of business that we are looking
for. In this line, because it is a very small slice of the market, because we
are looking at Fortune 500, and have a fairly highly developed and dedicated
production force, our quote to bind ratio is in the low 40s.

In the surety area that products are offered are commercial surety, which is
where our focus is, and contract surety. Again the team enjoys extensive
expertise, 19 years for the business unit head in this area and an average of 12
years for the team that supports him. We believe that we provide a high level of
service and efficiency from our centralized location, as compared to our
competitors, for example Travelers, Safeco, Zurich, Liberty, Ace, who operate
out of vast branch networks scattered throughout the United States.

We now have the ability to write on an admitted basis in 42 states. We also
believe that there is capacity shortage which exists in certain sub segments of
this marketplace, and these are exactly the sub segments where we have
significant expertise. We believe that

we are the only significant new insurance company providing commercial surety
capacity since 2003.

General commercial surety pricing and terms remain firm, particularly going
forward. We believe they will remain firm particularly for the subsections that
we serve, the Fortune 2000, the high-end middle market, and several underserved
niches. Again we have state-of-the-art pricing tools that are employed by our
entire underwriting staff. Our quote to bind ratio in this line of business is
in the low teens.

The newest addition to our product offering that came about in the fourth
quarter of 2004 is our technical risk property line. This focuses on areas where
we have technical underwriting depth and risk assessment capabilities, including
builders' risk, technical property, energy, and other either high hazard or
highly protected occupancies and risks. We feel that we bring a unique approach
to this marketplace.

We have on staff a team of degreed engineers, who also have extensive experience
on both the primary underwriting side as well as the reinsurance underwriting
side. This is unique in the marketplace; and it's actually difficult to find
individuals that have both of those skill sets, so we have been very fortunate
in attracting a very strong team there. We are developing international
capabilities through Quanta Europe.

The property marketplace including builders' risk has declined on average about
8 to 15% overall. However risks which require a high level of technical
expertise, which is obviously the areas that we're focusing in on, have seen
less deterioration and are still above our pricing guidelines.

Quote to bind area in this line of business has been running at about 37%; and
that is a good ratio. We have one particular agent who has been very good at
prescreening business for us based on our guidelines and qualifications, so they
actually only bring us business to underwrite that they are pretty comfortable
with meet our guidelines and pricing.

Before introducing the President of our Property Casualty Specialty Reinsurance
operation, I did want to just mention again -- Tobey had said this -- but I will
return to the podium to provide you with an overview of our marine and aviation
reinsurance operations. Marion and aviation reinsurance also reports to me, as I
have 30 years of experience in this. I know you're all looking at me thinking
she's way too young, but I have 30 years of experience in these lines of
business, so you will be seeing me again.

Now I would like to introduce Rick Pagnani, President of Quanta's Specialty
Property and Casualty Reinsurance operations. Thank you.

Rick Pagnani: Good afternoon, everyone. I'd like to thank you for the
opportunity to give you a brief overview on the P&C reinsurance division. The
division is comprised of 24 individuals, professionals based in Bermuda and in
New York. We all have a common pedigree, having worked together over the past 10
to 20 years at places such a Swiss Re,

Gen Re, ZRC, Partner Re. I think the fact that we have worked together with a
common view, common vision of the marketplace, common approach, put us in good
stead in 2004, where we were able to fully deploy all of the risk (ph) capital
allocated to us in that year. It is the reason why we are on track to do the
same in 2005.

Operating leverage is a central tenet for the division. We try to derive maximum
value for each one of our employees. The numbers bear that out again; 24
employees relative to what our contribution is. We are fleet of foot and we are
opportunistic in our approach.

We are also multidisciplinary in terms of underwriting. Actuarial and
underwriting is involved with every one of our decisions, as well as claims and
legal where appropriate. We take a highly analytical approach as is evidenced by
the high ratio of actuaries to underwriters that we have. It is presently at 1
to 1. I believe that to be probably the highest in the industry.

The centerpiece of the division is our return on capital model which we employ
in the pricing and underwriting of every single transaction. We will get into
that in greater detail here.

All right, so just giving you a brief overview of the underwriting methodology
that we employ, when we look at a contract. We first and foremost want to know
what the economic motivation of our client is. We then do a qualitative
assessment of the management team that we are underwriting. We then take a look
the dynamics of that marketplace, the niche they are in, what sort of
competitive advantage they may have. What is the direction of that market? Are
they positioned to either take advantage of it or are they positioned to defend
against a slide in rates?

We then will take a look at their underlying data. We do an extensive analysis
of this. When there is sufficient data, credible data, we will experience rate
and we will also exposure rate every one of our contracts. We then take a look
at the proposed treaty terms and conditions. We will take all of this
information and will incorporate it into our pricing system. We then run a cash
flow analysis to determine whether this is an attractive piece of business or
not. Again I will get into that in greater detail. All transactions, this is
critical, require a signoff, dual signoff from actuarial and underwriting.

In terms of our marketplace and where we focus, we focus really on the small to
middle market. We think there's plenty of opportunity there. When I say small to
middle market, when I think of small I think of 10 million to 100 million and
surplus; and in middle market anywhere from 100 to 500 million.

We focus on being innovative and responsive to clients, and that is really a
source of competitive advantage for us. I know it has been cited time and again,
but I can tell you in this marketplace for us to be able to turn business around
in a consistent fashion has really proven very successful for us over the course
of the last two years.

We provide underwriting expertise across multiple product lines, which enhances
discipline throughout the underwriting cycle. We use, as I said before, a very
technical approach which insures stability and consistency in actual
underwriting results. Sufficient capital base that we have, it is still focused
on profitability versus top-line revenue generation.

We will get into now a little bit on the RORAC model which we've spoken about.
This is an example of the model here. What it is, is it's a truncation of the
standard output for the RORAC model, which is our return on risk-adjusted
capital. After we cash (ph) through all the treaty terms and conditions, and
develop our underwriting and actuarial assumptions, we run a series of
scenarios. The model convolutes the treaty terms and underlying assumptions to
produce a distribution of outcomes. From this distribution we derive a
probability-weighted NPV as well as an allocation of risk capital. The NPV is
measured against the risk capital. We target 20% return on that capital.

The model helps us to judge the upside-downside relationship of the anticipated
NPV outcomes. We are also able to get a sense for, among many other things, the
accounting implications of the transaction. If you look to the left of the
middle section there it gives you an overview of what we expect by way of loss
ratio, what is the brokerage, what is our internal expense.

Then we look at the discount factors. What is the embedded value within the loss
reserves? It also gives you a sense for (indiscernible) duration of the
liabilities of the contract, what we're looking at terms of the discount factor,
what we can expect. And most importantly at the end the day, what type of return
does it produce for us in a pre-tax or post-tax basis.

We have a fairly diverse portfolio. This is a snapshot essentially of the
portfolios at 3/31/05. We have we consider very good penetration within the
professional services market, including D&O both U.S. and international. We also
have a fairly good mix of property, both cat and non-cat exposed as well as crop
hail. Crop hail we view as non-correlating with our southeast wind exposure.

