Exhibit 99.1

For Immediate Release
---------------------
Wednesday, August 1, 2007


For further information contact
Richard J. Jarosinski
President and Chief Executive Officer
Portec Rail Products, Inc.
(412) 782-6000, ext. 4230

Press Release

Portec Rail  Products,  Inc.  Reports  Record 2007 Second  Quarter and Six Month
Operating Results (unaudited)

Pittsburgh, PA, - Wednesday, August 1, 2007 - Portec Rail Products, Inc. (NASDAQ
Global Market  -"PRPX")  today  announced  unaudited net income of $1,887,000 or
$0.20 per share for the second  quarter ended June 30, 2007, a 24% increase over
the second  quarter 2006 net income of  $1,522,000 or $0.16 per share on average
basic and diluted shares outstanding of 9,601,779 for both periods.  The company
also announced unaudited net income of $3,092,000 or $0.32 per share for the six
months  ended  June 30,  2007,  a 21%  increase  over  unaudited  net  income of
$2,556,000  or $0.27 per share for the six months ended June 30, 2006 on average
basic and diluted shares outstanding of 9,601,779 for both periods.  The results
for the three  and six  months  ended  June 30,  2007  include  the  impact of a
$760,000  pre-tax  ($502,000  or  $0.05  per  share  net of tax)  adjustment  to
establish a warranty  reserve  related to insulated rail joints  manufactured at
the Company's  Huntington,  West Virginia facility.  The Company recently became
aware of issues that may affect the useful life and  performance of a portion of
its insulated rail joint products, and a replacement program is being worked out
with its  customers.  Management  is  monitoring  the  scope of the  replacement
program  and  while at this  time  believes  that no  further  reserves  will be
required,  no  assurance  can be  provided  that  further  reserves  may  not be
necessary, following completion of the inspection process.

Results for the six months ended June 30, 2007, include  non-recurring  costs of
$191,000 net of tax, or approximately $0.02 per share,  associated with the sale
of the Wrexham,  Wales, United Kingdom and Troy, New York properties.  Net sales
of $29.1  million for the second  quarter 2007  slightly  exceeded the Company's
second  quarter  2006 net sales of $29.0  million.  Net sales for the six months
ended June 30, 2007 were $56.6 million, a 9% increase over the $52.1 million for
the six months ended June 30, 2006 despite a slowdown in industry  traffic since
the beginning of 2007.

Richard J.  Jarosinski,  President and Chief  Executive  Officer  said,  "We are
pleased with our overall  performance  for the quarter and the first half of the
year,  despite the need to establish  the warranty  reserve for one of our track
component  product  lines.  We  believe  we have  identified  the  scope  of the
deficiencies  that have recently  developed within our insulated rail joints and

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are committed to addressing this issue promptly.  The diversity of product lines
in our  group  of  worldwide  business  segments  continues  to  demonstrate  an
effective strategy. Our backlog on June 30, 2007 was $25 million compared to $20
million on June 30, 2006. While we did not meet all of our expectations with our
track  component  product lines, we met or surpassed our  expectations  with our
load securement,  wayside detection,  friction management, and material handling
product  lines.  Our Kelsan  business  unit in  particular  showed a significant
improvement  following  the changes  implemented  in the last half of 2006.  Our
Salient  Systems  business  unit  also  had a  record  operating  and  financial
performance in the first half of 2007, and the Shipping Systems Division,  which
includes  our  most  recent  acquisition,  Vulcan  Chain,  had a good  financial
performance for the first six months of the year."

Mr.  Jarosinski  added,  "We  continue to review and monitor our  operations  to
contain  operating costs and  administrative  expenses.  Our second quarter 2007
gross  margins  improved  by two  hundred  basis  points  compared to the second
quarter 2006, and our operating  profit  percentage  showed  improvement for the
second quarter and year to date 2007 periods."

Mr. Jarosinski  concluded,  "We are optimistic about the future of this industry
due to the overall financial health of our customer base. We are well-positioned
to ride what some people are calling a Rail Renaissance  period.  Our backlog is
at record levels,  reflecting strong order bookings and our product  development
efforts are paying dividends.  The industry continues to desire our products and
services, as evidenced by our strong sales during 2007."