The snapshot right now, the property cat section will decrease over time. We are
taking certain measures. I will speak about those in a moment here. But that
will become a smaller component of the overall makeup of the portfolio.

We will talk just briefly, give you some highlights in terms of how we approach
the property underwriting. What we do is data scoring techniques are used to
evaluate credibility of the underlying data in every instance. Then we give
strong consideration to the credibility of the industry models by region,
because they do vary. Every cat exposed treaty are priced using the ARM or RMS
models.

Then we have an internal model that we use for capital allocation purposes,
which is set to the individual treaty's marginal contribution to the downside of
the entire property

portfolio. The portfolio aggregates are monitored on a real-time basis and that
is critical from a PML or probable maximum loss management standpoint.

What actions we've taken in terms of the 2005 portfolio, we recognize that last
year, as Tobey mentioned, unprecedented year. We were victims of seriality in
terms of frequency of events as opposed to severity. We thought we had a very
good portfolio relative to (technical difficulty) type event. Unfortunately we
were victims as I say of a series of hurricanes, unprecedented series of
hurricanes.

So what measures have we taken now to protect against the volatility going
forward? As I say, we have shifted the portfolio in the southeast to an excess
position as opposed to a pro rata position. We have also diversified the
portfolio both geographically and by peril. We've also purchased substantial
retrocessional coverage over the course of the last two months; and as a result
of that all of these are going to result in a reduction of probable maximum loss
by approximately 50% on a net basis. With that, I'm going to turn it back over
to Deirdre Littlefield. Thank you.

Deirdre Littlefield: Thank you, Rick. As in property and casualty reinsurance we
follow the same technical approach to risk selection based on thorough analysis,
employing exposure and experience rating techniques, backed by actuarial
resources. Our portfolio in the marine and aviation reinsurance consists of
Hull, Marine Liabilities, Offshore Energy, Cargo, and Aviation ILWs. We have a
small but highly experienced team of underwriters, claims, and actuarial experts
who in a former life led or co-led the bulk of the U.S. marine reinsurance
placements.

We have purchased reinsurance, quota share in excess of loss, to protect
Quanta's net position. Marine and aviation is an interesting -- I think
interesting anyway -- niche market and niche line. It is one, I think, that
proves the need to underwrite the underwriter, and that that is of paramount
importance.

We feel it is important to understand underwriting and claims philosophy as well
as the bench strength and direction of our clients. Having been in the business
for longtime and having quite an experienced team to support our operations, we
feel that we are quite adept at doing that, in addition to utilizing our pricing
tool. So we combine quantitative technical pricing with a practical approach to
risk analysis.

I would now like to introduce Jim Olivo. Jim is the President of Quanta's
Structured Products and Programs.

Jim Olivo: Thank you, everybody. I would like to thank everyone here for giving
me the opportunity to present our business to you, our structured insurance and
reinsurance and programs division. I'm going to talk about the two of them
separately in a second. But first I would like to give you a little idea of why
we exist, who we are, why were formed, why we decided to form this business back
when we started Quanta.

We are global team responsible for transactions which fall outside the
underwriting scope of either our traditional insurance or reinsurance division.
But importantly we don't do that on our own. We partner with those divisions. As
Deirdre mentioned before, we spend an awful lot of time together between my
group and Deirdre's group, or my group and Rick's group. So we develop clients,
customize solution to clients' needs.

What that partnership does is gives us a tremendous advantage over our
competitors. I'd encourage you to look at them. (inaudible) One, we have
disciplined technical underwriting in our specialty insurance lines, specialty
reinsurance lines, which we don't have to re-create in the structured insurance
business. We have structuring capabilities in my division that don't have to be
re-created in either Rick's or Deirdre's. That combination allows us to be very
proactive with our clients, to be very timely with our clients, to be very
creative with our clients.

I think most importantly, honestly, and Deirdre mentioned this before and it's
kind of hard to overemphasize this, we have set up an incentive system that
actually makes people want to work together. A lot of institutions that have
people with the best of intentions, but they just can't get out of their own
way. There are either systems problems, incentive system problems that keep them
from working together. Because we did this from the beginning, we set up the
Company such that those things wouldn't exist. I can pretty much tell you that
we don't have any silos within our Company. We have broken them down.

I mentioned I'm going to tell who you we are. We're a pretty diversified team
with a broad set of skills. People in our team include actuaries, structured
insurance and reinsurance specialists, some casualty underwriters, program
specialists, and capital markets, credit, and banking specialists.

I would like to talk for a second now about our structured insurance and
reinsurance practice. We provide collaborative solutions, as I mentioned before,
both on the insurance side and the reinsurance side to very complex client
needs. I'd like to give you an example here. (indiscernible) We have a client
who is an industrial -- I'm sorry; an agricultural concern with significant
insurance retention issues. They've been forced to retain risk over the last
couple of years; and they have an aggregate retention problem. We worked with
them to help manage their retentions, and protect them against an unexpected run
of claims from multiple sources of business over a given year.

We did that by providing them a multiyear coverage across those lines of
business, providing them an aggregate limit over three years. What that did for
them was it gave them certainty. It gave them certainty on their insurance
expenses over the next few years. It gave them the ability to recoup some of
those costs if they did not need the insurance. And it gave them true risk
transfer capability in the unlikely event that they would need it.

We think that was a pretty interesting transaction. It was done by people within
my group, it was done by people within Deirdre's group around the world, to put
together a

solution like that for our client. That get us right to the next point. We are
able to combine our technical underwriting discipline with our structuring
capabilities.

We also have niche pockets of underwriting expertise within our group. We have
casualty underwriters, as I mentioned before. We have a trade credit and
political risk team, a small team in London. And we have experts in life surplus
relief. Most importantly we are a dedicated unit for this business. (inaudible)
that we structure, manage, and account for complex transactions to the
appropriate legal, accounting, and regulatory standards required of us.

This next slide gives you an idea of the relative breakdown of the forecast
premium for this year in the structured insurance and reinsurance business. You
can see we will write some business in trade credit, in environmental structured
transactions, property and casualty reinsurance, direct casualty business,
smaller amounts of professional liability, surety, and then kind of other
one-off transactions.

If I can now I'd like to switch the focus a little bit and talk about our
programs business. One thing Quanta is not is a program shop. We actually write
very few programs. I will explain what they are for anyone that doesn't know in
a second.

What we look for are targeted opportunities which meet our technical
underwriting criteria. We look for MGAs with historical technical or engineering
underwriting expertise in our specialty classes of business. For people who
don't know what an MGA is, an MGA is a managing general agent. It's a firm which
implements our underwriting guidelines on our behalf and provides in many cases
claims, billing, accounting, policy issuance functions for our joint client.

We look at programs that are brought to Quanta fully vetted, ones that have
claims handling already taken care of, reinsurance in many cases, systems that
are up to our standards, et cetera. We establish the underwriting parameters for
our MGAs. They implement them for us under our guidance. We extensively
underwrite every program we pursue. I'm going to talk a little bit about it.
Deirdre talked about the quote to bind ratios before. I think you'll see that in
this case it is awfully low.

One of the most important things we look for when an MGA contacts us is the
reason why they're leaving their current carrier. I can tell you the reason we
don't like to hear is because they are unhappy with the commission structure
that they have. What we are looking for is an MGA who is trying to grow their
business in a way that we think makes sense, but yet is encountering
difficulties in doing that with the insurance carrier that they are using. Many
times the insurance carrier is backing multiple MGAs that have conflicting
agendas, and they don't allow one of them to grow at the expense of a different
one. We don't have that issue. We're very happy to work with an MGA like that.

We are also by anyone's estimate not an easy sell in this marketplace. We look
for a target combined ratio, that is including our costs and their costs, of 80%
or better, which I can tell you, not many programs meet those criteria.

Process. I'm going to talk a little bit about HBW in a second, which I know
people have read about in our financials. I will talk about that in a second.
That was our first program. It was a very successful one from our perspective,
and we have built on that success. We have launched a platform for other
specialty insurance and reinsurance program business.

Other than HBW we have been presented with well over 100 opportunities in the
last 12 months. We write three other programs beside HBW. Our due diligence on
those programs on average have taken three to four months; on some of the larger
ones like HBW it's been more like seven or eight months.

Forecast of 2005, again just to give you an idea of what lines of business we're
talking about, the majority of this business is general liability. As Deirdre
mentioned before, the majority of that is contractors' general liability. We
also write builders' risk and warranty business in our programs unit, as well as
a small amount of professional liability. As I mentioned -- or if I haven't you
can still figure it out -- HBW contributes the largest portion of that
currently. So I'm going to talk about them specifically.

Our largest program is the homebuyers' warranty program. We call it HBW. It's
reported in substantially all of our technical property risk specialty insurance
line in our latest 10-Q. It provides warranty, general liability, builders'
risk, and excess liability coverage for new home contractors throughout the
United States. HBW has been in the residential construction business for over 20
years. They are pretty clearly the industry leader in third-party insured
warranties. They have over 650 employees including more than 100 in the
insurance services unit.

In general their target marketplace is single-family home builders that
construct roughly 50 to 200 homes a year. So we're not talking about the Toll
Brothers and the Pulte Homes and people like that. It's the mid-sized
homebuilder in the United States. They generate average annual revenues of
anywhere between 10 and $40 million a year, those builders, based on an average
-- roughly an average home price of $200,000. Obviously, they don't write a lot
of business in New York.

HBW has complete engineering, claims, warranty administration, policy
administration, and accounting units, which both complement and supplement
Quanta's capabilities in these areas. Under our supervision they underwrite,
process, issue, and administer over 15,000 warranty, 3,000 general liability,
and 1,250 builders' risk policies every year.

Most importantly for us, they have skin in the game. Our contractual arrangement
with them is not volume sensitive but its loss ratio sensitive. Their earnings
vary as our earnings vary. Their earnings vary as the loss ratio develops on
this program. This program is so important to us that our chief casualty
underwriting officer personally supervises this program and deals with it on a
daily basis.

Why them? I think people ask that question a lot. Why HBW? Why was this such a
nice kind of keynote program for us to start off with? Well, they are the kind
of people we

want to do business with. They have developed an enviable reputation and track
record in the insurance and residential construction industry. Together with
them we offer engineering, risk assessment, underwriting, and claims
coordination of a highly technical nature, which really increases the barriers
to entry for our business.

The risk profile also is very advantageous to us. There's a lot of small
policies, small relative to our size. The risks we assume are mostly
uncorrelated with the other lines of business that Quanta writes, and we have
pretty good geographic diversity. Clearly if you know the residential home
market in the United States, you know California is the biggest market. So
California is the biggest market that we write, but we write in 21 other states,
and it's a nice book of business. It's nicely diversified from our perspective.

From HBW's perspective you might ask, why Quanta? Well, it's actually just a
pretty easy answer. One, the team members that work on this project between both
in my group and in Deirdre's group have over 10 years experience working with
HBW from prior employment. We have the technical expertise in the lines of
business that we write. We have builders' risk experts, we have warranty
experts, we have contractors' general liability experts to work on this with
them.

The program is highly technical. I am not going to go into all the details of
it, but there is a synergy between the warranty that we offer and the liability
policy that we offer that's actually pretty evolved. And understanding that was
not an easy thing for us to do, and helping them develop that was not an easy
thing for us to do. It took us many months, so it would be pretty difficult for
any of our competitors to re-create the same thing. But the reasons why, I think
from their perspective, we are a valued partner.

Just to finish this off, we also write three other programs as I mentioned
before. They're obviously much smaller than HBW, but we're targeting a couple of
other opportunities in 2005. I'm going to hand this back over to Tobey now for
the rest of the presentation.

Tobey Russ: Thank you, Jim. Okay, next on our agenda are the questions, the key
questions that we heard coming out of the last quarter's earnings calls as well
as the subsequent conversations we had with many of our investors and some of
our analysts.

First and foremost, I would like to say that we heard the questions and it's
going to be very important for us to drill down, peel the onion back a little
bit, and try to get into some of the issues, some of which are quite complex to
understand. But to the best of our ability to clearly articulate our position
and the answers that I think many of you are looking for that came out of the
questions raised after the last earnings call -- the first of which is, has your
strategy changed?

I have talked already a fair amount about this. And the answer to that is
clearly no. Our strategy has not changed at all. What has changed, if anything,
is our ability to achieve the results within the time frame we originally
expected, and that is largely attributable to the losses that we experienced in
2004, and that is a theme or an underlying issue that

you're going to see over and over as we try to get through some of the other
questions that we have here.

Our strategy has been steadfast in the development of our specialty line
business, our allocation of capital, our desire for risk-adjusted returns north
of 20%. As I said, we will not allocate capital to businesses that achieve less
than that. And it's only a matter of time that when successfully done your GAAP
results will ultimately reflect that discipline.

One of the key issues here, to try to illustrate this point, is the growth of
the specialty lines business. We clearly have not done a great job of
articulating the growth of our specialty lines business, because I saw at least
in one place after our first-quarter earnings call that the Company's specialty
lines business was about $16 million at the end of the first quarter of 2005. It
is not. It is $54 million. As represented on this slide, it is 38% of our
written premiums in the first quarter.

Part of the issue here I think stems from the fact that because in our financial
filings, which is all many of you, if not all of you, have seen, we put things
in certain buckets. To some extent we are forced to put them in certain buckets.
Lloyd's for example, all the premium that we write at Lloyd's falls under a
heading in our financial statements or a segment in Lloyd's. The business we do
in Lloyd's is specialty lines insurance business. It is managed by Deirdre
Littlefield and her staff, and it is in fact the same type of business we write
here in the United States. Lloyd's did $12 million in the first quarter of this
year. It is really the first quarter of operations, and I will talk more about
that in a minute.