Portec  Rail  Products,   Inc.,   headquartered  in  Pittsburgh,   Pennsylvania,
manufactures,  supplies  and  distributes  a broad range of  railroad  products,
including  rail joints,  rail anchors and spikes,  railway  friction  management
products,  railway wayside data collection and data management  systems and load
securement systems. The Company's largest business unit, the Railway Maintenance
Products  Division,  operates a manufacturing  and assembly plant in Huntington,
West Virginia,  an engineering  and assembly  facility in Dublin,  Ohio (Salient
Systems),  and is also  headquartered  in  Pittsburgh.  The Company also has two
Canadian  subsidiaries,  one of  which is  headquartered  near  Montreal  with a
manufacturing  operation  in St.  Jean,  Quebec and the other  headquartered  in
Vancouver,  British  Columbia that is a technology  and  manufacturing  facility
(Kelsan Technologies). In addition, the Company sells load securement systems to
the railroad  freight car market through its Shipping  Systems  Division located
near  Chicago,  Illinois.  The Company also  manufactures  railway  products and
material handling  equipment in the United Kingdom with operations in Leicester,
England and Sheffield, England. Portec Rail Products, Inc.'s web site address is
www.portecrail.com.

The  foregoing  information  contains  forward-looking  statements.  The Company
cautions  that such  statements  are subject to a number of  uncertainties.  The
Company  identifies  below  important  factors that could  affect the  Company's
financial  performance  and could cause the Company's  actual results for future
periods to differ  materially  from any opinions or  statements  expressed  with
respect  to  future  periods  in any  current  statements.  In  particular,  the
Company's  future  results  could be affected  by a variety of factors,  such as
customer demand for our products; competitive dynamics in the North American and
worldwide  railroad and railway supply industries;  capital  expenditures by the
railway  industry in North America and worldwide;  the development and retention
of  sales  representation  and  distribution   agreements  with  third  parties;
fluctuations  in the  cost  and  availability  of raw  materials  and  supplies;
currency  rate  fluctuations;  and exposure to pension  liabilities.  Additional
cautions regarding forward-looking statements are provided in the Company's Form
10-K for the year ended  December  31,  2006 and Form 10-Q for the period  ended
March  31,   2007  under  the   heading   "Cautionary   Statement   Relevant  to
Forward-looking  Statements."  The Company does not undertake,  and specifically
disclaims,  any  obligation to update or revise any  forward-looking  statement,
whether  written or oral,  that may be made from time to time by or on behalf of
the Company.





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<CAPTION>


         Portec Rail Products, Inc.
         Consolidated Statements of Income
         (In thousands, except share and per share data)


                                                             Three Months Ended             Six Months Ended
                                                                  June 30,                      June 30,
                                                       --------------------------------------------------------------
                                                            2007           2006           2007            2006
                                                       --------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                (Unaudited)                   (Unaudited)

    Net sales                                            $   29,090     $   28,972     $   56,574     $   52,087
    Cost of sales                                            19,987         20,488         39,425         36,764
                                                       --------------------------------------------------------------
    Gross profit                                              9,103          8,484         17,149         15,323

    Selling, general and administrative                       5,649          5,668         11,312         10,701
    Amortization expense                                        303            247            609            418
                                                       --------------------------------------------------------------
    Operating income                                          3,151          2,569          5,228          4,204

    Interest expense                                            307            296            624            505
    Other expense, net                                          168             73             98             71
                                                       --------------------------------------------------------------
    Income before income taxes                                2,676          2,200          4,506          3,628
    Provision for income taxes                                  789            678          1,414          1,072
                                                       --------------------------------------------------------------
    Net income                                           $    1,887     $    1,522     $    3,092     $    2,556
                                                       ==============================================================

    Earnings per share
        Basic and diluted                                $     0.20     $     0.16     $     0.32     $     0.27

    Average basic and diluted shares outstanding          9,601,779      9,601,779      9,601,779      9,601,779


         Consolidated Condensed Balance Sheets
         (In thousands)

                                                         June 30,                                     December 31,
                                                           2007                                           2006
                                                     ------------------                             ------------------
                                                        (Unaudited)                                    (Audited)

    Assets
    Current assets                                     $   46,786                                     $     45,793
    Property, plant and equipment, net                     11,062                                           10,403
    Goodwill and other intangibles, net                    46,052                                           44,920
    Other assets                                              733                                              566
                                                     ------------------                             ------------------
        Total assets                                   $  104,633                                     $    101,682
                                                     ==================                             ==================

    Liabilities and Shareholders' Equity
    Current liabilities                                $   23,140                                     $     21,022
    Other liabilities and long-term debt
       obligations                                         25,592                                           27,564
    Shareholders' equity                                   55,901                                           53,096
                                                     ------------------                             ------------------
        Total liabilities and shareholders'
         equity                                        $  104,633                                     $    101,682
                                                     ==================                             ==================


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