The program business that Jim just went over, highly specialized and targeted
and focused lines of business. But because we put it under the label of
programs, it does not appear that anybody is counting it if you will, in the
specialty lines bucket. It clearly falls in the specialty lines bucket; and the
total premium in first quarter as I said is 54 million or 38% of our total. That
compares to the first quarter of 2004 at 28%. We wrote $31 million in the first
quarter of 2004; or said differently, over 70% growth on the number quarter on
quarter.

I should also note that the first quarter of each year is heavily weighted
towards reinsurance. So it's a bit deceptive, if you will, even in looking at
the 38% result in the first quarter of 2005, from the standpoint that
reinsurance -- a significant portion of the reinsurance business -- is done on
January 1 because of the importance of the January 1 renewals in that sector.

So as you can see from this projection, we expect the specialty insurance to
continue to make a significant contribution to our total business. As you move
beyond the first quarter, in other words outside of the January 1 renewal season
that is so heavily weighted in reinsurance, it is a quite significant
percentage. As I said at the onset we expect the specialty business to be
approximately 60% of our total business in fiscal year 2005.

So the growth of our specialty business is a strategy, a critical strategy. We
are very much on point. I would say that we are pretty much exactly where we
hoped and expected we would be at this stage. But in order to evaluate that you
have to include Europe, you have to include Lloyd's, you have to include the
program business that we do, along with the U.S. specialty lines business that
we engage in.

From a geographic standpoint, we talked about the expansion of our business into
Europe. This is a critical thing for Quanta to get done for a number of reasons.
One, Europe is a very, very attractive place to be from a returns standpoint.
Generally speaking you can enjoy if you handle it right very attractive returns
in Europe, because generally speaking the loss ratios are lower. Europe does not
have the same litigious environment that we have here in the United States. We
know from our experience that if handled right that is a very attractive place
with which to operate a specialty lines strategy.

Our first step in getting Europe launched was launching an underwriting platform
in Dublin. The reason Dublin is important is because it gives you a single point
of access to all of Europe. It gives you access to the EU through one single
office. So unlike the United States, where you have get approved in all 50
states in which to operate, in Europe you only have to go through one regulatory
process which gives you access to the rest of the countries.

But that is not enough. It simply was not enough for Quanta to have an
underwriting office in Dublin, and this gets to sort of the dual-edged sword we
talked about earlier in terms of capital. A 500 or a $450 million company, once
it starts spreading that capital amongst its legal entities, does not have a
great deal to go around when you start talking about how much capital we are
able to drop into a place like Dublin. We have approximately $30 million of
capital, of our total capital, in the Dublin office. So any major European
company looking at Quanta, even though we would have an A- rating from A.M.
Best, won't necessarily take us seriously. Especially in the target market that
we engage in, principally professional liability.

So Lloyd's was critical to our strategy. Lloyd's we believe is the largest
specialty market in the world. It is a very, very important market on a
worldwide basis. Lloyd's is one of the few places, one of the few entities if
you will, that has been upgraded in the last five years. Lloyd's carries an A
rating. They were upgraded by A.M. Best, and that is highly unusual in the
market that we have been living in. Lloyd's has had a tough history but has made
dramatic progress. I can tell you from having experience with them over the last
20 years, it is a significantly different place today than I have ever seen it.

Lloyd's represented to us credibility. It allowed us not only to enjoy the
benefits of a huge specialty lines marketplace, but by starting a syndicate at
Lloyd's we would also benefit by the Lloyd's rating of A. We would also benefit
by the fact that Lloyd's can issue policies in many places Quanta cannot.
Because Lloyd's is licensed and/or admitted in many places Quanta is not, even
though we have gone through an extensive effort in the U.S. and our Dublin
office, Lloyd's plays a critical role in our ability to expand beyond

those boundaries where necessary in a very efficient way. Because we did not
have to incur the expenses associated with doing that ourselves.

Finally Lloyd's played an important role in our ability to establish ourselves
in Europe as a lead underwriter. Very important from our perspective, because if
you can lead the terms and conditions, meaning you are the underwriter who is
establishing the terms and conditions in a syndicated market, you have not only
pricing leverage but you have terms and condition leverage. That compares to a
follow form underwriter, where you are simply subscribing to what someone else
has done.

Lloyd's is a unique place, because the team that we hired is very well-respected
in Lloyd's. So in order for us to operate as a lead, not only did we need the
right team but we needed the Lloyd's platform. Because in establishing a
syndicate there of sufficient size and the credibility that Lloyd's bestowed
upon us, we could operate it as a lead, set terms, and compete with some of the
biggest insurance companies in the world on an even footing.

The issue that we had with all of this emanated out of the windstorms that we
had in 2004. We had originally anticipated starting our Lloyd's operation in the
late summer to early fall of last year. But with the storms our capital
structure was in a state of flux. We were also going through a reaffirmation
process on our rating with A.M. Best. With the uncertainty associated with the
capital, we were not in a position to move what was required, a little over $100
million, into a syndicate at Lloyd's until we had greater certainty on that
issue. That certainty really did not come until the very end of 2004.

It was not until December that we capitalized Lloyd's. That delay is a
significant contributor to the reduction in earned premium that we are going to
talk about in a minute. In other words it's not just the dollar losses that we
experienced from something like the windstorms, it's also the delays that create
a ripple effect in our ability to show or produce the GAAP income that we
originally anticipated.

The other important thing for me to get across that's depicted on this slide is
the first quarter of Lloyd's operation has been this quarter. In its very first
quarter of operation it produced $12 million in premiums, which is nothing to
sneeze at; but we expect much bigger things from Lloyd's.

We have made a considerable investment in our European strategy, in the team,
and in getting Lloyd's up and running. The brunt of the expenses associated with
that occurred in the fourth quarter and in the first quarter of this yea; and we
had no written or earned premium material to show for it. In other words it is
really in the future periods where we're going to begin to enjoy the benefits of
this considerable investment. As you can see from this graph, we expect Europe
to be an appreciable part of our total business by the end of 2005.

So with that, I think is a good segue into -- what is the real impact of the
windstorms? The straight-up GAAP impact of the windstorms to us was $62 million,
a little over $62

million. A considerable hit to the Company's income and capital structure. We
have gone over already the reasons for starting and leading with reinsurance.
The consequence was stepping into the worst series of hurricanes in recorded
history. We can't undo that; but we can recover from it, and that's what we want
to focus on now.

It cost is $1.10 a share, but it was really more than that because we also had
an anticipated profit on that portfolio, roughly $18 million of expected profit
on that portfolio. Which really means it was about an $80 million hit to our
expected capital structure by the end of 2004. That forced the Company into a
state of uncertainty associated with how much premium it would be in a position
to write for the balance of the year.

One of the things that we monitor and take very seriously is the operating
leverage of the Company. We have agreed with A.M. Best, the rating principal
rating agency that rates us, that we will stay within certain boundaries in
terms of operating leverage. Many of you know that we've used the number 1.1 to
1. Well, when your capital structure is in a state of flux, you enter a period
of uncertainty in terms of how much premium you can write and stay within the
boundaries that we have agreed to with the rating agencies.

So the storms in addition to the straight-up economic hit also forced us to pull
back and become more conservative in our writings. As I said before, if you
can't write it, you can't earn it. And the earnings part of that equation is
delayed beyond the writing, and we will talk about that in just a minute. So
this is an issue that has an impact beyond just the moment in time in which
those losses occur.

The steps we have taken to recover from this include raising 60 million of trust
preferred, pooled trust preferred. Rather than wait and grow organically our
capital back, the opportunities before us were too great to sit idly by and not
raise this additional $60 million. Obviously there is a consequence associated
with that as well, which is the debt cost that we now incur. But we believe that
the opportunities, the profit opportunities on that business far outweigh the
cost of the debt. But again the benefits associated with that investment don't
come until later, until we have written the premium and then earned the premium
against that $60 million.

The best example for getting back onto a strong footing that I can give you is
actually the first-quarter results, the written premium results. We had very
strong first quarter with $142 million of premium; of that I said $54 million
was in the specialty lines area. Europe is now up, running, launched, and had a
very successful first quarter; and we expect very positive things from them in
the quarters ahead.

Another aspect that I wanted to introduce you to here is the delayed impact on
earned premium that is associated with lower-than-expected written premium. As
you can see from this graph, in the first quarter of '04 we wrote $112 million
of premium; we wrote 114 million in the second quarter of 2004; and then in the
third quarter we wrote $86 million. That drop in written premium is not felt in
the earned line until later periods. You

can see how the earned premium line flattens right out starting in the fourth
quarter, and into the first quarter of '05, and even beyond that, into the
second quarter of 2005.

In other words, the recovery takes time. Even though we came back in the fourth
quarter with $107 million of premium, this dotted line -- while I can't say with
any absolute certainty where we would have been otherwise -- I can say we would
have been certainly stronger in the premium line than we were in 2004 if it
wasn't for the things that we were dealing with in the third and the fourth
quarter.

We are depicting the trajectory of the written premium for the balance of the
year on this slide, as well as how the earned premium begins to close the gap,
which is a critical thing that we are going to talk about in a slide in just a
moment.

In addition to the issue of written to earned, and the differential between
written and earned, and the delays that we just talked about, is how quickly
this gap between written and earned closes. One of the principal issues that you
have as either a young company or a company that is growing rapidly is that you
have a timing mismatch between expenses and revenue. The timing mismatch comes
because the cost associated with putting the business on is front-end loaded.
The benefits of the earned premium, and therefore the revenue and the income, is
back-end loaded.

So one of the things that we pay close attention to is -- how quickly is this
gap closing? You can see from this graph, which is really the difference between
the written and the earned line, is it started vary significantly at 313%; began
to close as we moved into the next two quarters; and then actually closed more
rapidly than what we would have liked, because we didn't write the premium. So
it was artificially narrowed if you will. It is continuing to narrow, but as I
said before that differential in the first quarter of 2005 was still 56%.

When I said at the onset of this presentation that we have a lot of volatility
in our ratios, these are the reasons why. Not only losses, but also when you get
significant fluctuations in your written premium in an immature book where you
have got the kind of gap between written and earned that we face, you get a lot
of volatility in the expense line, both on the acquisition expense ratio as well
as the G&A expense ratio. So two critical issues here.

I want to dwell a little bit more volatility and the loss ratio, because we have
had a lot of questions come up about this that even go beyond the windstorms
that we've talked about. Again this is an issue that you might not be that
familiar with, because most of what you might be looking at in the insurance
markets are mature insurance companies. With a new insurance company, especially
an insurance company that deals in lines like the environmental business, where
as Deirdre pointed out the earnings pattern on the business is quite long, you
have got a big issue when it comes to loss ratio volatility.

That issue emanates from the fact that when you first engage in business and you
write your very first policy, you are putting a limit out there that is
considerably larger than the

premium you took in and a lot larger than the premium you have earned and what
I'll call the earned loss reserve. If you write an insurance policy and you put
out a $5 million limit on that policy, and it is $1 million premium -- let's
call it a $1.2 million premium -- you are only going to earn 1/12 of that in the
first month. Which means if you got a 50% loss ratio on it, you've got $600,000
put away or $60,000 put away in your earned loss reserve. If you have a loss
early in the development of that portfolio, you end up with something close to
an infinite loss ratio. Even though the claim you had might have been a normal
and expected claim for the type of business that you engage in.

This whole idea of loss ratio and adequate loss reserves implies that you have
got a diversified and mature book of business. But as a new company, you
obviously can't have that until time allows you to develop and then earn the
premium, and therefore put away sufficient loss reserves. We had an example of
this in the first quarter of this year.

What this slide was intended to address was to show you the actual ramp up of
the environmental expected loss reserve, or the earned loss reserve if you will,
in this specific line of business. This happens to be a line of business where
the earnings pattern is over four years on average. So you see a fairly slow
ramp up here, where not only have you written the premium, you are earning it.
And you're putting away as I said about 50% of the earned premium into a loss
reserve associated with normal and expected claims on a fully developed
portfolio.

We had a loss in the first quarter of 2005 that came as a result of the heavy
rainstorms that occurred in California. The heavy rain, unprecedented rain
caused a landslide to occur. That landslide took out an oil pipeline that had
been there for over 50 years. The corresponding effect was dumping 125,000
gallons of crude oil into the canyon and into a lake. The cleanup cost
associated with that has been estimated to be $5 million. So a type of claim
that the policy was designed to cover, it's the type of claim that over time you
would consider a normal and expected type of claim; but it has come very early
in the development of this portfolio. In fact at the end of the first quarter of
2005, the loss reserve put up against the written and earned premium for this
line was roughly $2.6 million.

We had a $5 million claim, so clearly the loss reserves there are insufficient
to cover that reserve. And they are perhaps even less sufficient than you might
think in looking at this slide, because you can't take down the entire loss
reserve against this one claim. In fact we only were able to take around a few
hundred thousand dollars. Because you have got to leave the balance of the loss
reserve up for the rest of the business, the portfolio that you have in place.

So it gives you a sense of just how much time in a line like this you need to
develop adequacy in your loss reserves for claims that can come early in the
development of a portfolio. So volatility in the loss line is an issue that a
young company has. But the good news is it dampens and reduces over time. This
is something we monitor fairly closely in each of the lines that we engage in,
and believe that we have a good understanding of what is occurring here.

But it clearly dawned on us in the first quarter that we needed to explain this
in a lot more detail, so that people understood that we were actually
establishing loss reserves that, from an actuarial point of view and from the
experience that we have in this business, amongst many, that the loss reserves
we are establishing are adequate; but only adequate in the theoretical sense of
a diversified and mature portfolio.

Expenses. Are our expenses out of control? That is a question I get on a regular
basis. I want to dispel first and foremost one issue that people have asked me
about. If I could do this all over again, I might not have moved into
Rockefeller Plaza in New York because of the profile of that particular
building. But I want to take a minute and tell you the kind of deal that we have
in Rockefeller Plaza. When we got funded as a Company, there was a firm that
went bankrupt on the third floor of 10 Rockefeller Plaza ,which created an
opportunity for us to take an entire floor in that building, about a little over
50,000 square feet. Fully furnished, all of the equipment that you might like to
have in setting up and getting an operation up and running immediately,
including the phone switches, the telephone numbers, the computer linkups, right
down to the cubicles, chairs, desks, and everything.

We got into that space for less than $40 a square foot and it included
everything that I just mentioned. Comparable space in New York City is in excess
of $50 a square foot as a blank floor space. We got I think one of the best
deals ever gotten in midtown Manhattan for 15 years. That is our effective rate
for 15 years. And the Company was up and running within three weeks of its
funding because of our ability to plug and play right away in that space.

Admittedly it is terrific space in New York, but it is at a big discount
relative to any other space I am familiar with New York. And we had been looking
extensively just prior to that very opportunistic find at the time. So I wanted
to put that hopefully to bed for the last time and then go on to expenses in
general.

This slide depicts both the acquisition and the G&A expense ratios for Quanta
through the first quarter of 2005. As I said before, you see a fair amount
volatility in these numbers. You look, for example, at the third quarter of 2004
and it appears that our expenses have jumped up significantly. Well, in dollar
terms they haven't. But because the written premium and the earned premium were
quite depressed in that particular quarter, you see a corresponding increase in
the ratio. You're seeing what I would describe now as a recovery on that ratio.

Our acquisition costs have become more stable over time, and as we project out
get very stable over time. The G&A number is a little less stable. It's a little
less stable because we have also made -- which makes gleaning any one issue here
out very difficult -- we have made some additional investments. I mentioned
Lloyd's for example. We made a considerable investment in Lloyd's in the fourth
quarter; and expenses continue to incur additional expenses in the first quarter
of this year.

We have also had some surprises. We have had some surprises as a new company. We
just got hit with a bill from our auditors that was 2X their planned amount, and
it's a big number. It is associated with the fact that we live in a different
world today than we lived in not too long ago. It is very hard for them to do a
good job of estimating their expenses associated with a company is just in the
process of building all of its systems.

On top of that you got Sarbanes-Oxley and the need to comply with 404, which we
did not have on the radar screen in September of 2003, which has added to those
expenses. So we have also had a few surprises along the way on the expense side
that, while I don't like, there's not a lot we can do about them as a public
company. We must address the issues before us in 404 and Sarbanes. It's not a
question of wanting to or not. We must do it.

When Will Quanta give guidance? We were pretty steadfast on this subject as most
of you know; and we have certainly spent a lot of time discussing this issue as
a senior management team and as a Board about what is the proper thing to do
here. The issue for us is about balance. As a young company, with all its
volatility that we have, especially when you are on the threshold of
profitability, everything appears to be material. One of the critical concerns
we have is, to the extent we give guidance, our obligation to update that
guidance on a regular basis becomes quite a burden on the organization.

This is an issue that we have wrestled with and are still struggling a bit with,
at least in terms of what we're going to do in 2006. But given the issues and
the history over the last 18 months, we felt it was very important to give much
better clarity and insight into where we think the Company is going. To that end
we want to give you more specific information in terms of the Company's EPS and
where -- expected earnings per share, as well as how rapidly and what the
trajectory is to get to our stated objective of NPV returns in excess of 20%.

The upshot of all this is that we're going to give some guidance here today; but
as an organization we're going to decide what guidance we're going to give in
2006. My sense is that the guidance that we give is going to be similar to what
you'll see other industry participants provide.

First it is important to know, and if we haven't said it enough already, every
decision we make is on a risk-adjusted NPV basis. We believe as an organization
that that will be reflected in our GAAP results over time. There are two things
have been standing in the way of that. One is the losses that we talked about;
and the second is the written and ultimately the earned premium, and what the
earned premium pattern is in the Company to allow us to get there.

Unfortunately looking at just the Company's published results so far, it's hard
to see what kind of trajectory the Company is on. But looking at this graph, you
get a better sense of what I'm talking about. We got off I think to a very good
start. The first two quarters I think we were well on our way to achieving a
trajectory that was very, very positive. Clearly we got nailed in the third
quarter. We took an additional hit in the fourth quarter

with adding to our loss reserves. But by the first quarter of this year we have
made a substantial recovery in the written premium line; and as the lag in
earned begins to catch up to written, you will begin to see obviously more and
more of the economic value that we create fall to the bottom line. This slide
has really been put together to address and depict the trajectory of what we
expect from a return standpoint.

We are making material progress we believe towards our original objective of
exceeding those thresholds. More specifically, in terms of guidance expressed in
earnings per share per quarter, you see the actual results through the first
quarter of '05, which is essentially a breakeven quarter for the Company,
translating off this green line which is the current consensus of the analysts
that follow us, at $0.53 a share for the fiscal year 2005. We believe we will
outperform those analyst consensus numbers from $0.53 to a range of $0.60 to
$0.65.

But I want to emphasize that we think our ability to exceed the analysts'
consensus will happen in the second half of the year. In other words if you just
go back to the earnings pattern that we talked about before and the slide that
depicts that, it is weighted towards the back half of the year.

The earnings pattern continues to progress. If you go back for example to the
first-quarter results, if we were to go back to that table, you would see that
we earned $91 million in the first quarter. It is an interesting number, because
if you look at the underwriting results, and you remove the environmental claim,
it is about a breakeven threshold from an underwriting contribution standpoint.
Said differently, as we move materially beyond that $90 million, the 90 to $100
million threshold, assuming normal losses -- and I will have to stress that,
normal losses -- a certain proportion of every dollar thereafter falls to the
bottom line.

So we are at crossroads as an organization where the earned premium numbers have
finally caught up to the infrastructure of the Company and are beginning to move
us beyond an underwriting loss into an underwriting profit. That, coupled with
the earnings power of our investment portfolio, which as I mentioned has grown
from 1-to-1 to 1.6-to-1 and continuing to progress, are the two principal ways
in which we will get to the results that we're talking about.

So as earned premium continues to develop, and we can continue to be very
selective in our underwriting process on the written side, and our portfolio
leverage continues to increase, we feel very good about achieving our ultimate
goal of risk-adjusted NPV returns north of 20%. So with that I will stop, and I
will turn it over to you for any questions that we might not have answered or
issues that you would like to address. Yes, John?

Unidentified Audience Member: (inaudible question - microphone inaccessible)

Tobey Russ: There is some of that in there. I'm trying not to -- oh, sure. The
question is, is the dip in earned premium in the first quarter of 2005 totally
associated with the drop

in written premium in the preceding quarters? And the answer to that is no. A
significant portion of it is attributable to that.

But Rick touched on the fact that our property portfolio, property reinsurance
portfolio, has been and is being redesigned. It is being redesigned in a way to
push us further away from quota share and primary positions. In doing that we
have had to take on different types of programs which has extended, if you will,
the earned premium pattern in that business. So there is an element of that in
there as well.

Unidentified Audience Member: (inaudible question - microphone inaccessible)

Tobey Russ: It is fair to say that, yes. Because you're going to the picking up
risks that they write at the end of the first year that will earn out over the
following 12 months.

Unidentified Audience Member: (inaudible question - microphone inaccessible)

Tobey Russ: Deirdre, do you want to address that?

Deirdre Littlefield: Not exactly. What we didn't factor in there is business
that you and I would turn down or turn away. So actually the amount of risk (ph)
that is coming into us is actually higher than that. We are weeding through
that. We're putting out quotes; and then, though, it is after that, that is the
quote to bind ratio.

And you're right; it is lower than we would want. I think it does show that
we're certainly not buying business by any stretch of the imagination. Part of
it, the other side of it is we need to continue the education process with our
producers. I think that there was some distraction because of what many of the
large brokers as well as the large agencies went through over the last six to
eight months in terms of the Spitzer investigation and ongoing (inaudible).

Rick Pagnani: If I might just add on the reinsurance side, the hit ratio in
terms of bound and received was 50%. On that math (ph) which is quoted we bind
50% of that. So the ratio is a lot higher; and we have got better penetration
and understanding of our target markets.

Unidentified Audience Member: So the reinsurance you bind, you quote (multiple
speakers) 15% of what you --

Rick Pagnani: (multiple speakers) 15% of what we see is what we quote.

Unidentified Audience Member: Then 50% of that is bound. That sounds pretty
normal.

Rick Pagnani: Yes.

Unidentified Audience Member: Deirdre, you said -- so in specialty insurance you
may see 150 applications. You will quote 100 and bind 20?

Deirdre Littlefield: 25. Yes, it varies by line of business. The fidelity is as
high as in the 40s.

Unidentified Audience Member: Are brokers using you as a stalking horse? Or do
they not know what your appetite is, or have you not communicated?

Deirdre Littlefield: I think when you're new in the business you are tested to a
certain extent. So we do get a lot more offerings, and I think that eventually
will tail down. Because brokers will stop doing that once they see that you are
not going to lowball your prices, that you are putting out a very reasonable
quote. I think you're right, there is some of that.

Unidentified Audience Member: That makes sense, thank you.

Tobey Russ: Bijan?

Unidentified Audience Member: Actually this question has to do more with Rick. I
was in Bermuda just about a week ago and many suggested that a company with an
A- rating with less than $1 billion of capital has to either collateralize the
securities or the reinsurance, or they have to provide much lower prices in
order to gain market share, especially in the casualty line. So I was wondering
what is the strategy of Quanta in the reinsurance line of business over the long
run? And do you guys have an adequate level of capital and rating in order to
really be competitive in that marketplace over the long run? Thank you.

Rick Pagnani: Yes, I think in terms of -- I'll answer the question of
collateral. It sometimes is required. It's required for statutory purposes
obviously, in terms of it being -- us putting up collateral on every
transaction, no; it's not the case. We have as I say a following in the
marketplace. We've got a team of underwriters who are out there who have
pre-existing relationships. No (ph) programs have been supporting these programs
in the past. We've been able to win those accounts.

We're not out there certainly not trying to go out for market share. I think if
you look at the writings relative to the overall marketplace, it is really not a
huge stretch in terms of what we're looking to write and where we are looking to
write. Again we're targeting the underserved marketplace, the small to middle
market; and we have pre-existing relationships.

So to answer your question, to tag on, we are not buying business. We're not
cheap on the business. We go -- we price everything according to our pricing
models; and in no way, shape, or form are we undercutting our competitors. I ask
you to go out to the marketplace and ask them if they see of that any of that
behavior by Quanta. I will tell you that you will not see that or hear that from
the brokerage community.

So I think that is one of the challenges. There is no question. Would I love $1
billion in capital? Yes. It would make my life easier. We have to work hard, and
we really have to be out there pounding the pavement. And we do.

Unidentified Audience Member: Thank you.

Tobey Russ: Any other questions?

Unidentified Audience Member: Do you disclose your (inaudible)?

Tobey Russ: On earthquake or windstorm or --?

Unidentified Audience Member: For the overall Company, do you give a number
(multiple speakers) ?

Tobey Russ: We internally, from a risk management standpoint, we compute numbers
and we manage to specific PML. Like for example in the wind area, we manage that
business to a one in a 100 year PML. Earthquake we manage it to a one in 250. We
also aggregate all the different businesses that we engage in, in terms of
managing that overall PML for the Company.

We don't disclose those numbers, but we do manage to very specific PMLs. What
Rick has said today is that in the windstorm area we have taken that PML down by
50% from last year.

Unidentified Audience Member: Said his comments were specifically related to the
windstorm (multiple speakers).

Tobey Russ: Correct.

Rick Pagnani: It's not just the wind; it's the quake as well.

Unidentified Audience Member: (inaudible) What would the 62 be under the
program?

Rick Pagnani: I don't have an exact number on it. It would be greatly reduced,
though. And then when you look at the portfolio going forward, we would run the
same scenarios. It would be reduced by a similar ratio, if you will, of the PML
reduction.

Unidentified Audience Member: Roughly half.

Rick Pagnani: (inaudible) don't want to give guidance on that. I don't know. Any
number of scenarios could play out; but it would be considerably less.

Tobey Russ: I am glancing at our securities attorney over there, and she tells
me I can answer this question, so I will. We actually have that number very
specifically. We reran

the simulated storms through our current projected portfolio, and the number was
$26 million. So less than half.

Now is that event likely to reoccur exactly the way it did? No. We have also run
over 18,000 simulations on that portfolio to see where the weaknesses are in it,
and what kind of industry loss it would take for us to have a loss north of
something like $20 million. The one thing we can't predict, and this is the
really tough part about talking about this particular area, is that you can't
say with any certainty not only how many storms, how big, but the exact path
they take. Because each portfolio that an insurance company has is slightly
different. So the properties that we insure are all over the place.

You can come up with scenarios where the Company would experience a loss greater
than $20 million, but it requires in our view an industry loss that is
considerable, 40, $50 billion from an industry point of view. So we have taken
down significantly through not only the restructuring of the portfolio, which
had an impact on our earned premium line, but also at great expense. These
numbers that we're putting up here today in the way of guidance include the fact
that we're spending a considerable amount of money to buy the retrocessional
reinsurance coverage for this portfolio.

I will tell you that had last year not occurred we would not be buying this
coverage. Because this is a business, that property cat business, you need look
at over a 10-year period. So we happened to step into the worst year in history
in our very first year. We don't think it would be prudent as a management team
to allow that to occur again, even though the probability of that happening is
very low. So we have taken the steps to buy retrocessional reinsurance coverage.
But I've got to tell you it's costing us a lot of money with which to do it.

Rick Pagnani: They are economical for us, though, at the end of the day. We
still want to pursue the markets. We think there are attractive returns within
these markets. But again, we are looking to contain the volatility to the lower
number. We are not moving away from the market, we are not pulling out, we are
just reshifting the portfolio. We are purchasing excess coverage (inaudible).

Tobey Russ: Any other questions?

Unidentified Audience Member: How much of a constraint would you say are A.M.
Best's rating parameters on your ability to grow the top line this year?

Tobey Russ: Well, any kind of operating leverage constraint is a constraint.
Would we like greater operating leverage in the Company? Absolutely. It would
allow us obviously to improve our return for our shareholders if we could write
more good quality business. Having said that, we have I think a very good
relationship with A.M. Best. We have almost a constant dialogue with them about
the management and the results of the Company. Over time as the Company gets
maturity and has an enviable history behind it, I would expect that we will get
more operating leverage over time, as well as the opportunity to improve our
rating.

Unidentified Audience Member: Thank you.

Tobey Russ: John, did you have another question?

Unidentified Audience Member: Yes. You mentioned early on, Tobey, about your
practice or ability to monitor pricing and market conditions on a real-time
basis. You adjust capital or you allocate capital accordingly. How exactly do
you monitor pricing? How does Mr. Wang do it?

Tobey Russ: Right now, first, I will tell you we're not yet in a position to do
it on a real-time basis, or what I would call a real-time basis. We do it on a
monthly basis currently. We close out the end of a month. If you were a business
head for Quanta, what you would be getting is an output that would show you not
only your GAAP numbers, so written, earned, expenses, losses, et cetera, and all
your GAAP metrics; but you would also get your NPV numbers.

So the beauty of that format is it allows you to see not only what you are
producing in the way of a GAAP context, but the critical aspect of that report
tells you how you are performing on the business that you wrote just in that
period against the capital allocated to it. So you're able to peer through GAAP.

Because GAAP is not a very good tool to understand your business because it
involves multiple periods, as you know. It runs (ph) multiple periods. It does
not discount loss reserves. So it's hard to see, if you're in a casualty
business or in a property business whether or not you're generating sufficient
profitability to meet our thresholds.

So you would be looking down a column that would show you in that particular
month the business that you wrote on the GAAP side and the NPV side; and whether
or not you're achieving the NPV returns we are looking for. We monitor that
thing very closely, such that if we don't like what we see then we start
engaging the business head in a discussion about is that an anomaly; is that
something systemic that's going on the industry?

And like Deirdre mentioned in the case of professional liability, we saw such
dramatic downfall in pricing that we ultimate pulled two-thirds of the capital
from that business. We reduce our total expenses associated with that business.
And we repositioned it away from the commercial D&O market and much more towards
the private sector. That capital was then reallocated to other businesses
including HBW, which Jim talked about.

Unidentified Audience Member: So you examine business on a current basis,
business you wrote that month and what the NPV looks like?

Tobey Russ: Exactly.

Unidentified Audience Member: Do you get any input from your underwriters as to
what they see in the marketplace?

Tobey Russ: Every month. We sit together as a group with all of the underwriting
officers of every line. They take us through their PML, and we talk about market
conditions, trends in rates, issues that we have with the distribution system,
opportunities that we see, cross-selling opportunities, and so on.

Unidentified Audience Member: Thank you.

Tobey Russ: Bijan ?

Unidentified Audience Member: The question related to distribution channels.
Obviously with Marsh McLennan having a lot of difficulties in the brokerage
side, you guys have experienced some issues with producing in the environmental
business. So I was wondering how you're dealing with the production issues on
that side?

Also as far as the Lloyd's market goes, there are a lot of discussions that the
underwriters are not going to be paying a lot of fees that they were paying in
the past; and the brokers have to be charging their own clients. So I was
wondering whether or not that will have an impact on the expense ratios in the
Lloyd's business.

Tobey Russ: Let me take the first question first. What is going on the brokerage
community is somewhat of a dual-edged sword. We think overall it is great for
us. I think it is great for the market, it is great for the industry. What I
have referred to as the cronyism that has existed in this industry for far too
long has finally come uncovered and addressed.

For a new entrant company like Quanta that is a great thing. The additional
transparency, the open playing field, and the freedom for us to get business on
a fair and equitable basis from a major broker exists today, when it didn't
exist in the past. So the fact that Spitzer has uncovered all that and exposed
it and addressed it is terrific for a company like Quanta.

The downside, which is only short-term, is that it has also sent those same
major brokers into a state of disarray. You can imagine what is going on at
Marsh in the middle of all this, or at Aon or at Willis and so on. They are
losing people. People are worried about their jobs, and they are not paying
attention as Deirdre mentioned to their customers and their day-to-day business.
That translates to us into a certain amount of disarray.

It's hard to -- for example, in our environmental business we used to enjoy a
great relationship with Marsh. I think we still enjoy a very good relationship
with Marsh, but they are not as effective at producing environmental business to
us today as they have been in the past. So we have had to adjust and seek
alternative sources for environmental insurance business.

So I would say long-term it's great. Short-term it's been a bit dysfunctional.
But we're starting to see now that that is beginning to smooth out, it is
beginning to calm down. Marsh has settled. Willis has settled. Aon has settled,
and you're seeing some (indiscernible). I'm not sure the second part of your
question in terms of Lloyd's I completely understood.

Unidentified Audience Member: In the first-quarter results Aon essentially said
that their discussion at Lloyd's for underwriters to stop paying certain fees
for services that they receive from brokers. Obviously the brokers were charging
$10 for every $1.00 of service. So I was wondering if that going away is going
to have a benefit to (multiple speakers).

Tobey Russ: That's a very interesting question. I won't go into the significant
dollar contribution the contingency fees meant to the brokerage community. But
it was obviously enormous. So it completely changes their business model, and
they're trying to recover or recapture a portion of those fees by simply
charging now what is a disclosed amount of money to insurance companies for
services that they provide.

I will say that they are not having or getting much traction on that point.
There is not a lot of sympathy on the insurance companies' side to pay those
additional fees. So I don't see it necessarily increasing the expenses of an
insurance company. I see it quite frankly forcing the broker to address his
business model and deal with the real tough issues that it's got to address.
Because if they can't get it from the insurance side, they've got to get it from
the client; and I don't think they are getting a lot of sympathy from the client
either.

So that will sort itself out over time. I won't predict where it's going to go,
but I don't think it is going to result necessarily in increased expense ratios
to us.

Are there any other questions? Well, if not, I would like to thank you very,
very much for taking the time to be here; and again for the people on the
webcast for giving us their time and attention. It was a real pleasure to have
this opportunity, and we look forward to doing this again in the future. Thank
you.